WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Poster for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Nov 22nd, 2014
Angelina Jolie Will Quit Acting to Focus on Directing
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for George Lucas' Animated "Strange Magic" Film
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "Pitch Perfect 2" Arrives Online
Nov 21st, 2014
"Zoolander 2" is Moving Forward, Penelope Cruz Joins Cast
Nov 21st, 2014
Stephen King's "The Stand" to Become Four Movies
Nov 21st, 2014
First Look: Patrick Stewart is a White Supremacist in "Green Room" Thriller
Nov 21st, 2014
Mel Gibson May Direct "Hacksaw Ridge," with Andrew Garfield to Star
Nov 21st, 2014
Ridley Scott Promises "a Fresher Form of Alien" in "Prometheus 2"
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Nov 20th, 2014
Trailer for "American Heist" Thriller with Hayden Christensen and Adrien Brody
Nov 20th, 2014
Melissa McCarthy to Star in Live-Action "Tinker Bell" Comedy
Nov 20th, 2014
Al Pacino is an Aging Rock Star in "Danny Collins" Trailer
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for "Peter Pan Live" Musical, with Christopher Walken as Captain Hook
Nov 20th, 2014
Six Actors in Talks for Cyclops and Jean Grey in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 19th, 2014
How Do Horror Fans Choose Movies? Not By Plot or Cast
Nov 19th, 2014
Will Ferrell Bench Presses Kevin Hart in First "Get Hard" Photos
Nov 19th, 2014
Trailer for Ewan McGregor's "Son of a Gun" Crime Thriller
Nov 19th, 2014
Snoopy and Charlie Brown are Back in "The Peanuts Movie" Trailer
Nov 19th, 2014
Trailer for "Project Almanac" Time-Traveling Thriller
Nov 18th, 2014
"Jurassic World" Unveils New Photos, Trailer Coming Next Week
Nov 18th, 2014
Arnold Schwarzenegger Says "Running Man" Sequel is Happening
Nov 18th, 2014
New Images of Snoopy and Charlie Brown From "The Peanuts Movie"
Nov 18th, 2014
See "Interstellar" as Many Times as You Want for One Price
Nov 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Jeff Bridges' "Seventh Son" Fantasy Film
Nov 18th, 2014
Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy
Nov 17th, 2014
"Captain America 2" Directors May Take Over "The Avengers" Franchise
Nov 17th, 2014
Oscar-Winning "The Hurt Locker" Writer Hired for "Uncharted" Video Game Film
Nov 17th, 2014
"Dumb and Dumber To" Takes First Place at Box Office with $38 Million
Nov 16th, 2014
"Battlestar Galactice" and "Knight Rider" Creator Glen A. Larson Dead at 77
Nov 16th, 2014
New Trailer for "Miss Julie," with Colin Farrell and Jessica Chastain
Nov 16th, 2014
Jude Law is the Villain in Guy Ritchie's "Knights of the Round Table" King Arthur Film
Nov 16th, 2014
Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"
Nov 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Len Wiseman Says "The Mummy" Reboot is a Horror Film Set in Present Day

Posted: December 14th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Len Wiseman Says "The Mummy" Reboot is a Horror Film Set in Present DaySubmit Comment
While promoting the upcoming DVD/Blu-ray release of "Total Recall," director Len Wiseman was asked about Universal Pictures' "The Mummy" reboot, which he is set to helm.

"It is a modern day take. It doesn't have anything to do with the Brendan Fraser films, and it is not a remake of any kind," said Wiseman. "The Mummy is one of Universal's long standing, iconic characters, well before the Brendan Fraser movies. This is such a different thing."

He continued: "There is still a script to be written, but the pitch was to go with a much different tone. It was a Mummy like I'd never heard of before. It's nothing like what you would expect. I was picturing Egypt and the sand swept settings. The mummy wrappings. When I heard what they were wanting to actually do with it, it was shocking. It's horror. It's epic. It's more of a modern day version of what would happen if we came across a mummy in our world today. It is pretty fascinating."

Source: Movieweb


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:57:49 AM

Whatever Wiseman does can't be any worse than the Brendan Fraser flicks. Those movies sucked.
boogiel writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:58:54 AM

Great! Just put some love twist and we'll have another twatlight style movies. The've done that with vampires, werewolves and zombies. Heck, why also not make it with the mummy.
pornfly writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:05:18 AM

...what would happen if we came across a mummy in our world today.
Ya mean f*ckin shoot it,ya jackass??
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:44:54 AM

Maybe Lenny plans on tying this into the Underworld movies somehow because he's an idiot. I'm sure Bill Nighy will play The Mummy and Kate Beckinsale will be revealed as his Queen in a lame twist.
cress writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:49:22 AM

I came upon a mummy once. Then I dumped her the next day. I don't want to raise someone else's kids
supaflywill writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 9:15:30 AM

mummies ...in a shopping mall ...roaming about ... young kids f*cking them up with knives and petrol bombs...ffs leave it out
bane writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 9:43:30 AM

and the oscar goes to.. Daniel Day lewis

http://www.movie2k.to/Lincoln-watch-movie-2264245.html
Avirex writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 10:42:49 AM

Interview provided by "Hollywood Pre-Packaged Statement Generator 2.0"
vincere01 writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 11:09:32 AM

You guys hear that???!!! Anybody??? That was the sound of any and all hope for this movie being good getting sucked out the window
Patrick Bateman writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 11:35:01 AM

:en wiseman just stick to f*cking kate beckinsale its the only good thing you have done
Kurskij writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 1:28:28 PM

^read it in Bale's v
Kurskij writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 1:31:54 PM

^read it in Bale's voice from the "Huey Lewis" scene. It was keewl!

@avi

Lol.

onzetopic: do it, Len. If it wins - we all win, if it fails - you loose and we still win.

Ps: You better tap datass of Kate's good, you bastard.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 1:53:24 PM

The Fraser films might have "sucked", but at least they were repetitively entertaining imo.

I can't say the same for anything Wiseman has ever done, can any of you?

Didn't think so.
coldplayesence writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 3:06:09 PM

Uh, die hard 4? Stupid and very entertaining
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 3:21:47 PM

*Repetitively* entertaining? I don't think so. I saw it once in theaters because it was Die Hard, and then I tried watching it again on DVD.

I found myself flipping through the scenes looking for the good sh*t like I do with Matrix Revolutions. The kernels of corn in the turd.

The kid, the bad jokes, Kevin Fatass Smith, the plot stolen from a rejected season of 24, the running over of asians with SUVs, the silly action set pieces, and so on and so forth.


But then again, I don't find that which is stupid to be entertaining, so perhaps therein lies the difference.
pornfly writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:11:34 PM

I can't say the same for anything Wiseman has ever done, can any of you?

Does getting oral while drinking smoking and watching Scarface count?
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:46:32 PM

Touche.
coldplayesence writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:49:29 PM

Ok I admit the fact that Justin Long was trying too much and the plot is stupid (computers=magic) but come on it was McClaine kicking ass, I'll take that over any other hot teen generic wannabe.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:59:16 PM

Maybe, but lowballing another Die Hard sequel still doesn't cut the mustard for repetitive entertainment. I mean, I can sit through The Mummy more than once, but Die Hard 4? Barely. And I won't like it. They also went overboard on the special effects. Should have used more practical effects imo. Damned F-22 or whatever looked like it was culled from the video game adaptation of Revenge of the Fallen.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:43:17 PM

Gay. I'd rather them just do another sequel to the mummy, unlike my good pal Cress, i thought they were well done.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:45:45 PM

"because it was Die Hard", That's what i like to hear Mink! you sweat talking me again!?

lol.. Honestly i agree with you mink, it wasn't as good as they could have made it, but i also agree with ColdPlay, Mclane kicking ass? Whats more to want?
MeganFoxPlease writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 11:07:52 AM

um... underworld?
MeganFoxPlease writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 11:08:06 AM

the first film was gothic perfection

It's Official! Channing Tatum to Star in "Gambit" Spin-Off

Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team

Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot

Christopher Nolan Hates Post-Credits Scenes, Here's Why

"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed

Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"

Margot Robbie is Harley Quinn in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film

Jared Leto May Play The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved