WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
First Look at Dolph Lundgren in "Kindergarten Cop" Sequel
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" is Here!
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Life," with Dane DeHaan as James Dean
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Trumbo," with Bryan Cranston and Helen Mirren
Aug 13th, 2015
Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?
Aug 9th, 2015
James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot
Aug 9th, 2015
Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews
Aug 8th, 2015
Three Actresses in Talks for "Gambit" Female Lead
Aug 8th, 2015
Trailer for "By The Sea," with Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie
Aug 8th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Seth MacFarlane to Direct "A Million Ways to Die in the West" Comedy

Posted: December 4th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Seth MacFarlane to Direct "A Million Ways to Die in the West" ComedySubmit Comment
When Seth MacFarlane, the creator of "Family Guy" and "American Dad," wanted to direct "Ted," almost everyone turned him down, even 20th Century Fox, which has made millions from MacFarlane's shows.

Then Media Rights Capital funded the film and Universal Pictures distributed it. "Ted" ended up being one of the biggest hits of 2012, grossing over $500 million on a $50 million budget.

Now comes word that MacFarlane is re-teaming with Media Rights Capital, "Ted" writers Alec Sulking and Wellesley Wild, and "Ted" producer Scott Stuber for "A Million Ways to Die in the West," a new comedy that's being compared to "Blazing Saddles."

Very little is known about the plot, except that it will focus on how dangerous and painful life really was in the late 1800s. MacFarlane will direct and planning to star.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SACdaddy writes:
on December 4th, 2012 at 7:34:38 AM

$500 mill!!!! WTF!?!? I had no idea it was that successful.
Avirex writes:
on December 4th, 2012 at 8:07:51 AM

He is about as talented as my left testicle.
yoshi187 writes:
on December 4th, 2012 at 8:44:40 AM

I don't get the MacFarlane hating on WP. The guy is talented, successful and genuinely funny. Yes he's milked a lot of jokes but his shows are still a lot funnier than most shat on TV, especially American Dad. And at the same time he manages to take the absolute piss out of the joke that is FOX and get away with it.

Saying that though, I doubt this film will be as good as Blazing Saddles. Ted was good (the duck and Patrick Stewart being the highlights) but it wasn't amazing.
Avirex writes:
on December 4th, 2012 at 9:06:58 AM

"successful"

So is Kim Kardashian, Justin Bieber, Channing Tatum, etc. but that doesn't mean sh*t. People are just gullible enough to eat it up like they do this guy's projects.

The most original thing he's done is that voice in Hellboy 2.
Bunny X writes:
on December 4th, 2012 at 9:38:21 AM

Love him or hate him or whatever, he has made a sh*tload of money for what he likes to do. I can't fault him at all.
What kills me is that not even Fox bank rolled him for Ted even though he has yet to have a misstep. But then again, when has Fox made a right decision? If he was a jerk (more than he already is) he would give Fox a chance at backing him again on this one with a ton of conditions that he can screw them over with. But he won't. He'll continue to make them money and make himself richer.
James Blond writes:
on December 4th, 2012 at 11:11:02 AM

avirex, seems that you dont like your testicle, or your testicle is very succesful to the ladys?
diddler writes:
on December 4th, 2012 at 12:42:02 PM

"Being compared to blazing saddles." No.
minkowski writes:
on December 4th, 2012 at 3:03:27 PM

"Love him or hate him or whatever, he has made a sh*tload of money for what he likes to do. I can't fault him at all."

...because making money is all that matters, all that defines a person, all that's left for people who have nothing to believe in, people with nothing to think or dream or hope for.

And you idiots wonder why your country is in the toilet and why all that's left is for someone to flush the turd.

Stupid, selfish, mindless, thoughtless uncultured, uneducated boorish drone morons.



Btw, someone should grab a Ouija board to tell Emily d*ckinson and Vincent van Gogh they suck ass, because neither of them made sh*t for their works, nor did the guys who wrote the f*cking Constitution or the Declaration of Independence.
Mudders writes:
on December 4th, 2012 at 7:44:51 PM

@avirex

hellboy 2 voice original?

that was just klaus from american dad

i love what mcfarlane has done...i laugh like heck at family guy,american dad and ted for that matter...one of the most funniest things ive seen in ages

dont rate him as a leading actor though...that might be a stretch
Avirex writes:
on December 4th, 2012 at 11:24:56 PM

@Mudders

That was my point. He hasn't done anything original.

Even Ted was just a financially successful version of Paul.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 1:22:41 AM

And you idiots wonder why your country is in the toilet and why all that's left is for someone to flush the turd.

Stupid, selfish, mindless, thoughtless uncultured, uneducated boorish drone morons.

COMMENT OF THE WEEK.
Mudders writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 5:49:03 AM

@ avirex

sorry mate...hard to see sarcasm via text lol
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 5th, 2012 at 11:03:41 AM

Compared to BLAZING SADDLES?!

Whoa-Whoa-Whoa!! Lets not get ahead of ourselves now...
Bunny X writes:
on December 6th, 2012 at 11:27:20 AM

So @Mink, you mean to tell me that if an entity wanted to pay you tons of money to do what you love to (for this example, let's say being an obnoxious ass) you wouldn't do it because money does not define you? are we supposed to follow your guidelines and turn down any and all offers until we get the one that allows us to do holier than thou tasks for whatever the pay, if any?
If the guy is getting paid doing what he loves to do, I applaud him. Like it or not, money spins this world. It's why womanizing sports stars are paid millions to throw a ball around and teachers who are in charge of the minds of our children are paid crap. Glad to see you're doing your part in the global change by venting your disdain on a movie preview site.
I've always respected yours and just about everyone else's opinion on here regardless if it agreed with mine or attacked me, but sometimes an *sshole is just an *sshole and needs to be called such.

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved