WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Hobbit" Breaks Box Office Record with $84.8 Million

Posted: December 16th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Hobbit" Breaks Box Office Record with $84.8 MillionSubmit Comment
"The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey" set the record for the biggest three-day December opening by grossing almost $85 million at the domestic box office, surpassing the previous record-holder "I Am Legend" ($77 million).

"The Hobbit," which is the first of a trilogy, also earned $138 million overseas for a worldwide total of $223 million. That's higher than "The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King" ($125.9 million), which went on to gross a whopping $1.12 billion theatrically.

"An Unexpected Journey" has a 65% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes, and it's expected that it will earn as much as $350 million domestically by New Year's Day. It should have no problem surpassing the $1 billion mark globally.

Click here to read our "The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on December 16th, 2012 at 9:01:06 PM

I don't think it will have the legs that the LOTR films had. It will play solidly through the holidays, but it will fade quickly after that imo. I just don't get a sense of excitement from moviegoers this time around for all things Tolkien. I want to see it, but am not chomping at the bit to do so.
OneTime writes:
on December 16th, 2012 at 9:02:23 PM

i seen it today imax 3d...i liked it alot... wasent boring at all.

well played peter.
cress writes:
on December 16th, 2012 at 9:08:24 PM

Judging by the pic above, this must be the scene where the short bus has dropped off Bilbo and he's running to his mommy to show her his "drawerings."

No? I guess I'll see the film then and stop making wildly off-base assumptions.
pornfly writes:
on December 16th, 2012 at 9:25:17 PM

*HAHA!*
pornfly writes:
on December 16th, 2012 at 9:27:28 PM

I always wanted to be in Talias' Shire

"TAKER TO DA ZOO,RETARDS LIKE THE ZOO"
minkowski writes:
on December 16th, 2012 at 9:28:36 PM

Meh. What's the competition? Seems like for the best part of fifteen years or so, the December holiday slot has been predominated 40% of the time by James Cameron or Peter Jackson films.
pornfly writes:
on December 16th, 2012 at 9:43:20 PM

It doesnt matter the competition theres so many Tolkiendil-weeds with erect white heads waitin to see this
minkowski writes:
on December 16th, 2012 at 9:49:51 PM

Are you one, oh exalted sensei of the ditchweed?
Dark8 writes:
on December 16th, 2012 at 9:59:15 PM

I think its pretty clear that no one likes you mink
OneTime writes:
on December 16th, 2012 at 10:04:53 PM

i like him.


wink at mink


(see what i did there)
minkowski writes:
on December 16th, 2012 at 10:08:54 PM

What a season closer for Dexter!
Herbert Butterfield writes:
on December 16th, 2012 at 10:16:27 PM

right, minkowski? and it was great seeing doakes in the flashback scenes. imo, this season's right up there with the 1st two seasons.
Dark8 writes:
on December 16th, 2012 at 10:16:52 PM

I almost saw what you did there but I didn't



See what I did there
minkowski writes:
on December 16th, 2012 at 10:18:36 PM

@Herbert: can't wait for season 8! Best show on television for sure!
Patrick Bateman writes:
on December 16th, 2012 at 10:19:43 PM

Havnt watched it yet still pissed they killed off ray stevenson so early he was the best part of this season. Wish they would break the mould of one main villian per season and have him work with Sirko just to mix it up a bit.
Herbert Butterfield writes:
on December 16th, 2012 at 10:19:43 PM

i'm gonna try to type this in a way that's not a spoiler:

what debra did at the end screwed up dexter's scenario in terms of the gun that was used, if you know what i mean, mink. i wonder how that's going to be resolved next season.
Herbert Butterfield writes:
on December 16th, 2012 at 10:22:36 PM

patrick, i get what you're saying because it was a good character and a fine performance, but imo, i think that when and how he died worked in the overall context of the season.
minkowski writes:
on December 16th, 2012 at 10:35:02 PM

@PD: Ray Stevenson's character was awesome, and he's a damned fine actor, but he was never a serious contender to Dexter.

@Herbert: brilliant ending, but I have no f*cking clue! Jesus. And I always knew Deb would end up as American Psycho 2, if you know what I mean. sh*t just make all the bodies disappear and act like you have no idea where you-know-who went.

Bet season 8 ends with Dexter dying, and Deb taking up his 'work'. Hope not though because I want a movie.
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 16th, 2012 at 11:05:22 PM

http://www.theonion.com/articles/the-hobbit-to-feature-53minutelong-scene-of-bilbo,30727/
Rambo writes:
on December 16th, 2012 at 11:09:16 PM

^as long as he's doing that with his clothes on...
ChaseEvolution writes:
on December 16th, 2012 at 11:38:41 PM

@Minkowski

I don't understand why you feel the need to write out entire books every time you speak on here. On top of that, you're extremely negative. I'd appreciate you not talking anymore and leaving this site. Thanks!

-ChaseEvolution
Electro Rock writes:
on December 16th, 2012 at 11:42:21 PM

Seen it for the second time today. And will see it a couple more times at the dollar show. Its good. The mountain giants scene is great. Gollum looks way better. Can't wait for the other two installments.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 16th, 2012 at 11:54:36 PM

I will never watch this nerdgasm midget porn,elf sh*t.

Shut up chaseevolution/plasticman

And someone should of shot Obama.
pornfly writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 12:34:49 AM

Please dont bring attention to this site^

He meant yo momma
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 2:30:55 AM

@Mink

The season closer was good, but I was also kind of dissapointed, I was really hoping for the last season for him to go on the run from the cops..

I think that would have been interesting.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 2:33:10 AM

@Herbert

No but I'm sure Dexter would have thought about that and just dumped the bodies somewhere..

This last season man... Gonna be Soooo f*cking good..
FBO writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 5:32:26 AM

After reassessing my favorite Bond movies I've come to realize a couple of things. One, that there isn't six Bonds but only two Bonds, really. You have the minimalist but purposeful kickass Bond (Lazenby, Dalton and Craig) and the ridiculous gadget, one liners factory, spreading STDs like it's a religion Bond (Connery, Moore and Brosnan). And it seems like most people are fans of one type of Bond but not the other.

Two, I really don't like Octop*ssy. I remember watching it as a kid with my dad and older brother and they loved it so I loved it. But I just saw it again and wow does it suck.

And three, Connery had the right look for the character and set the standard for Bond's onscreen persona, but most of his movies are actually sub par. Mostly because the script writing sucked way back when. Then again, script writing sucks now too. So anyways, my new lists (as if anyone cares, am I right?) is as follows:

-Bonds-
1) Craig
2) Dalton
3) Lazenby
4) Connery
5) Moore
6) Brosnan

-Best Movies-
1) Skyfall
2) Casino Royale
3) Licence to Kill
4) The Living Daylights
5) On Her Majesty's Secret Service

-Worst Movies-
19) Quantum of Solace
20) Octop*ssy
21) Die Another Day
22) Moonraker
23) A View to a Kill
FBO writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 5:57:20 AM

Damn, wrong thread
sedibus writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 6:36:48 AM

I recently ate a bunch of mushrooms, sorry about my frigging badly written grammar.

Anyway, this is a tormenting moment to put up something different into the consternation of human life and brain and soul activity.

No less than a huge amount of hypocrisy and pedantic comments about whatever the subject is about, when sometimes a fine young idiot speaks as being all knowing, all perfect f*cking Buddha.

Well.
CornNugget writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 12:08:46 PM

@mink
Dexter is the worst show on television. American Idol, now that's a show. you dam pansy
FBO writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 1:52:11 PM

Obviously not a troll =/
minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 2:11:04 PM

lol@Bando!
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 5:19:06 PM

@Corn nugget

Die slowly fag. Dexter is amazing and f*ck American Idol..
minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 5:57:53 PM

Corn Nugget is a troll. He previously said Avatar, Avengers and TDKR are some of the worst movies to come out in the last ten years, and he also said Avengers looks worse than that Jersey Shore shark movie.

He also misspelled damn.
swoooop writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 6:53:02 PM

@mink

And your not a troll? f*ckING LOL!!
I can see that you have caved from much of the criticism and toned yourself down, and that makes you a weak f*cking troll.

And people misspell. But I guess you are to f*cking stupid to realize that some people here are not from the english speaking part of the world. Well, I don't expect you to f*cking understand.

Now, go and f*cking copy and past some hilarious response. I probably wont read it anyway.
minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 7:18:53 PM

Maybe, but then you posting just to attack me makes you a troll too.

Good job, you f*cking genius you.


And toned down? Are you f*cking insane? I just don't see any of the sh*tbaggers on here today, do you? That could have something to with it, right?


Aaaaaand, one more thing, the word is too, not to. But good job *trying* not to look like the troll moron you are.

Have a nice day, c*cksucker.
minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 7:33:28 PM

Wait. Why the f*ck am I arguing with a middle-aged man with a Hulk avatar?

Oh wait, probably the same loser who takes pictures of his DVD collection, computer and video games. Got your tv in there and your sister too I see.

Jesus f*ck what a loser. And what kind of faggot watches wrestling?

http://smg.beta.photobucket.com/user/Swoooop/library/

Ugly little fat f*ck. And yes, your hair is definitely receding. Got the cap all backwards like your gangster. And the boxed NES. Damn. You're a heartbreaker now, I see. What bitch wouldn't drop her panties for a man with a boxed NES?
minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 7:45:01 PM

^^There we go.

You're a playa' now, g! Yo!
CornNugget writes:
on December 18th, 2012 at 12:32:44 PM

@mink
my comments about your beloved Avengers and TDKR seems to have hit a nerve. May be some truth to what I say?
CornNugget writes:
on December 18th, 2012 at 12:49:54 PM

@Tanman32123
Sorry fag, Dexter is not "amazing"

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved