WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Danny Boyle Declines British Knighthood

Posted: December 19th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Danny Boyle Declines British KnighthoodSubmit Comment
The British knighthood includes such actors as Kenneth Branagh, Michael Caine, Sean Connery, Anthony Hopkins, Ian McKellen, Patrick Stewart and Ben Kingsley, who reportedly gets upset if you don't reffer to him as Sir Ben Kingsley.

Now it's Danny Boyle's turn. The filmmaker is one of the top directors in the world with such movies as "28 Days Later," "The Beach," "127 Hours," and "Slumdog Millionaire," which won the Best Picture. He also received the honor of choreographing London's 2012 Olympics.

But when the knighthood committee approached Boyle with an offer to make him Sir Danny Boyle, the director quickly declined, stating: "I'm very proud to be an equal citizen and I think that's what the Opening Ceremony [of the Olympics] was actually about."

Boyle now joins a small group of people who have declined the knighthood, including Malcolm McDowell (Halloween, A Clockwork Orange).

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on December 18th, 2012 at 9:19:52 PM

Give it to Danny Trejo

cress writes:
on December 18th, 2012 at 9:20:11 PM

The knighthood committee was insistent and Boyle finally had to be quite clear with them, adding: "I don't want to talk to you no more, you empty headed animal food trough wiper. I fart in your general direction. Your mother was a hamster and your father smelt of elderberries."
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2012 at 9:27:01 PM

It's more of an honor to decline the honor, I see, so no presumption of modesty, I see.
cress writes:
on December 18th, 2012 at 9:43:27 PM

Good for you, Danny boy. Always loved your films and you seem to be an alright guy outside of the film world. When you're done with Rosario, pass her to me, I like sloppy seconds.

-Chewy- writes:
on December 18th, 2012 at 9:44:15 PM

Mink.....stop being so c*nty.

Dirt writes:
on December 18th, 2012 at 9:45:25 PM

Watch out! We have a bad ass over here.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2012 at 9:49:26 PM

They wouldn't be such bad asses in real life, I know that much.
KillerCOck writes:
on December 18th, 2012 at 9:51:56 PM

You think Nolan would decline??? hahaha
Stapes writes:
on December 18th, 2012 at 9:56:06 PM

Wow, guess Boyle's trying to keep it real. f*ck this guy. If anyone is being "c*nty" in this senario it's Boyle.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 18th, 2012 at 9:58:59 PM

Give it to Samuel jackson
cress writes:
on December 18th, 2012 at 10:14:40 PM

"..who reportedly gets upset if you don't refer to him as Sir Ben Kingsley."

What a bunch of horsesh*t. It's like doctors who want you to address them as Dr. Whatever outside of their work. Or airline pilots who want you to address them as The
Greatest Man To Have Ever Lived Because I Fly Planes And I Know Everything.
cress writes:
on December 18th, 2012 at 10:17:34 PM

And might I add (clears throat): *ssholes
bane writes:
on December 18th, 2012 at 10:47:05 PM

give it to Martin Campbell

he reinvented james bond (twice)
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 18th, 2012 at 10:48:23 PM

Well good for him.
bane writes:
on December 18th, 2012 at 10:49:02 PM

i love this
it is amazing

http://www.amazon.com/gp/recsradio/radio/B00A8V3VVG/ref=pd_krex_listen_dp_img?ie=UTF8&refTagSuffix=dp_img
bane writes:
on December 18th, 2012 at 10:51:58 PM

@ bandolero999

if you like Samuel jackson

listen to tracks 14 and 20 on this...

http://www.amazon.com/gp/recsradio/radio/B00A8V3VVG/ref=pd_krex_listen_dp_img?ie=UTF8&refTagSuffix=dp_img
bandolero999 writes:
on December 18th, 2012 at 11:19:04 PM

Thanx
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2012 at 11:33:32 PM

I thought I was the only one who noticed Sam has some music on Django's OST. Guess not. Some Croce too, but that's not my thing.
bane writes:
on December 18th, 2012 at 11:55:44 PM


SCAR JO

http://www.worstpreviews.com/images/headlines/temp/temp2962.jpg
holtlt writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 12:03:56 AM

Knighthood is only given to English people, before anybody starts saying "give it to Tom Cruise or Morgan Freeman".
bane writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 12:08:56 AM

@ holtlt

knighthood is only given to english people ??

bob geldof --irish
sean connery-- scottish
kenneth branagh-- irish
minkowski writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 12:30:10 AM

^^^holtlt confuses "English" with everything that came after the 1707 and 1800 Acts Of Union, aka the United Kingdom.
Kurskij writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 2:21:37 AM

Merry midgets, Bane, you do love a lot of things, don't you?

Why please, tell me more: what do you prefer McD's or Burger King? How do you prefer your hookers? Do you smoke? Did you ever have homosexual experience? Why did the chicken cross the road? What's the diameter of Europa?


On topic: Boyle is alright. But I found more interesting to find out that McDowell declined knighthood.
FBO writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 2:38:37 AM

Does anyone think that after President Obama will start knighting Americans after he becomes King?
pornfly writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 3:11:38 AM

KURSKI
LOL!
pornfly writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 4:57:56 AM

I dont know what the big deal is
I used to wear British Knights in high school
witwicky-potter writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 5:44:18 AM

What a wanker
ray gunn writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 2:51:54 PM

Maybe a little bitterness I sense here as although he is british he was raised in a very "irish catholic" household. Very nearly ended up as a preist, under pressure from his parents
ray gunn writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 2:51:55 PM

Maybe a little bitterness I sense here as although he is british he was raised in a very "irish catholic" household. Very nearly ended up as a preist, under pressure from his parents
Zeroguy writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 5:14:14 PM

@Kurskij

And by a lot of things, you mean mentally, right?
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 20th, 2012 at 12:24:41 AM

@ Kurskij

McD's
skinny blonde
i have asthma
friend kissed me when he was drunk
McD's tricked the chicken
well all i know about Europa...

when the nazi shot the jew engineer
in schindlers list he shouts
''it's supposed to be a barracks
not the f*ckin hotel europa f*ckin bitch engineer YOUU f*ckINN BITCHHH ''

ha ha ha
Kurskij writes:
on December 20th, 2012 at 10:11:49 AM

You're alright, Bane. Good reply.

Just stop posting useless sh*t on every board known to mankind and concentrate on useful links to trailers and naked pics of Scarlett.

"friend kissed me when he was drunk"

Female friend I hope. Kissed meaning "Sucked ma cack"?


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved