WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Photos: Woman Gives Homeless Man a Bag of Food, That Homeless Man is Richard Gere
Apr 24th, 2014
Japanese Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 24th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson and Lupita Nyong'o in Talks for "The Jungle Book"
Apr 24th, 2014
First Photo From Set of "Pitch Perfect 2"
Apr 24th, 2014
Jessica Chastain May Play Female Lead in "Mission: Impossible 5"
Apr 24th, 2014
First Look: Arnold Schwarzenegger on "Terminator: Genesis" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
First Photos From "Jurassic World" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
Sony Working on a Live-Action "Barbie" Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
Eric Roberts Says "Human Centipede 3" is Really Horrible
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney is NOT Working on "Frozen" Sequel
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney is Considering Moving "Captain America 3" To a Different Release Date
Apr 23rd, 2014
Lou Ferrigno Will Return to Voice The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Apr 23rd, 2014
Peeps Candy to Become a Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney Turning "It's a Small World" Ride Into a Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Still Doesn't Have a Script
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Bad Boys 3" Hasn't Happened Due to Bad Timing
Apr 23rd, 2014
First Look: Robert Downey Jr on "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
New Photos From Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2014
Bill Paxton Will Do Anything to Join "Avatar 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Will ONLY Be Based on First Six "Star Wars" Films
Apr 22nd, 2014
Paul WS Anderson Reveals Title for New "Resident Evil" Film
Apr 22nd, 2014
Watch First Five Minutes From "How to Train Your Dragon 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Terminator" Reboot is Officially Filming
Apr 22nd, 2014
Marc Webb Wants J. Jonah Jameson in "The Amazing Spider-Man 3"
Apr 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Grand Seduction," with Taylor Kitsch and Brendan Gleeson
Apr 22nd, 2014
First Look: Paul Walker's Brothers on "Fast and Furious 7" Set
Apr 22nd, 2014
Danny Boyle and Leonardo DiCaprio in Talks for Steve Jobs Biopic
Apr 22nd, 2014
Steven Spielberg Wrote the Story for "The Goonies" Sequel
Apr 22nd, 2014
New Poster for Tom Cruise's "Edge of Tomorrow" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 21st, 2014
Writer Says "Fantastic Four" is a Coming of Age Story
Apr 21st, 2014
"Bioshock" Movie May Still Be Alive
Apr 21st, 2014
Rubin "Hurricane" Carter, the Boxer and Inspiration for Denzel Washington's Movie, Dead at 76
Apr 21st, 2014
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Transcendence" Bombs
Apr 20th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

David Cronenberg Turned Down "Star Wars: Episode VI"

Posted: November 23rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
David Cronenberg Turned Down "Star Wars: Episode VI"Submit Comment
Now that there are talks about who will direct the upcoming "Star Wars" films, David Cronenberg revealed that he had an opportunity to direct "Star Wars: Episode VI - Return of the Jedi," back in the early 1980s.

"A long time ago I was approached for one second to do a 'Star Wars' movie, which at that time was called 'Revenge of the Jedi' and then it became 'Return of the Jedi,'" he explained. "I was approached by Lucasfilm about that and it didn't take them long to realize that maybe that wasn't a good idea."

Cronenberg went on to say that he wasn't willing to give up creative freedom for a big budget. "Well you're really restricted by the format that's been established," he said. "So for a really inventive or innovative director, that's being put in a straitjacket. And the visual style has been established and the characters have been cast - I mean, you're not involved in casting the leads, which is of course, for a director, a hugely important thing."

Source: DigitalSpy


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
GreenLensman writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 2:23:59 AM

existenz was decent... hes a big jewball nonetheless
Stapes writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 2:29:09 AM

I guess Thanksgiving makes for a slow news day. What's wrong wp, no new robocop reboot photos?
KillerCOck writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 3:32:32 AM

If there was ever a Director who could have made Star Wars worth watching, it would have been Cronenberg.
He Needs to Take The Batman franchise ASAP

telur writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 3:41:10 AM

David Cronenberg is overrated
Rambo writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 4:03:51 AM

yep,very overrated.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 4:29:18 AM

Maybe Return Of The Jedi would have been as dark as Empire and not have 3 foot Ewoks beating the Empire with sticks and stones.
sc_kg writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 4:55:17 AM

Wow, thanks man. This news is like 10 years old.
MANGOMANIAC writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 7:03:13 AM

David Cronenberg is a c*nt and has no place in Star Wars universe.
cress writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 8:20:29 AM

Thank christ this didn't happen. I can see Luke removing Vader's helmet, and the Vader's head exploding.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 8:48:07 AM

I'm tired of all the " who's not directing" threads.
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 10:57:35 AM

Dunno if I can take two more years + of this Star Wars 7 bullsh*t.
Ranger writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 2:18:36 PM

What BC said.

Oh, and I didn't pick the winning lottery #'s last week. How about a thread on that?!

And if Gary Coleman didn't marry Shannon Price he'd still be alive.

And if I banged Shania Twain she'd be in a wheelchair for life.
nuttie30xx writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 3:19:41 PM

bullsh*t ive noticed that theres alot of people coming out say they where offered to direct some classic movies its cause they have nothing else to do all there films are sh*t and OHH YEAH I WAS OFFERED AVATAR
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 5:09:54 PM

I was offered to direct the film in which Mangomaniac's mother gets sodomized by a horny mason brick, but I declined.
sedibus writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 5:10:20 PM

So, what the f*ck is Star Wars?

Are the movie Stars in Hollywood fighting for something?

For more than their survival, can you tell me what it is if you didn't even know?

xD. They can do all they want, what ever their new nazi CIA, patriotic propaganda bullsh*t is going to be.

f*ck Argo, good for them though. Even enemies if they are not f*cking around, I would be very pleased if they are successful in any of the ventures their in.

So, f*ck 'em, all. f*cking robbers, freak controls, mind controlling manipulators nonsense unintelligible pieces of f*cking sh*t.
sedibus writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 5:17:02 PM

A man dressed as a woman, and who you have there? Your mother? Your auntie? Your girlfriend? Your f*cking wife?

This fellas have all under control, they are so f*cking cool and creative and sh*t.
Phunky Dubbs writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 7:02:40 PM

Yo sedibus, straight up, no disrespect, but a good 3/4 of your posts, including the ones on this thread, seem to have been written under the influence of drugs.

So what r u smokin, dawg?
Phunky Dubbs writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 7:05:40 PM

Hey, has anyone said Robert Zemeckis yet? Yes? No? Well now I'm saying it! Why the f*ck not? Too expensive maybe? Who knows? My head's starting to hurt with all this speculation.
Rambo writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 7:22:27 PM

Zemeckis is not a bad choice though i feel he lost his mojo a bit in the last 10 years with all those dumb cgi movies...but he made some great movies before that including back to the future 1+2 and the very underrated 'contact' which was superb.
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 8:44:57 PM

Hey Alex, get the stuffing out of your ass, turkey, and post some fresh, well fresh for you, news.
nuttie30xx writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 8:45:54 PM

i can see them doing parts 10,11,12 then wait about 28 year then start 7,8,9

ep 12 return of the yoda

it should be left alone but i cant say i wont go to the cinema to watch them especialy in the new MFX D-BOX seats so cool they are
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 9:13:50 PM

I'm waiting for Star Wars 31, produced by Disney-Pixar-Marvel-LucasArts-Paramount-Universal-UA-GoldenHarvest-MGM-Universal-NBC-Microsoft-Sony-Fox-Facebook.
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 9:16:40 PM

Attack of the Revenging Sith Clones and the Menacing Hope of the Jedi Empire.

Summer 2019!
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 9:19:07 PM

No sh*t, Rambo.


If Clash ever get's arrested, he should say "Talk to the hand!" during his interrogation.
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 9:20:23 PM

Wrong thread, c*cksucker.
Rambo writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 9:36:40 PM

Alex,stop watching breaking dawn non stop and do your job
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 10:10:23 PM

And tell Dustin to stretch his legs.
sedibus writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 10:28:34 PM

@Dubbs, I got the chance to ate a couple of fresh mushrooms.

And about Star Wars, anything after episodes IV,V,VI that wasn't based or translate from the novels or graphic novels or comicbooks, was completely sh*t.

The f*ck this up, with the stupid prequels.

In Ep I all I was waiting for was the battle against Darth Maul, then Ep II was rubbish, and then At a f*cking midnight premiere of Return of the Sith, hehe, I completely fell asleep.

Probably it was such a frigging profound and tremendously high-quality visual FX and a great philosophical and dramatic deep artistic adventure that I couldn't resist but to sleep at the middle of the f*cking picture, not giving a dime if I pay to watch that sh*t or not, the chair was comfortable.

So, that's what I was smoking a f*cking boring 150 million dollar movie, nothing less.

n_n
sedibus writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 10:57:47 PM

Oh, sorry mate, a 113 million dollar anesthetic and brain f*ck up.

By the way, Cronenberg's adaptation of A History of Violence was really good, although the graphic novel is very constrained and gritty, and much more low-budgeted than the movie, even more epic.
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 2:04:57 AM

RIP Larry Hagman. TV's iconic J.R. Ewing.
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 2:44:55 AM

And 21 years ago today... RIP Freddie Mercury.
trailertrash writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 4:09:29 AM

RIP, Legends both of them ...
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 4:20:37 AM

Yes sir.

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel

"Star Wars: Episode VII" Will ONLY Be Based on First Six "Star Wars" Films

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved