WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Tim Burton Doesn't Like Marvel Films, Says Superheroes Should Be Happier
Dec 17th, 2014
Orlando Bloom Says "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" is a Reboot
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Will Direct "Beetlejuice 2," Confirms Winona Ryder Will Return
Dec 17th, 2014
Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy Unveils Pac-Man and Donkey Kong Posters
Dec 17th, 2014
New Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Dec 17th, 2014
First Look at "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 16th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino Interested in "Django Unchained" and "Zorro" Crossover Film
Dec 16th, 2014
Lots of "Ghostbusters 3" Story Details Leaked
Dec 16th, 2014
Trailer for Terrence Malick's "Knight of Cups," with Christian Bale and Natalie Portman
Dec 16th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel Gets New Title and Release Date, JK Simmons Joins Cast
Dec 16th, 2014
Five Actresses in Talks for "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Role
Dec 16th, 2014
20th Century Fox Planning to Merge "Fantastic Four" With "X-Men"
Dec 15th, 2014
"Aquaman" Film Considering "Mud" Director Jeff Nichols
Dec 15th, 2014
Tim Burton Says "Beetlejuice 2" is Closer Than Ever
Dec 15th, 2014
First Look at Batman's Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" in Color
Dec 15th, 2014
Jeremy Irons Says Alfred in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" is Very Different
Dec 15th, 2014
"Exodus: Gods and Kings" Underperforms at Box Office
Dec 15th, 2014
Disney Still Planning to Make "Indiana Jones 5"
Dec 14th, 2014
Trailer for Fake Movie "MoonQuake Lake," with Ashton Kutcher and Mila Kunis
Dec 14th, 2014
Concept Art From Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Dec 14th, 2014
First Teaser for "Descendants," About Children of Maleficent, Jafar, Cruella and Other Disney Villains
Dec 14th, 2014
Marvel Would Have Recast Spider-Man in "Captain America: Civil War"
Dec 13th, 2014
Sony Asking Sam Raimi and "Captain America 2" Directors For Help With "Spider-Man" Franchise
Dec 13th, 2014
James Gunn Says "Guardians of the Galaxy" and "Avengers" Will NOT Team Up
Dec 13th, 2014
"Ghostbusters 3" Actresses Shortlist Revealed, Sony Planned to Sue Bill Murray
Dec 13th, 2014
Animated "Super Mario Bros" Movie Coming
Dec 13th, 2014
Simon Pegg is an Assassin in "Kill Me Three Times" Trailer
Dec 13th, 2014
Full Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Insurgent" is Here!
Dec 13th, 2014
Trailer for Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Action Film, From Director of "Taken"
Dec 13th, 2014
Trailer for Taylor Lautner's "Tracers" Action Thriller
Dec 12th, 2014
New Trailer for Michael Mann's "Blackhat" Thriller, with Chris Hemsworth
Dec 12th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Loft" Thriller, with Karl Urban and James Marsden
Dec 12th, 2014
New Trailer for Jason Statham's "Wild Card" Thriller
Dec 12th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Eddie Murphy is Hollywood's Most Overpaid Actor

Posted: December 5th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Eddie Murphy is HollywoodSubmit Comment
Forbes magazine has released its annual list of Hollywood's most overpaid actors. While Will Ferrell usually tops the list, this year he was able to stay out of the top ten. Meanwhile, Eddie Murphy, who has appeared on the list the last three years, usually in second place, has now taken the top spot.

Murphy's recent films, like "Meet Dave," "A Thousand Words" and "Imagine That," have all been complete failures. "Tower Heist" was supposed to be the actor's comeback, but it didn't perform as well as expected. As a result, Murphy's movies have only been able to earn only $2.30 for every dollar the actor was paid.

Katherine Heigl landed in second place due to such disasters as "One For the Money," which grossed only $37 million. For every dollar she earned, her movies earned back $3.40. Reese Witherspoon ended up in third place due to "How Do You Know," which grossed $50 million on a $120 million budget. Her films earned $3.90 for every dollar she was paid.

Check out the full list below.

1. Eddie Murphy - $2.30 for every $1

2. Katherine Heigl - $3.40 for every $1

3. Reese Witherspoon - $3.90 for every $1

4. Sandra Bullock - $5 for every $1

5. Jack Black - $5.20 for every $1

6. Nicolas Cage - $6 for every $1

7. Adam Sandler - $6.30 for every $1

8. Denzel Washington - $6.30 for every $1

9. Ben Stiller - $6.50 for every $1

10. Sarah Jessica Parker - $7 for every $1

Source: Forbes


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Avirex writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 5:50:19 AM

I want to be an overpaid actor when I grow up.

Avirex writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 5:52:00 AM

Judging by the list, the horse lost the race in tenth place. I thought it was a sure bet.
pornfly writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 5:58:14 AM

YAAYY!
said all the transexual hookers with nice feet
Avirex writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 6:09:32 AM

^^Jared Leto must be one of them.
boogiel writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 7:16:25 AM

"Eddie Murphy is Hollywood's Most Overpaid Actor"

Whoa, It took years for them to figured that out? What a genius!!
telur writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 7:47:27 AM

so where will ferrel in the list?
Crazyhorse writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 7:49:57 AM

liberal Holy-wood can go bankrupt with all the garbage films they put out today for all I care
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:45:37 AM

All the men on that list need to stop making movies and the women head straight to porn.
Kurskij writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:51:49 AM

Nic Cage is PRICELESS.
yoshi187 writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 8:54:14 AM

I'd like to see an underpaid list
pornfly writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 9:25:25 AM

f*ckin sellout!
says Sam Jackson
bane writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:38:23 AM

1. Eddie Murphy ...sell out

2. Katherine Heigl ...vanilla actress

3. Reese Witherspoon ...walk the line ?????

4. Sandra Bullock ...has been

5. Jack Black ...nicholson wannabe

6. Nicolas Cage ,,,f*ckin pathetic

7. Adam Sandler ...sad SAD sad

8. Denzel Washington ,,,lazy

9. Ben Stiller ,,,over rated

10. Sarah Jessica Parker ,,,waste of time
bane writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:40:15 AM

what i mean is
i saw Reese in WALK THE LINE

she was amazing
but what the f*** has she done since ? ? ?
Ranger writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 11:25:14 AM

telur - where IS Ferrel on that list?!

Sandler and Stiller I can see as well.

Eddie is a one-trick Beverly Hills Cop kind of 1-trick pony.

Hollywood needs new blood.
Kurskij writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 11:30:35 AM

Eddie needs to go back to his "Raw", "48 hours" days.

"You know what we ate? WE ATE TOYS, EDDIE!"
Ranger writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 11:40:25 AM

Yep.
Ranger writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 11:40:49 AM

He won't. He's gone all Dr. Doolittle on us since he's had kids.
Kurskij writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 12:13:29 PM

Yeah, I know that story. But kids grow up. And I bet they'll. E happier if daddy swears but makes good movies then if he makes PG bullsh*t that even a 7 year old will dismiss as "f*cking retarded" (actual quote from a modern 7 year old).
FBO writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 1:30:03 PM

Hollywood needs nuked. If America only knew how much child molestation/statutory rape went on in Hollywood. And half of it is Penn State style! Man on boy.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 2:01:45 PM

I like Washington, HOW is he "Lazy" lol...

I also enjoy most Eddie murphy movies, I liked tower heist, lol that was an alright movie..
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 4:09:24 PM

So an Eddie Murphy movie finally made $2.30?

Guess ole Eddie is off to McDonald's for a McDouble then.
synthetic1985 writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 6:01:24 PM

and to think, justin beiber will successfully make transition from teen to adult, wait, i mean girl to woman? he's got a long road ahead to be in the mindset of a boy because even boys in elementary school don't want to be like him when they grow up...it's a fact not an insult just ask any young boy in elementary school they'll tell you...in the words of joseph gordon levitt in the dark knight rises, 'it might be a good idea to wake up and pay attention to the details'...if you want boys and/or men to want to be like you, it's not that hard to figure out, he just doesn't make the kind of music that guys are into nor does he dress the way a man would...as for eddie murphy and other such stars, make some new inspirational primary works like beverly hills cop and stop trying to relive it...i'll give tower heist a break but eddie should pump out more new stuff if he wants a comeback...just kinda seems like new people with new uniqueness is needed but must be shown off in ways hollywood can't touch until it bites them in the ass and slaps hollywood across the face to give them a wake up call of what people really want, and what people want is the essence of effort into making art, any form of art the way most people did in the 90s and back before it became overloaded with sell outs that keep repeating their momentum of appeal that got them noticed in the first place
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 6:47:47 PM

Tell me again what justin Beiber has to do with this? People who hate JB will do anything to voice they're hate lol even when the descussion has nothing to do with him or music.

"hey bro did you catch the game last night!?"
"Yea I did man, And Justin Beibers a fag!"
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 7:06:26 PM

I think Synthetic was making a rather obvious connection and comparison between the rap-pop bullsh*t stylings of America's most 'popular' and well-paid 'musical artist', and the over-fed loser actors on this list (with the exception of Denzel, whom I actually like and appreciate).
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:30:05 PM

True I guess.. And I agree 100% Denzel is amazing.. I loved Flight btw
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 10:32:03 PM

Haven't seen it, but I'm sure it's pretty great.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 1:41:07 AM

It's very well done. There's a speech towards the end that he does, You'll know it when you see it, it's VERY Well done.

8/10

Shia LaBeouf Says He Was Raped During His #IAmSorry Stunt

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TIME Magazine's Top 10 Best and Worst Films of 2014

It's Official: Jared Leto is The Joker and Will Smith is Deadshot in "Suicide Squad"

Christian Bale Says He'll Never Work With "Terminator Salvation" Director Again

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy

Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"

"Demolition Man" Writer Explains How He Came Up with The Three Seashells

"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Still Rules Box Office, "The Pyramid" Bombed

Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved