WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Wonder Woman" Searching for Female Director
Oct 24th, 2014
"The Mummy" Reboot to Follow Navy SEAL in Iraq?
Oct 24th, 2014
Noomi Rapace Discusses "Prometheus 2" Storyline
Oct 24th, 2014
Christian Bale Confirmed For Steve Jobs Biopic, To Appear in Every Frame of the Film
Oct 24th, 2014
"Insidious Chapter 3" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"The Hobbit" Trilogy Becomes Most Expensive Production of All Time
Oct 23rd, 2014
Quicksilver to Return For "X-Men: Apocalypse" and Maybe Solo Film
Oct 23rd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For Mark Wahlberg's "The Gambler" Thriller
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Evangeline Lilly as Hope Pym on Marvel's "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 23rd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Johnny Depp as The Wolf in Disney's "Into the Woods"
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Len Wiseman Says "The Mummy" Reboot is a Horror Film Set in Present Day

Posted: December 14th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Len Wiseman Says "The Mummy" Reboot is a Horror Film Set in Present DaySubmit Comment
While promoting the upcoming DVD/Blu-ray release of "Total Recall," director Len Wiseman was asked about Universal Pictures' "The Mummy" reboot, which he is set to helm.

"It is a modern day take. It doesn't have anything to do with the Brendan Fraser films, and it is not a remake of any kind," said Wiseman. "The Mummy is one of Universal's long standing, iconic characters, well before the Brendan Fraser movies. This is such a different thing."

He continued: "There is still a script to be written, but the pitch was to go with a much different tone. It was a Mummy like I'd never heard of before. It's nothing like what you would expect. I was picturing Egypt and the sand swept settings. The mummy wrappings. When I heard what they were wanting to actually do with it, it was shocking. It's horror. It's epic. It's more of a modern day version of what would happen if we came across a mummy in our world today. It is pretty fascinating."

Source: Movieweb


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:57:49 AM

Whatever Wiseman does can't be any worse than the Brendan Fraser flicks. Those movies sucked.
boogiel writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:58:54 AM

Great! Just put some love twist and we'll have another twatlight style movies. The've done that with vampires, werewolves and zombies. Heck, why also not make it with the mummy.
pornfly writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:05:18 AM

...what would happen if we came across a mummy in our world today.
Ya mean f*ckin shoot it,ya jackass??
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:44:54 AM

Maybe Lenny plans on tying this into the Underworld movies somehow because he's an idiot. I'm sure Bill Nighy will play The Mummy and Kate Beckinsale will be revealed as his Queen in a lame twist.
cress writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:49:22 AM

I came upon a mummy once. Then I dumped her the next day. I don't want to raise someone else's kids
supaflywill writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 9:15:30 AM

mummies ...in a shopping mall ...roaming about ... young kids f*cking them up with knives and petrol bombs...ffs leave it out
bane writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 9:43:30 AM

and the oscar goes to.. Daniel Day lewis

http://www.movie2k.to/Lincoln-watch-movie-2264245.html
Avirex writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 10:42:49 AM

Interview provided by "Hollywood Pre-Packaged Statement Generator 2.0"
vincere01 writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 11:09:32 AM

You guys hear that???!!! Anybody??? That was the sound of any and all hope for this movie being good getting sucked out the window
Patrick Bateman writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 11:35:01 AM

:en wiseman just stick to f*cking kate beckinsale its the only good thing you have done
Kurskij writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 1:28:28 PM

^read it in Bale's v
Kurskij writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 1:31:54 PM

^read it in Bale's voice from the "Huey Lewis" scene. It was keewl!

@avi

Lol.

onzetopic: do it, Len. If it wins - we all win, if it fails - you loose and we still win.

Ps: You better tap datass of Kate's good, you bastard.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 1:53:24 PM

The Fraser films might have "sucked", but at least they were repetitively entertaining imo.

I can't say the same for anything Wiseman has ever done, can any of you?

Didn't think so.
coldplayesence writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 3:06:09 PM

Uh, die hard 4? Stupid and very entertaining
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 3:21:47 PM

*Repetitively* entertaining? I don't think so. I saw it once in theaters because it was Die Hard, and then I tried watching it again on DVD.

I found myself flipping through the scenes looking for the good sh*t like I do with Matrix Revolutions. The kernels of corn in the turd.

The kid, the bad jokes, Kevin Fatass Smith, the plot stolen from a rejected season of 24, the running over of asians with SUVs, the silly action set pieces, and so on and so forth.


But then again, I don't find that which is stupid to be entertaining, so perhaps therein lies the difference.
pornfly writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:11:34 PM

I can't say the same for anything Wiseman has ever done, can any of you?

Does getting oral while drinking smoking and watching Scarface count?
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:46:32 PM

Touche.
coldplayesence writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:49:29 PM

Ok I admit the fact that Justin Long was trying too much and the plot is stupid (computers=magic) but come on it was McClaine kicking ass, I'll take that over any other hot teen generic wannabe.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:59:16 PM

Maybe, but lowballing another Die Hard sequel still doesn't cut the mustard for repetitive entertainment. I mean, I can sit through The Mummy more than once, but Die Hard 4? Barely. And I won't like it. They also went overboard on the special effects. Should have used more practical effects imo. Damned F-22 or whatever looked like it was culled from the video game adaptation of Revenge of the Fallen.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:43:17 PM

Gay. I'd rather them just do another sequel to the mummy, unlike my good pal Cress, i thought they were well done.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:45:45 PM

"because it was Die Hard", That's what i like to hear Mink! you sweat talking me again!?

lol.. Honestly i agree with you mink, it wasn't as good as they could have made it, but i also agree with ColdPlay, Mclane kicking ass? Whats more to want?
MeganFoxPlease writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 11:07:52 AM

um... underworld?
MeganFoxPlease writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 11:08:06 AM

the first film was gothic perfection

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved