WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Masterminds" Comedy, with Zach Galifianakis and Kristen Wiig
Mar 31st, 2015
Disney to Make Live-Action "Mulan" Movie
Mar 31st, 2015
Trailer: Dwayne Johnson Stars in Disney's Action-Packed "Bambi" Film
Mar 30th, 2015
First Footage From "The Walking Dead" Spin-Off TV Series
Mar 30th, 2015
"Home" and "Get Hard" Perform Well at Box Office
Mar 30th, 2015
"Spectre" Opening Sequence is Biggest in History
Mar 30th, 2015
New Footage in "Jurassic World" TV Spot
Mar 30th, 2015
Photo: Hugh Jackman Hints at Final Appearance as Wolverine
Mar 29th, 2015
"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" Title Revealed
Mar 29th, 2015
20th Century Fox to Turn Popular "The Leviathan" Short Film into Feature Film
Mar 29th, 2015
"Spectre" James Bond Film Unveils Trailer
Mar 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Spin-Off TV Series Unveils Title
Mar 28th, 2015
"Transformers" Getting Lots More Sequels and Spin-Offs
Mar 28th, 2015
Antonio Banderas Says Shrek May Appear in "Puss in Boots 2"
Mar 28th, 2015
First Look at Ryan Reynolds in "Deadpool"
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Southpaw" Boxing Film
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for JK Rowling's "The Casual Vacancy"
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Absolution" Thriller, with Steven Seagal and Vinnie Jones
Mar 27th, 2015
Julia Louis-Dreyfus in Talks for American Remake of "Force Majeure"
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for Kit Harington's "Spooks: The Greater Good"
Mar 27th, 2015
First Look at Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Mar 26th, 2015
Trailer for Arnold Schwarzenegger's "Maggie" Zombie Film
Mar 26th, 2015
First Clear Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Mar 26th, 2015
Idris Elba May Play Villain in "Star Trek 3"
Mar 26th, 2015
New Photos of Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson From "Zoolander 2"
Mar 26th, 2015
New Trailer for "Entourage" Movie
Mar 25th, 2015
Vin Diesel Predicts "Furious 7" Will Win Best Picture Oscar
Mar 25th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Slow West" Western Thriller
Mar 25th, 2015
Poster for "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Mar 25th, 2015
Trailer for Dustin Hoffman's "Boychoir" Film
Mar 25th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence Says "X-Men: Apocalypse" is Her Last "X-Men" Film
Mar 24th, 2015
"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon
Mar 24th, 2015
Vivica A. Fox Returns for "Independence Day 2"
Mar 24th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Jumanji" Remake is Moving Forward

Posted: December 7th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Jumanji" Remake is Moving ForwardSubmit Comment
Back in July, Columbia Pictures head Doug Belgrad revealed that the studio was remaking "Jumanji," with plans of updating it for the present. Now comes word that Zach Helm (Stranger Than Fiction, Mr. Magorium's Wonder Emporium) has been hired the new film.

The movie will be both a comedy and family adventure. The story focuses on two kids who discover a supernatural board game and release a man who has been trapped in there for decades. They also unleash jungle forces and must team up with the man to stop the game's powerful magic.

"Jumanji" is an adaptation for a book by Chris Van Allsburg, which was published in 1981 and turned into a film in 1995. That film was directed by Joe Johnson and starred Robin Williams and Kirsten Dunst.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
GreenLensman writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 6:06:48 AM

the sequels were hella weak, zathura or w/e...gotta get someone as famous as Williams to do it or it will fail
Attos writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 6:51:44 AM

Haha, Zathura...
"f*ck, Dax Shepard is here, take erasive action."
telur writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 7:03:22 AM

I thought Night at the Museum is the sequel of Jumanji
Kurskij writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 7:39:20 AM

The original had some nine visual effects for its time and still holds up well.
Kurskij writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 7:39:53 AM

Nine=insane.
Avirex writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 8:00:33 AM

Quick Hollywood! Let's remake everything that is 17-20 years old! ..MOAR MODERN GRITTY DARK REMAKES PLEEASE!! <<
Cannon writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 8:36:34 AM

So now we're remaking mediocre sh*t from 1995?

Hey, hows about a remake of Casper or Waterworld or Judge Dreľoh, right ...or Species or Money Train or Hackers or f*cking Congo!

This is right up there with rereleasing Independence Day in 3D: who gives a sh*t?!









Actually, I would probably go and see a remake of Congo
triggax writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 8:46:40 AM

Congo could benefit from a decent remake. So long as they stick with Tim Curry.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 10:02:55 AM

lol i actually saw Zathura.. it sucked pretty hard lol.. like lohan..

But iunno, i'm kinda half okay half not okay with this, original is awesome but a remake could be good
__JB__ writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 10:38:10 AM

This is essential !! The original was horrible!!!
pornfly writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 12:48:34 PM

^so much for Administrative Punishment
pornfly writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 12:49:52 PM

As for the movie:
We dont need it
We dont need it
All we really wanna do is stay weeded
pornfly writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 1:28:34 PM

Twister movie starring Kate Upton
Attos writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 2:51:12 PM

Please don't talk about movies called Twister. I just think of Bill Paxton and Helen Hunt... right before I call a suicide hotline.
minkowski writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 4:38:10 PM

Reboot Zathura. It sucked. And the visuals from Jumanji were okay, but you could easily see they were composited in, which broke the illusion.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 7:23:28 PM

i loved twister lol it was my favorite movie until i was like 12 and watched Die Hard :)
pornfly writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 7:32:53 PM

Just in case
To clarify i meant Twister the game.

Not the movie where Helen Hunt was semi f*ckable
shiteater writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 8:15:31 PM

I like Jumanji at the time. It was all filmed around my home town at the time in maple ridge, BC.
Phunky Dubbs writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 10:20:52 PM

Welcome back, JB, your return is indeed a gift from Allah.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 3:45:13 AM

i might be alone in this opinion, but van allsburg is one of those author/illustrators whose work should stay in books. so far they've done what... 3? adaptations (Polar Express, Jumanji, Zathura) and none of them really nail the aesthetic. I think they should leave well enough alone and walk away.

Mexico Pays "Spectre" $20 Million to Rewrite Script

Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman

Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment

Disney's "Cinderella" Dominates at Box Office

Hugh Jackman Knows Who Would Win in a Fight, Batman or Wolverine

"The Dark Knight" Voted the Greatest Superhero Film of All Time

Stephen King Comments on Early Screening of Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film

"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon

Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending

Chris Pratt Comments on Starring in "Indiana Jones 5"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved