WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils The Hulk Poster
Feb 27th, 2015
Director Neill Blomkamp Says His "Elysium" Film is Not Very Good
Feb 27th, 2015
Harrison Ford Confirmed for "Blade Runner 2," Director Announced
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp Clarifies His "Alien 5" Comments
Feb 27th, 2015
"Red Sonja" is Happening Again
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending
Feb 26th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Iron Man Poster
Feb 26th, 2015
Official "Creed" Plot Synopsis Hints at Rocky's Health Issues
Feb 26th, 2015
Four New Photos From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Feb 26th, 2015
"Tomb Raider" Reboot Hires "Divergent" Writer
Feb 26th, 2015
Poster for Marvel's "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Feb 25th, 2015
Arnold Schwarzenegger Says He'll Return For "Terminator Genisys" Sequel
Feb 25th, 2015
Dark "Power Rangers" Short Film with James Van Der Beek
Feb 25th, 2015
"The LEGO Movie" Sequel Announces Director
Feb 25th, 2015
Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?
Feb 24th, 2015
Chris Pratt Comments on Starring in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 24th, 2015
Rooney Mara Says "Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" Sequel is Dead
Feb 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Action Film, From Director of "Taken"
Feb 24th, 2015
"Fifty Shades of Grey" Still First at Box Office, "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" Bombs
Feb 23rd, 2015
Academy Award Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Steven Spielberg May Direct Chris Pratt in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 22nd, 2015
Hugh Jackman Wants to Play Wolverine Until He Dies
Feb 22nd, 2015
"Wonder Woman" Set to Begin Filming This Fall
Feb 22nd, 2015
2015 Razzie Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Trailer for "Infinitely Polar Bear," with Mark Ruffalo and Zoe Saldana
Feb 22nd, 2015
First Look: Jason Momoa is Aquaman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Feb 21st, 2015
Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Feb 21st, 2015
Jared Leto Talks Playing The Joker in "Suicide Squad"
Feb 21st, 2015
First Look at Johnny Depp as Captain Jack Sparrow in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Feb 21st, 2015
"Mission: Impossible 5" Placed on Hold to Rewrite Ending
Feb 21st, 2015
"Fifty Shades of Grey" Author Demands Control Over Sequel's Script
Feb 20th, 2015
"Shaft" Reboot in the Works
Feb 20th, 2015
First Look at "Texas Rising," with Bill Paxton, Brendan Fraser and Many Others
Feb 20th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Eddie Murphy is Hollywood's Most Overpaid Actor

Posted: December 5th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Eddie Murphy is HollywoodSubmit Comment
Forbes magazine has released its annual list of Hollywood's most overpaid actors. While Will Ferrell usually tops the list, this year he was able to stay out of the top ten. Meanwhile, Eddie Murphy, who has appeared on the list the last three years, usually in second place, has now taken the top spot.

Murphy's recent films, like "Meet Dave," "A Thousand Words" and "Imagine That," have all been complete failures. "Tower Heist" was supposed to be the actor's comeback, but it didn't perform as well as expected. As a result, Murphy's movies have only been able to earn only $2.30 for every dollar the actor was paid.

Katherine Heigl landed in second place due to such disasters as "One For the Money," which grossed only $37 million. For every dollar she earned, her movies earned back $3.40. Reese Witherspoon ended up in third place due to "How Do You Know," which grossed $50 million on a $120 million budget. Her films earned $3.90 for every dollar she was paid.

Check out the full list below.

1. Eddie Murphy - $2.30 for every $1

2. Katherine Heigl - $3.40 for every $1

3. Reese Witherspoon - $3.90 for every $1

4. Sandra Bullock - $5 for every $1

5. Jack Black - $5.20 for every $1

6. Nicolas Cage - $6 for every $1

7. Adam Sandler - $6.30 for every $1

8. Denzel Washington - $6.30 for every $1

9. Ben Stiller - $6.50 for every $1

10. Sarah Jessica Parker - $7 for every $1

Source: Forbes


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Avirex writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 5:50:19 AM

I want to be an overpaid actor when I grow up.

Avirex writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 5:52:00 AM

Judging by the list, the horse lost the race in tenth place. I thought it was a sure bet.
pornfly writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 5:58:14 AM

YAAYY!
said all the transexual hookers with nice feet
Avirex writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 6:09:32 AM

^^Jared Leto must be one of them.
boogiel writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 7:16:25 AM

"Eddie Murphy is Hollywood's Most Overpaid Actor"

Whoa, It took years for them to figured that out? What a genius!!
telur writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 7:47:27 AM

so where will ferrel in the list?
Crazyhorse writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 7:49:57 AM

liberal Holy-wood can go bankrupt with all the garbage films they put out today for all I care
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:45:37 AM

All the men on that list need to stop making movies and the women head straight to porn.
Kurskij writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:51:49 AM

Nic Cage is PRICELESS.
yoshi187 writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:54:14 AM

I'd like to see an underpaid list
pornfly writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 9:25:25 AM

f*ckin sellout!
says Sam Jackson
bane writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:38:23 AM

1. Eddie Murphy ...sell out

2. Katherine Heigl ...vanilla actress

3. Reese Witherspoon ...walk the line ?????

4. Sandra Bullock ...has been

5. Jack Black ...nicholson wannabe

6. Nicolas Cage ,,,f*ckin pathetic

7. Adam Sandler ...sad SAD sad

8. Denzel Washington ,,,lazy

9. Ben Stiller ,,,over rated

10. Sarah Jessica Parker ,,,waste of time
bane writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:40:15 AM

what i mean is
i saw Reese in WALK THE LINE

she was amazing
but what the f*** has she done since ? ? ?
Ranger writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 11:25:14 AM

telur - where IS Ferrel on that list?!

Sandler and Stiller I can see as well.

Eddie is a one-trick Beverly Hills Cop kind of 1-trick pony.

Hollywood needs new blood.
Kurskij writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 11:30:35 AM

Eddie needs to go back to his "Raw", "48 hours" days.

"You know what we ate? WE ATE TOYS, EDDIE!"
Ranger writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 11:40:25 AM

Yep.
Ranger writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 11:40:49 AM

He won't. He's gone all Dr. Doolittle on us since he's had kids.
Kurskij writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 12:13:29 PM

Yeah, I know that story. But kids grow up. And I bet they'll. E happier if daddy swears but makes good movies then if he makes PG bullsh*t that even a 7 year old will dismiss as "f*cking retarded" (actual quote from a modern 7 year old).
FBO writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 1:30:03 PM

Hollywood needs nuked. If America only knew how much child molestation/statutory rape went on in Hollywood. And half of it is Penn State style! Man on boy.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 2:01:45 PM

I like Washington, HOW is he "Lazy" lol...

I also enjoy most Eddie murphy movies, I liked tower heist, lol that was an alright movie..
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 4:09:24 PM

So an Eddie Murphy movie finally made $2.30?

Guess ole Eddie is off to McDonald's for a McDouble then.
synthetic1985 writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 6:01:24 PM

and to think, justin beiber will successfully make transition from teen to adult, wait, i mean girl to woman? he's got a long road ahead to be in the mindset of a boy because even boys in elementary school don't want to be like him when they grow up...it's a fact not an insult just ask any young boy in elementary school they'll tell you...in the words of joseph gordon levitt in the dark knight rises, 'it might be a good idea to wake up and pay attention to the details'...if you want boys and/or men to want to be like you, it's not that hard to figure out, he just doesn't make the kind of music that guys are into nor does he dress the way a man would...as for eddie murphy and other such stars, make some new inspirational primary works like beverly hills cop and stop trying to relive it...i'll give tower heist a break but eddie should pump out more new stuff if he wants a comeback...just kinda seems like new people with new uniqueness is needed but must be shown off in ways hollywood can't touch until it bites them in the ass and slaps hollywood across the face to give them a wake up call of what people really want, and what people want is the essence of effort into making art, any form of art the way most people did in the 90s and back before it became overloaded with sell outs that keep repeating their momentum of appeal that got them noticed in the first place
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 6:47:47 PM

Tell me again what justin Beiber has to do with this? People who hate JB will do anything to voice they're hate lol even when the descussion has nothing to do with him or music.

"hey bro did you catch the game last night!?"
"Yea I did man, And Justin Beibers a fag!"
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 7:06:26 PM

I think Synthetic was making a rather obvious connection and comparison between the rap-pop bullsh*t stylings of America's most 'popular' and well-paid 'musical artist', and the over-fed loser actors on this list (with the exception of Denzel, whom I actually like and appreciate).
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:30:05 PM

True I guess.. And I agree 100% Denzel is amazing.. I loved Flight btw
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:32:03 PM

Haven't seen it, but I'm sure it's pretty great.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 1:41:07 AM

It's very well done. There's a speech towards the end that he does, You'll know it when you see it, it's VERY Well done.

8/10

Will Smith Trashes "Another Earth," Vince Vaughn Trashes "The Internship"

Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

More Details on Marvel's Spider-Man Deal, New Spider-Man to be Younger

Mark Ruffalo Discusses The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" and in New Solo Film

It's Official: Spider-Man to Appear in Marvel Films

Matthew Vaughn Reveals His Version of Quicksilver Scene in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Director Matthew Vaughn Wanted Two Wolverines in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Confirmed: Neill Blomkamp Will Direct New "Alien" Film

Disney Wants to Reboot "Indiana Jones" with Chris Pratt

Robert Downey Jr Hints at "Captain America: Civil War" Storyline
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved