WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Watch 5 Minutes From "The Simpsons" and "Family Guy" Crossover Episode
Jul 29th, 2014
Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell Developing "Evil Dead" TV Series
Jul 29th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel Makes Offer to "Attack the Block" Director Joe Cornish
Jul 29th, 2014
Jodie Foster to Direct George Clooney in "Money Monster" Thriller
Jul 29th, 2014
Trailer For The Asylum's "The Expendables" Rip-Off, With Brigitte Nielsen and Vivica A. Fox
Jul 29th, 2014
New Poster for "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies"
Jul 29th, 2014
Extended Restricted Trailer for "Sin City 2: A Dame to Kill For"
Jul 29th, 2014
First Photos From Ben Stiller's "Night at the Museum 3"
Jul 29th, 2014
Photos: Lots of "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Props On Display at Comic-Con
Jul 28th, 2014
"Deadpool" Movie Test Footage Leaked Online
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
"Mad Max: Fury Road" Comic-Con Trailer is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "Air" Sci-Fi Film, From Creator of "The Walking Dead"
Jul 28th, 2014
New Trailer for "Batman" Prequel TV Series "Gotham"
Jul 28th, 2014
Comic-Con Trailer For DC's "Constantine" TV Series
Jul 28th, 2014
"Lucy" Destroys "Hercules" at the Box Office
Jul 27th, 2014
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Comic-Con Trailer Leaked Online!
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 27th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel "Skull Island" Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
Full "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Banner Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Sequel Confirmed, Release Date Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
"Godzilla 2" Announced, Three Monsters Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
Four Character Posters for Tom Hardy's "Mad Max: Fury Road"
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot?
Jul 26th, 2014
Trailer for Kevin Smith's "Tusk" Horror Film
Jul 26th, 2014
Chris Pratt Wants to Kill Iron Man in Future Marvel Film
Jul 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Daniel Radcliffe's "Horns" Supernatural Thriller
Jul 26th, 2014
First Bizarre Photo From "SpongeBob SquarePants: Sponge Out of Water" Movie
Jul 26th, 2014
First Look at Elsa From "Frozen" in "Once Upon a Time" TV Series
Jul 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Walking Dead" Season 5
Jul 26th, 2014
Colin Firth Gets Physical With Mark Hamill in "Kingsman: Secret Service" Photo
Jul 26th, 2014
Quicksilver, Hawkeye and Vision in New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Posters
Jul 26th, 2014
Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"
Jul 26th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Robert Zemeckis Discusses "Who Framed Roger Rabbit" Sequel

Posted: December 1st, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Robert Zemeckis Discusses "Who Framed Roger Rabbit" SequelSubmit Comment
While promoting "Flight," director Robert Zemeckis was asked about the long-rumored sequel to "Who Framed Roger Rabbit." The helmer replied that Disney already has a script, but has yet to make the decision to move forward.

"I'm happy with the script. It's very good. It's written by the original writers, and it's good," he said. "[But Disney] is still thinking about it."

Zemeckis continued: "If I were to do the sequel, it would be done just like the first one. It would look the same way, but we would present it in 3D in its release. I would do all of the animation hand-drawn; 2D, but using 3D tools. It wouldn't be like Pixar 3D. It wouldn't look like that."

Source: MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 6:46:40 AM

Nobody wants this Zemeckis.
McQueen writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 6:52:53 AM

^ ^ I second that.
pornfly writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:02:11 AM

What the f*ck does Disney have to think about?
They've had ToonTown at Disney since the late 80s
They remade Witch Mountain for f*cks sake

Charles Fleischer has been out of Welcome Back Kotter money for a while now
And the only way anyone wants to see Kathleen Turner is in animated form
McQueen writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:04:53 AM

Kathleen Turner?

Was that the blond whale in Californication?
pornfly writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:19:27 AM

Dont know BULLIT
she did play a man on Friends
pornfly writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:30:52 AM

Now Janine Turner
Rowrrr!
Ever since she was on Knight Rider
SoftimusPrime writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:43:56 AM

@cress Umm, I want this. And many others I bet.

There're few directors who I really have confidence in and Zemeckis sure is one of them (minus the awful mocap animations though). If he's willing to do this old school and says the script is good, bring it.

DISNEY, PLEASE GREENLIGHT THIS.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:43:58 AM

Christina Hendricks and her busoms.

Don't know if I spelled busoms right.so corrections if needed
McQueen writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:48:33 AM

Christina's bosom? there you go:

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xf3kok_christina-hendricks-compilation_sexy
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 9:26:05 AM

Saw Flight last night lol, Good flick
pornfly writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 1:36:28 PM

I'd play NuttyBuddy between those bosom buddies till I die an ol' fuddy duddy

With her dweeb husband havin ass
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 1:50:01 PM

" I would do all of the animation hand-drawn; 2D, but using 3D tools. It wouldn't be like Pixar 3D. It wouldn't look like that."

Wait. Did Zemeckis says this, or a certified moron? Hand-drawn 3D? LMAO! Come on dude, you WORKED with 3D animation for *years*, and you're saying this sh*t?

Hand-drawn 3D. Wait, no, "Hand drawn 2D using 3D tools". Lol.

Guess the guy is going senile. Think he means cel-shaded 3D to look like it was hand drawn, like that old FPS game XIII.

What a maroon.
vaodsi writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 3:23:17 PM

basically his way of saying 2D is "hand drawn" Lol. He thinks he can bamboozle us.


kind of off subject

A few months ago some guy on NPR was interviewing some special effects guy (don't remember any names, i was flipping through the channels) and the aged host asks, "So, you work in computer Graphics so tell me, has there ever been a character in a movie that was fully done with just computer?"

The guy answers, "Uhm... yeah.. Many. Several."

vaodsi writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 3:24:32 PM

basically, he thinks we are aged NPR hosts with no understanding of CGI.
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 3:46:46 PM

"basically, he thinks we are aged NPR hosts with no understanding of CGI."

And yet he's the guy talking about hand drawn 2D in 3D. Or something.

To be honest, I have no clue what he's trying to say, and I have to wonder if the entire excerpt is false, fiction, because Zemeckis isn't some ancient fart out in the wilderness. He worked on how many fairly competent 3D films?
mustardayonnaise writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 4:08:00 PM

i think the article is slightly misrepresenting what bob is trying to say. if he did RR2 it would all be hand drawn. leave it at that. he wants it to look like a period piece, and he wants the style consistent with the first one.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 4:08:37 PM

and FWIW, bob is SO not a moron. trust me
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 4:43:01 PM

^^I just thought he was drunk, or they interviewed Bob Gale by mistake.
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 4:45:28 PM

Maybe he was saying it would be 2D, hand drawn, traditional animation, but presented in 3D, you know, like those Piranha flicks...dunno. He kind of slurred all over the place with that one.

And no, he's definitely not a moron, which is why I had to do a full WTF.
html mencken writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 5:14:16 PM

Does anyone think it's going to be possible for Zemeckis and his crew to convince both Disney and Warner Bros. to license their cartoon characters for this sequel? From what I recall, this was difficult enough back in '88, with Disney and Warner making a sh*tload of demands, such as Mickey Mouse and Bugs Bunny needing to have the same amount of screen time and an equal number of lines of dialogue. And nowadays, the two companies seem more fiercely competitive with each other than ever... I don't know, any thoughts?
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 5:17:54 PM

Yeah. Disney will just buy Warner Brothers. Problem solved.
html mencken writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 5:27:28 PM

Well, one thing's for sure: they're going to need to recast Eddie Valiant.

http://www.itv.com/news/update/2012-08-08/bob-hoskins-retires-from-acting/
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 5:37:45 PM

Sequel? I say F*CKING YEAH!!

But the only way to surpass the original, if possible, is to be more ambitious & push the boundries in a way to make room for the CGI or 3D advancements since the original.

Ignoring that would make it awkward or seen as too safe. It needs to be edgy, that's what was so cool about the original.

Hopefully it won't be something that won't come off as a MIB2 with the stench of cash-in desperation & mediocrity.

Hoskins is out for sure. Shame...without that magnificent bastard.

We'll see, but to be honest, I'd trust Zemeckis more before his mo-cap phase...
mustardayonnaise writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 8:14:31 PM

re: licencing from Disney/WB, that's a great question. bob z. has absolutely no love for the mouse. he felt like they completely f*cked him over by mis-marketing 'mars needs moms' and then when it tanked, they used their PR machine to place the blame squarely on him... take what you will from that, but it is funny that Bob seems to get more grief from that pic than even Simon Wells.

i think the RR sequel is an interesting idea; i know bob has a few other logs in the fire right now but nothing greenlit. honestly, i don't even think he knows what's next at this moment. i had a fairly interesting conversation with him a few months back at his son's birthday party... he spoke about how hard it was to get sh*t greenlit these days. what stuck me the most was how he spoke as if he had to struggle to get projects greenlit, as if he was some sort of unknown quantity or new to the game. You'd think he could walk into any studio exec's office, drop trou, and instruct the suit to stroke the rod and cradle the balls... but that's not the case. judging from how he talked, even seasoned pros with multiple Oscars under their belt STILL have to hustle for gigs- they're constantly developing, pitching, turning sh*t around, and doing it all over again. Amazing.
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 11:48:38 PM

At Mustardmayonnsise

If you think making a movie is hard. Try making a high rated sitcom. May I suggest the book, "Hello, lied the agent"...can't remember the author, but he used to be a writer for Ted Danson starribg "Becker".

He gives he hilarious, but frustrating look of what a writer needs to do make in the boob tube business.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 12:05:22 AM

dude, celluloid, you don't need to remind me. as I've brought up before- my classmate at USC was Chris Terrio. He wrote Argo.

Here's his story: about 10 years ago, straight out of film school, he got to direct a little indie flick called 'Heights', starring glenn close, james marsden, and a host of other pros. he was james ivory's assistant for years, and this was essentially the rewards for his labors (pretty good reward, yeah). it got a limited release, critical praise, and faded away to nothing.

you know what he's been doing in the interim (other than writing, of course)? he's been a f*cking receptionist in NYC. just to make ends meet. he was on the black list a few years back, which is good, but not great- because those are the best UNPURCHASED scripts, meaning no money. even now, i don't think he's made a lot of money- he did Argo for pretty dirt cheap. of course, I expect he will get an oscar nom at the very least, and cash in on that sh*t (deservedly so), but the garbage he's had to put up with for the past 10 years is pretty startling...
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 12:56:20 PM

I tell you Mustard,
Everyone usually get the idea of how great tslent makes great movies, but many forget that one first has to be discovered or breakout in the business.

There's paying your dues & then there's that f*cked situation that your friend Torrio is going through.

Just remember, as if you didn't know, that HWood can be very fickle that what sucks today, is a classic tomorrow. As seen by Powell & Pressburger's labeled masterpieces THE RED SHOES & THE LIFE AND DEATH OF COLONRL BLIMP.

They made only handful of films for which dealt with complex themes that many misunderstood or condemned (PEEPING TOM), but later revered as cinematic genius, especially by Scorsese. They did films for films, not for money ehich in a way, led to their separation & downfall. When Scorsese found out Powell, I think, was living in poverty, being such an admirer of his work, travelled to his home & actually helped him get back on his feet, shortly before his death.

Hope your friend lands on his feet or behind the writer's desk. Tell him to keep writing...who knows? Maybe he'll bring those refreshing tales of originality we've been hoping for so much & out of the remake hell we're in right now...

Cheers Mustard...
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 6:39:33 PM

Anyway, looks like Terrio is on his way up...

http://m.joblo.com/joblo/news/45954
synthetic1985 writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 11:56:58 AM

i'm down for a sequel...i mean come on guys, this is where 3d wouldn't be a fad on this one, only because we'll be seeing jessica rabbit in 3d...i wanna see the weasals again and christopher lloyd, seriously zemeckis if you wanna pull off a good sequel make sure the story is as good as the hand drawn animation currency of the mid-late 80s with some sort of affiliation with eddie valient even if it's just a cameo...another trip into toontown would be sick too

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility

Gary Oldman Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved