WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Two Posters for "Avengers: Age of Ultron" are Here!
Jul 24th, 2014
First Poster for Marvel's "Ant-Man" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2014
Photos: Batman's Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" On Display at Comic-Con
Jul 24th, 2014
Marvel Takes Old "The Amazing Spider-Man 4" Date, Likely for "Avengers 3"
Jul 24th, 2014
"Hitman: Agent 47" Unveils Comic-Con Banner
Jul 24th, 2014
New Trailer for Pierce Brosnan's "The November Man" Thriller
Jul 24th, 2014
Sony Announces Release Plan for "The Amazing Spider-Man 3" and "Sinister Six"
Jul 24th, 2014
Poster for "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies" Arrives Online
Jul 24th, 2014
"Pirates of the Caribbean 5" and "Sinister 2" Unveil Release Dates
Jul 24th, 2014
Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Mad Max: Fury Road" Unveils First Poster
Jul 23rd, 2014
Marvel Says Real Mandarin and Red Skull May Soon Make an Appearance
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Miss Julie," with Colin Farrell and Jessica Chastain
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Predators" Writer to Turn "Deus Ex" Video Game Into a Movie
Jul 23rd, 2014
New Banner for Brad Pitt's "Fury" War Film
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Space Station 76" Sci-Fi Spoof, with Patrick Wilson and Liv Tyler
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Insidious: Chapter 3" is Now Filming, First Photo Revealed
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Cybernatural" Horror Film, From Timur Bekmambetov
Jul 23rd, 2014
Will Ferrell and Adam McKay Reteam for "Manimal" Action Comedy
Jul 22nd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Unveils 5 Minute Clip
Jul 22nd, 2014
Marvel Will Release One Sequel and One New Franchise Each Year
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Imitation Game," with Benedict Cumberbatch and Keira Knightley
Jul 22nd, 2014
Poster for "Toy Story" Special "Toy Story That Time Forgot"
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Rooney Mara's "Trash" Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Hints He's Set to Play Shazam Superhero
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Comic-Con Poster for "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Jul 21st, 2014
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Remains on Top at Box Office, "Sex Tape" Bombs
Jul 21st, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Says Hercules Would Beat Superman in a Fight
Jul 21st, 2014
First Teaser Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler"
Jul 21st, 2014
"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21
Jul 21st, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

10 Films Remain in Visual Effects Oscar Race

Posted: November 30th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
10 Films Remain in Visual Effects Oscar RaceSubmit Comment
The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced the ten films remaining in competition for the Visual Effects Oscar. Members will be invited to view 10-minute excerpts from each movie on Thursday, January 3rd, 2012. Following the screenings, members will narrow the list down to five films.

The 85th Academy Awards nominations will be announced live on Thursday, January 10th, 2013, at 5:30am PT. The Academy Awards will then be presented on Sunday, February 24th, 2013 and will be televised on ABC.

The remaining ten films (in alphabetical order):

* The Amazing Spider-Man

* Cloud Atlas

* The Dark Knight Rises

* The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

* John Carter

* Life of Pi

* The Avengers

* Prometheus

* Skyfall

* Snow White and the Huntsman


Source: AMPAS


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 9:55:01 PM

Looking at the list, I can only say: much like a Special Olympics race, whoever wins is still a retard.
cress writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 10:10:22 PM

The Amazing Spiderman should win for making Spidey look like a 10 year old girl.
boogiel writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 10:22:10 PM

I'll bet on Snowwhite.
BlackDynamite writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 10:35:23 PM

I personally wish John Carter would win, since it was actually an enjoyable, and surprisingly well done film.

I predict that either Prometheus will win. Most of that movie was pretty light show, and huge "pretty" cinematic pieces.
sedibus writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 10:56:49 PM

The film that should win Best FX is the one that was made as "the real" landing on the moon on the late 60's, that will do.

Oh, sh*t, I'm kidding, "Like I give a sh*t" movie made at planet Saturn, must win.

Damn, dude, what the f*ck is wrong with me?

They didn't use any kind of FX they actually shot the thing live-action in real environments, so, not a chance, sad.
KillerCOck writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 11:04:24 PM

Cloud Atlas, Easy!
Kurskij writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 11:18:42 PM

With the amounts of CGI they have in Hobbit, it's a pretty safe bet.
minkowski writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 11:24:53 PM

Ah. Quantity over quality.

Guess that explains all the illegal aliens.
Doucheception writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 11:34:55 PM

Probably the Hobbit, we all know the academy loves those movies.

Now John Carter...really?
Yeah why don't they pick battlesh*t while they're at it.
minkowski writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 11:47:43 PM

Uh, in all seriousness, JC had some pretty great effects. Not sure what you people saw...
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 12:12:17 AM

Actually BlackDynamite, I got the 4 disc blu-ray of Prometheus not because I liked the movie but for the 'Furious Gods' making-of doc*mentary that runs about 3 1/2 hours. It was produced by Charles De Lauzirika who also produced the Dangerous Days: Making Blade Runner doc*mentary.

Anyways, in Furious Gods they show how every shot in the film was filmed live with the actors and puppets and animatronics were used. So everything you see was initially a practical and in-camera effect and was augmented with some CGI in post-production.

Because of this I would hope that Prometheus wins for best VFX because I think it's the first film since Hellboy II to largely use mostly practical visual effects and very little CGI.

Shogo1307 writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 1:30:15 AM

This is tough, its honestly going to come down to Hobbit, Life of Pi,Prometheus, the Avengers and cloud atlas. But im going with the Hobbit
jdl107 writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 1:45:04 AM

Making the Hulk look not ultra realistic but THAT realistic was pretty f*ckin' admirable. The Avengers was a vfx extravaganza.

If it weren't for Life of Pi I'd say Avengers was a sure bet. But I don't know.

And The Hobbit has yet to come out, and since that movie will mostly be CGI I have a feeling that one will win out.

But TASM will get thrown out of that race like a wellfare mother popping out her 12th baby. The Lizard was so unremarkably fake and cartoonish, and the FPS views near the end really brought the VFX aspect down a damn good notch. Although it had some hreat effects itself, TASM didn't have what it took to be in this list.
jdl107 writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 1:46:22 AM

*great
jdl107 writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 1:49:22 AM

Like others on this list I would be pushing for Cloud Atlas as well, but some shots in the trailers were very... Unconvincing. For lack of a better word.

Like the shot of the plane blowing up.

Although it is pretty remarkable the film is that big and effects heavy, whilst being completely independently made. But I'm sure the old buggers at the Oscars roundtable give two sh*ts about that.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 4:18:06 AM

The hobbit will win. But I'd vote Prometheus.

The 5 will be narrowed to Life of Pi, Skyfall, Hobbit, Prometheus and cloud atlas. You heard it hear first folks!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 4:46:24 AM

As much as I hated Prometheus the visuals were some of the best I've seen, I think it deserves an award for visual effects but when Ridley's on stage someone needs to piss in his pocket and tell him he's a c*nt for letting so many people down.

How the Amazing Spider Man is on this list I don't know, the graphics look worse than the original Spider Man trilogy.
zxz writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 5:31:21 AM

Prometheus must win! I think it was outstanding, and the effects really were superior to anything else this year.
Rambo writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 5:46:39 AM

none of the movies this year had outstanding special effects..come to think of it,no movie since 'the matrix' had something groundbreaking to offer...and don't give me that 'avatar' sh*t...i don't count retarded cgi animation smurfs crap.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 9:11:26 AM

Been seeing bits and pieces of Spiderman in my gym's cardio cinema, and I've been pretty impressed with the visual effects. Thought the Lizard looked pretty cool and the webslinging was much better than any of Raimi's films.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 9:16:59 AM

Since this is the only award Snow White will be up for I wonder how many Academy voters Kristen Stewart will blow to insure its victory.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 1:56:00 PM

^^Ensure, not insure.

She's a whore, not an actuarialist.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 4:36:13 PM

How the f*ck do you know? Stewart might have an algorithm equating the number of jerks, squirts, and flirts she needs to perform to keep her career afloat. Maybe she's a better mathematician than actress.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 4:43:52 PM

And maybe I'm James Cameron.




Maybe don't mean much.
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 8:13:42 PM

SACdaddy is still a moron. Wishing for bj is a dream. I am drunk. Give it to prom. Sup Mink make a steak and some mac and chse or stuffing. enjoy a dvd. hi.
bane writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 4:01:37 AM

i think LIFE OF PI will win

because...

Amazing Spider-Man ... sh*t

Cloud Atlas ... Razzie winner (i predict)

Dark Knight Rises ... over rated

The Hobbit ... didn't see it yet

John Carter... bull sh*t

Life of Pi ... amazing moving cinema

The Avengers... a cartoon no more

Prometheus... the godfather part 3 of sci fi

Skyfall... great film but no great effects

Snow White Huntsman... K stew + director

Tanman32123 writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 4:44:31 AM

Nobody cares what you think Bane, Come back when you can form a normal sentence f*cker..
vaodsi writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 3:10:38 PM

Hobbit will probably win. John Carter should get a nod since the effects were great. The animals in Life of Pi never once felt fake. Totally seamless. The avengers will get nominated in hope to bring in viewers. Cloud Atlas will get nominated. DKR is not an academy favorite, and i doubt it will be nominated for much.
gotsghostrider writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 3:59:35 PM

The most FX I saw in Skyfall was during the opening theme. It will either be The Avengers, Prometheus, Cloud Atlas, John Carter or The Hobbit.

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

Lindsay Lohan Sues "Grand Theft Auto V" for Using Her Likeness

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Mark Ruffalo Says New "Hulk" Film Will NOT Be "Planet Hulk"

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved