WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Photo: Better Look at Henry Cavill in His Superman Costume on Set of "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 21st, 2014
Teaser Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" Leaked Online
Aug 21st, 2014
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's Insane "Outcast" Film
Aug 21st, 2014
Christian Bale and Cate Blanchett Join "Jungle Book: Origins"
Aug 21st, 2014
Trailer: Katie Holmes is a Vigilante in "Miss Meadows"
Aug 21st, 2014
Pierce Brosnan Was Offered Lead in Tim Burton's "Batman," Thought It Was a Joke
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer for Antonio Banderas' "Automata" Sci-Fi Film
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Men, Women and Children," Directed by Jason Reitman
Aug 20th, 2014
Daughters of Johnny Depp and Kevin Smith to Star in "Yoga Hosers"
Aug 20th, 2014
Photo: Is Scoot McNairy Playing The Flash in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer For "A Good Marriage" Thriller, Based on Stephen King's Short Story
Aug 20th, 2014
New Trailer For "Ouija" Supernatural Thriller, Based on Board Game
Aug 20th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch is Shere Khan in "The Jungle Book" Film
Aug 20th, 2014
First Look at Paul Rudd in Marvel's "Ant-Man"
Aug 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg in Talks for "Deepwater Horizon" BP Oil Disaster Film
Aug 20th, 2014
Photos of Henry Cavill as Superman on Set of "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 19th, 2014
Alfred Molina Wants to Return as Spider-Man Villain Doctor Octopus in "Sinister Six"
Aug 19th, 2014
Trailer for Lifetime's "Saved By the Bell" Movie
Aug 19th, 2014
"Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel Hires Director, Filming to Begin in October
Aug 19th, 2014
"The Fault in Our Stars" Director in Talks for Anne Rice's "Lestat" Vampire Film
Aug 19th, 2014
Milla Jovovich is Pregnant, "Resident Evil: The Final Chapter" Gets Delayed
Aug 18th, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Star Wants More Money, May Get Replaced
Aug 18th, 2014
"The Devil's Advocate" to Become a TV Series
Aug 18th, 2014
Photo: Marc Webb Unveils Concept Art From "The Amazing Spider-Man" Spin-Off "Sinister Six"
Aug 18th, 2014
Video: Robin Williams Recorded Message of Hope For Terminally Ill Woman
Aug 18th, 2014
First Posters for Antonio Banderas' "Automata" Sci-Fi Film
Aug 18th, 2014
"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top
Aug 17th, 2014
Concept Art of Main Villain and Han Solo From "Star Wars: Episode VII"
Aug 17th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio, Tom Hardy and Tobey Maguire Sign On for Animal Poaching Film
Aug 17th, 2014
Jackie Chan Discusses "The Expendables 4" and "Rush Hour 4"
Aug 16th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Started Training For "Rambo 5"
Aug 16th, 2014
New "Dumb and Dumber To" Posters Parody Scarlett Johansson's "Lucy" Film
Aug 16th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Recalls His Terrible "Star Wars" Audition
Aug 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Jumanji" Remake is Moving Forward

Posted: December 7th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Jumanji" Remake is Moving ForwardSubmit Comment
Back in July, Columbia Pictures head Doug Belgrad revealed that the studio was remaking "Jumanji," with plans of updating it for the present. Now comes word that Zach Helm (Stranger Than Fiction, Mr. Magorium's Wonder Emporium) has been hired the new film.

The movie will be both a comedy and family adventure. The story focuses on two kids who discover a supernatural board game and release a man who has been trapped in there for decades. They also unleash jungle forces and must team up with the man to stop the game's powerful magic.

"Jumanji" is an adaptation for a book by Chris Van Allsburg, which was published in 1981 and turned into a film in 1995. That film was directed by Joe Johnson and starred Robin Williams and Kirsten Dunst.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
GreenLensman writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 6:06:48 AM

the sequels were hella weak, zathura or w/e...gotta get someone as famous as Williams to do it or it will fail
Attos writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 6:51:44 AM

Haha, Zathura...
"f*ck, Dax Shepard is here, take erasive action."
telur writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 7:03:22 AM

I thought Night at the Museum is the sequel of Jumanji
Kurskij writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 7:39:20 AM

The original had some nine visual effects for its time and still holds up well.
Kurskij writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 7:39:53 AM

Nine=insane.
Avirex writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 8:00:33 AM

Quick Hollywood! Let's remake everything that is 17-20 years old! ..MOAR MODERN GRITTY DARK REMAKES PLEEASE!! <<
Cannon writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 8:36:34 AM

So now we're remaking mediocre sh*t from 1995?

Hey, hows about a remake of Casper or Waterworld or Judge Dreľoh, right ...or Species or Money Train or Hackers or f*cking Congo!

This is right up there with rereleasing Independence Day in 3D: who gives a sh*t?!









Actually, I would probably go and see a remake of Congo
triggax writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 8:46:40 AM

Congo could benefit from a decent remake. So long as they stick with Tim Curry.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 10:02:55 AM

lol i actually saw Zathura.. it sucked pretty hard lol.. like lohan..

But iunno, i'm kinda half okay half not okay with this, original is awesome but a remake could be good
__JB__ writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 10:38:10 AM

This is essential !! The original was horrible!!!
pornfly writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 12:48:34 PM

^so much for Administrative Punishment
pornfly writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 12:49:52 PM

As for the movie:
We dont need it
We dont need it
All we really wanna do is stay weeded
pornfly writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 1:28:34 PM

Twister movie starring Kate Upton
Attos writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 2:51:12 PM

Please don't talk about movies called Twister. I just think of Bill Paxton and Helen Hunt... right before I call a suicide hotline.
minkowski writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 4:38:10 PM

Reboot Zathura. It sucked. And the visuals from Jumanji were okay, but you could easily see they were composited in, which broke the illusion.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 7:23:28 PM

i loved twister lol it was my favorite movie until i was like 12 and watched Die Hard :)
pornfly writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 7:32:53 PM

Just in case
To clarify i meant Twister the game.

Not the movie where Helen Hunt was semi f*ckable
shiteater writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 8:15:31 PM

I like Jumanji at the time. It was all filmed around my home town at the time in maple ridge, BC.
Phunky Dubbs writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 10:20:52 PM

Welcome back, JB, your return is indeed a gift from Allah.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 3:45:13 AM

i might be alone in this opinion, but van allsburg is one of those author/illustrators whose work should stay in books. so far they've done what... 3? adaptations (Polar Express, Jumanji, Zathura) and none of them really nail the aesthetic. I think they should leave well enough alone and walk away.

"Sharknado 2" Breaks Records with 3.9 Million Viewers

Ronda Rousey Says She Should Have Been Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TJ Miller Explains Why He'll Never Work With Director Michael Bay Again

Bruce Wayne's Age in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed

Robin Williams' Cause of Death Revealed

Anthony Mackie Says He's Ready to Become Captain America

James Gunn Says "Guardians and the Galaxy" and "Avengers" Superheroes May Soon Meet

"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top

"Batman v Superman" Director Zack Snyder Defends Aquaman's Powers

Jackie Chan Discusses "The Expendables 4" and "Rush Hour 4"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved