WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Hulk Hogan is the Villain in "The Expendables 4"?
May 26th, 2015
Channing Tatum Says "Gambit" is an Origin Story
May 26th, 2015
Ryan Reynolds Says Hugh Jackman May Make Cameo in "Deadpool"
May 26th, 2015
First Poster for "Point Break" Remake
May 26th, 2015
More Photos From Matt Damon's "The Martian," Directed by Ridley Scott
May 25th, 2015
"Mission: Impossible 6" and "Now You See Me 3" Already in Development
May 25th, 2015
"Beautiful Mind" Mathematician John Nash Killed in Taxi Crash
May 25th, 2015
First Look at Matt Damon in Ridley Scott's "The Martian"
May 24th, 2015
New "Fantastic Four" Trailer, Director Responds to Rumors of Being Replaced
May 24th, 2015
New Photos From "Deadpool" and "Ant-Man"
May 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass" is Here!
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Jonah Hill and Miles Teller in "Arms and the Dudes"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Meryl Streel and Hugh Grant in "Florence Foster Jenkins"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Cuba Gooding Jr and John Travolta in "America Crime Story: The People V. OJ Simpson"
May 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Knock Knock" Thriller
May 22nd, 2015
Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title
May 22nd, 2015
Reese Witherspoon to Star in Disney's Live-Action Tinker Bell Movie "Tink"
May 22nd, 2015
"Fantastic Four" Promo Video Shows Team's Superpowers
May 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for "The Gallows" Horror Film
May 22nd, 2015
New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr
May 21st, 2015
"Independence Day 2" Takes Place 15 Years Later, Same Aliens Return
May 21st, 2015
"Transformers" Sequels and Spin-Offs Get Impressive Writing Team
May 21st, 2015
Trailer for Elijah Wood's "Cooties" Horror Comedy
May 21st, 2015
"The Divergent Series: Allegiant" is Now Filming
May 21st, 2015
Heath Ledger Was Set to Star in "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
May 20th, 2015
Tom Cruise's "Jack Reacher 2" Hires "The Last Samurai" Director
May 20th, 2015
New Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy
May 20th, 2015
The Joker is Insane in New "Suicide Squad" Set Photos
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Orgrim From "Warcraft" Film
May 19th, 2015
George Miller Unveils Title of "Mad Max: Fury Road" Sequel
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Deepwater Horizon" Oil Disaster Film
May 19th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

10 Films Remain in Visual Effects Oscar Race

Posted: November 30th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
10 Films Remain in Visual Effects Oscar RaceSubmit Comment
The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced the ten films remaining in competition for the Visual Effects Oscar. Members will be invited to view 10-minute excerpts from each movie on Thursday, January 3rd, 2012. Following the screenings, members will narrow the list down to five films.

The 85th Academy Awards nominations will be announced live on Thursday, January 10th, 2013, at 5:30am PT. The Academy Awards will then be presented on Sunday, February 24th, 2013 and will be televised on ABC.

The remaining ten films (in alphabetical order):

* The Amazing Spider-Man

* Cloud Atlas

* The Dark Knight Rises

* The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

* John Carter

* Life of Pi

* The Avengers

* Prometheus

* Skyfall

* Snow White and the Huntsman


Source: AMPAS


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 9:55:01 PM

Looking at the list, I can only say: much like a Special Olympics race, whoever wins is still a retard.
cress writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 10:10:22 PM

The Amazing Spiderman should win for making Spidey look like a 10 year old girl.
boogiel writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 10:22:10 PM

I'll bet on Snowwhite.
BlackDynamite writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 10:35:23 PM

I personally wish John Carter would win, since it was actually an enjoyable, and surprisingly well done film.

I predict that either Prometheus will win. Most of that movie was pretty light show, and huge "pretty" cinematic pieces.
sedibus writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 10:56:49 PM

The film that should win Best FX is the one that was made as "the real" landing on the moon on the late 60's, that will do.

Oh, sh*t, I'm kidding, "Like I give a sh*t" movie made at planet Saturn, must win.

Damn, dude, what the f*ck is wrong with me?

They didn't use any kind of FX they actually shot the thing live-action in real environments, so, not a chance, sad.
KillerCOck writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 11:04:24 PM

Cloud Atlas, Easy!
Kurskij writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 11:18:42 PM

With the amounts of CGI they have in Hobbit, it's a pretty safe bet.
minkowski writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 11:24:53 PM

Ah. Quantity over quality.

Guess that explains all the illegal aliens.
Doucheception writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 11:34:55 PM

Probably the Hobbit, we all know the academy loves those movies.

Now John Carter...really?
Yeah why don't they pick battlesh*t while they're at it.
minkowski writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 11:47:43 PM

Uh, in all seriousness, JC had some pretty great effects. Not sure what you people saw...
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 12:12:17 AM

Actually BlackDynamite, I got the 4 disc blu-ray of Prometheus not because I liked the movie but for the 'Furious Gods' making-of doc*mentary that runs about 3 1/2 hours. It was produced by Charles De Lauzirika who also produced the Dangerous Days: Making Blade Runner doc*mentary.

Anyways, in Furious Gods they show how every shot in the film was filmed live with the actors and puppets and animatronics were used. So everything you see was initially a practical and in-camera effect and was augmented with some CGI in post-production.

Because of this I would hope that Prometheus wins for best VFX because I think it's the first film since Hellboy II to largely use mostly practical visual effects and very little CGI.

Shogo1307 writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 1:30:15 AM

This is tough, its honestly going to come down to Hobbit, Life of Pi,Prometheus, the Avengers and cloud atlas. But im going with the Hobbit
jdl107 writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 1:45:04 AM

Making the Hulk look not ultra realistic but THAT realistic was pretty f*ckin' admirable. The Avengers was a vfx extravaganza.

If it weren't for Life of Pi I'd say Avengers was a sure bet. But I don't know.

And The Hobbit has yet to come out, and since that movie will mostly be CGI I have a feeling that one will win out.

But TASM will get thrown out of that race like a wellfare mother popping out her 12th baby. The Lizard was so unremarkably fake and cartoonish, and the FPS views near the end really brought the VFX aspect down a damn good notch. Although it had some hreat effects itself, TASM didn't have what it took to be in this list.
jdl107 writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 1:46:22 AM

*great
jdl107 writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 1:49:22 AM

Like others on this list I would be pushing for Cloud Atlas as well, but some shots in the trailers were very... Unconvincing. For lack of a better word.

Like the shot of the plane blowing up.

Although it is pretty remarkable the film is that big and effects heavy, whilst being completely independently made. But I'm sure the old buggers at the Oscars roundtable give two sh*ts about that.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 4:18:06 AM

The hobbit will win. But I'd vote Prometheus.

The 5 will be narrowed to Life of Pi, Skyfall, Hobbit, Prometheus and cloud atlas. You heard it hear first folks!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 4:46:24 AM

As much as I hated Prometheus the visuals were some of the best I've seen, I think it deserves an award for visual effects but when Ridley's on stage someone needs to piss in his pocket and tell him he's a c*nt for letting so many people down.

How the Amazing Spider Man is on this list I don't know, the graphics look worse than the original Spider Man trilogy.
zxz writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 5:31:21 AM

Prometheus must win! I think it was outstanding, and the effects really were superior to anything else this year.
Rambo writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 5:46:39 AM

none of the movies this year had outstanding special effects..come to think of it,no movie since 'the matrix' had something groundbreaking to offer...and don't give me that 'avatar' sh*t...i don't count retarded cgi animation smurfs crap.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 9:11:26 AM

Been seeing bits and pieces of Spiderman in my gym's cardio cinema, and I've been pretty impressed with the visual effects. Thought the Lizard looked pretty cool and the webslinging was much better than any of Raimi's films.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 9:16:59 AM

Since this is the only award Snow White will be up for I wonder how many Academy voters Kristen Stewart will blow to insure its victory.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 1:56:00 PM

^^Ensure, not insure.

She's a whore, not an actuarialist.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 4:36:13 PM

How the f*ck do you know? Stewart might have an algorithm equating the number of jerks, squirts, and flirts she needs to perform to keep her career afloat. Maybe she's a better mathematician than actress.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 4:43:52 PM

And maybe I'm James Cameron.




Maybe don't mean much.
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 8:13:42 PM

SACdaddy is still a moron. Wishing for bj is a dream. I am drunk. Give it to prom. Sup Mink make a steak and some mac and chse or stuffing. enjoy a dvd. hi.
bane writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 4:01:37 AM

i think LIFE OF PI will win

because...

Amazing Spider-Man ... sh*t

Cloud Atlas ... Razzie winner (i predict)

Dark Knight Rises ... over rated

The Hobbit ... didn't see it yet

John Carter... bull sh*t

Life of Pi ... amazing moving cinema

The Avengers... a cartoon no more

Prometheus... the godfather part 3 of sci fi

Skyfall... great film but no great effects

Snow White Huntsman... K stew + director

Tanman32123 writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 4:44:31 AM

Nobody cares what you think Bane, Come back when you can form a normal sentence f*cker..
vaodsi writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 3:10:38 PM

Hobbit will probably win. John Carter should get a nod since the effects were great. The animals in Life of Pi never once felt fake. Totally seamless. The avengers will get nominated in hope to bring in viewers. Cloud Atlas will get nominated. DKR is not an academy favorite, and i doubt it will be nominated for much.
gotsghostrider writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 3:59:35 PM

The most FX I saw in Skyfall was during the opening theme. It will either be The Avengers, Prometheus, Cloud Atlas, John Carter or The Hobbit.

Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot

New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr

"Jurassic World" to Ignore Last Two Films, to Bring Back T-Rex

Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot

Hugh Jackman and Channing Tatum to Appear in "X-Men: Apocalypse"?

"Fantastic Four" Director Fired From "Star Wars" Spin-Off

Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title

Why Wasn't Loki in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?

"Independence Day 2" Takes Place 15 Years Later, Same Aliens Return

Hugh Jackman Confirms "Wolverine 3" is His Last Time as Wolverine
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved