WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"24" Movie and "X-Files" Reboot May Happen
Jul 25th, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Confirms Role in "Shazam" Superhero Film
Jul 25th, 2014
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Writer Hints at Direction of Third Film
Jul 25th, 2014
Vin Diesel on "xXx 3" and Guillermo Del Toro on "Pacific Rim 2"
Jul 25th, 2014
Poster for "Chappie" Robot Film, with Sharlto Copley and Hugh Jackman
Jul 25th, 2014
New Photo of Ben Affleck as Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 25th, 2014
Restricted Trailer for "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" is Here!
Jul 25th, 2014
First Photos From "Hitman: Agent 47" Reboot
Jul 25th, 2014
Two New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Posters, with Captain America and Black Widow
Jul 24th, 2014
Trailer for "50 Shades of Grey" Arrives Online
Jul 24th, 2014
First Two Posters for "Avengers: Age of Ultron" are Here!
Jul 24th, 2014
First Poster for Marvel's "Ant-Man" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2014
Photos: Batman's Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" On Display at Comic-Con
Jul 24th, 2014
Marvel Takes Old "The Amazing Spider-Man 4" Date, Likely for "Avengers 3"
Jul 24th, 2014
"Hitman: Agent 47" Unveils Comic-Con Banner
Jul 24th, 2014
New Trailer for Pierce Brosnan's "The November Man" Thriller
Jul 24th, 2014
Sony Announces Release Plan for "The Amazing Spider-Man 3" and "Sinister Six"
Jul 24th, 2014
Poster for "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies" Arrives Online
Jul 24th, 2014
"Pirates of the Caribbean 5" and "Sinister 2" Unveil Release Dates
Jul 24th, 2014
Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Mad Max: Fury Road" Unveils First Poster
Jul 23rd, 2014
Marvel Says Real Mandarin and Red Skull May Soon Make an Appearance
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Miss Julie," with Colin Farrell and Jessica Chastain
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Predators" Writer to Turn "Deus Ex" Video Game Into a Movie
Jul 23rd, 2014
New Banner for Brad Pitt's "Fury" War Film
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Space Station 76" Sci-Fi Spoof, with Patrick Wilson and Liv Tyler
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Insidious: Chapter 3" is Now Filming, First Photo Revealed
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Cybernatural" Horror Film, From Timur Bekmambetov
Jul 23rd, 2014
Will Ferrell and Adam McKay Reteam for "Manimal" Action Comedy
Jul 22nd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Unveils 5 Minute Clip
Jul 22nd, 2014
Marvel Will Release One Sequel and One New Franchise Each Year
Jul 22nd, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Gerard Butler's "Playing For Keeps" Bombs, "Skyfall" is Biggest Sony Film

Posted: December 9th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Gerard ButlerSubmit Comment
"Skyfall" James Bond movie returned to first place at the domestic box office by grossing another $11 million for a worldwide total of $918 million, beating "Spider-Man 3" ($890 million) to become Sony's highest-grossing film.

Meanwhile, the only wide release of the weekend, "Playing For Keeps," had to settle for sixth place, becoming a second box office flop in a row for Gerard Butler after "Chasing Mavericks." The movie grossed $6 million on a budget of $35 million, and has a disastrous 2% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

On the specialty side, Bill Murray's "Hyde Park on Hudson" was released in four theaters, grossing $83,280. The $20,820 per-theater average is enough to get a wider release next weekend. The film has a 40% fresh rating.

Click here to read our "Playing for Keeps" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Herbert Butterfield writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:30:13 PM

was 300 gerard butler's only big hit?
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:30:49 PM

His last name will be his next job if he's not careful.
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:36:14 PM

@Herbert: Yep. Do believe so. Didn't care for 300 myself.

His best film imo is Law Abiding Citizen.
cress writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:37:58 PM

Jessica Biel has quite a number of flops under her belt.
Ummm...under her belt...f*ck...where's the Jergens?
Herbert Butterfield writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:38:30 PM

that jessica biel has a great body, but her cheshire cat grin is kinda creepy to me. look, she's even doing in that picture up there.
BlackDynamite writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:40:17 PM

May I ask why Spiderman 3 made $890 Millon? It was easily the worst in the series. Utter trash.

Also, this is the first time I've even heard of Chasing Mavericks or Playing For Keeps. Gerard Butler hasn't been within a stone's throw of my film radar since Law Abiding Citizen (which is also one of the few films I like Jamie Foxx in).
Herbert Butterfield writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:42:28 PM

man, the author of that skyfall dark knight article was right, bane would have fit right in as a boss in streets of rage 2. (sorry, i'm dating myself with video games)
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:45:13 PM

Streets of Rage is an awesome old school game.

Carry on.
Herbert Butterfield writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:49:15 PM

yes i agree, the only reason i brought up the second game instead was because it had bigger sprites and more outrageous bosses.
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:54:06 PM

PLAYING FOR KEEPS was a bomb, of what I've read on the plot, is because there was no significant drama or big obstacle to overcome. Family dramas aren't really popular if you can't relate or there is not enough to root for.

I guess, the public can't identify what it is to be a single dad being a bigh time soccer player getting hit on by neglected single mothers while doing his best to get together with his ex. Tough (popular)sell, I'll admit...also I can only guess on the acting on a syrupy rom-com film.

Butler needs to shake it up like MACHINE GUN PREACHER or really get into a juicy drama. All these easy paychecks are putting him in the McConaughery level of lazy, unrealized potential.
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 11:03:39 PM

I'm no fan of Matthew at all, but even he has had a far more exemplary and serious career than Butler. Matt had Contact, The Lincoln Lawyer, U571, Tropic Thunder, We Are Marshall, Frailty and A Time to Kill.

Butler had 300, Law Abiding Citizen and Bounty Hunter. And I'm f*cking around with the last one.

No contest. Matt's a f*cking legend compared to Butler.
cress writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 11:06:16 PM

I wonder how many unlucky guys got dragged to Playing For Keeps by their dumbass girlfriends? If you happen to post here at WorstPreviews, and this happened to you, please share your experience with the rest of us, so that we may mock your lack of balls in speaking up to your woman.
pornfly writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 11:08:37 PM

More proof americans dont like soccer

Or a clothed Jessica Biel
pornfly writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 11:22:03 PM

The new Old Navy commercial with the Griswolds and both Rustys was cooler

Playing for Keeps couldve performed better if they wouldnt have phoned in the commercials
A shot in the foot move done too many times to mention.
Office Space comes to mind though
pornfly writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 11:47:21 PM

And in NO WAY am i comparing the classic Office Space to this sapcrap just marketing campaigns
bandolero999 writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 11:48:59 PM

Good for you Gerard you lazy Scotsman.whoring yourself for an easy paycheck.

Law abiding citizen had potential.until the
Ending then it got f*cking gay.
Kurskij writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 12:08:20 AM

A movie with Jessica Biel, Catherine Zeta-Jones, Uma Thurman and Gerard Butler.

And Butler is the one playing with balls - of course it flopped.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 12:11:14 AM

I tried watching The Tall man or whatever it was with Biel last week. What an abortion that movie was. She's done, do porn hun.
Rambo writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 12:13:39 AM

why does Gerard Butler keep doing these kind of movies?He should do only action movies, preferably ones in which he has a pointy beard and a sword.
GreenLensman writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 2:45:28 AM

sloooow day
GreenLensman writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 3:08:01 AM

Gamer was pretty good, and i actually saw Timeline in the theater when no one knew who gerard butler was, the rom coms are getting tiresome however.
Ranger writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 4:07:32 AM

'2% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.'

LOL.

As for Skyfall being SONY's biggest movie. No surprise.
pornfly writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 5:12:24 AM

Chasing Mavericks
another gay ass movie that couldve profited more from a better non korny ad campaign
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 9:32:29 AM

Nah.. Butler has a couple good ones, Bounty Hunter was pretty funny.. Among others, I wanted to see Chasing Mavericks but decided against it lol..
Venom1970 writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 6:01:55 PM

300 Was a good movie but I feel overrated. His best easily Law Abiding Citizen. Other moments of note Gamer, Timeline and possibly his role in Dracula 2000 as Dracula :)

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

Lindsay Lohan Sues "Grand Theft Auto V" for Using Her Likeness

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility

Gary Oldman Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved