WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Mark Wahlberg Will Return for "Transformers 5"
Dec 19th, 2014
"Team America: World Police" Screenings Also Cancelled Due to Terrorist Threats
Dec 19th, 2014
20th Century Fox Cancels It's Own North Korea-Based Film
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look: Tom Hanks in Steven Spielberg's Cold War Thriller
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look at Viggo Mortensen's "Captain Fantastic"
Dec 19th, 2014
Trailer for "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "American Sniper," with Bradley Cooper
Dec 18th, 2014
"Fifty Shades of Grey" and "Star Wars" are Top Trailers of 2014
Dec 18th, 2014
Hugh Jackman in Talks for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "The Wolverine 2"
Dec 18th, 2014
Peter Jackson Wants to Make More Tolkien Movies
Dec 18th, 2014
Theaters Refusing to Show "The Interview," Sony Cancels Premiere, Press and Release
Dec 17th, 2014
Chris Pratt and a Dinosaur in New "Jurassic World" Photo
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Doesn't Like Marvel Films, Says Superheroes Should Be Happier
Dec 17th, 2014
Orlando Bloom Says "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" is a Reboot
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Will Direct "Beetlejuice 2," Confirms Winona Ryder Will Return
Dec 17th, 2014
Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy Unveils Pac-Man and Donkey Kong Posters
Dec 17th, 2014
New Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Dec 17th, 2014
First Look at "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 16th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino Interested in "Django Unchained" and "Zorro" Crossover Film
Dec 16th, 2014
Lots of "Ghostbusters 3" Story Details Leaked
Dec 16th, 2014
Trailer for Terrence Malick's "Knight of Cups," with Christian Bale and Natalie Portman
Dec 16th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel Gets New Title and Release Date, JK Simmons Joins Cast
Dec 16th, 2014
Five Actresses in Talks for "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Role
Dec 16th, 2014
20th Century Fox Planning to Merge "Fantastic Four" With "X-Men"
Dec 15th, 2014
"Aquaman" Film Considering "Mud" Director Jeff Nichols
Dec 15th, 2014
Tim Burton Says "Beetlejuice 2" is Closer Than Ever
Dec 15th, 2014
First Look at Batman's Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" in Color
Dec 15th, 2014
Jeremy Irons Says Alfred in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" is Very Different
Dec 15th, 2014
"Exodus: Gods and Kings" Underperforms at Box Office
Dec 15th, 2014
Disney Still Planning to Make "Indiana Jones 5"
Dec 14th, 2014
Trailer for Fake Movie "MoonQuake Lake," with Ashton Kutcher and Mila Kunis
Dec 14th, 2014
Concept Art From Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Dec 14th, 2014
First Teaser for "Descendants," About Children of Maleficent, Jafar, Cruella and Other Disney Villains
Dec 14th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

AFI's Top Ten Films of 2012

Posted: December 10th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
AFISubmit Comment
Each year, the American Film Institute (AFI) unveils its Top Ten list of the best movies and television series. Today we have AFI's lists for 2012. Check them out below.

In the movie category, "The Dark Knight Rises," "Django Unchained" and "Argo" made the list. And just like on most other lists, "Zero Dark Thirty" was also one of AFI's choices.

On the TV series side, all the expected shows made the list, including "Breaking Bad," "Game of Thrones" and "The Walking Dead.

AFI MOVIES OF THE YEAR (alphabetical order):
* Argo
* Beasts of the Southern Wild
* The Dark Knight Rises
* Django Unchained
* Les Miserables
* Life of Pi
* Lincoln
* Moonrise Kingdom
* Silver Linings Playbook
* Zero Dark Thirty

AFI TV PROGRAMS OF THE YEAR (alphabetical order):
* American Horror Story
* Breaking Bad
* Game Change
* Game of Thrones
* Girls
* Homeland
* Louie
* Mad Men
* Modern Family
* The Walking Dead

Source: AFI


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 9:31:18 PM

Meh. More "I Made A List And I Have to Share It With the World" bullsh*t.

I made a list to. It's called Who Gives A sh*t? Wanna see it, AFI?
Dekead writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 9:33:25 PM

We still have some movies left to release
Danger-Lips writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 9:36:23 PM

Boardwalk Empire should be on the TV list, this season was awesome! As for the movies, I've seen Argo, TDKR, and Moonrise Kingdom and loved all 3! Can't wait to see Django on Christmas...
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 9:45:40 PM

No Dexter on the list, even though this season is one of the strongest in years.

But I do agree with the implication that mainstream films were a total let down this year.

The biggest tentpole flicks were all letdowns imo.

The Avengers was decent but entirely derivative and forgettable, TDKR was largely panned by Nolan Batman fans, and I found it to be decent enough but really worth anticipating for four years, and Prometheus, well, Premotheus was Prometheus, like the retard who sticks his tongue in light sockets is still just that retard.
cress writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 9:50:26 PM

Breaking Bad is flat out the best series I've ever watched. And I've only watched Season 1, missed Seasons 2 and 3, and started watching again with Season 4 and into the current Season 5. Season 4 was so good, I don't feel the need to go back and watch the seasons I missed, although I will one day. Brilliant show, and Brian Cranston is a f*cking boss.
matternm58 writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 9:50:45 PM

I know what the f*ck no Dexter.
matternm58 writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 9:51:33 PM

I do agree with American Horror Story. That show is f*cked up in an Awesome way.
cress writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 10:01:38 PM

Moonrise Kingdom is just another disappointing film from Wes Anderson. Rushmore was great, but everything since has just been "meh," in my opinion.

Also, I'm sick of all this new found love of Ben Affleck. Morherf*cker annoys me.
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 10:06:03 PM

Ben Affleck's hot right now because people are amazed he found a genuine talent after sucking so hard as an actor.

It's like cheering the retard for learning how to tie his shoes even though you can't get him to stop eating glue to save his miserable short bus life.
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 10:34:10 PM

So. Anyone know what happens to Dexter next week? He gets arrested I know that, but any more?
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 10:34:35 PM

LaGuerta's going to DIE, MOTHERf*ckER!
sedibus writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 10:54:12 PM

Wasted story arc that of the Dark Knight Rises, but can't blame those guys for concentrating on those orgies.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 11:06:19 PM

THANK YOU MINK!

Dexter is f*cking amazing this season, Can't wait for the season final this Sunday!

@Cress

I love Breaking Bad, Best show on TV lol, But I liked Moonrise Kingdom, Not really top 10.. But still a good movie
Kurskij writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 11:32:05 PM

* The Dark Knight Rises

Saywha?
Kurskij writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 11:37:50 PM

"Rushmore was great, but everything since has just been "meh," in my opinion"

"Life Aquatic" was delightfully insane and well-made. One of Murray's best roles imo and Defoe was great.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 12:10:29 AM

Tsnmsn's Top 10 Films of the year List
-In no such order-

-Lincoln
-The Grey
-The Hunter (Personal fav)
-Prometheous (sue me)
-Lawless
-Trouble with the curve
-Seven Psychopaths
-Looper
-Skyfall
-Killing them softly

Now SOME of those are in there because i couldn't find 10 movies suitable for a top 10, Thos movies are Looper, and killing them softly. Both good films, but are just fill ins for now.

Tanman's Top 10 TV Shows of the year
-in no order-
-Breaking Bad
-Dexter
-Supernatural
-Californication
-The Walking Dead

(The rest are Shows i don't watch but have thought of watching before)
-American Horror Story
-Homeland
-Louie
-Mad Men

And lastly, Sons of Anarchy
i used to watch this but stopped after the 3rd season, seemed redundant... Sorry..
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 1:03:48 AM

I'm happy for this list................. To be honest I could care 2 f*cks less!
pornfly writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 2:11:52 AM

Wasnt Game Change a tv movie??
Replace it with Person of Interest
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 4:53:51 AM

I like how half of these movies haven't even come out yet. Why bother? "Zero dark Thirty" will take every Oscar home now because Bigelow can't direct anything but whatever war event is going on and because the event is so fresh in people's minds it resonates the best. So many films that will be remembered much longer passed over for another political bullsh*t movie. And to think I thought this girl had a bright future after "Hurt Locker" as a director. And I know many will say Avengers doesn't deserve it but I think it deserves a Best Picture nom at least. A never before done concept that was executed quite well. But hey "Dark Knight" got passed up and so will many films that aren't straight drama films because apparently that is what is considered a real film. It is, but still a million great dramas can be made but we only get a few films that mix different elements so well and have to be more creative that when they come along they deserved to be recognized. But again, can't win when because as soon as a war docudrama on the assassination of Osama Bin Laden came up they all got swept under the rug. Bullsh*t all the way and screw you AFI. It took you 50 years to realize Vertigo deserved a high place in your stupid list. Dead again, and everyone here can agree, when have critics ever said anything that was agreeable and matched the majority. A million critics said Boondock Saints was awful...yet 50 million said it was a gritty, silly good time with sm extra helping of epic.
velocityknown writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 11:18:04 AM

Dexter has been much better this year and I have enjoyed it, but much better than the past two years still doesn't put it anywhere close to its prime. They certainly didn't help themselves by killing off the season's most interesting character with 4 episodes left. And as much as I love Yvonne Strahovski, I'm just not feeling her character. Maybe if she had taken advantage of Showtime allowing nudity I'd like her more.

Putting TDKR on this list over The Master is a f*cking horrible joke.

And including The Walking Dead, Game Change, American Horror Story, and Modern Family over shows like Community, Boardwalk Empire, Justified, Veep, Archer, Parks and Recreation, It's Always Sunny, and others I'm sure I'm forgetting is equally outrageous. American Horror Story? Please. Ryan Murphy is one of the worst things to happen to TV in the past decade. The Walking Dead is the most overrated drama on television and Modern Family is right there with it as the most overrated comedy.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 5:13:32 PM

now hold on a damn second! The Walking Dead is f*cking excellent! lol but i do agree with You on Dexter, Seeing her tits on my TV Would add that extra spice that i need in the show :)

And i really really liked his character, to bad they killed him off "Under different circ*mstances, I'm sure you and i could have been good friends"
minkowski writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 10:46:25 PM

You guys are talking about Ray, right? Yeah, he was awesome, but not quite up to snuff to dealing with Dexter, I'm afraid, and as seasons 7 and 8 are essentially one story arc, it was time I think to put him to bed to make room for the main attraction: Dexter's arrest, his girlfriend's betrayal, and Deb's frame job plus LaGuerta's highway to the grave, which will come next season, I hope.

Booyah!

Shia LaBeouf Says He Was Raped During His #IAmSorry Stunt

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TIME Magazine's Top 10 Best and Worst Films of 2014

It's Official: Jared Leto is The Joker and Will Smith is Deadshot in "Suicide Squad"

Christian Bale Says He'll Never Work With "Terminator Salvation" Director Again

Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"

Marvel Would Have Recast Spider-Man in "Captain America: Civil War"

"Demolition Man" Writer Explains How He Came Up with The Three Seashells

"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Still Rules Box Office, "The Pyramid" Bombed

Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved