WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Darren Aronofsky Blames One Bad Review for "The Fountain" Failure

Posted: December 10th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Darren Aronofsky Blames One Bad Review for "The Fountain" FailureSubmit Comment
Darren Aronofsky gained recognition after "Requiem for a Dream." So when he wanted to make "The Fountain," lots of actors like Brad Pitt and Hugh Jackman were interested in joining the project. Jackman ended up starring along with Rachel Weisz, but the film turned out to be a box office bomb.

"The Fountain" cost $35 million to make, but grossed only $16 million globally. Plus, it has a lousy 51% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes. Since then, Aronofsky has had amazing success with "The Wrestler" and "Black Swan," but he hasn't forgotten about "The Fountain."

In an interview with CriticWire, the filmmaker said that Variety's one review is responsible for all the negative reviews that followed and the film's poor box office performance.

"Not only did [the critic] attack the film, she attacked me," said Aronofsky. "People in social media attack you for everything you've done, that happens all the time. But a critic should be focused on what's at hand, not attack someone's career and say their past films are overrated and say they have no ability. She clearly had an issue with me as a person and what I was putting out there as my stories. So that bothered me. And so probably if I ever met her, it wouldn't be a good day."

Source: CriticWire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
matternm58 writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 9:25:50 PM

I actually liked the movie though. I thought it was more like an art than just a story.
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 9:34:46 PM

It was all art, no story.

And I doubt one critic forced every other critic to hate The Fountain. They probably just said "hey, this sh*t makes no goddamned sense!", like I and a billion other people did as well.

And for the record, I like The Fountain not in spite of but because it makes no damned sense.
cress writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 9:39:04 PM

^^^this
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 9:41:01 PM

By the way, RT has the movie pegged at 51%, pretty much the definition of polarization, especially if you follow recent American politics, and god help if you do.

Here's the IndieWire link (great website)

http://blogs.indiewire.com/criticwire/darren-aronofsky-says-variety-review-sent-the-fountain-into-a-tailspin

And here's the Variety review that Aronofsky says sent his film into "a vintage Disney animated afternoon television show":

http://www.variety.com/review/VE1117931455/

If you read the Variety review, you'll hardly come away cringing from the beating Felperin delivers, mostly because there isn't one.

Darren, get a grip dude. I've seen far, far worse reviews for films that had higher ratings. Grow up, little girl.
sedibus writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 10:52:19 PM

Black Swan, a gay symbol, instead of Natalie this guy should had cast DiCaprio on that role. But don't they say the right side of the brain or our creativity is our own feminine part? Like yin-yang. anima-animus sh*t?

By the way. I was kind of disappointed by the movie and the Graphic Novel, the same happened to me with Southland Tales.

But I have to say that I have appreciation for this guy's work, nonetheless.

minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 10:53:44 PM

Southland Tales = worst film I've seen in a decade.
kirkpaco writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 11:08:18 PM

I thought that movie was excellent and badly underrated.
KillerCOck writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 11:23:08 PM

this one of the most beautiful looking films I've ever but he story was never its best feature
OneTime writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 11:29:44 PM

i loved that movie..the score was brilliant
Kurskij writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 11:30:52 PM

what mattern and mink said.

Also it had one of the best soundtracks ever.
Johnnyb writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 12:02:45 AM

Ok, seems that you are having a bad day Darren..... I hope your Noah's Ark has a lot of s scenes that you said before or definitely next time criticism won't be a problem but your career in Hollywood or even your life.....
Rambo writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 12:32:52 AM

Aronofsky=overrated

his best movie was 'pi'
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 12:51:03 AM

51 percent isn't lousy on rottentomatoes. It just means you either like it or you don't. I personally love the film. I remember when I first saw it I was like "what did i just watch". I kid you not, I watched immediately after again and fell in love with it.

But again I can respect people pointing out its flaws.

As for Darren's comments, I have noticed some reviews don't actually review the film but attack or talk about nothing relating to what is at hand. So he has a point.
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 1:30:58 AM

"...you either you liked it or you don't..."

Truer words have not been stated, but that is nothing to be angry about. It just means it rattles cages, gets people out of their comfort zone, and transcends the limits of the simple, average good guy-bad guy, boy-meets-girl fluff people lock or entrap themselves in...

I say all film is art, but art is also so subjective...and yes, even Uwe Bolls films are art....if you're into stick figure drawings as art? Yes. But it is whatever you make of it.

That's why my thing is always, "f*ck what you like, tell me WHY you like it." The reason for this is that friends of mine have convinced me or I them to change their minds of certain movies. They disliked the film, but after the discussion they reviewed it again with a different perspective & changed their movie experience overall.

Example: A friend of mine disliked SIN CITY saying it was over indulgent, self important macho bullsh*t. I actually changed his mind by just seeing it as a film about "3 love stories for guys". Yeah with torture, dismemberment, cannibalism, murders, & suicides, but all triggered by a dame and the guys that love them trying to do right by them...going against the cruel, corrupt world, no matter the cost....all in noir stylized dialogue. Talk about "Love hurts", but c'mon, what's not to love about SIN CITY?!

BTW, in any way 51% RT isn't too shabby. As for the BO, I wouldn't sweat it...we are talking about the same people that made TWILIGHT into a blockbuster...
shiteater writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 1:48:31 AM

Where is the actual quote where he directly blames the review for the movie failing?
Avirex writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 3:03:03 AM

As always Alex over sensationalizes another headline to get us lined up ready to pounce on the subject or person as is often the case. The source article did it too, but they exagerrated even more here. This is why the media is such a nuisance.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 6:26:12 AM

I said it before, but The Fountain is one of my favorite films not because I completely understand the story but because I understand the obsessive struggle it deals with. Anyone who's ever dealt with seeing a loved one slowly die before your eyes and there's nothing you can do about it can probably draw a great connection with this film. Only problem is that type of depressing connection doesn't exactly sell well at the BO especially with an audience thats been lead to the theater looking for some crazy sci-fi effects spectacle (which is how the film was marketed and packaged). It was rightfully never marketed as a cancer film because cancer films don't sell. But outside the BO where this film has been viewed without expectations is how its gained its popular cult status and proper respect. In the long run its a beautiful art film with a depressing but extremely strong message. I love it!
bane writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 11:20:31 AM

any good Darren Aronofsky movie
has to have
natalie portman and mila kunis...

( well you know)
jikae writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 7:23:28 PM

No. Aronofsky, the movie bombed because it was BORING AS HELL. I like watching artsy indie films as much as the next person, IF they're done right. And that film, it sucked.

Moving on...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved