WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Kevin Smith Says "The Avengers" is Better Than "The Dark Knight Rises"

Posted: December 11th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Kevin Smith Says "The Avengers" is Better Than "The Dark Knight Rises"Submit Comment
Everyone knows that Kevin Smith is a huge comic book fan, mostly of DC characters. That's why he was so excited to see "The Dark Knight Rises." But now that the year is coming to an end, Smith has revealed that he liked "The Avengers" a lot more.

He said that he thought "Iron Man" was the perfect movie, but after Jon Favreau wasn't hired to direct "The Avengers," he basically gave up on the film. His fears were confirmed when he finally watched it and saw things that he thought were silly, like Loki being able to turn people evil simply by touching them with his stick.

His negative point of view quickly changed when Hulk made an appearance. "I was like, 'The Hulk is amazing.' The next time I watched ['The Avengers'], I was totally into it," Smith explained.

He continued: "I never would have thought I would have liked 'Avengers' more than 'Dark Knight Rises,' but I really did like 'Avengers' more. And I've watched them an equal amount of times. 'Avengers' puts a smile on your face. It's magical cinema."

Source: The Playlist


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
supaflywill writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 7:07:05 AM

i agree , if hulk was not in it ....it could of gone horribly wrong ...dark night for me , was ok but i dont really like batman any way , they are good films which are for a total different audence, all other super hero films want to make u laugh and enjoy the film , dark knight is serious and for adults tbh ...even tho i enjoyed them a lot i wouldnt see it more than once ...bring on man of steel any day !
Dekead writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 7:07:10 AM

Dark knight rises is so overrated, I could make a better batman film
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 7:48:38 AM

Wel duh... Avengers was way better lol
Kurskij writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 7:51:12 AM

His podcast on TDKR was actually pretty funny.

Avengers and TDKR are both full flaws. But one doesn't take itself seriously and the other so obviously f*cking does.
pornfly writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 8:37:15 AM

and Popeyes is better than KFC
but KFC has better biscuits
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 8:44:12 AM

Bojangle's has better fried chicken AND biscuits than both KFC and Popeye's.
Crazyhorse writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 8:49:03 AM

I thought Dark Knight was better

Avengers was a good movie but I did think if it wasnt for the Hulk I wouldnt have liked it as much
Cannon writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 8:54:49 AM


Star Wars was magical cinema. Raiders of the Lost Ark was magical cinema. Alien, Blade Runner, Terminator 2 and Jurassic Park were all magical cinema.

The Avenger looked (was shot like) a big bugdted made-for-Syfy movie. It what charming and watchable, but hardly magical. Clearly, Smith is easily won over by pop-mediocrity, as he also thinks Favreau and Iron Man was perfect. It isn't. However, I, too, probably enjoyed more than TDKR.
afterkwiss writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 9:01:26 AM

They definitely aim at different audiences ...
trailertrash writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 9:09:28 AM

'Avengers' puts a smile on your face. It's magical cinema."

.......... Pompous Twat
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 9:30:10 AM

How in the f*ck did they get him away from the buffet to get his sh*t opinion? ?
McQueen writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 9:34:18 AM

^ ^ LOL!
Fightclub1 writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 9:53:46 AM

Can't compare the two together, Two totally different movies in my opinion. I enjoyed both films greatly
velocityknown writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 10:44:03 AM

They're aimed at the same audience: A movie audience. Are they tonally different? Yes. Does that give The Dark Knight Rises an excuse to be a worse film? No. The Avengers was simply better than TDKR.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 11:10:14 AM

Dark Knight Rises is the perfect film to sit down with your feet up, with a nice glass of whisky and a hand full of pills which you will begin to eat one by one until you're dead because the film you are watching is so miserable and depressing that you might as well give up. So many things wrong with that film mainly the fact that Batman is barely even it it, it's just hobo Bruce Wayne crying over a girl he wasn't actually with hobbling about feeling sorry for himself. MAN UP BITCH! YOU'RE BATMAN! Get out there and fight crime I didn't pay a tenner to watch a soap opera I wanna see sh*t getting f*cked up and well choreographed fight sequences. But we didn't even get that. Nolan is lazy and he is a fiend.

Avengers may not have been perfect but at least it had a sh*t load of action and made me feel happy and escape this world in a way that isn't suicide.
bane writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 11:14:07 AM

@ worst previews

Everyone knows that Kevin Smith is a huge...

something
Man in Black writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 11:17:43 AM

Hey , even a fat broken clock is right twice a day .
bane writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 11:18:25 AM

@ supaflywill

i f*ckin love your avatar
ProfMovies writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 11:24:30 AM

I hope people are finally getting sick of these lame superhero movies!
There have been far too many of them, and, just like the brain-dead studio execs, they are bereft of any original thought.

If Hollywood had any sense (which we know is definitely not the case!) they would declare a moritorium on all comic book superhero hoo-hah for at least the next 10 years.

Having said all that, Kevin Smith wouldn't know a good movie if it bit him on the butt.
He certainly hasn't made any himself.
billofill writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 11:40:46 AM

Here i am thinking they were both good. Thanks for setting me straight Former Talented Writer of the 90's.
Ranger writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 11:57:05 AM

Kevin Smith likes The Hulk because he figures it's the one being that eats more than he does.

RESPECT, I believe is the word.
hellsingfan writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 12:18:19 PM

@profmovie superhero movies are getting better what just because YOU dont like them you dont want others to like them well then little boy heres an idea dont go and see them
ALIsuperstar writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 12:50:43 PM

No ITS NOT
Evil_Disco writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 1:35:57 PM

The Avengers is overrated.
It was good. Nothing more.
Fightclub1 writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 1:56:49 PM

@velocityknown I respect your opinion, but I have to respectfully disagree. I felt like avengers was a awesome popcorn summer movie that i enjoyed but to me it played like a sitcom. As to where I thought tdkr played as a more serious movie and ended to me what was the best superhero franchise in history couldn't have asked for a way to end the series. But like I said I respect your opinion as everyone can't agree and has their own opinion.
Johnnyb writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 1:58:25 PM

The Avengers was greatly bigger in popularity than TDKR for two big reasons. First, they really make a nice job of introducing characters in a global conflict with taking matter seriously and conjoined together for an excellent climatic film in the middle of New York and the second, Avengers not only come early in theaters than TDKR, which make a lot of people to incline for a one big group of superheroes in one film than watching a miserable Bruce Wayne/ Batman crying and watch his ass being kicked up like a p*ssy. And that you can add that Avengers was directed by a man who understand and write comics than Nolan, who always one to make twisted and psychological films than in a way, are more confusing that many people will not understand!!!!!
Fightclub1 writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 1:59:09 PM

*couldn't have asked for a better way*
Ibleedjustfine writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 2:18:09 PM

f*ck off, Kevin.
minkowski writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 2:51:06 PM

Comparing them is like comparing to different fruits. You know the cliche. Apples, oranges, that one. As someone else said, obviously different target audiences.

Anywho, I just want to know if Kevin prefers to bathe in a vat of Haagen Dazs or Ben and Jerrys, so I can purchase the appropriate company's stock.
Zarnakai writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 3:41:19 PM

It all differs from person to person. I liked both. But I'm more in favor of TDKR. Nolan doesn't write plots that are too confusing. They're actually simple. They just don't unfold in a simple way. Avengers was simple and to the point and worked like regular film. It wasn't groundbreaking it was just the magnificent seven for superhero movies. That's the reason why everyone likes it it thrives on it's simplicity. It embraces and doesn't go for anything more. But Chris Nolan goes for more. He takes a well established hero and makes him different than all the rest. And batman will always be serious. ALWAYS. If he isn't we get batman forever and batman and robin. Some view it as sloppy, some view it as ok, others love it. By it I mean TDKR as a whole. I'm apart of the latter. Avengers embrace the mainstream(which makes it a good movie) and TDKR doesn't and I love TDKR for wanting to be something other than a crowd pleaser.
robbskittles writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 3:41:42 PM

his opinion, k respect to that, my opinion, The Batman movies take it.
minkowski writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 4:45:10 PM

@Cannon: the days of Hollywood magic are long over, bud.

Sorry.
Rambo writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 6:18:06 PM

so what else is new?another gay fat f*ck likes the avengers more then the far superior TDKR...
and to all the rest here who loved the avengers more.suck my d*ck.
bane writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 8:36:53 PM

@ minkowski

the days of Hollywood magic are long over

i think
the 70's were the best decade for movies
BlackDynamite writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 9:23:35 PM

Avengers was a fun movie, but pure popcorn film.

The Dark Knight Rises was an ambitious movie, but in my eyes, NOT a Batman film, due to the fact that Bruce Wayne does so much that he would NEVER do in the comics.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved