WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses Getting "Terminator" Rights Back in 2019
Oct 17th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Says "Pacific Rim 2" Sets Up "Pacific Rim 3"
Oct 17th, 2014
New Trailer For Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Oct 17th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson Offered $10 Million to Star in "Ghost in the Shell"
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer For Chris Rock's "Top Five" Comedy
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Oct 16th, 2014
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in Ron Howard's "Heart of the Sea" Survival Film
Oct 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Russell Crowe Helped Hugh Jackman Get Wolverine Role

Posted: November 24th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Russell Crowe Helped Hugh Jackman Get Wolverine RoleSubmit Comment
In an interview with Australian radio station, Hugh Jackman revealed that the role of Wolverine in "X-Men" movie was first offered to Russell Crowe, who turned it down and recommended him.

"[Director] Bryan Singer asked [Crowe] to do Wolverine," Jackman explained. "And he said, 'Nah, I've just done 'Gladiator,' it's not for me, but you should look at this guy...'"

Jackman ended up taking the job and returned to play Wolverine in two more "X-Men" sequels, "X-Men Origins: Wolverine," and "X-Men: First Class." He is now shooting "The Wolverine" and will likely reprise the role in the upcoming "First Class" sequel, called "X-Men: Days of Future Past."

Source: Yahoo! Movies


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 42 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 7:35:15 AM

wow...this news just changed my life.i think i will go worship jesus or something...
Dirt writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 7:37:19 AM

Try Lord Xenu.
bandolero999 writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 7:40:05 AM

Thats all he could ever do.be wolverine

Van helsing and swordfish.two of the worst movies ever made with the exception of halle berrys ebony tits.

bandolero999 writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 7:41:17 AM

To think of it that's all swordfish is known for.her tits
AngryBird writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 8:07:01 AM

I thought that it was the delayed production of Mission Impossible II that forced Dougray Scott to back out of the Wolverine part allowing Hugh jackman to take it over.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 8:53:23 AM

Swordfish was awesome Bando. If it didn't have that stupid hacking montage in it that would have been a perfect action movie. Pretty awesome for Jackman's first go at an American accent too. Honestly, the guy is a pretty good actor. If he didn't land the Wolverine role he still would have found his way to stardom sooner or later.

Crowe would have made a badass Wolverine though.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 9:53:36 AM

Rambo- That's my line dammit lol

Van Damme wish's he got this role when he was considered for it too.
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 10:06:36 AM

@SAC - I too am one of the few (apparently) that really enjoyed Swordfish. Aside from the montage you mentioned, I don't see why people don't like it.

As for this news... they could have gotten Thomas Jane to play Wolverine (and set fluffer) for the price of a sandwich.
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 10:07:55 AM

@BC - VanDouche was considered? Did you ever hear if it was actually offered to him? If it was... and he declined (like Sly's 'The Expendables' offer). That wouldn't surprise me a bit.
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 10:11:04 AM

Yeah, I liked Swordfish too. Cool way to open the film, and yes, for once, I agree with BallSac: the entire hacking/computer scenes were not only inept, they were downright cringe-worthy campy.

Also, Berry could have kept her damned shirt on. No one wants to see those melted Hershey Kisses. Hell, we've all seen them anyway.

As for the news, who the f*ck cares? Crowe's fat anyway, and has a round head. Wolverine is built like a...well built like f*cking something, I dunno, and is more masculine in the face then Crowe.

Reminds of that bullsh*t with The Matrix. Connery as Morpheus? Smith as Neo? Jesus. Who does the f*cking casting in Hollywood, and they do have any clue what works and what doesn't?
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 10:12:56 AM

"I don't see why people don't like it."

Because hating almost every film ever made is a lot easier than dedicating some time to actually considering whether it's truly bad or if maybe, just maybe, the person in question has very, very limited tastes...
pornfly writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 11:21:23 AM

Ive done the same with p*ssy.
Wutta good mate Crowe is
FBO writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 12:24:05 PM

We all know that no one would have made a better Wolverine than Clint Eastwood in his prime
McQueen writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 1:39:57 PM

"Tom Cruise takes over Trafalgar Square with an army of tanks as he shoots scenes for his new film"

=> DM.
Džeko writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 1:47:02 PM

@McQueen
Didn't London Gay parade took place in July or some such sh*t?
McQueen writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 1:53:18 PM

I don't know Dzeko, I don't live in London/Hampstead anymore for years now and I didn't read that in the papers but if you ask JB/Mangomaniac, he sure knows every gay parade on the planet.
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 1:57:11 PM

The only gay parade MangoJB knows is the long line of horny men queued up outside his *sshole.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 2:04:45 PM

Ranger- at one point he was considered to play Wolverine.

http://www.comicbookmovie.com/fansites/MrAnonymous/news/?a=25697
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 2:06:21 PM

Mink- Otherwise known as Daddy and his football buddies.
McQueen writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 2:10:59 PM

LOL!

That is some promising ass drilling in gay history!
bane writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 2:40:28 PM

the role of 'Hoot' in BLACK HAWK DOWN
was first offered to Russell Crowe
who turned it down and
recommended Eric Bana
Rambo writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 3:27:35 PM

@badchad

haha...i know it's your line
Stapes writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 4:05:31 PM

Crowe once said he prepped for LA confidential by eating butterfingers and drinking bourbon, no wonder he's a fatass now
Stapes writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 4:08:13 PM

Crowe should stick to banging that sad sack meg ryan. Good on quaid for getting a younger hotty and dumping that bag of crazy.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 4:20:33 PM

Rambo- that's ok, your awesome, you can use it. Lol
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 5:14:55 PM

I'll still think thay if Jackman can't make make this Wolverine work, he should hang those claws up & let others have a crack.

Don't get me wrong...Jackman is great, understands the character as shown by his acting, and a great level of badassnesd with vulnerability for which you feel for the guy (hard to pull off) but the character has more potential (costume, gritty action, & plot wise) than what they're doing with the character...

As for Crowe, he did the right thing...no ego, no attention getting, just realizing someone else could be right for the part. Also helps the other guy is also Australian. I realky doubt Crowe would have gobe hardcore on the body as Jackman did...
Phunky Dubbs writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 5:32:35 PM

Hey, wake up, bitches. Russell Crowe didn't pass up this role cuz he's a nice guy looking out for another Aussie. At the time, Crowe's star was at its biggest, and remember, Marvel comic book movies weren't a proven commodity back then, thus X-men had only a moderately high budget. So the only way X-men would have been able to afford Crowe is if Crowe took a pay cut to be in the movie... meanwhile, Hugh Jackman came cheap cuz at the time, he was a nobody everywhere outside of maybe Australia.

So Crowe didn't take the role cuz of two things: #1 not enough money, and #2 maybe he perceived that a comic book movie would be beneath him cuz he had become a serious Oscar-worthy actor.

Jackman's a sap for believing that bullsh*t story.
bane writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 5:44:06 PM

crowe was amazing in THE INSIDER
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 7:07:07 PM

Crowe would have looked like sh*t as Wolverine. Not only that, but thrown up against the guy who played Cyclops and the other folks, he would've been more like the X-Men's fat, old creepy uncle with knuckle claws.

You people are smoking sh*t.
DriveMemento writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 9:28:49 PM

@ Minkowski

Gladiator Crowe would have looked BADASS as wolverine but obviuosly now he doesnt lol.

If Russell Crowe would have took the role as wolverine he would have passed on the role to someone else after the second or thrid film. Crowe wouldnt have been like jackman doing every wolverine role possible.
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 9:33:35 PM

@BC - you believe I'm an actor on that list?

HOW'D YOU KNOW?!?!?
Rambo writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 9:54:12 PM

a young russel crowe would fit the role but not the russel crowe of 2005 and beyond...I think Russel Crowe is one of the best actors in Hollywood..however there are 2 problems with him: 1. he has a sh*tty personality 2.he's quite stupid and ruined his career with bad movie choices and destroying his body with smoking and alcohol
Rambo writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 10:01:34 PM

speaking of stupid actors...my avatar...enough said.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 11:51:55 PM

Ranger- lol
GreenLensman writes:
on November 25th, 2012 at 12:23:35 AM

yea wolverine with a big wart on his forehead, that makes sense
trailertrash writes:
on November 25th, 2012 at 3:22:44 AM

Trying to take Magneto out with a telephone would have been different i guess.
MANGOMANIAC writes:
on November 25th, 2012 at 3:59:30 AM

I just got off the phone with ranger and mink, they can't be open as they want regarding the Bullit problem. But in a nutshell they both consider Bullit a c*nt.

KillerCOck writes:
on November 25th, 2012 at 12:09:03 PM

Jackman Sucks
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2012 at 2:45:23 PM

You people are still smoking sh*t. The Crowe of The Insider, ca. 1999, wouldn't have been a decent Wolverine either. He was fat, round-headed, old and pale even then. Just take another look.

Damn. The other guy, Dougray or whomever, he would've worked more, but still, Jackman is the best I can imagine doing the role, especially as he took it seriously enough to go full Rambo. Kudos to him.
KillerCOck writes:
on November 25th, 2012 at 6:28:09 PM

He still plays it pathetically. His acting as Wolverine is horrible. Even Schreiber Would've played a better Wolverine. Anyone who could act on Screen would've done better than Jackman in the role.

I would've hated Crowe in the role aswell doh so I should appreciate that we got the lesser of 2 sh*ts
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2012 at 7:31:12 PM

He at least LOOKS like Wolverine.

Crowe looks like a Russian grandmother.
KillerCOck writes:
on November 25th, 2012 at 8:07:36 PM

I don't think he looks like Wolverine. I think They've drawn him too look similar in a number of comics after the first movie came out but I don't think he looks like Wolverine at all nor is he intimidating at all.

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved