WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Director Compares "Tron 3" to "Empire Strikes Back"

Posted: December 17th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Director Compares "Tron 3" to "Empire Strikes Back"Submit Comment
Earlier this month, we learned that Disney is moving forward with a third "Tron" movie by hiring Jesse Wigutow (It Runs in the Family) to write the script. Then came word that Garrett Hedlund will reprise his role and Joseph Koskinski will return to direct.

Now, in an interview with Collider, Kosinki revealed that he signed on for the third film because he feels the story is big enough and good enough. "I've said it would have to be our 'Empire Strikes Back' for me to come back and for me to pull the whole team back together," he said. "I think we do have that idea."

Kosinski continued: "We have [an] idea that feels big. [We've been hinting at it] for two movies now, for thirty years. So it's time to deliver on that. There could be another 'Tron' in the next few years, and it's going to be awesome."

When asked how much time will pass between the events in "Tron Legacy" and "Tron 3," the director replied: "I think time has passed. It will still be contemporary. So if the 'Tron' sequel comes out in 2015, then four or five years have passed since the last movie."

Kosinski concluded by saying that the world that was created for "Tron Legacy" will not simply be re-used for "Tron 3." The plan is to "reinvent all over again."

Source: Collider


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 57 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 8:13:02 AM

He's going to rip a hole between universes and bring then neon motherf*ckers into our reality. Wait til they get a load of McDonalds and homeless people on every street corner.
boogiel writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 8:41:22 AM

koskinski is definitely in delusional stage.
bigmeatman writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 8:44:41 AM

Tron legacy was decent. Im glad my wish for a sequel has come through
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 8:47:30 AM

Stop twisting the words lol He said it'd need to be their Empire strikes back, He didnt say it is LIKE empire strikes back...
Cannon writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 8:50:13 AM

Uh, technically, their chance to match Empre came and went (and failed) with the last film. For Tron 3 they need to try and match Return of the Jedi, which I doubt they will...

...unless they include Ewoks on light cycles.
GreenLensman writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 8:50:20 AM

like everyone's been saying, Wilde and Daft Punk or gtfo
SACdaddy writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 9:07:52 AM

Hedlund and its p*ssy PG rating will ruin this one too.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 10:41:08 AM

Pass....
Rambo writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 12:24:32 PM

just finished 'homeland' season finale...brilliant episode.quite shocking.
Rambo writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 12:48:49 PM

new/different star trek trailer:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r5gdbUC9mWU&feature=player_embedded
sedibus writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 1:46:44 PM

Watching this

TimesTalks: Martin Amis, Margaret Atwood, and E.L. Doctorow

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=66mI4DImKv0
FBO writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 2:02:56 PM

@SAC - the rating doesn't determine how good the story is. Only how graphic it is. Does Tron's story really need to nebpg-13 or R to be told? Swearing really isn't as necessary as we think it is. In fact I think (I am not accusing you of this, btw) a lot of "adults" go to R movies to feel hardcore. Like they're still in middle school or something.
FBO writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 2:03:36 PM

Be*
minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 2:19:11 PM

"Stop twisting the words lol He said it'd need to be their Empire strikes back, He didnt say it is LIKE empire strikes back..."

Yes, if you only read as far as:

"I've said it would have to be our 'Empire Strikes Back' for me to come back and for me to pull the whole team back together,"

Then Kosinski says:

"I think we do have that idea."

So basically Kosinski is saying he has a Tron film that will feature something akin to the revelation that Darth Vader is Luke's father, one of those headf*ck moments in all of cinema, but for him to say he's going down that route isn't saying much as Empire set and hit that bar decades ago.

No, if he wants Tron 3 to blow people out of their seats, he's going to need something fresh and exciting in the same way The Matrix changed the game back in 1999, and it'll take more than Daft Punk to do it, and I doubt Kosinski has it in him.

He's just not very innovative or imaginative.
sedibus writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 3:33:20 PM

Get a fine script. there are a bunch of ways to do it, mainly are the next:

Pay or you yourself read, see and find into books, films, comics and animation, whatever you like, do a f*cking pastiche of those.

And because Tron is about computer reality games and science-fiction, it won't take you to long to find something.

f*cking pricks. So f*cking easy to steal others ideas, the hard part is to come up with something fresh and different although inspired by already established concepts.

That's the very big main f*cking deal.
sedibus writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 3:35:07 PM

And that's why the sequels to the Matrix didn't work quite well as they should had.

It tells you very much about what to think, specifically whatever you want.
minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 3:59:55 PM

"Wait til they get a load of McDonalds and homeless people on every street corner."


I didn't know you were American.
minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 4:07:56 PM

So. Has anyone seen Sushi Girl yet? Seems to have some really rave reviews, and is sure as hell more inventive than another lightcycle circlejerk inside Kevin Smith's computer.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1606339/

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wAibJlPP5fo
minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 4:16:41 PM

Jackie Chan in Expendables 3.

http://www.cinema.com.my/news/news.aspx?search=2012.n_expendablestoinclude_12309
minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 4:21:02 PM

New teaser trailer for Star Trek Into Darkness.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tZE4gqGV6HM
pornfly writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 4:32:13 PM

Sushi Girl sounds ridiculous but Tony Todd has been underestimated by main stream Hollywood and left to perform in lower tier films so I'll give it a watch
Rambo writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 4:38:02 PM

any guess about the identity of the villain in star trek into darkness?
vincere01 writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 4:45:58 PM

While the comparison draws the ire of every nerd on the planet. I do like his enthusiasm for the project. Legacy was decent, I'd like to see what theyed came up with
minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 4:49:48 PM

^^All anyone knows is his name is John Harrison. That's it. I recall way back after the first film reading, here I think, Star Trek 2's villain would be original, and people said it was a smokescreen to hide Khan, but it looks like they were telling the truth.

Maybe it was someone from Kirk's father's ship who has decided to take revenge on Starfleet for being abandoned. Dunno.

@pornfly: Yeah, but everyday lots of little quirky flicks fly under the radar while WP just reports on the larges, most commercial flicks to generate traffic. Would be nice to see some indie reporting here every now and then, even it doesn't make Alex any dinero.
vincere01 writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 4:56:53 PM

I think its khan no matter what they are saying. Saw the nine minute preview. Shows him telling some parents he can save a sick/paralyzed/dying daughter. I think its by gene manipulation. Which is what khan is......plus he has super strength and abilities in the trailer which would support my theory
Rambo writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 4:59:06 PM

read some funny nerds speculations...one of them suggested it's a time travel jean luc picard...lol could be awesome if it will turn out to be true
minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 5:02:35 PM

^^Maybe, but why wouldn't they say so? Why all the secrecy? And wouldn't there need to be a set-up for the Kirk-Khan dynamic to work?

You REALLY should read this article, Vincere

http://www.cinemablend.com/new/Star-Trek-Darkness-Trailer-References-Wrath-Khan-Why-34657.html
Rambo writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 5:05:54 PM

Why all the secrecy?

you're talking about the creator of 'Lost' - secrecy and ambiguity is his middle name
minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 5:06:20 PM

I think he's the time-traveling love child of Uhura and Spock going through a really bad case of Pon Farr.
minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 5:07:50 PM

"you're talking about the creator of 'Lost' - secrecy and ambiguity is his middle name"

lol. Can you imagine if Abrams directed the next Prometheus and Lindlehof wrote the script (again)?

By the way, I have season one of Lost. Wondering if I should watch it, or ditch it.
Rambo writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 5:09:53 PM

I loved season 1...it's a bit slow till mid season at which point there is a big mystery slowly unfolding till season 2 opening scene.
minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 5:14:21 PM

I'll watch it then. Thanks. Didn't know if it was one those love it or hate shows.

@Alex: you mispelled Kosinski.
Rambo writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 5:15:42 PM

lol. Can you imagine if Abrams directed the next Prometheus and Lindlehof wrote the script (again)?

all characters name - unknown

plot - unknown

trailer - loud aliens noises in darkness
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 5:16:53 PM

Wait wait wait...

Jackie Chans gonna be in Expendables 3!?
Zeroguy writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 5:22:15 PM

@mink

I think Kosinski has the visual flair but no grasp on pace, story and character development. Tron Legacy was too long and lacked much too it. Tron 3 could be good, but I doubt it.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 5:24:01 PM

Also, Watched a cool Canadien film called DeadFall in theaters the other night, Wicked movie, Liked it a lot, I think some of you guys here would like it.

Deserves a hell of a lot more Attension then to be only played in one theater in Toronto..
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 5:24:16 PM

Also, Watched a cool Canadien film called DeadFall in theaters the other night, Wicked movie, Liked it a lot, I think some of you guys here would like it.

Deserves a hell of a lot more Attension then to be only played in one theater in Toronto..
minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 5:28:00 PM

@Rambo: lol.

@Tanman: Yep. So he says. Says it has to be a buddy flick though or else he's not in, so Rambo, I mean Stallone re-did the script or something.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/12/17/jackie-chan-the-expendables-3-appear-in-third-film_n_2316945.html



@Zeroguy: Well, maybe I misspoke. Kosinski has one film under his belt. I'll wait till Oblivion comes out to say for sure whether he's going to do anything innovative or if he's just going to go the path of least resistance.

Sure do wish we had another young James Cameron these days.
Rambo writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 5:28:26 PM

@tanman

will watch it soon.just been released on downloads
minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 5:33:46 PM

Dunno. Another Eric Bana flick? Not trying to be negative but he's one of those actors that just never seems capable of carrying a movie.

I mean, I rate him below Jim Caveziel if that tells you anything.
Rambo writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 5:35:19 PM

never really liked Jackie Chan...he's too goofy and smiles like an idiot all the time.
minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 5:38:58 PM

Me either. I think the only films I can stand him in is Ratner's Rush Hour flicks. And then only barely.

In other news, Ratner is making a Hercules movie, with The Rock as Hercules.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1267297/

I bet that'll be a huge hit...
Rambo writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 5:41:20 PM

yep...like 'scorpion king'...there's a masterpiece for you
minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 5:47:10 PM

@Rambo: Did you ever see the third one? Jesus, talk about a bad film. It has Billy Zane and Kimbo Slice in it, for example.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rld-6rRDb-k
Rambo writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 5:50:11 PM

wow...didn't know there were 3 of those movies...looks like an uwe boll production 'in the name of the king' direct to dvd crap
Zeroguy writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 6:21:45 PM

@mink

True. One film in, so he still has a ways to go. But he might have the talent. Like I said he has visual flair. He just needs to learn story telling.
Rambo writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 6:34:38 PM

interesting article about star trek villain identity:

http://www.inquisitr.com/435574/star-trek-villain-internet-jumps-shark-trying-to-figure-out-who-c*mberbatch-is-playing/
minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 6:48:20 PM

@Zeroguy: agreed. We'll see what he does with Oblivion. If he flubs that one, then I might have to go back to what I said about him not having innovation.

@Rambo: I like the Picard thing, but I heavily doubt it's true, although I wouldn't mind maybe them doing some time-traveling into the Federation's future with the next ST movie or so, maybe running into the Enterprise D.
Rambo writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 6:55:12 PM

A federation alternate future :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iAaX8Aq6smQ
minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 7:22:34 PM

@Rambo: Pretty sad Abrams' entire visual style relies solely on one cheap gimmick. But that video was wickedly hilarious, probably because it was so overdone.
Rambo writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 7:41:20 PM

I don't know...it could have had more lens flares...
minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 7:45:20 PM

lol.
Herbert Butterfield writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 8:02:11 PM


Herbert Butterfield writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 8:02:22 PM

vin diesel as kojak, folks...

http://www.deadline.com/2012/12/universal-sets-skyfall-scribes-purvis-wade-to-script-kojak-for-vin-diesel/
OneTime writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 8:35:37 PM

good im sstoked for this
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 18th, 2012 at 12:15:04 AM

@Rambo, Hope you like it lol Us Canadiens have a good name for film making, I wouldnt like to ruin that name by showing you a film you dislike Lol
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 18th, 2012 at 11:01:53 AM

Oh and just saw your comment Mink,

I really liked his acting in it, He did a good job as the bad guy

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved