WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
More Photos From Matt Damon's "The Martian," Directed by Ridley Scott
May 25th, 2015
"Mission: Impossible 6" and "Now You See Me 3" Already in Development
May 25th, 2015
"Beautiful Mind" Mathematician John Nash Killed in Taxi Crash
May 25th, 2015
First Look at Matt Damon in Ridley Scott's "The Martian"
May 24th, 2015
New "Fantastic Four" Trailer, Director Responds to Rumors of Being Replaced
May 24th, 2015
New Photos From "Deadpool" and "Ant-Man"
May 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass" is Here!
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Jonah Hill and Miles Teller in "Arms and the Dudes"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Meryl Streel and Hugh Grant in "Florence Foster Jenkins"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Cuba Gooding Jr and John Travolta in "America Crime Story: The People V. OJ Simpson"
May 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Knock Knock" Thriller
May 22nd, 2015
Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title
May 22nd, 2015
Reese Witherspoon to Star in Disney's Live-Action Tinker Bell Movie "Tink"
May 22nd, 2015
"Fantastic Four" Promo Video Shows Team's Superpowers
May 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for "The Gallows" Horror Film
May 22nd, 2015
New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr
May 21st, 2015
"Independence Day 2" Takes Place 15 Years Later, Same Aliens Return
May 21st, 2015
"Transformers" Sequels and Spin-Offs Get Impressive Writing Team
May 21st, 2015
Trailer for Elijah Wood's "Cooties" Horror Comedy
May 21st, 2015
"The Divergent Series: Allegiant" is Now Filming
May 21st, 2015
Heath Ledger Was Set to Star in "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
May 20th, 2015
Tom Cruise's "Jack Reacher 2" Hires "The Last Samurai" Director
May 20th, 2015
New Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy
May 20th, 2015
The Joker is Insane in New "Suicide Squad" Set Photos
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Orgrim From "Warcraft" Film
May 19th, 2015
George Miller Unveils Title of "Mad Max: Fury Road" Sequel
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Deepwater Horizon" Oil Disaster Film
May 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
May 19th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson Confirms Return for "Fast and Furious 8" and Spin-Off Talks
May 18th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Steve Jobs" Biopic is Here!
May 18th, 2015
"Pitch Perfect 2" Dominates at Box Office, Easily Beats "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 18th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Gerard Butler's "Playing For Keeps" Bombs, "Skyfall" is Biggest Sony Film

Posted: December 9th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Gerard ButlerSubmit Comment
"Skyfall" James Bond movie returned to first place at the domestic box office by grossing another $11 million for a worldwide total of $918 million, beating "Spider-Man 3" ($890 million) to become Sony's highest-grossing film.

Meanwhile, the only wide release of the weekend, "Playing For Keeps," had to settle for sixth place, becoming a second box office flop in a row for Gerard Butler after "Chasing Mavericks." The movie grossed $6 million on a budget of $35 million, and has a disastrous 2% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

On the specialty side, Bill Murray's "Hyde Park on Hudson" was released in four theaters, grossing $83,280. The $20,820 per-theater average is enough to get a wider release next weekend. The film has a 40% fresh rating.

Click here to read our "Playing for Keeps" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Herbert Butterfield writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:30:13 PM

was 300 gerard butler's only big hit?
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:30:49 PM

His last name will be his next job if he's not careful.
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:36:14 PM

@Herbert: Yep. Do believe so. Didn't care for 300 myself.

His best film imo is Law Abiding Citizen.
cress writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:37:58 PM

Jessica Biel has quite a number of flops under her belt.
Ummm...under her belt...f*ck...where's the Jergens?
Herbert Butterfield writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:38:30 PM

that jessica biel has a great body, but her cheshire cat grin is kinda creepy to me. look, she's even doing in that picture up there.
BlackDynamite writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:40:17 PM

May I ask why Spiderman 3 made $890 Millon? It was easily the worst in the series. Utter trash.

Also, this is the first time I've even heard of Chasing Mavericks or Playing For Keeps. Gerard Butler hasn't been within a stone's throw of my film radar since Law Abiding Citizen (which is also one of the few films I like Jamie Foxx in).
Herbert Butterfield writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:42:28 PM

man, the author of that skyfall dark knight article was right, bane would have fit right in as a boss in streets of rage 2. (sorry, i'm dating myself with video games)
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:45:13 PM

Streets of Rage is an awesome old school game.

Carry on.
Herbert Butterfield writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:49:15 PM

yes i agree, the only reason i brought up the second game instead was because it had bigger sprites and more outrageous bosses.
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 10:54:06 PM

PLAYING FOR KEEPS was a bomb, of what I've read on the plot, is because there was no significant drama or big obstacle to overcome. Family dramas aren't really popular if you can't relate or there is not enough to root for.

I guess, the public can't identify what it is to be a single dad being a bigh time soccer player getting hit on by neglected single mothers while doing his best to get together with his ex. Tough (popular)sell, I'll admit...also I can only guess on the acting on a syrupy rom-com film.

Butler needs to shake it up like MACHINE GUN PREACHER or really get into a juicy drama. All these easy paychecks are putting him in the McConaughery level of lazy, unrealized potential.
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 11:03:39 PM

I'm no fan of Matthew at all, but even he has had a far more exemplary and serious career than Butler. Matt had Contact, The Lincoln Lawyer, U571, Tropic Thunder, We Are Marshall, Frailty and A Time to Kill.

Butler had 300, Law Abiding Citizen and Bounty Hunter. And I'm f*cking around with the last one.

No contest. Matt's a f*cking legend compared to Butler.
cress writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 11:06:16 PM

I wonder how many unlucky guys got dragged to Playing For Keeps by their dumbass girlfriends? If you happen to post here at WorstPreviews, and this happened to you, please share your experience with the rest of us, so that we may mock your lack of balls in speaking up to your woman.
pornfly writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 11:08:37 PM

More proof americans dont like soccer

Or a clothed Jessica Biel
pornfly writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 11:22:03 PM

The new Old Navy commercial with the Griswolds and both Rustys was cooler

Playing for Keeps couldve performed better if they wouldnt have phoned in the commercials
A shot in the foot move done too many times to mention.
Office Space comes to mind though
pornfly writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 11:47:21 PM

And in NO WAY am i comparing the classic Office Space to this sapcrap just marketing campaigns
bandolero999 writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 11:48:59 PM

Good for you Gerard you lazy Scotsman.whoring yourself for an easy paycheck.

Law abiding citizen had potential.until the
Ending then it got f*cking gay.
Kurskij writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 12:08:20 AM

A movie with Jessica Biel, Catherine Zeta-Jones, Uma Thurman and Gerard Butler.

And Butler is the one playing with balls - of course it flopped.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 12:11:14 AM

I tried watching The Tall man or whatever it was with Biel last week. What an abortion that movie was. She's done, do porn hun.
Rambo writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 12:13:39 AM

why does Gerard Butler keep doing these kind of movies?He should do only action movies, preferably ones in which he has a pointy beard and a sword.
GreenLensman writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 2:45:28 AM

sloooow day
GreenLensman writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 3:08:01 AM

Gamer was pretty good, and i actually saw Timeline in the theater when no one knew who gerard butler was, the rom coms are getting tiresome however.
Ranger writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 4:07:32 AM

'2% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.'

LOL.

As for Skyfall being SONY's biggest movie. No surprise.
pornfly writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 5:12:24 AM

Chasing Mavericks
another gay ass movie that couldve profited more from a better non korny ad campaign
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 9:32:29 AM

Nah.. Butler has a couple good ones, Bounty Hunter was pretty funny.. Among others, I wanted to see Chasing Mavericks but decided against it lol..
Venom1970 writes:
on December 10th, 2012 at 6:01:55 PM

300 Was a good movie but I feel overrated. His best easily Law Abiding Citizen. Other moments of note Gamer, Timeline and possibly his role in Dracula 2000 as Dracula :)

Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot

"Jurassic World" to Ignore Last Two Films, to Bring Back T-Rex

Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot

New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr

Hugh Jackman and Channing Tatum to Appear in "X-Men: Apocalypse"?

"Fantastic Four" Director Fired From "Star Wars" Spin-Off

Why Wasn't Loki in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?

Hugh Jackman Confirms "Wolverine 3" is His Last Time as Wolverine

Chris Evans Says Captain America is Probably a Virgin

Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved