WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Oct 9th, 2015
"Ant-Man" Gets a Sequel, Marvel's Phase Three Release Dates Announced
Oct 9th, 2015
Pixar's "Toy Story 4," "Cars 3" and "The Incredibles 2" Get New Release Dates
Oct 9th, 2015
First Look at Disney's New Princess "Moana"
Oct 9th, 2015
Steve McQueen's "Papillon" is Getting a Remake
Oct 9th, 2015
Four Directors Considered for "Fast and Furious 8"
Oct 7th, 2015
"The Flash" Movie Hires Director
Oct 7th, 2015
Restricted Trailer for "Triple Nine," with Casey Affleck and Woody Harrelson
Oct 7th, 2015
Nicolas Cage Turned Down Lead Role in "Lord of the Rings"
Oct 5th, 2015
First Look at Matthew McConaughey in "Gold"
Oct 5th, 2015
"Thor 3" Found Its Director
Oct 5th, 2015
"Power Rangers" Reboot is Testing These Eight Actors
Oct 5th, 2015
James McAvoy in Talks for M. Night Shyamalan's New Supernatural Thriller
Oct 5th, 2015
Final Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Oct 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Kurt Russell's "Bone Tomahawk" Western
Oct 3rd, 2015
Reboot of "MacGyver" TV Series in the Works with James Wan
Oct 3rd, 2015
Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Oct 2nd, 2015
Final Poster for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2"
Oct 2nd, 2015
Trailer for "The Forest" Supernatural Thriller
Oct 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for Leonardo DiCaprio's "The Revenant" Thriller
Oct 1st, 2015
First Look: Andrew Garfield in Mel Gibson's "Hacksaw Ridge"
Oct 1st, 2015
Matthew Vaughn to Direct "I Am Pilgrim" Thriller
Oct 1st, 2015
Vin Diesel Says "Furious 8" is Part of Last Trilogy
Sep 29th, 2015
Danny Boyle to Shoot "Trainspotting" Sequel Next Summer
Sep 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Would Play Daredevil if Christopher Nolan Directed
Sep 27th, 2015
Ridley Scott Says "Prometheus 2" Will Have Connections to Ripley
Sep 27th, 2015
Sigourney Weaver Joins "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Sep 27th, 2015
Matt Damon Discusses "Bourne" Plot Details
Sep 27th, 2015
First Look at Woody Harrelson as President Johnson in "LBJ" Biopic
Sep 27th, 2015
Title of "Prometheus" Sequel Revealed
Sep 26th, 2015
New "Men in Black" Film Moving Forward Without Will Smith
Sep 26th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Wants Tom Hardy to Replace Him as Wolverine
Sep 26th, 2015
Trailer for "Truth," with Robert Redford and Cate Blanchett
Sep 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Jumanji" Remake is Moving Forward

Posted: December 7th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Jumanji" Remake is Moving ForwardSubmit Comment
Back in July, Columbia Pictures head Doug Belgrad revealed that the studio was remaking "Jumanji," with plans of updating it for the present. Now comes word that Zach Helm (Stranger Than Fiction, Mr. Magorium's Wonder Emporium) has been hired the new film.

The movie will be both a comedy and family adventure. The story focuses on two kids who discover a supernatural board game and release a man who has been trapped in there for decades. They also unleash jungle forces and must team up with the man to stop the game's powerful magic.

"Jumanji" is an adaptation for a book by Chris Van Allsburg, which was published in 1981 and turned into a film in 1995. That film was directed by Joe Johnson and starred Robin Williams and Kirsten Dunst.

Source: THR

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
GreenLensman writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 6:06:48 AM

the sequels were hella weak, zathura or w/e...gotta get someone as famous as Williams to do it or it will fail
Attos writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 6:51:44 AM

Haha, Zathura...
"f*ck, Dax Shepard is here, take erasive action."
telur writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 7:03:22 AM

I thought Night at the Museum is the sequel of Jumanji
Kurskij writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 7:39:20 AM

The original had some nine visual effects for its time and still holds up well.
Kurskij writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 7:39:53 AM

Avirex writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 8:00:33 AM

Quick Hollywood! Let's remake everything that is 17-20 years old! ..MOAR MODERN GRITTY DARK REMAKES PLEEASE!! <<
Cannon writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 8:36:34 AM

So now we're remaking mediocre sh*t from 1995?

Hey, hows about a remake of Casper or Waterworld or Judge Dreľoh, right ...or Species or Money Train or Hackers or f*cking Congo!

This is right up there with rereleasing Independence Day in 3D: who gives a sh*t?!

Actually, I would probably go and see a remake of Congo
triggax writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 8:46:40 AM

Congo could benefit from a decent remake. So long as they stick with Tim Curry.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 10:02:55 AM

lol i actually saw Zathura.. it sucked pretty hard lol.. like lohan..

But iunno, i'm kinda half okay half not okay with this, original is awesome but a remake could be good
__JB__ writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 10:38:10 AM

This is essential !! The original was horrible!!!
pornfly writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 12:48:34 PM

^so much for Administrative Punishment
pornfly writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 12:49:52 PM

As for the movie:
We dont need it
We dont need it
All we really wanna do is stay weeded
pornfly writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 1:28:34 PM

Twister movie starring Kate Upton
Attos writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 2:51:12 PM

Please don't talk about movies called Twister. I just think of Bill Paxton and Helen Hunt... right before I call a suicide hotline.
minkowski writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 4:38:10 PM

Reboot Zathura. It sucked. And the visuals from Jumanji were okay, but you could easily see they were composited in, which broke the illusion.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 7:23:28 PM

i loved twister lol it was my favorite movie until i was like 12 and watched Die Hard :)
pornfly writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 7:32:53 PM

Just in case
To clarify i meant Twister the game.

Not the movie where Helen Hunt was semi f*ckable
shiteater writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 8:15:31 PM

I like Jumanji at the time. It was all filmed around my home town at the time in maple ridge, BC.
Phunky Dubbs writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 10:20:52 PM

Welcome back, JB, your return is indeed a gift from Allah.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 3:45:13 AM

i might be alone in this opinion, but van allsburg is one of those author/illustrators whose work should stay in books. so far they've done what... 3? adaptations (Polar Express, Jumanji, Zathura) and none of them really nail the aesthetic. I think they should leave well enough alone and walk away.

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed

Universal Pictures Already Broke the Record for Highest-Grossing Year

Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved