WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Fast and Furious 7" Hires Paul Walker's Brothers to Help Finish the Film
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for "Third Person," with Liam Neeson and James Franco
Apr 16th, 2014
Andrew Garfield Says Spider-Man is Jewish
Apr 15th, 2014
Channing Tatum Confirms Talks to Play Gambit in "X-Men" Film
Apr 15th, 2014
David Fincher to be Replaced on Steve Jobs Biopic Due to Unreasonable Requests
Apr 15th, 2014
Harrison Ford Excited to Return for "Blade Runner" Sequel
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for David Cronenberg's "Maps to the Stars," with John Cusack and Julianne Moore
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Philip Seymour Hoffman's "God's Pocket" Thriller
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Zoe Saldana's "Rosemary's Baby" TV Series
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Tommy Lee Jones' "The Homesman"
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Jay-Z's "Annie" Remake, With Jamie Foxx and Cameron Diaz
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Ben Affleck's "Gone Girl" Thriller, Directed by David Fincher
Apr 14th, 2014
Pierce Brosnan Says He Was NOT Good Enough as James Bond
Apr 14th, 2014
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ
Apr 14th, 2014
Watch Opening Battle Sequence From "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 14th, 2014
Spider-Man Battles Electro in New "The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Clip
Apr 14th, 2014
First "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" TV Spot Shows Splinter
Apr 14th, 2014
"Transformers: Age of Extinction" TV Spot From MTV Movie Awards
Apr 14th, 2014
New TV Spot for Tom Cruise's "Edge of Tomorrow" Sci-Fi Thriller
Apr 14th, 2014
Dwayne Johnson's "Hercules" TV Spot, From MTV Movie Awards
Apr 14th, 2014
Seth MacFarlane's "A Million Ways to Die in the West" TV Spot
Apr 14th, 2014
New TV Spot for "22 Jump Street," with Channing Tatum and Jonah Hill
Apr 14th, 2014
Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters
Apr 14th, 2014
James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor
Apr 13th, 2014
James Cameron Doesn't Like Last Two "Terminator" Films, Says T-800 Would Beat Alien Queen and Na'vi in Battle
Apr 13th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses "True Lies 2" and "Prometheus"
Apr 13th, 2014
Will Spider-Man Appear in "Sinister Six" Spin-Off?
Apr 12th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"
Apr 12th, 2014
"Divergent" to Split Last Book Into Two Movie, Release Dates Announced
Apr 12th, 2014
Johnny Depp Joins Kevin Smith's "Tusk" Horror Film
Apr 12th, 2014
"Street Fighter: Assassin's First" Web Series Unveils Ryu Trailer
Apr 12th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg Reveals a Few "Transformers: Age of Extinction" Plot Details
Apr 12th, 2014
New Trailer for "24: Live Another Day" TV Series
Apr 12th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Michael Cain Explains "The Dark Knight Rises" Ending

Posted: December 5th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Michael Cain Explains "The Dark Knight Rises" EndingSubmit Comment
Michael Caine has been promoting the DVD/Blu-ray release of "The Dark Knight Rises," which hits stores yesterday. In one of the interviews, he was asked to explain the ambiguous ending.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

In the final scene, Alfred (Caine) is shown sitting at a coffee shop in France, where he sees Bruce Wayne (Christian Bale) and Selina Kyle (Anne Hathaway) a few tables away. This is something Alfred always wanted, which is to see Bruce happy.

Since Batman seemingly died at the end of the movie, many believe that Alfred imagined the entire coffee shop scene. Not so, says Caine. "They were there. They were real. There was no imagination," he explained. "They were real and he was with Anne, the cat lady, and I was happy for him as I told him during the picture."

Caine went on to say that Warner Bros continues the Batman franchise, he would love to return as Alfred. "I said to Chris [Nolan], 'If they do it again and they ask me to be the Butler, I'm going to do it.'"

Question: Do you believe Alfred imagined the coffee shop scene?

Source: The Playlist


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 54 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
CharlestonChewbacca writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:03:41 PM

What's Batman? Who's Alfred?
cress writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:04:51 PM

I wonder what Michael Caine thinks about Michael Cain's explanation.
cress writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:07:47 PM

Now Mr. Caine, can you also give a brief explanation as to why you agreed to star in the worst movie ever, "Jaws: The Revenge"
BlackDynamite writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:15:24 PM

1. f*ck THAT STUPID JUSTIN CRONIN NOVEL ADVERTISEMENT. I've got headphones on, for f*ck's sake.

2. What dimwit moronic cro-magnon thought Alfred was imagining the coffee scene? Lucius Fox in the end of the movie was clearly informed that Bruce Wayne managed to implement autopilot into the navigation system of the Bat-Copter (or whatever the f*ck it was called), clearly explaining that Batman had escaped.

Of course if you ask me, I take the realistic route (since Nolan loves "grounding the trilogy in realism") and believe that the nuclear fallout wiped out the entire Gotham coast, and they were all in purgatory/heaven/the afterlife, recieving closure.

That's the only way i could percieve that Batman would just drop his life's work into the lap of an untrained cop and run off with a woman he's known for a c*mulative 3 weeks.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:22:18 PM

Exactly^
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:22:49 PM

"Do you believe Alfred imagined the coffee shop scene?"

No, and I and others have already explained exactly why.



As for Caine: jesus f*ck talk about something else you gibbering old badger.
pornfly writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:37:15 PM

Who the hell thought the ending was ambiguous?
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:47:06 PM

"They were real and he was with Anne, the cat lady"

He's already confused.

Anne Hathaway PLAYED Selena Kyle, who is also CATWOMAN. Not 'the cat lady'

And yeah BlackDynamite, that motherf*cking justin cronie ad for that stupid book is annoying as all sh*t with the f*cking autoplay.

Feanor224 writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 9:04:37 PM

No, it wasn't imaginary! What kind of stupid f*cking question is that? This isn't a psychological, complex film. It's a f*cking super hero flick. Whoever thinks that ending was ambiguous needs to get their head out of their ass.
Bruce jumped out the damn plane and is having coffee with Selina. Where is the confusion??
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 9:05:44 PM

If you people aren't going to have the good sense to use Firefox with Ad Block, do the rest of us a favor and stop complaining.

Not trying to be a d*ck here, but you have a total, complete and easy solution, and yet you refuse to use it.

As Andy Dufresne would say, "Obtuse. Is it deliberate?".

It's like bitching about being hungry when there's a well done t-bone right the f*ck in front of you.
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 9:27:06 PM

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/adblock-plus/

http://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/new/
Kurskij writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 9:56:25 PM

"The cat lady"

How English of you.
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:07:58 PM

FF doesn't work on this netbook because the hw is defective and it always freezes when I used to try and use FF. Chrome is the only browser that actually works and sometimes Safari but that's slow as hell.

I only look at a few sites at night on here and rarely run into autoplay ads. Having one for a book no one will ever buy by an author no one has ever heard of is what's so peculiar.

If there is a similar adblocker for chrome I would gladly use it but the chrome web store is a clusterf*ck too.
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:09:42 PM

In other news, Kevin Bacon's estranged brother, Johnny Sausage has passed away at the age of 48.
boogiel writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:14:49 PM

Who gives a sh*t about the f*cking ending but I have to admit, Michael Caine is the perfect Alfred.
Stapes writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:19:58 PM

So glad i avoided this pretentious piece of sh*t movie.
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:23:07 PM

@Deaft0ne:

https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/adblock/gighmmpiobklfepjocnamgkkbiglidom


And I have no idea about your netbook, but I'm sure it's not the hardware. Probably a totally goofed OS issue. But no one should ever use this site without an ad block, and to Alex, sorry if that sucks, bud, but you put so much advert sh*t on here, it literally chokes a user's browser, sh*t starts automatically, and I can't even slide the page down without auto-starting some f*cking teaser/trailer you've installed as a background.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:26:52 PM

Mink I use Google Chrome lol I dot think It blocks ads, I just don't complain like a girl lol
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:29:06 PM

*sigh*

No, of course it doesn't but it WILL if you install the Ad Block from the link I posted.
Ranger writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:31:51 PM

TMZ has banned me?! Well suck my Nazi cack Harvey!
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:33:57 PM

Here's Nolan, from IndieWire, talking about TDKR with respect to his Batman trilogy:

http://blogs.indiewire.com/theplaylist/the-playlist-interview-christopher-nolan-talks-the-controversial-ending-the-dark-knight-rises-more-20121205

Two pages, lots of detail.
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:35:55 PM

Dunno if this was covered here or not, but Tron 3 is back on:

http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/heat-vision/tron-sequel-back-grid-at-398592
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:39:35 PM

Dennis Haysbert in talks for Sin City roll

http://insidemovies.ew.com/2012/12/05/casting-net-dennis-haysbert-timothy-olyphant/
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:40:36 PM

New Jack Reacher clip:

http://www.cinemablend.com/new/It-Five-Against-One-Clip-From-Jack-Reacher-34436.html
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:41:12 PM

role, not roll.
Johnnyb writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 11:38:40 PM

I think it depends on what you want to believe. If Batman dies is ok, if is not, is ok too. Is just an open ending in which Alfred wants to see on Bruce future, nothing more. Of course it would be too much coincidence in which the two of them coincide in the same place at the same time of what Alfred always wanted for Bruce Wayne, but once again, is just another movie, nothing important to analyze, that's all..... Keeping moving asses!!!!!!
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 12:02:07 AM

I could care less after that borefest!!
SACdaddy writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 12:18:02 AM

After this movie sh*tted on just about everything decent about the comic, the series, and film making in general, the real question is why should anyone care how the f*ck it ended?

Figuring out the ending to Arnold's Total Recall or Lynch's Lost Highway would be time much better spent imo.
KillerCOck writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 1:04:40 AM

Garbage needs no explanation.
Rambo writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 1:14:55 AM

Do you believe Alfred imagined the coffee shop scene?

of course no.the people who don't think it was real have been watching too much 'inception'...what's there to explain?you had the scene where morgan freeman finds out bruce installed the autopilot...duh

@Tanman

I use google chrome also and i added adblock long time ago.i have no ads no popping videos.just find the extension and install it,it's very very easy.
Man in Black writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 1:19:01 AM

Holy dog sh*t .... it's the speculation to the end of Inception all over again , does anyone give a sh*t Alfred is old it could be dementia .
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 1:38:19 AM

@Man in black , it's not dementia come on... It's what it is, the man f*cking saw him.. There's nothing more to it guys..

@Mink, i hadn't seen your post when i had posted.

@Rambo, I'll look into it mate.
pornfly writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 2:31:05 AM

They shouldve asked him to explain The Hand.

Cool movie tho
trailertrash writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 2:42:59 AM

haha

porn I bet only me and you have seen that movie on here.

Oliver Stone was on some weird sh*t in the 80's
Wallace writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 2:50:06 AM

France, are you serious!? Since when is Florence in France!??
pornfly writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 2:53:32 AM

I think there was a sequel but i didnt see it.
Even as a kid i knew it wasnt necessary
The ol'man and I would watch it alot
trailertrash writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 2:57:09 AM

Since WP said so wallace, It's kind of close (ish) and sounds French i guess, lol
trailertrash writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 2:59:46 AM

porn -

Michael Caines's The Island is a pretty good film, Worth checking out as well mate
Dirt writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 3:02:55 AM

f*ck Batman, this AdBlock thing is amazing! Thanks for the heads up Mink.

pornfly writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 3:09:29 AM

Sounds keen TRAILER
will def checkitout after i watch and exchange Magnolia(kinda long)

Luv those 80s Caine movies
Thanks brudda
pornfly writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 3:21:05 AM

Sutherland and Caine 80s movies
bane writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 3:31:13 AM

STAR TREK 2 trailer

http://collider.com/star-trek-2-trailer/200285/
pornfly writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 3:44:48 AM

^cool find
trailertrash writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 3:46:24 AM

Sutherland made some top movies !

I watched both Invasion of the Body Snatchers (one of the best remakes of any film i've seen) and Animal House in the past week or so and of Course Kelly's Heroes is one of my fav war films too.

The late 70's and 80's good times my friend good times !!
wavydavy123 writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 3:53:49 AM

It was in Florence. That's in ITALY, not France!!!
pH0u57 writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 4:48:39 AM

WHO would think that the ending was imagined?!!

I mean, how many clues (autopilot, etc.) do they have to give until even the stupidest internet person realizes what's going on??
Now they even have to explain it..?! Poor world.
The Sage writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 8:11:09 AM

I read the Sin City sequel a couple years ago. It's as gruesome as you would expect, but doesn't have the ensemble feel of the original series. It's just a short story by comparison.
bane writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 12:36:03 PM

@ boogiel

wait till you see him in..

HARRY BROWN

THE QUIET AMERICAN

MONA LISA
minkowski writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 4:27:55 PM

@Dirt: Thanks, bro; glad I could help out and do some good for a change :D
Deckman writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 7:02:46 PM

no. The ending just sucked admit it.
Avengers was better.
WV-Films writes:
on December 7th, 2012 at 8:49:18 PM

Wait, Mink, tell me why u think he's alive. Only cuz I don't. I think he's dust particles over Gotham sound.
Herbert Butterfield writes:
on December 8th, 2012 at 5:44:55 PM

cowabunga
Gnarkill writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 5:05:27 PM

i mean he does ramble on about things so i dont know the movie sucked , would have been better if bane f*cked more people up and the editing wasnt horrible but it left it open for someone else to play batman so they can make more money f*ck u nolan u sell out
jikae writes:
on December 11th, 2012 at 7:49:48 PM

"the cat lady."

That's all you need to know.

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Josh Brolin Says He Was Almost Batman in "Batman vs Superman"

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

Chris Evans Says He Almost Turned Down "Captain America" Because of "Fantastic Four"

Lindsay Lohan Says She Was Almost in "The Avengers," But as Which Character?

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved