WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot
Apr 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Point Break" Remake
Apr 23rd, 2015
EL James' Husband to Write "Fifty Shades of Grey" Sequel
Apr 23rd, 2015
"21 Jump Street" Directors to Helm Animated "Spider-Man" Movie
Apr 23rd, 2015
Photo: Johnny Depp is Crime Boss Whitey Bulger in "Black Mass"
Apr 23rd, 2015
First Look at Johnny Depp in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Apr 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for George Clooney's "Tomorrowland" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 22nd, 2015
First Poster for M. Night Shyamalan's "The Visit" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2015
Poster for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Southpaw" Boxing Film
Apr 22nd, 2015
New "Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Apr 21st, 2015
First Look at Jared Leto as The Joker From "Suicide Squad"?
Apr 21st, 2015
Photos: Marvel Putting Up Tiny "Ant-Man" Billboards
Apr 21st, 2015
"Transformers 5" Coming in 2017
Apr 21st, 2015
Photo: Full Batman Costume From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed
Apr 21st, 2015
Full "Fantastic Four" Trailer is Here!
Apr 20th, 2015
Teaser for "Star Wars" Spin-Off Film Leaked Online!
Apr 20th, 2015
Two "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Teaser Posters
Apr 20th, 2015
"Furious 7" Crosses $1 Billion at Box Office
Apr 20th, 2015
Trailer for Ridiculous "Mega Shark vs Kolossus"
Apr 20th, 2015
Chris Pratt and His Raptors in New "Jurassic World" Poster
Apr 20th, 2015
George Lucas Says Marvel May Remake "Howard the Duck"
Apr 19th, 2015
Dinosaur vs Shark in New "Jurassic World" Poster
Apr 19th, 2015
Official "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer is Here!
Apr 18th, 2015
Restricted Trailer for Salma Hayek's "The Tale of Tales" Fantasy Film
Apr 18th, 2015
New Poster for Joseph Gordon-Levitt's "The Walk," Directed by Robert Zemeckis
Apr 18th, 2015
New Poster for "Jurassic World," New Trailer Coming on Monday
Apr 18th, 2015
Full "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Leaked Online!
Apr 17th, 2015
New "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Trailer is Here!
Apr 17th, 2015
Josh Hartnett Regrets Turning Down Batman Role in "Batman Begins"
Apr 17th, 2015
Ryan Gosling in Talks for "Blade Runner" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2015
Trailer for "The Gallows" Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2015
Matthew Vaughn to Direct "Flash Gordon" Remake
Apr 17th, 2015
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Teaser Trailer is Here!
Apr 16th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Russell Crowe Helped Hugh Jackman Get Wolverine Role

Posted: November 24th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Russell Crowe Helped Hugh Jackman Get Wolverine RoleSubmit Comment
In an interview with Australian radio station, Hugh Jackman revealed that the role of Wolverine in "X-Men" movie was first offered to Russell Crowe, who turned it down and recommended him.

"[Director] Bryan Singer asked [Crowe] to do Wolverine," Jackman explained. "And he said, 'Nah, I've just done 'Gladiator,' it's not for me, but you should look at this guy...'"

Jackman ended up taking the job and returned to play Wolverine in two more "X-Men" sequels, "X-Men Origins: Wolverine," and "X-Men: First Class." He is now shooting "The Wolverine" and will likely reprise the role in the upcoming "First Class" sequel, called "X-Men: Days of Future Past."

Source: Yahoo! Movies


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 42 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 7:35:15 AM

wow...this news just changed my life.i think i will go worship jesus or something...
Dirt writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 7:37:19 AM

Try Lord Xenu.
bandolero999 writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 7:40:05 AM

Thats all he could ever do.be wolverine

Van helsing and swordfish.two of the worst movies ever made with the exception of halle berrys ebony tits.

bandolero999 writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 7:41:17 AM

To think of it that's all swordfish is known for.her tits
AngryBird writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 8:07:01 AM

I thought that it was the delayed production of Mission Impossible II that forced Dougray Scott to back out of the Wolverine part allowing Hugh jackman to take it over.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 8:53:23 AM

Swordfish was awesome Bando. If it didn't have that stupid hacking montage in it that would have been a perfect action movie. Pretty awesome for Jackman's first go at an American accent too. Honestly, the guy is a pretty good actor. If he didn't land the Wolverine role he still would have found his way to stardom sooner or later.

Crowe would have made a badass Wolverine though.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 9:53:36 AM

Rambo- That's my line dammit lol

Van Damme wish's he got this role when he was considered for it too.
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 10:06:36 AM

@SAC - I too am one of the few (apparently) that really enjoyed Swordfish. Aside from the montage you mentioned, I don't see why people don't like it.

As for this news... they could have gotten Thomas Jane to play Wolverine (and set fluffer) for the price of a sandwich.
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 10:07:55 AM

@BC - VanDouche was considered? Did you ever hear if it was actually offered to him? If it was... and he declined (like Sly's 'The Expendables' offer). That wouldn't surprise me a bit.
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 10:11:04 AM

Yeah, I liked Swordfish too. Cool way to open the film, and yes, for once, I agree with BallSac: the entire hacking/computer scenes were not only inept, they were downright cringe-worthy campy.

Also, Berry could have kept her damned shirt on. No one wants to see those melted Hershey Kisses. Hell, we've all seen them anyway.

As for the news, who the f*ck cares? Crowe's fat anyway, and has a round head. Wolverine is built like a...well built like f*cking something, I dunno, and is more masculine in the face then Crowe.

Reminds of that bullsh*t with The Matrix. Connery as Morpheus? Smith as Neo? Jesus. Who does the f*cking casting in Hollywood, and they do have any clue what works and what doesn't?
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 10:12:56 AM

"I don't see why people don't like it."

Because hating almost every film ever made is a lot easier than dedicating some time to actually considering whether it's truly bad or if maybe, just maybe, the person in question has very, very limited tastes...
pornfly writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 11:21:23 AM

Ive done the same with p*ssy.
Wutta good mate Crowe is
FBO writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 12:24:05 PM

We all know that no one would have made a better Wolverine than Clint Eastwood in his prime
McQueen writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 1:39:57 PM

"Tom Cruise takes over Trafalgar Square with an army of tanks as he shoots scenes for his new film"

=> DM.
Džeko writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 1:47:02 PM

@McQueen
Didn't London Gay parade took place in July or some such sh*t?
McQueen writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 1:53:18 PM

I don't know Dzeko, I don't live in London/Hampstead anymore for years now and I didn't read that in the papers but if you ask JB/Mangomaniac, he sure knows every gay parade on the planet.
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 1:57:11 PM

The only gay parade MangoJB knows is the long line of horny men queued up outside his *sshole.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 2:04:45 PM

Ranger- at one point he was considered to play Wolverine.

http://www.comicbookmovie.com/fansites/MrAnonymous/news/?a=25697
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 2:06:21 PM

Mink- Otherwise known as Daddy and his football buddies.
McQueen writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 2:10:59 PM

LOL!

That is some promising ass drilling in gay history!
bane writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 2:40:28 PM

the role of 'Hoot' in BLACK HAWK DOWN
was first offered to Russell Crowe
who turned it down and
recommended Eric Bana
Rambo writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 3:27:35 PM

@badchad

haha...i know it's your line
Stapes writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 4:05:31 PM

Crowe once said he prepped for LA confidential by eating butterfingers and drinking bourbon, no wonder he's a fatass now
Stapes writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 4:08:13 PM

Crowe should stick to banging that sad sack meg ryan. Good on quaid for getting a younger hotty and dumping that bag of crazy.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 4:20:33 PM

Rambo- that's ok, your awesome, you can use it. Lol
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 5:14:55 PM

I'll still think thay if Jackman can't make make this Wolverine work, he should hang those claws up & let others have a crack.

Don't get me wrong...Jackman is great, understands the character as shown by his acting, and a great level of badassnesd with vulnerability for which you feel for the guy (hard to pull off) but the character has more potential (costume, gritty action, & plot wise) than what they're doing with the character...

As for Crowe, he did the right thing...no ego, no attention getting, just realizing someone else could be right for the part. Also helps the other guy is also Australian. I realky doubt Crowe would have gobe hardcore on the body as Jackman did...
Phunky Dubbs writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 5:32:35 PM

Hey, wake up, bitches. Russell Crowe didn't pass up this role cuz he's a nice guy looking out for another Aussie. At the time, Crowe's star was at its biggest, and remember, Marvel comic book movies weren't a proven commodity back then, thus X-men had only a moderately high budget. So the only way X-men would have been able to afford Crowe is if Crowe took a pay cut to be in the movie... meanwhile, Hugh Jackman came cheap cuz at the time, he was a nobody everywhere outside of maybe Australia.

So Crowe didn't take the role cuz of two things: #1 not enough money, and #2 maybe he perceived that a comic book movie would be beneath him cuz he had become a serious Oscar-worthy actor.

Jackman's a sap for believing that bullsh*t story.
bane writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 5:44:06 PM

crowe was amazing in THE INSIDER
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 7:07:07 PM

Crowe would have looked like sh*t as Wolverine. Not only that, but thrown up against the guy who played Cyclops and the other folks, he would've been more like the X-Men's fat, old creepy uncle with knuckle claws.

You people are smoking sh*t.
DriveMemento writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 9:28:49 PM

@ Minkowski

Gladiator Crowe would have looked BADASS as wolverine but obviuosly now he doesnt lol.

If Russell Crowe would have took the role as wolverine he would have passed on the role to someone else after the second or thrid film. Crowe wouldnt have been like jackman doing every wolverine role possible.
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 9:33:35 PM

@BC - you believe I'm an actor on that list?

HOW'D YOU KNOW?!?!?
Rambo writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 9:54:12 PM

a young russel crowe would fit the role but not the russel crowe of 2005 and beyond...I think Russel Crowe is one of the best actors in Hollywood..however there are 2 problems with him: 1. he has a sh*tty personality 2.he's quite stupid and ruined his career with bad movie choices and destroying his body with smoking and alcohol
Rambo writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 10:01:34 PM

speaking of stupid actors...my avatar...enough said.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 11:51:55 PM

Ranger- lol
GreenLensman writes:
on November 25th, 2012 at 12:23:35 AM

yea wolverine with a big wart on his forehead, that makes sense
trailertrash writes:
on November 25th, 2012 at 3:22:44 AM

Trying to take Magneto out with a telephone would have been different i guess.
MANGOMANIAC writes:
on November 25th, 2012 at 3:59:30 AM

I just got off the phone with ranger and mink, they can't be open as they want regarding the Bullit problem. But in a nutshell they both consider Bullit a c*nt.

KillerCOck writes:
on November 25th, 2012 at 12:09:03 PM

Jackman Sucks
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2012 at 2:45:23 PM

You people are still smoking sh*t. The Crowe of The Insider, ca. 1999, wouldn't have been a decent Wolverine either. He was fat, round-headed, old and pale even then. Just take another look.

Damn. The other guy, Dougray or whomever, he would've worked more, but still, Jackman is the best I can imagine doing the role, especially as he took it seriously enough to go full Rambo. Kudos to him.
KillerCOck writes:
on November 25th, 2012 at 6:28:09 PM

He still plays it pathetically. His acting as Wolverine is horrible. Even Schreiber Would've played a better Wolverine. Anyone who could act on Screen would've done better than Jackman in the role.

I would've hated Crowe in the role aswell doh so I should appreciate that we got the lesser of 2 sh*ts
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2012 at 7:31:12 PM

He at least LOOKS like Wolverine.

Crowe looks like a Russian grandmother.
KillerCOck writes:
on November 25th, 2012 at 8:07:36 PM

I don't think he looks like Wolverine. I think They've drawn him too look similar in a number of comics after the first movie came out but I don't think he looks like Wolverine at all nor is he intimidating at all.

New Spider-Man is 15-Year-Old Peter Parker, No Origin Story

Disney Making Live-Action "Winnie the Pooh" Film

Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman

Arnold Schwarzenegger Happy He Didn't Star in "Terminator Salvation"

"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon

"Insurgent" Takes First Place at Box Office, Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Flops

"Spectre" Opening Sequence is Biggest in History

"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" Title Revealed

"Home" and "Get Hard" Perform Well at Box Office

Jennifer Lawrence Says "X-Men: Apocalypse" is Her Last "X-Men" Film
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved