WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Syfy Plannning "Waterworld" Sequel

Posted: November 27th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Syfy Plannning "Waterworld" SequelSubmit Comment
Syfy has been working with Universal Pictures to acquire the rights to "Waterworld" with hopes of developing a theatrical sequel or a television series. The original film cost $235 million, making it the most expensive film of its time. The network says that the sequel would have a much smaller budget.

Released in 1995, "Waterworld" starred Kevin Costner, Dennis Hopper and Jeanne Tripplehorn as survivors of a post-apocalyptic Earth, which has been completely flooded. Costner winds up becoming involved in a fight for the life of a young orphan girl whose tattooed back may hold the secret to the location of land.

The film was considered a box office disaster, earning only $88 million domestically. But it also grossed $176 million overseas for a worldwide total of $264 million.

Source: Forbes


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on November 27th, 2012 at 9:06:31 PM

Why?
Rambo writes:
on November 27th, 2012 at 9:13:04 PM

why mr.anderson why why why do you persist?
cress writes:
on November 27th, 2012 at 9:13:20 PM

The film will follow the adventures of the little old guy in the boat in the bottom of the oil tanker, who somehow survivef the explosion.
Rambo writes:
on November 27th, 2012 at 9:28:37 PM

or maybe the little girl with the map grew up to be a dirty nympho that's having sex with underage girls while using hand puppets?
minkowski writes:
on November 27th, 2012 at 9:33:41 PM

^^And to think, my Masturbation Anonymous counselor keeps telling me to interact with people more.

I'll never quit now.
bandolero999 writes:
on November 27th, 2012 at 10:10:02 PM

This movie was hilarious.then I saw the postman and that was sh*t.
PATRIOT writes:
on November 27th, 2012 at 10:44:06 PM

This is about as pointless as Jeb Bush and Mitt Romney running for President in 2016.
PATRIOT writes:
on November 27th, 2012 at 10:46:22 PM

...and Sarah Palin.


LOL!!!

LOSERS!!!
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 27th, 2012 at 11:23:37 PM

^ Serious f*cking issues!! lol

Never seen Waterworld and never will!!
bandolero999 writes:
on November 27th, 2012 at 11:45:29 PM

Watch it for hopper badchad.he's f*cking awesome in that movie
Elmo writes:
on November 27th, 2012 at 11:54:09 PM

Elmo say patriot wanna get ass fisted by mitt romney.
vincere01 writes:
on November 28th, 2012 at 12:57:17 AM

I actually enjoyed the movie. Not the greatest movie ever but not bad either. I actually thought hopper was what brought the film down into mediocrity. A better vilan may have helped. Also the movie does seemed rushed in a few spots. And while it felt barren, no doubt by design I'm sure, it was so barren I find it mind boggling that it cost as much as it did, especially at that time. However, with all that said I can still see a mildly enjoyable tv sequel to come from this. I highly doubt Costner would return though.

On the other hand he did do a miniseries on the history channel recently, which was spectacularl by the way. I highly suggest checking it out if you haven't seen it. Its about the Hatfield and McCoy feud. Co stars bill Paxton and tom berenger.

Back on topic though. Costner might be persuaded because if I remember correctly the original waterworld was kind of his baby. He produced and starred and worked for a while to bring it about. So maybe. Ill wait til they announce cast and such though.
Venom1970 writes:
on November 28th, 2012 at 4:11:53 AM

I know it was considered a huge flop, but I actually liked this film! Cannot see any reason to do a sequel. Nobody can play the mariner besides Costner.
Mudders writes:
on November 28th, 2012 at 5:39:55 AM

hopper was good in this? really?...ummm ok

let syfy dig their own grave...
Spankfish writes:
on November 28th, 2012 at 6:25:08 AM

One of the reason it cost so much is because the floating town set sank into the sea and they had to build it again. I'm sure Costner put a lot of his own cash into it as well. I was a pretty poor film. On par with "The Patriot" I'd say.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 28th, 2012 at 5:49:53 PM

-refer to minks first comment for my first comment-

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved