WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer: Keanu Reeves in Eli Roth's "Knock Knock" Thriller
Jan 25th, 2015
DreamWorks Downsizes, Delays "How to Train Your Dragon 3"
Jan 25th, 2015
Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film
Jan 25th, 2015
Trailer for "She's Funny That Way" Comedy, with Owen Wilson and Jennifer Aniston
Jan 25th, 2015
Trailer for Anton Yelchin's "5 to 7" Comedy
Jan 25th, 2015
Photos: "Avengers: Age of Ultron" LEGO Sets Reveal Lots of Story Details
Jan 24th, 2015
Jesse Eisenberg Would Return as Lex Luthor in Future Films
Jan 24th, 2015
New Restricted Trailer for "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" Arrives Online
Jan 24th, 2015
"Con Air" Director Simon West to Remake "The Blob" Horror Film
Jan 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Rewrite" Comedy, with Hugh Grant and Marisa Tomei
Jan 24th, 2015
Oscar Isaac on Playing Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse," Plus Jean Grey, Cyclops and Storm Have Been Cast
Jan 23rd, 2015
"Project Almanac" Cuts Out Controversial Scene One Week From Release
Jan 23rd, 2015
Chiwetel Ejiofor in Talks for "Doctor Strange" Role
Jan 23rd, 2015
Video: Will Ferrell Hits Cheerleader in the Face at Basketball Game
Jan 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Vincent Cassel's "Partisan" Sundance Film
Jan 23rd, 2015
First Look at Leonardo DiCaprio in "The Revenant" Thriller
Jan 22nd, 2015
Photo: Will The Hulk Turn Grey in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?
Jan 22nd, 2015
Four Actresses Considered for Female Lead in "Star Wars" Spin-Off
Jan 22nd, 2015
"Resident Evil: The Final Chapter" to Begin Filming in August
Jan 22nd, 2015
Nicolas Cage to Hunt Osama Bin Laden in "Army of One" Comedy, Directed by "Borat" Helmer
Jan 22nd, 2015
Fox Planning New Season of "24" Without Kiefer Sutherland
Jan 22nd, 2015
Promo Art: Batman's Armored Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jan 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Kidnapping Mr. Heineken" Thriller, with Anthony Hopkins and Sam Worthington
Jan 21st, 2015
First Poster for Tom Hardy's "Child 44" Thriller
Jan 21st, 2015
"Mortal Kombat: Legacy" Actor Darren Shahlavi Dead at 42
Jan 21st, 2015
New Trailer for Salma Hayek's "Everly" Action Thriller
Jan 20th, 2015
New Trailer for Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Action Film, From Director of "Taken"
Jan 20th, 2015
Trailer for Dustin Hoffman's "Boychoir" Film
Jan 20th, 2015
"Batman v Superman" Choreographer Teases Fight Between Batman and Superman
Jan 20th, 2015
"The Purge 3" Will NOT Be a Prequel
Jan 20th, 2015
Trailer for "All the Wilderness," with Kodi Smit-McPhee and Danny DeVito
Jan 20th, 2015
Trailer for "The Turning" Anthology Film, with Cate Blanche and Rose Byrne
Jan 20th, 2015
"American Sniper" Shattering Box Office Records, "Blackhat" First Flop of 2015
Jan 19th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

David Cronenberg Turned Down "Star Wars: Episode VI"

Posted: November 23rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
David Cronenberg Turned Down "Star Wars: Episode VI"Submit Comment
Now that there are talks about who will direct the upcoming "Star Wars" films, David Cronenberg revealed that he had an opportunity to direct "Star Wars: Episode VI - Return of the Jedi," back in the early 1980s.

"A long time ago I was approached for one second to do a 'Star Wars' movie, which at that time was called 'Revenge of the Jedi' and then it became 'Return of the Jedi,'" he explained. "I was approached by Lucasfilm about that and it didn't take them long to realize that maybe that wasn't a good idea."

Cronenberg went on to say that he wasn't willing to give up creative freedom for a big budget. "Well you're really restricted by the format that's been established," he said. "So for a really inventive or innovative director, that's being put in a straitjacket. And the visual style has been established and the characters have been cast - I mean, you're not involved in casting the leads, which is of course, for a director, a hugely important thing."

Source: DigitalSpy


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
GreenLensman writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 2:23:59 AM

existenz was decent... hes a big jewball nonetheless
Stapes writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 2:29:09 AM

I guess Thanksgiving makes for a slow news day. What's wrong wp, no new robocop reboot photos?
KillerCOck writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 3:32:32 AM

If there was ever a Director who could have made Star Wars worth watching, it would have been Cronenberg.
He Needs to Take The Batman franchise ASAP

telur writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 3:41:10 AM

David Cronenberg is overrated
Rambo writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 4:03:51 AM

yep,very overrated.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 4:29:18 AM

Maybe Return Of The Jedi would have been as dark as Empire and not have 3 foot Ewoks beating the Empire with sticks and stones.
sc_kg writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 4:55:17 AM

Wow, thanks man. This news is like 10 years old.
MANGOMANIAC writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 7:03:13 AM

David Cronenberg is a c*nt and has no place in Star Wars universe.
cress writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 8:20:29 AM

Thank christ this didn't happen. I can see Luke removing Vader's helmet, and the Vader's head exploding.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 8:48:07 AM

I'm tired of all the " who's not directing" threads.
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 10:57:35 AM

Dunno if I can take two more years + of this Star Wars 7 bullsh*t.
Ranger writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 2:18:36 PM

What BC said.

Oh, and I didn't pick the winning lottery #'s last week. How about a thread on that?!

And if Gary Coleman didn't marry Shannon Price he'd still be alive.

And if I banged Shania Twain she'd be in a wheelchair for life.
nuttie30xx writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 3:19:41 PM

bullsh*t ive noticed that theres alot of people coming out say they where offered to direct some classic movies its cause they have nothing else to do all there films are sh*t and OHH YEAH I WAS OFFERED AVATAR
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 5:09:54 PM

I was offered to direct the film in which Mangomaniac's mother gets sodomized by a horny mason brick, but I declined.
sedibus writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 5:10:20 PM

So, what the f*ck is Star Wars?

Are the movie Stars in Hollywood fighting for something?

For more than their survival, can you tell me what it is if you didn't even know?

xD. They can do all they want, what ever their new nazi CIA, patriotic propaganda bullsh*t is going to be.

f*ck Argo, good for them though. Even enemies if they are not f*cking around, I would be very pleased if they are successful in any of the ventures their in.

So, f*ck 'em, all. f*cking robbers, freak controls, mind controlling manipulators nonsense unintelligible pieces of f*cking sh*t.
sedibus writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 5:17:02 PM

A man dressed as a woman, and who you have there? Your mother? Your auntie? Your girlfriend? Your f*cking wife?

This fellas have all under control, they are so f*cking cool and creative and sh*t.
Phunky Dubbs writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 7:02:40 PM

Yo sedibus, straight up, no disrespect, but a good 3/4 of your posts, including the ones on this thread, seem to have been written under the influence of drugs.

So what r u smokin, dawg?
Phunky Dubbs writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 7:05:40 PM

Hey, has anyone said Robert Zemeckis yet? Yes? No? Well now I'm saying it! Why the f*ck not? Too expensive maybe? Who knows? My head's starting to hurt with all this speculation.
Rambo writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 7:22:27 PM

Zemeckis is not a bad choice though i feel he lost his mojo a bit in the last 10 years with all those dumb cgi movies...but he made some great movies before that including back to the future 1+2 and the very underrated 'contact' which was superb.
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 8:44:57 PM

Hey Alex, get the stuffing out of your ass, turkey, and post some fresh, well fresh for you, news.
nuttie30xx writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 8:45:54 PM

i can see them doing parts 10,11,12 then wait about 28 year then start 7,8,9

ep 12 return of the yoda

it should be left alone but i cant say i wont go to the cinema to watch them especialy in the new MFX D-BOX seats so cool they are
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 9:13:50 PM

I'm waiting for Star Wars 31, produced by Disney-Pixar-Marvel-LucasArts-Paramount-Universal-UA-GoldenHarvest-MGM-Universal-NBC-Microsoft-Sony-Fox-Facebook.
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 9:16:40 PM

Attack of the Revenging Sith Clones and the Menacing Hope of the Jedi Empire.

Summer 2019!
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 9:19:07 PM

No sh*t, Rambo.


If Clash ever get's arrested, he should say "Talk to the hand!" during his interrogation.
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 9:20:23 PM

Wrong thread, c*cksucker.
Rambo writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 9:36:40 PM

Alex,stop watching breaking dawn non stop and do your job
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 10:10:23 PM

And tell Dustin to stretch his legs.
sedibus writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 10:28:34 PM

@Dubbs, I got the chance to ate a couple of fresh mushrooms.

And about Star Wars, anything after episodes IV,V,VI that wasn't based or translate from the novels or graphic novels or comicbooks, was completely sh*t.

The f*ck this up, with the stupid prequels.

In Ep I all I was waiting for was the battle against Darth Maul, then Ep II was rubbish, and then At a f*cking midnight premiere of Return of the Sith, hehe, I completely fell asleep.

Probably it was such a frigging profound and tremendously high-quality visual FX and a great philosophical and dramatic deep artistic adventure that I couldn't resist but to sleep at the middle of the f*cking picture, not giving a dime if I pay to watch that sh*t or not, the chair was comfortable.

So, that's what I was smoking a f*cking boring 150 million dollar movie, nothing less.

n_n
sedibus writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 10:57:47 PM

Oh, sorry mate, a 113 million dollar anesthetic and brain f*ck up.

By the way, Cronenberg's adaptation of A History of Violence was really good, although the graphic novel is very constrained and gritty, and much more low-budgeted than the movie, even more epic.
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 2:04:57 AM

RIP Larry Hagman. TV's iconic J.R. Ewing.
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 2:44:55 AM

And 21 years ago today... RIP Freddie Mercury.
trailertrash writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 4:09:29 AM

RIP, Legends both of them ...
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 4:20:37 AM

Yes sir.

Actor Edward Herrman Dead at 71

Chris Pine Says "Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit" is One of His Deep Regrets

Henry Cavill Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Split

Tim Burton Was Replaced on "Batman Forever" Because of McDonalds

Adam Sandler is Hollywood's Most Overpaid Actor, Again

Anthony Mackie Discusses Becoming Captain America in Marvel Films

Sam Raimi Says He Messed Up "Spider-Man 3"

Ohio Man Demanding Refund for 50 "The Interview" Tickets

Brad Pitt, Christian Bale and Ryan Gosling to Star in "The Big Short"

Tim Roth Says He Almost Returned as Abomination in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved