WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Jake Gyllenhaal in "Demolition," From Director of "Dallas Buyers Club"
Jul 31st, 2015
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass"
Jul 31st, 2015
Trailer for "The Night Before" Comedy, with Seth Rogen, Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Anthony Mackie
Jul 30th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Bay's "13 Hours" Benghazi Thriller
Jul 30th, 2015
Channing Tatum Quitting "Gambit" Film?
Jul 30th, 2015
Trailer for Mark Ruffalo's "Spotlight," About Pedophile Priests
Jul 30th, 2015
New Trailer for "Sicario" Thriller, with Emily Blunt and Josh Brolin
Jul 30th, 2015
Vince Vaughn Joins Mel Gibson's "Hacksaw Ridge" WWII Film
Jul 30th, 2015
Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals
Jul 25th, 2015
Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
Jul 25th, 2015
New Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
Jul 25th, 2015
"Jurassic World" Sequel Gets Release Date, Chris Pratt to Return
Jul 24th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson's "Baywatch" Movie Hires "Horrible Bosses" Director
Jul 24th, 2015
Russell Crowe in Talks to Join "King Kong" Prequel
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
Jul 24th, 2015
LeBron James Signs Deal with Warner Bros, "Space Jam 2" Happening?
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "Mississippi Grind" Poker Film
Jul 23rd, 2015
Final Restricted Trailer for "Vacation" Sequel
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Patrick Wilson's "Zipper" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2015
Full Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for Pixar's "The Good Dinosaur" Animated Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Kung Fu Panda" Director Making "Emoji" Movie
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Pacific Rim 2" to Begin Filming in November
Jul 22nd, 2015
Backstreet Boys and 'NSync Members Unite for "Dead 7" Low-Budget Horror Film
Jul 21st, 2015
Benicio Del Toro May Play Villain in "Star Wars: Episode VIII"
Jul 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Before We Go," Chris Evans' Directorial Debut
Jul 21st, 2015
"The Godfather" Actor Alex Rocco Dead at 79
Jul 21st, 2015
New Trailer for "American Ultra," with Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart
Jul 21st, 2015
"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening
Jul 20th, 2015
Ava DuVernay Explains Why She Isn't Directing Marvel's "Black Panther"
Jul 20th, 2015
Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?
Jul 19th, 2015
Sam Raimi Comments on Marvel Rebooting "Spider-Man" Franchise
Jul 19th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Highlander" Loses Director, Ryan Reynolds Still On Board

Posted: December 1st, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Highlander" Loses Director, Ryan Reynolds Still On BoardSubmit Comment
At one point Justin Lin was attached to direct the upcoming "Highlander" reboot, but eventually dropped out. Summit Entertainment then announced that "28 Weeks Later" helmer Juan Carlos Fresnadillo signed on to replace him. But now, he has dropped out as well.

Deadline says that Fresnadillo made a good effort to get the project off the ground, but ultimately couldn't agree with the studio's vision. Leaving the project was a difficult decision for the helmer since he left "The Crow" remake for "Highlander" and spent over a year working on it.

Fresnadillo will now begin searching for his next project, while Summit will once again look for a new person to direct "Highlander," which still has Ryan Reynolds on board to play the lead.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
McQueen writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 6:52:27 AM

Ryan Reynolds?

I can see already Bando's overwhelming joy about this one...
cress writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:07:29 AM

Juan Carlos Fresnadillo will be directing only YouTube videos if he keeps dropping out of big budget films. Suck it up, Juan. You knew you would have to tangle with studio heads when you signed up for a project like this--that's part of the deal. Pull the tampon out your ass and finish what you started, for once.

*In related news, I could care less about any of this.
pornfly writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:28:10 AM

RE-RELEASE THE ORIGINAL IN IMAX
boogiel writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:29:40 AM

It's probably for the best. Reynolds will sink the film no matter how fresnadillo directs it.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:36:37 AM

Yes I'm very happy my prayers have been answered.
And I said this a million times.watch the highlander anime.best outta them all.

Thomas Jane could play McLeod.cause he looks like Lambert .
bandolero999 writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:39:00 AM

At first I thought Reynolds was out but since There is no director.it will take a while.
McQueen writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:43:55 AM

"Thomas Jane could play McLeod.cause he looks like Lambert."

True.

As long he gets a sandwich from the producer, I'm sure he'll be in it...
Morbius writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 8:02:54 AM

Agree with porn. (Not the first time I've used that statement).
SACdaddy writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 8:58:46 AM

Ryan Reynold is a terrible choice for the part. Funny how you've got all these Brits and Scottsmen playing American roles but there never seems to be one around when you have to cast a Highlander movie. Hwood is ass backwards.
sedibus writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 9:00:49 AM

Only the first one is good, and the anime is frigging great of course. Are we going to get Ninja Scroll 2? n_n

The second one is good just when Connor and Ramirez are inside a car and got violently shot and then they wake up laughing, that was f*cking great, but besides that, really half-baked though.

Didn't care much about the third one nor the series. Sorry, mates.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 9:01:11 AM

The one Scott they cast ended up playing a Spaniard!
Electro Rock writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 11:02:10 AM

A fake Spaniard from Egypt at that.
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 11:53:35 AM

@sedibus - I must not have seen the 2nd one then. Doesn't sound like I missed too much.

The music also made the first one for me (of course... right trig?).

Man, am I ever sick of remakes.
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 1:44:10 PM

"Thomas Jane could play McLeod.cause he looks like Lambert"

...and I hear his sword play is unsurpassed in the anals of Hollywood.
Rambo writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 2:35:54 PM

Forgive me father...I am a worm...

clancy brown was the best thing in the original and one of the best villains in film history
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 2:37:14 PM

He doesn't draw blood from his enemies... that's special sauce.
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 2:38:29 PM

@Rambo - you bet. I had written (and registered) an Iron Man 'treatment' in Hollyweird in the late 90's. Clancy Brown was my first pick for Dr. Doom because of his role in Highlander, Shawshank, Carnivale, etc.
Shlomo The Homo writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 2:48:17 PM

Ryan Reynolds as MacLeod? Yes, please! Oh, and while you're at it, cast Chris Hemsworth as the Kurrgan, thank you very much! Alivay, it should only happen... and talk about a pair of exquisite young men, those two!

And oh, please, let the movie end with the two naked immortals engaging in a fierce penis-fencing battle. There can only be one... but it can be fun!

Gey gezunterheyt, everyone!

Shlomo The Homo writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 2:56:32 PM

"He doesn't draw blood from his enemies... that's special sauce."

It's good for the skin, bubbala!

pornfly writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 3:09:18 PM

Looks like PAULOREY has been outsourced
McQueen writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 3:14:53 PM

^ ^ LOLOL!

You're in my good book Pornfly, you're funny alright. -:)
sedibus writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 6:32:51 PM

@Ranger:

Well, if you are really digging the Highlander mythos then you probably could watch the second and depending on how you feel about it see the third one. With that one I didn't take my chances, anyway.
Spoiler FREE:

The second occurs in a Blade Runner-esque future, something is wrong with the sky, deals with beings from another planet, umm, and McLeod is getting old at the beginning, no more Highlander adventures at first.

The animated TV series was pretty neat actually.
Ranger writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 12:02:21 AM

OK... I did see it then. Ugh! Thought I blocked it out. There was a shield over the sky, and I remember aliens. f*ck me that was bad!
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 1:03:18 AM

Reynolds? Again?

Guy looks too pretty-boy, clean cut to play a role that is suppose to be so....world weary.

I know the guy is bank, but in this case until I see a performance that changes my mind, I'll say he's been miscast.

James Purefoy has my vote. See SOLOMON KANE trailer to see him wield a sword.
Mudders writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 5:48:15 AM

why reynolds?

is it just because he swung some swords around in wolverine???

if thats the case grab ewan mcgregor instead....

1. he's scottish for a start

2. he can swing a sword(lightsaber) same thing i guess

and 3. he's a way better actor


f*cked if i know anything though
pornfly writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 8:23:15 AM

Youre a class act,BULLIT
President Baltar writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 3:06:45 PM

They should have Gerard Butler, or Kevin McKidd for McLeod. I do like Reynolds from time to time, but I really can't picture him doing a Scottish accent, much less being the friggin' ONE!

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved