WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Lucy" Destroys "Hercules" at the Box Office
Jul 27th, 2014
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Comic-Con Trailer Leaked Online!
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 27th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel "Skull Island" Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
Full "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Banner Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Sequel Confirmed, Release Date Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
"Godzilla 2" Announced, Three Monsters Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
Four Character Posters for Tom Hardy's "Mad Max: Fury Road"
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot?
Jul 26th, 2014
Trailer for Kevin Smith's "Tusk" Horror Film
Jul 26th, 2014
Chris Pratt Wants to Kill Iron Man in Future Marvel Film
Jul 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Daniel Radcliffe's "Horns" Supernatural Thriller
Jul 26th, 2014
First Bizarre Photo From "SpongeBob SquarePants: Sponge Out of Water" Movie
Jul 26th, 2014
First Look at Elsa From "Frozen" in "Once Upon a Time" TV Series
Jul 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Walking Dead" Season 5
Jul 26th, 2014
Colin Firth Gets Physical With Mark Hamill in "Kingsman: Secret Service" Photo
Jul 26th, 2014
Quicksilver, Hawkeye and Vision in New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Posters
Jul 26th, 2014
Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"
Jul 26th, 2014
Someone Leaked "The Expendables 3" Online, Already Downloaded 200,000 Times
Jul 26th, 2014
Marvel's "Ant-Man" Loses Patrick Wilson and Two Other Actors
Jul 26th, 2014
"Argo" Writer in Talks for "Justice League"
Jul 25th, 2014
"24" Movie and "X-Files" Reboot May Happen
Jul 25th, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Confirms Role in "Shazam" Superhero Film
Jul 25th, 2014
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Writer Hints at Direction of Third Film
Jul 25th, 2014
Vin Diesel on "xXx 3" and Guillermo Del Toro on "Pacific Rim 2"
Jul 25th, 2014
Poster for "Chappie" Robot Film, with Sharlto Copley and Hugh Jackman
Jul 25th, 2014
New Photo of Ben Affleck as Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 25th, 2014
Restricted Trailer for "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" is Here!
Jul 25th, 2014
First Photos From "Hitman: Agent 47" Reboot
Jul 25th, 2014
Two New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Posters, with Captain America and Black Widow
Jul 24th, 2014
Trailer for "50 Shades of Grey" Arrives Online
Jul 24th, 2014
First Two Posters for "Avengers: Age of Ultron" are Here!
Jul 24th, 2014
First Poster for Marvel's "Ant-Man" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Len Wiseman Says "The Mummy" Reboot is a Horror Film Set in Present Day

Posted: December 14th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Len Wiseman Says "The Mummy" Reboot is a Horror Film Set in Present DaySubmit Comment
While promoting the upcoming DVD/Blu-ray release of "Total Recall," director Len Wiseman was asked about Universal Pictures' "The Mummy" reboot, which he is set to helm.

"It is a modern day take. It doesn't have anything to do with the Brendan Fraser films, and it is not a remake of any kind," said Wiseman. "The Mummy is one of Universal's long standing, iconic characters, well before the Brendan Fraser movies. This is such a different thing."

He continued: "There is still a script to be written, but the pitch was to go with a much different tone. It was a Mummy like I'd never heard of before. It's nothing like what you would expect. I was picturing Egypt and the sand swept settings. The mummy wrappings. When I heard what they were wanting to actually do with it, it was shocking. It's horror. It's epic. It's more of a modern day version of what would happen if we came across a mummy in our world today. It is pretty fascinating."

Source: Movieweb


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:57:49 AM

Whatever Wiseman does can't be any worse than the Brendan Fraser flicks. Those movies sucked.
boogiel writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:58:54 AM

Great! Just put some love twist and we'll have another twatlight style movies. The've done that with vampires, werewolves and zombies. Heck, why also not make it with the mummy.
pornfly writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:05:18 AM

...what would happen if we came across a mummy in our world today.
Ya mean f*ckin shoot it,ya jackass??
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:44:54 AM

Maybe Lenny plans on tying this into the Underworld movies somehow because he's an idiot. I'm sure Bill Nighy will play The Mummy and Kate Beckinsale will be revealed as his Queen in a lame twist.
cress writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:49:22 AM

I came upon a mummy once. Then I dumped her the next day. I don't want to raise someone else's kids
supaflywill writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 9:15:30 AM

mummies ...in a shopping mall ...roaming about ... young kids f*cking them up with knives and petrol bombs...ffs leave it out
bane writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 9:43:30 AM

and the oscar goes to.. Daniel Day lewis

http://www.movie2k.to/Lincoln-watch-movie-2264245.html
Avirex writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 10:42:49 AM

Interview provided by "Hollywood Pre-Packaged Statement Generator 2.0"
vincere01 writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 11:09:32 AM

You guys hear that???!!! Anybody??? That was the sound of any and all hope for this movie being good getting sucked out the window
Patrick Bateman writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 11:35:01 AM

:en wiseman just stick to f*cking kate beckinsale its the only good thing you have done
Kurskij writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 1:28:28 PM

^read it in Bale's v
Kurskij writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 1:31:54 PM

^read it in Bale's voice from the "Huey Lewis" scene. It was keewl!

@avi

Lol.

onzetopic: do it, Len. If it wins - we all win, if it fails - you loose and we still win.

Ps: You better tap datass of Kate's good, you bastard.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 1:53:24 PM

The Fraser films might have "sucked", but at least they were repetitively entertaining imo.

I can't say the same for anything Wiseman has ever done, can any of you?

Didn't think so.
coldplayesence writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 3:06:09 PM

Uh, die hard 4? Stupid and very entertaining
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 3:21:47 PM

*Repetitively* entertaining? I don't think so. I saw it once in theaters because it was Die Hard, and then I tried watching it again on DVD.

I found myself flipping through the scenes looking for the good sh*t like I do with Matrix Revolutions. The kernels of corn in the turd.

The kid, the bad jokes, Kevin Fatass Smith, the plot stolen from a rejected season of 24, the running over of asians with SUVs, the silly action set pieces, and so on and so forth.


But then again, I don't find that which is stupid to be entertaining, so perhaps therein lies the difference.
pornfly writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:11:34 PM

I can't say the same for anything Wiseman has ever done, can any of you?

Does getting oral while drinking smoking and watching Scarface count?
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:46:32 PM

Touche.
coldplayesence writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:49:29 PM

Ok I admit the fact that Justin Long was trying too much and the plot is stupid (computers=magic) but come on it was McClaine kicking ass, I'll take that over any other hot teen generic wannabe.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:59:16 PM

Maybe, but lowballing another Die Hard sequel still doesn't cut the mustard for repetitive entertainment. I mean, I can sit through The Mummy more than once, but Die Hard 4? Barely. And I won't like it. They also went overboard on the special effects. Should have used more practical effects imo. Damned F-22 or whatever looked like it was culled from the video game adaptation of Revenge of the Fallen.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:43:17 PM

Gay. I'd rather them just do another sequel to the mummy, unlike my good pal Cress, i thought they were well done.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:45:45 PM

"because it was Die Hard", That's what i like to hear Mink! you sweat talking me again!?

lol.. Honestly i agree with you mink, it wasn't as good as they could have made it, but i also agree with ColdPlay, Mclane kicking ass? Whats more to want?
MeganFoxPlease writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 11:07:52 AM

um... underworld?
MeganFoxPlease writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 11:08:06 AM

the first film was gothic perfection

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility

Gary Oldman Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved