WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Jeremy Renner Says Marvel Wants a Hawkeye/Black Widow Film
Sep 30th, 2014
Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume
Sep 30th, 2014
Kevin Smith Says He Raised Money For "Clerks 3"
Sep 30th, 2014
"Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" Sequel to Premiere on Netflix
Sep 30th, 2014
Trailer for PT Anderson's "Inherent Vice," with Joaquin Phoenix and Josh Brolin
Sep 30th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Loft" Thriller, with Karl Urban and James Marsden
Sep 30th, 2014
"Black Widow" Movie Almost Happened Before "Iron Man"
Sep 29th, 2014
First Look at Kristen Stewart's "Equals" Sci-Fi Film
Sep 29th, 2014
Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Easily Wins at Box Office
Sep 29th, 2014
"Police Academy" Reboot Abandons Judd Apatow's Storyline
Sep 29th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Attached to "Interstellar"?
Sep 28th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" to Begin Filming in December
Sep 28th, 2014
William Shatner Confirms Offer to Appear in "Star Trek 3"
Sep 28th, 2014
First Trailer for Lifetime's "Aaliyah" Biopic
Sep 28th, 2014
Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?
Sep 27th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Comments on Matt Damon Returning to "Jason Bourne" Franchise
Sep 27th, 2014
First Poster for Liam Neeson's "Taken 3," Plus New Title Revealed
Sep 27th, 2014
Posters For Ridiculous "22 Jump Street" Sequels
Sep 27th, 2014
How Much Netflix Do People Watch Per Day?
Sep 27th, 2014
Miles Teller Apologizes For Trashing "Divergent"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Sep 26th, 2014
Deleted Rogue Scenes Will Be Added Back Into "Rogue Cut" of "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Wedding Ringer" Comedy, with Kevin Hart and Josh Gad
Sep 26th, 2014
"Bill and Ted 3" is Still Happening, Details Revealed
Sep 26th, 2014
"Dumb and Dumber To" Unveils First TV Spot
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Michael Mann's "Blackhat" Thriller, with Chris Hemsworth
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Joe Carnahan's "Stretch," with Chris Pine, Patrick Wilson and Jessica Alba
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "Jupiter Ascending" Sci-Fi Film, with Channing Tatum and Mila Kunis
Sep 25th, 2014
New Trailer for Marvel's "Big Hero 6" Animated Film
Sep 25th, 2014
First Look at Nicolas Cage's Troubled "Dying of the Light" Thriller
Sep 25th, 2014
Naked Woman Broke Into Keanu Reeves' House
Sep 25th, 2014
Trailer for Sylvester Stallone's "Reach Me" Drama
Sep 25th, 2014
Liam Neeson Joins "Ted" Sequel
Sep 25th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Michael Cain Explains "The Dark Knight Rises" Ending

Posted: December 5th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Michael Cain Explains "The Dark Knight Rises" EndingSubmit Comment
Michael Caine has been promoting the DVD/Blu-ray release of "The Dark Knight Rises," which hits stores yesterday. In one of the interviews, he was asked to explain the ambiguous ending.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

In the final scene, Alfred (Caine) is shown sitting at a coffee shop in France, where he sees Bruce Wayne (Christian Bale) and Selina Kyle (Anne Hathaway) a few tables away. This is something Alfred always wanted, which is to see Bruce happy.

Since Batman seemingly died at the end of the movie, many believe that Alfred imagined the entire coffee shop scene. Not so, says Caine. "They were there. They were real. There was no imagination," he explained. "They were real and he was with Anne, the cat lady, and I was happy for him as I told him during the picture."

Caine went on to say that Warner Bros continues the Batman franchise, he would love to return as Alfred. "I said to Chris [Nolan], 'If they do it again and they ask me to be the Butler, I'm going to do it.'"

Question: Do you believe Alfred imagined the coffee shop scene?

Source: The Playlist


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 54 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
CharlestonChewbacca writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:03:41 PM

What's Batman? Who's Alfred?
cress writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:04:51 PM

I wonder what Michael Caine thinks about Michael Cain's explanation.
cress writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:07:47 PM

Now Mr. Caine, can you also give a brief explanation as to why you agreed to star in the worst movie ever, "Jaws: The Revenge"
BlackDynamite writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:15:24 PM

1. f*ck THAT STUPID JUSTIN CRONIN NOVEL ADVERTISEMENT. I've got headphones on, for f*ck's sake.

2. What dimwit moronic cro-magnon thought Alfred was imagining the coffee scene? Lucius Fox in the end of the movie was clearly informed that Bruce Wayne managed to implement autopilot into the navigation system of the Bat-Copter (or whatever the f*ck it was called), clearly explaining that Batman had escaped.

Of course if you ask me, I take the realistic route (since Nolan loves "grounding the trilogy in realism") and believe that the nuclear fallout wiped out the entire Gotham coast, and they were all in purgatory/heaven/the afterlife, recieving closure.

That's the only way i could percieve that Batman would just drop his life's work into the lap of an untrained cop and run off with a woman he's known for a c*mulative 3 weeks.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:22:18 PM

Exactly^
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:22:49 PM

"Do you believe Alfred imagined the coffee shop scene?"

No, and I and others have already explained exactly why.



As for Caine: jesus f*ck talk about something else you gibbering old badger.
pornfly writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:37:15 PM

Who the hell thought the ending was ambiguous?
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:47:06 PM

"They were real and he was with Anne, the cat lady"

He's already confused.

Anne Hathaway PLAYED Selena Kyle, who is also CATWOMAN. Not 'the cat lady'

And yeah BlackDynamite, that motherf*cking justin cronie ad for that stupid book is annoying as all sh*t with the f*cking autoplay.

Feanor224 writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 9:04:37 PM

No, it wasn't imaginary! What kind of stupid f*cking question is that? This isn't a psychological, complex film. It's a f*cking super hero flick. Whoever thinks that ending was ambiguous needs to get their head out of their ass.
Bruce jumped out the damn plane and is having coffee with Selina. Where is the confusion??
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 9:05:44 PM

If you people aren't going to have the good sense to use Firefox with Ad Block, do the rest of us a favor and stop complaining.

Not trying to be a d*ck here, but you have a total, complete and easy solution, and yet you refuse to use it.

As Andy Dufresne would say, "Obtuse. Is it deliberate?".

It's like bitching about being hungry when there's a well done t-bone right the f*ck in front of you.
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 9:27:06 PM

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/adblock-plus/

http://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/new/
Kurskij writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 9:56:25 PM

"The cat lady"

How English of you.
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:07:58 PM

FF doesn't work on this netbook because the hw is defective and it always freezes when I used to try and use FF. Chrome is the only browser that actually works and sometimes Safari but that's slow as hell.

I only look at a few sites at night on here and rarely run into autoplay ads. Having one for a book no one will ever buy by an author no one has ever heard of is what's so peculiar.

If there is a similar adblocker for chrome I would gladly use it but the chrome web store is a clusterf*ck too.
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:09:42 PM

In other news, Kevin Bacon's estranged brother, Johnny Sausage has passed away at the age of 48.
boogiel writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:14:49 PM

Who gives a sh*t about the f*cking ending but I have to admit, Michael Caine is the perfect Alfred.
Stapes writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:19:58 PM

So glad i avoided this pretentious piece of sh*t movie.
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:23:07 PM

@Deaft0ne:

https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/adblock/gighmmpiobklfepjocnamgkkbiglidom


And I have no idea about your netbook, but I'm sure it's not the hardware. Probably a totally goofed OS issue. But no one should ever use this site without an ad block, and to Alex, sorry if that sucks, bud, but you put so much advert sh*t on here, it literally chokes a user's browser, sh*t starts automatically, and I can't even slide the page down without auto-starting some f*cking teaser/trailer you've installed as a background.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:26:52 PM

Mink I use Google Chrome lol I dot think It blocks ads, I just don't complain like a girl lol
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:29:06 PM

*sigh*

No, of course it doesn't but it WILL if you install the Ad Block from the link I posted.
Ranger writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:31:51 PM

TMZ has banned me?! Well suck my Nazi cack Harvey!
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:33:57 PM

Here's Nolan, from IndieWire, talking about TDKR with respect to his Batman trilogy:

http://blogs.indiewire.com/theplaylist/the-playlist-interview-christopher-nolan-talks-the-controversial-ending-the-dark-knight-rises-more-20121205

Two pages, lots of detail.
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:35:55 PM

Dunno if this was covered here or not, but Tron 3 is back on:

http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/heat-vision/tron-sequel-back-grid-at-398592
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:39:35 PM

Dennis Haysbert in talks for Sin City roll

http://insidemovies.ew.com/2012/12/05/casting-net-dennis-haysbert-timothy-olyphant/
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:40:36 PM

New Jack Reacher clip:

http://www.cinemablend.com/new/It-Five-Against-One-Clip-From-Jack-Reacher-34436.html
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:41:12 PM

role, not roll.
Johnnyb writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 11:38:40 PM

I think it depends on what you want to believe. If Batman dies is ok, if is not, is ok too. Is just an open ending in which Alfred wants to see on Bruce future, nothing more. Of course it would be too much coincidence in which the two of them coincide in the same place at the same time of what Alfred always wanted for Bruce Wayne, but once again, is just another movie, nothing important to analyze, that's all..... Keeping moving asses!!!!!!
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 12:02:07 AM

I could care less after that borefest!!
SACdaddy writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 12:18:02 AM

After this movie sh*tted on just about everything decent about the comic, the series, and film making in general, the real question is why should anyone care how the f*ck it ended?

Figuring out the ending to Arnold's Total Recall or Lynch's Lost Highway would be time much better spent imo.
KillerCOck writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 1:04:40 AM

Garbage needs no explanation.
Rambo writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 1:14:55 AM

Do you believe Alfred imagined the coffee shop scene?

of course no.the people who don't think it was real have been watching too much 'inception'...what's there to explain?you had the scene where morgan freeman finds out bruce installed the autopilot...duh

@Tanman

I use google chrome also and i added adblock long time ago.i have no ads no popping videos.just find the extension and install it,it's very very easy.
Man in Black writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 1:19:01 AM

Holy dog sh*t .... it's the speculation to the end of Inception all over again , does anyone give a sh*t Alfred is old it could be dementia .
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 1:38:19 AM

@Man in black , it's not dementia come on... It's what it is, the man f*cking saw him.. There's nothing more to it guys..

@Mink, i hadn't seen your post when i had posted.

@Rambo, I'll look into it mate.
pornfly writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 2:31:05 AM

They shouldve asked him to explain The Hand.

Cool movie tho
trailertrash writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 2:42:59 AM

haha

porn I bet only me and you have seen that movie on here.

Oliver Stone was on some weird sh*t in the 80's
Wallace writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 2:50:06 AM

France, are you serious!? Since when is Florence in France!??
pornfly writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 2:53:32 AM

I think there was a sequel but i didnt see it.
Even as a kid i knew it wasnt necessary
The ol'man and I would watch it alot
trailertrash writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 2:57:09 AM

Since WP said so wallace, It's kind of close (ish) and sounds French i guess, lol
trailertrash writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 2:59:46 AM

porn -

Michael Caines's The Island is a pretty good film, Worth checking out as well mate
Dirt writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 3:02:55 AM

f*ck Batman, this AdBlock thing is amazing! Thanks for the heads up Mink.

pornfly writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 3:09:29 AM

Sounds keen TRAILER
will def checkitout after i watch and exchange Magnolia(kinda long)

Luv those 80s Caine movies
Thanks brudda
pornfly writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 3:21:05 AM

Sutherland and Caine 80s movies
bane writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 3:31:13 AM

STAR TREK 2 trailer

http://collider.com/star-trek-2-trailer/200285/
pornfly writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 3:44:48 AM

^cool find
trailertrash writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 3:46:24 AM

Sutherland made some top movies !

I watched both Invasion of the Body Snatchers (one of the best remakes of any film i've seen) and Animal House in the past week or so and of Course Kelly's Heroes is one of my fav war films too.

The late 70's and 80's good times my friend good times !!
wavydavy123 writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 3:53:49 AM

It was in Florence. That's in ITALY, not France!!!
pH0u57 writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 4:48:39 AM

WHO would think that the ending was imagined?!!

I mean, how many clues (autopilot, etc.) do they have to give until even the stupidest internet person realizes what's going on??
Now they even have to explain it..?! Poor world.
The Sage writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 8:11:09 AM

I read the Sin City sequel a couple years ago. It's as gruesome as you would expect, but doesn't have the ensemble feel of the original series. It's just a short story by comparison.
bane writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 12:36:03 PM

@ boogiel

wait till you see him in..

HARRY BROWN

THE QUIET AMERICAN

MONA LISA
minkowski writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 4:27:55 PM

@Dirt: Thanks, bro; glad I could help out and do some good for a change :D
Deckman writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 7:02:46 PM

no. The ending just sucked admit it.
Avengers was better.
WV-Films writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 8:49:18 PM

Wait, Mink, tell me why u think he's alive. Only cuz I don't. I think he's dust particles over Gotham sound.
Herbert Butterfield writes:
on December 8th, 2012 at 5:44:55 PM

cowabunga
Gnarkill writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 5:05:27 PM

i mean he does ramble on about things so i dont know the movie sucked , would have been better if bane f*cked more people up and the editing wasnt horrible but it left it open for someone else to play batman so they can make more money f*ck u nolan u sell out
jikae writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 7:49:48 PM

"the cat lady."

That's all you need to know.

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You

Colin Farrell and Vince Vaughn Confirmed for Second Season of "True Detective"

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull

Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved