WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Masterminds" Comedy, with Zach Galifianakis and Kristen Wiig
Mar 31st, 2015
Disney to Make Live-Action "Mulan" Movie
Mar 31st, 2015
Trailer: Dwayne Johnson Stars in Disney's Action-Packed "Bambi" Film
Mar 30th, 2015
First Footage From "The Walking Dead" Spin-Off TV Series
Mar 30th, 2015
"Home" and "Get Hard" Perform Well at Box Office
Mar 30th, 2015
"Spectre" Opening Sequence is Biggest in History
Mar 30th, 2015
New Footage in "Jurassic World" TV Spot
Mar 30th, 2015
Photo: Hugh Jackman Hints at Final Appearance as Wolverine
Mar 29th, 2015
"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" Title Revealed
Mar 29th, 2015
20th Century Fox to Turn Popular "The Leviathan" Short Film into Feature Film
Mar 29th, 2015
"Spectre" James Bond Film Unveils Trailer
Mar 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Spin-Off TV Series Unveils Title
Mar 28th, 2015
"Transformers" Getting Lots More Sequels and Spin-Offs
Mar 28th, 2015
Antonio Banderas Says Shrek May Appear in "Puss in Boots 2"
Mar 28th, 2015
First Look at Ryan Reynolds in "Deadpool"
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Southpaw" Boxing Film
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for JK Rowling's "The Casual Vacancy"
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Absolution" Thriller, with Steven Seagal and Vinnie Jones
Mar 27th, 2015
Julia Louis-Dreyfus in Talks for American Remake of "Force Majeure"
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for Kit Harington's "Spooks: The Greater Good"
Mar 27th, 2015
First Look at Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Mar 26th, 2015
Trailer for Arnold Schwarzenegger's "Maggie" Zombie Film
Mar 26th, 2015
First Clear Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Mar 26th, 2015
Idris Elba May Play Villain in "Star Trek 3"
Mar 26th, 2015
New Photos of Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson From "Zoolander 2"
Mar 26th, 2015
New Trailer for "Entourage" Movie
Mar 25th, 2015
Vin Diesel Predicts "Furious 7" Will Win Best Picture Oscar
Mar 25th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Slow West" Western Thriller
Mar 25th, 2015
Poster for "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Mar 25th, 2015
Trailer for Dustin Hoffman's "Boychoir" Film
Mar 25th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence Says "X-Men: Apocalypse" is Her Last "X-Men" Film
Mar 24th, 2015
"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon
Mar 24th, 2015
Vivica A. Fox Returns for "Independence Day 2"
Mar 24th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Len Wiseman Says "The Mummy" Reboot is a Horror Film Set in Present Day

Posted: December 14th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Len Wiseman Says "The Mummy" Reboot is a Horror Film Set in Present DaySubmit Comment
While promoting the upcoming DVD/Blu-ray release of "Total Recall," director Len Wiseman was asked about Universal Pictures' "The Mummy" reboot, which he is set to helm.

"It is a modern day take. It doesn't have anything to do with the Brendan Fraser films, and it is not a remake of any kind," said Wiseman. "The Mummy is one of Universal's long standing, iconic characters, well before the Brendan Fraser movies. This is such a different thing."

He continued: "There is still a script to be written, but the pitch was to go with a much different tone. It was a Mummy like I'd never heard of before. It's nothing like what you would expect. I was picturing Egypt and the sand swept settings. The mummy wrappings. When I heard what they were wanting to actually do with it, it was shocking. It's horror. It's epic. It's more of a modern day version of what would happen if we came across a mummy in our world today. It is pretty fascinating."

Source: Movieweb


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:57:49 AM

Whatever Wiseman does can't be any worse than the Brendan Fraser flicks. Those movies sucked.
boogiel writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:58:54 AM

Great! Just put some love twist and we'll have another twatlight style movies. The've done that with vampires, werewolves and zombies. Heck, why also not make it with the mummy.
pornfly writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:05:18 AM

...what would happen if we came across a mummy in our world today.
Ya mean f*ckin shoot it,ya jackass??
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:44:54 AM

Maybe Lenny plans on tying this into the Underworld movies somehow because he's an idiot. I'm sure Bill Nighy will play The Mummy and Kate Beckinsale will be revealed as his Queen in a lame twist.
cress writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:49:22 AM

I came upon a mummy once. Then I dumped her the next day. I don't want to raise someone else's kids
supaflywill writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 9:15:30 AM

mummies ...in a shopping mall ...roaming about ... young kids f*cking them up with knives and petrol bombs...ffs leave it out
bane writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 9:43:30 AM

and the oscar goes to.. Daniel Day lewis

http://www.movie2k.to/Lincoln-watch-movie-2264245.html
Avirex writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 10:42:49 AM

Interview provided by "Hollywood Pre-Packaged Statement Generator 2.0"
vincere01 writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 11:09:32 AM

You guys hear that???!!! Anybody??? That was the sound of any and all hope for this movie being good getting sucked out the window
Patrick Bateman writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 11:35:01 AM

:en wiseman just stick to f*cking kate beckinsale its the only good thing you have done
Kurskij writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 1:28:28 PM

^read it in Bale's v
Kurskij writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 1:31:54 PM

^read it in Bale's voice from the "Huey Lewis" scene. It was keewl!

@avi

Lol.

onzetopic: do it, Len. If it wins - we all win, if it fails - you loose and we still win.

Ps: You better tap datass of Kate's good, you bastard.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 1:53:24 PM

The Fraser films might have "sucked", but at least they were repetitively entertaining imo.

I can't say the same for anything Wiseman has ever done, can any of you?

Didn't think so.
coldplayesence writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 3:06:09 PM

Uh, die hard 4? Stupid and very entertaining
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 3:21:47 PM

*Repetitively* entertaining? I don't think so. I saw it once in theaters because it was Die Hard, and then I tried watching it again on DVD.

I found myself flipping through the scenes looking for the good sh*t like I do with Matrix Revolutions. The kernels of corn in the turd.

The kid, the bad jokes, Kevin Fatass Smith, the plot stolen from a rejected season of 24, the running over of asians with SUVs, the silly action set pieces, and so on and so forth.


But then again, I don't find that which is stupid to be entertaining, so perhaps therein lies the difference.
pornfly writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:11:34 PM

I can't say the same for anything Wiseman has ever done, can any of you?

Does getting oral while drinking smoking and watching Scarface count?
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:46:32 PM

Touche.
coldplayesence writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:49:29 PM

Ok I admit the fact that Justin Long was trying too much and the plot is stupid (computers=magic) but come on it was McClaine kicking ass, I'll take that over any other hot teen generic wannabe.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:59:16 PM

Maybe, but lowballing another Die Hard sequel still doesn't cut the mustard for repetitive entertainment. I mean, I can sit through The Mummy more than once, but Die Hard 4? Barely. And I won't like it. They also went overboard on the special effects. Should have used more practical effects imo. Damned F-22 or whatever looked like it was culled from the video game adaptation of Revenge of the Fallen.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:43:17 PM

Gay. I'd rather them just do another sequel to the mummy, unlike my good pal Cress, i thought they were well done.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:45:45 PM

"because it was Die Hard", That's what i like to hear Mink! you sweat talking me again!?

lol.. Honestly i agree with you mink, it wasn't as good as they could have made it, but i also agree with ColdPlay, Mclane kicking ass? Whats more to want?
MeganFoxPlease writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 11:07:52 AM

um... underworld?
MeganFoxPlease writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 11:08:06 AM

the first film was gothic perfection

Mexico Pays "Spectre" $20 Million to Rewrite Script

Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman

Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment

Disney's "Cinderella" Dominates at Box Office

Hugh Jackman Knows Who Would Win in a Fight, Batman or Wolverine

"The Dark Knight" Voted the Greatest Superhero Film of All Time

Stephen King Comments on Early Screening of Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film

Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending

"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon

Chris Pratt Comments on Starring in "Indiana Jones 5"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved