WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals
Jul 25th, 2015
Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
Jul 25th, 2015
New Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
Jul 25th, 2015
"Jurassic World" Sequel Gets Release Date, Chris Pratt to Return
Jul 24th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson's "Baywatch" Movie Hires "Horrible Bosses" Director
Jul 24th, 2015
Russell Crowe in Talks to Join "King Kong" Prequel
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
Jul 24th, 2015
LeBron James Signs Deal with Warner Bros, "Space Jam 2" Happening?
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "Mississippi Grind" Poker Film
Jul 23rd, 2015
Final Restricted Trailer for "Vacation" Sequel
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Patrick Wilson's "Zipper" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2015
Full Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for Pixar's "The Good Dinosaur" Animated Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Kung Fu Panda" Director Making "Emoji" Movie
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Pacific Rim 2" to Begin Filming in November
Jul 22nd, 2015
Backstreet Boys and 'NSync Members Unite for "Dead 7" Low-Budget Horror Film
Jul 21st, 2015
Benicio Del Toro May Play Villain in "Star Wars: Episode VIII"
Jul 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Before We Go," Chris Evans' Directorial Debut
Jul 21st, 2015
"The Godfather" Actor Alex Rocco Dead at 79
Jul 21st, 2015
New Trailer for "American Ultra," with Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart
Jul 21st, 2015
"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening
Jul 20th, 2015
Ava DuVernay Explains Why She Isn't Directing Marvel's "Black Panther"
Jul 20th, 2015
Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?
Jul 19th, 2015
Sam Raimi Comments on Marvel Rebooting "Spider-Man" Franchise
Jul 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Some Kind of Beautiful," with Pierce Brosnan, Jessica Alba and Selma Hayek
Jul 19th, 2015
Trailer for Leonardo DiCaprio's "The Revenant" Thriller is Here!
Jul 18th, 2015
Watch IMAX Trailer for "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 18th, 2015
"X-Men: Apocalypse" Unveils Photos of Apocalypse, Psylocke and Storm
Jul 17th, 2015
"Spider-Man" Reboot Finally Hires Writers
Jul 17th, 2015
Stephen King's "It" Movie Hires a Director
Jul 17th, 2015
Casts of "Batman v Superman" and "Suicide Squad" Unite for Photo Shoot
Jul 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Joy," with Jennifer Lawrence, Bradley Cooper and Robert De Niro
Jul 16th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Writers Announced for "Star Wars: Episode 8" and "Episode 9"

Posted: November 21st, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Writers Announced for "Star Wars: Episode 8" and "Episode 9"Submit Comment
When it was announced that Disney acquired the rights to the "Star Wars" franchise, it was revealed that a new trilogy would be made, based on an outline by George Lucas.

Since then we learned that Michael Arndt (Toy Story 3, Little Miss Sunshine) will write the script for "Star Wars: Episode VII." And now comes word that the next two installments, "Episode VIII" and "Episode IX," will be written by Lawrence Kasdan and Simon Kinberg. It's not clear which writer will take on which installment. But their deals are already signed and include writing and producing credits.

Kasdan previously provided screenplays for "Star Wars: Episode VI - Return of the Jedi," "Raiders of the Lost Ark," and "Star Wars: Episode V - The Empire Strikes Back." Kinberg has written "Sherlock Holmes" and "X-Men: The Last Stand."

"Star Wars: Episode VII" will hit theaters during the Summer of 2015. "Episode VIII" will follow in 2017 and "Episode IX" in 2019.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Donyae 420 writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:17:13 AM

Can't wait!!!
cress writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:28:50 AM

Kasdans more recent credits include Dreamcatcher, one of the worst films ever made.
boogiel writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:33:12 AM

Kasdan is back? Well, I might be able to start getting interested... maybe.
boogiel writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:33:16 AM

Kasdan is back? Well, I might be able to start getting interested... maybe.
Janus writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:36:07 AM

Kinberg? "X-Men: The Last Stand"? That horrible Ratner movie? They want to kill Star Wars.
pornfly writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:46:42 AM

If Lawrence utilized any controlled substances in the 70s/80s
Please provide them for Mr.Kasdan
Avirex writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 8:13:36 AM

I can't wait to be disappointed by these sh*tty flicks in a few years.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 8:25:26 AM

I've got a bad feeling about this.
velocityknown writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 9:23:31 AM

The good thing is that Arndt has already written a treatment of the entire trilogy so if nothing else we'll have a consistent direction. Worried about Kinberg though, doesn't have a very impressive writing resume.
MANGOMANIAC writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 11:22:09 AM

I hope they do one every year forever!' There is no need to stop. We really don't need anythin else. From Lucas arts besides possibly if Disney can do thx1138 a decent version.

A lot of users here on worstpreviews talk crap, they say boring sh*t and degrade every single film idea. Terrible attitudes like Brando for eg, nice guy but a c*ntholle when it comes to movie opinions. Bullit is a c*nt all the time, sitting there blasting his foul opinions upon us drenched In his own piss.

New users I encourage u to stay and love worstpreviews and its moderator alex
otis writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 12:07:42 PM

^Who's the new sheriff c*ck in town?

On topic- I can only hope that Disney will move away from the youth side and traverse into a more mature territory.

Disney: A New Hope
vincere01 writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 12:17:33 PM

I posted this on here like 2 days ago lol
McQueen writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 12:21:52 PM

"Who's the new sheriff c*ck in town?"


LOL!
minkowski writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 1:26:12 PM

Well. I'm beside myself. I just don't know what to do now that Disney has released this c*ckblowing info. My life is now complete.

I'm off to kill myself. Have a nice life, suckers.
Arti writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 1:50:13 PM

Kasdan is alright, or at least he once was, but the other dude, Jesus... the sh*tty X-Men, Jumper, Mr. and Mrs. Smith, This means war, all crappy childish very Disney-like movies. Star Wards is going to be disneyed down, Phantom Menace style, Jar Jar and the Ewoks in the foreground.
minkowski writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 2:49:13 PM

However it's written and directed, it'll be made so it can sell a sh*t load of toys.
DexterMorgan writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 3:33:09 PM

something tells me these wont be very good.....AT ALL
Rambo writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 4:49:10 PM

hurry up,there's nothing to watch on cinema these days
Elbow writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 5:36:07 PM

When did Kasdan start looking so much like Roger Corman?
gotsghostrider writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 6:13:58 PM

Meh. At least Kasdan actually knows the franchise on a personal level since he worked on the original trilogy. I wonder if Kasdan Paratus from The Force Unleashed was named after him...that's the one I want to see adapted into a film if they adapt the novel rather than the game. They can even cast the actors from the game since they all provided voice and likeness to their characters.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:19:04 PM

Kasdan at least is very, very good news.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:20:17 PM

..even if he did Dreamcatcher.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 22nd, 2012 at 1:20:44 PM

Cress Dreamcatcher was a good movie -_-

And this is interesting news, can't wait to watch them :)

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

Marvel and Sony Can't Agree on Which Actor Should Play Spider-Man

"Jurassic World" is a Massive Hit, Chris Pratt to Return for Sequel

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved