WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Prometheus 2" to Begin Filming in January
Aug 4th, 2015
"Mission: Impossible 6" Already Confirmed, Tom Cruise to Return
Aug 4th, 2015
Channing Tatum is Definitely Playing Gambit
Aug 4th, 2015
UFC Champion Ronda Rousey to Star in Her Own Biopic
Aug 4th, 2015
Pez Candy is Becoming a Movie
Aug 4th, 2015
"Zoolander 2" Teaser Trailer Arrives Online
Aug 1st, 2015
First Look at Robert Redford as Dan Rather in "Truth"
Aug 1st, 2015
New Photos of Emma Watson in "Colonia" Cult Thriller
Aug 1st, 2015
"They Live" Actor and WWE Star "Rowdy" Roddy Piper Dead at 61
Aug 1st, 2015
First Look at Jake Gyllenhaal in "Demolition," From Director of "Dallas Buyers Club"
Jul 31st, 2015
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass"
Jul 31st, 2015
Trailer for "The Night Before" Comedy, with Seth Rogen, Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Anthony Mackie
Jul 30th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Bay's "13 Hours" Benghazi Thriller
Jul 30th, 2015
Channing Tatum Quitting "Gambit" Film?
Jul 30th, 2015
Trailer for Mark Ruffalo's "Spotlight," About Pedophile Priests
Jul 30th, 2015
New Trailer for "Sicario" Thriller, with Emily Blunt and Josh Brolin
Jul 30th, 2015
Vince Vaughn Joins Mel Gibson's "Hacksaw Ridge" WWII Film
Jul 30th, 2015
Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals
Jul 25th, 2015
Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
Jul 25th, 2015
New Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
Jul 25th, 2015
"Jurassic World" Sequel Gets Release Date, Chris Pratt to Return
Jul 24th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson's "Baywatch" Movie Hires "Horrible Bosses" Director
Jul 24th, 2015
Russell Crowe in Talks to Join "King Kong" Prequel
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
Jul 24th, 2015
LeBron James Signs Deal with Warner Bros, "Space Jam 2" Happening?
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "Mississippi Grind" Poker Film
Jul 23rd, 2015
Final Restricted Trailer for "Vacation" Sequel
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Patrick Wilson's "Zipper" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2015
Full Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for Pixar's "The Good Dinosaur" Animated Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Kung Fu Panda" Director Making "Emoji" Movie
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Pacific Rim 2" to Begin Filming in November
Jul 22nd, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Jumanji" Remake is Moving Forward

Posted: December 7th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Jumanji" Remake is Moving ForwardSubmit Comment
Back in July, Columbia Pictures head Doug Belgrad revealed that the studio was remaking "Jumanji," with plans of updating it for the present. Now comes word that Zach Helm (Stranger Than Fiction, Mr. Magorium's Wonder Emporium) has been hired the new film.

The movie will be both a comedy and family adventure. The story focuses on two kids who discover a supernatural board game and release a man who has been trapped in there for decades. They also unleash jungle forces and must team up with the man to stop the game's powerful magic.

"Jumanji" is an adaptation for a book by Chris Van Allsburg, which was published in 1981 and turned into a film in 1995. That film was directed by Joe Johnson and starred Robin Williams and Kirsten Dunst.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
GreenLensman writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 6:06:48 AM

the sequels were hella weak, zathura or w/e...gotta get someone as famous as Williams to do it or it will fail
Attos writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 6:51:44 AM

Haha, Zathura...
"f*ck, Dax Shepard is here, take erasive action."
telur writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 7:03:22 AM

I thought Night at the Museum is the sequel of Jumanji
Kurskij writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 7:39:20 AM

The original had some nine visual effects for its time and still holds up well.
Kurskij writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 7:39:53 AM

Nine=insane.
Avirex writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 8:00:33 AM

Quick Hollywood! Let's remake everything that is 17-20 years old! ..MOAR MODERN GRITTY DARK REMAKES PLEEASE!! <<
Cannon writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 8:36:34 AM

So now we're remaking mediocre sh*t from 1995?

Hey, hows about a remake of Casper or Waterworld or Judge Dreľoh, right ...or Species or Money Train or Hackers or f*cking Congo!

This is right up there with rereleasing Independence Day in 3D: who gives a sh*t?!









Actually, I would probably go and see a remake of Congo
triggax writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 8:46:40 AM

Congo could benefit from a decent remake. So long as they stick with Tim Curry.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 10:02:55 AM

lol i actually saw Zathura.. it sucked pretty hard lol.. like lohan..

But iunno, i'm kinda half okay half not okay with this, original is awesome but a remake could be good
__JB__ writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 10:38:10 AM

This is essential !! The original was horrible!!!
pornfly writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 12:48:34 PM

^so much for Administrative Punishment
pornfly writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 12:49:52 PM

As for the movie:
We dont need it
We dont need it
All we really wanna do is stay weeded
pornfly writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 1:28:34 PM

Twister movie starring Kate Upton
Attos writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 2:51:12 PM

Please don't talk about movies called Twister. I just think of Bill Paxton and Helen Hunt... right before I call a suicide hotline.
minkowski writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 4:38:10 PM

Reboot Zathura. It sucked. And the visuals from Jumanji were okay, but you could easily see they were composited in, which broke the illusion.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 7:23:28 PM

i loved twister lol it was my favorite movie until i was like 12 and watched Die Hard :)
pornfly writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 7:32:53 PM

Just in case
To clarify i meant Twister the game.

Not the movie where Helen Hunt was semi f*ckable
shiteater writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 8:15:31 PM

I like Jumanji at the time. It was all filmed around my home town at the time in maple ridge, BC.
Phunky Dubbs writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 10:20:52 PM

Welcome back, JB, your return is indeed a gift from Allah.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on December 9th, 2012 at 3:45:13 AM

i might be alone in this opinion, but van allsburg is one of those author/illustrators whose work should stay in books. so far they've done what... 3? adaptations (Polar Express, Jumanji, Zathura) and none of them really nail the aesthetic. I think they should leave well enough alone and walk away.

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

"The Amazing Spider-Man 3" Would Have Brought Characters Back From the Dead
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved