WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for Will Smith's "Concussion" Football Drama
Sep 3rd, 2015
Trailer: Eddie Redmayne is First Transgender Person in "The Danish Girl"
Sep 3rd, 2015
Vincent Cassel is Main Villain in New "Jason Bourne" Film
Sep 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Chloe Moretz's "The 5th Wave" Sci-Fi Thriller
Sep 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's "Pay the Ghost" Thriller
Sep 3rd, 2015
"Captain America: Civil War" Concept Art Shows Two Avengers Teams
Aug 30th, 2015
First Look at Michael Fassbender in "Assassin's Creed" Video Game Movie
Aug 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Reveals "Bourne" Sequel Plot Details
Aug 29th, 2015
New Trailer for Jack Black's "Goosebumps"
Aug 29th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Writers Announced for "Star Wars: Episode 8" and "Episode 9"

Posted: November 21st, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Writers Announced for "Star Wars: Episode 8" and "Episode 9"Submit Comment
When it was announced that Disney acquired the rights to the "Star Wars" franchise, it was revealed that a new trilogy would be made, based on an outline by George Lucas.

Since then we learned that Michael Arndt (Toy Story 3, Little Miss Sunshine) will write the script for "Star Wars: Episode VII." And now comes word that the next two installments, "Episode VIII" and "Episode IX," will be written by Lawrence Kasdan and Simon Kinberg. It's not clear which writer will take on which installment. But their deals are already signed and include writing and producing credits.

Kasdan previously provided screenplays for "Star Wars: Episode VI - Return of the Jedi," "Raiders of the Lost Ark," and "Star Wars: Episode V - The Empire Strikes Back." Kinberg has written "Sherlock Holmes" and "X-Men: The Last Stand."

"Star Wars: Episode VII" will hit theaters during the Summer of 2015. "Episode VIII" will follow in 2017 and "Episode IX" in 2019.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Donyae 420 writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:17:13 AM

Can't wait!!!
cress writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:28:50 AM

Kasdans more recent credits include Dreamcatcher, one of the worst films ever made.
boogiel writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:33:12 AM

Kasdan is back? Well, I might be able to start getting interested... maybe.
boogiel writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:33:16 AM

Kasdan is back? Well, I might be able to start getting interested... maybe.
Janus writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:36:07 AM

Kinberg? "X-Men: The Last Stand"? That horrible Ratner movie? They want to kill Star Wars.
pornfly writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:46:42 AM

If Lawrence utilized any controlled substances in the 70s/80s
Please provide them for Mr.Kasdan
Avirex writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 8:13:36 AM

I can't wait to be disappointed by these sh*tty flicks in a few years.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 8:25:26 AM

I've got a bad feeling about this.
velocityknown writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 9:23:31 AM

The good thing is that Arndt has already written a treatment of the entire trilogy so if nothing else we'll have a consistent direction. Worried about Kinberg though, doesn't have a very impressive writing resume.
MANGOMANIAC writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 11:22:09 AM

I hope they do one every year forever!' There is no need to stop. We really don't need anythin else. From Lucas arts besides possibly if Disney can do thx1138 a decent version.

A lot of users here on worstpreviews talk crap, they say boring sh*t and degrade every single film idea. Terrible attitudes like Brando for eg, nice guy but a c*ntholle when it comes to movie opinions. Bullit is a c*nt all the time, sitting there blasting his foul opinions upon us drenched In his own piss.

New users I encourage u to stay and love worstpreviews and its moderator alex
otis writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 12:07:42 PM

^Who's the new sheriff c*ck in town?

On topic- I can only hope that Disney will move away from the youth side and traverse into a more mature territory.

Disney: A New Hope
vincere01 writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 12:17:33 PM

I posted this on here like 2 days ago lol
McQueen writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 12:21:52 PM

"Who's the new sheriff c*ck in town?"


LOL!
minkowski writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 1:26:12 PM

Well. I'm beside myself. I just don't know what to do now that Disney has released this c*ckblowing info. My life is now complete.

I'm off to kill myself. Have a nice life, suckers.
Arti writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 1:50:13 PM

Kasdan is alright, or at least he once was, but the other dude, Jesus... the sh*tty X-Men, Jumper, Mr. and Mrs. Smith, This means war, all crappy childish very Disney-like movies. Star Wards is going to be disneyed down, Phantom Menace style, Jar Jar and the Ewoks in the foreground.
minkowski writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 2:49:13 PM

However it's written and directed, it'll be made so it can sell a sh*t load of toys.
DexterMorgan writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 3:33:09 PM

something tells me these wont be very good.....AT ALL
Rambo writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 4:49:10 PM

hurry up,there's nothing to watch on cinema these days
Elbow writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 5:36:07 PM

When did Kasdan start looking so much like Roger Corman?
gotsghostrider writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 6:13:58 PM

Meh. At least Kasdan actually knows the franchise on a personal level since he worked on the original trilogy. I wonder if Kasdan Paratus from The Force Unleashed was named after him...that's the one I want to see adapted into a film if they adapt the novel rather than the game. They can even cast the actors from the game since they all provided voice and likeness to their characters.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:19:04 PM

Kasdan at least is very, very good news.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:20:17 PM

..even if he did Dreamcatcher.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 22nd, 2012 at 1:20:44 PM

Cress Dreamcatcher was a good movie -_-

And this is interesting news, can't wait to watch them :)

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved