WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Coming in December
Oct 25th, 2014
New "Ant-Man" Set Photos are Possible Spoilers
Oct 25th, 2014
Disney's "John Carter" Actually Cost Over $300 Million to Make
Oct 25th, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Searching for Female Director
Oct 24th, 2014
"The Mummy" Reboot to Follow Navy SEAL in Iraq?
Oct 24th, 2014
Noomi Rapace Discusses "Prometheus 2" Storyline
Oct 24th, 2014
Christian Bale Confirmed For Steve Jobs Biopic, To Appear in Every Frame of the Film
Oct 24th, 2014
"Insidious Chapter 3" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"The Hobbit" Trilogy Becomes Most Expensive Production of All Time
Oct 23rd, 2014
Quicksilver to Return For "X-Men: Apocalypse" and Maybe Solo Film
Oct 23rd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For Mark Wahlberg's "The Gambler" Thriller
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Evangeline Lilly as Hope Pym on Marvel's "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 23rd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Johnny Depp as The Wolf in Disney's "Into the Woods"
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Gerard Butler's "Playing For Keeps" Bombs, "Skyfall" is Biggest Sony Film

Posted: December 9th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Gerard ButlerSubmit Comment
"Skyfall" James Bond movie returned to first place at the domestic box office by grossing another $11 million for a worldwide total of $918 million, beating "Spider-Man 3" ($890 million) to become Sony's highest-grossing film.

Meanwhile, the only wide release of the weekend, "Playing For Keeps," had to settle for sixth place, becoming a second box office flop in a row for Gerard Butler after "Chasing Mavericks." The movie grossed $6 million on a budget of $35 million, and has a disastrous 2% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

On the specialty side, Bill Murray's "Hyde Park on Hudson" was released in four theaters, grossing $83,280. The $20,820 per-theater average is enough to get a wider release next weekend. The film has a 40% fresh rating.

Click here to read our "Playing for Keeps" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Herbert Butterfield writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:30:13 PM

was 300 gerard butler's only big hit?
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:30:49 PM

His last name will be his next job if he's not careful.
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:36:14 PM

@Herbert: Yep. Do believe so. Didn't care for 300 myself.

His best film imo is Law Abiding Citizen.
cress writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:37:58 PM

Jessica Biel has quite a number of flops under her belt.
Ummm...under her belt...f*ck...where's the Jergens?
Herbert Butterfield writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:38:30 PM

that jessica biel has a great body, but her cheshire cat grin is kinda creepy to me. look, she's even doing in that picture up there.
BlackDynamite writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:40:17 PM

May I ask why Spiderman 3 made $890 Millon? It was easily the worst in the series. Utter trash.

Also, this is the first time I've even heard of Chasing Mavericks or Playing For Keeps. Gerard Butler hasn't been within a stone's throw of my film radar since Law Abiding Citizen (which is also one of the few films I like Jamie Foxx in).
Herbert Butterfield writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:42:28 PM

man, the author of that skyfall dark knight article was right, bane would have fit right in as a boss in streets of rage 2. (sorry, i'm dating myself with video games)
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:45:13 PM

Streets of Rage is an awesome old school game.

Carry on.
Herbert Butterfield writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:49:15 PM

yes i agree, the only reason i brought up the second game instead was because it had bigger sprites and more outrageous bosses.
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:54:06 PM

PLAYING FOR KEEPS was a bomb, of what I've read on the plot, is because there was no significant drama or big obstacle to overcome. Family dramas aren't really popular if you can't relate or there is not enough to root for.

I guess, the public can't identify what it is to be a single dad being a bigh time soccer player getting hit on by neglected single mothers while doing his best to get together with his ex. Tough (popular)sell, I'll admit...also I can only guess on the acting on a syrupy rom-com film.

Butler needs to shake it up like MACHINE GUN PREACHER or really get into a juicy drama. All these easy paychecks are putting him in the McConaughery level of lazy, unrealized potential.
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 11:03:39 PM

I'm no fan of Matthew at all, but even he has had a far more exemplary and serious career than Butler. Matt had Contact, The Lincoln Lawyer, U571, Tropic Thunder, We Are Marshall, Frailty and A Time to Kill.

Butler had 300, Law Abiding Citizen and Bounty Hunter. And I'm f*cking around with the last one.

No contest. Matt's a f*cking legend compared to Butler.
cress writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 11:06:16 PM

I wonder how many unlucky guys got dragged to Playing For Keeps by their dumbass girlfriends? If you happen to post here at WorstPreviews, and this happened to you, please share your experience with the rest of us, so that we may mock your lack of balls in speaking up to your woman.
pornfly writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 11:08:37 PM

More proof americans dont like soccer

Or a clothed Jessica Biel
pornfly writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 11:22:03 PM

The new Old Navy commercial with the Griswolds and both Rustys was cooler

Playing for Keeps couldve performed better if they wouldnt have phoned in the commercials
A shot in the foot move done too many times to mention.
Office Space comes to mind though
pornfly writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 11:47:21 PM

And in NO WAY am i comparing the classic Office Space to this sapcrap just marketing campaigns
bandolero999 writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 11:48:59 PM

Good for you Gerard you lazy Scotsman.whoring yourself for an easy paycheck.

Law abiding citizen had potential.until the
Ending then it got f*cking gay.
Kurskij writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 12:08:20 AM

A movie with Jessica Biel, Catherine Zeta-Jones, Uma Thurman and Gerard Butler.

And Butler is the one playing with balls - of course it flopped.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 12:11:14 AM

I tried watching The Tall man or whatever it was with Biel last week. What an abortion that movie was. She's done, do porn hun.
Rambo writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 12:13:39 AM

why does Gerard Butler keep doing these kind of movies?He should do only action movies, preferably ones in which he has a pointy beard and a sword.
GreenLensman writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 2:45:28 AM

sloooow day
GreenLensman writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 3:08:01 AM

Gamer was pretty good, and i actually saw Timeline in the theater when no one knew who gerard butler was, the rom coms are getting tiresome however.
Ranger writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 4:07:32 AM

'2% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.'

LOL.

As for Skyfall being SONY's biggest movie. No surprise.
pornfly writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 5:12:24 AM

Chasing Mavericks
another gay ass movie that couldve profited more from a better non korny ad campaign
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 9:32:29 AM

Nah.. Butler has a couple good ones, Bounty Hunter was pretty funny.. Among others, I wanted to see Chasing Mavericks but decided against it lol..
Venom1970 writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 6:01:55 PM

300 Was a good movie but I feel overrated. His best easily Law Abiding Citizen. Other moments of note Gamer, Timeline and possibly his role in Dracula 2000 as Dracula :)

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved