WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"The Hobbit" Trilogy Becomes Most Expensive Production of All Time
Oct 23rd, 2014
Quicksilver to Return For "X-Men: Apocalypse" and Maybe Solo Film
Oct 23rd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For Mark Wahlberg's "The Gambler" Thriller
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Evangeline Lilly as Hope Pym on Marvel's "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 23rd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Johnny Depp as The Wolf in Disney's "Into the Woods"
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First Details About New "Wonder Woman" TV Series

Posted: November 30th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First Details About New "Wonder Woman" TV SeriesSubmit Comment
Warner Bros Television and CW are moving forward with its upcoming Wonder Woman TV series, called "Amazon," which will tell the character's origin story. The studio has already started searching for an actress, who will play the young Amazonian before she becomes a warrior princess with super powers. The script is being written by Allan Heinberg ("Wonder Woman" comic books, "Gilmore Girls").

The name of the character will be Iris, not Diana. And the studio is looking for actresses in their mid-20s and 5'8 or taller. Below is the description agencies have received.

Description: She comes from a remote, secluded country and until now has spent most of her life as a soldier and a leader on the battlefield. Because of relentless brutality of her life at home, Iris looks at our world with absolute awe and astonishment. She's delighted and just as often horrified by the aspects of everyday life that we take for granted: skyscrapers, traffic, ice cream. It's all new and fascinating and sometimes slightly troubling to her.

Iris is completely unschooled in our world, our culture, our customs. And she's completely inexperienced at interpersonal relationships. She has no social filter and tends to do and say exactly what's on her mind at all times. She can tell when you're lying to her. And she doesn't have time or patience for politics or tact because she's too busy trying to experience everything our world has to offer. Iris is a fierce warrior with the innocent heart of a romantic and she will fight to the death to make the world safe for innocents and true romantics everywhere.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 7:07:33 AM

Sounds like the perfect woman except for the human lie detector part

Another superhero show with no flying and lots of feelings
Nothing more than feelings
pornfly writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 7:09:46 AM

Why the f*ck is her name Iris?!?

Because shes a female and nobody gives sh*t

Oright
boogiel writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 7:11:42 AM

So basically it's a smallville version of WW. Another crap from CW.
pornfly writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 7:43:44 AM

She sounds like a hot HoneyBooBoo
pornfly writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 7:51:28 AM

...waiting for one of MINKs infamous breakdowns of the description
Avirex writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 8:18:36 AM

This is like the time they changed Bruce Banner's name on the (Hulk) television show to David Banner because Bruce sounded 'gay' supposedly.

Here its probably an equally silly reason like wanting to avoid similarity with Princess Diana or something illogical like that.
trailertrash writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 8:36:03 AM

Her name will be Iris ... Why will this bet set in the 1930's ?
trailertrash writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 8:36:49 AM

#Be
SACdaddy writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 8:53:13 AM

So is she Wonder Woman or not?

I've always liked how they portrayed WW on the Justice League animated show. She is kind of a fish out of water like this new concept, but she really doesn't give a sh*t especially about romance (other than her weird occasional flirt with Batman). The only way I could see them pulling off this kind of WW in live action would be to make a reality show about Hope Solo and her nutty life. Seriously, she has no filter or social skills, she's always looking for a fight, her idea of romance is a bare knuckle brawl with her fiance the day before their wedding, and she totally looks the part (super fit gorgeous 6 foot brunette with a nasty attitude). She's a perfect fit!

http://www.examiner.com/article/hope-solo-s-new-husband-jerramy-stevens-arrested-again
McQueen writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 8:59:45 AM

Now if the new wonder Woman look like this, I might be watching...


http://edge.liveleak.com/80281E/s/s/19/media19/2012/Nov/30/LiveLeak-dot-com-830c8b11fb6d-wonder_boobs_2_by_rackthief-d4iqv1j.jpg?d5e8cc8eccfb6039332f41f6249e92b06c91b4db65f5e99818bad2924f4cded3794d&ec_rate=300
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 10:00:59 AM

^ goddamn Bullit that woke me up!
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 10:01:48 AM

Amongst waking up other parts of my anatomy. :)
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 10:18:47 AM

Iris? "Amazon", huh?

Good luck with that...
McQueen writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 10:22:54 AM

@Bad

It sure does mate, Lol!
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 10:52:46 AM

TT and Bullit- I'm sure you guys heard about this story.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/newstopics/howaboutthat/9710884/Man-cheats-death-after-speeding-train-hits-his-head.html
McQueen writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 11:03:09 AM

Yes I read it this morning and all I can say he's one lucky stubborn bastard! Lol.

Christmas is quite early in Essex this year. :-)
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 11:39:11 AM

God I guess lol
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 1:47:01 PM

lol. I love DCs strategy here. Pump/pimp the worst characters onto television so when it comes time to throw them onto the big screen, audiences are already softened up to the idea.

Clever.

And it makes sense why they did Smallville instead of making a Superman movie, even though they eventually made one years later, one that sucked and doomed Donner's vision to the outhouse of cinematic history.


And by clever I mean: stupid, convoluted, and likely to fail. Clever to them. Idiotic to everyone else.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 1:48:54 PM

"This is like the time they changed Bruce Banner's name on the (Hulk) television show to David Banner because Bruce sounded 'gay' supposedly."

That's what Lou Ferrigno said. Said Bruce was a gayish name so they changed it to David, although I thunk they later said something to the effect that Bruce was Banner's middle or first name and the character went with David for whatever reason.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 1:51:11 PM

I love how the description of the character reads like a desperate monologue written by a fat spinster with twenty cats looking for love on Plenty of Fish.

Not sh*t was said about the show's actual plot, story or content.

But the bitch loves roses, long walks on the beach and twiddling her twat to Diane Ross.

Awesome.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 1:51:47 PM

Diana...strangely enough, Wonder Woman's REAL name.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 1:59:08 PM

"who will play the young Amazonian before she becomes a warrior princess with super powers."

Then how is she an Amazonian? So she's in her twenties and she hasn't developed her powers? So how the f*ck is she an Amazonian, because that would mean she's from the mythical land of Amazon, per the character's origin, and I doubt the women over there develop their abilities after menopause.

f*cking idiotic.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 2:00:47 PM

"The name of the character will be Iris, not Diana."

Awesome. She's named after a Goo Goo Dolls song.

Guess Aquaman gets the name Slide, for obvious reasons.
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 3:23:42 PM

The reads as f*cking horrible!!!

She comes from a remote, secluded country (so... not an island anymore) and until now has spent most of her life as a soldier and a leader on the battlefield (battling WHO? I thought they were secluded? Civil unrest maybe?!).

They've change her name.

She doesn't have powers until a certain age(?), are they a birthday gift then?

mink - already commented on the Amazon(ian) confusion for me (nice job).

This has cluster-f*ck written ALL over it.

Seriously... what... THE f*ck?!?!?

Hawt chick with jiggling tits. OK... go that route. I still won't watch it. I'll have better show up at my door carrying wine and a wet p*ssy.

Wonder Woman show... FAIL!

Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 3:25:10 PM

ice cream troubles this bitch?!

Seriously... WHAT THE f*ck?!?!
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 3:25:40 PM

She's a 'fierce warrior' defending romantics world-wide!?

Suck my c*ck!!!
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 4:42:16 PM

^^lol good reactions.




"ice cream troubles this bitch?!"

She's related to NYC's Nanny Bloomberg, Ranger.

Can't you see a liberal's hand prints all over the synopsis?

And no, I'm not trying to politicize this, but come on, you know this Iris bitch will live in a big blue (no pun intended) city like NYC, and where else would a woman not kill for Ben and Jerrys? where else would ice cream get the same level of demerits as traffic and skyscrapers?
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 5:32:12 PM

lol.

I think we all know WW is close to failing even with a formula 100x's better than this one proposed. This new rendition is as clever as screen doors on a submarine.
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 5:34:59 PM

Y'know... I don't even mind the teenage animated version of Iron Man. They can do a lot of different things from different angles, and it works.

Do the same with WW here. Lose the invisible plane, and the WWII time-frame, go animated and let the chips fall where they may.

Making this proposed f*cked-up, re-worked, live version sucks more than Lindsay in the backseat of a cop car.
Avirex writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 5:35:26 PM

" That's what Lou Ferrigno said. Said Bruce was a gayish name so they changed it to David, although I thunk they later said something to the effect that Bruce was Banner's middle or first name and the character went with David for whatever reason."

Whatever the case, most name changes seem to be made for no legitimate purpose.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 5:58:14 PM

"This new rendition is as clever as screen doors on a submarine."

You should have said "battleship", Ranger, than you could have claimed a Back to the Future quote credit.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 6:00:58 PM

"In the comic book, the Hulk's alter ego is named Bruce Banner (although his full name is Robert Bruce Banner). For the show, however, the character was renamed David, in part because the name "Bruce" was considered too homosexual. A contributing factor was series producer Kenneth Johnson's dislike for alliterative names, which are typically used in comic books; Johnson decided that "David" (his son's name) was more solid."

Avirex writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 6:19:03 PM

Yeah, I remember hearing that on one of the DVD's or something. Fortunately though the show was decent enough that it made the odd name change not too distracting. Not sure if this Wonder Woman show will be the same case.
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 6:26:31 PM

... unless she has huge, hard nipples you could dial a phone with.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 6:33:13 PM

Uh, no. I seriously doubt this Wonder Woman show will be in the same galaxy as the original Hulk program, which was pretty good television, for the time, and even now.

I mean, would you rather watch that, or Jersey Shore?
Avirex writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 7:15:39 PM

"... unless she has huge, hard nipples you could dial a phone with."

I vote Ranger be the director of this show.
BlackDynamite writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 7:16:03 PM

I find CW's "Arrow" to be the 2nd best show on that channel (not saying much, mind you) behind Supernatural, so I had high hopes after reading the title, hopes that quickly plummeted after reading the synopsis.

First off, why in the f*ck are you changing Wonder Woman's name? You might as well just call her Isis, and remake that old "Oh Mighty Isis" show that would come on after (or was it before?) the 80's Wonder Woman show.

Also "She will fight to the death to make the world safe for innocents and true romantics everywhere"? I get the innocents, but what in the sh*t does "safe for true romantics" mean? Is she going to kill douchebags who cheat on their spouses?
elrei writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 7:31:50 PM

"she's completely inexperienced at interpersonal relationships" in her mid 20's? Go f*ck yourself.
Elbow writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 7:44:25 PM

Bah. I'd much rather see a WonderMAN television series.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j_IQ44VNQ64
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 7:48:34 PM

"And she's completely inexperienced at interpersonal relationships. She has no social filter and tends to do and say exactly what's on her mind at all times."

Translation: she hasn't been trained by society to be a pathological liar. Yet. Which is a rarity for a woman.
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 9:40:26 PM

lol.

And what Avi said.
MeganFoxPlease writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 12:09:02 AM

LOL!!!!

I wondered why Mink was bitchin' all the time, then I found out he was an atheist.... 'nuff said LOL

They're pissed at the universe but don't know why (cuz, after all, who can ya blame)
MeganFoxPlease writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 12:10:43 AM

Wonder Woman debate solved:

http://www.getthebigpicture.net/storage/pics/09/wonderfox.jpg

she may need a boob job, but other than that we're good to go
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 5:21:34 PM

Sure. If you want the show to get canceled before the pilot's even finished. Good to go alright. Good to go right into the garbage.

Stupid superstitious troglodyte.
Champ1432 writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 6:11:34 PM

So, that Wonder Woman show they tried last year or whenever failed before it ever even got to the screen. The logical next step? Make a new show about a part of her life no one cares about.

So her name's not Diana, she has no powers, she comes from a secluded country instead of an island, where she's a fierce soldier. Are they sure this is even Wonder Woman?

Why does Hollywood feel the need, when telling origin stories, to change big things about the origin?

Not that I think it matters, because this is going to fail either way.

And I'll be honest, I've never seen of the comic books this guy has done, but just the fact that he did Gilmore Girls is enough for me. Is this shoe also going to have ridiculous storylines and even more ridiculous, rapid fire, pretentious one-liner filled dialogue? GTFO

This is crap. Thankfully no one will ever see it.
Champ1432 writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 6:14:02 PM

Is this show........show..........not shoe.........

Although I wouldn't put it past them to create a shoe with a storyline this bad, either.
MeganFoxPlease writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 10:26:41 PM

@Mink

... that was humor buddy... take some Valium
NunYoBusiness writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 4:41:29 PM

Now if only they can find an actress in Hollywood taller than 5'2". Most of them today are little bits, not many over 5'2" let alone 5'". If they find someone she'll barely speak english and have a unabrow.

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved