WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Mar 26th, 2015
Trailer for Arnold Schwarzenegger's "Maggie" Zombie Film
Mar 26th, 2015
First Clear Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Mar 26th, 2015
Idris Elba May Play Villain in "Star Trek 3"
Mar 26th, 2015
New Photos of Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson From "Zoolander 2"
Mar 26th, 2015
New Trailer for "Entourage" Movie
Mar 25th, 2015
Vin Diesel Predicts "Furious 7" Will Win Best Picture Oscar
Mar 25th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Slow West" Western Thriller
Mar 25th, 2015
Poster for "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Mar 25th, 2015
Trailer for Dustin Hoffman's "Boychoir" Film
Mar 25th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence Says "X-Men: Apocalypse" is Her Last "X-Men" Film
Mar 24th, 2015
"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon
Mar 24th, 2015
Vivica A. Fox Returns for "Independence Day 2"
Mar 24th, 2015
Poster for "Entourage" Movie
Mar 24th, 2015
Tom Cruise's "Mission: Impossible 5" Trailer is Here!
Mar 23rd, 2015
Neill Blomkamp Says "Alien 5" Won't Interfere With "Prometheus" Franchise
Mar 23rd, 2015
"Insurgent" Takes First Place at Box Office, Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Flops
Mar 23rd, 2015
"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" to Begin Filming Next Month
Mar 23rd, 2015
Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman
Mar 22nd, 2015
"Terminator Genisys" Unveils New Photos and Magazine Cover
Mar 22nd, 2015
Bobby Cannavale Discusses Confusing "Ant-Man" Shoot
Mar 22nd, 2015
Jason Statham vs Dwayne Johnson in "Furious 7" Clip
Mar 22nd, 2015
Sony to Remake "Romeo and Juliet" Using "300" Style
Mar 21st, 2015
New Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Good Kill" Film
Mar 21st, 2015
Trailer for Simon Pegg's "Man Up" Comedy
Mar 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Transporter" Reboot
Mar 20th, 2015
New Footage in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" TV Spot
Mar 20th, 2015
New Trailer for M. Night Shyamalan's "Wayward Pines" TV Series
Mar 20th, 2015
Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Trailer Breaking Records
Mar 20th, 2015
"Captain America: Civil War" Start Date and Plot Synopsis Revealed
Mar 20th, 2015
Jim Carrey and Keanu Reeves to Star in "The Bad Batch" Cannibal Film
Mar 20th, 2015
First Look at Tom Hanks in Steven Spielberg's "Bridge of Spies"
Mar 19th, 2015
"Sharknado 3" Gets Title and Release Date
Mar 19th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Michael Cain Explains "The Dark Knight Rises" Ending

Posted: December 5th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Michael Cain Explains "The Dark Knight Rises" EndingSubmit Comment
Michael Caine has been promoting the DVD/Blu-ray release of "The Dark Knight Rises," which hits stores yesterday. In one of the interviews, he was asked to explain the ambiguous ending.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

In the final scene, Alfred (Caine) is shown sitting at a coffee shop in France, where he sees Bruce Wayne (Christian Bale) and Selina Kyle (Anne Hathaway) a few tables away. This is something Alfred always wanted, which is to see Bruce happy.

Since Batman seemingly died at the end of the movie, many believe that Alfred imagined the entire coffee shop scene. Not so, says Caine. "They were there. They were real. There was no imagination," he explained. "They were real and he was with Anne, the cat lady, and I was happy for him as I told him during the picture."

Caine went on to say that Warner Bros continues the Batman franchise, he would love to return as Alfred. "I said to Chris [Nolan], 'If they do it again and they ask me to be the Butler, I'm going to do it.'"

Question: Do you believe Alfred imagined the coffee shop scene?

Source: The Playlist


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 54 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
CharlestonChewbacca writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:03:41 PM

What's Batman? Who's Alfred?
cress writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:04:51 PM

I wonder what Michael Caine thinks about Michael Cain's explanation.
cress writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:07:47 PM

Now Mr. Caine, can you also give a brief explanation as to why you agreed to star in the worst movie ever, "Jaws: The Revenge"
BlackDynamite writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:15:24 PM

1. f*ck THAT STUPID JUSTIN CRONIN NOVEL ADVERTISEMENT. I've got headphones on, for f*ck's sake.

2. What dimwit moronic cro-magnon thought Alfred was imagining the coffee scene? Lucius Fox in the end of the movie was clearly informed that Bruce Wayne managed to implement autopilot into the navigation system of the Bat-Copter (or whatever the f*ck it was called), clearly explaining that Batman had escaped.

Of course if you ask me, I take the realistic route (since Nolan loves "grounding the trilogy in realism") and believe that the nuclear fallout wiped out the entire Gotham coast, and they were all in purgatory/heaven/the afterlife, recieving closure.

That's the only way i could percieve that Batman would just drop his life's work into the lap of an untrained cop and run off with a woman he's known for a c*mulative 3 weeks.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:22:18 PM

Exactly^
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:22:49 PM

"Do you believe Alfred imagined the coffee shop scene?"

No, and I and others have already explained exactly why.



As for Caine: jesus f*ck talk about something else you gibbering old badger.
pornfly writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:37:15 PM

Who the hell thought the ending was ambiguous?
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:47:06 PM

"They were real and he was with Anne, the cat lady"

He's already confused.

Anne Hathaway PLAYED Selena Kyle, who is also CATWOMAN. Not 'the cat lady'

And yeah BlackDynamite, that motherf*cking justin cronie ad for that stupid book is annoying as all sh*t with the f*cking autoplay.

Feanor224 writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 9:04:37 PM

No, it wasn't imaginary! What kind of stupid f*cking question is that? This isn't a psychological, complex film. It's a f*cking super hero flick. Whoever thinks that ending was ambiguous needs to get their head out of their ass.
Bruce jumped out the damn plane and is having coffee with Selina. Where is the confusion??
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 9:05:44 PM

If you people aren't going to have the good sense to use Firefox with Ad Block, do the rest of us a favor and stop complaining.

Not trying to be a d*ck here, but you have a total, complete and easy solution, and yet you refuse to use it.

As Andy Dufresne would say, "Obtuse. Is it deliberate?".

It's like bitching about being hungry when there's a well done t-bone right the f*ck in front of you.
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 9:27:06 PM

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/adblock-plus/

http://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/new/
Kurskij writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 9:56:25 PM

"The cat lady"

How English of you.
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:07:58 PM

FF doesn't work on this netbook because the hw is defective and it always freezes when I used to try and use FF. Chrome is the only browser that actually works and sometimes Safari but that's slow as hell.

I only look at a few sites at night on here and rarely run into autoplay ads. Having one for a book no one will ever buy by an author no one has ever heard of is what's so peculiar.

If there is a similar adblocker for chrome I would gladly use it but the chrome web store is a clusterf*ck too.
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:09:42 PM

In other news, Kevin Bacon's estranged brother, Johnny Sausage has passed away at the age of 48.
boogiel writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:14:49 PM

Who gives a sh*t about the f*cking ending but I have to admit, Michael Caine is the perfect Alfred.
Stapes writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:19:58 PM

So glad i avoided this pretentious piece of sh*t movie.
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:23:07 PM

@Deaft0ne:

https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/adblock/gighmmpiobklfepjocnamgkkbiglidom


And I have no idea about your netbook, but I'm sure it's not the hardware. Probably a totally goofed OS issue. But no one should ever use this site without an ad block, and to Alex, sorry if that sucks, bud, but you put so much advert sh*t on here, it literally chokes a user's browser, sh*t starts automatically, and I can't even slide the page down without auto-starting some f*cking teaser/trailer you've installed as a background.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:26:52 PM

Mink I use Google Chrome lol I dot think It blocks ads, I just don't complain like a girl lol
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:29:06 PM

*sigh*

No, of course it doesn't but it WILL if you install the Ad Block from the link I posted.
Ranger writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:31:51 PM

TMZ has banned me?! Well suck my Nazi cack Harvey!
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:33:57 PM

Here's Nolan, from IndieWire, talking about TDKR with respect to his Batman trilogy:

http://blogs.indiewire.com/theplaylist/the-playlist-interview-christopher-nolan-talks-the-controversial-ending-the-dark-knight-rises-more-20121205

Two pages, lots of detail.
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:35:55 PM

Dunno if this was covered here or not, but Tron 3 is back on:

http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/heat-vision/tron-sequel-back-grid-at-398592
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:39:35 PM

Dennis Haysbert in talks for Sin City roll

http://insidemovies.ew.com/2012/12/05/casting-net-dennis-haysbert-timothy-olyphant/
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:40:36 PM

New Jack Reacher clip:

http://www.cinemablend.com/new/It-Five-Against-One-Clip-From-Jack-Reacher-34436.html
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:41:12 PM

role, not roll.
Johnnyb writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 11:38:40 PM

I think it depends on what you want to believe. If Batman dies is ok, if is not, is ok too. Is just an open ending in which Alfred wants to see on Bruce future, nothing more. Of course it would be too much coincidence in which the two of them coincide in the same place at the same time of what Alfred always wanted for Bruce Wayne, but once again, is just another movie, nothing important to analyze, that's all..... Keeping moving asses!!!!!!
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 12:02:07 AM

I could care less after that borefest!!
SACdaddy writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 12:18:02 AM

After this movie sh*tted on just about everything decent about the comic, the series, and film making in general, the real question is why should anyone care how the f*ck it ended?

Figuring out the ending to Arnold's Total Recall or Lynch's Lost Highway would be time much better spent imo.
KillerCOck writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 1:04:40 AM

Garbage needs no explanation.
Rambo writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 1:14:55 AM

Do you believe Alfred imagined the coffee shop scene?

of course no.the people who don't think it was real have been watching too much 'inception'...what's there to explain?you had the scene where morgan freeman finds out bruce installed the autopilot...duh

@Tanman

I use google chrome also and i added adblock long time ago.i have no ads no popping videos.just find the extension and install it,it's very very easy.
Man in Black writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 1:19:01 AM

Holy dog sh*t .... it's the speculation to the end of Inception all over again , does anyone give a sh*t Alfred is old it could be dementia .
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 1:38:19 AM

@Man in black , it's not dementia come on... It's what it is, the man f*cking saw him.. There's nothing more to it guys..

@Mink, i hadn't seen your post when i had posted.

@Rambo, I'll look into it mate.
pornfly writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 2:31:05 AM

They shouldve asked him to explain The Hand.

Cool movie tho
trailertrash writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 2:42:59 AM

haha

porn I bet only me and you have seen that movie on here.

Oliver Stone was on some weird sh*t in the 80's
Wallace writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 2:50:06 AM

France, are you serious!? Since when is Florence in France!??
pornfly writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 2:53:32 AM

I think there was a sequel but i didnt see it.
Even as a kid i knew it wasnt necessary
The ol'man and I would watch it alot
trailertrash writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 2:57:09 AM

Since WP said so wallace, It's kind of close (ish) and sounds French i guess, lol
trailertrash writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 2:59:46 AM

porn -

Michael Caines's The Island is a pretty good film, Worth checking out as well mate
Dirt writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 3:02:55 AM

f*ck Batman, this AdBlock thing is amazing! Thanks for the heads up Mink.

pornfly writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 3:09:29 AM

Sounds keen TRAILER
will def checkitout after i watch and exchange Magnolia(kinda long)

Luv those 80s Caine movies
Thanks brudda
pornfly writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 3:21:05 AM

Sutherland and Caine 80s movies
bane writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 3:31:13 AM

STAR TREK 2 trailer

http://collider.com/star-trek-2-trailer/200285/
pornfly writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 3:44:48 AM

^cool find
trailertrash writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 3:46:24 AM

Sutherland made some top movies !

I watched both Invasion of the Body Snatchers (one of the best remakes of any film i've seen) and Animal House in the past week or so and of Course Kelly's Heroes is one of my fav war films too.

The late 70's and 80's good times my friend good times !!
wavydavy123 writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 3:53:49 AM

It was in Florence. That's in ITALY, not France!!!
pH0u57 writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 4:48:39 AM

WHO would think that the ending was imagined?!!

I mean, how many clues (autopilot, etc.) do they have to give until even the stupidest internet person realizes what's going on??
Now they even have to explain it..?! Poor world.
The Sage writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 8:11:09 AM

I read the Sin City sequel a couple years ago. It's as gruesome as you would expect, but doesn't have the ensemble feel of the original series. It's just a short story by comparison.
bane writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 12:36:03 PM

@ boogiel

wait till you see him in..

HARRY BROWN

THE QUIET AMERICAN

MONA LISA
minkowski writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 4:27:55 PM

@Dirt: Thanks, bro; glad I could help out and do some good for a change :D
Deckman writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 7:02:46 PM

no. The ending just sucked admit it.
Avengers was better.
WV-Films writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 8:49:18 PM

Wait, Mink, tell me why u think he's alive. Only cuz I don't. I think he's dust particles over Gotham sound.
Herbert Butterfield writes:
on December 8th, 2012 at 5:44:55 PM

cowabunga
Gnarkill writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 5:05:27 PM

i mean he does ramble on about things so i dont know the movie sucked , would have been better if bane f*cked more people up and the editing wasnt horrible but it left it open for someone else to play batman so they can make more money f*ck u nolan u sell out
jikae writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 7:49:48 PM

"the cat lady."

That's all you need to know.

Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

Mexico Pays "Spectre" $20 Million to Rewrite Script

Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment

Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?

Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman

Disney's "Cinderella" Dominates at Box Office

Hugh Jackman Knows Who Would Win in a Fight, Batman or Wolverine

"The Dark Knight" Voted the Greatest Superhero Film of All Time

Confirmed: Neill Blomkamp Will Direct New "Alien" Film

Stephen King Comments on Early Screening of Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved