WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage
Apr 19th, 2014
Is "Batman vs Superman" Changing Its Release Date to Avoid "Captain America 3" Competition?
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look at Ryan Gosling's Directorial Debut "Lost River"
Apr 19th, 2014
Jaden Smith to Play a Slave in "The Good Lord Bird"
Apr 19th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Normal Heart," with Mark Ruffalo and Julia Roberts
Apr 19th, 2014
Producers Say Spider-Man Will Only Join "X-Men" or "The Avengers" When They Run Out of Ideas
Apr 19th, 2014
Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look: Michael Fassbender in William Shakespeare's "Macbeth"
Apr 18th, 2014
New Footage in "Godzilla" TV Spot
Apr 18th, 2014
Marvel Confirms It Has Rights to Kingpin and Elektra for "Daredevil" TV Series
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "Jersey Boys" Musical
Apr 18th, 2014
"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "The Captive" Thriller
Apr 18th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Rover," with Guy Pearce and Robert Pattinson
Apr 18th, 2014
"Sinister" Sequel Gets a Director, To Begin Filming in July
Apr 18th, 2014
Opening Scene from "In Your Eyes" Sci-Fi Film, Written by Joss Whedon
Apr 18th, 2014
"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy
Apr 17th, 2014
Robin Williams to Return for "Mrs. Doubtfire" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2014
Jerry Bruckheimer on "Pirates of the Caribbean 5," "Top Gun 2" and "Beverly Hills Cop 4"
Apr 17th, 2014
James Franco Didn't Know He Has a Cameo in "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes"
Apr 17th, 2014
Poster for Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 17th, 2014
"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Contains a Surprising Post-Credits Scene
Apr 17th, 2014
Trailer for Eli Roth's "The Green Inferno" Cannibal Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2014
Antonio Banderas Says "Puss in Boots 2" is Already Being Made
Apr 16th, 2014
"Friday the 13th" Reboot in Talks with "V/H/S" Director
Apr 16th, 2014
Sneak Peek at Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Apr 16th, 2014
Final Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Sinister Six" Spin-Off May NOT Feature Classic Spider-Man Villains
Apr 16th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "The Revenant" Revenge Thriller
Apr 16th, 2014
Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly and Adam McKay Re-Team for "Border Guards" Comedy
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for Chrloe Moretz's "If I Stay"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Hires Paul Walker's Brothers to Help Finish the Film
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for "Third Person," with Liam Neeson and James Franco
Apr 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sean Connery Gave Up $450 Million to Play Gandalf in "Lord of the Rings"

Posted: November 20th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sean Connery Gave Up $450 Million to Play Gandalf in "Lord of the Rings"Submit Comment
When Warner Bros was working on "The Lord of the Rings," there were plenty of things going against it. The studio took a risk by making all three films at once and hiring a relatively unknown director, Peter Jackson.

To protect it's massive investment, Warner Bros reached out to Sean Connery to play the role of Gandalf. The offer included a $10 million check and 15% of the box office results. The actor read the scripts and all the books, and eventually decided to decline the offer. His reason was that he didn't understand anything he read.

The studio ended up hiring Ian McKellen for far less money. And the trilogy went on to gross $2.9 billion, which means that Connery would have been paid roughly $450 million.

But don't feel too bad for the actor, he's still worth around $300 million. And after watching the films, he's still completely confused by the stories.

Source: CelebrityNetWorth, Blastr


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 59 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 7:26:39 AM

"after watching the films, he's still completely confused by the stories. "


Hear, hear.
trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 7:50:23 AM

$450 million !!

......... Yeah but he'd still be a sweaty sock ;-)
McQueen writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 7:55:18 AM

"he's still worth around $300 million"

I thought half of his money went on to promote the Scottish independence...

"he's still completely confused by the stories."

Lol! I guess the fight between good and evil is too confusing for him.

Knowing the legendary generosity by nature of the Scotsmen, he must be really regretting this as he could have bought the entire Scottish votes back then.


Just kidding.
Kurskij writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 7:57:53 AM

"Well of cosh he did"

"I shtill wash the firsht 60 year old to tap Catherine Zeta Jones' assh, - said Connery - "Sho f*ck you, Michael Douglash!"
bandolero999 writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:01:43 AM

That would of been awesome he was in it
cress writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:02:08 AM

Lord of the Rings confused him, yet he starred in Zardoz.
sherv writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:06:03 AM

Lol @ McQueen, I'm Scottish and was pmsl at your comments dude, good one,
dub031 writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:10:03 AM

OK, either Sir Connery is just acting thick or he actually is, because didn't he say exactly the same thing when he was offered the role of the architect in the Matrix sequels?
trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:10:32 AM

Bullit - lol
trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:12:27 AM

..... And yet Sean appeared in Highlander 2, one of the worst and most nonsensical films ever made !
trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:21:34 AM

Kurskij - Nice, lol

Have you seen Sidney Lumet's The Hill with Connery ?

If you haven't buy it rent it or download it, It's one of Sean's finest performances.

Rambo writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:43:02 AM

'I don't understand the bloody story!!!where is p*ssy galore in all of that?How many times do i get laid???'
Rambo writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:44:01 AM

^add an H to every S
pornfly writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:52:14 AM

Im not buyin it

I think he just didnt find it appealing to be hounded by fanboys everywhere
Ian Mckellan on the other hand.....
trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:52:33 AM

Connery is Confused ..... I say he is


http://www.wryandginger.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/07/sean-connery.jpg
Kurskij writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:55:54 AM

"Have you seen Sidney Lumet's The Hill with Connery ?"

No sir, I haven't. Thanks for the advice - I'm a fan of Lumet.
trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:58:10 AM

porn

When Ian Mckellan signed on he thought Lord of The Rings was a whole different story and he offered to wotk for free !
Kurskij writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 9:00:12 AM

"...yet he starred in Zardoz."
"Connery is Confused ..... I say he is"

Saw it coming. lol. Connery's mind is a mystery. He reportedly took on League of Extraordinary Gentlemen after turning down parts in Matrix and LOTR - thinking "thish franchishe Sean won't passh on!"

And failed again.
McQueen writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 9:00:30 AM

@sherv & TT

Cheers, -:)
trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 9:04:15 AM

Kurskij

Mate, It's a classic, It's right up there with 12 Angry Men.

Drama of the highest order, Let me know if you ever see it.
bane writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 9:29:25 AM


we are better off...
he would have ruined the magic
the reason LOTR was so exciting is
because it was full of character actors
not stars
trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 10:22:32 AM

Sean Connery gets a call from his agent one day. The agent goes;

"Sean, I've got you a job and it starts tomorrow, early. You'll have to be there for 10-ish".

Sean furrows his brow and says
"Tennish? but I dont even have a racket."
trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 10:24:43 AM

Sean Connery was interviewed by Michael Parkinson and bragged that, despite being 72 years of age, he could still have sex three times a night.

Cilla Black, who was also a guest, looked intrigued.

After the show, Cilla says,

"Sean, if I'm not bein too forward, I'd luv to 'ave sex with yer. Lets go back to my 'ouse, we could 'ave a lorra fun."

So they went back to her place and got comfortable.

After a couple of drinks they went off to bed and had an hour of mad passionate sex together.

Afterwards, Sean says,

"If you think that was good, let me shleep for half an hour, and we can have better shex. But while I'm shleeping, hold my balls in your left hand and ma willie in your right hand."

Cilla looks a bit perplexed, but says, "Okay."

He sleeps for half an hour, awakens, and they have even better sex than before.

Then Sean says, 'Cilla, that was wonderful. But if you let me shleep for an hour, we can have the besht shex yet. You'll have to......."

"I know Sean. Yer want me to 'old onto yer bat 'n balls again. No problem hun."

Cilla complies with the routine.

The results this time are absolutely mind blowing.

Once it's all over, they have a drink, Sean lights a cigarette and Cilla asks. "Sean, tell me, dis 'oldin yer balls in one hand and yer willie in de other - does it really stimulate yer that much?"

Sean replies,

"No, not at all Cilla, but the last time I shlept with a scouser, the bitch stole ma wallet."
trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 10:25:30 AM

Sorry a little long, But did make me laugh :-)
McQueen writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 10:41:30 AM

^ ^ LOLOLOL! Me too!!

Excellent one mate.
trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 10:47:02 AM

Thanks Bullit, Not sure our US chums will know who Cila is and she's from Liverpool (A Scouser) :-)
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 10:58:57 AM

His age really gotten to him hasn't it?
McQueen writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 12:24:15 PM

Trailer

I'm sure that any decent US fella would have heard once in their life the famous song "Anyone Who Had A Heart".
sleepingshane writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 12:55:14 PM

HE TURNED DOWN THE PART OF MORPHIUS IN THE MATRIX AS WELL. WHAT A PLONKER!
Rambo writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 1:09:09 PM

sean connery's the matrix:

http://images5.fanpop.com/image/photos/31900000/The-Matrix-1st-Cast-the-matrix-31976744-610-915.jpg
bane writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 1:18:54 PM

@ trailertrash

trust me
the best performance
of his career is sideny lumet's THE OFFENCE
Ranger writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 1:20:59 PM

@sleepingshane - Reeves made some $300mil. for doing The Matrix. The role of Neo was offered to Will Smith.
Ranger writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 1:23:34 PM

Connery has lost it...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e1SvsOWQlAA

McQueen writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 1:45:56 PM

...this is more like it:


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R5-WQ2qD6RQ&feature=related


Just brilliant!
McQueen writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 1:49:39 PM

But this is my favourite part:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GYVPR-gBFk0


Déjà f*cking vu! LOLOL!
Ranger writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 1:58:33 PM

@Bullit... 'and with a little flag to give u hope!' lol.
McQueen writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 2:05:55 PM

Lol!

God bless the Scousers, including the Scots. they always made me laugh, they're good lads alright.
minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 2:11:29 PM

I love Connery, because he has class, style and that wonderfully delightful Scottish brogue, but the dude is more than a little daft.

You'd think with his looks, and personality, genetics would have gifted him with half a mind too, but looks like he drew a lemon with those two cherries in the slot machine of life.
Ranger writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 2:19:09 PM

They're a fun, scrappy bunch for sure (it must be from all the rain). So are the Brits. I'm a fan.

McQueen writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 2:29:13 PM

Weirdly enough, it's definitely linked to the constant rainy weather. Take Liverpool for instance, they developed that sense of humour from the lack of good weather and therefore they make the best from each day after another. You've got to love that. At least I did from day one since I met her.

McQueen writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 2:43:45 PM



https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=endscreen&v=vVE38incDQM&NR=1
trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 2:58:14 PM

Bullit - That or Suprise Suprise lol (nice links too)

Rambo/Ranger/Mink - lol

McQueen writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 3:01:57 PM

This is f*cking hilarious from a famous Scotsman:


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l1enmyAmpik&feature=related
trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 3:05:14 PM

Bane

The Offence was ok (not seen it for a while), The Hill was an easier film to enjoy and it's Connery's will to never give in that makes the film for me, Very uplifting.

Sean was very good in The Offence, The subject matter was tough going from what i remember.
trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 3:10:40 PM

I like Billy Connolly Bullit, A lot don't but the guys stand up shows from the 80's especially are very very funny.

Pamela Stephenson book "Billy", Is a very interesting read if you haven't read it.

He has had one hell (literally at times) of a life.
McQueen writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 3:35:05 PM

I still like the guy despite the fact he made a bad joke in Liverpool after it happened coincidentally from a sad event in Liverpool. It was to me a very bad time of circ*mstances but I still give Billy the credit for being unlucky at the the time. Nevertheless, he's still less popular today because of that. Too bad really. I re
McQueen writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 3:35:06 PM

I still like the guy despite the fact he made a bad joke in Liverpool after it happened coincidentally from a sad event in Liverpool. It was to me a very bad time of circ*mstances but I still give Billy the credit for being unlucky at the the time. Nevertheless, he's still less popular today because of that. Too bad really. I re
McQueen writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 3:35:34 PM

I still like the guy despite the fact he made a bad joke in Liverpool after it happened coincidentally from a sad event in Liverpool. It was to me a very bad time of circ*mstances but I still give Billy the credit for being unlucky at the the time. Nevertheless, he's still less popular today because of that. Too bad really. I really like the guy.
McQueen writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 3:37:13 PM

Ma va fanculo WP and your bloody edit button!
Ranger writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 3:38:08 PM

'He has had one hell (literally at times) of a life.' Why... is he married?
trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 3:54:23 PM

lol, Yes to Pamela Stephenson who was mighty fine in her day, Now not so much.
trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 3:58:51 PM

Bullit was that the Kenneth Bigley joke ?
McQueen writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 4:13:01 PM

^ ^ Yest it was but I don't held him personally responsible for it. Just bad timing really as he couldn't possibly meant for it.

Too bad really.
pornfly writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 4:13:25 PM

TRAILER
dassagooodwon
Im stealin that one for parties
The girl in that joke can be interchangeable
struck21 writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 11:26:07 PM

"Tolkien, you're mothers a whore."
OneTime writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 12:15:08 AM

hes on my 2013 deathlist... i know its sad to say and hear but we all gotta go.
Stapes writes:
on November 21st, 2012 at 8:51:20 AM

Right Sean, because Highlander2 made complete sense.
Ranger writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 1:33:36 AM

Highlander 3 was even worse (if memory serves).
thisisntme writes:
on November 23rd, 2012 at 5:30:17 PM

That is a lot of damn money.

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works

"Captain America 3" Directors Hint at Plot Details
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved