WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Bebop and Rocksteady in "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2"
May 29th, 2015
Better Look at Batman Chasing The Joker on "Suicide Squad" Set
May 29th, 2015
Restricted Trailer for "American Ultra," with Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart
May 29th, 2015
Ant-Man Dodges Bullets in New "Ant-Man" Poster
May 29th, 2015
Batman Chases The Joker in "Suicide Squad" Set Photo
May 28th, 2015
Trailer for "Pawn Sacrifice," with Tobey Maguire as Chess Champion Bobby Fischer
May 28th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Bacon's "Cop Car" Thriller
May 28th, 2015
Tilda Swinton is The Ancient One in Marvel's "Doctor Strange"
May 28th, 2015
Chris Pine is Talks to Co-Star in "Wonder Woman"
May 28th, 2015
Trailer for "A Walk in the Woods," with Robert Redford and Nick Nolte
May 28th, 2015
Trailer for "The End of the Tour," with Jesse Eisenberg and Jason Segel
May 28th, 2015
Trailer for "Point Break" Remake is Here!
May 27th, 2015
"The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen" is Being Rebooted
May 27th, 2015
Robert Rodriguez to Direct Live-Action "Jonny Quest" Movie
May 27th, 2015
New Trailer for Joe Dante's "Burying the Ex" Comedy Horror, with Anton Yelchin
May 27th, 2015
Hulk Hogan is the Villain in "The Expendables 4"?
May 26th, 2015
Channing Tatum Says "Gambit" is an Origin Story
May 26th, 2015
Ryan Reynolds Says Hugh Jackman May Make Cameo in "Deadpool"
May 26th, 2015
First Poster for "Point Break" Remake
May 26th, 2015
More Photos From Matt Damon's "The Martian," Directed by Ridley Scott
May 25th, 2015
"Mission: Impossible 6" and "Now You See Me 3" Already in Development
May 25th, 2015
"Beautiful Mind" Mathematician John Nash Killed in Taxi Crash
May 25th, 2015
First Look at Matt Damon in Ridley Scott's "The Martian"
May 24th, 2015
New "Fantastic Four" Trailer, Director Responds to Rumors of Being Replaced
May 24th, 2015
New Photos From "Deadpool" and "Ant-Man"
May 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass" is Here!
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Jonah Hill and Miles Teller in "Arms and the Dudes"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Meryl Streel and Hugh Grant in "Florence Foster Jenkins"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Cuba Gooding Jr and John Travolta in "America Crime Story: The People V. OJ Simpson"
May 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Knock Knock" Thriller
May 22nd, 2015
Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title
May 22nd, 2015
Reese Witherspoon to Star in Disney's Live-Action Tinker Bell Movie "Tink"
May 22nd, 2015
"Fantastic Four" Promo Video Shows Team's Superpowers
May 22nd, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Writers Announced for "Star Wars: Episode 8" and "Episode 9"

Posted: November 21st, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Writers Announced for "Star Wars: Episode 8" and "Episode 9"Submit Comment
When it was announced that Disney acquired the rights to the "Star Wars" franchise, it was revealed that a new trilogy would be made, based on an outline by George Lucas.

Since then we learned that Michael Arndt (Toy Story 3, Little Miss Sunshine) will write the script for "Star Wars: Episode VII." And now comes word that the next two installments, "Episode VIII" and "Episode IX," will be written by Lawrence Kasdan and Simon Kinberg. It's not clear which writer will take on which installment. But their deals are already signed and include writing and producing credits.

Kasdan previously provided screenplays for "Star Wars: Episode VI - Return of the Jedi," "Raiders of the Lost Ark," and "Star Wars: Episode V - The Empire Strikes Back." Kinberg has written "Sherlock Holmes" and "X-Men: The Last Stand."

"Star Wars: Episode VII" will hit theaters during the Summer of 2015. "Episode VIII" will follow in 2017 and "Episode IX" in 2019.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Donyae 420 writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:17:13 AM

Can't wait!!!
cress writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:28:50 AM

Kasdans more recent credits include Dreamcatcher, one of the worst films ever made.
boogiel writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:33:12 AM

Kasdan is back? Well, I might be able to start getting interested... maybe.
boogiel writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:33:16 AM

Kasdan is back? Well, I might be able to start getting interested... maybe.
Janus writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:36:07 AM

Kinberg? "X-Men: The Last Stand"? That horrible Ratner movie? They want to kill Star Wars.
pornfly writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:46:42 AM

If Lawrence utilized any controlled substances in the 70s/80s
Please provide them for Mr.Kasdan
Avirex writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 8:13:36 AM

I can't wait to be disappointed by these sh*tty flicks in a few years.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 8:25:26 AM

I've got a bad feeling about this.
velocityknown writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 9:23:31 AM

The good thing is that Arndt has already written a treatment of the entire trilogy so if nothing else we'll have a consistent direction. Worried about Kinberg though, doesn't have a very impressive writing resume.
MANGOMANIAC writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 11:22:09 AM

I hope they do one every year forever!' There is no need to stop. We really don't need anythin else. From Lucas arts besides possibly if Disney can do thx1138 a decent version.

A lot of users here on worstpreviews talk crap, they say boring sh*t and degrade every single film idea. Terrible attitudes like Brando for eg, nice guy but a c*ntholle when it comes to movie opinions. Bullit is a c*nt all the time, sitting there blasting his foul opinions upon us drenched In his own piss.

New users I encourage u to stay and love worstpreviews and its moderator alex
otis writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 12:07:42 PM

^Who's the new sheriff c*ck in town?

On topic- I can only hope that Disney will move away from the youth side and traverse into a more mature territory.

Disney: A New Hope
vincere01 writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 12:17:33 PM

I posted this on here like 2 days ago lol
McQueen writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 12:21:52 PM

"Who's the new sheriff c*ck in town?"


LOL!
minkowski writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 1:26:12 PM

Well. I'm beside myself. I just don't know what to do now that Disney has released this c*ckblowing info. My life is now complete.

I'm off to kill myself. Have a nice life, suckers.
Arti writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 1:50:13 PM

Kasdan is alright, or at least he once was, but the other dude, Jesus... the sh*tty X-Men, Jumper, Mr. and Mrs. Smith, This means war, all crappy childish very Disney-like movies. Star Wards is going to be disneyed down, Phantom Menace style, Jar Jar and the Ewoks in the foreground.
minkowski writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 2:49:13 PM

However it's written and directed, it'll be made so it can sell a sh*t load of toys.
DexterMorgan writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 3:33:09 PM

something tells me these wont be very good.....AT ALL
Rambo writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 4:49:10 PM

hurry up,there's nothing to watch on cinema these days
Elbow writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 5:36:07 PM

When did Kasdan start looking so much like Roger Corman?
gotsghostrider writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 6:13:58 PM

Meh. At least Kasdan actually knows the franchise on a personal level since he worked on the original trilogy. I wonder if Kasdan Paratus from The Force Unleashed was named after him...that's the one I want to see adapted into a film if they adapt the novel rather than the game. They can even cast the actors from the game since they all provided voice and likeness to their characters.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:19:04 PM

Kasdan at least is very, very good news.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:20:17 PM

..even if he did Dreamcatcher.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 22nd, 2012 at 1:20:44 PM

Cress Dreamcatcher was a good movie -_-

And this is interesting news, can't wait to watch them :)

Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot

New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr

"Jurassic World" to Ignore Last Two Films, to Bring Back T-Rex

Hugh Jackman and Channing Tatum to Appear in "X-Men: Apocalypse"?

Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title

"Fantastic Four" Director Fired From "Star Wars" Spin-Off

"Independence Day 2" Takes Place 15 Years Later, Same Aliens Return

Why Wasn't Loki in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?

Hugh Jackman Confirms "Wolverine 3" is His Last Time as Wolverine

Heath Ledger Was Set to Star in "Mad Max: Fury Road"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved