WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Producer Says "X-Files 3" Will Likely Not Happen, But TV Series May Be Rebooted

Posted: November 28th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Producer Says "X-Files 3" Will Likely Not Happen, But TV Series May Be RebootedSubmit Comment
In 1998, the first "X-Files" movie grossed $190 million globally. But the sequel, released in 2008 was only able to take in $68 million. While a third film was planned, the poor performance of the sequel hurt the chances of it getting made.

Both David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson are interested in returning, but producer Frank Spotnitz believes that "X-Files 3" will likely never happen. "I would like the movie to [happen] and I've been talking to [series creator] Chris Carter about it for many years, but there is no script," he said, adding that the story would have focused on "the alien colonization story that began the series."

Spotnitz went on to say that Fox will not simply let the franchise die. He expects that there will be a new "X-Files" TV series sometime in the future with new actors and new stories. "I wouldn't be surprised at all," he explained. "It's a huge asset, so I can't imagine they would let it sit languishing forever."

Source: DenOfGeek


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 28th, 2012 at 7:20:45 AM

If they do it, it'll by riding on name brand alone...

How many TV shows similar to X-Files are out there already?...too many if you ask me.

It's already "been there, done that", 90s feel...
brandonegc writes:
on November 28th, 2012 at 7:44:24 AM

You know why X-Files II failed? Because some *sshole at Fox decided to A.) f*ck over the fans who'd been waiting 6 years to a continuation of the series finale and B.) release a winter-set film in the summer.

We've already got an X-Files on TV right now with new characters and new stories. It's called FRINGE and it's already on FOX. The X-Files tanked w

brandonegc writes:
on November 28th, 2012 at 7:45:46 AM

when Robert Patrick and that other dame came on and Duchovny left. You already tried new actors and stories, and you failed. We want same actors to finish the stories we already have with loose ends.
cress writes:
on November 28th, 2012 at 8:10:01 AM

This could be a huge hit for Fox. The name alone will garner huge initial interest as it premieres, then its up to how good the reboot is to keep the audience returning week after week. Duchovny could cameo from time to time,and so could Anderson, provided her scenes be film in dimly lit interiors.
pornfly writes:
on November 28th, 2012 at 9:23:06 AM

What TANMAN says.
Best scifi show along with Quantum Leap,Twilight Zone and Erin Grays outfit in Buck Rogers
BJsforeveryone writes:
on November 28th, 2012 at 9:52:59 AM

Donīt give a flying f**k about a reboot, make the damn movie already !
I will write the script if I have to !!
afterkwiss writes:
on November 28th, 2012 at 9:55:01 AM

X-Files series reboot? Don't you f*cking dare ...
johnny208 writes:
on November 28th, 2012 at 10:48:40 AM

He's bummed because "hunted" is cancelled. I don't believe a word unless it comes from Carter or Fox.And yes, don't you dare rebooting it!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 28th, 2012 at 11:15:28 AM

Or you could let people watch the original shows, which are classics, and make new TV shows you lazy f*cks.
minkowski writes:
on November 28th, 2012 at 12:11:37 PM

If they reboot it, I give the new series maybe two grace seasons, just out of respect for the original.

And any fool could see a third movie was NEVER going to get made.

FOX is a real bunch of morons.
vincere01 writes:
on November 28th, 2012 at 4:02:07 PM

Shockingly the sequel, made a DECADE after the first, was a dissapointment at the box office. Dumb exec's should have made it within 3 tops. They waited way to long and allowed the general movie going public to either A. Stop caring about it or B. Forget about it all together. Mix that in with a horrible story and poor marketing and you get the box office turd it was.

With that said....I'd still enjoy a 3rd if done right this time. I really like the characters and the smart sci fi it was once known for.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on November 28th, 2012 at 4:44:04 PM

^^ Damn straight, buddy !!
Rambo writes:
on November 28th, 2012 at 5:24:44 PM

they already rebooted it...fringe anyone?
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 28th, 2012 at 5:41:59 PM

The headline made me very exited... for nothing... LOL f*ck! i want an X-Files 3 damn it! and f*ck a reboot.. unless Mulder and Scully are in it..

Come on FOX Make an X-Files 3 happen, or if possible (highly unlikely) have them come back for a season 10! I'd honestly watch every single episode it's air date..

And Thank Porn lol It is easily one of the 10 greatest shows of the last 20 years.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 28th, 2012 at 5:44:22 PM

Bonus treat:

i went to Fan Expo Canada this summer and got The one and only William B Davis's Autograph :) Got it framed along with all my other autographs and am going to put them all on my wall soon.
elrei writes:
on November 28th, 2012 at 7:27:45 PM

I tought that Fringe was the X-files reboot... In the last movie Mulder and Scully are paddling to an island... Let's leave them there.
minkowski writes:
on November 28th, 2012 at 8:39:07 PM

Fringe is garbage compared to the X-Files, a poor man's cheap imitation, the way old vinyl thinks it's vintage high leather.
holtlt writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 2:40:54 AM

I just need closure, that's it.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 29th, 2012 at 8:42:12 PM

I refused to watch fringe when it came out, In respect to the X-Files :)
GreenLensman writes:
on November 30th, 2012 at 8:21:24 PM

the 2nd movie failed cuz it was about a crazy pedo geazer with expendable supporting cast and had nothing to do with aliens unless billy connoly qualifies as alien
smully22 writes:
on March 11th, 2013 at 10:34:57 AM

Fox must be a bunch of morons. FIrst they made the decision to put out a movie that had absolutely nothing to do with the conspiracy, then they whine about the returns. If they put out X-files 3 and it WAS about the alien colonization/conspiracy, it would be a hit. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure that out, but obviouly Fox is short on anyone that even has anything near that kind of smarts. Are they really that dense? My hope is that someone there will pull their head out of *#! and give the loyal fans that gave Fox a hit what they deserve. I don't want a new X-files, I want Mulder and Scully to finish their work...to find the TRUTH!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved