WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Tom Cruise on "Mission: Impossible 5" Set
Aug 22nd, 2014
"Harry Potter" Director David Yates to Return For "Fantastic Beasts" Spin-Off
Aug 22nd, 2014
Trailer For "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Aug 22nd, 2014
Photos: Chris Pratt Dressed as Star-Lord Visits Sick Children at Hospital
Aug 22nd, 2014
First Look at Keanu Reeves in "John Wick" Action Thriller
Aug 22nd, 2014
Steven Spielberg to Turn "Minority Report" Into a TV Series
Aug 22nd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Conjuring" Spin-Off "Annabelle"
Aug 22nd, 2014
New Trailer for "Young Ones" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Nicholas Hoult
Aug 22nd, 2014
New Trailer For Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler" Thriller
Aug 21st, 2014
Trailer for Shailene Woodley's "White Bird in a Blizzard" Thriller
Aug 21st, 2014
Photo: Better Look at Henry Cavill in His Superman Costume on Set of "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 21st, 2014
Teaser Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" Leaked Online
Aug 21st, 2014
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's Insane "Outcast" Film
Aug 21st, 2014
Christian Bale and Cate Blanchett Join "Jungle Book: Origins"
Aug 21st, 2014
Trailer: Katie Holmes is a Vigilante in "Miss Meadows"
Aug 21st, 2014
Pierce Brosnan Was Offered Lead in Tim Burton's "Batman," Thought It Was a Joke
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer for Antonio Banderas' "Automata" Sci-Fi Film
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Men, Women and Children," Directed by Jason Reitman
Aug 20th, 2014
Daughters of Johnny Depp and Kevin Smith to Star in "Yoga Hosers"
Aug 20th, 2014
Photo: Is Scoot McNairy Playing The Flash in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer For "A Good Marriage" Thriller, Based on Stephen King's Short Story
Aug 20th, 2014
New Trailer For "Ouija" Supernatural Thriller, Based on Board Game
Aug 20th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch is Shere Khan in "The Jungle Book" Film
Aug 20th, 2014
First Look at Paul Rudd in Marvel's "Ant-Man"
Aug 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg in Talks for "Deepwater Horizon" BP Oil Disaster Film
Aug 20th, 2014
Photos of Henry Cavill as Superman on Set of "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 19th, 2014
Alfred Molina Wants to Return as Spider-Man Villain Doctor Octopus in "Sinister Six"
Aug 19th, 2014
Trailer for Lifetime's "Saved By the Bell" Movie
Aug 19th, 2014
"Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel Hires Director, Filming to Begin in October
Aug 19th, 2014
"The Fault in Our Stars" Director in Talks for Anne Rice's "Lestat" Vampire Film
Aug 19th, 2014
Milla Jovovich is Pregnant, "Resident Evil: The Final Chapter" Gets Delayed
Aug 18th, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Star Wants More Money, May Get Replaced
Aug 18th, 2014
"The Devil's Advocate" to Become a TV Series
Aug 18th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

10 Films Remain in Visual Effects Oscar Race

Posted: November 30th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
10 Films Remain in Visual Effects Oscar RaceSubmit Comment
The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced the ten films remaining in competition for the Visual Effects Oscar. Members will be invited to view 10-minute excerpts from each movie on Thursday, January 3rd, 2012. Following the screenings, members will narrow the list down to five films.

The 85th Academy Awards nominations will be announced live on Thursday, January 10th, 2013, at 5:30am PT. The Academy Awards will then be presented on Sunday, February 24th, 2013 and will be televised on ABC.

The remaining ten films (in alphabetical order):

* The Amazing Spider-Man

* Cloud Atlas

* The Dark Knight Rises

* The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

* John Carter

* Life of Pi

* The Avengers

* Prometheus

* Skyfall

* Snow White and the Huntsman


Source: AMPAS


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 9:55:01 PM

Looking at the list, I can only say: much like a Special Olympics race, whoever wins is still a retard.
cress writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 10:10:22 PM

The Amazing Spiderman should win for making Spidey look like a 10 year old girl.
boogiel writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 10:22:10 PM

I'll bet on Snowwhite.
BlackDynamite writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 10:35:23 PM

I personally wish John Carter would win, since it was actually an enjoyable, and surprisingly well done film.

I predict that either Prometheus will win. Most of that movie was pretty light show, and huge "pretty" cinematic pieces.
sedibus writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 10:56:49 PM

The film that should win Best FX is the one that was made as "the real" landing on the moon on the late 60's, that will do.

Oh, sh*t, I'm kidding, "Like I give a sh*t" movie made at planet Saturn, must win.

Damn, dude, what the f*ck is wrong with me?

They didn't use any kind of FX they actually shot the thing live-action in real environments, so, not a chance, sad.
KillerCOck writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 11:04:24 PM

Cloud Atlas, Easy!
Kurskij writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 11:18:42 PM

With the amounts of CGI they have in Hobbit, it's a pretty safe bet.
minkowski writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 11:24:53 PM

Ah. Quantity over quality.

Guess that explains all the illegal aliens.
Doucheception writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 11:34:55 PM

Probably the Hobbit, we all know the academy loves those movies.

Now John Carter...really?
Yeah why don't they pick battlesh*t while they're at it.
minkowski writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 11:47:43 PM

Uh, in all seriousness, JC had some pretty great effects. Not sure what you people saw...
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 12:12:17 AM

Actually BlackDynamite, I got the 4 disc blu-ray of Prometheus not because I liked the movie but for the 'Furious Gods' making-of doc*mentary that runs about 3 1/2 hours. It was produced by Charles De Lauzirika who also produced the Dangerous Days: Making Blade Runner doc*mentary.

Anyways, in Furious Gods they show how every shot in the film was filmed live with the actors and puppets and animatronics were used. So everything you see was initially a practical and in-camera effect and was augmented with some CGI in post-production.

Because of this I would hope that Prometheus wins for best VFX because I think it's the first film since Hellboy II to largely use mostly practical visual effects and very little CGI.

Shogo1307 writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 1:30:15 AM

This is tough, its honestly going to come down to Hobbit, Life of Pi,Prometheus, the Avengers and cloud atlas. But im going with the Hobbit
jdl107 writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 1:45:04 AM

Making the Hulk look not ultra realistic but THAT realistic was pretty f*ckin' admirable. The Avengers was a vfx extravaganza.

If it weren't for Life of Pi I'd say Avengers was a sure bet. But I don't know.

And The Hobbit has yet to come out, and since that movie will mostly be CGI I have a feeling that one will win out.

But TASM will get thrown out of that race like a wellfare mother popping out her 12th baby. The Lizard was so unremarkably fake and cartoonish, and the FPS views near the end really brought the VFX aspect down a damn good notch. Although it had some hreat effects itself, TASM didn't have what it took to be in this list.
jdl107 writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 1:46:22 AM

*great
jdl107 writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 1:49:22 AM

Like others on this list I would be pushing for Cloud Atlas as well, but some shots in the trailers were very... Unconvincing. For lack of a better word.

Like the shot of the plane blowing up.

Although it is pretty remarkable the film is that big and effects heavy, whilst being completely independently made. But I'm sure the old buggers at the Oscars roundtable give two sh*ts about that.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 4:18:06 AM

The hobbit will win. But I'd vote Prometheus.

The 5 will be narrowed to Life of Pi, Skyfall, Hobbit, Prometheus and cloud atlas. You heard it hear first folks!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 4:46:24 AM

As much as I hated Prometheus the visuals were some of the best I've seen, I think it deserves an award for visual effects but when Ridley's on stage someone needs to piss in his pocket and tell him he's a c*nt for letting so many people down.

How the Amazing Spider Man is on this list I don't know, the graphics look worse than the original Spider Man trilogy.
zxz writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 5:31:21 AM

Prometheus must win! I think it was outstanding, and the effects really were superior to anything else this year.
Rambo writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 5:46:39 AM

none of the movies this year had outstanding special effects..come to think of it,no movie since 'the matrix' had something groundbreaking to offer...and don't give me that 'avatar' sh*t...i don't count retarded cgi animation smurfs crap.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 9:11:26 AM

Been seeing bits and pieces of Spiderman in my gym's cardio cinema, and I've been pretty impressed with the visual effects. Thought the Lizard looked pretty cool and the webslinging was much better than any of Raimi's films.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 9:16:59 AM

Since this is the only award Snow White will be up for I wonder how many Academy voters Kristen Stewart will blow to insure its victory.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 1:56:00 PM

^^Ensure, not insure.

She's a whore, not an actuarialist.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 4:36:13 PM

How the f*ck do you know? Stewart might have an algorithm equating the number of jerks, squirts, and flirts she needs to perform to keep her career afloat. Maybe she's a better mathematician than actress.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 4:43:52 PM

And maybe I'm James Cameron.




Maybe don't mean much.
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 8:13:42 PM

SACdaddy is still a moron. Wishing for bj is a dream. I am drunk. Give it to prom. Sup Mink make a steak and some mac and chse or stuffing. enjoy a dvd. hi.
bane writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 4:01:37 AM

i think LIFE OF PI will win

because...

Amazing Spider-Man ... sh*t

Cloud Atlas ... Razzie winner (i predict)

Dark Knight Rises ... over rated

The Hobbit ... didn't see it yet

John Carter... bull sh*t

Life of Pi ... amazing moving cinema

The Avengers... a cartoon no more

Prometheus... the godfather part 3 of sci fi

Skyfall... great film but no great effects

Snow White Huntsman... K stew + director

Tanman32123 writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 4:44:31 AM

Nobody cares what you think Bane, Come back when you can form a normal sentence f*cker..
vaodsi writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 3:10:38 PM

Hobbit will probably win. John Carter should get a nod since the effects were great. The animals in Life of Pi never once felt fake. Totally seamless. The avengers will get nominated in hope to bring in viewers. Cloud Atlas will get nominated. DKR is not an academy favorite, and i doubt it will be nominated for much.
gotsghostrider writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 3:59:35 PM

The most FX I saw in Skyfall was during the opening theme. It will either be The Avengers, Prometheus, Cloud Atlas, John Carter or The Hobbit.

"Sharknado 2" Breaks Records with 3.9 Million Viewers

Ronda Rousey Says She Should Have Been Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Bruce Wayne's Age in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed

Robin Williams' Cause of Death Revealed

Anthony Mackie Says He's Ready to Become Captain America

"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top

James Gunn Says "Guardians and the Galaxy" and "Avengers" Superheroes May Soon Meet

"Batman v Superman" Director Zack Snyder Defends Aquaman's Powers

Jackie Chan Discusses "The Expendables 4" and "Rush Hour 4"

Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" Attached to "Sin City: A Dame to Kill For"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved