WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Point Break" Remake is Here!
May 27th, 2015
"The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen" is Being Rebooted
May 27th, 2015
Robert Rodriguez to Direct Live-Action "Jonny Quest" Movie
May 27th, 2015
New Trailer for Joe Dante's "Burying the Ex" Comedy Horror, with Anton Yelchin
May 27th, 2015
Hulk Hogan is the Villain in "The Expendables 4"?
May 26th, 2015
Channing Tatum Says "Gambit" is an Origin Story
May 26th, 2015
Ryan Reynolds Says Hugh Jackman May Make Cameo in "Deadpool"
May 26th, 2015
First Poster for "Point Break" Remake
May 26th, 2015
More Photos From Matt Damon's "The Martian," Directed by Ridley Scott
May 25th, 2015
"Mission: Impossible 6" and "Now You See Me 3" Already in Development
May 25th, 2015
"Beautiful Mind" Mathematician John Nash Killed in Taxi Crash
May 25th, 2015
First Look at Matt Damon in Ridley Scott's "The Martian"
May 24th, 2015
New "Fantastic Four" Trailer, Director Responds to Rumors of Being Replaced
May 24th, 2015
New Photos From "Deadpool" and "Ant-Man"
May 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass" is Here!
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Jonah Hill and Miles Teller in "Arms and the Dudes"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Meryl Streel and Hugh Grant in "Florence Foster Jenkins"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Cuba Gooding Jr and John Travolta in "America Crime Story: The People V. OJ Simpson"
May 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Knock Knock" Thriller
May 22nd, 2015
Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title
May 22nd, 2015
Reese Witherspoon to Star in Disney's Live-Action Tinker Bell Movie "Tink"
May 22nd, 2015
"Fantastic Four" Promo Video Shows Team's Superpowers
May 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for "The Gallows" Horror Film
May 22nd, 2015
New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr
May 21st, 2015
"Independence Day 2" Takes Place 15 Years Later, Same Aliens Return
May 21st, 2015
"Transformers" Sequels and Spin-Offs Get Impressive Writing Team
May 21st, 2015
Trailer for Elijah Wood's "Cooties" Horror Comedy
May 21st, 2015
"The Divergent Series: Allegiant" is Now Filming
May 21st, 2015
Heath Ledger Was Set to Star in "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
May 20th, 2015
Tom Cruise's "Jack Reacher 2" Hires "The Last Samurai" Director
May 20th, 2015
New Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy
May 20th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Colin Trevorrow is in Talks for Disney's "Flight of the Navigator" Remake, Not "Star Wars: Episode 7"

Posted: December 2nd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Colin Trevorrow is in Talks for DisneySubmit Comment
It was recently rumored that "Safety Not Guaranteed" director Colin Trevorrow was in negotiations to direct Disney's "Star Wars: Episode 7." It was thought that the rumor was confirmed when Trevorrow revealed that he was working on a Disney project that "will probably create a great deal of ire against me on the Internet when people find out what it is." He went on to promise that he loves the property as much as the fans do, adding that he will "hopefully make it not suck."

Clearly he was talking about "Star Wars." What else could it be? It turned out that he was talking about remaking Disney's 1986 film "Flight of the Navigator," about a boy who travels eight years into the future and has an adventure with an alien spaceship.

Variety is reporting that Trevorrow and his "Safety Not Guaranteed" co-writer Derek Connolly will re-write the script, and Trevorrow will likely direct. That explains Trevorrow's Twitter post, which states: "To clarify, there is another film we all love that I'm currently trying not to mess up."

"Flight of the Navigator" Trailer:


Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 7:06:29 AM

Got laid after i saw this with a chic a handful of years ago so lookin forward to this
bandolero999 writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 7:31:12 AM

if it's from disney its bound to be sh*t.

I'm TALKING BOUT YOU JOHN CARTER.and your ethiopian mARS Aliens.
Rambo writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 7:57:01 AM

that was a great movie back in the 80's...
GreenLensman writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 8:12:49 AM

let me guess, jaden f*cking smith plays david
Mudders writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 8:30:45 AM

i died a little inside
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 8:36:40 AM

God I forgot all about this movie.
pornfly writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 8:38:45 AM

D.A.R.Y.L.
starring
Jaden Smith

go f*ck yourself
pornfly writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 8:43:21 AM

When i was stationed in Pensacola i remember my roommate and his buddy saw the Aurora jet and that there have been a few other sightings
struck21 writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 9:35:52 AM

Well f*ck my childhood. Movie studios wants those memories to burn in hell.
cress writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 10:13:33 AM

How about a remake of "The Boy Who Could Fly", now with Vin Diesel in the title role
struck21 writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 10:14:28 AM

They are going to make this movie completely over the top,s pace battles and hunters chasing the ship for some creature it picked. Instead of making it a decent family movie like the first one.
struck21 writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 10:14:28 AM

They are going to make this movie completely over the top,s pace battles and hunters chasing the ship for some creature it picked. Instead of making it a decent family movie like the first one.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 11:16:49 AM

They just refuse to make something original. Don't get me wrong, I love 80s movies, but this is getting ridiculous. Why don't you go ahead and remake The Secret of Nimh while you're at it Disney.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 11:53:12 AM

I can't wait when they star remaking Don the Dragon Wilson and Steven Seagal movies.

Van damme's bloodsport is already in the works
cress writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 12:01:34 PM

@SAC. Ah, The Secret of Nimh...
What did Nimh stand for, by the way?

Nymphos In My House?
Not In My Hole?
Now I Must Hump?
Nachos Inside My Head?
cress writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 12:13:01 PM

National Institute of Mental Health? Whaaa...? This was a kids movie? Whaaa...?

Speaking of other eighties flicks, I remember reading that The Dark Crystal 2 was abandoned because the studio producing it lost a sh*tload of money on that Statham/DeNiro/C.Owen action flick "Killer Elite." Should've went with the odd looking elf muppets.


CelluloidMan writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 12:28:47 PM

Remake? Bah!!

The original, I think was lightning in a bottle. It would be very hard to duplicate the innocence, wonder, complex/ sci-fi premise. The flick is a one of a kind with great 80s in jokes.

Plus, is it me or is the red eye from this movie almost exactly as the one in EAGLE EYE? Anyways...

BTW, I've had to buy this movie 2-3 times since every time I (used to) lent it out, I never got it back....the bastards.
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 12:33:19 PM

And forgot to mention that liquid metal spaceship...

How f*cking cool was that? Due to the great SFX (at that time), that spaceship was the coolest thing I'd seen when I first saw it....

Whoever hasn't seen it, I highly recommend it. Especially if you have preteen or early teen kids. They usually get a good kick out of it.
vincere01 writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 12:56:09 PM

I don't think anyone was asking for this
Džeko writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 1:43:00 PM

Aah a classic.I especially enjoyed it's soundtrack.
Kurskij writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 2:15:27 PM

Colin, we've got this forgotten gem from the 80s. It didn't do very well back then, so people must've forgotten it by now.

I want you to f*ck it. f*ck it hard. We need the money, Colin.

Sincerely yours, Mickey M. Mouse.
Kurskij writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 2:18:57 PM

- mr. Mouse, you have this giant corporation. With your resources surely you can afford to produce original movies like you did two decades ago, why milk the ideas that you already produce to great acclaim, eh... two decades ago?..

- because we f*cking own them, journalist. And don't call me no motherf*cking Shirley. next!
minkowski writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 5:05:06 PM

"I don't think anyone was asking for this"

Your first mistake was assuming Hollywood ever asks you what you want, instead of outright telling you.

As for the news, the original is one of those little classics one must never f*ck with or risk the ire of an entire generation of adults who grew up watching it. People like me.

And though it's not my my favorite Disney film of any era, it's classic Disney with a touch of Spielberg, a film clearly cut from the cloth of the age of innocence we seem to, with hindsight, with the 1980s, aka, The 50s, Part Deux.

Anyway, I thought the original film's premise was little hokey, but that was the way it was back then, and Flight of the Navigator reminds of Batteries Not Included for some reason, which is another film they haven't tried to reboot with annoying teenagers with perfect teeth and tans.

As for them rebooting, meh. It's not really needed, to be honest, except by Disney who needs to dip back into their fount of films and find something they truss up and resell. They need the money I guess. But for the rest of us, we can just watch the original and know it's the best version possible, or at least be left with that comfortable illusion. Not like I think a thick patina of CGI can improve it.

As for Trevorrow, not sure why this guy is getting the attention. Plenty of people make cheap films and are never heard from again. I mean, I don't think the guy who wrote and directed Primer was given a gig with Disney, and he did more work then Trevorrow did with Safety Not Guaranteed, which, once you admit it's a decent flick for the price, you start you to really wonder whether it's nearly as good a film as people say, and I'm of the mind that's it not.

The premise is downright goofy, the acting is atrocious in most places, the script seems it was culled from 1960's B spy movies, and the ending was...lame, a disappointment, a waste of the buck fifty in CGI.

Sure, if you went in with ZERO expectations, or with negative thoughts, you'd come away thinking, hey, that did NOT suck nearly as bad as I thought it would, and then you'd wonder why the f*ck you ever even cared to begin with.

For me, the film was a waste. A lot could have been done if someone had chipped in another quarter for the special effects budget. The ending was just sh*t. A boat with some junk on it. It's a time machine. Yeah, okay. Thrill me.

What a total disappointment.
minkowski writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 5:06:33 PM

Day of the Omissions.

Can, me, a, pretty much every word of length less than five.
John1017 writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 5:37:05 PM

I remember as a little kid watching this the scariest part was after he wakes up in the future and goes home and its not his house anymore and his family isn't there,, I remember that being really scary.
minkowski writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 7:22:27 PM

Flight of the Aggravator, the story of what happened to JB after I kicked his ass.
nuttie30xx writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 6:19:56 AM

how about a sequel instead of a f*cking remake if the did total recall 2 insead of a remake the film would have been ok but it was compared to arnies classic so it ended up been sh*t
synthetic1985 writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 1:44:45 PM

hollywood used to be this original idea movie making industry that had balls, now it just a has an over raped p*ssy turned into a brown eye for sh*tting all over everything it stood for, which is art...as mink clearly stated first mistake is assumption, 2nd mistake is remaking it...it doesn't matter if you make a better visually compelling storyline version, it'll have nothing on its original soundtrack...a good music composer like alan silvestri has made countless original themes that strikingly sound similar yet they all take their own piece of worth into its own films...like tangerine dream's music for that movie legend, when are we gonna hear more 80s/90s original themes instead of more new age horse sh*t?

Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot

New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr

"Jurassic World" to Ignore Last Two Films, to Bring Back T-Rex

Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot

Hugh Jackman and Channing Tatum to Appear in "X-Men: Apocalypse"?

"Fantastic Four" Director Fired From "Star Wars" Spin-Off

Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title

Why Wasn't Loki in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?

"Independence Day 2" Takes Place 15 Years Later, Same Aliens Return

Hugh Jackman Confirms "Wolverine 3" is His Last Time as Wolverine
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved