WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Deadpool" Movie Test Footage Leaked Online
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
"Mad Max: Fury Road" Comic-Con Trailer is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "Air" Sci-Fi Film, From Creator of "The Walking Dead"
Jul 28th, 2014
New Trailer for "Batman" Prequel TV Series "Gotham"
Jul 28th, 2014
Comic-Con Trailer For DC's "Constantine" TV Series
Jul 28th, 2014
"Lucy" Destroys "Hercules" at the Box Office
Jul 27th, 2014
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Comic-Con Trailer Leaked Online!
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 27th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel "Skull Island" Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
Full "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Banner Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Sequel Confirmed, Release Date Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
"Godzilla 2" Announced, Three Monsters Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
Four Character Posters for Tom Hardy's "Mad Max: Fury Road"
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot?
Jul 26th, 2014
Trailer for Kevin Smith's "Tusk" Horror Film
Jul 26th, 2014
Chris Pratt Wants to Kill Iron Man in Future Marvel Film
Jul 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Daniel Radcliffe's "Horns" Supernatural Thriller
Jul 26th, 2014
First Bizarre Photo From "SpongeBob SquarePants: Sponge Out of Water" Movie
Jul 26th, 2014
First Look at Elsa From "Frozen" in "Once Upon a Time" TV Series
Jul 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Walking Dead" Season 5
Jul 26th, 2014
Colin Firth Gets Physical With Mark Hamill in "Kingsman: Secret Service" Photo
Jul 26th, 2014
Quicksilver, Hawkeye and Vision in New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Posters
Jul 26th, 2014
Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"
Jul 26th, 2014
Someone Leaked "The Expendables 3" Online, Already Downloaded 200,000 Times
Jul 26th, 2014
Marvel's "Ant-Man" Loses Patrick Wilson and Two Other Actors
Jul 26th, 2014
"Argo" Writer in Talks for "Justice League"
Jul 25th, 2014
"24" Movie and "X-Files" Reboot May Happen
Jul 25th, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Confirms Role in "Shazam" Superhero Film
Jul 25th, 2014
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Writer Hints at Direction of Third Film
Jul 25th, 2014
Vin Diesel on "xXx 3" and Guillermo Del Toro on "Pacific Rim 2"
Jul 25th, 2014
Poster for "Chappie" Robot Film, with Sharlto Copley and Hugh Jackman
Jul 25th, 2014
New Photo of Ben Affleck as Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 25th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

10 Films Remain in Visual Effects Oscar Race

Posted: November 30th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
10 Films Remain in Visual Effects Oscar RaceSubmit Comment
The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced the ten films remaining in competition for the Visual Effects Oscar. Members will be invited to view 10-minute excerpts from each movie on Thursday, January 3rd, 2012. Following the screenings, members will narrow the list down to five films.

The 85th Academy Awards nominations will be announced live on Thursday, January 10th, 2013, at 5:30am PT. The Academy Awards will then be presented on Sunday, February 24th, 2013 and will be televised on ABC.

The remaining ten films (in alphabetical order):

* The Amazing Spider-Man

* Cloud Atlas

* The Dark Knight Rises

* The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

* John Carter

* Life of Pi

* The Avengers

* Prometheus

* Skyfall

* Snow White and the Huntsman


Source: AMPAS


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 9:55:01 PM

Looking at the list, I can only say: much like a Special Olympics race, whoever wins is still a retard.
cress writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 10:10:22 PM

The Amazing Spiderman should win for making Spidey look like a 10 year old girl.
boogiel writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 10:22:10 PM

I'll bet on Snowwhite.
BlackDynamite writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 10:35:23 PM

I personally wish John Carter would win, since it was actually an enjoyable, and surprisingly well done film.

I predict that either Prometheus will win. Most of that movie was pretty light show, and huge "pretty" cinematic pieces.
sedibus writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 10:56:49 PM

The film that should win Best FX is the one that was made as "the real" landing on the moon on the late 60's, that will do.

Oh, sh*t, I'm kidding, "Like I give a sh*t" movie made at planet Saturn, must win.

Damn, dude, what the f*ck is wrong with me?

They didn't use any kind of FX they actually shot the thing live-action in real environments, so, not a chance, sad.
KillerCOck writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 11:04:24 PM

Cloud Atlas, Easy!
Kurskij writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 11:18:42 PM

With the amounts of CGI they have in Hobbit, it's a pretty safe bet.
minkowski writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 11:24:53 PM

Ah. Quantity over quality.

Guess that explains all the illegal aliens.
Doucheception writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 11:34:55 PM

Probably the Hobbit, we all know the academy loves those movies.

Now John Carter...really?
Yeah why don't they pick battlesh*t while they're at it.
minkowski writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 11:47:43 PM

Uh, in all seriousness, JC had some pretty great effects. Not sure what you people saw...
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 12:12:17 AM

Actually BlackDynamite, I got the 4 disc blu-ray of Prometheus not because I liked the movie but for the 'Furious Gods' making-of doc*mentary that runs about 3 1/2 hours. It was produced by Charles De Lauzirika who also produced the Dangerous Days: Making Blade Runner doc*mentary.

Anyways, in Furious Gods they show how every shot in the film was filmed live with the actors and puppets and animatronics were used. So everything you see was initially a practical and in-camera effect and was augmented with some CGI in post-production.

Because of this I would hope that Prometheus wins for best VFX because I think it's the first film since Hellboy II to largely use mostly practical visual effects and very little CGI.

Shogo1307 writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 1:30:15 AM

This is tough, its honestly going to come down to Hobbit, Life of Pi,Prometheus, the Avengers and cloud atlas. But im going with the Hobbit
jdl107 writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 1:45:04 AM

Making the Hulk look not ultra realistic but THAT realistic was pretty f*ckin' admirable. The Avengers was a vfx extravaganza.

If it weren't for Life of Pi I'd say Avengers was a sure bet. But I don't know.

And The Hobbit has yet to come out, and since that movie will mostly be CGI I have a feeling that one will win out.

But TASM will get thrown out of that race like a wellfare mother popping out her 12th baby. The Lizard was so unremarkably fake and cartoonish, and the FPS views near the end really brought the VFX aspect down a damn good notch. Although it had some hreat effects itself, TASM didn't have what it took to be in this list.
jdl107 writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 1:46:22 AM

*great
jdl107 writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 1:49:22 AM

Like others on this list I would be pushing for Cloud Atlas as well, but some shots in the trailers were very... Unconvincing. For lack of a better word.

Like the shot of the plane blowing up.

Although it is pretty remarkable the film is that big and effects heavy, whilst being completely independently made. But I'm sure the old buggers at the Oscars roundtable give two sh*ts about that.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 4:18:06 AM

The hobbit will win. But I'd vote Prometheus.

The 5 will be narrowed to Life of Pi, Skyfall, Hobbit, Prometheus and cloud atlas. You heard it hear first folks!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 4:46:24 AM

As much as I hated Prometheus the visuals were some of the best I've seen, I think it deserves an award for visual effects but when Ridley's on stage someone needs to piss in his pocket and tell him he's a c*nt for letting so many people down.

How the Amazing Spider Man is on this list I don't know, the graphics look worse than the original Spider Man trilogy.
zxz writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 5:31:21 AM

Prometheus must win! I think it was outstanding, and the effects really were superior to anything else this year.
Rambo writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 5:46:39 AM

none of the movies this year had outstanding special effects..come to think of it,no movie since 'the matrix' had something groundbreaking to offer...and don't give me that 'avatar' sh*t...i don't count retarded cgi animation smurfs crap.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 9:11:26 AM

Been seeing bits and pieces of Spiderman in my gym's cardio cinema, and I've been pretty impressed with the visual effects. Thought the Lizard looked pretty cool and the webslinging was much better than any of Raimi's films.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 9:16:59 AM

Since this is the only award Snow White will be up for I wonder how many Academy voters Kristen Stewart will blow to insure its victory.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 1:56:00 PM

^^Ensure, not insure.

She's a whore, not an actuarialist.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 4:36:13 PM

How the f*ck do you know? Stewart might have an algorithm equating the number of jerks, squirts, and flirts she needs to perform to keep her career afloat. Maybe she's a better mathematician than actress.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 4:43:52 PM

And maybe I'm James Cameron.




Maybe don't mean much.
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 8:13:42 PM

SACdaddy is still a moron. Wishing for bj is a dream. I am drunk. Give it to prom. Sup Mink make a steak and some mac and chse or stuffing. enjoy a dvd. hi.
bane writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 4:01:37 AM

i think LIFE OF PI will win

because...

Amazing Spider-Man ... sh*t

Cloud Atlas ... Razzie winner (i predict)

Dark Knight Rises ... over rated

The Hobbit ... didn't see it yet

John Carter... bull sh*t

Life of Pi ... amazing moving cinema

The Avengers... a cartoon no more

Prometheus... the godfather part 3 of sci fi

Skyfall... great film but no great effects

Snow White Huntsman... K stew + director

Tanman32123 writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 4:44:31 AM

Nobody cares what you think Bane, Come back when you can form a normal sentence f*cker..
vaodsi writes:
on December 1st, 2012 at 3:10:38 PM

Hobbit will probably win. John Carter should get a nod since the effects were great. The animals in Life of Pi never once felt fake. Totally seamless. The avengers will get nominated in hope to bring in viewers. Cloud Atlas will get nominated. DKR is not an academy favorite, and i doubt it will be nominated for much.
gotsghostrider writes:
on December 2nd, 2012 at 3:59:35 PM

The most FX I saw in Skyfall was during the opening theme. It will either be The Avengers, Prometheus, Cloud Atlas, John Carter or The Hobbit.

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility

Gary Oldman Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved