WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America
Aug 28th, 2014
First Photos of Doctor Doom From "Fantastic Four" Leaked Online?
Aug 28th, 2014
"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died
Aug 28th, 2014
"Underworld" Franchise is Being Rebooted
Aug 28th, 2014
"Pacific Rim" Star Charlie Hunnam May Star in "King Arthur"
Aug 28th, 2014
Three New Photos From "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 28th, 2014
"Cops" Cameraman Killed While Filming TV Show
Aug 28th, 2014
"Looney Tunes" Movie Gets Steve Carell and "X-Men: First Class" Writers
Aug 27th, 2014
Warner Bros Has a "No Jokes" Policy For Its Superhero Films?
Aug 27th, 2014
Henry Cavill Does the Ice Bucket Challenge in His Superman Costume
Aug 27th, 2014
"Da Vinci Code 3" to Begin Filming in April, Tom Hanks Set to Return
Aug 27th, 2014
New "Jurassic World" Set Photo Honors Richard Attenborough
Aug 27th, 2014
First Look at Lucy Lawless in Marvel's "Agents of SHIELD" TV Series
Aug 27th, 2014
Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Unveils IMAX TV Spot
Aug 27th, 2014
Trailer for "The Pyramid" Thriller, From Alexandre Aja
Aug 27th, 2014
"Full House" Sequel Coming to TV, With Original Cast
Aug 26th, 2014
Ben Affleck's "Gone Girl" Thriller Unveils Emmy Awards TV Spot
Aug 26th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Says Hawkeye May Appear in "Captain America 3"
Aug 26th, 2014
Tyler Perry Never Heard of David Fincher Until Joining His "Gone Girl" Film
Aug 26th, 2014
"Thor" Star Chris Hemsworth in Talks For "Vacation" Reboot
Aug 26th, 2014
New Photos of Henry Cavill in "The Man From UNCLE"
Aug 26th, 2014
"Shutter Island" to Become a TV Series, Martin Scorsese May Direct
Aug 26th, 2014
Ridley Scott Discusses "Blade Runner" and "Prometheus" Sequels
Aug 26th, 2014
Extended Restricted Trailer for "As Above So Below" Horror Film
Aug 26th, 2014
Joss Whedon Discusses Iron Man's Hulkbuster Suit in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 25th, 2014
Photo of Jeremy Renner's Redesigned Hawkeye Suit From "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 25th, 2014
"Jurassic Park" Star Richard Attenborough Dead at 90
Aug 25th, 2014
"Sin City 2" Bombs at Box Office, "Guardians of the Galaxy" Smashing Records
Aug 25th, 2014
Chloe Moretz Says "Kick-Ass 3" Won't Happen
Aug 25th, 2014
Bruce Wayne Enjoys MMA Fights in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 24th, 2014
Director Rian Johnson Used "Se7en" and "Blade Runner" to Get "Looper" Made
Aug 24th, 2014
Director Josh Trank Unveils Photo of The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Aug 24th, 2014
"Ant-Man" Set Photo Hints at Hulk's Appearance
Aug 23rd, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Highlander" Loses Director, Ryan Reynolds Still On Board

Posted: December 1st, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Highlander" Loses Director, Ryan Reynolds Still On BoardSubmit Comment
At one point Justin Lin was attached to direct the upcoming "Highlander" reboot, but eventually dropped out. Summit Entertainment then announced that "28 Weeks Later" helmer Juan Carlos Fresnadillo signed on to replace him. But now, he has dropped out as well.

Deadline says that Fresnadillo made a good effort to get the project off the ground, but ultimately couldn't agree with the studio's vision. Leaving the project was a difficult decision for the helmer since he left "The Crow" remake for "Highlander" and spent over a year working on it.

Fresnadillo will now begin searching for his next project, while Summit will once again look for a new person to direct "Highlander," which still has Ryan Reynolds on board to play the lead.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
McQueen writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 6:52:27 AM

Ryan Reynolds?

I can see already Bando's overwhelming joy about this one...
cress writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:07:29 AM

Juan Carlos Fresnadillo will be directing only YouTube videos if he keeps dropping out of big budget films. Suck it up, Juan. You knew you would have to tangle with studio heads when you signed up for a project like this--that's part of the deal. Pull the tampon out your ass and finish what you started, for once.

*In related news, I could care less about any of this.
pornfly writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:28:10 AM

RE-RELEASE THE ORIGINAL IN IMAX
boogiel writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:29:40 AM

It's probably for the best. Reynolds will sink the film no matter how fresnadillo directs it.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:36:37 AM

Yes I'm very happy my prayers have been answered.
And I said this a million times.watch the highlander anime.best outta them all.

Thomas Jane could play McLeod.cause he looks like Lambert .
bandolero999 writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:39:00 AM

At first I thought Reynolds was out but since There is no director.it will take a while.
McQueen writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:43:55 AM

"Thomas Jane could play McLeod.cause he looks like Lambert."

True.

As long he gets a sandwich from the producer, I'm sure he'll be in it...
Morbius writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 8:02:54 AM

Agree with porn. (Not the first time I've used that statement).
SACdaddy writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 8:58:46 AM

Ryan Reynold is a terrible choice for the part. Funny how you've got all these Brits and Scottsmen playing American roles but there never seems to be one around when you have to cast a Highlander movie. Hwood is ass backwards.
sedibus writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 9:00:49 AM

Only the first one is good, and the anime is frigging great of course. Are we going to get Ninja Scroll 2? n_n

The second one is good just when Connor and Ramirez are inside a car and got violently shot and then they wake up laughing, that was f*cking great, but besides that, really half-baked though.

Didn't care much about the third one nor the series. Sorry, mates.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 9:01:11 AM

The one Scott they cast ended up playing a Spaniard!
Electro Rock writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 11:02:10 AM

A fake Spaniard from Egypt at that.
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 11:53:35 AM

@sedibus - I must not have seen the 2nd one then. Doesn't sound like I missed too much.

The music also made the first one for me (of course... right trig?).

Man, am I ever sick of remakes.
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 1:44:10 PM

"Thomas Jane could play McLeod.cause he looks like Lambert"

...and I hear his sword play is unsurpassed in the anals of Hollywood.
Rambo writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 2:35:54 PM

Forgive me father...I am a worm...

clancy brown was the best thing in the original and one of the best villains in film history
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 2:37:14 PM

He doesn't draw blood from his enemies... that's special sauce.
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 2:38:29 PM

@Rambo - you bet. I had written (and registered) an Iron Man 'treatment' in Hollyweird in the late 90's. Clancy Brown was my first pick for Dr. Doom because of his role in Highlander, Shawshank, Carnivale, etc.
Shlomo The Homo writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 2:48:17 PM

Ryan Reynolds as MacLeod? Yes, please! Oh, and while you're at it, cast Chris Hemsworth as the Kurrgan, thank you very much! Alivay, it should only happen... and talk about a pair of exquisite young men, those two!

And oh, please, let the movie end with the two naked immortals engaging in a fierce penis-fencing battle. There can only be one... but it can be fun!

Gey gezunterheyt, everyone!

Shlomo The Homo writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 2:56:32 PM

"He doesn't draw blood from his enemies... that's special sauce."

It's good for the skin, bubbala!

pornfly writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 3:09:18 PM

Looks like PAULOREY has been outsourced
McQueen writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 3:14:53 PM

^ ^ LOLOL!

You're in my good book Pornfly, you're funny alright. -:)
sedibus writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 6:32:51 PM

@Ranger:

Well, if you are really digging the Highlander mythos then you probably could watch the second and depending on how you feel about it see the third one. With that one I didn't take my chances, anyway.
Spoiler FREE:

The second occurs in a Blade Runner-esque future, something is wrong with the sky, deals with beings from another planet, umm, and McLeod is getting old at the beginning, no more Highlander adventures at first.

The animated TV series was pretty neat actually.
Ranger writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 12:02:21 AM

OK... I did see it then. Ugh! Thought I blocked it out. There was a shield over the sky, and I remember aliens. f*ck me that was bad!
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 1:03:18 AM

Reynolds? Again?

Guy looks too pretty-boy, clean cut to play a role that is suppose to be so....world weary.

I know the guy is bank, but in this case until I see a performance that changes my mind, I'll say he's been miscast.

James Purefoy has my vote. See SOLOMON KANE trailer to see him wield a sword.
Mudders writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 5:48:15 AM

why reynolds?

is it just because he swung some swords around in wolverine???

if thats the case grab ewan mcgregor instead....

1. he's scottish for a start

2. he can swing a sword(lightsaber) same thing i guess

and 3. he's a way better actor


f*cked if i know anything though
pornfly writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 8:23:15 AM

Youre a class act,BULLIT
President Baltar writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 3:06:45 PM

They should have Gerard Butler, or Kevin McKidd for McLeod. I do like Reynolds from time to time, but I really can't picture him doing a Scottish accent, much less being the friggin' ONE!

"Sin City 2" Bombs at Box Office, "Guardians of the Galaxy" Smashing Records

Ronda Rousey Says She Should Have Been Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Bruce Wayne's Age in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed

"Sin City 2" is a Box Office Disaster

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Story Details Revealed

Bruce Wayne Enjoys MMA Fights in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Robin Williams' Cause of Death Revealed

"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top

Joss Whedon Discusses Iron Man's Hulkbuster Suit in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved