WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
New Photo of Ben Affleck as Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 25th, 2014
Restricted Trailer for "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" is Here!
Jul 25th, 2014
First Photos From "Hitman: Agent 47" Reboot
Jul 25th, 2014
Two New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Posters, with Captain America and Black Widow
Jul 24th, 2014
Trailer for "50 Shades of Grey" Arrives Online
Jul 24th, 2014
First Two Posters for "Avengers: Age of Ultron" are Here!
Jul 24th, 2014
First Poster for Marvel's "Ant-Man" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2014
Photos: Batman's Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" On Display at Comic-Con
Jul 24th, 2014
Marvel Takes Old "The Amazing Spider-Man 4" Date, Likely for "Avengers 3"
Jul 24th, 2014
"Hitman: Agent 47" Unveils Comic-Con Banner
Jul 24th, 2014
New Trailer for Pierce Brosnan's "The November Man" Thriller
Jul 24th, 2014
Sony Announces Release Plan for "The Amazing Spider-Man 3" and "Sinister Six"
Jul 24th, 2014
Poster for "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies" Arrives Online
Jul 24th, 2014
"Pirates of the Caribbean 5" and "Sinister 2" Unveil Release Dates
Jul 24th, 2014
Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Mad Max: Fury Road" Unveils First Poster
Jul 23rd, 2014
Marvel Says Real Mandarin and Red Skull May Soon Make an Appearance
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Miss Julie," with Colin Farrell and Jessica Chastain
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Predators" Writer to Turn "Deus Ex" Video Game Into a Movie
Jul 23rd, 2014
New Banner for Brad Pitt's "Fury" War Film
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Space Station 76" Sci-Fi Spoof, with Patrick Wilson and Liv Tyler
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Insidious: Chapter 3" is Now Filming, First Photo Revealed
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Cybernatural" Horror Film, From Timur Bekmambetov
Jul 23rd, 2014
Will Ferrell and Adam McKay Reteam for "Manimal" Action Comedy
Jul 22nd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Unveils 5 Minute Clip
Jul 22nd, 2014
Marvel Will Release One Sequel and One New Franchise Each Year
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Imitation Game," with Benedict Cumberbatch and Keira Knightley
Jul 22nd, 2014
Poster for "Toy Story" Special "Toy Story That Time Forgot"
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Rooney Mara's "Trash" Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Hints He's Set to Play Shazam Superhero
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Brad Pitt's "Killing Them Softly" and "The Collection" Underperform at Box Office

Posted: December 2nd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Brad PittSubmit Comment
"The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn - Part 2" once again took first place at the domestic box office by grossing slightly over $17 million for a new worldwide total of $702 million. The film earned $447.8 million internationally, becoming the highest-grossing "Twilight" film overseas.

Brad Pitt's $15 million "Killing Them Softly" film badly underperformed, grossing only $7 million and landing in a lousy seventh place at the box office. But due to such a low budget, the movie will likely become profitable. It has a 78% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

The other wide release of the weekend, "The Collection," also underperformed. The film, which is a sequel to "The Collector," grossed only $3.4 million and landed in tenth place. It has an estimated budget of $10 million and a fresh rating of 44%. "The Collector" was released in 2009 and had a similar unimpressive opening.

Click here to read our "Killing Them Softly" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 51 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
velocityknown writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 9:14:26 PM

I don't understand, did people expect Killing Them Softly an R-rated film directed by Andrew Dominik to do THAT well against Breaking Dawn, Skyfall, Wreck It Ralph, and Lincoln? I think saying it "badly underperformed" is a bit of an overstatement.
cress writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 9:14:47 PM

Brad will console himself from this box office flop by suckling on the huge breasts of Angelina later tonight.
Rambo writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 9:20:13 PM

@velocity

when you got a star like brad pitt all the details you've mentioned don't matter.it flopped badly.

@cress

huge breasts???wtf are you talking about?

http://img.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2007/08_01/Jolie100807SPLA_468x505.jpg
bandolero999 writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 9:21:58 PM

Brad Pitt stills has millions and the movie costed nothing.
cress writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 9:37:24 PM

@Rambo. Looks like the milks gone bad.

I remember some titty titans from her role in Gia though.
minkowski writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 9:40:57 PM

Meh. The Collection will go on to make a profit of ten bucks and that'll be enough to bankroll another bullsh*t sequel. Or three.

Killing Them Softly. Brad Pitt is past his heyday and he was never anything more than a GQ model turned actor. He had some good roles, like 12Monkeys and Fight Club but more often then not he was a waste of casting.

he just doesn't have the box-office draw, especially when debuting opposite such trendy trash as Twilight, which if you think about it, is at death's doors, and thus, really, a poor time to try to compete. Should have pushed the release date either up or back. Just not enough air in the room.

Then there's the marketing, and from I can tell, the cheapness of the film carried over into selling it. Low budget, no money spent getting it out there. And the content doesn't exactly lend itself to the holiday season either.

Poor marketing, poor placement, poor choice of a lead, really.
minkowski writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 9:48:29 PM

Brutal. They should have released this movie never.

Brad Pitt's "Killing Them Softly" barely had a pulse at the box office this weekend.

Not only did the crime flick debut with a weak $7 million, according to an estimate from distributor The Weinstein Co., but audiences hated it. Those who saw the film assigned it a rare average grade of F, according to market research firm CinemaScore. The last movie to earn that grade was January's horror film "The Devil Inside."

Pitt's movie got slaughtered by a handful of films that have been available to moviegoers for weeks. Young women have yet to tire of "The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn -- Part 2," which was No. 1 for the third consecutive weekend. The last installment in the vampire franchise grossed an additional $17.4 million this weekend, raising its domestic total to $254.6 million. That's about $8 million ahead of where "Breaking Dawn -- Part 1" was at the same point in its release last year.
.
.
.
.
As for "Killing Them Softly," on Sunday morning, even The Weinstein Co. wasn't trying to pretend there was any upside to the film's poor opening.

"We're disappointed, and there's no getting around that,” said Erik Lomis, the independent studio's president of theatrical distribution and home entertainment. "We thought it was deserving of a wide release because it was Brad Pitt in a gangster movie."



*Brad Pitt in a gangster movie....at X-Mas time against entrenched, popular franchises...wtf?*



http://www.latimes.com/entertainment/envelope/cotown/la-et-ct-brad-pitt-killing-them-softly-box-office-20121202,0,2934122.story
minkowski writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 9:51:29 PM

""Killing Them Softly" marks the lowest wide-release opening for Pitt in nearly two decades. He hasn't had a live-action film perform this badly in its first weekend since the beginning of his career, when his 1994 romantic comedy "The Favor" launched with $1.5 million."


So, is Brad Pitt's film career virtually over?

Discuss!

(remember when Alex ended articles with that command?)
OneTime writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 9:57:33 PM

pitts movie was pretty painful to watch...so boring...dont waste ur time.
OneTime writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 9:59:49 PM

no need to mock me for going to see it

i already paid the price.
cress writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 10:47:26 PM

World War Z might be a hit.
DriveMemento writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 10:52:36 PM

Killing Them Softly. Good movie.
Kurskij writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 10:59:12 PM

^so did I more than month ago. It still hurts...

"So, is Brad Pitt's film career virtually over?"

Nope, nowhere near that. Now if "World War Z" bombs - and that's a very small if - he will be in trouble.

"Killing them softly" is a butthurt for him because he produced it and let his favorite Dominik roam freely, which resulted in a poor movie - essentially a $15 mil. art-house flick with Brad Pitt. There's nothing commercial about it. If not for Pitt it wouldn't have grossed anything at all.

Weinsteins f*cked up with release date - movies like this are better positioned for September release. It's a hit-and-run kind of movie - try to grab as much cash as you can during opening weekend and then watch your movie die quickly due to disastrous WOM.

If it opened to $10-11 mil. - they would be alright.

Pitt and Dominik failed before (and much harder) with critical darling "The Assassination of Jesse James" - it was a more expensive movie that never made it out of limited release and failed overseas as well.

Dominik will have problems finding funds for his next movie though.

Kurskij writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 11:04:37 PM

"We thought it was deserving of a wide release because it was Brad Pitt in a gangster movie"

Ah, come the f*ck on! You thought it was deserving of a wide release because you had contactual obligation with Pitt's "Plan B". You were desperately trying to sell it as "Brad Pitt in a badass gangster movie" while it was "people sitting around talking" kind of movie, and not a good one. That's why you dumped it on post-Thanksgiving weekend that haven't had a hit in 20 years.
Kurskij writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 11:11:49 PM

Excuse me, 10 years.
GreenLensman writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 11:50:02 PM

time for a Fight Club 2
DexterMorgan writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 12:10:04 AM

i really wanna see the collection,loved the collector
GreenLensman writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 12:34:28 AM

hollywood is the biggest troll of all, they invite you in with a nice trailer then kick your nuts so hard you forget how to feel colors
bane writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 2:12:59 AM

@ velocityknown

well said

''did people really expect
an R-rated film directed by Andrew Dominik
to do THAT well against TWILIGHT and SKYFALL''

i saw it in my local cinema here
in listowel.. ireland

i loved it
the reason people don't like it is because
it did for gangsters
what IDES OF MARCH did for politics
it avoids all the typical oscar moments
it is a kinda slow quiet film
there is no big acting in this
bane writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 2:15:59 AM

remember
it was the exact same kinda reviews
when the assassination of
jesse james was in cinemas they were all mad it was not what they expected...
just because brad pitt is a ''star''

it never spoon feeds the audience
GreenLensman writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 2:21:22 AM

skyline is a good movie (discuss)
sedibus writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 2:21:26 AM

Kind of enjoyed this flick, but although haven't read the novel by Higgins, it looked like it should needed a little bit more development, but now that I remember it was handle correctly, for sure.

Moody. Well paced. The Negotiation was smooth all around the movie. I mean, mate, you can't expect that every decision will lead to the end of the world.

But better things can be done with less money, indeed.

Recently saw Troll Hunter, underworld 3 and 4, Resident Evil Retribution, Savages, ParaNorman, Twixt, This movie, Looper and the french Holy Motors, right now I'm all over Rendezvous A bráy, though.

The overall consensus is that good movies for a sunday night.
bane writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 2:22:26 AM

@ GreenLensman

they invite us in with a trailer...

then the movie
is different to what we expected

we all wanted another GoodFellas
GreenLensman writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 2:49:27 AM

yea well you won't get one until they remake it with danny devito's corpse as joe pesci
GreenLensman writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 2:54:52 AM

its like ordering a dominoes pizza and while you're eating it view a yahoo article on what dominoes employees "do" to your pizza
GreenLensman writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 3:04:22 AM

I actually wrote a script for "Fight Club 2" and it rapes my *sshole every time I read it out loud.
GreenLensman writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 3:19:16 AM

well here's the opening lines: (marla) I named her charlotte…
(-jack) really? Why?
Because every time I order a latte I think of burning babies
-wow
Its because of the ash you left behind
-Ash?
You left everything, not just me
-That was my plan…apparently, im sorry, I didn’t know
How could you know, you were obsessed with your little projects
-I was falling in love with you
Bull sh*t you were falling in love with an army You were falling to no end
-And you saved me…
Oh my god, you are relentless
GreenLensman writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 3:27:40 AM

i lied and just came up with that 5 mins ago, and already am more amused than sh*t coming out of hollywoods ass
GreenLensman writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 3:29:02 AM

king cobra and box wine are the sh*t
GreenLensman writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 3:35:15 AM

snakes eat other snakes, because they are the same shape
sedibus writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 4:02:17 AM

Nah, Man Bites Dog, cannibalism all the way up.

So pretty much. I don't know why saying they made the trailer feel like Goodfellas 2.

What I'm saying here is, a better movie could have been done with much less money.
GreenLensman writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 4:19:18 AM

I could write/direct the best movie ever made on a 10k budget, It goes like this:

A man is not a man until he inherits his fathers fortune, then spends it on making a movie about his failure children, doing nothing but answering life's most important questions and solving the riddles pertaining to its biggest mysteries
sedibus writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 4:24:09 AM

Yeah? Oh well, I have 20k here, I'll take my chances soon, but not too soon.
Avirex writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 4:45:26 AM

"Killing Them Softly, it was basically one big, oppressively cynical F-you to America and everything you stand for. It’s a heavy-handed, angry, snot-nosed movie meant to piss people off – that’s what it did, and that’s a big part of why I enjoyed it."
bane writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 4:49:21 AM

@ GreenLensman


page i created

http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Best-Supporting-Actor-2013-oscar-predictions/439932229370991?fref=ts
bane writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 4:50:54 AM

here is another one :)

http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Best-Supporting-Actress-2013-oscar-predictions/257222547715659?fref=ts
bane writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 4:52:16 AM

most people
have more or less decided Day Lewis will win for LINCOLN but...

http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Best-Actor-2013-oscar-predictions/252818534829033?fref=ts
bane writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 4:53:49 AM

i will be very happy
if Mary Elizabeth Winstead wins for SMASHED

http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Best-Actress-2013-oscar-predictions/375589302496418?fref=ts
bane writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 5:06:53 AM

and last but not least...

http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Best-Picture-2013-oscar-predictions/169862293146220?fref=ts
bane writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 5:09:22 AM

@ Avirex

wait till you read the book
it feels like a robert mitchum movie
the location change to new orleans was genius
that way you get this real sad atmosphere
just like a movie from the 70's
bane writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 5:10:25 AM

forget LINCOLN and LES MISERABLES

this will win best picture

http://www.movie2k.to/Argo-watch-movie-2144957.html
pornfly writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 5:13:48 AM

Everybody is full of crack

I have Killing Them Softly and Dave Chappelle is the funniest man alive
Kurskij writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 6:40:23 AM

@bane

What "Ides of march" did for politics that "All the kings men" or "West wing" didn't?
TheGreatpersuader writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 6:49:54 AM

It underperformed like minks mother in her sex show trafficking days.
bane writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 7:39:21 AM

@ Kurskij

what i mean is..
"Ides of march" had no big moments
that would have been shown at the oscars
same as Killing them Softly has no Goodfellas style scenes

when you say ALL THE KINGS MEN..

is that sean penn or broderick crawford ? ? ?
bane writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 7:40:29 AM

EMPIRE magazine top 10 of 2012

10.RUST AND BONE
9.HEADHUNTERS
8.THE RAID
7.MOONRISE KINGDOM
6.SIGHTSEERS
5.BEASTS OF THE SOUTHERN WILD
4.SKYFALL
3.THE DARK KNIGHT RISES
2.ARGO
1.THE AVENGERS
GreenLensman writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 11:41:47 AM

thought i couldn't like Guy Pearce any more then the piece of sh*t Lawless happens
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 12:22:54 PM

@Mink, Don't forget about Benjamen Button, He was. Terrific in that film..

And I'm gonna see this shortly, Looks good enough for a theater appearance from Le TanMan :)

@Greenlensmen Skyline Sucked lol, Sorry :( and what's wrong with Lawless!?

@Bane, No 'The Hunter' In that list? Lol what a sh*tty list..

GreenLensman writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 2:11:01 PM

i couldn't handle all the fake f*cking accents from a brit and a shia ledoosh, and the whole movie was just awkward
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 6:11:01 PM

Well i liked it lol :P
Kurskij writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 6:14:25 PM

"when you say ALL THE KINGS MEN..

is that sean penn or broderick crawford"

1949. Robert Rossen's

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

Lindsay Lohan Sues "Grand Theft Auto V" for Using Her Likeness

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Mark Ruffalo Says New "Hulk" Film Will NOT Be "Planet Hulk"

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved