WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Sony Announces Release Plan for "The Amazing Spider-Man 3" and "Sinister Six"
Jul 24th, 2014
Poster for "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies" Arrives Online
Jul 24th, 2014
"Pirates of the Caribbean 5" and "Sinister 2" Unveil Release Dates
Jul 24th, 2014
Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Mad Max: Fury Road" Unveils First Poster
Jul 23rd, 2014
Marvel Says Real Mandarin and Red Skull May Soon Make an Appearance
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Miss Julie," with Colin Farrell and Jessica Chastain
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Predators" Writer to Turn "Deus Ex" Video Game Into a Movie
Jul 23rd, 2014
New Banner for Brad Pitt's "Fury" War Film
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Space Station 76" Sci-Fi Spoof, with Patrick Wilson and Liv Tyler
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Insidious: Chapter 3" is Now Filming, First Photo Revealed
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Cybernatural" Horror Film, From Timur Bekmambetov
Jul 23rd, 2014
Will Ferrell and Adam McKay Reteam for "Manimal" Action Comedy
Jul 22nd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Unveils 5 Minute Clip
Jul 22nd, 2014
Marvel Will Release One Sequel and One New Franchise Each Year
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Imitation Game," with Benedict Cumberbatch and Keira Knightley
Jul 22nd, 2014
Poster for "Toy Story" Special "Toy Story That Time Forgot"
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Rooney Mara's "Trash" Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Hints He's Set to Play Shazam Superhero
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Comic-Con Poster for "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Jul 21st, 2014
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Remains on Top at Box Office, "Sex Tape" Bombs
Jul 21st, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Says Hercules Would Beat Superman in a Fight
Jul 21st, 2014
First Teaser Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler"
Jul 21st, 2014
"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21
Jul 21st, 2014
Legendary Actor James Garner Dead at 86
Jul 20th, 2014
First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive
Jul 20th, 2014
Kevin Sorbo is Angry He Didn't Get a Cameo in "Hercules" Film
Jul 20th, 2014
Batman and Superman Will Not Appear in "The Flash" or "Arrow" TV Series
Jul 20th, 2014
"Watchmen" Creator Alan Moore Asks Fans to Boycott "Hercules" Film
Jul 20th, 2014
James Gunn Says He'll Direct "Guardians of the Galaxy 2," If The Sequel Happens
Jul 20th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Eddie Murphy is Hollywood's Most Overpaid Actor

Posted: December 5th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Eddie Murphy is HollywoodSubmit Comment
Forbes magazine has released its annual list of Hollywood's most overpaid actors. While Will Ferrell usually tops the list, this year he was able to stay out of the top ten. Meanwhile, Eddie Murphy, who has appeared on the list the last three years, usually in second place, has now taken the top spot.

Murphy's recent films, like "Meet Dave," "A Thousand Words" and "Imagine That," have all been complete failures. "Tower Heist" was supposed to be the actor's comeback, but it didn't perform as well as expected. As a result, Murphy's movies have only been able to earn only $2.30 for every dollar the actor was paid.

Katherine Heigl landed in second place due to such disasters as "One For the Money," which grossed only $37 million. For every dollar she earned, her movies earned back $3.40. Reese Witherspoon ended up in third place due to "How Do You Know," which grossed $50 million on a $120 million budget. Her films earned $3.90 for every dollar she was paid.

Check out the full list below.

1. Eddie Murphy - $2.30 for every $1

2. Katherine Heigl - $3.40 for every $1

3. Reese Witherspoon - $3.90 for every $1

4. Sandra Bullock - $5 for every $1

5. Jack Black - $5.20 for every $1

6. Nicolas Cage - $6 for every $1

7. Adam Sandler - $6.30 for every $1

8. Denzel Washington - $6.30 for every $1

9. Ben Stiller - $6.50 for every $1

10. Sarah Jessica Parker - $7 for every $1

Source: Forbes


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Avirex writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 5:50:19 AM

I want to be an overpaid actor when I grow up.

Avirex writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 5:52:00 AM

Judging by the list, the horse lost the race in tenth place. I thought it was a sure bet.
pornfly writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 5:58:14 AM

YAAYY!
said all the transexual hookers with nice feet
Avirex writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 6:09:32 AM

^^Jared Leto must be one of them.
boogiel writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 7:16:25 AM

"Eddie Murphy is Hollywood's Most Overpaid Actor"

Whoa, It took years for them to figured that out? What a genius!!
telur writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 7:47:27 AM

so where will ferrel in the list?
Crazyhorse writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 7:49:57 AM

liberal Holy-wood can go bankrupt with all the garbage films they put out today for all I care
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:45:37 AM

All the men on that list need to stop making movies and the women head straight to porn.
Kurskij writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:51:49 AM

Nic Cage is PRICELESS.
yoshi187 writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:54:14 AM

I'd like to see an underpaid list
pornfly writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 9:25:25 AM

f*ckin sellout!
says Sam Jackson
bane writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:38:23 AM

1. Eddie Murphy ...sell out

2. Katherine Heigl ...vanilla actress

3. Reese Witherspoon ...walk the line ?????

4. Sandra Bullock ...has been

5. Jack Black ...nicholson wannabe

6. Nicolas Cage ,,,f*ckin pathetic

7. Adam Sandler ...sad SAD sad

8. Denzel Washington ,,,lazy

9. Ben Stiller ,,,over rated

10. Sarah Jessica Parker ,,,waste of time
bane writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:40:15 AM

what i mean is
i saw Reese in WALK THE LINE

she was amazing
but what the f*** has she done since ? ? ?
Ranger writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 11:25:14 AM

telur - where IS Ferrel on that list?!

Sandler and Stiller I can see as well.

Eddie is a one-trick Beverly Hills Cop kind of 1-trick pony.

Hollywood needs new blood.
Kurskij writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 11:30:35 AM

Eddie needs to go back to his "Raw", "48 hours" days.

"You know what we ate? WE ATE TOYS, EDDIE!"
Ranger writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 11:40:25 AM

Yep.
Ranger writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 11:40:49 AM

He won't. He's gone all Dr. Doolittle on us since he's had kids.
Kurskij writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 12:13:29 PM

Yeah, I know that story. But kids grow up. And I bet they'll. E happier if daddy swears but makes good movies then if he makes PG bullsh*t that even a 7 year old will dismiss as "f*cking retarded" (actual quote from a modern 7 year old).
FBO writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 1:30:03 PM

Hollywood needs nuked. If America only knew how much child molestation/statutory rape went on in Hollywood. And half of it is Penn State style! Man on boy.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 2:01:45 PM

I like Washington, HOW is he "Lazy" lol...

I also enjoy most Eddie murphy movies, I liked tower heist, lol that was an alright movie..
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 4:09:24 PM

So an Eddie Murphy movie finally made $2.30?

Guess ole Eddie is off to McDonald's for a McDouble then.
synthetic1985 writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 6:01:24 PM

and to think, justin beiber will successfully make transition from teen to adult, wait, i mean girl to woman? he's got a long road ahead to be in the mindset of a boy because even boys in elementary school don't want to be like him when they grow up...it's a fact not an insult just ask any young boy in elementary school they'll tell you...in the words of joseph gordon levitt in the dark knight rises, 'it might be a good idea to wake up and pay attention to the details'...if you want boys and/or men to want to be like you, it's not that hard to figure out, he just doesn't make the kind of music that guys are into nor does he dress the way a man would...as for eddie murphy and other such stars, make some new inspirational primary works like beverly hills cop and stop trying to relive it...i'll give tower heist a break but eddie should pump out more new stuff if he wants a comeback...just kinda seems like new people with new uniqueness is needed but must be shown off in ways hollywood can't touch until it bites them in the ass and slaps hollywood across the face to give them a wake up call of what people really want, and what people want is the essence of effort into making art, any form of art the way most people did in the 90s and back before it became overloaded with sell outs that keep repeating their momentum of appeal that got them noticed in the first place
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 6:47:47 PM

Tell me again what justin Beiber has to do with this? People who hate JB will do anything to voice they're hate lol even when the descussion has nothing to do with him or music.

"hey bro did you catch the game last night!?"
"Yea I did man, And Justin Beibers a fag!"
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 7:06:26 PM

I think Synthetic was making a rather obvious connection and comparison between the rap-pop bullsh*t stylings of America's most 'popular' and well-paid 'musical artist', and the over-fed loser actors on this list (with the exception of Denzel, whom I actually like and appreciate).
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:30:05 PM

True I guess.. And I agree 100% Denzel is amazing.. I loved Flight btw
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:32:03 PM

Haven't seen it, but I'm sure it's pretty great.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 1:41:07 AM

It's very well done. There's a speech towards the end that he does, You'll know it when you see it, it's VERY Well done.

8/10

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Lindsay Lohan Sues "Grand Theft Auto V" for Using Her Likeness

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Mark Ruffalo Says New "Hulk" Film Will NOT Be "Planet Hulk"

Michael Bay Responds to Negative Criticism of "Transformers: Age of Extinction"

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved