WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy
Apr 17th, 2014
Robin Williams to Return for "Mrs. Doubtfire" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2014
Jerry Bruckheimer on "Pirates of the Caribbean 5," "Top Gun 2" and "Beverly Hills Cop 4"
Apr 17th, 2014
James Franco Didn't Know He Has a Cameo in "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes"
Apr 17th, 2014
Poster for Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 17th, 2014
"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Contains a Surprising Post-Credits Scene
Apr 17th, 2014
Trailer for Eli Roth's "The Green Inferno" Cannibal Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2014
Antonio Banderas Says "Puss in Boots 2" is Already Being Made
Apr 16th, 2014
"Friday the 13th" Reboot in Talks with "V/H/S" Director
Apr 16th, 2014
Sneak Peek at Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Apr 16th, 2014
Final Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Sinister Six" Spin-Off May NOT Feature Classic Spider-Man Villains
Apr 16th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "The Revenant" Revenge Thriller
Apr 16th, 2014
Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly and Adam McKay Re-Team for "Border Guards" Comedy
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for Chrloe Moretz's "If I Stay"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Hires Paul Walker's Brothers to Help Finish the Film
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for "Third Person," with Liam Neeson and James Franco
Apr 16th, 2014
Andrew Garfield Says Spider-Man is Jewish
Apr 15th, 2014
Channing Tatum Confirms Talks to Play Gambit in "X-Men" Film
Apr 15th, 2014
David Fincher to be Replaced on Steve Jobs Biopic Due to Unreasonable Requests
Apr 15th, 2014
Harrison Ford Excited to Return for "Blade Runner" Sequel
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for David Cronenberg's "Maps to the Stars," with John Cusack and Julianne Moore
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Philip Seymour Hoffman's "God's Pocket" Thriller
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Zoe Saldana's "Rosemary's Baby" TV Series
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Tommy Lee Jones' "The Homesman"
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Jay-Z's "Annie" Remake, With Jamie Foxx and Cameron Diaz
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Ben Affleck's "Gone Girl" Thriller, Directed by David Fincher
Apr 14th, 2014
Pierce Brosnan Says He Was NOT Good Enough as James Bond
Apr 14th, 2014
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ
Apr 14th, 2014
Watch Opening Battle Sequence From "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 14th, 2014
Spider-Man Battles Electro in New "The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Clip
Apr 14th, 2014
First "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" TV Spot Shows Splinter
Apr 14th, 2014
"Transformers: Age of Extinction" TV Spot From MTV Movie Awards
Apr 14th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Robert Zemeckis Discusses "Who Framed Roger Rabbit" Sequel

Posted: December 1st, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Robert Zemeckis Discusses "Who Framed Roger Rabbit" SequelSubmit Comment
While promoting "Flight," director Robert Zemeckis was asked about the long-rumored sequel to "Who Framed Roger Rabbit." The helmer replied that Disney already has a script, but has yet to make the decision to move forward.

"I'm happy with the script. It's very good. It's written by the original writers, and it's good," he said. "[But Disney] is still thinking about it."

Zemeckis continued: "If I were to do the sequel, it would be done just like the first one. It would look the same way, but we would present it in 3D in its release. I would do all of the animation hand-drawn; 2D, but using 3D tools. It wouldn't be like Pixar 3D. It wouldn't look like that."

Source: MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 6:46:40 AM

Nobody wants this Zemeckis.
McQueen writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 6:52:53 AM

^ ^ I second that.
pornfly writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:02:11 AM

What the f*ck does Disney have to think about?
They've had ToonTown at Disney since the late 80s
They remade Witch Mountain for f*cks sake

Charles Fleischer has been out of Welcome Back Kotter money for a while now
And the only way anyone wants to see Kathleen Turner is in animated form
McQueen writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:04:53 AM

Kathleen Turner?

Was that the blond whale in Californication?
pornfly writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:19:27 AM

Dont know BULLIT
she did play a man on Friends
pornfly writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:30:52 AM

Now Janine Turner
Rowrrr!
Ever since she was on Knight Rider
SoftimusPrime writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:43:56 AM

@cress Umm, I want this. And many others I bet.

There're few directors who I really have confidence in and Zemeckis sure is one of them (minus the awful mocap animations though). If he's willing to do this old school and says the script is good, bring it.

DISNEY, PLEASE GREENLIGHT THIS.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:43:58 AM

Christina Hendricks and her busoms.

Don't know if I spelled busoms right.so corrections if needed
McQueen writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:48:33 AM

Christina's bosom? there you go:

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xf3kok_christina-hendricks-compilation_sexy
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 9:26:05 AM

Saw Flight last night lol, Good flick
pornfly writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 1:36:28 PM

I'd play NuttyBuddy between those bosom buddies till I die an ol' fuddy duddy

With her dweeb husband havin ass
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 1:50:01 PM

" I would do all of the animation hand-drawn; 2D, but using 3D tools. It wouldn't be like Pixar 3D. It wouldn't look like that."

Wait. Did Zemeckis says this, or a certified moron? Hand-drawn 3D? LMAO! Come on dude, you WORKED with 3D animation for *years*, and you're saying this sh*t?

Hand-drawn 3D. Wait, no, "Hand drawn 2D using 3D tools". Lol.

Guess the guy is going senile. Think he means cel-shaded 3D to look like it was hand drawn, like that old FPS game XIII.

What a maroon.
vaodsi writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 3:23:17 PM

basically his way of saying 2D is "hand drawn" Lol. He thinks he can bamboozle us.


kind of off subject

A few months ago some guy on NPR was interviewing some special effects guy (don't remember any names, i was flipping through the channels) and the aged host asks, "So, you work in computer Graphics so tell me, has there ever been a character in a movie that was fully done with just computer?"

The guy answers, "Uhm... yeah.. Many. Several."

vaodsi writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 3:24:32 PM

basically, he thinks we are aged NPR hosts with no understanding of CGI.
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 3:46:46 PM

"basically, he thinks we are aged NPR hosts with no understanding of CGI."

And yet he's the guy talking about hand drawn 2D in 3D. Or something.

To be honest, I have no clue what he's trying to say, and I have to wonder if the entire excerpt is false, fiction, because Zemeckis isn't some ancient fart out in the wilderness. He worked on how many fairly competent 3D films?
mustardayonnaise writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 4:08:00 PM

i think the article is slightly misrepresenting what bob is trying to say. if he did RR2 it would all be hand drawn. leave it at that. he wants it to look like a period piece, and he wants the style consistent with the first one.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 4:08:37 PM

and FWIW, bob is SO not a moron. trust me
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 4:43:01 PM

^^I just thought he was drunk, or they interviewed Bob Gale by mistake.
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 4:45:28 PM

Maybe he was saying it would be 2D, hand drawn, traditional animation, but presented in 3D, you know, like those Piranha flicks...dunno. He kind of slurred all over the place with that one.

And no, he's definitely not a moron, which is why I had to do a full WTF.
html mencken writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 5:14:16 PM

Does anyone think it's going to be possible for Zemeckis and his crew to convince both Disney and Warner Bros. to license their cartoon characters for this sequel? From what I recall, this was difficult enough back in '88, with Disney and Warner making a sh*tload of demands, such as Mickey Mouse and Bugs Bunny needing to have the same amount of screen time and an equal number of lines of dialogue. And nowadays, the two companies seem more fiercely competitive with each other than ever... I don't know, any thoughts?
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 5:17:54 PM

Yeah. Disney will just buy Warner Brothers. Problem solved.
html mencken writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 5:27:28 PM

Well, one thing's for sure: they're going to need to recast Eddie Valiant.

http://www.itv.com/news/update/2012-08-08/bob-hoskins-retires-from-acting/
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 5:37:45 PM

Sequel? I say F*CKING YEAH!!

But the only way to surpass the original, if possible, is to be more ambitious & push the boundries in a way to make room for the CGI or 3D advancements since the original.

Ignoring that would make it awkward or seen as too safe. It needs to be edgy, that's what was so cool about the original.

Hopefully it won't be something that won't come off as a MIB2 with the stench of cash-in desperation & mediocrity.

Hoskins is out for sure. Shame...without that magnificent bastard.

We'll see, but to be honest, I'd trust Zemeckis more before his mo-cap phase...
mustardayonnaise writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 8:14:31 PM

re: licencing from Disney/WB, that's a great question. bob z. has absolutely no love for the mouse. he felt like they completely f*cked him over by mis-marketing 'mars needs moms' and then when it tanked, they used their PR machine to place the blame squarely on him... take what you will from that, but it is funny that Bob seems to get more grief from that pic than even Simon Wells.

i think the RR sequel is an interesting idea; i know bob has a few other logs in the fire right now but nothing greenlit. honestly, i don't even think he knows what's next at this moment. i had a fairly interesting conversation with him a few months back at his son's birthday party... he spoke about how hard it was to get sh*t greenlit these days. what stuck me the most was how he spoke as if he had to struggle to get projects greenlit, as if he was some sort of unknown quantity or new to the game. You'd think he could walk into any studio exec's office, drop trou, and instruct the suit to stroke the rod and cradle the balls... but that's not the case. judging from how he talked, even seasoned pros with multiple Oscars under their belt STILL have to hustle for gigs- they're constantly developing, pitching, turning sh*t around, and doing it all over again. Amazing.
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 11:48:38 PM

At Mustardmayonnsise

If you think making a movie is hard. Try making a high rated sitcom. May I suggest the book, "Hello, lied the agent"...can't remember the author, but he used to be a writer for Ted Danson starribg "Becker".

He gives he hilarious, but frustrating look of what a writer needs to do make in the boob tube business.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 12:05:22 AM

dude, celluloid, you don't need to remind me. as I've brought up before- my classmate at USC was Chris Terrio. He wrote Argo.

Here's his story: about 10 years ago, straight out of film school, he got to direct a little indie flick called 'Heights', starring glenn close, james marsden, and a host of other pros. he was james ivory's assistant for years, and this was essentially the rewards for his labors (pretty good reward, yeah). it got a limited release, critical praise, and faded away to nothing.

you know what he's been doing in the interim (other than writing, of course)? he's been a f*cking receptionist in NYC. just to make ends meet. he was on the black list a few years back, which is good, but not great- because those are the best UNPURCHASED scripts, meaning no money. even now, i don't think he's made a lot of money- he did Argo for pretty dirt cheap. of course, I expect he will get an oscar nom at the very least, and cash in on that sh*t (deservedly so), but the garbage he's had to put up with for the past 10 years is pretty startling...
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 12:56:20 PM

I tell you Mustard,
Everyone usually get the idea of how great tslent makes great movies, but many forget that one first has to be discovered or breakout in the business.

There's paying your dues & then there's that f*cked situation that your friend Torrio is going through.

Just remember, as if you didn't know, that HWood can be very fickle that what sucks today, is a classic tomorrow. As seen by Powell & Pressburger's labeled masterpieces THE RED SHOES & THE LIFE AND DEATH OF COLONRL BLIMP.

They made only handful of films for which dealt with complex themes that many misunderstood or condemned (PEEPING TOM), but later revered as cinematic genius, especially by Scorsese. They did films for films, not for money ehich in a way, led to their separation & downfall. When Scorsese found out Powell, I think, was living in poverty, being such an admirer of his work, travelled to his home & actually helped him get back on his feet, shortly before his death.

Hope your friend lands on his feet or behind the writer's desk. Tell him to keep writing...who knows? Maybe he'll bring those refreshing tales of originality we've been hoping for so much & out of the remake hell we're in right now...

Cheers Mustard...
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 6:39:33 PM

Anyway, looks like Terrio is on his way up...

http://m.joblo.com/joblo/news/45954
synthetic1985 writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 11:56:58 AM

i'm down for a sequel...i mean come on guys, this is where 3d wouldn't be a fad on this one, only because we'll be seeing jessica rabbit in 3d...i wanna see the weasals again and christopher lloyd, seriously zemeckis if you wanna pull off a good sequel make sure the story is as good as the hand drawn animation currency of the mid-late 80s with some sort of affiliation with eddie valient even if it's just a cameo...another trip into toontown would be sick too

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

Lindsay Lohan Says She Was Almost in "The Avengers," But as Which Character?

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works

"Captain America 3" Directors Hint at Plot Details
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved