WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Rocky" Spin-Off "Creed"
Jul 1st, 2015
Trailer for Gerard Butler's "Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel, "London Has Fallen"
Jul 1st, 2015
Marlon Wayans Threatening to Make "White Chicks" Sequel
Jul 1st, 2015
Teaser Trailer for Oliver Stone's "Snowden" Film, with Joseph Gordon-Levitt
Jul 1st, 2015
Robert Zemeckis Says He'll Stop Any "Back to the Future" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Titles for "Star Trek 3" and "Guardians of the Galaxy 2" Revealed
Jun 30th, 2015
First Look at Costumes From "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Ten Thousand Saints," with Ethan Hawke and Asa Butterfield
Jun 30th, 2015
"Ted 2" Underperforms at Box Office, "Jurassic World" Continues to Dominate
Jun 29th, 2015
"Lucy" and "Colombiana" Sequels in the Works
Jun 27th, 2015
Steven Spielberg Acquires Michael Crichton's "Micro" Novel
Jun 27th, 2015
New "Heroes Reborn" Trailer Arrives Online
Jun 26th, 2015
Photos From New Episodes of "The X-Files"
Jun 26th, 2015
New Trailer for Tom Hardy's "Legend" Thriller
Jun 26th, 2015
Adrian Grenier Would Make "Aquaman" Cameo
Jun 26th, 2015
Shia LaBeouf Hospitalized After Sustaining a Head Injury on Set
Jun 25th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Rampage" Video Game Movie
Jun 25th, 2015
First Look at Gerard Butler in "London Has Fallen"
Jun 25th, 2015
Emma Watson Joins Tom Hanks in "The Circle" Thriller
Jun 25th, 2015
"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director
Jun 24th, 2015
First Trailer for "Paranormal Activity: The Ghost Dimension"
Jun 24th, 2015
Channing Tatum Says He Hates "GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra"
Jun 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Hitman: Agent 47" Reboot
Jun 24th, 2015
Arnold Schwarzenegger to Star in "478" Drama, Darren Aronofsky is Producing
Jun 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Masterminds" Comedy, with Zach Galifianakis and Kristen Wiig
Jun 24th, 2015
Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight
Jun 23rd, 2015
"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase
Jun 23rd, 2015
First Look at Final "Paranormal Activity" Installment
Jun 23rd, 2015
"Titanic" Composer James Horner Dies in Plane Crash
Jun 23rd, 2015
New Trailer for "Dragon Blade," with Jackie Chan and John Cusack
Jun 23rd, 2015
Full Trailer for "7 Days in Hell" Tennis Comedy, with Andy Samberg and Kit Harington
Jun 23rd, 2015
Hugh Jackman Confirmed for "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Jun 21st, 2015
Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay
Jun 20th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Highlander" Loses Director, Ryan Reynolds Still On Board

Posted: December 1st, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Highlander" Loses Director, Ryan Reynolds Still On BoardSubmit Comment
At one point Justin Lin was attached to direct the upcoming "Highlander" reboot, but eventually dropped out. Summit Entertainment then announced that "28 Weeks Later" helmer Juan Carlos Fresnadillo signed on to replace him. But now, he has dropped out as well.

Deadline says that Fresnadillo made a good effort to get the project off the ground, but ultimately couldn't agree with the studio's vision. Leaving the project was a difficult decision for the helmer since he left "The Crow" remake for "Highlander" and spent over a year working on it.

Fresnadillo will now begin searching for his next project, while Summit will once again look for a new person to direct "Highlander," which still has Ryan Reynolds on board to play the lead.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
McQueen writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 6:52:27 AM

Ryan Reynolds?

I can see already Bando's overwhelming joy about this one...
cress writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:07:29 AM

Juan Carlos Fresnadillo will be directing only YouTube videos if he keeps dropping out of big budget films. Suck it up, Juan. You knew you would have to tangle with studio heads when you signed up for a project like this--that's part of the deal. Pull the tampon out your ass and finish what you started, for once.

*In related news, I could care less about any of this.
pornfly writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:28:10 AM

RE-RELEASE THE ORIGINAL IN IMAX
boogiel writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:29:40 AM

It's probably for the best. Reynolds will sink the film no matter how fresnadillo directs it.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:36:37 AM

Yes I'm very happy my prayers have been answered.
And I said this a million times.watch the highlander anime.best outta them all.

Thomas Jane could play McLeod.cause he looks like Lambert .
bandolero999 writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:39:00 AM

At first I thought Reynolds was out but since There is no director.it will take a while.
McQueen writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:43:55 AM

"Thomas Jane could play McLeod.cause he looks like Lambert."

True.

As long he gets a sandwich from the producer, I'm sure he'll be in it...
Morbius writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 8:02:54 AM

Agree with porn. (Not the first time I've used that statement).
SACdaddy writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 8:58:46 AM

Ryan Reynold is a terrible choice for the part. Funny how you've got all these Brits and Scottsmen playing American roles but there never seems to be one around when you have to cast a Highlander movie. Hwood is ass backwards.
sedibus writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 9:00:49 AM

Only the first one is good, and the anime is frigging great of course. Are we going to get Ninja Scroll 2? n_n

The second one is good just when Connor and Ramirez are inside a car and got violently shot and then they wake up laughing, that was f*cking great, but besides that, really half-baked though.

Didn't care much about the third one nor the series. Sorry, mates.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 9:01:11 AM

The one Scott they cast ended up playing a Spaniard!
Electro Rock writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 11:02:10 AM

A fake Spaniard from Egypt at that.
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 11:53:35 AM

@sedibus - I must not have seen the 2nd one then. Doesn't sound like I missed too much.

The music also made the first one for me (of course... right trig?).

Man, am I ever sick of remakes.
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 1:44:10 PM

"Thomas Jane could play McLeod.cause he looks like Lambert"

...and I hear his sword play is unsurpassed in the anals of Hollywood.
Rambo writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 2:35:54 PM

Forgive me father...I am a worm...

clancy brown was the best thing in the original and one of the best villains in film history
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 2:37:14 PM

He doesn't draw blood from his enemies... that's special sauce.
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 2:38:29 PM

@Rambo - you bet. I had written (and registered) an Iron Man 'treatment' in Hollyweird in the late 90's. Clancy Brown was my first pick for Dr. Doom because of his role in Highlander, Shawshank, Carnivale, etc.
Shlomo The Homo writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 2:48:17 PM

Ryan Reynolds as MacLeod? Yes, please! Oh, and while you're at it, cast Chris Hemsworth as the Kurrgan, thank you very much! Alivay, it should only happen... and talk about a pair of exquisite young men, those two!

And oh, please, let the movie end with the two naked immortals engaging in a fierce penis-fencing battle. There can only be one... but it can be fun!

Gey gezunterheyt, everyone!

Shlomo The Homo writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 2:56:32 PM

"He doesn't draw blood from his enemies... that's special sauce."

It's good for the skin, bubbala!

pornfly writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 3:09:18 PM

Looks like PAULOREY has been outsourced
McQueen writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 3:14:53 PM

^ ^ LOLOL!

You're in my good book Pornfly, you're funny alright. -:)
sedibus writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 6:32:51 PM

@Ranger:

Well, if you are really digging the Highlander mythos then you probably could watch the second and depending on how you feel about it see the third one. With that one I didn't take my chances, anyway.
Spoiler FREE:

The second occurs in a Blade Runner-esque future, something is wrong with the sky, deals with beings from another planet, umm, and McLeod is getting old at the beginning, no more Highlander adventures at first.

The animated TV series was pretty neat actually.
Ranger writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 12:02:21 AM

OK... I did see it then. Ugh! Thought I blocked it out. There was a shield over the sky, and I remember aliens. f*ck me that was bad!
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 1:03:18 AM

Reynolds? Again?

Guy looks too pretty-boy, clean cut to play a role that is suppose to be so....world weary.

I know the guy is bank, but in this case until I see a performance that changes my mind, I'll say he's been miscast.

James Purefoy has my vote. See SOLOMON KANE trailer to see him wield a sword.
Mudders writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 5:48:15 AM

why reynolds?

is it just because he swung some swords around in wolverine???

if thats the case grab ewan mcgregor instead....

1. he's scottish for a start

2. he can swing a sword(lightsaber) same thing i guess

and 3. he's a way better actor


f*cked if i know anything though
pornfly writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 8:23:15 AM

Youre a class act,BULLIT
President Baltar writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 3:06:45 PM

They should have Gerard Butler, or Kevin McKidd for McLeod. I do like Reynolds from time to time, but I really can't picture him doing a Scottish accent, much less being the friggin' ONE!

Hugh Jackman on Quitting Wolverine and Making "Deadpool" Cameo

Hugh Jackman Quit Wolverine Role Because of Jerry Seinfeld

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Marvel and Sony Can't Agree on Which Actor Should Play Spider-Man

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

"Jurassic World" is a Massive Hit, Chris Pratt to Return for Sequel

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Plot Synopsis Revealed

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

Targon Egerton Wants to Replace Hugh Jackman as Wolverine

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved