WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
New "Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Apr 21st, 2015
First Look at Jared Leto as The Joker From "Suicide Squad"?
Apr 21st, 2015
Photos: Marvel Putting Up Tiny "Ant-Man" Billboards
Apr 21st, 2015
"Transformers 5" Coming in 2017
Apr 21st, 2015
Photo: Full Batman Costume From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed
Apr 21st, 2015
Full "Fantastic Four" Trailer is Here!
Apr 20th, 2015
Teaser for "Star Wars" Spin-Off Film Leaked Online!
Apr 20th, 2015
Two "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Teaser Posters
Apr 20th, 2015
"Furious 7" Crosses $1 Billion at Box Office
Apr 20th, 2015
Trailer for Ridiculous "Mega Shark vs Kolossus"
Apr 20th, 2015
Chris Pratt and His Raptors in New "Jurassic World" Poster
Apr 20th, 2015
George Lucas Says Marvel May Remake "Howard the Duck"
Apr 19th, 2015
Dinosaur vs Shark in New "Jurassic World" Poster
Apr 19th, 2015
Official "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer is Here!
Apr 18th, 2015
Restricted Trailer for Salma Hayek's "The Tale of Tales" Fantasy Film
Apr 18th, 2015
New Poster for Joseph Gordon-Levitt's "The Walk," Directed by Robert Zemeckis
Apr 18th, 2015
New Poster for "Jurassic World," New Trailer Coming on Monday
Apr 18th, 2015
Full "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Leaked Online!
Apr 17th, 2015
New "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Trailer is Here!
Apr 17th, 2015
Josh Hartnett Regrets Turning Down Batman Role in "Batman Begins"
Apr 17th, 2015
Ryan Gosling in Talks for "Blade Runner" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2015
Trailer for "The Gallows" Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2015
Matthew Vaughn to Direct "Flash Gordon" Remake
Apr 17th, 2015
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Teaser Trailer is Here!
Apr 16th, 2015
"Wonder Woman" Just Hired a New Director
Apr 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Results," with Guy Pearce and Cobie Smulders
Apr 16th, 2015
Jason Sudeikis to Star in "Fletch" Reboot
Apr 16th, 2015
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Footage Coming Tomorrow
Apr 15th, 2015
Trailer for David Spade's "Joe Dirt" Sequel
Apr 15th, 2015
John Cusack is The Beach Boys Founder in "Love and Mercy" Trailer
Apr 15th, 2015
Trailer for Al Pacino's "Manglehorn"
Apr 15th, 2015
Griswolds Visit Walley World in New "Vacation" Photo
Apr 15th, 2015
New Trailer for Marvel's "Ant-Man"
Apr 14th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Hobbit" - What Did You Think?

Posted: December 15th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Hobbit" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
"The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey," which is the first film in a trilogy that will serve as a prequel to "Lord of the Rings," is now playing in theaters. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought and which format you saw it in. Write your mini-reviews in the comments section below.

On RottenTomatoes "The Hobbit" has a less than impressive 66% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes, with many critics agreeing that it's a great adventure movie. Unfortunately, even more believe it's too long and unnecessary.

The new movie already grossed $13 million from midnight showings. While "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2" earned $43.5 million during midnight, "The Hobbit" set a record for a December release. In fact, "Avatar" was only able to earn $3.5 million and "I Am Legend" only $1.7 million. "I Am Legend" went on to set a December weekend record with $77.2 million. "The Hobbit" will likely easily surpass it.

Click here to read our "The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 44 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 9:06:26 PM

I like how you ask the question at 8 pm central time when most Americans haven't even arrived at the theaters yet.

Give them some time, dude.
Electro Rock writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 9:21:16 PM

I went early this afternoon. Its got a couple corny lines but I enjoyed it.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 9:25:01 PM

^^Well, what did you think of the 48FPS? Do tell!
Electro Rock writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 9:28:11 PM

It held up good. The only part that looked twitchy to me was the downward spiraling shot into the orcs underground city.
sedibus writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 9:28:26 PM

I don't know, man, making 3 movies of 3hrs each based on a book that is only like 300 pages.
So you're making your own story?

f*ck off, you and Tron 3, Ted 2, Matrix 4, The Terminator when he was still Human, Die Hard 5.

Well, I'm trolling cause probably I ain't going to see them, so.
Thegreatramon writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 9:42:37 PM

I saw it. I feverishly masterbated to it with my girlfriend in the theatre. we had to be dicsreet of course. I j*zzed at the scene when the trees walked again as well as When Gandalf leaves after a conflict of interest, the group gets captured by mountain trolls. Bilbo stalls the trolls from eating them when Gandalf arrives and saves the company. They search the trolls' cave and find treasure and Elven forged swords. Thorin and Gandalf both take a sword and then as they are leaving Gandalf finds a shortsword which he gives to Bilbo (Bilbo the dildo!) I then pissed on my girlfriend as i painted her with piss she sucked mah d*ck and let me spin my finger in her clit. that was later in the night though.
Venom1970 writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 9:43:23 PM

Doesn't come out here till Boxing Day. So nfi

By the way sorry to the Americans on here for the tragedy that happened in the Connecticut school massacre, very f*cked up sh*t. Wish people like that took the time to shoot themselves first.
Rambo writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 9:47:16 PM

I don't know, man, making 3 movies of 3hrs each based on a book that is only like 300 pages.
So you're making your own story?

that pretty much sums it...should have been 1 movie and should have happened before LOTR...now they are just milking it
cress writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 9:52:12 PM

Who let the ADD nitwit in the room?
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 9:56:35 PM

Thegreatramon is the fag with the Born to be Cute tag on his twitter page.
Thegreatramon writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 9:57:05 PM

^Right? sedibus geeeeeet ouuuttaaa here!
Thegreatramon writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 9:57:54 PM

Mink f*ck off.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 10:00:32 PM

Hush, Manila street chicken.
Quidd writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 10:02:14 PM

Action scenes were great but they definitely forced dialogue scenes to make this into 3 films for some reasons. You may start to drift here and there especially at the beginning. We have already been to Middle Earth, and they took way too much time reintroducing us to something that had already been covered in the trilogy. Can't wait for the 2nd and hope the 3rd is just one massive action movie. But probably not.
cress writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 10:11:02 PM

"Hush, Manila street chicken."

LOL. That's funny.
Venom1970 writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 10:23:09 PM

Shouldn't it be "Thegreatmoron"
would suit you much better.
Venom1970 writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 10:23:58 PM

PS people that go on about sex like you Greatmoron generally DON'T get it.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 10:30:42 PM

It is visually stunning. It took me about 15-20 minutes to get used to the difference. The beginning of the movie is horribly drawn out and slow. They break into not one but two songs in the Shire. Which, fore, I was just bored with. I'm sure the fact that the 48fps distracted me (at first) in some way contributed to the monotony of the film's beginning. With all that said- I still enjoyed the movie. The pace does finally start to build as the story moves on. Gandolf and Gollum are great (again). Martin Freeman is a great young Bilbo. It's not a great movie by any means. But it's definitely worth your time.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 10:30:49 PM

Oh, thegreatmoron wasn't lying, he was just telling the story from his boyfriend's perspective.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 10:31:56 PM

Wow sorry about all the f*cking typos. Jesus.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 10:35:40 PM

^^No soup for you!
cress writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 10:37:35 PM

I hope I'm not too twisted when I see this.
sedibus writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 10:40:53 PM

Well, anyway, I ain't going to waste my time with this movie trilogy, if ever, I'm gonna read first the book and don't really know if I'm ever gonna watch this pictures.

Yeah, man, I'm going to get out but of the movie theatre when they're showing this 48fps HiFi HD Digital 850 hundred million dollar 6 hour motion picture.

If they had made this just as a single 3hr movie, then, probably I'm going into it, cause then you can get a Director's Cut 5 hr version.

But no, this bitches think they know all about the Middle Earth, and so they hold the rights, so lets milk the frigging kow, why the f*ck not, isn't it?
markoz writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 12:13:20 AM

Seen it two days ago. To me it was amazing, a lot more details from the book were put unlike Lord of the Rings. 48 fps + 3D was wonderful. It's kind of odd for the first 20 minutes or so, but once you get used to it you don't see anything weird. In fact I felt weirder when after that I started to watch something in 24 fps
pornfly writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 12:51:08 AM

Thats weird
I dont wanna have to take dramamine to watch 48 fps


Black Umbrella bitches
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 1:27:45 AM

I have no interest in watching this milked to death franchise.
billofill writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 1:49:21 AM

If you were to do a proper Hobbit telling with the added Necromancer/Sauron sh*t from the Appendicies it would have to atleast 3 movies. Yeah the book is like 257 pages, but alot of sh*t happens that is just simplified cause it's a kids book.
holtlt writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 2:01:32 AM

It is a decent movie. The visuals are stunning, better than ever. The beginning was a bit slow, with long dialogues, but it really paid of in the end with a really good structure. The Gollum and Bilbo scene is fun to watch, and I really felt attached to some of the dwarves. I couldn't stand the villain of the movie, which is the pale orc. He was a pain in the ass and was not menacing as other villains in the franchise. There's a few good references to what would be the future that leads to the Lord Of The Rings franchise, as when Gandalf meets with Elrond, Saruman and Galadriel to discuss about Sauron's possible return. I felt it was more for the younger audiences though, because it was filled with less intense violence and more comedy.

The Hobbit is not as epic as LOTR, but is still good in its own way.
Electro Rock writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 2:40:49 AM

I don't know man. They don't really skip on the decapitations in this film.
KillerCOck writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 3:01:50 AM

I liked that it wasn't sappy. some of it really does stretch and drag doh.
Ranger writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 4:04:57 AM

... like Lohan's life.
Morbius writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 6:19:25 AM

It didn't feel too long to me. Some of the sequences were so spectacular that when I looked back at my watch, 45 minutes had progressed.

Really engrossing film. f*ck the critics, what do they know anyway?
GreenLensman writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 6:50:03 AM

yea marky mark so excited to play a 10 minute role next to no name fukwads, and even cheaper cgi
TemporalFlux writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 7:00:39 AM

Make sure you see this in the higher framerate 3D, because it does distract you for quite a while from the really slow start of the movie.

I wonder if somehow that it was intentional to have the start drag out so much, to let the audience adjust.

But once it gets going, and the story kicks in, it is quite an enjoyable spectacle.

I do feel though, that 2 movies would have been quite enough.
velocityknown writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 9:32:23 AM

I didn't see it in 48fps so I can't comment on that but I will say that I went in ready to see the pacing problems and repetitiveness you would expect from a 300 page book being split into 3 films. And with that said: I loved it. I think I probably underestimated by love for Middle-Earth, but if you're the type would watch all of the extended versions of the LOTR trilogy, then there's no reason why you won't love this film.

It probably won't be winning over any new fans, but it's clear that Jackson made this film for the existing base.

I will say, even in 2D, that it's crazy to see how much animation has improved on Gollum. I refuse to see it at 48fps, but I am interested to see that scene in 3D.
velocityknown writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 9:34:23 AM

I don't understand the criticism of the opening sequence, I feel like it didn't take any longer than The Fellowship of the Ring did to get started and it hit a lot of the same notes:

1) Opens with a battle sequence
2) Gandalf/Hobbit scene in the Shire
3) Some kind of party/dinner that runs on for a while
4) Bilbo/Frodo talk about going somewhere
5) Bilbo/Frodo finally go somewhere
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 11:43:08 AM

lol Mink..

Seinfeld Reference ftw!
makingcircles writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 4:55:54 PM

I'm a huge fan of the LOTR trilogy and thoughy the Hobbit was pretty good. Not as good minf you...but good. Some of the cheesy dialogue like the last words of the Goblin King were distracting and annoying but all in all a decent addition to the franchise. 7/10 for me.
makingcircles writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 4:57:17 PM

Speaking of distracting and annoying...sorry for the typos.
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 6:52:22 PM

I thought it was good...not great but good. I think the original idea of 2 movies instead of 3 would have been better cause it did seem a bit drawn out for the sake of drawing it out. I didnt give a sh*t about any of the dwarves except Thorin, who's the only one that has his name repeated besides gandalf taking roll call, and with a back story.

The 48 FPS was interesting. yes, it looks like a tv show but the quality of the picture is head and shoulders above everything else. Everything in CG looks amazing with it.

Speaking of the CG, it is incredible. The mountain giants was one of the coolest things ive seen in a long time and gollum looked fantastic.

All in all I give it a 7/10. Lets hope the other 2 pick up the slack.
netslums writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 9:20:00 PM

I really enjoyed it. Definitely a film catered towards nostalgia, but it was a fun movie.

I'm kind of confused about the 48 fps everyone is talking about on here. I fully understand the difference and the fact that this movie has two versions, what I'm confused about is why anyone would CHOOSE to watch it at 48 fps. Are there some theaters that don't give you a choice? Being serious, so please no smart-ass remarks.

Also, the film was stretched into 3 because of all the information Jackson, Walsh, and the other writers pulled from the appendices. Granted, I think they could have condensed it to two films, but one movie ticket each year for 3 years is no big deal.

Oh and the 3D was actually pretty interesting. Definitely the best 3D movie I've seen...but probably not worth the money.
hellsingfan writes:
on December 16th, 2012 at 11:08:57 AM

i saw it in 28 fps and thought it was good was it as good as lord of the rings no but at least it isn't star wars episode 1 so be thankful
Master Thought writes:
on December 16th, 2012 at 4:41:19 PM

It was an enjoyable movie. Not sure how they're gonna get 3 films out of it, but it was fun nonetheless.
cress writes:
on December 16th, 2012 at 8:45:35 PM

Article at theonion.com:

'The Hobbit' To Feature 53-Minute-Long Scene Of Bilbo Baggins Trying To Figure Out What To Pack

*That'll get three films out of it.

New Spider-Man is 15-Year-Old Peter Parker, No Origin Story

Disney Making Live-Action "Winnie the Pooh" Film

Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman

Arnold Schwarzenegger Happy He Didn't Star in "Terminator Salvation"

"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon

"Insurgent" Takes First Place at Box Office, Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Flops

"Spectre" Opening Sequence is Biggest in History

"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" Title Revealed

"Captain America: Civil War" Start Date and Plot Synopsis Revealed

"Home" and "Get Hard" Perform Well at Box Office
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved