WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Wonder Woman" Searching for Female Director
Oct 24th, 2014
"The Mummy" Reboot to Follow Navy SEAL in Iraq?
Oct 24th, 2014
Noomi Rapace Discusses "Prometheus 2" Storyline
Oct 24th, 2014
Christian Bale Confirmed For Steve Jobs Biopic, To Appear in Every Frame of the Film
Oct 24th, 2014
"Insidious Chapter 3" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"The Hobbit" Trilogy Becomes Most Expensive Production of All Time
Oct 23rd, 2014
Quicksilver to Return For "X-Men: Apocalypse" and Maybe Solo Film
Oct 23rd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For Mark Wahlberg's "The Gambler" Thriller
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Evangeline Lilly as Hope Pym on Marvel's "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 23rd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Johnny Depp as The Wolf in Disney's "Into the Woods"
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

AFI's Top Ten Films of 2012

Posted: December 10th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
AFISubmit Comment
Each year, the American Film Institute (AFI) unveils its Top Ten list of the best movies and television series. Today we have AFI's lists for 2012. Check them out below.

In the movie category, "The Dark Knight Rises," "Django Unchained" and "Argo" made the list. And just like on most other lists, "Zero Dark Thirty" was also one of AFI's choices.

On the TV series side, all the expected shows made the list, including "Breaking Bad," "Game of Thrones" and "The Walking Dead.

AFI MOVIES OF THE YEAR (alphabetical order):
* Argo
* Beasts of the Southern Wild
* The Dark Knight Rises
* Django Unchained
* Les Miserables
* Life of Pi
* Lincoln
* Moonrise Kingdom
* Silver Linings Playbook
* Zero Dark Thirty

AFI TV PROGRAMS OF THE YEAR (alphabetical order):
* American Horror Story
* Breaking Bad
* Game Change
* Game of Thrones
* Girls
* Homeland
* Louie
* Mad Men
* Modern Family
* The Walking Dead

Source: AFI


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 9:31:18 PM

Meh. More "I Made A List And I Have to Share It With the World" bullsh*t.

I made a list to. It's called Who Gives A sh*t? Wanna see it, AFI?
Dekead writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 9:33:25 PM

We still have some movies left to release
Danger-Lips writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 9:36:23 PM

Boardwalk Empire should be on the TV list, this season was awesome! As for the movies, I've seen Argo, TDKR, and Moonrise Kingdom and loved all 3! Can't wait to see Django on Christmas...
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 9:45:40 PM

No Dexter on the list, even though this season is one of the strongest in years.

But I do agree with the implication that mainstream films were a total let down this year.

The biggest tentpole flicks were all letdowns imo.

The Avengers was decent but entirely derivative and forgettable, TDKR was largely panned by Nolan Batman fans, and I found it to be decent enough but really worth anticipating for four years, and Prometheus, well, Premotheus was Prometheus, like the retard who sticks his tongue in light sockets is still just that retard.
cress writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 9:50:26 PM

Breaking Bad is flat out the best series I've ever watched. And I've only watched Season 1, missed Seasons 2 and 3, and started watching again with Season 4 and into the current Season 5. Season 4 was so good, I don't feel the need to go back and watch the seasons I missed, although I will one day. Brilliant show, and Brian Cranston is a f*cking boss.
matternm58 writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 9:50:45 PM

I know what the f*ck no Dexter.
matternm58 writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 9:51:33 PM

I do agree with American Horror Story. That show is f*cked up in an Awesome way.
cress writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 10:01:38 PM

Moonrise Kingdom is just another disappointing film from Wes Anderson. Rushmore was great, but everything since has just been "meh," in my opinion.

Also, I'm sick of all this new found love of Ben Affleck. Morherf*cker annoys me.
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 10:06:03 PM

Ben Affleck's hot right now because people are amazed he found a genuine talent after sucking so hard as an actor.

It's like cheering the retard for learning how to tie his shoes even though you can't get him to stop eating glue to save his miserable short bus life.
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 10:34:10 PM

So. Anyone know what happens to Dexter next week? He gets arrested I know that, but any more?
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 10:34:35 PM

LaGuerta's going to DIE, MOTHERf*ckER!
sedibus writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 10:54:12 PM

Wasted story arc that of the Dark Knight Rises, but can't blame those guys for concentrating on those orgies.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 11:06:19 PM

THANK YOU MINK!

Dexter is f*cking amazing this season, Can't wait for the season final this Sunday!

@Cress

I love Breaking Bad, Best show on TV lol, But I liked Moonrise Kingdom, Not really top 10.. But still a good movie
Kurskij writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 11:32:05 PM

* The Dark Knight Rises

Saywha?
Kurskij writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 11:37:50 PM

"Rushmore was great, but everything since has just been "meh," in my opinion"

"Life Aquatic" was delightfully insane and well-made. One of Murray's best roles imo and Defoe was great.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 12:10:29 AM

Tsnmsn's Top 10 Films of the year List
-In no such order-

-Lincoln
-The Grey
-The Hunter (Personal fav)
-Prometheous (sue me)
-Lawless
-Trouble with the curve
-Seven Psychopaths
-Looper
-Skyfall
-Killing them softly

Now SOME of those are in there because i couldn't find 10 movies suitable for a top 10, Thos movies are Looper, and killing them softly. Both good films, but are just fill ins for now.

Tanman's Top 10 TV Shows of the year
-in no order-
-Breaking Bad
-Dexter
-Supernatural
-Californication
-The Walking Dead

(The rest are Shows i don't watch but have thought of watching before)
-American Horror Story
-Homeland
-Louie
-Mad Men

And lastly, Sons of Anarchy
i used to watch this but stopped after the 3rd season, seemed redundant... Sorry..
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 1:03:48 AM

I'm happy for this list................. To be honest I could care 2 f*cks less!
pornfly writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 2:11:52 AM

Wasnt Game Change a tv movie??
Replace it with Person of Interest
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 4:53:51 AM

I like how half of these movies haven't even come out yet. Why bother? "Zero dark Thirty" will take every Oscar home now because Bigelow can't direct anything but whatever war event is going on and because the event is so fresh in people's minds it resonates the best. So many films that will be remembered much longer passed over for another political bullsh*t movie. And to think I thought this girl had a bright future after "Hurt Locker" as a director. And I know many will say Avengers doesn't deserve it but I think it deserves a Best Picture nom at least. A never before done concept that was executed quite well. But hey "Dark Knight" got passed up and so will many films that aren't straight drama films because apparently that is what is considered a real film. It is, but still a million great dramas can be made but we only get a few films that mix different elements so well and have to be more creative that when they come along they deserved to be recognized. But again, can't win when because as soon as a war docudrama on the assassination of Osama Bin Laden came up they all got swept under the rug. Bullsh*t all the way and screw you AFI. It took you 50 years to realize Vertigo deserved a high place in your stupid list. Dead again, and everyone here can agree, when have critics ever said anything that was agreeable and matched the majority. A million critics said Boondock Saints was awful...yet 50 million said it was a gritty, silly good time with sm extra helping of epic.
velocityknown writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 11:18:04 AM

Dexter has been much better this year and I have enjoyed it, but much better than the past two years still doesn't put it anywhere close to its prime. They certainly didn't help themselves by killing off the season's most interesting character with 4 episodes left. And as much as I love Yvonne Strahovski, I'm just not feeling her character. Maybe if she had taken advantage of Showtime allowing nudity I'd like her more.

Putting TDKR on this list over The Master is a f*cking horrible joke.

And including The Walking Dead, Game Change, American Horror Story, and Modern Family over shows like Community, Boardwalk Empire, Justified, Veep, Archer, Parks and Recreation, It's Always Sunny, and others I'm sure I'm forgetting is equally outrageous. American Horror Story? Please. Ryan Murphy is one of the worst things to happen to TV in the past decade. The Walking Dead is the most overrated drama on television and Modern Family is right there with it as the most overrated comedy.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 5:13:32 PM

now hold on a damn second! The Walking Dead is f*cking excellent! lol but i do agree with You on Dexter, Seeing her tits on my TV Would add that extra spice that i need in the show :)

And i really really liked his character, to bad they killed him off "Under different circ*mstances, I'm sure you and i could have been good friends"
minkowski writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 10:46:25 PM

You guys are talking about Ray, right? Yeah, he was awesome, but not quite up to snuff to dealing with Dexter, I'm afraid, and as seasons 7 and 8 are essentially one story arc, it was time I think to put him to bed to make room for the main attraction: Dexter's arrest, his girlfriend's betrayal, and Deb's frame job plus LaGuerta's highway to the grave, which will come next season, I hope.

Booyah!

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved