WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Jeremy Renner Says Marvel Wants a Hawkeye/Black Widow Film
Sep 30th, 2014
Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume
Sep 30th, 2014
Kevin Smith Says He Raised Money For "Clerks 3"
Sep 30th, 2014
"Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" Sequel to Premiere on Netflix
Sep 30th, 2014
Trailer for PT Anderson's "Inherent Vice," with Joaquin Phoenix and Josh Brolin
Sep 30th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Loft" Thriller, with Karl Urban and James Marsden
Sep 30th, 2014
"Black Widow" Movie Almost Happened Before "Iron Man"
Sep 29th, 2014
First Look at Kristen Stewart's "Equals" Sci-Fi Film
Sep 29th, 2014
Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Easily Wins at Box Office
Sep 29th, 2014
"Police Academy" Reboot Abandons Judd Apatow's Storyline
Sep 29th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Attached to "Interstellar"?
Sep 28th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" to Begin Filming in December
Sep 28th, 2014
William Shatner Confirms Offer to Appear in "Star Trek 3"
Sep 28th, 2014
First Trailer for Lifetime's "Aaliyah" Biopic
Sep 28th, 2014
Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?
Sep 27th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Comments on Matt Damon Returning to "Jason Bourne" Franchise
Sep 27th, 2014
First Poster for Liam Neeson's "Taken 3," Plus New Title Revealed
Sep 27th, 2014
Posters For Ridiculous "22 Jump Street" Sequels
Sep 27th, 2014
How Much Netflix Do People Watch Per Day?
Sep 27th, 2014
Miles Teller Apologizes For Trashing "Divergent"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Sep 26th, 2014
Deleted Rogue Scenes Will Be Added Back Into "Rogue Cut" of "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Wedding Ringer" Comedy, with Kevin Hart and Josh Gad
Sep 26th, 2014
"Bill and Ted 3" is Still Happening, Details Revealed
Sep 26th, 2014
"Dumb and Dumber To" Unveils First TV Spot
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Michael Mann's "Blackhat" Thriller, with Chris Hemsworth
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Joe Carnahan's "Stretch," with Chris Pine, Patrick Wilson and Jessica Alba
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "Jupiter Ascending" Sci-Fi Film, with Channing Tatum and Mila Kunis
Sep 25th, 2014
New Trailer for Marvel's "Big Hero 6" Animated Film
Sep 25th, 2014
First Look at Nicolas Cage's Troubled "Dying of the Light" Thriller
Sep 25th, 2014
Naked Woman Broke Into Keanu Reeves' House
Sep 25th, 2014
Trailer for Sylvester Stallone's "Reach Me" Drama
Sep 25th, 2014
Liam Neeson Joins "Ted" Sequel
Sep 25th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Robert Zemeckis Discusses "Who Framed Roger Rabbit" Sequel

Posted: December 1st, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Robert Zemeckis Discusses "Who Framed Roger Rabbit" SequelSubmit Comment
While promoting "Flight," director Robert Zemeckis was asked about the long-rumored sequel to "Who Framed Roger Rabbit." The helmer replied that Disney already has a script, but has yet to make the decision to move forward.

"I'm happy with the script. It's very good. It's written by the original writers, and it's good," he said. "[But Disney] is still thinking about it."

Zemeckis continued: "If I were to do the sequel, it would be done just like the first one. It would look the same way, but we would present it in 3D in its release. I would do all of the animation hand-drawn; 2D, but using 3D tools. It wouldn't be like Pixar 3D. It wouldn't look like that."

Source: MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 6:46:40 AM

Nobody wants this Zemeckis.
McQueen writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 6:52:53 AM

^ ^ I second that.
pornfly writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:02:11 AM

What the f*ck does Disney have to think about?
They've had ToonTown at Disney since the late 80s
They remade Witch Mountain for f*cks sake

Charles Fleischer has been out of Welcome Back Kotter money for a while now
And the only way anyone wants to see Kathleen Turner is in animated form
McQueen writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:04:53 AM

Kathleen Turner?

Was that the blond whale in Californication?
pornfly writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:19:27 AM

Dont know BULLIT
she did play a man on Friends
pornfly writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:30:52 AM

Now Janine Turner
Rowrrr!
Ever since she was on Knight Rider
SoftimusPrime writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:43:56 AM

@cress Umm, I want this. And many others I bet.

There're few directors who I really have confidence in and Zemeckis sure is one of them (minus the awful mocap animations though). If he's willing to do this old school and says the script is good, bring it.

DISNEY, PLEASE GREENLIGHT THIS.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:43:58 AM

Christina Hendricks and her busoms.

Don't know if I spelled busoms right.so corrections if needed
McQueen writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:48:33 AM

Christina's bosom? there you go:

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xf3kok_christina-hendricks-compilation_sexy
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 9:26:05 AM

Saw Flight last night lol, Good flick
pornfly writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 1:36:28 PM

I'd play NuttyBuddy between those bosom buddies till I die an ol' fuddy duddy

With her dweeb husband havin ass
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 1:50:01 PM

" I would do all of the animation hand-drawn; 2D, but using 3D tools. It wouldn't be like Pixar 3D. It wouldn't look like that."

Wait. Did Zemeckis says this, or a certified moron? Hand-drawn 3D? LMAO! Come on dude, you WORKED with 3D animation for *years*, and you're saying this sh*t?

Hand-drawn 3D. Wait, no, "Hand drawn 2D using 3D tools". Lol.

Guess the guy is going senile. Think he means cel-shaded 3D to look like it was hand drawn, like that old FPS game XIII.

What a maroon.
vaodsi writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 3:23:17 PM

basically his way of saying 2D is "hand drawn" Lol. He thinks he can bamboozle us.


kind of off subject

A few months ago some guy on NPR was interviewing some special effects guy (don't remember any names, i was flipping through the channels) and the aged host asks, "So, you work in computer Graphics so tell me, has there ever been a character in a movie that was fully done with just computer?"

The guy answers, "Uhm... yeah.. Many. Several."

vaodsi writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 3:24:32 PM

basically, he thinks we are aged NPR hosts with no understanding of CGI.
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 3:46:46 PM

"basically, he thinks we are aged NPR hosts with no understanding of CGI."

And yet he's the guy talking about hand drawn 2D in 3D. Or something.

To be honest, I have no clue what he's trying to say, and I have to wonder if the entire excerpt is false, fiction, because Zemeckis isn't some ancient fart out in the wilderness. He worked on how many fairly competent 3D films?
mustardayonnaise writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 4:08:00 PM

i think the article is slightly misrepresenting what bob is trying to say. if he did RR2 it would all be hand drawn. leave it at that. he wants it to look like a period piece, and he wants the style consistent with the first one.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 4:08:37 PM

and FWIW, bob is SO not a moron. trust me
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 4:43:01 PM

^^I just thought he was drunk, or they interviewed Bob Gale by mistake.
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 4:45:28 PM

Maybe he was saying it would be 2D, hand drawn, traditional animation, but presented in 3D, you know, like those Piranha flicks...dunno. He kind of slurred all over the place with that one.

And no, he's definitely not a moron, which is why I had to do a full WTF.
html mencken writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 5:14:16 PM

Does anyone think it's going to be possible for Zemeckis and his crew to convince both Disney and Warner Bros. to license their cartoon characters for this sequel? From what I recall, this was difficult enough back in '88, with Disney and Warner making a sh*tload of demands, such as Mickey Mouse and Bugs Bunny needing to have the same amount of screen time and an equal number of lines of dialogue. And nowadays, the two companies seem more fiercely competitive with each other than ever... I don't know, any thoughts?
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 5:17:54 PM

Yeah. Disney will just buy Warner Brothers. Problem solved.
html mencken writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 5:27:28 PM

Well, one thing's for sure: they're going to need to recast Eddie Valiant.

http://www.itv.com/news/update/2012-08-08/bob-hoskins-retires-from-acting/
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 5:37:45 PM

Sequel? I say F*CKING YEAH!!

But the only way to surpass the original, if possible, is to be more ambitious & push the boundries in a way to make room for the CGI or 3D advancements since the original.

Ignoring that would make it awkward or seen as too safe. It needs to be edgy, that's what was so cool about the original.

Hopefully it won't be something that won't come off as a MIB2 with the stench of cash-in desperation & mediocrity.

Hoskins is out for sure. Shame...without that magnificent bastard.

We'll see, but to be honest, I'd trust Zemeckis more before his mo-cap phase...
mustardayonnaise writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 8:14:31 PM

re: licencing from Disney/WB, that's a great question. bob z. has absolutely no love for the mouse. he felt like they completely f*cked him over by mis-marketing 'mars needs moms' and then when it tanked, they used their PR machine to place the blame squarely on him... take what you will from that, but it is funny that Bob seems to get more grief from that pic than even Simon Wells.

i think the RR sequel is an interesting idea; i know bob has a few other logs in the fire right now but nothing greenlit. honestly, i don't even think he knows what's next at this moment. i had a fairly interesting conversation with him a few months back at his son's birthday party... he spoke about how hard it was to get sh*t greenlit these days. what stuck me the most was how he spoke as if he had to struggle to get projects greenlit, as if he was some sort of unknown quantity or new to the game. You'd think he could walk into any studio exec's office, drop trou, and instruct the suit to stroke the rod and cradle the balls... but that's not the case. judging from how he talked, even seasoned pros with multiple Oscars under their belt STILL have to hustle for gigs- they're constantly developing, pitching, turning sh*t around, and doing it all over again. Amazing.
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 11:48:38 PM

At Mustardmayonnsise

If you think making a movie is hard. Try making a high rated sitcom. May I suggest the book, "Hello, lied the agent"...can't remember the author, but he used to be a writer for Ted Danson starribg "Becker".

He gives he hilarious, but frustrating look of what a writer needs to do make in the boob tube business.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 12:05:22 AM

dude, celluloid, you don't need to remind me. as I've brought up before- my classmate at USC was Chris Terrio. He wrote Argo.

Here's his story: about 10 years ago, straight out of film school, he got to direct a little indie flick called 'Heights', starring glenn close, james marsden, and a host of other pros. he was james ivory's assistant for years, and this was essentially the rewards for his labors (pretty good reward, yeah). it got a limited release, critical praise, and faded away to nothing.

you know what he's been doing in the interim (other than writing, of course)? he's been a f*cking receptionist in NYC. just to make ends meet. he was on the black list a few years back, which is good, but not great- because those are the best UNPURCHASED scripts, meaning no money. even now, i don't think he's made a lot of money- he did Argo for pretty dirt cheap. of course, I expect he will get an oscar nom at the very least, and cash in on that sh*t (deservedly so), but the garbage he's had to put up with for the past 10 years is pretty startling...
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 12:56:20 PM

I tell you Mustard,
Everyone usually get the idea of how great tslent makes great movies, but many forget that one first has to be discovered or breakout in the business.

There's paying your dues & then there's that f*cked situation that your friend Torrio is going through.

Just remember, as if you didn't know, that HWood can be very fickle that what sucks today, is a classic tomorrow. As seen by Powell & Pressburger's labeled masterpieces THE RED SHOES & THE LIFE AND DEATH OF COLONRL BLIMP.

They made only handful of films for which dealt with complex themes that many misunderstood or condemned (PEEPING TOM), but later revered as cinematic genius, especially by Scorsese. They did films for films, not for money ehich in a way, led to their separation & downfall. When Scorsese found out Powell, I think, was living in poverty, being such an admirer of his work, travelled to his home & actually helped him get back on his feet, shortly before his death.

Hope your friend lands on his feet or behind the writer's desk. Tell him to keep writing...who knows? Maybe he'll bring those refreshing tales of originality we've been hoping for so much & out of the remake hell we're in right now...

Cheers Mustard...
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 6:39:33 PM

Anyway, looks like Terrio is on his way up...

http://m.joblo.com/joblo/news/45954
synthetic1985 writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 11:56:58 AM

i'm down for a sequel...i mean come on guys, this is where 3d wouldn't be a fad on this one, only because we'll be seeing jessica rabbit in 3d...i wanna see the weasals again and christopher lloyd, seriously zemeckis if you wanna pull off a good sequel make sure the story is as good as the hand drawn animation currency of the mid-late 80s with some sort of affiliation with eddie valient even if it's just a cameo...another trip into toontown would be sick too

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You

Colin Farrell and Vince Vaughn Confirmed for Second Season of "True Detective"

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull

Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience

Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved