WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Four Directors Considered for "Fast and Furious 8"
Oct 7th, 2015
"The Flash" Movie Hires Director
Oct 7th, 2015
Restricted Trailer for "Triple Nine," with Casey Affleck and Woody Harrelson
Oct 7th, 2015
Nicolas Cage Turned Down Lead Role in "Lord of the Rings"
Oct 5th, 2015
First Look at Matthew McConaughey in "Gold"
Oct 5th, 2015
"Thor 3" Found Its Director
Oct 5th, 2015
"Power Rangers" Reboot is Testing These Eight Actors
Oct 5th, 2015
James McAvoy in Talks for M. Night Shyamalan's New Supernatural Thriller
Oct 5th, 2015
Final Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Oct 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Kurt Russell's "Bone Tomahawk" Western
Oct 3rd, 2015
Reboot of "MacGyver" TV Series in the Works with James Wan
Oct 3rd, 2015
Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Oct 2nd, 2015
Final Poster for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2"
Oct 2nd, 2015
Trailer for "The Forest" Supernatural Thriller
Oct 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for Leonardo DiCaprio's "The Revenant" Thriller
Oct 1st, 2015
First Look: Andrew Garfield in Mel Gibson's "Hacksaw Ridge"
Oct 1st, 2015
Matthew Vaughn to Direct "I Am Pilgrim" Thriller
Oct 1st, 2015
Vin Diesel Says "Furious 8" is Part of Last Trilogy
Sep 29th, 2015
Danny Boyle to Shoot "Trainspotting" Sequel Next Summer
Sep 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Would Play Daredevil if Christopher Nolan Directed
Sep 27th, 2015
Ridley Scott Says "Prometheus 2" Will Have Connections to Ripley
Sep 27th, 2015
Sigourney Weaver Joins "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Sep 27th, 2015
Matt Damon Discusses "Bourne" Plot Details
Sep 27th, 2015
First Look at Woody Harrelson as President Johnson in "LBJ" Biopic
Sep 27th, 2015
Title of "Prometheus" Sequel Revealed
Sep 26th, 2015
New "Men in Black" Film Moving Forward Without Will Smith
Sep 26th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Wants Tom Hardy to Replace Him as Wolverine
Sep 26th, 2015
Trailer for "Truth," with Robert Redford and Cate Blanchett
Sep 26th, 2015
Trailer for "Angry Birds" Movie is Here!
Sep 24th, 2015
Trailer for "The Big Short," with Christian Bale, Brad Pitt, Ryan Gosling and Steve Carell
Sep 24th, 2015
Ridley Scott Planning Three "Prometheus" Sequels
Sep 23rd, 2015
"John Wick 2" to Shoot this Fall, Keanu Reeves Will Return
Sep 23rd, 2015
New Trailer for "The Peanuts Movie"
Sep 23rd, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Colin Trevorrow is in Talks for Disney's "Flight of the Navigator" Remake, Not "Star Wars: Episode 7"

Posted: December 2nd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Colin Trevorrow is in Talks for DisneySubmit Comment
It was recently rumored that "Safety Not Guaranteed" director Colin Trevorrow was in negotiations to direct Disney's "Star Wars: Episode 7." It was thought that the rumor was confirmed when Trevorrow revealed that he was working on a Disney project that "will probably create a great deal of ire against me on the Internet when people find out what it is." He went on to promise that he loves the property as much as the fans do, adding that he will "hopefully make it not suck."

Clearly he was talking about "Star Wars." What else could it be? It turned out that he was talking about remaking Disney's 1986 film "Flight of the Navigator," about a boy who travels eight years into the future and has an adventure with an alien spaceship.

Variety is reporting that Trevorrow and his "Safety Not Guaranteed" co-writer Derek Connolly will re-write the script, and Trevorrow will likely direct. That explains Trevorrow's Twitter post, which states: "To clarify, there is another film we all love that I'm currently trying not to mess up."

"Flight of the Navigator" Trailer:

Source: Variety

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 7:06:29 AM

Got laid after i saw this with a chic a handful of years ago so lookin forward to this
bandolero999 writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 7:31:12 AM

if it's from disney its bound to be sh*t.

I'm TALKING BOUT YOU JOHN CARTER.and your ethiopian mARS Aliens.
Rambo writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 7:57:01 AM

that was a great movie back in the 80's...
GreenLensman writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 8:12:49 AM

let me guess, jaden f*cking smith plays david
Mudders writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 8:30:45 AM

i died a little inside
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 8:36:40 AM

God I forgot all about this movie.
pornfly writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 8:38:45 AM

Jaden Smith

go f*ck yourself
pornfly writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 8:43:21 AM

When i was stationed in Pensacola i remember my roommate and his buddy saw the Aurora jet and that there have been a few other sightings
struck21 writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 9:35:52 AM

Well f*ck my childhood. Movie studios wants those memories to burn in hell.
cress writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 10:13:33 AM

How about a remake of "The Boy Who Could Fly", now with Vin Diesel in the title role
struck21 writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 10:14:28 AM

They are going to make this movie completely over the top,s pace battles and hunters chasing the ship for some creature it picked. Instead of making it a decent family movie like the first one.
struck21 writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 10:14:28 AM

They are going to make this movie completely over the top,s pace battles and hunters chasing the ship for some creature it picked. Instead of making it a decent family movie like the first one.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 11:16:49 AM

They just refuse to make something original. Don't get me wrong, I love 80s movies, but this is getting ridiculous. Why don't you go ahead and remake The Secret of Nimh while you're at it Disney.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 11:53:12 AM

I can't wait when they star remaking Don the Dragon Wilson and Steven Seagal movies.

Van damme's bloodsport is already in the works
cress writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 12:01:34 PM

@SAC. Ah, The Secret of Nimh...
What did Nimh stand for, by the way?

Nymphos In My House?
Not In My Hole?
Now I Must Hump?
Nachos Inside My Head?
cress writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 12:13:01 PM

National Institute of Mental Health? Whaaa...? This was a kids movie? Whaaa...?

Speaking of other eighties flicks, I remember reading that The Dark Crystal 2 was abandoned because the studio producing it lost a sh*tload of money on that Statham/DeNiro/C.Owen action flick "Killer Elite." Should've went with the odd looking elf muppets.

CelluloidMan writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 12:28:47 PM

Remake? Bah!!

The original, I think was lightning in a bottle. It would be very hard to duplicate the innocence, wonder, complex/ sci-fi premise. The flick is a one of a kind with great 80s in jokes.

Plus, is it me or is the red eye from this movie almost exactly as the one in EAGLE EYE? Anyways...

BTW, I've had to buy this movie 2-3 times since every time I (used to) lent it out, I never got it back....the bastards.
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 12:33:19 PM

And forgot to mention that liquid metal spaceship...

How f*cking cool was that? Due to the great SFX (at that time), that spaceship was the coolest thing I'd seen when I first saw it....

Whoever hasn't seen it, I highly recommend it. Especially if you have preteen or early teen kids. They usually get a good kick out of it.
vincere01 writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 12:56:09 PM

I don't think anyone was asking for this
Džeko writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 1:43:00 PM

Aah a classic.I especially enjoyed it's soundtrack.
Kurskij writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 2:15:27 PM

Colin, we've got this forgotten gem from the 80s. It didn't do very well back then, so people must've forgotten it by now.

I want you to f*ck it. f*ck it hard. We need the money, Colin.

Sincerely yours, Mickey M. Mouse.
Kurskij writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 2:18:57 PM

- mr. Mouse, you have this giant corporation. With your resources surely you can afford to produce original movies like you did two decades ago, why milk the ideas that you already produce to great acclaim, eh... two decades ago?..

- because we f*cking own them, journalist. And don't call me no motherf*cking Shirley. next!
minkowski writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 5:05:06 PM

"I don't think anyone was asking for this"

Your first mistake was assuming Hollywood ever asks you what you want, instead of outright telling you.

As for the news, the original is one of those little classics one must never f*ck with or risk the ire of an entire generation of adults who grew up watching it. People like me.

And though it's not my my favorite Disney film of any era, it's classic Disney with a touch of Spielberg, a film clearly cut from the cloth of the age of innocence we seem to, with hindsight, with the 1980s, aka, The 50s, Part Deux.

Anyway, I thought the original film's premise was little hokey, but that was the way it was back then, and Flight of the Navigator reminds of Batteries Not Included for some reason, which is another film they haven't tried to reboot with annoying teenagers with perfect teeth and tans.

As for them rebooting, meh. It's not really needed, to be honest, except by Disney who needs to dip back into their fount of films and find something they truss up and resell. They need the money I guess. But for the rest of us, we can just watch the original and know it's the best version possible, or at least be left with that comfortable illusion. Not like I think a thick patina of CGI can improve it.

As for Trevorrow, not sure why this guy is getting the attention. Plenty of people make cheap films and are never heard from again. I mean, I don't think the guy who wrote and directed Primer was given a gig with Disney, and he did more work then Trevorrow did with Safety Not Guaranteed, which, once you admit it's a decent flick for the price, you start you to really wonder whether it's nearly as good a film as people say, and I'm of the mind that's it not.

The premise is downright goofy, the acting is atrocious in most places, the script seems it was culled from 1960's B spy movies, and the ending was...lame, a disappointment, a waste of the buck fifty in CGI.

Sure, if you went in with ZERO expectations, or with negative thoughts, you'd come away thinking, hey, that did NOT suck nearly as bad as I thought it would, and then you'd wonder why the f*ck you ever even cared to begin with.

For me, the film was a waste. A lot could have been done if someone had chipped in another quarter for the special effects budget. The ending was just sh*t. A boat with some junk on it. It's a time machine. Yeah, okay. Thrill me.

What a total disappointment.
minkowski writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 5:06:33 PM

Day of the Omissions.

Can, me, a, pretty much every word of length less than five.
John1017 writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 5:37:05 PM

I remember as a little kid watching this the scariest part was after he wakes up in the future and goes home and its not his house anymore and his family isn't there,, I remember that being really scary.
minkowski writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 7:22:27 PM

Flight of the Aggravator, the story of what happened to JB after I kicked his ass.
nuttie30xx writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 6:19:56 AM

how about a sequel instead of a f*cking remake if the did total recall 2 insead of a remake the film would have been ok but it was compared to arnies classic so it ended up been sh*t
synthetic1985 writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 1:44:45 PM

hollywood used to be this original idea movie making industry that had balls, now it just a has an over raped p*ssy turned into a brown eye for sh*tting all over everything it stood for, which is art...as mink clearly stated first mistake is assumption, 2nd mistake is remaking it...it doesn't matter if you make a better visually compelling storyline version, it'll have nothing on its original soundtrack...a good music composer like alan silvestri has made countless original themes that strikingly sound similar yet they all take their own piece of worth into its own films...like tangerine dream's music for that movie legend, when are we gonna hear more 80s/90s original themes instead of more new age horse sh*t?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Universal Pictures Already Broke the Record for Highest-Grossing Year

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved