WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Robert Zemeckis Says He'll Stop Any "Back to the Future" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Titles for "Star Trek 3" and "Guardians of the Galaxy 2" Revealed
Jun 30th, 2015
First Look at Costumes From "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Ten Thousand Saints," with Ethan Hawke and Asa Butterfield
Jun 30th, 2015
"Ted 2" Underperforms at Box Office, "Jurassic World" Continues to Dominate
Jun 29th, 2015
"Lucy" and "Colombiana" Sequels in the Works
Jun 27th, 2015
Steven Spielberg Acquires Michael Crichton's "Micro" Novel
Jun 27th, 2015
New "Heroes Reborn" Trailer Arrives Online
Jun 26th, 2015
Photos From New Episodes of "The X-Files"
Jun 26th, 2015
New Trailer for Tom Hardy's "Legend" Thriller
Jun 26th, 2015
Adrian Grenier Would Make "Aquaman" Cameo
Jun 26th, 2015
Shia LaBeouf Hospitalized After Sustaining a Head Injury on Set
Jun 25th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Rampage" Video Game Movie
Jun 25th, 2015
First Look at Gerard Butler in "London Has Fallen"
Jun 25th, 2015
Emma Watson Joins Tom Hanks in "The Circle" Thriller
Jun 25th, 2015
"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director
Jun 24th, 2015
First Trailer for "Paranormal Activity: The Ghost Dimension"
Jun 24th, 2015
Channing Tatum Says He Hates "GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra"
Jun 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Hitman: Agent 47" Reboot
Jun 24th, 2015
Arnold Schwarzenegger to Star in "478" Drama, Darren Aronofsky is Producing
Jun 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Masterminds" Comedy, with Zach Galifianakis and Kristen Wiig
Jun 24th, 2015
Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight
Jun 23rd, 2015
"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase
Jun 23rd, 2015
First Look at Final "Paranormal Activity" Installment
Jun 23rd, 2015
"Titanic" Composer James Horner Dies in Plane Crash
Jun 23rd, 2015
New Trailer for "Dragon Blade," with Jackie Chan and John Cusack
Jun 23rd, 2015
Full Trailer for "7 Days in Hell" Tennis Comedy, with Andy Samberg and Kit Harington
Jun 23rd, 2015
Hugh Jackman Confirmed for "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Jun 21st, 2015
Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay
Jun 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Daddy's Home" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg
Jun 20th, 2015
Julia Stiles to Return for "Bourne 5," Viggo Mortensen May Play Villain
Jun 20th, 2015
Channing Tatum Says Gambit Won't Appear in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Jun 20th, 2015
First Look at "Ghostbusters" Reboot, Slimer Will Return
Jun 19th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Len Wiseman Says "The Mummy" Reboot is a Horror Film Set in Present Day

Posted: December 14th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Len Wiseman Says "The Mummy" Reboot is a Horror Film Set in Present DaySubmit Comment
While promoting the upcoming DVD/Blu-ray release of "Total Recall," director Len Wiseman was asked about Universal Pictures' "The Mummy" reboot, which he is set to helm.

"It is a modern day take. It doesn't have anything to do with the Brendan Fraser films, and it is not a remake of any kind," said Wiseman. "The Mummy is one of Universal's long standing, iconic characters, well before the Brendan Fraser movies. This is such a different thing."

He continued: "There is still a script to be written, but the pitch was to go with a much different tone. It was a Mummy like I'd never heard of before. It's nothing like what you would expect. I was picturing Egypt and the sand swept settings. The mummy wrappings. When I heard what they were wanting to actually do with it, it was shocking. It's horror. It's epic. It's more of a modern day version of what would happen if we came across a mummy in our world today. It is pretty fascinating."

Source: Movieweb


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:57:49 AM

Whatever Wiseman does can't be any worse than the Brendan Fraser flicks. Those movies sucked.
boogiel writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:58:54 AM

Great! Just put some love twist and we'll have another twatlight style movies. The've done that with vampires, werewolves and zombies. Heck, why also not make it with the mummy.
pornfly writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:05:18 AM

...what would happen if we came across a mummy in our world today.
Ya mean f*ckin shoot it,ya jackass??
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:44:54 AM

Maybe Lenny plans on tying this into the Underworld movies somehow because he's an idiot. I'm sure Bill Nighy will play The Mummy and Kate Beckinsale will be revealed as his Queen in a lame twist.
cress writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:49:22 AM

I came upon a mummy once. Then I dumped her the next day. I don't want to raise someone else's kids
supaflywill writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 9:15:30 AM

mummies ...in a shopping mall ...roaming about ... young kids f*cking them up with knives and petrol bombs...ffs leave it out
bane writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 9:43:30 AM

and the oscar goes to.. Daniel Day lewis

http://www.movie2k.to/Lincoln-watch-movie-2264245.html
Avirex writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 10:42:49 AM

Interview provided by "Hollywood Pre-Packaged Statement Generator 2.0"
vincere01 writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 11:09:32 AM

You guys hear that???!!! Anybody??? That was the sound of any and all hope for this movie being good getting sucked out the window
Patrick Bateman writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 11:35:01 AM

:en wiseman just stick to f*cking kate beckinsale its the only good thing you have done
Kurskij writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 1:28:28 PM

^read it in Bale's v
Kurskij writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 1:31:54 PM

^read it in Bale's voice from the "Huey Lewis" scene. It was keewl!

@avi

Lol.

onzetopic: do it, Len. If it wins - we all win, if it fails - you loose and we still win.

Ps: You better tap datass of Kate's good, you bastard.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 1:53:24 PM

The Fraser films might have "sucked", but at least they were repetitively entertaining imo.

I can't say the same for anything Wiseman has ever done, can any of you?

Didn't think so.
coldplayesence writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 3:06:09 PM

Uh, die hard 4? Stupid and very entertaining
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 3:21:47 PM

*Repetitively* entertaining? I don't think so. I saw it once in theaters because it was Die Hard, and then I tried watching it again on DVD.

I found myself flipping through the scenes looking for the good sh*t like I do with Matrix Revolutions. The kernels of corn in the turd.

The kid, the bad jokes, Kevin Fatass Smith, the plot stolen from a rejected season of 24, the running over of asians with SUVs, the silly action set pieces, and so on and so forth.


But then again, I don't find that which is stupid to be entertaining, so perhaps therein lies the difference.
pornfly writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:11:34 PM

I can't say the same for anything Wiseman has ever done, can any of you?

Does getting oral while drinking smoking and watching Scarface count?
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:46:32 PM

Touche.
coldplayesence writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:49:29 PM

Ok I admit the fact that Justin Long was trying too much and the plot is stupid (computers=magic) but come on it was McClaine kicking ass, I'll take that over any other hot teen generic wannabe.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 6:59:16 PM

Maybe, but lowballing another Die Hard sequel still doesn't cut the mustard for repetitive entertainment. I mean, I can sit through The Mummy more than once, but Die Hard 4? Barely. And I won't like it. They also went overboard on the special effects. Should have used more practical effects imo. Damned F-22 or whatever looked like it was culled from the video game adaptation of Revenge of the Fallen.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:43:17 PM

Gay. I'd rather them just do another sequel to the mummy, unlike my good pal Cress, i thought they were well done.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 14th, 2012 at 8:45:45 PM

"because it was Die Hard", That's what i like to hear Mink! you sweat talking me again!?

lol.. Honestly i agree with you mink, it wasn't as good as they could have made it, but i also agree with ColdPlay, Mclane kicking ass? Whats more to want?
MeganFoxPlease writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 11:07:52 AM

um... underworld?
MeganFoxPlease writes:
on December 15th, 2012 at 11:08:06 AM

the first film was gothic perfection

Hugh Jackman on Quitting Wolverine and Making "Deadpool" Cameo

Hugh Jackman Quit Wolverine Role Because of Jerry Seinfeld

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Marvel and Sony Can't Agree on Which Actor Should Play Spider-Man

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

"Jurassic World" is a Massive Hit, Chris Pratt to Return for Sequel

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Plot Synopsis Revealed

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

Targon Egerton Wants to Replace Hugh Jackman as Wolverine

Hulk Hogan is the Villain in "The Expendables 4"?
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved