WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Chris Hemsworth Responds to "He-Man" Rumors

Posted: November 27th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Chris Hemsworth Responds to "He-Man" RumorsSubmit Comment
Back in August, Dolph Lundgren was asked who he believes would be a good choice to play He-Man" in the new "Masters of the Universe" reboot, which will be directed by Jon M Chu (G.I. Joe: Retaliation). Lundgren said that either Channing Tatum or Chris Hemsworth would both be perfect.

Now in an interview with Hemsworth, Empire Magazine attempted to find out if the actor would be interested in the role. "I can't play He-Man, it's pretty much Thor, isn't it?" he said.

Hemsworth added that after playing Thor is several movies, it has become difficult for him to get certain roles. As a result, he doesn't expect to be asked to play He-Man, and probably not any villains. "I'd probably have to make more of an effort to get that kind of role," he explained.

Source: CBM, Empire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on November 27th, 2012 at 7:11:29 AM

Git hiz brudda too doo eet
boogiel writes:
on November 27th, 2012 at 7:30:58 AM

That's a wise answer. I honestly can't see this movie turning out to be good.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 27th, 2012 at 7:37:12 AM

He looks the part but yes its too close to Thor. Plus it sounds like he doesn't know or care much about He-man anyway.
Rambo writes:
on November 27th, 2012 at 7:49:59 AM

I'll wait for Michael Caine's response...
Avirex writes:
on November 27th, 2012 at 8:05:08 AM

Tom Cruise was obviously born for this role.
McQueen writes:
on November 27th, 2012 at 8:16:56 AM

^ ^ lol
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 27th, 2012 at 10:11:30 AM

I'd say Hemsworth is right. Seems to me he really thinks the roles & doesn't wanna be an action star per se. Seems he chooses his roles carefully, aside from RED DAWN, of course.
Champ1432 writes:
on November 27th, 2012 at 11:05:17 AM

Hemsworth is probably wise to stay away from this. It is a bit too close to Thor, as he stated.

Also, He-Man is a cartoon that I just can't see translating well to live action. Not that any cartoon translates well, but this one especially. How would you do it and not make it campy? I would think you pretty much have to make it intentionally campy or not take it seriously at all. But the recent trend with those types of movies has been for them to be not too great, with the probable exception of Marvel's movies (Iron Man/Thor/Avengers, etc.).

I think it's going to be really tough to make this come out in a good way.

And really, who do you get to play He-Man? If not Hemsworth, who today is right for the part and not too old? Not Tatum. I know He-Man wasn't the most emotional guy, but Tatum is a little too understated even for that, I think.
Champ1432 writes:
on November 27th, 2012 at 11:06:18 AM

More importantly, who do you get to play Teela?
Heavy-e writes:
on November 27th, 2012 at 12:14:26 PM

too much ignorance and prejudice about he-man, MOTU is much more than that cartoon of the 80's ( comics, other TV series ,toys and more) it's one of the best concept of fantasy, sorcery and technology. would be great to bring that world on a live action movie (well done) you'll see.

recommend reading the new he-man DC comics , they changed the perspective to several people about MOTU.
Heavy-e writes:
on November 27th, 2012 at 12:38:38 PM

his brother ,liam Hemsworth as he-man is my choice .

awesome concept art .

http://media.comicvine.com/uploads/7/71627/2451825-2451823-he_man_by_nebezial.jpg

http://www.deviantart.com/download/115891770/he_man_teaser_style_by_nebezial.jpg

http://fc03.deviantart.net/fs71/i/2011/183/5/9/motu__a_kiss_for_good_luck_by_nebezial-d31szt5.jpg
Ranger writes:
on November 27th, 2012 at 1:19:25 PM

I think anyone that calls himself 'He-Man' is plenty insecure about his sexual identity.

McQueen writes:
on November 27th, 2012 at 2:07:27 PM

^ ^ Just like the hero of this site...
minkowski writes:
on November 27th, 2012 at 5:25:13 PM

He-Man could be good if they approach it more like Conan or Heavy Metal, and less like a f*cking toy movie, i.e., the first film.
minkowski writes:
on November 27th, 2012 at 5:26:49 PM

"I think anyone that calls himself 'He-Man' is plenty insecure about his sexual identity."

He does't give himself the name, the sword does.

Essentially it's a little like Excalibur. The sword chooses its owner, whomever is fit to wield it, and that person is thus called "He-Man".

Otherwise, I agree with you.
KillerCOck writes:
on November 27th, 2012 at 5:54:47 PM

I bet Vin Diesel gets cast as Skeletor
Mudders writes:
on November 27th, 2012 at 8:06:52 PM

there are a few who would like to play he-man....but the majority would be douché bags like

ryan gosling,tatum channing,sam worthington,paul walker,vin diesel,chris pine

but there are very few i think who would take this on seriously and the few who might may not even take it seriously either...bit of a cash n grab

i.e josh hollaway,liam hemsworth,tom hardy

glad im not a casting director...maybe they should go with an unknown...
KillerCOck writes:
on November 28th, 2012 at 1:56:57 AM

I think Alexander Skarsgård would be good if he Pumped up
Mudders writes:
on November 28th, 2012 at 5:32:48 AM

^yeah skarsgard would be good....thinking of that i need to get my generation kill out and have another watch

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved