WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for Liam Neeson's "Taken 3" Arrives Online
Oct 1st, 2014
"Tetris" Video Game to Become a Live-Action Sci-Fi Movie
Oct 1st, 2014
Restricted Trailer For "Home Sweet Hell," with Katherine Heigl and Patrick Wilson
Oct 1st, 2014
"Zombieland" Sequel is Moving Forward, Writer and Director Hired
Oct 1st, 2014
New Trailer for "Horrible Bosses 2"
Oct 1st, 2014
Trailer For Russell Crowe's "The Water Diviner," Directed by Crowe
Oct 1st, 2014
Jeremy Renner Says Marvel Wants a Hawkeye/Black Widow Film
Sep 30th, 2014
Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume
Sep 30th, 2014
Kevin Smith Says He Raised Money For "Clerks 3"
Sep 30th, 2014
"Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" Sequel to Premiere on Netflix
Sep 30th, 2014
Trailer for PT Anderson's "Inherent Vice," with Joaquin Phoenix and Josh Brolin
Sep 30th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Loft" Thriller, with Karl Urban and James Marsden
Sep 30th, 2014
"Black Widow" Movie Almost Happened Before "Iron Man"
Sep 29th, 2014
First Look at Kristen Stewart's "Equals" Sci-Fi Film
Sep 29th, 2014
Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Easily Wins at Box Office
Sep 29th, 2014
"Police Academy" Reboot Abandons Judd Apatow's Storyline
Sep 29th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Attached to "Interstellar"?
Sep 28th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" to Begin Filming in December
Sep 28th, 2014
William Shatner Confirms Offer to Appear in "Star Trek 3"
Sep 28th, 2014
First Trailer for Lifetime's "Aaliyah" Biopic
Sep 28th, 2014
Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?
Sep 27th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Comments on Matt Damon Returning to "Jason Bourne" Franchise
Sep 27th, 2014
First Poster for Liam Neeson's "Taken 3," Plus New Title Revealed
Sep 27th, 2014
Posters For Ridiculous "22 Jump Street" Sequels
Sep 27th, 2014
How Much Netflix Do People Watch Per Day?
Sep 27th, 2014
Miles Teller Apologizes For Trashing "Divergent"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Sep 26th, 2014
Deleted Rogue Scenes Will Be Added Back Into "Rogue Cut" of "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Wedding Ringer" Comedy, with Kevin Hart and Josh Gad
Sep 26th, 2014
"Bill and Ted 3" is Still Happening, Details Revealed
Sep 26th, 2014
"Dumb and Dumber To" Unveils First TV Spot
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Michael Mann's "Blackhat" Thriller, with Chris Hemsworth
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Joe Carnahan's "Stretch," with Chris Pine, Patrick Wilson and Jessica Alba
Sep 26th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

David Cronenberg Turned Down "Star Wars: Episode VI"

Posted: November 23rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
David Cronenberg Turned Down "Star Wars: Episode VI"Submit Comment
Now that there are talks about who will direct the upcoming "Star Wars" films, David Cronenberg revealed that he had an opportunity to direct "Star Wars: Episode VI - Return of the Jedi," back in the early 1980s.

"A long time ago I was approached for one second to do a 'Star Wars' movie, which at that time was called 'Revenge of the Jedi' and then it became 'Return of the Jedi,'" he explained. "I was approached by Lucasfilm about that and it didn't take them long to realize that maybe that wasn't a good idea."

Cronenberg went on to say that he wasn't willing to give up creative freedom for a big budget. "Well you're really restricted by the format that's been established," he said. "So for a really inventive or innovative director, that's being put in a straitjacket. And the visual style has been established and the characters have been cast - I mean, you're not involved in casting the leads, which is of course, for a director, a hugely important thing."

Source: DigitalSpy


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
GreenLensman writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 2:23:59 AM

existenz was decent... hes a big jewball nonetheless
Stapes writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 2:29:09 AM

I guess Thanksgiving makes for a slow news day. What's wrong wp, no new robocop reboot photos?
KillerCOck writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 3:32:32 AM

If there was ever a Director who could have made Star Wars worth watching, it would have been Cronenberg.
He Needs to Take The Batman franchise ASAP

telur writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 3:41:10 AM

David Cronenberg is overrated
Rambo writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 4:03:51 AM

yep,very overrated.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 4:29:18 AM

Maybe Return Of The Jedi would have been as dark as Empire and not have 3 foot Ewoks beating the Empire with sticks and stones.
sc_kg writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 4:55:17 AM

Wow, thanks man. This news is like 10 years old.
MANGOMANIAC writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 7:03:13 AM

David Cronenberg is a c*nt and has no place in Star Wars universe.
cress writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 8:20:29 AM

Thank christ this didn't happen. I can see Luke removing Vader's helmet, and the Vader's head exploding.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 8:48:07 AM

I'm tired of all the " who's not directing" threads.
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 10:57:35 AM

Dunno if I can take two more years + of this Star Wars 7 bullsh*t.
Ranger writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 2:18:36 PM

What BC said.

Oh, and I didn't pick the winning lottery #'s last week. How about a thread on that?!

And if Gary Coleman didn't marry Shannon Price he'd still be alive.

And if I banged Shania Twain she'd be in a wheelchair for life.
nuttie30xx writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 3:19:41 PM

bullsh*t ive noticed that theres alot of people coming out say they where offered to direct some classic movies its cause they have nothing else to do all there films are sh*t and OHH YEAH I WAS OFFERED AVATAR
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 5:09:54 PM

I was offered to direct the film in which Mangomaniac's mother gets sodomized by a horny mason brick, but I declined.
sedibus writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 5:10:20 PM

So, what the f*ck is Star Wars?

Are the movie Stars in Hollywood fighting for something?

For more than their survival, can you tell me what it is if you didn't even know?

xD. They can do all they want, what ever their new nazi CIA, patriotic propaganda bullsh*t is going to be.

f*ck Argo, good for them though. Even enemies if they are not f*cking around, I would be very pleased if they are successful in any of the ventures their in.

So, f*ck 'em, all. f*cking robbers, freak controls, mind controlling manipulators nonsense unintelligible pieces of f*cking sh*t.
sedibus writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 5:17:02 PM

A man dressed as a woman, and who you have there? Your mother? Your auntie? Your girlfriend? Your f*cking wife?

This fellas have all under control, they are so f*cking cool and creative and sh*t.
Phunky Dubbs writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 7:02:40 PM

Yo sedibus, straight up, no disrespect, but a good 3/4 of your posts, including the ones on this thread, seem to have been written under the influence of drugs.

So what r u smokin, dawg?
Phunky Dubbs writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 7:05:40 PM

Hey, has anyone said Robert Zemeckis yet? Yes? No? Well now I'm saying it! Why the f*ck not? Too expensive maybe? Who knows? My head's starting to hurt with all this speculation.
Rambo writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 7:22:27 PM

Zemeckis is not a bad choice though i feel he lost his mojo a bit in the last 10 years with all those dumb cgi movies...but he made some great movies before that including back to the future 1+2 and the very underrated 'contact' which was superb.
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 8:44:57 PM

Hey Alex, get the stuffing out of your ass, turkey, and post some fresh, well fresh for you, news.
nuttie30xx writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 8:45:54 PM

i can see them doing parts 10,11,12 then wait about 28 year then start 7,8,9

ep 12 return of the yoda

it should be left alone but i cant say i wont go to the cinema to watch them especialy in the new MFX D-BOX seats so cool they are
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 9:13:50 PM

I'm waiting for Star Wars 31, produced by Disney-Pixar-Marvel-LucasArts-Paramount-Universal-UA-GoldenHarvest-MGM-Universal-NBC-Microsoft-Sony-Fox-Facebook.
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 9:16:40 PM

Attack of the Revenging Sith Clones and the Menacing Hope of the Jedi Empire.

Summer 2019!
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 9:19:07 PM

No sh*t, Rambo.


If Clash ever get's arrested, he should say "Talk to the hand!" during his interrogation.
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 9:20:23 PM

Wrong thread, c*cksucker.
Rambo writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 9:36:40 PM

Alex,stop watching breaking dawn non stop and do your job
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 10:10:23 PM

And tell Dustin to stretch his legs.
sedibus writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 10:28:34 PM

@Dubbs, I got the chance to ate a couple of fresh mushrooms.

And about Star Wars, anything after episodes IV,V,VI that wasn't based or translate from the novels or graphic novels or comicbooks, was completely sh*t.

The f*ck this up, with the stupid prequels.

In Ep I all I was waiting for was the battle against Darth Maul, then Ep II was rubbish, and then At a f*cking midnight premiere of Return of the Sith, hehe, I completely fell asleep.

Probably it was such a frigging profound and tremendously high-quality visual FX and a great philosophical and dramatic deep artistic adventure that I couldn't resist but to sleep at the middle of the f*cking picture, not giving a dime if I pay to watch that sh*t or not, the chair was comfortable.

So, that's what I was smoking a f*cking boring 150 million dollar movie, nothing less.

n_n
sedibus writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 10:57:47 PM

Oh, sorry mate, a 113 million dollar anesthetic and brain f*ck up.

By the way, Cronenberg's adaptation of A History of Violence was really good, although the graphic novel is very constrained and gritty, and much more low-budgeted than the movie, even more epic.
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 2:04:57 AM

RIP Larry Hagman. TV's iconic J.R. Ewing.
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 2:44:55 AM

And 21 years ago today... RIP Freddie Mercury.
trailertrash writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 4:09:29 AM

RIP, Legends both of them ...
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2012 at 4:20:37 AM

Yes sir.

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You

Colin Farrell and Vince Vaughn Confirmed for Second Season of "True Detective"

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull

Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved