WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You
Sep 19th, 2014
Trailer For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Sep 19th, 2014
Matthew McConaughey NOT Returning For "Magic Mike" Sequel
Sep 19th, 2014
Restricted Trailer For "V/H/S: Viral" Horror Film Arrives Online
Sep 19th, 2014
"Insidious: Chapter 3" Unveils First Poster
Sep 19th, 2014
"X-Men" Spin-Off "Deadpool" is Finally Happening, Release Date Announced
Sep 18th, 2014
Trailer For "A Most Violent Year," From "Margin Call" Director
Sep 18th, 2014
Sony Unveils Animation Test For "Popeye" Movie
Sep 18th, 2014
See Batmobile in Action on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set
Sep 18th, 2014
"Jason Borne" Producer Says Both Matt Damon's and Jeremy Renner's Films are in the Works
Sep 18th, 2014
"Paranormal Activity 5" Gets New Title and Release Date
Sep 18th, 2014
New Posters For Matthew McConaughey's "Interstellar" and Brad Pitt's "Fury"
Sep 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Robert Downey Jr's "The Judge"
Sep 18th, 2014
David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull
Sep 17th, 2014
Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience
Sep 17th, 2014
Jack Huston to Star in "Ben-Hur" Remake
Sep 17th, 2014
Poster for Disney's "Into the Woods," with Meryl Streep and Johnny Depp
Sep 17th, 2014
Tom Hiddleston to Star in "King Kong" Prequel, "Skull Island"
Sep 16th, 2014
Poster for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Arrives Online
Sep 16th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Plot Synopsis Revealed
Sep 16th, 2014
"I Know What You Did Last Summer" is Being Rebooted
Sep 16th, 2014
Leslie Mann in Talks for "Vacation" Sequel as Audrey Griswold
Sep 16th, 2014
"You're Next" Director to Remake "I Saw the Devil" Thriller
Sep 16th, 2014
Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"
Sep 16th, 2014
First Look at "By the Sea," with Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie
Sep 16th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Arrives Online
Sep 16th, 2014
Massive Banner For "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies"
Sep 15th, 2014
First Look: Adam Driver on "Star Wars: Episode VII" Set
Sep 15th, 2014
"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office
Sep 14th, 2014
Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Sep 14th, 2014
Photos: "Gotham" Star Ben McKenzie Injured on Set
Sep 14th, 2014
First Look at "Transporter" Reboot, Plot Synopsis Revealed
Sep 14th, 2014
First Look: Mark Wahlberg on "Ted 2" Set
Sep 14th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Gerard Butler's "Playing For Keeps" Bombs, "Skyfall" is Biggest Sony Film

Posted: December 9th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Gerard ButlerSubmit Comment
"Skyfall" James Bond movie returned to first place at the domestic box office by grossing another $11 million for a worldwide total of $918 million, beating "Spider-Man 3" ($890 million) to become Sony's highest-grossing film.

Meanwhile, the only wide release of the weekend, "Playing For Keeps," had to settle for sixth place, becoming a second box office flop in a row for Gerard Butler after "Chasing Mavericks." The movie grossed $6 million on a budget of $35 million, and has a disastrous 2% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

On the specialty side, Bill Murray's "Hyde Park on Hudson" was released in four theaters, grossing $83,280. The $20,820 per-theater average is enough to get a wider release next weekend. The film has a 40% fresh rating.

Click here to read our "Playing for Keeps" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Herbert Butterfield writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:30:13 PM

was 300 gerard butler's only big hit?
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:30:49 PM

His last name will be his next job if he's not careful.
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:36:14 PM

@Herbert: Yep. Do believe so. Didn't care for 300 myself.

His best film imo is Law Abiding Citizen.
cress writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:37:58 PM

Jessica Biel has quite a number of flops under her belt.
Ummm...under her belt...f*ck...where's the Jergens?
Herbert Butterfield writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:38:30 PM

that jessica biel has a great body, but her cheshire cat grin is kinda creepy to me. look, she's even doing in that picture up there.
BlackDynamite writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:40:17 PM

May I ask why Spiderman 3 made $890 Millon? It was easily the worst in the series. Utter trash.

Also, this is the first time I've even heard of Chasing Mavericks or Playing For Keeps. Gerard Butler hasn't been within a stone's throw of my film radar since Law Abiding Citizen (which is also one of the few films I like Jamie Foxx in).
Herbert Butterfield writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:42:28 PM

man, the author of that skyfall dark knight article was right, bane would have fit right in as a boss in streets of rage 2. (sorry, i'm dating myself with video games)
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:45:13 PM

Streets of Rage is an awesome old school game.

Carry on.
Herbert Butterfield writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:49:15 PM

yes i agree, the only reason i brought up the second game instead was because it had bigger sprites and more outrageous bosses.
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:54:06 PM

PLAYING FOR KEEPS was a bomb, of what I've read on the plot, is because there was no significant drama or big obstacle to overcome. Family dramas aren't really popular if you can't relate or there is not enough to root for.

I guess, the public can't identify what it is to be a single dad being a bigh time soccer player getting hit on by neglected single mothers while doing his best to get together with his ex. Tough (popular)sell, I'll admit...also I can only guess on the acting on a syrupy rom-com film.

Butler needs to shake it up like MACHINE GUN PREACHER or really get into a juicy drama. All these easy paychecks are putting him in the McConaughery level of lazy, unrealized potential.
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 11:03:39 PM

I'm no fan of Matthew at all, but even he has had a far more exemplary and serious career than Butler. Matt had Contact, The Lincoln Lawyer, U571, Tropic Thunder, We Are Marshall, Frailty and A Time to Kill.

Butler had 300, Law Abiding Citizen and Bounty Hunter. And I'm f*cking around with the last one.

No contest. Matt's a f*cking legend compared to Butler.
cress writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 11:06:16 PM

I wonder how many unlucky guys got dragged to Playing For Keeps by their dumbass girlfriends? If you happen to post here at WorstPreviews, and this happened to you, please share your experience with the rest of us, so that we may mock your lack of balls in speaking up to your woman.
pornfly writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 11:08:37 PM

More proof americans dont like soccer

Or a clothed Jessica Biel
pornfly writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 11:22:03 PM

The new Old Navy commercial with the Griswolds and both Rustys was cooler

Playing for Keeps couldve performed better if they wouldnt have phoned in the commercials
A shot in the foot move done too many times to mention.
Office Space comes to mind though
pornfly writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 11:47:21 PM

And in NO WAY am i comparing the classic Office Space to this sapcrap just marketing campaigns
bandolero999 writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 11:48:59 PM

Good for you Gerard you lazy Scotsman.whoring yourself for an easy paycheck.

Law abiding citizen had potential.until the
Ending then it got f*cking gay.
Kurskij writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 12:08:20 AM

A movie with Jessica Biel, Catherine Zeta-Jones, Uma Thurman and Gerard Butler.

And Butler is the one playing with balls - of course it flopped.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 12:11:14 AM

I tried watching The Tall man or whatever it was with Biel last week. What an abortion that movie was. She's done, do porn hun.
Rambo writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 12:13:39 AM

why does Gerard Butler keep doing these kind of movies?He should do only action movies, preferably ones in which he has a pointy beard and a sword.
GreenLensman writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 2:45:28 AM

sloooow day
GreenLensman writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 3:08:01 AM

Gamer was pretty good, and i actually saw Timeline in the theater when no one knew who gerard butler was, the rom coms are getting tiresome however.
Ranger writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 4:07:32 AM

'2% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.'

LOL.

As for Skyfall being SONY's biggest movie. No surprise.
pornfly writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 5:12:24 AM

Chasing Mavericks
another gay ass movie that couldve profited more from a better non korny ad campaign
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 9:32:29 AM

Nah.. Butler has a couple good ones, Bounty Hunter was pretty funny.. Among others, I wanted to see Chasing Mavericks but decided against it lol..
Venom1970 writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 6:01:55 PM

300 Was a good movie but I feel overrated. His best easily Law Abiding Citizen. Other moments of note Gamer, Timeline and possibly his role in Dracula 2000 as Dracula :)

Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America

Warner Bros Has a "No Jokes" Policy For Its Superhero Films?

What Happens to Jimmy Olsen in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?

Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved