WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Still Doesn't Have a Script
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Bad Boys 3" Hasn't Happened Due to Bad Timing
Apr 23rd, 2014
First Look: Robert Downey Jr on "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
New Photos From Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2014
Bill Paxton Will Do Anything to Join "Avatar 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Will ONLY Be Based on First Six "Star Wars" Films
Apr 22nd, 2014
Paul WS Anderson Reveals Title for New "Resident Evil" Film
Apr 22nd, 2014
Watch First Five Minutes From "How to Train Your Dragon 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Terminator" Reboot is Officially Filming
Apr 22nd, 2014
Marc Webb Wants J. Jonah Jameson in "The Amazing Spider-Man 3"
Apr 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Grand Seduction," with Taylor Kitsch and Brendan Gleeson
Apr 22nd, 2014
First Look: Paul Walker's Brothers on "Fast and Furious 7" Set
Apr 22nd, 2014
Danny Boyle and Leonardo DiCaprio in Talks for Steve Jobs Biopic
Apr 22nd, 2014
Steven Spielberg Wrote the Story for "The Goonies" Sequel
Apr 22nd, 2014
New Poster for Tom Cruise's "Edge of Tomorrow" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 21st, 2014
Writer Says "Fantastic Four" is a Coming of Age Story
Apr 21st, 2014
"Bioshock" Movie May Still Be Alive
Apr 21st, 2014
Rubin "Hurricane" Carter, the Boxer and Inspiration for Denzel Washington's Movie, Dead at 76
Apr 21st, 2014
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Transcendence" Bombs
Apr 20th, 2014
"X-Men: Apocalypse" to Focus on Younger Cast, Patrick Stewart Says He May Still Return
Apr 20th, 2014
Hayden Panettiere Won't Return for "Heroes: Reborn" TV Series
Apr 20th, 2014
Trailer for Michael C. Hall's "Cold in July" Thriller
Apr 20th, 2014
Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage
Apr 19th, 2014
Is "Batman vs Superman" Changing Its Release Date to Avoid "Captain America 3" Competition?
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look at Ryan Gosling's Directorial Debut "Lost River"
Apr 19th, 2014
Jaden Smith to Play a Slave in "The Good Lord Bird"
Apr 19th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Normal Heart," with Mark Ruffalo and Julia Roberts
Apr 19th, 2014
Producers Say Spider-Man Will Only Join "X-Men" or "The Avengers" When They Run Out of Ideas
Apr 19th, 2014
Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look: Michael Fassbender in William Shakespeare's "Macbeth"
Apr 18th, 2014
New Footage in "Godzilla" TV Spot
Apr 18th, 2014
Marvel Confirms It Has Rights to Kingpin and Elektra for "Daredevil" TV Series
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "Jersey Boys" Musical
Apr 18th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Scientists Testing to See If We Live in "The Matrix"-Style Computer Program

Posted: December 14th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Scientists Testing to See If We Live in "The Matrix"-Style Computer ProgramSubmit Comment
Researchers at University of Washington are hard at work to figure out if the entire universe is just a massive computer program, similar to the one in "The Matrix." The scientists point out that if there is any truth to this, then we would be able to communicate with other universes, if they're on the same platform.

According to one of the researchers, Martin Savage, computer simulations are decades away from creating even a primitive working model of the universe. In fact, scientists are only able to accurately model 100 trillionth of a meter, with work to create a model of a full human being still out of reach.

It will take many years to reach the computational power to give a real glimpse of whether we are living in a simulation. But even by looking at the tiny portion of the universe that we can currently accurately model, it may be possible to find out if we are existing in a computer created universe, created many years in the future.

Source: TechEye, Geekologie


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 114 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:39:28 AM

f*ck And Off with these Geeks, Dumbest story ever on WP
trailertrash writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:51:16 AM

If we did live in a Computer program i'd like to at least Holiday as the string part of Kate Upton's Underwear please.
Rambo writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:53:22 AM

let me make it easier for the scientists:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maya_(illusion)
McQueen writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:58:52 AM

"f*ck And Off with these Geeks, Dumbest story ever on WP"


Very well said mate, you read my mind. Literally.
vellarod writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 7:14:47 AM

interesting article
cress writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 7:24:06 AM

" The scientists point out that if there is any truth to this, then we would be able to communicate with other universes...."

I'm all for contacting the universe populated with Tricia Helfer look alikes with an insatiable need for cress semen.
pornfly writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 7:53:26 AM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lmK4_Byin0Y&feature=youtube_gdata_player

boogiel writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:08:13 AM

Slow day for news, eh alex?
Dekead writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:09:56 AM

Yeah this is totally not reality, why don't you idiots focus on more important things?
pornfly writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:18:24 AM

Similar to the stingy dumbasses that spend hundreds of thousands of dollars on pet weddings,jewelry and pet clothes while theyre stepping over the homeless and driving past soup kitchens.

Can you imagine?
Your slurpin up your 4,080th bowl of soup while some chez whitey bitch is getting her Papillons' nails painted
pornfly writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:18:56 AM

Youre
McQueen writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:23:39 AM

"Researchers at University of Washington are hard at work to figure out if the entire universe is just a massive computer program..."

As if we know everything about our planet, the human body and all the species who live on earth, these so-called scientists have a much important mission to inquire about the entire universe!

Biggest wankers on earth! Unbelievable.
zxz writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:26:24 AM

Did they start this experiment before or after the state of Washington's marijuana experiment? This is like the kind of research project only a stoner could conceive.
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:47:04 AM

Is this tomfoolery being co-funded by David Icke?
Matiax writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:48:55 AM

We're all in a Sims game.
supaflywill writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 9:13:40 AM

u have wasted 2 mins of my life reading this sh*t ...WP
OutOf1sMind writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 9:30:04 AM

How much money is being spent on this f*cking nonsense research??!! get a grip
trailertrash writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 9:36:22 AM

Deaft0ne

David Icke on Wogan 1991 some of the funniest live TV i've ever seen !!
bane writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 9:44:58 AM

and the oscar goes to.. Daniel Day lewis

http://www.movie2k.to/Lincoln-watch-movie-2264245.html
Kurskij writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 9:54:05 AM

I f*ckING GOT THAT THE OSCAR GOES TO DANIEL DAY-LEWIS!

So, may dear friend, why post it on 600 different boards? So that we don't forget by chance?..
trailertrash writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 10:21:09 AM

LOL !!
N8R writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 10:22:45 AM

Dear Alex,

I don't comment much, but I read your site every day. I just want to show some respect for what you do since so many others don't. You're like the guy that mows the lawn of the dog park. You put good hard work into something tangible just to have bitches sh*t all over it. We know they mean well and it's nothing against you, but I just want to take the time to stop and say thanks for what you do.

Happy Holidays.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 10:26:32 AM

I read about this on another website. Talk bout a mind trip if it were true.
trailertrash writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 10:27:07 AM

Alex Your mom has a WP account ..... Thats so sweet
Kurskij writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 10:28:56 AM

^good on, lmao

But she's write. Bitches do sh*t over things all the time.
Kurskij writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 10:29:53 AM

fuuuuck.

"good one", "she's right"

So much hard work, so many bitches and no edit button.
McQueen writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 10:51:58 AM

"Alex Your mom has a WP account ..... Thats so sweet"


LOLOL!!
supaflywill writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 11:04:49 AM

^
hahahahah
N8R writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 11:08:47 AM

Hey.. I get it, these comments are good stuff. Hell, I'm halfway tempted to change my screen name to Alex's Mom. But I won't fot 2 reasons. 1) That seems like an offense that warrants banning, and 2)... the sexually harassing jokes would be endless.

I'm just in a "cut somebody some slack" mood today. Tomorrow I'll probably be cranky and morose again.
swoooop writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 11:53:34 AM

Just as stupid as believing inn fake gods.
Kurskij writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 12:14:37 PM

^^ you sound like an exceptionally good fella.
But having mentioned that, Alex mom joke was still f*cking funny
FBO writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 12:15:58 PM

Bwahahahahahhahahahahahahhahah
FBO writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 12:16:30 PM

(Deep breath)
FBO writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 12:17:01 PM

Hahahahhahahahahhaahahahahapsststffhcgrgcidge.... (Pass out from laughter)
Ranger writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 12:30:09 PM

Those scientists are fools.





I AM The Matrix.
Venom1970 writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 12:40:22 PM

That annoying guy posting the same thing on every forum. Please Ban e, make a phone call and tell a friend, or something.

With the amount of weird people I deal with on a daily basis it is impossible for this to be a program, as these people cannot be programmed they are too f*cked up.
TMD writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 12:43:54 PM

Too much time on their hands
bane writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 12:46:03 PM

@ Venom1970

i like your avatar
you must have been pissed off
when you saw sam raimi's SPIDER MAN 3

the character VENOM wasn't
really given the right treatment

slevin27 writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 1:06:46 PM

This was taken from Yahoo news
Džeko writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 1:09:05 PM

@tt
Nope,"Unicorns and Vampires are real"(or whatever Alex was smoking that day)beats it easily.
Kurskij writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 1:24:52 PM

^bbbbut, unicorns and vampires ARE real!

AND THEY'RE BLEK!
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 1:38:57 PM

*sigh* You guys really disappoint me. You don't understand a thing and yet you're more than ready to fire off insults. You remind me of the people who burned those witches in Salem, or the fools who tried to shut down Galileo and Copernicus. Or Torquemada.



"f*ck And Off with these Geeks, Dumbest story ever on WP"

No, it's not. It's actually research that involves physics you, and 99% of the people here, couldn't ever comprehend, and that's just a fact, not an insult.

Here's the PDF link. Read it. Tell me if you understand even one sentence, one bit of the mathematics involved. Any of you.

But please do get back to joking about Kate Upton's underwear...



"Yeah this is totally not reality, why don't you idiots focus on more important things?"

What exactly would you have physicists and mathematicians, hired specifically for their scientific expertise, do instead? Pick up trash alongside the interstate?

But people like you probably pray to some tin god every night, right?




"Biggest wankers on earth! Unbelievable."

Sure. And you understand what they're doing because you've read the Arxiv paper, right? You do know their work is essentially a follow-up to work done at the much vaunted University of Bonn, right?




"Just as stupid as believing inn fake gods."

You have to be one of the most stupid people posting at WorstPreviews.

Please, please, do us all a massive favor and kill yourself immediately.



"Too much time on their hands"

Versus what, exactly? You think this is about movies? It's not. It's actually work that goes back decades, centuries even, and just because it's been pop-culturalized by associating it with a movie, a movie that's largely in part based on real science and philosophy, doesn't mean the research is a bunch of dorks sitting around writing papers on f*cking movies. Hell, the physicists probably hate this kind of bullsh*t media attention more than you.



Anyway, interesting article, Alex, but you shouldn't have just regurgitated what Yahoo and others have written, and if you're going to write stuff like this, you need to do it in a way the kneejerk dumbasses here, who outright refuse to read, learn and investigate, won't have a hee haw time slinging monkey sh*t as usual.

Jesus. Some days, I don't know...I'm just damned near embarrassed to associate myself with you primitive, superstitious, moon-worshiping Neanderthals.

But hey, at least you heard the truth from me. Someone else might have been less kind....
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 1:42:16 PM

Ooops. Here's the link, not that anyone here would ever even try to read it....

http://arxiv.org/pdf/1210.1847v2
Kurskij writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 1:47:33 PM

Dear Bane,

I myself sometimes post links to new trailers and, rarely and mostly jokingly, movie news from other sites. The reason for this being that Alex is no Speedy Gonzales (I presume) and it often takes him some time to make updates.

But (and it's a huge motherf*cking but if you excuse my distinguished language) none of the people here who do the same, those people being Bullit (aka McQueen because f*ck you Alex), tt, pornfly, mink and many others, tend to post EVERY DAMN THING that comes up ON EVERY AVAILABLE BOARD.

I am sincerely grateful when you post useful links (links, not lists of every available nomination) to movie news or trailers because of Alex-related reasons listed above.

But please, stop posting useless sh*t on 5+ boards just because you happened to come across it. It's distracting and it makes me want to hurt random people.

Yours truly, Kurskij.

Anyone thinking the same are welcomed to sign.

Ps Yes, I am well aware that Daniel 'f*cking' Day-Lewis might win a motherf*cking Oscar.
Kurskij writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 2:00:30 PM

@mink

Jesus H. Christ you actually took time to write this?!

I know, I just wrote even more useless thing, but still.

Thx for the link btw, I'll read it later.

Another btw: give me links to vfx sites if you'll be so kind (giggity). Wanna read something interesting on the topic.
Kurskij writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 2:03:56 PM

Ps: Alex, is your proposition on writing for WP still standing? My English sucks, so I'm out, but you sure could use some "48-60 fps" or "future of motion capture" articles now. Lohan is cool and all, but constructive conversation wouldn't hurt.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 2:04:09 PM

Wait. It's useless to tell people they're objectively stupid for criticizing and laughing at something they don't, can't comprehend, but the actual mindless guffawing *isn't* useless?

And people like you wonder why the world is full of ignorance, stupidity and, at best, average minds...

Wow. Posting here is like a really bad trip sometimes...



Anyway, no, I don't have links for visual effects and that's not really on-topic.
SkullKrusher writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 2:07:53 PM

f*ckin' hell, Mink! I reckon this might be about the first time I've ever agreed with any of the tripe that you usually spiel on this irreverently, ill-misbegotten site! I, too, feel that this research is not a contemptable waste of knowledgable humans' time to satiate the greater mind's trust to what it is to be human, and what our existence coalates to! As an atheist, it is my belief that there may or may not be a god or devil, and that there is more to our lives, and existence on this planet, than what meets the mind's eye! I'm all for this kind of freeist, non-conforming research! (Perhaps, Alex, not such a wise forum topic on a movie website, no matter how remotely attributed to said movie!)
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 2:09:06 PM

"My English sucks, so I'm out, but you sure could use some "48-60 fps" or "future of motion capture""

You've been to fxguide.com, I see.

There was something on 48fps IIRC, recently, but the technology isn't impressive. You're just doubling the damned frame-rate. Nothing innovative. Just the economy catching up with technology. Or vice versa.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 2:13:33 PM

http://www.slate.com/articles/arts/culturebox/2012/12/the_hobbit_in_48_fps_why_i_liked_the_increased_frame_rate.single.html
Stapes writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 2:15:02 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pIoMXYBztdg

Love this story. Reminds me of the above link.

Every time some hopeless slaveminded Obamaite tries to explain to me their naive world view, this scene from the matrix always pops into my head.
Kurskij writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 2:28:46 PM

@mink

No, I haven't been there. But we had a conversation on 48fps a while ago.

"And people like you wonder why the world is full of ignorance, stupidity"

I don't wonder about it, I take it for granted.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 2:33:46 PM

@kurskij: Thought you'd been to FXGUIDE because the first article is on the future of motion capture, or something like that.

Anyway, not trying to be a prick, but it's damned annoying to come here to read that one rare intelligent and thought-provoking article and see thirty comments all aping the same "I hate this, this is stupid" rhetoric for which WorstPreviews is so infamous.

One thing for some bullsh*t film no one will care about next year, but another for sh*t that's actually thought-provoking and, imo, big-picture important.

Whatever. Days like this make me wonder if I'm swimming in the wrong lake.
McQueen writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 2:41:39 PM

"then we would be able to communicate with other universes, if they're on the same platform."

What's the point with that? We can barely communicate between ourselves but some scientists believe it's worth working on that. Really? Too much money & time to waste on something completely useless as it will Never happen anyway. Pure science-fiction.

Instead, how about finding cures to incurable diseases and the endless list of other sicknesses that make our daily life a misery; finding a solution to the global warming/pollution with innovative technology which we All desperately need, to dictatorship, to poverty/misery, fixing the economy, radical Islam, ending wars once and for all, freeing Tibet from those bloody commies, etc..

Communicating with the Universe? f*ck the universe! We know it's in constant expansion and that's all we need to know. You want some cool pictures from the universe? Ask Hubble. It cost hundreds of millions to get those bloody pics.

And Mink, I know how much you love mathematics and physics and all but just because we disagree with your belief, we're not necessarily equal to Neanderthals.

I'm more concerned with our daily life on this planet than the bloody universe.
McQueen writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 2:42:44 PM

@Kurskij

LOL!

Cheers my friend,
McQueen writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 2:46:08 PM

And I don't need to read that book Mink as I have more than enough with my job which requires often training courses just to be updated.

I'll still have a look when I have some time.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 2:48:25 PM

^^lol. You're the guy who supposedly prays to a bullsh*t sky god, right, and yet you don't understand the work these people are doing, never will, but you want them to do what, exactly? Perform pro bono heart surgery and operate suoup kitchens?

What a hypocrite. How much work do you do for the world? You say you have all this money, cars, et cetera but how much do you do for anyone? You want people to work outside their chosen profession but you wouldn't even sell one of the sports cars you say you own to help out another person.




"Instead, how about finding cures to incurable diseases and the endless list of other sicknesses that make our daily life a misery; finding a solution to the global warming/pollution with innovative technology which we All desperately need, to dictatorship, to poverty/misery, fixing the economy, radical Islam, ending wars once and for all, freeing Tibet from those bloody commies, etc.."

And all of this is a job for physicists and mathematicians, right?



"we're not necessarily equal to Neanderthals."

No, worse. They at least probably wouldn't have put profit before people.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 2:49:09 PM

"I'll still have a look when I have some time."

No you won't so stop lying.
McQueen writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 2:52:50 PM

As you may know by now, there was a horrible shooting in Newton where 22 children died.

I'm totally horrified by this!
cress writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 2:55:02 PM

@Kurskij. I could read an article by you, english be damned. Give him a shot Alex.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 2:56:56 PM

^^It's Newtown, not Newton. Newton was the physicist/mathematician.

"Communicating with the Universe? f*ck the universe! We know it's in constant expansion and that's all we need to know. You want some cool pictures from the universe? Ask Hubble. It cost hundreds of millions to get those bloody pics."

Communicating with another/other universe(s). Hell, read the Arxiv paper, you won't even read the WP article summary.

McQueen writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 2:57:43 PM

I just had a look and it bores me to death. I'm not interested in that at all. It's not my thing and I'll leave it to you and others.

And for someone who's an atheist, you're calling Jesus very often.

But I see you're in a bad mood today so I'll stop right here.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 3:02:25 PM

It's a figure of speech, Bullit, saying god and jesus. I've also used Allah too, and I can use Jehovah if you like, if that's more your thing, but then again, you hate Jews.

And I wasn't in a bad mood until I came here and read a bunch of f*cking illiterate retards doing their typical circle-jerk mindless ranting on sh*t they can't comprehend.

But hey, what else is new???



"I just had a look and it bores me to death."

I know. Better stick to discussing Sofia Vergara's bra size. Wouldn't want to tax your ole noggin, would we?
McQueen writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 3:10:55 PM

No, I don't hate the Jews. I hate more their enemies than anything else. Just because I disagree with their belief it doesn't mean I hate them. And if it was something I said previously than I want to correct this with my apologies.

I don't give a sh*t about Vergara, she just have nice tits & figure but she goes on my nerves whenever she opens her mouth. I've got more than enough right next to me.
McQueen writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 3:12:24 PM

And if you have to name God than I would prefer you chose Allah. That will be amusing.
Kurskij writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 3:25:09 PM

"As you may know by now, there was a horrible shooting in Newton where 22 children died"

It's 27 unconfirmed now. f*ck. For once I invest something in this word and I wish I wouldn't.

@cress
I can say the same about you. So you first, mate.

@mink

Sky god and sky computer is basically on the same level of nonsense now, isn't it? (and yeah, I'm about to read your article). The difference is about looking for or blindly believing. Looking for always makes more sense (and im on this side) than blind faith, but that doesn't mean that bullit is a hedonist who works and takes with nothing to offer to society (those scientists aren't working for private grants for instance).
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 3:30:56 PM

Whatever. I have to wonder why I even bother as it seems most of you just hate to hate the way kleptomaniacs steal just to steal.

Anyway. 18 children dead in Newtown. Little kids murdered.

Yeah, I'm in a bad mood I guess. What a world.

minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 3:33:43 PM

"Sky god and sky computer is basically on the same level of nonsense now, isn't it?"

No, and people like you probably think believing in the quark is the same thing as believing in Beelzebub, and if so, you're f*cked more than I can help.

Then again, you probably also "believe in" global warming too, without knowing or understanding the science of climatology...
Kurskij writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 3:35:35 PM

@cress

Re-reading my reply it sounded kinda wrong. What I meant was that it's humbling, but there are better people to do it. Including (bingo) you.

And further @mink

Knowledge and searching for knowledge is always better than blind faith (i.e. ignorance in some cases) but it doesn't mean that there's no room for both or some unlikely combinations.

Discussions have always been the engine for intellectual advance (even in case of Bruno).
Kurskij writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 3:37:57 PM

"Then again, you probably also "believe in" global warming too, without knowing or understanding the science of climatology..."

Oh, f*ck. Let me just say that the word is "probably". Because, eh, I f*cking don't.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 3:42:51 PM

I have no clue what you're trying to say. This is science, not religion.

They're using mathematics, empiricism, testability and theoretical models to test the viability of an idea, specifically, "is the universe a numerical simulation?".

How you equate that with anything religious, I do not know.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 3:45:23 PM

"Discussions have always been the engine for intellectual advance"

You're new around here, I see.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 3:54:44 PM

I think the thing I dislike the most from the article is that they think the universe as current is a simulation run by distant descendants.

As in, we get so smart, we simulate the past.

Dunno why they think that's necessary, but I assume it has to do with the topological limitations of asking the same question but considering the topologically inaccessible space outside our universe instead.

Or in other words, they can only ask the question in terms of this universe because they lack the ability to even imagine what came before the Big Bang.
Rambo writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 4:20:33 PM

finally finished Alex Cross... defiantly one of the worst movies of 2012.Tyler Perry is not an actor.Mathew Fox is - but unluckily his impressive performance in this one will be forgotten because of the suckiness of the movie.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 5:13:59 PM

So.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 5:20:22 PM

Hello darkness, my old friend
I've come to talk with you again
Because a vision softly creeping
Left its seeds while I was sleeping
And the vision that was planted in my brain
Still remains
Within the sound of silence

In restless dreams I walked alone
Narrow streets of cobblestone
'Neath the halo of a street lamp
I turned my collar to the cold and damp
When my eyes were stabbed by the flash of a neon light
That split the night
And touched the sound of silence

And in the naked light I saw
Ten thousand people, maybe more
People talking without speaking
People hearing without listening
People writing songs that voices never share
And no one dared
Disturb the sound of silence

"Fools", said I, "You do not know
Silence like a cancer grows
Hear my words that I might teach you
Take my arms that I might reach you"
But my words, like silent raindrops fell
And echoed
In the wells of silence

And the people bowed and prayed
To the neon god they made
And the sign flashed out its warning
In the words that it was forming
And the sign said, "The words of the prophets are written on the subway walls
And tenement halls"
And whispered in the sounds of silence
pornfly writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 5:24:11 PM

The main thing i took away from this article right away was how long it could possibly take to create a 'danger room'/'holodeck'

As for for that retarded monster Adam Lanses hes lucky i wasnt there when he was shootin up those 20 kids that were just countin down the days till Christmas.

Im always lookin for someone to start some sh*t!

Makes me wanna commit suicide in the hopes i meet this prick in hell

f*ckin jerkoff
pornfly writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 5:31:24 PM

Lansa Lambsa whatever the f*ck this sh*theads name was
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 5:32:59 PM

I like how Obama always makes sure we see him crying. What a tool.
Rambo writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 5:47:55 PM

If I was married to his wife I would also cry
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 5:52:13 PM

I can see it now. The Obama biopic. Gorilla and the Mist.
pornfly writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:08:46 PM

I know MINK
Its not like the guy is running for reelection or anything

Mitt Romney and Dubya would never lose that p*ssy eating grin
Its because theyre both from Texas, one white one mexican

MAN,you were pissed that day Obama got reelected lol
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2lzZ5xzVWS0&feature=youtube_gdata_player
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:14:51 PM

I tried not to be pissed. It was a delayed reaction. Just like I tried to not be pissed in this thread (sorry).

Romney lives not far from here. He was caught pumping gas and eating at Sammy's Woodfired Pizza.

What a loser.

pornfly writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:27:47 PM

So you ARE in La Jolla
At first i thought you were there but not for this long.
I know the place well
I'm like 90minutes away from you!
Isnt that wonderful ????
HAHA
HAHA
HA-HAHAHAHAHAHHAHAAHAHA!!!
I even said 90'minutes' to make me seem closer
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q4tbZ7xnEjk&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Or

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ggfSn_WzjiY&feature=youtube_gdata_player
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:50:56 PM

Is it raining where you are, pornfly?
Kurskij writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:53:55 PM

goddamn it porn...

LOL!
sedibus writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 7:00:47 PM

I know, some of you, lads, doesn't like or enjoy Philip K. d*ck's work, but the truth is that this fella there back in the late seventies made an statement about the matrix and all that sh*t, before this clowns were even planning or at least aware of d*ck's work, you know.


Sadly or thankfully, we live in a world that the most money you make, the more famous you and your work get.

an abridge version of a longer interview or some kind of conference about science fiction, don't know, but enjoy:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-cXV_nMpThk
sedibus writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 7:06:02 PM

So, Porn, I found somewhere, months ago in another forum that they were saying they're gonna make a Male-Remake version of that flick.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 7:09:17 PM

Phillip K. d*ck didn't invent the idea, Hanz Moravec did.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Simulation_argument
elrei writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 7:15:15 PM

I've already watched THAT movie

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0139809/


minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 7:15:33 PM

The book 'Simulacra and Simulacrum', from the movie The Matrix.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 7:15:58 PM

http://www9.georgetown.edu/faculty/irvinem/theory/baudrillard-simulacra_and_simulation.pdf
sedibus writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 7:24:30 PM

Yeah, those french are kind of crazy, BuT, I didn't said d*ck invented the Idea. I only said he mentioned before those buffoons were doing their "Collage".

yeah, Braudillar. Anyway, I enjoy propositions about truth, but I don't quite follow them as such, so, good find, Mink.
sedibus writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 7:33:35 PM

But I must say, Mink, that you should go and piss off with your "who invented what thing first" you have over there.

Cause if we're going to speak about it, then the Greeks were already into that stuff, lets just mention Plato and his Allegory of the Cave, you know.
sedibus writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 7:35:09 PM

Or we can use the mental (internal) and internet (external) and mesh them together and develop a time-machine, then.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 7:37:03 PM

Well, I didn't say you said d*ck invented the idea, exactly, just throwing that out there for the benefit of those folks who believe d*ck invented every science fiction concept known to man.

And I agree with what you said on The Matrix being a collage. I call it a synthesis, in that the Wachowski Things pretty much borrowed everyone else's ideas and then sold them off as their own.

Also, I prefer The Thirteenth Floor to The Matrix. Not the better movie, technically, but at least it has a very happy and traditionally satisfying ending.



The simulacrum is never what hides the truth - it is truth that hides the fact that
there is none.

The simulacrum is true.


-Ecclesiastes

^^^Sound familiar?
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 7:41:54 PM

"lets just mention Plato and his Allegory of the Cave, you know."

Not really the same thing as Plato used the cave as an allegory for the world being but a shade of the perfect mathematical realm. It was a philosophically construct.

Plato believed, IIRC, being of the Pythagorean school, that concepts like the perfect circle were more real than the imperfect geometry of nature, the shadow cast being the echo of the idea of mathematical perfection, and that's not the proposition in this line of thinking, although it's somewhat related.
pornfly writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 7:44:53 PM

No sir
Just gloomy and cold
But its been comin down hard here and supposed to be more to come
SEDIBUS
i thought they did called it MAH d*ck!
Just goofin bud, i was rememberin something about that while i was posting that link but i guess the movie didnt have enough weight behind it to push it through
uhhughughahhhhhhhh

*ploop*
pornfly writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 7:51:22 PM

To hell with it!
Im watchin The Matrix,who's wit me
sedibus writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 7:53:55 PM

Oh, good, one, Mink. Very much a great sentence, the f*cking Ecclesiastes, non other.

Lol, Porn

By the way, nobody is saying d*ck (haha), invented all those concepts, cause they were already there. And he always acknowledged about that he just was developing his own based on those, not that his writing was quite original. Even Stanislaw Lem said that d*ck's writing was kind of messed up, you know.

But lately I'm more into mithology, I guess fantasy is more powerful than any kind of fiction, mainly because is something impossible, right.

Here and there, I've been reading, jung's Aion, Orpheus Myths of the World, I Ching, Bunyan, Chertién de Troyes, joseph Campbell, Lévi-Strauss, Fulcanelli, Heraclitus, Hesiode, Mircea Eliade, Teilhard de Chardin and even Alfred jarry and his ubu King, you know.
pornfly writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 7:59:37 PM

Anybody remember The Stuff?
*classic*
Just saw my dvd

sahlute buds
Im bout to take the 'green' pill
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 7:59:56 PM

Yeah, I've read a little Hairy Clitus myself over the years.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:00:45 PM

Joseph Campbell rocks, but de Chardin was always full of sh*t imo.
sedibus writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:14:27 PM

You know, I got myself the ultimate collection of the Matrix, but I beleive Tarkovsky's STALKER is quite the quintensential science-fiction movie, better than his own SOLARIS.

For me, that film is like the very ROOTS of what Science-Fiction means.

f*ck, man. Robert Sheckley is great, also is Philip Jose Farmer and not to mention Heinlein, Van Vogt and f*cking Sturgeon.

Holy sh*t, you know what, even those guys from the Pulp era like Frederic Brown, and this french motherf*cker named Rene Barjavel, also.
sedibus writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:15:57 PM

well there is also Thomas Mann and his Magic Mountain, is we're going into Philosophy too, then there is Wittgenstein, too, hey!

Eric Hoffer, Wilkie Collins.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:42:13 PM

You're kidding me right?
You'd think scientists would have better things to do...
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:50:32 PM

LOL TT

"Alex Your mom has a WP account ..... Thats so sweet"

Dead!
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:53:23 PM

@Kurj

Really? Your defending Bane? lol Their's firsts for everything! ONCE in AWHILE his f*cking links are usful, but that's a rarity. it annoys me so much that he tries so hard to make people see them, he f*cking posts them on like 5 threads, like commeee onnn niggaahhh! if i wanted to see that sh*t, I'd look myself.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 9:02:52 PM

"You'd think scientists would have better things to do..."

Yep. It's called science. And that's what they're doing, dude.

Read much?
Electro Rock writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 9:07:55 PM

Gentlemen. Aloha.

Off topic: Just watched The Hobbit. Totally sweet. Got gyped on the Superman trailer.

On topic: Haven't scientists and physicists been exploring the possibility of alternate realities and dimentions for decades?
Herbert Butterfield writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 10:31:04 PM

this article was an interesting change of pace for the site. better this kind of story than more bullsh*t about lindsay lohan or some other celebutard.
polardeficit writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 4:10:29 AM

I know I'm just feeding the fire here with blanket statements that you will no doubt rip to shreds with every last bit of your available vocabulary, but f*ckkkk Minkowski, do you have a functioning life outside of this website?
FBO writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 4:30:54 AM

Mark my words gentlemen; science and spirituality will one day be reunited.

Christians reject science because it questions their beliefs and scientists reject religion because the concept of "faith" is beyond their understanding. Both sides are going to feel awfully foolish when they realize that both go hand in hand.
FBO writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 4:35:08 AM

Oh and President Obama is easily one of the worst world leaders of all time. The dude has thin skin. If the media nitpicked his ass like they did Pres. Bush he'd blow his brains out in the middle of the rose garden.

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel

Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved