WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Bebop and Rocksteady in "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2"
May 29th, 2015
Better Look at Batman Chasing The Joker on "Suicide Squad" Set
May 29th, 2015
Restricted Trailer for "American Ultra," with Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart
May 29th, 2015
Ant-Man Dodges Bullets in New "Ant-Man" Poster
May 29th, 2015
Batman Chases The Joker in "Suicide Squad" Set Photo
May 28th, 2015
Trailer for "Pawn Sacrifice," with Tobey Maguire as Chess Champion Bobby Fischer
May 28th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Bacon's "Cop Car" Thriller
May 28th, 2015
Tilda Swinton is The Ancient One in Marvel's "Doctor Strange"
May 28th, 2015
Chris Pine is Talks to Co-Star in "Wonder Woman"
May 28th, 2015
Trailer for "A Walk in the Woods," with Robert Redford and Nick Nolte
May 28th, 2015
Trailer for "The End of the Tour," with Jesse Eisenberg and Jason Segel
May 28th, 2015
Trailer for "Point Break" Remake is Here!
May 27th, 2015
"The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen" is Being Rebooted
May 27th, 2015
Robert Rodriguez to Direct Live-Action "Jonny Quest" Movie
May 27th, 2015
New Trailer for Joe Dante's "Burying the Ex" Comedy Horror, with Anton Yelchin
May 27th, 2015
Hulk Hogan is the Villain in "The Expendables 4"?
May 26th, 2015
Channing Tatum Says "Gambit" is an Origin Story
May 26th, 2015
Ryan Reynolds Says Hugh Jackman May Make Cameo in "Deadpool"
May 26th, 2015
First Poster for "Point Break" Remake
May 26th, 2015
More Photos From Matt Damon's "The Martian," Directed by Ridley Scott
May 25th, 2015
"Mission: Impossible 6" and "Now You See Me 3" Already in Development
May 25th, 2015
"Beautiful Mind" Mathematician John Nash Killed in Taxi Crash
May 25th, 2015
First Look at Matt Damon in Ridley Scott's "The Martian"
May 24th, 2015
New "Fantastic Four" Trailer, Director Responds to Rumors of Being Replaced
May 24th, 2015
New Photos From "Deadpool" and "Ant-Man"
May 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass" is Here!
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Jonah Hill and Miles Teller in "Arms and the Dudes"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Meryl Streel and Hugh Grant in "Florence Foster Jenkins"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Cuba Gooding Jr and John Travolta in "America Crime Story: The People V. OJ Simpson"
May 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Knock Knock" Thriller
May 22nd, 2015
Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title
May 22nd, 2015
Reese Witherspoon to Star in Disney's Live-Action Tinker Bell Movie "Tink"
May 22nd, 2015
"Fantastic Four" Promo Video Shows Team's Superpowers
May 22nd, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

David Cronenberg Turned Down "Star Wars: Episode VI"

Posted: November 23rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
David Cronenberg Turned Down "Star Wars: Episode VI"Submit Comment
Now that there are talks about who will direct the upcoming "Star Wars" films, David Cronenberg revealed that he had an opportunity to direct "Star Wars: Episode VI - Return of the Jedi," back in the early 1980s.

"A long time ago I was approached for one second to do a 'Star Wars' movie, which at that time was called 'Revenge of the Jedi' and then it became 'Return of the Jedi,'" he explained. "I was approached by Lucasfilm about that and it didn't take them long to realize that maybe that wasn't a good idea."

Cronenberg went on to say that he wasn't willing to give up creative freedom for a big budget. "Well you're really restricted by the format that's been established," he said. "So for a really inventive or innovative director, that's being put in a straitjacket. And the visual style has been established and the characters have been cast - I mean, you're not involved in casting the leads, which is of course, for a director, a hugely important thing."

Source: DigitalSpy


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
GreenLensman writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 2:23:59 AM

existenz was decent... hes a big jewball nonetheless
Stapes writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 2:29:09 AM

I guess Thanksgiving makes for a slow news day. What's wrong wp, no new robocop reboot photos?
KillerCOck writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 3:32:32 AM

If there was ever a Director who could have made Star Wars worth watching, it would have been Cronenberg.
He Needs to Take The Batman franchise ASAP

telur writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 3:41:10 AM

David Cronenberg is overrated
Rambo writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 4:03:51 AM

yep,very overrated.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 4:29:18 AM

Maybe Return Of The Jedi would have been as dark as Empire and not have 3 foot Ewoks beating the Empire with sticks and stones.
sc_kg writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 4:55:17 AM

Wow, thanks man. This news is like 10 years old.
MANGOMANIAC writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 7:03:13 AM

David Cronenberg is a c*nt and has no place in Star Wars universe.
cress writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 8:20:29 AM

Thank christ this didn't happen. I can see Luke removing Vader's helmet, and the Vader's head exploding.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 8:48:07 AM

I'm tired of all the " who's not directing" threads.
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 10:57:35 AM

Dunno if I can take two more years + of this Star Wars 7 bullsh*t.
Ranger writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 2:18:36 PM

What BC said.

Oh, and I didn't pick the winning lottery #'s last week. How about a thread on that?!

And if Gary Coleman didn't marry Shannon Price he'd still be alive.

And if I banged Shania Twain she'd be in a wheelchair for life.
nuttie30xx writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 3:19:41 PM

bullsh*t ive noticed that theres alot of people coming out say they where offered to direct some classic movies its cause they have nothing else to do all there films are sh*t and OHH YEAH I WAS OFFERED AVATAR
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 5:09:54 PM

I was offered to direct the film in which Mangomaniac's mother gets sodomized by a horny mason brick, but I declined.
sedibus writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 5:10:20 PM

So, what the f*ck is Star Wars?

Are the movie Stars in Hollywood fighting for something?

For more than their survival, can you tell me what it is if you didn't even know?

xD. They can do all they want, what ever their new nazi CIA, patriotic propaganda bullsh*t is going to be.

f*ck Argo, good for them though. Even enemies if they are not f*cking around, I would be very pleased if they are successful in any of the ventures their in.

So, f*ck 'em, all. f*cking robbers, freak controls, mind controlling manipulators nonsense unintelligible pieces of f*cking sh*t.
sedibus writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 5:17:02 PM

A man dressed as a woman, and who you have there? Your mother? Your auntie? Your girlfriend? Your f*cking wife?

This fellas have all under control, they are so f*cking cool and creative and sh*t.
Phunky Dubbs writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 7:02:40 PM

Yo sedibus, straight up, no disrespect, but a good 3/4 of your posts, including the ones on this thread, seem to have been written under the influence of drugs.

So what r u smokin, dawg?
Phunky Dubbs writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 7:05:40 PM

Hey, has anyone said Robert Zemeckis yet? Yes? No? Well now I'm saying it! Why the f*ck not? Too expensive maybe? Who knows? My head's starting to hurt with all this speculation.
Rambo writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 7:22:27 PM

Zemeckis is not a bad choice though i feel he lost his mojo a bit in the last 10 years with all those dumb cgi movies...but he made some great movies before that including back to the future 1+2 and the very underrated 'contact' which was superb.
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 8:44:57 PM

Hey Alex, get the stuffing out of your ass, turkey, and post some fresh, well fresh for you, news.
nuttie30xx writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 8:45:54 PM

i can see them doing parts 10,11,12 then wait about 28 year then start 7,8,9

ep 12 return of the yoda

it should be left alone but i cant say i wont go to the cinema to watch them especialy in the new MFX D-BOX seats so cool they are
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 9:13:50 PM

I'm waiting for Star Wars 31, produced by Disney-Pixar-Marvel-LucasArts-Paramount-Universal-UA-GoldenHarvest-MGM-Universal-NBC-Microsoft-Sony-Fox-Facebook.
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 9:16:40 PM

Attack of the Revenging Sith Clones and the Menacing Hope of the Jedi Empire.

Summer 2019!
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 9:19:07 PM

No sh*t, Rambo.


If Clash ever get's arrested, he should say "Talk to the hand!" during his interrogation.
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 9:20:23 PM

Wrong thread, c*cksucker.
Rambo writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 9:36:40 PM

Alex,stop watching breaking dawn non stop and do your job
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 10:10:23 PM

And tell Dustin to stretch his legs.
sedibus writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 10:28:34 PM

@Dubbs, I got the chance to ate a couple of fresh mushrooms.

And about Star Wars, anything after episodes IV,V,VI that wasn't based or translate from the novels or graphic novels or comicbooks, was completely sh*t.

The f*ck this up, with the stupid prequels.

In Ep I all I was waiting for was the battle against Darth Maul, then Ep II was rubbish, and then At a f*cking midnight premiere of Return of the Sith, hehe, I completely fell asleep.

Probably it was such a frigging profound and tremendously high-quality visual FX and a great philosophical and dramatic deep artistic adventure that I couldn't resist but to sleep at the middle of the f*cking picture, not giving a dime if I pay to watch that sh*t or not, the chair was comfortable.

So, that's what I was smoking a f*cking boring 150 million dollar movie, nothing less.

n_n
sedibus writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 10:57:47 PM

Oh, sorry mate, a 113 million dollar anesthetic and brain f*ck up.

By the way, Cronenberg's adaptation of A History of Violence was really good, although the graphic novel is very constrained and gritty, and much more low-budgeted than the movie, even more epic.
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 2:04:57 AM

RIP Larry Hagman. TV's iconic J.R. Ewing.
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 2:44:55 AM

And 21 years ago today... RIP Freddie Mercury.
trailertrash writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 4:09:29 AM

RIP, Legends both of them ...
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 4:20:37 AM

Yes sir.

Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot

New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr

"Jurassic World" to Ignore Last Two Films, to Bring Back T-Rex

Hugh Jackman and Channing Tatum to Appear in "X-Men: Apocalypse"?

Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title

"Fantastic Four" Director Fired From "Star Wars" Spin-Off

"Independence Day 2" Takes Place 15 Years Later, Same Aliens Return

Why Wasn't Loki in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?

Hugh Jackman Confirms "Wolverine 3" is His Last Time as Wolverine

Heath Ledger Was Set to Star in "Mad Max: Fury Road"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved