WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Full "Fantastic Four" Trailer is Here!
Apr 20th, 2015
Teaser for "Star Wars" Spin-Off Film Leaked Online!
Apr 20th, 2015
Two "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Teaser Posters
Apr 20th, 2015
"Furious 7" Crosses $1 Billion at Box Office
Apr 20th, 2015
Trailer for Ridiculous "Mega Shark vs Kolossus"
Apr 20th, 2015
Chris Pratt and His Raptors in New "Jurassic World" Poster
Apr 20th, 2015
George Lucas Says Marvel May Remake "Howard the Duck"
Apr 19th, 2015
Dinosaur vs Shark in New "Jurassic World" Poster
Apr 19th, 2015
Official "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer is Here!
Apr 18th, 2015
Restricted Trailer for Salma Hayek's "The Tale of Tales" Fantasy Film
Apr 18th, 2015
New Poster for Joseph Gordon-Levitt's "The Walk," Directed by Robert Zemeckis
Apr 18th, 2015
New Poster for "Jurassic World," New Trailer Coming on Monday
Apr 18th, 2015
Full "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Leaked Online!
Apr 17th, 2015
New "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Trailer is Here!
Apr 17th, 2015
Josh Hartnett Regrets Turning Down Batman Role in "Batman Begins"
Apr 17th, 2015
Ryan Gosling in Talks for "Blade Runner" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2015
Trailer for "The Gallows" Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2015
Matthew Vaughn to Direct "Flash Gordon" Remake
Apr 17th, 2015
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Teaser Trailer is Here!
Apr 16th, 2015
"Wonder Woman" Just Hired a New Director
Apr 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Results," with Guy Pearce and Cobie Smulders
Apr 16th, 2015
Jason Sudeikis to Star in "Fletch" Reboot
Apr 16th, 2015
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Footage Coming Tomorrow
Apr 15th, 2015
Trailer for David Spade's "Joe Dirt" Sequel
Apr 15th, 2015
John Cusack is The Beach Boys Founder in "Love and Mercy" Trailer
Apr 15th, 2015
Trailer for Al Pacino's "Manglehorn"
Apr 15th, 2015
Griswolds Visit Walley World in New "Vacation" Photo
Apr 15th, 2015
New Trailer for Marvel's "Ant-Man"
Apr 14th, 2015
Lots of Action in New "Terminator Genisys" Trailer
Apr 14th, 2015
"Wonder Woman" Loses Its Director
Apr 14th, 2015
First Look at Ed Helms and Griswold Family in "Vacation" Sequel
Apr 14th, 2015
Iron Man Fights Ultron in New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Clip
Apr 14th, 2015
Olivia Munn to Play Psylocke in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Apr 14th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Writers Announced for "Star Wars: Episode 8" and "Episode 9"

Posted: November 21st, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Writers Announced for "Star Wars: Episode 8" and "Episode 9"Submit Comment
When it was announced that Disney acquired the rights to the "Star Wars" franchise, it was revealed that a new trilogy would be made, based on an outline by George Lucas.

Since then we learned that Michael Arndt (Toy Story 3, Little Miss Sunshine) will write the script for "Star Wars: Episode VII." And now comes word that the next two installments, "Episode VIII" and "Episode IX," will be written by Lawrence Kasdan and Simon Kinberg. It's not clear which writer will take on which installment. But their deals are already signed and include writing and producing credits.

Kasdan previously provided screenplays for "Star Wars: Episode VI - Return of the Jedi," "Raiders of the Lost Ark," and "Star Wars: Episode V - The Empire Strikes Back." Kinberg has written "Sherlock Holmes" and "X-Men: The Last Stand."

"Star Wars: Episode VII" will hit theaters during the Summer of 2015. "Episode VIII" will follow in 2017 and "Episode IX" in 2019.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Donyae 420 writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:17:13 AM

Can't wait!!!
cress writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:28:50 AM

Kasdans more recent credits include Dreamcatcher, one of the worst films ever made.
boogiel writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:33:12 AM

Kasdan is back? Well, I might be able to start getting interested... maybe.
boogiel writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:33:16 AM

Kasdan is back? Well, I might be able to start getting interested... maybe.
Janus writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:36:07 AM

Kinberg? "X-Men: The Last Stand"? That horrible Ratner movie? They want to kill Star Wars.
pornfly writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:46:42 AM

If Lawrence utilized any controlled substances in the 70s/80s
Please provide them for Mr.Kasdan
Avirex writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 8:13:36 AM

I can't wait to be disappointed by these sh*tty flicks in a few years.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 8:25:26 AM

I've got a bad feeling about this.
velocityknown writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 9:23:31 AM

The good thing is that Arndt has already written a treatment of the entire trilogy so if nothing else we'll have a consistent direction. Worried about Kinberg though, doesn't have a very impressive writing resume.
MANGOMANIAC writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 11:22:09 AM

I hope they do one every year forever!' There is no need to stop. We really don't need anythin else. From Lucas arts besides possibly if Disney can do thx1138 a decent version.

A lot of users here on worstpreviews talk crap, they say boring sh*t and degrade every single film idea. Terrible attitudes like Brando for eg, nice guy but a c*ntholle when it comes to movie opinions. Bullit is a c*nt all the time, sitting there blasting his foul opinions upon us drenched In his own piss.

New users I encourage u to stay and love worstpreviews and its moderator alex
otis writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 12:07:42 PM

^Who's the new sheriff c*ck in town?

On topic- I can only hope that Disney will move away from the youth side and traverse into a more mature territory.

Disney: A New Hope
vincere01 writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 12:17:33 PM

I posted this on here like 2 days ago lol
McQueen writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 12:21:52 PM

"Who's the new sheriff c*ck in town?"


LOL!
minkowski writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 1:26:12 PM

Well. I'm beside myself. I just don't know what to do now that Disney has released this c*ckblowing info. My life is now complete.

I'm off to kill myself. Have a nice life, suckers.
Arti writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 1:50:13 PM

Kasdan is alright, or at least he once was, but the other dude, Jesus... the sh*tty X-Men, Jumper, Mr. and Mrs. Smith, This means war, all crappy childish very Disney-like movies. Star Wards is going to be disneyed down, Phantom Menace style, Jar Jar and the Ewoks in the foreground.
minkowski writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 2:49:13 PM

However it's written and directed, it'll be made so it can sell a sh*t load of toys.
DexterMorgan writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 3:33:09 PM

something tells me these wont be very good.....AT ALL
Rambo writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 4:49:10 PM

hurry up,there's nothing to watch on cinema these days
Elbow writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 5:36:07 PM

When did Kasdan start looking so much like Roger Corman?
gotsghostrider writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 6:13:58 PM

Meh. At least Kasdan actually knows the franchise on a personal level since he worked on the original trilogy. I wonder if Kasdan Paratus from The Force Unleashed was named after him...that's the one I want to see adapted into a film if they adapt the novel rather than the game. They can even cast the actors from the game since they all provided voice and likeness to their characters.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:19:04 PM

Kasdan at least is very, very good news.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:20:17 PM

..even if he did Dreamcatcher.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 22nd, 2012 at 1:20:44 PM

Cress Dreamcatcher was a good movie -_-

And this is interesting news, can't wait to watch them :)

New Spider-Man is 15-Year-Old Peter Parker, No Origin Story

Disney Making Live-Action "Winnie the Pooh" Film

Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman

Arnold Schwarzenegger Happy He Didn't Star in "Terminator Salvation"

"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon

"Insurgent" Takes First Place at Box Office, Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Flops

"Spectre" Opening Sequence is Biggest in History

"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" Title Revealed

"Captain America: Civil War" Start Date and Plot Synopsis Revealed

"Home" and "Get Hard" Perform Well at Box Office
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved