WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Jared Leto as The Joker from "Suicide Squad"!
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for M. Night Shyamalan's "The Visit" Thriller
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for "Area 51" Horror Film, From Director of "Paranormal Activity"
Apr 25th, 2015
First Look at Jamie Dornan in "Fifty Shades of Grey" Sequel
Apr 25th, 2015
Creepy Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass"
Apr 25th, 2015
First Look at Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy in "Victor Frankenstein"
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for "Barely Lethal" Action Comedy, with Hailee Steinfeld and Jessica Alba
Apr 25th, 2015
Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot
Apr 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Point Break" Remake
Apr 23rd, 2015
EL James' Husband to Write "Fifty Shades of Grey" Sequel
Apr 23rd, 2015
"21 Jump Street" Directors to Helm Animated "Spider-Man" Movie
Apr 23rd, 2015
Photo: Johnny Depp is Crime Boss Whitey Bulger in "Black Mass"
Apr 23rd, 2015
First Look at Johnny Depp in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Apr 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for George Clooney's "Tomorrowland" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 22nd, 2015
First Poster for M. Night Shyamalan's "The Visit" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2015
Poster for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Southpaw" Boxing Film
Apr 22nd, 2015
New "Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Apr 21st, 2015
First Look at Jared Leto as The Joker From "Suicide Squad"?
Apr 21st, 2015
Photos: Marvel Putting Up Tiny "Ant-Man" Billboards
Apr 21st, 2015
"Transformers 5" Coming in 2017
Apr 21st, 2015
Photo: Full Batman Costume From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed
Apr 21st, 2015
Full "Fantastic Four" Trailer is Here!
Apr 20th, 2015
Teaser for "Star Wars" Spin-Off Film Leaked Online!
Apr 20th, 2015
Two "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Teaser Posters
Apr 20th, 2015
"Furious 7" Crosses $1 Billion at Box Office
Apr 20th, 2015
Trailer for Ridiculous "Mega Shark vs Kolossus"
Apr 20th, 2015
Chris Pratt and His Raptors in New "Jurassic World" Poster
Apr 20th, 2015
George Lucas Says Marvel May Remake "Howard the Duck"
Apr 19th, 2015
Dinosaur vs Shark in New "Jurassic World" Poster
Apr 19th, 2015
Official "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer is Here!
Apr 18th, 2015
Restricted Trailer for Salma Hayek's "The Tale of Tales" Fantasy Film
Apr 18th, 2015
New Poster for Joseph Gordon-Levitt's "The Walk," Directed by Robert Zemeckis
Apr 18th, 2015
New Poster for "Jurassic World," New Trailer Coming on Monday
Apr 18th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Highlander" Loses Director, Ryan Reynolds Still On Board

Posted: December 1st, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Highlander" Loses Director, Ryan Reynolds Still On BoardSubmit Comment
At one point Justin Lin was attached to direct the upcoming "Highlander" reboot, but eventually dropped out. Summit Entertainment then announced that "28 Weeks Later" helmer Juan Carlos Fresnadillo signed on to replace him. But now, he has dropped out as well.

Deadline says that Fresnadillo made a good effort to get the project off the ground, but ultimately couldn't agree with the studio's vision. Leaving the project was a difficult decision for the helmer since he left "The Crow" remake for "Highlander" and spent over a year working on it.

Fresnadillo will now begin searching for his next project, while Summit will once again look for a new person to direct "Highlander," which still has Ryan Reynolds on board to play the lead.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
McQueen writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 6:52:27 AM

Ryan Reynolds?

I can see already Bando's overwhelming joy about this one...
cress writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:07:29 AM

Juan Carlos Fresnadillo will be directing only YouTube videos if he keeps dropping out of big budget films. Suck it up, Juan. You knew you would have to tangle with studio heads when you signed up for a project like this--that's part of the deal. Pull the tampon out your ass and finish what you started, for once.

*In related news, I could care less about any of this.
pornfly writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:28:10 AM

RE-RELEASE THE ORIGINAL IN IMAX
boogiel writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:29:40 AM

It's probably for the best. Reynolds will sink the film no matter how fresnadillo directs it.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:36:37 AM

Yes I'm very happy my prayers have been answered.
And I said this a million times.watch the highlander anime.best outta them all.

Thomas Jane could play McLeod.cause he looks like Lambert .
bandolero999 writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:39:00 AM

At first I thought Reynolds was out but since There is no director.it will take a while.
McQueen writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 7:43:55 AM

"Thomas Jane could play McLeod.cause he looks like Lambert."

True.

As long he gets a sandwich from the producer, I'm sure he'll be in it...
Morbius writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 8:02:54 AM

Agree with porn. (Not the first time I've used that statement).
SACdaddy writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 8:58:46 AM

Ryan Reynold is a terrible choice for the part. Funny how you've got all these Brits and Scottsmen playing American roles but there never seems to be one around when you have to cast a Highlander movie. Hwood is ass backwards.
sedibus writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 9:00:49 AM

Only the first one is good, and the anime is frigging great of course. Are we going to get Ninja Scroll 2? n_n

The second one is good just when Connor and Ramirez are inside a car and got violently shot and then they wake up laughing, that was f*cking great, but besides that, really half-baked though.

Didn't care much about the third one nor the series. Sorry, mates.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 9:01:11 AM

The one Scott they cast ended up playing a Spaniard!
Electro Rock writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 11:02:10 AM

A fake Spaniard from Egypt at that.
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 11:53:35 AM

@sedibus - I must not have seen the 2nd one then. Doesn't sound like I missed too much.

The music also made the first one for me (of course... right trig?).

Man, am I ever sick of remakes.
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 1:44:10 PM

"Thomas Jane could play McLeod.cause he looks like Lambert"

...and I hear his sword play is unsurpassed in the anals of Hollywood.
Rambo writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 2:35:54 PM

Forgive me father...I am a worm...

clancy brown was the best thing in the original and one of the best villains in film history
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 2:37:14 PM

He doesn't draw blood from his enemies... that's special sauce.
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 2:38:29 PM

@Rambo - you bet. I had written (and registered) an Iron Man 'treatment' in Hollyweird in the late 90's. Clancy Brown was my first pick for Dr. Doom because of his role in Highlander, Shawshank, Carnivale, etc.
Shlomo The Homo writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 2:48:17 PM

Ryan Reynolds as MacLeod? Yes, please! Oh, and while you're at it, cast Chris Hemsworth as the Kurrgan, thank you very much! Alivay, it should only happen... and talk about a pair of exquisite young men, those two!

And oh, please, let the movie end with the two naked immortals engaging in a fierce penis-fencing battle. There can only be one... but it can be fun!

Gey gezunterheyt, everyone!

Shlomo The Homo writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 2:56:32 PM

"He doesn't draw blood from his enemies... that's special sauce."

It's good for the skin, bubbala!

pornfly writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 3:09:18 PM

Looks like PAULOREY has been outsourced
McQueen writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 3:14:53 PM

^ ^ LOLOL!

You're in my good book Pornfly, you're funny alright. -:)
sedibus writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 6:32:51 PM

@Ranger:

Well, if you are really digging the Highlander mythos then you probably could watch the second and depending on how you feel about it see the third one. With that one I didn't take my chances, anyway.
Spoiler FREE:

The second occurs in a Blade Runner-esque future, something is wrong with the sky, deals with beings from another planet, umm, and McLeod is getting old at the beginning, no more Highlander adventures at first.

The animated TV series was pretty neat actually.
Ranger writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 12:02:21 AM

OK... I did see it then. Ugh! Thought I blocked it out. There was a shield over the sky, and I remember aliens. f*ck me that was bad!
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 1:03:18 AM

Reynolds? Again?

Guy looks too pretty-boy, clean cut to play a role that is suppose to be so....world weary.

I know the guy is bank, but in this case until I see a performance that changes my mind, I'll say he's been miscast.

James Purefoy has my vote. See SOLOMON KANE trailer to see him wield a sword.
Mudders writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 5:48:15 AM

why reynolds?

is it just because he swung some swords around in wolverine???

if thats the case grab ewan mcgregor instead....

1. he's scottish for a start

2. he can swing a sword(lightsaber) same thing i guess

and 3. he's a way better actor


f*cked if i know anything though
pornfly writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 8:23:15 AM

Youre a class act,BULLIT
President Baltar writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 3:06:45 PM

They should have Gerard Butler, or Kevin McKidd for McLeod. I do like Reynolds from time to time, but I really can't picture him doing a Scottish accent, much less being the friggin' ONE!

New Spider-Man is 15-Year-Old Peter Parker, No Origin Story

Disney Making Live-Action "Winnie the Pooh" Film

Arnold Schwarzenegger Happy He Didn't Star in "Terminator Salvation"

"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon

"Insurgent" Takes First Place at Box Office, Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Flops

"Spectre" Opening Sequence is Biggest in History

"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" Title Revealed

"Home" and "Get Hard" Perform Well at Box Office

Jennifer Lawrence Says "X-Men: Apocalypse" is Her Last "X-Men" Film

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Footage Coming Tomorrow
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved