WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Sony Wanted Tom Hardy as Sandman and Sean Penn as Doctor Octopus in "Sinister Six"
Dec 22nd, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Director Says There's No Script, Release Date or Green Light
Dec 22nd, 2014
"The Hobbit 3" Dominates Box Office Weekend, "Night at the Museum 3" and "Annie" Bomb
Dec 22nd, 2014
Two Posters for Will Smith's "Focus" Heist Comedy
Dec 22nd, 2014
Photos: Better Look at Iron Man's Hulkbuster Suit From "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Dec 21st, 2014
First Look at "Sisters" Comedy, Re-Teaming Tina Fey and Amy Poehler
Dec 21st, 2014
Trailer: Sex Has Terrible Consequences in "It Follow" Horror Film
Dec 21st, 2014
New Photo From Joseph Gordon-Levitt's "The Walk," Directed by Robert Zemeckis
Dec 21st, 2014
Trailer for Sarah Michelle Gellar's "Veronika Decides to Die" Thriller
Dec 21st, 2014
Sony Considering Idris Elba as Next James Bond
Dec 20th, 2014
Peter Jackson Will Never Direct a Marvel Film
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film
Dec 20th, 2014
Two New Photos From Marvel's "Daredevil" TV Series
Dec 20th, 2014
Trailer for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Ted" Sequel
Dec 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg Will Return for "Transformers 5"
Dec 19th, 2014
"Team America: World Police" Screenings Also Cancelled Due to Terrorist Threats
Dec 19th, 2014
20th Century Fox Cancels It's Own North Korea-Based Film
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look: Tom Hanks in Steven Spielberg's Cold War Thriller
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look at Viggo Mortensen's "Captain Fantastic"
Dec 19th, 2014
Trailer for "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "American Sniper," with Bradley Cooper
Dec 18th, 2014
"Fifty Shades of Grey" and "Star Wars" are Top Trailers of 2014
Dec 18th, 2014
Hugh Jackman in Talks for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "The Wolverine 2"
Dec 18th, 2014
Peter Jackson Wants to Make More Tolkien Movies
Dec 18th, 2014
Theaters Refusing to Show "The Interview," Sony Cancels Premiere, Press and Release
Dec 17th, 2014
Chris Pratt and a Dinosaur in New "Jurassic World" Photo
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Doesn't Like Marvel Films, Says Superheroes Should Be Happier
Dec 17th, 2014
Orlando Bloom Says "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" is a Reboot
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Will Direct "Beetlejuice 2," Confirms Winona Ryder Will Return
Dec 17th, 2014
Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy Unveils Pac-Man and Donkey Kong Posters
Dec 17th, 2014
New Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Dec 17th, 2014
First Look at "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy" Sequel in the Works

Posted: December 15th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy" Sequel in the WorksSubmit Comment
"Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy" hit theaters a year ago and went on to gross about $80 million. Apparently it became profitable, because producer Eric Fellner has now revealed that he's currently working on the script with director Tomas Alfredson and writer Peter Straughan.

"We are working on another one. [Producer] Tim Bevan is putting it together as we speak with [screenwriter] Peter Straughan and Tomas Alfredson, so yes it's in development," he explained. "It did unbelievably well and it didn't cost hardly anything. But things take time. Tim is passionate about making sure we do another one."

The original film was based on a novel by John le Carre, who wrote a follow-up novel, called "Smiley's People," which has George Smiley (Gary Oldman) come out of retirement for another mission.

Source: Collider


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 7:58:18 AM

More long, awkward, silent stares.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 8:21:31 AM

Um, yea ok. I'll watch the sequel. Gary Oldman was great in this so I'm all for watching it at my local artsy fartsy theater.
pornfly writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 9:45:52 AM

the Downton Abbey of spy movies
Digging for boogers was more intriguing
Rambo writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 10:21:38 AM

the first one was one of the most boring movies i've ever seen
yoshi187 writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 10:42:20 AM

Rambo is right, this was one of the most mind numbingly boring films i've ever seen. A great cast couldn't stop it from being less exciting than watching dog sh*t go crusty.
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 11:33:38 AM

I'm still confused about Mark Strong's character being shot at that outdoors cafe and then later they show him as a teacher and living in that puny trailer home. Did he fake his death at the cafe? Were the teacher scenes flashbacks? Was it his twin? Maybe the sequel will not explain it!
cress writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 12:21:55 PM

@Deaftone. He was kicked out of the agency, and hidden away. He was now a teacher. Oh, and him and Colin Firth were shaggin each other. You probably already knew that, but I thought I'd throw that out there to give you a lemonface. :)
minkowski writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 2:50:14 PM

Jason Bourne for the elderly diapered and drooling crowd.

No thanks.
OneTime writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 3:29:34 PM

ive tried watching 4 or 5 times.. and each time i pass out 30 min in...
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 8:01:49 PM

@cress

lol, so I guess the cafe shooting was faked then. I never saw TTSS in theaters but I got it as a bday gift and I watched it once and it was boring and confusing.

Although I do feel that Gary Oldman should have won best actor for that year, he was really good as Smiley and his Oscar would have also been recognizing just how f*cking awesome he is as an actor over his 30 year career.

Giving it to Jean Dujardin for the waaaay f*cking overrated The Artist was insanely stupid. The Artist was a 'new' silent film but except for Nosferatu and some Charlie Chaplin movies and Metropolis, silent films suck balls and that's why sound was added and The Artist is just not that good of a movie even if you could hear it. Jean Dujardin's performance was spectacularly average and he was much better in the 2 James Bond spoofs in French that were done by the same director, Lost in Rio and the other one.
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 8:05:33 PM

Also Hugo was a much much better love letter to the art of filmmaking than The Artist could ever hope to be. It was a hell of a lot more creative and has a much better story and Ben Kingsley was great in it and i'm glad it won some Oscars for technical achievements and production.
cress writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 9:54:11 PM

@Deaftone. I haven't seen The Artist, simply because it seems more gimmick than anything else. It didn't appeal to me in the same way musicals don't appeal to me. These are genres that should've died out a long time ago. I enjoyed Hugo; it was visually clever and a nice love letter to the era of silent films. That is a film I can get behind--a
film about silent movies, not a modern-day silent film. I love some Charlie Chaplin(Modern Times and his "talkie" The Great Dictator). He was a master at conveying a wealth of emotions.

Tinker Tailor is a bit of a long yawn, but it reminded me a lot of the espionage/spy thrillers of the 70s. Films like Three Days of the Condor, The Conversation, Parallax View, All the Presidents Men. I'm an old bird I guess. So in that respect, I admired it a lot for doing something different in the age of Mission Impoosible and Jason Bourne. And Gary Oldman was terrific.
minkowski writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 10:17:41 PM

The Artist. If that wasn't blatantly contrived Oscar fodder, I don't know what is.
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 11:06:17 PM

@cress

Yeah I will be 35 myself soon and f*ck me if that doesn't feel weird to realize and say that. I like the movies you mentioned as well but to me TTSS felt like a snail on top of a turtle inside of a hamster wheel in an anti-gravity chamber.

I moved as slow as mole asses and while I enjoyed the ensemble cast and the retro period being so well recreated, I did feel bored with the film. I should try to watch it again soon because when I watched it the first time it was getting back from my Bday trip to see my family.

Also, John Hurt is so good he can steal a scene from any other actor in the room.
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 11:07:29 PM

^It^
cress writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 11:34:39 PM

"...TTSS felt like a snail on top of a turtle inside of a hamster wheel in an anti-gravity chamber."

LOL. Yeah, it is that. I myself wouldn't watch it again, and I don't think it will steal your heart on a second viewing either.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 16th, 2012 at 7:31:16 AM

Actually watched 2 hrs of Tinker Tailor last night. Its probably the 3rd time I've tried to watch it all the way through without falling asleep. Sleep wins every time though. That movie is about as boring as it comes. And all this Oldman Oscar stuff is absolute bullsh*t! He barely did ANYTHING in this movie. It actually might have been his worst role next to his Jim Gordon.
lppinto writes:
on December 16th, 2012 at 10:51:34 AM

I watched the previous two times .. and i think i'll watch it again, it's a damn great movie if you like real spy stories and not the fast food crap that James Bond is ..
holtlt writes:
on December 16th, 2012 at 2:00:11 PM

I'll watch anything with Gary Oldman as the lead. ANYTHING.
bane writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 1:11:46 PM

no NO no !!!

tinker tailor was perfect
the way gary oldman changed on screen
leave it alone
bane writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 1:14:12 PM

@ holtlt

you'll watch anything with Gary Oldman

LOST IN SPACE ????

ha ha ha
bane writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 1:19:10 PM

@ minkowski

Jason Bourne for the mature and patient crowd
minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2012 at 6:30:00 PM

Yeah, maybe, but the dead are mature and patient too, bane.

Shia LaBeouf Says He Was Raped During His #IAmSorry Stunt

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TIME Magazine's Top 10 Best and Worst Films of 2014

It's Official: Jared Leto is The Joker and Will Smith is Deadshot in "Suicide Squad"

Christian Bale Says He'll Never Work With "Terminator Salvation" Director Again

Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"

Marvel Would Have Recast Spider-Man in "Captain America: Civil War"

"Demolition Man" Writer Explains How He Came Up with The Three Seashells

"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Still Rules Box Office, "The Pyramid" Bombed

Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved