WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Coming in December
Oct 25th, 2014
New "Ant-Man" Set Photos are Possible Spoilers
Oct 25th, 2014
Disney's "John Carter" Actually Cost Over $300 Million to Make
Oct 25th, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Searching for Female Director
Oct 24th, 2014
"The Mummy" Reboot to Follow Navy SEAL in Iraq?
Oct 24th, 2014
Noomi Rapace Discusses "Prometheus 2" Storyline
Oct 24th, 2014
Christian Bale Confirmed For Steve Jobs Biopic, To Appear in Every Frame of the Film
Oct 24th, 2014
"Insidious Chapter 3" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"The Hobbit" Trilogy Becomes Most Expensive Production of All Time
Oct 23rd, 2014
Quicksilver to Return For "X-Men: Apocalypse" and Maybe Solo Film
Oct 23rd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For Mark Wahlberg's "The Gambler" Thriller
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Evangeline Lilly as Hope Pym on Marvel's "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 23rd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Johnny Depp as The Wolf in Disney's "Into the Woods"
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Colin Trevorrow is in Talks for Disney's "Flight of the Navigator" Remake, Not "Star Wars: Episode 7"

Posted: December 2nd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Colin Trevorrow is in Talks for DisneySubmit Comment
It was recently rumored that "Safety Not Guaranteed" director Colin Trevorrow was in negotiations to direct Disney's "Star Wars: Episode 7." It was thought that the rumor was confirmed when Trevorrow revealed that he was working on a Disney project that "will probably create a great deal of ire against me on the Internet when people find out what it is." He went on to promise that he loves the property as much as the fans do, adding that he will "hopefully make it not suck."

Clearly he was talking about "Star Wars." What else could it be? It turned out that he was talking about remaking Disney's 1986 film "Flight of the Navigator," about a boy who travels eight years into the future and has an adventure with an alien spaceship.

Variety is reporting that Trevorrow and his "Safety Not Guaranteed" co-writer Derek Connolly will re-write the script, and Trevorrow will likely direct. That explains Trevorrow's Twitter post, which states: "To clarify, there is another film we all love that I'm currently trying not to mess up."

"Flight of the Navigator" Trailer:


Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 7:06:29 AM

Got laid after i saw this with a chic a handful of years ago so lookin forward to this
bandolero999 writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 7:31:12 AM

if it's from disney its bound to be sh*t.

I'm TALKING BOUT YOU JOHN CARTER.and your ethiopian mARS Aliens.
Rambo writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 7:57:01 AM

that was a great movie back in the 80's...
GreenLensman writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 8:12:49 AM

let me guess, jaden f*cking smith plays david
Mudders writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 8:30:45 AM

i died a little inside
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 8:36:40 AM

God I forgot all about this movie.
pornfly writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 8:38:45 AM

D.A.R.Y.L.
starring
Jaden Smith

go f*ck yourself
pornfly writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 8:43:21 AM

When i was stationed in Pensacola i remember my roommate and his buddy saw the Aurora jet and that there have been a few other sightings
struck21 writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 9:35:52 AM

Well f*ck my childhood. Movie studios wants those memories to burn in hell.
cress writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 10:13:33 AM

How about a remake of "The Boy Who Could Fly", now with Vin Diesel in the title role
struck21 writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 10:14:28 AM

They are going to make this movie completely over the top,s pace battles and hunters chasing the ship for some creature it picked. Instead of making it a decent family movie like the first one.
struck21 writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 10:14:28 AM

They are going to make this movie completely over the top,s pace battles and hunters chasing the ship for some creature it picked. Instead of making it a decent family movie like the first one.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 11:16:49 AM

They just refuse to make something original. Don't get me wrong, I love 80s movies, but this is getting ridiculous. Why don't you go ahead and remake The Secret of Nimh while you're at it Disney.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 11:53:12 AM

I can't wait when they star remaking Don the Dragon Wilson and Steven Seagal movies.

Van damme's bloodsport is already in the works
cress writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 12:01:34 PM

@SAC. Ah, The Secret of Nimh...
What did Nimh stand for, by the way?

Nymphos In My House?
Not In My Hole?
Now I Must Hump?
Nachos Inside My Head?
cress writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 12:13:01 PM

National Institute of Mental Health? Whaaa...? This was a kids movie? Whaaa...?

Speaking of other eighties flicks, I remember reading that The Dark Crystal 2 was abandoned because the studio producing it lost a sh*tload of money on that Statham/DeNiro/C.Owen action flick "Killer Elite." Should've went with the odd looking elf muppets.


CelluloidMan writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 12:28:47 PM

Remake? Bah!!

The original, I think was lightning in a bottle. It would be very hard to duplicate the innocence, wonder, complex/ sci-fi premise. The flick is a one of a kind with great 80s in jokes.

Plus, is it me or is the red eye from this movie almost exactly as the one in EAGLE EYE? Anyways...

BTW, I've had to buy this movie 2-3 times since every time I (used to) lent it out, I never got it back....the bastards.
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 12:33:19 PM

And forgot to mention that liquid metal spaceship...

How f*cking cool was that? Due to the great SFX (at that time), that spaceship was the coolest thing I'd seen when I first saw it....

Whoever hasn't seen it, I highly recommend it. Especially if you have preteen or early teen kids. They usually get a good kick out of it.
vincere01 writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 12:56:09 PM

I don't think anyone was asking for this
Džeko writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 1:43:00 PM

Aah a classic.I especially enjoyed it's soundtrack.
Kurskij writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 2:15:27 PM

Colin, we've got this forgotten gem from the 80s. It didn't do very well back then, so people must've forgotten it by now.

I want you to f*ck it. f*ck it hard. We need the money, Colin.

Sincerely yours, Mickey M. Mouse.
Kurskij writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 2:18:57 PM

- mr. Mouse, you have this giant corporation. With your resources surely you can afford to produce original movies like you did two decades ago, why milk the ideas that you already produce to great acclaim, eh... two decades ago?..

- because we f*cking own them, journalist. And don't call me no motherf*cking Shirley. next!
minkowski writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 5:05:06 PM

"I don't think anyone was asking for this"

Your first mistake was assuming Hollywood ever asks you what you want, instead of outright telling you.

As for the news, the original is one of those little classics one must never f*ck with or risk the ire of an entire generation of adults who grew up watching it. People like me.

And though it's not my my favorite Disney film of any era, it's classic Disney with a touch of Spielberg, a film clearly cut from the cloth of the age of innocence we seem to, with hindsight, with the 1980s, aka, The 50s, Part Deux.

Anyway, I thought the original film's premise was little hokey, but that was the way it was back then, and Flight of the Navigator reminds of Batteries Not Included for some reason, which is another film they haven't tried to reboot with annoying teenagers with perfect teeth and tans.

As for them rebooting, meh. It's not really needed, to be honest, except by Disney who needs to dip back into their fount of films and find something they truss up and resell. They need the money I guess. But for the rest of us, we can just watch the original and know it's the best version possible, or at least be left with that comfortable illusion. Not like I think a thick patina of CGI can improve it.

As for Trevorrow, not sure why this guy is getting the attention. Plenty of people make cheap films and are never heard from again. I mean, I don't think the guy who wrote and directed Primer was given a gig with Disney, and he did more work then Trevorrow did with Safety Not Guaranteed, which, once you admit it's a decent flick for the price, you start you to really wonder whether it's nearly as good a film as people say, and I'm of the mind that's it not.

The premise is downright goofy, the acting is atrocious in most places, the script seems it was culled from 1960's B spy movies, and the ending was...lame, a disappointment, a waste of the buck fifty in CGI.

Sure, if you went in with ZERO expectations, or with negative thoughts, you'd come away thinking, hey, that did NOT suck nearly as bad as I thought it would, and then you'd wonder why the f*ck you ever even cared to begin with.

For me, the film was a waste. A lot could have been done if someone had chipped in another quarter for the special effects budget. The ending was just sh*t. A boat with some junk on it. It's a time machine. Yeah, okay. Thrill me.

What a total disappointment.
minkowski writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 5:06:33 PM

Day of the Omissions.

Can, me, a, pretty much every word of length less than five.
John1017 writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 5:37:05 PM

I remember as a little kid watching this the scariest part was after he wakes up in the future and goes home and its not his house anymore and his family isn't there,, I remember that being really scary.
minkowski writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 7:22:27 PM

Flight of the Aggravator, the story of what happened to JB after I kicked his ass.
nuttie30xx writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 6:19:56 AM

how about a sequel instead of a f*cking remake if the did total recall 2 insead of a remake the film would have been ok but it was compared to arnies classic so it ended up been sh*t
synthetic1985 writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 1:44:45 PM

hollywood used to be this original idea movie making industry that had balls, now it just a has an over raped p*ssy turned into a brown eye for sh*tting all over everything it stood for, which is art...as mink clearly stated first mistake is assumption, 2nd mistake is remaking it...it doesn't matter if you make a better visually compelling storyline version, it'll have nothing on its original soundtrack...a good music composer like alan silvestri has made countless original themes that strikingly sound similar yet they all take their own piece of worth into its own films...like tangerine dream's music for that movie legend, when are we gonna hear more 80s/90s original themes instead of more new age horse sh*t?

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved