WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass" is Here!
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Jonah Hill and Miles Teller in "Arms and the Dudes"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Meryl Streel and Hugh Grant in "Florence Foster Jenkins"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Cuba Gooding Jr and John Travolta in "America Crime Story: The People V. OJ Simpson"
May 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Knock Knock" Thriller
May 22nd, 2015
Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title
May 22nd, 2015
Reese Witherspoon to Star in Disney's Live-Action Tinker Bell Movie "Tink"
May 22nd, 2015
"Fantastic Four" Promo Video Shows Team's Superpowers
May 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for "The Gallows" Horror Film
May 22nd, 2015
New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr
May 21st, 2015
"Independence Day 2" Takes Place 15 Years Later, Same Aliens Return
May 21st, 2015
"Transformers" Sequels and Spin-Offs Get Impressive Writing Team
May 21st, 2015
Trailer for Elijah Wood's "Cooties" Horror Comedy
May 21st, 2015
"The Divergent Series: Allegiant" is Now Filming
May 21st, 2015
Heath Ledger Was Set to Star in "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
May 20th, 2015
Tom Cruise's "Jack Reacher 2" Hires "The Last Samurai" Director
May 20th, 2015
New Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy
May 20th, 2015
The Joker is Insane in New "Suicide Squad" Set Photos
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Orgrim From "Warcraft" Film
May 19th, 2015
George Miller Unveils Title of "Mad Max: Fury Road" Sequel
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Deepwater Horizon" Oil Disaster Film
May 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
May 19th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson Confirms Return for "Fast and Furious 8" and Spin-Off Talks
May 18th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Steve Jobs" Biopic is Here!
May 18th, 2015
"Pitch Perfect 2" Dominates at Box Office, Easily Beats "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 18th, 2015
Matthew McConaughey Considering Marvel and DC Superhero Films
May 17th, 2015
"Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos Show Crossbones, The Falcon and Scarlet Witch
May 16th, 2015
Disney Planning "Star Wars" and Marvel TV Channels
May 16th, 2015
Kate Beckinsale Confirmed for "Underworld 5," to Begin Shooting in October
May 15th, 2015
Jackie Chan and Owen Wilson to Return for "Shanghai Dawn"
May 15th, 2015
New Trailer for "Minions" Arrives Online
May 15th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First Details About New "Wonder Woman" TV Series

Posted: November 30th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First Details About New "Wonder Woman" TV SeriesSubmit Comment
Warner Bros Television and CW are moving forward with its upcoming Wonder Woman TV series, called "Amazon," which will tell the character's origin story. The studio has already started searching for an actress, who will play the young Amazonian before she becomes a warrior princess with super powers. The script is being written by Allan Heinberg ("Wonder Woman" comic books, "Gilmore Girls").

The name of the character will be Iris, not Diana. And the studio is looking for actresses in their mid-20s and 5'8 or taller. Below is the description agencies have received.

Description: She comes from a remote, secluded country and until now has spent most of her life as a soldier and a leader on the battlefield. Because of relentless brutality of her life at home, Iris looks at our world with absolute awe and astonishment. She's delighted and just as often horrified by the aspects of everyday life that we take for granted: skyscrapers, traffic, ice cream. It's all new and fascinating and sometimes slightly troubling to her.

Iris is completely unschooled in our world, our culture, our customs. And she's completely inexperienced at interpersonal relationships. She has no social filter and tends to do and say exactly what's on her mind at all times. She can tell when you're lying to her. And she doesn't have time or patience for politics or tact because she's too busy trying to experience everything our world has to offer. Iris is a fierce warrior with the innocent heart of a romantic and she will fight to the death to make the world safe for innocents and true romantics everywhere.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 7:07:33 AM

Sounds like the perfect woman except for the human lie detector part

Another superhero show with no flying and lots of feelings
Nothing more than feelings
pornfly writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 7:09:46 AM

Why the f*ck is her name Iris?!?

Because shes a female and nobody gives sh*t

Oright
boogiel writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 7:11:42 AM

So basically it's a smallville version of WW. Another crap from CW.
pornfly writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 7:43:44 AM

She sounds like a hot HoneyBooBoo
pornfly writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 7:51:28 AM

...waiting for one of MINKs infamous breakdowns of the description
Avirex writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 8:18:36 AM

This is like the time they changed Bruce Banner's name on the (Hulk) television show to David Banner because Bruce sounded 'gay' supposedly.

Here its probably an equally silly reason like wanting to avoid similarity with Princess Diana or something illogical like that.
trailertrash writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 8:36:03 AM

Her name will be Iris ... Why will this bet set in the 1930's ?
trailertrash writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 8:36:49 AM

#Be
SACdaddy writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 8:53:13 AM

So is she Wonder Woman or not?

I've always liked how they portrayed WW on the Justice League animated show. She is kind of a fish out of water like this new concept, but she really doesn't give a sh*t especially about romance (other than her weird occasional flirt with Batman). The only way I could see them pulling off this kind of WW in live action would be to make a reality show about Hope Solo and her nutty life. Seriously, she has no filter or social skills, she's always looking for a fight, her idea of romance is a bare knuckle brawl with her fiance the day before their wedding, and she totally looks the part (super fit gorgeous 6 foot brunette with a nasty attitude). She's a perfect fit!

http://www.examiner.com/article/hope-solo-s-new-husband-jerramy-stevens-arrested-again
McQueen writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 8:59:45 AM

Now if the new wonder Woman look like this, I might be watching...


http://edge.liveleak.com/80281E/s/s/19/media19/2012/Nov/30/LiveLeak-dot-com-830c8b11fb6d-wonder_boobs_2_by_rackthief-d4iqv1j.jpg?d5e8cc8eccfb6039332f41f6249e92b06c91b4db65f5e99818bad2924f4cded3794d&ec_rate=300
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 10:00:59 AM

^ goddamn Bullit that woke me up!
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 10:01:48 AM

Amongst waking up other parts of my anatomy. :)
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 10:18:47 AM

Iris? "Amazon", huh?

Good luck with that...
McQueen writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 10:22:54 AM

@Bad

It sure does mate, Lol!
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 10:52:46 AM

TT and Bullit- I'm sure you guys heard about this story.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/newstopics/howaboutthat/9710884/Man-cheats-death-after-speeding-train-hits-his-head.html
McQueen writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 11:03:09 AM

Yes I read it this morning and all I can say he's one lucky stubborn bastard! Lol.

Christmas is quite early in Essex this year. :-)
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 11:39:11 AM

God I guess lol
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 1:47:01 PM

lol. I love DCs strategy here. Pump/pimp the worst characters onto television so when it comes time to throw them onto the big screen, audiences are already softened up to the idea.

Clever.

And it makes sense why they did Smallville instead of making a Superman movie, even though they eventually made one years later, one that sucked and doomed Donner's vision to the outhouse of cinematic history.


And by clever I mean: stupid, convoluted, and likely to fail. Clever to them. Idiotic to everyone else.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 1:48:54 PM

"This is like the time they changed Bruce Banner's name on the (Hulk) television show to David Banner because Bruce sounded 'gay' supposedly."

That's what Lou Ferrigno said. Said Bruce was a gayish name so they changed it to David, although I thunk they later said something to the effect that Bruce was Banner's middle or first name and the character went with David for whatever reason.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 1:51:11 PM

I love how the description of the character reads like a desperate monologue written by a fat spinster with twenty cats looking for love on Plenty of Fish.

Not sh*t was said about the show's actual plot, story or content.

But the bitch loves roses, long walks on the beach and twiddling her twat to Diane Ross.

Awesome.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 1:51:47 PM

Diana...strangely enough, Wonder Woman's REAL name.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 1:59:08 PM

"who will play the young Amazonian before she becomes a warrior princess with super powers."

Then how is she an Amazonian? So she's in her twenties and she hasn't developed her powers? So how the f*ck is she an Amazonian, because that would mean she's from the mythical land of Amazon, per the character's origin, and I doubt the women over there develop their abilities after menopause.

f*cking idiotic.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 2:00:47 PM

"The name of the character will be Iris, not Diana."

Awesome. She's named after a Goo Goo Dolls song.

Guess Aquaman gets the name Slide, for obvious reasons.
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 3:23:42 PM

The reads as f*cking horrible!!!

She comes from a remote, secluded country (so... not an island anymore) and until now has spent most of her life as a soldier and a leader on the battlefield (battling WHO? I thought they were secluded? Civil unrest maybe?!).

They've change her name.

She doesn't have powers until a certain age(?), are they a birthday gift then?

mink - already commented on the Amazon(ian) confusion for me (nice job).

This has cluster-f*ck written ALL over it.

Seriously... what... THE f*ck?!?!?

Hawt chick with jiggling tits. OK... go that route. I still won't watch it. I'll have better show up at my door carrying wine and a wet p*ssy.

Wonder Woman show... FAIL!

Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 3:25:10 PM

ice cream troubles this bitch?!

Seriously... WHAT THE f*ck?!?!
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 3:25:40 PM

She's a 'fierce warrior' defending romantics world-wide!?

Suck my c*ck!!!
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 4:42:16 PM

^^lol good reactions.




"ice cream troubles this bitch?!"

She's related to NYC's Nanny Bloomberg, Ranger.

Can't you see a liberal's hand prints all over the synopsis?

And no, I'm not trying to politicize this, but come on, you know this Iris bitch will live in a big blue (no pun intended) city like NYC, and where else would a woman not kill for Ben and Jerrys? where else would ice cream get the same level of demerits as traffic and skyscrapers?
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 5:32:12 PM

lol.

I think we all know WW is close to failing even with a formula 100x's better than this one proposed. This new rendition is as clever as screen doors on a submarine.
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 5:34:59 PM

Y'know... I don't even mind the teenage animated version of Iron Man. They can do a lot of different things from different angles, and it works.

Do the same with WW here. Lose the invisible plane, and the WWII time-frame, go animated and let the chips fall where they may.

Making this proposed f*cked-up, re-worked, live version sucks more than Lindsay in the backseat of a cop car.
Avirex writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 5:35:26 PM

" That's what Lou Ferrigno said. Said Bruce was a gayish name so they changed it to David, although I thunk they later said something to the effect that Bruce was Banner's middle or first name and the character went with David for whatever reason."

Whatever the case, most name changes seem to be made for no legitimate purpose.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 5:58:14 PM

"This new rendition is as clever as screen doors on a submarine."

You should have said "battleship", Ranger, than you could have claimed a Back to the Future quote credit.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 6:00:58 PM

"In the comic book, the Hulk's alter ego is named Bruce Banner (although his full name is Robert Bruce Banner). For the show, however, the character was renamed David, in part because the name "Bruce" was considered too homosexual. A contributing factor was series producer Kenneth Johnson's dislike for alliterative names, which are typically used in comic books; Johnson decided that "David" (his son's name) was more solid."

Avirex writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 6:19:03 PM

Yeah, I remember hearing that on one of the DVD's or something. Fortunately though the show was decent enough that it made the odd name change not too distracting. Not sure if this Wonder Woman show will be the same case.
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 6:26:31 PM

... unless she has huge, hard nipples you could dial a phone with.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 6:33:13 PM

Uh, no. I seriously doubt this Wonder Woman show will be in the same galaxy as the original Hulk program, which was pretty good television, for the time, and even now.

I mean, would you rather watch that, or Jersey Shore?
Avirex writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 7:15:39 PM

"... unless she has huge, hard nipples you could dial a phone with."

I vote Ranger be the director of this show.
BlackDynamite writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 7:16:03 PM

I find CW's "Arrow" to be the 2nd best show on that channel (not saying much, mind you) behind Supernatural, so I had high hopes after reading the title, hopes that quickly plummeted after reading the synopsis.

First off, why in the f*ck are you changing Wonder Woman's name? You might as well just call her Isis, and remake that old "Oh Mighty Isis" show that would come on after (or was it before?) the 80's Wonder Woman show.

Also "She will fight to the death to make the world safe for innocents and true romantics everywhere"? I get the innocents, but what in the sh*t does "safe for true romantics" mean? Is she going to kill douchebags who cheat on their spouses?
elrei writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 7:31:50 PM

"she's completely inexperienced at interpersonal relationships" in her mid 20's? Go f*ck yourself.
Elbow writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 7:44:25 PM

Bah. I'd much rather see a WonderMAN television series.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j_IQ44VNQ64
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 7:48:34 PM

"And she's completely inexperienced at interpersonal relationships. She has no social filter and tends to do and say exactly what's on her mind at all times."

Translation: she hasn't been trained by society to be a pathological liar. Yet. Which is a rarity for a woman.
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 9:40:26 PM

lol.

And what Avi said.
MeganFoxPlease writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 12:09:02 AM

LOL!!!!

I wondered why Mink was bitchin' all the time, then I found out he was an atheist.... 'nuff said LOL

They're pissed at the universe but don't know why (cuz, after all, who can ya blame)
MeganFoxPlease writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 12:10:43 AM

Wonder Woman debate solved:

http://www.getthebigpicture.net/storage/pics/09/wonderfox.jpg

she may need a boob job, but other than that we're good to go
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 5:21:34 PM

Sure. If you want the show to get canceled before the pilot's even finished. Good to go alright. Good to go right into the garbage.

Stupid superstitious troglodyte.
Champ1432 writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 6:11:34 PM

So, that Wonder Woman show they tried last year or whenever failed before it ever even got to the screen. The logical next step? Make a new show about a part of her life no one cares about.

So her name's not Diana, she has no powers, she comes from a secluded country instead of an island, where she's a fierce soldier. Are they sure this is even Wonder Woman?

Why does Hollywood feel the need, when telling origin stories, to change big things about the origin?

Not that I think it matters, because this is going to fail either way.

And I'll be honest, I've never seen of the comic books this guy has done, but just the fact that he did Gilmore Girls is enough for me. Is this shoe also going to have ridiculous storylines and even more ridiculous, rapid fire, pretentious one-liner filled dialogue? GTFO

This is crap. Thankfully no one will ever see it.
Champ1432 writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 6:14:02 PM

Is this show........show..........not shoe.........

Although I wouldn't put it past them to create a shoe with a storyline this bad, either.
MeganFoxPlease writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 10:26:41 PM

@Mink

... that was humor buddy... take some Valium
NunYoBusiness writes:
on December 3rd, 2012 at 4:41:29 PM

Now if only they can find an actress in Hollywood taller than 5'2". Most of them today are little bits, not many over 5'2" let alone 5'". If they find someone she'll barely speak english and have a unabrow.

Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot

"Jurassic World" to Ignore Last Two Films, to Bring Back T-Rex

Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot

New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr

Hugh Jackman and Channing Tatum to Appear in "X-Men: Apocalypse"?

"Fantastic Four" Director Fired From "Star Wars" Spin-Off

Why Wasn't Loki in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?

Hugh Jackman Confirms "Wolverine 3" is His Last Time as Wolverine

Chris Evans Says Captain America is Probably a Virgin

Will Poulter is Pennywise in Stephen King's "It" Remake
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved