WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Restricted Trailer For "The Interview" Comedy, with James Franco and Seth Rogen
Sep 21st, 2014
"Deadpool" Movie Will Be PG-13
Sep 21st, 2014
Marvel Says "Daredevil" TV Series Won't Make Same Mistakes As Ben Affleck's Movie
Sep 21st, 2014
Is Jennifer Lawrence's "Serena" a Terrible Movie?
Sep 21st, 2014
Roberto Orci Drops Out of "Power Rangers" to Direct "Star Trek 3"
Sep 21st, 2014
Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed
Sep 20th, 2014
Deadpool Creator Comments on "Deadpool" Movie Announcement
Sep 20th, 2014
Two New Posters for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Sci-Fi Film
Sep 20th, 2014
"Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel Loses Director
Sep 20th, 2014
Angelina Jolie to Next Direct "Africa"
Sep 20th, 2014
Trailer For "Low Down," with John Hawkes and Elle Fanning
Sep 20th, 2014
If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You
Sep 19th, 2014
Trailer For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Sep 19th, 2014
Matthew McConaughey NOT Returning For "Magic Mike" Sequel
Sep 19th, 2014
Restricted Trailer For "V/H/S: Viral" Horror Film Arrives Online
Sep 19th, 2014
"Insidious: Chapter 3" Unveils First Poster
Sep 19th, 2014
"X-Men" Spin-Off "Deadpool" is Finally Happening, Release Date Announced
Sep 18th, 2014
Trailer For "A Most Violent Year," From "Margin Call" Director
Sep 18th, 2014
Sony Unveils Animation Test For "Popeye" Movie
Sep 18th, 2014
See Batmobile in Action on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set
Sep 18th, 2014
"Jason Borne" Producer Says Both Matt Damon's and Jeremy Renner's Films are in the Works
Sep 18th, 2014
"Paranormal Activity 5" Gets New Title and Release Date
Sep 18th, 2014
New Posters For Matthew McConaughey's "Interstellar" and Brad Pitt's "Fury"
Sep 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Robert Downey Jr's "The Judge"
Sep 18th, 2014
David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull
Sep 17th, 2014
Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience
Sep 17th, 2014
Jack Huston to Star in "Ben-Hur" Remake
Sep 17th, 2014
Poster for Disney's "Into the Woods," with Meryl Streep and Johnny Depp
Sep 17th, 2014
Tom Hiddleston to Star in "King Kong" Prequel, "Skull Island"
Sep 16th, 2014
Poster for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Arrives Online
Sep 16th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Plot Synopsis Revealed
Sep 16th, 2014
"I Know What You Did Last Summer" is Being Rebooted
Sep 16th, 2014
Leslie Mann in Talks for "Vacation" Sequel as Audrey Griswold
Sep 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Writers Announced for "Star Wars: Episode 8" and "Episode 9"

Posted: November 21st, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Writers Announced for "Star Wars: Episode 8" and "Episode 9"Submit Comment
When it was announced that Disney acquired the rights to the "Star Wars" franchise, it was revealed that a new trilogy would be made, based on an outline by George Lucas.

Since then we learned that Michael Arndt (Toy Story 3, Little Miss Sunshine) will write the script for "Star Wars: Episode VII." And now comes word that the next two installments, "Episode VIII" and "Episode IX," will be written by Lawrence Kasdan and Simon Kinberg. It's not clear which writer will take on which installment. But their deals are already signed and include writing and producing credits.

Kasdan previously provided screenplays for "Star Wars: Episode VI - Return of the Jedi," "Raiders of the Lost Ark," and "Star Wars: Episode V - The Empire Strikes Back." Kinberg has written "Sherlock Holmes" and "X-Men: The Last Stand."

"Star Wars: Episode VII" will hit theaters during the Summer of 2015. "Episode VIII" will follow in 2017 and "Episode IX" in 2019.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Donyae 420 writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:17:13 AM

Can't wait!!!
cress writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:28:50 AM

Kasdans more recent credits include Dreamcatcher, one of the worst films ever made.
boogiel writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:33:12 AM

Kasdan is back? Well, I might be able to start getting interested... maybe.
boogiel writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:33:16 AM

Kasdan is back? Well, I might be able to start getting interested... maybe.
Janus writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:36:07 AM

Kinberg? "X-Men: The Last Stand"? That horrible Ratner movie? They want to kill Star Wars.
pornfly writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:46:42 AM

If Lawrence utilized any controlled substances in the 70s/80s
Please provide them for Mr.Kasdan
Avirex writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 8:13:36 AM

I can't wait to be disappointed by these sh*tty flicks in a few years.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 8:25:26 AM

I've got a bad feeling about this.
velocityknown writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 9:23:31 AM

The good thing is that Arndt has already written a treatment of the entire trilogy so if nothing else we'll have a consistent direction. Worried about Kinberg though, doesn't have a very impressive writing resume.
MANGOMANIAC writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 11:22:09 AM

I hope they do one every year forever!' There is no need to stop. We really don't need anythin else. From Lucas arts besides possibly if Disney can do thx1138 a decent version.

A lot of users here on worstpreviews talk crap, they say boring sh*t and degrade every single film idea. Terrible attitudes like Brando for eg, nice guy but a c*ntholle when it comes to movie opinions. Bullit is a c*nt all the time, sitting there blasting his foul opinions upon us drenched In his own piss.

New users I encourage u to stay and love worstpreviews and its moderator alex
otis writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 12:07:42 PM

^Who's the new sheriff c*ck in town?

On topic- I can only hope that Disney will move away from the youth side and traverse into a more mature territory.

Disney: A New Hope
vincere01 writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 12:17:33 PM

I posted this on here like 2 days ago lol
McQueen writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 12:21:52 PM

"Who's the new sheriff c*ck in town?"


LOL!
minkowski writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 1:26:12 PM

Well. I'm beside myself. I just don't know what to do now that Disney has released this c*ckblowing info. My life is now complete.

I'm off to kill myself. Have a nice life, suckers.
Arti writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 1:50:13 PM

Kasdan is alright, or at least he once was, but the other dude, Jesus... the sh*tty X-Men, Jumper, Mr. and Mrs. Smith, This means war, all crappy childish very Disney-like movies. Star Wards is going to be disneyed down, Phantom Menace style, Jar Jar and the Ewoks in the foreground.
minkowski writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 2:49:13 PM

However it's written and directed, it'll be made so it can sell a sh*t load of toys.
DexterMorgan writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 3:33:09 PM

something tells me these wont be very good.....AT ALL
Rambo writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 4:49:10 PM

hurry up,there's nothing to watch on cinema these days
Elbow writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 5:36:07 PM

When did Kasdan start looking so much like Roger Corman?
gotsghostrider writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 6:13:58 PM

Meh. At least Kasdan actually knows the franchise on a personal level since he worked on the original trilogy. I wonder if Kasdan Paratus from The Force Unleashed was named after him...that's the one I want to see adapted into a film if they adapt the novel rather than the game. They can even cast the actors from the game since they all provided voice and likeness to their characters.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:19:04 PM

Kasdan at least is very, very good news.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 7:20:17 PM

..even if he did Dreamcatcher.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 22nd, 2012 at 1:20:44 PM

Cress Dreamcatcher was a good movie -_-

And this is interesting news, can't wait to watch them :)

Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America

If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You

Warner Bros Has a "No Jokes" Policy For Its Superhero Films?

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull

What Happens to Jimmy Olsen in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved