WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Dominates at Box Office, Hits Franchise Low
Nov 23rd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Director Says Shared Cinematic Universes Can Be a Mistake
Nov 23rd, 2014
Town Bans Winnie the Pooh for Being Half-Naked
Nov 23rd, 2014
First Poster for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Nov 22nd, 2014
Angelina Jolie Will Quit Acting to Focus on Directing
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for George Lucas' Animated "Strange Magic" Film
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "Pitch Perfect 2" Arrives Online
Nov 21st, 2014
"Zoolander 2" is Moving Forward, Penelope Cruz Joins Cast
Nov 21st, 2014
Stephen King's "The Stand" to Become Four Movies
Nov 21st, 2014
First Look: Patrick Stewart is a White Supremacist in "Green Room" Thriller
Nov 21st, 2014
Mel Gibson May Direct "Hacksaw Ridge," with Andrew Garfield to Star
Nov 21st, 2014
Ridley Scott Promises "a Fresher Form of Alien" in "Prometheus 2"
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Nov 20th, 2014
Trailer for "American Heist" Thriller with Hayden Christensen and Adrien Brody
Nov 20th, 2014
Melissa McCarthy to Star in Live-Action "Tinker Bell" Comedy
Nov 20th, 2014
Al Pacino is an Aging Rock Star in "Danny Collins" Trailer
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for "Peter Pan Live" Musical, with Christopher Walken as Captain Hook
Nov 20th, 2014
Six Actors in Talks for Cyclops and Jean Grey in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 19th, 2014
How Do Horror Fans Choose Movies? Not By Plot or Cast
Nov 19th, 2014
Will Ferrell Bench Presses Kevin Hart in First "Get Hard" Photos
Nov 19th, 2014
Trailer for Ewan McGregor's "Son of a Gun" Crime Thriller
Nov 19th, 2014
Snoopy and Charlie Brown are Back in "The Peanuts Movie" Trailer
Nov 19th, 2014
Trailer for "Project Almanac" Time-Traveling Thriller
Nov 18th, 2014
"Jurassic World" Unveils New Photos, Trailer Coming Next Week
Nov 18th, 2014
Arnold Schwarzenegger Says "Running Man" Sequel is Happening
Nov 18th, 2014
New Images of Snoopy and Charlie Brown From "The Peanuts Movie"
Nov 18th, 2014
See "Interstellar" as Many Times as You Want for One Price
Nov 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Jeff Bridges' "Seventh Son" Fantasy Film
Nov 18th, 2014
Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy
Nov 17th, 2014
"Captain America 2" Directors May Take Over "The Avengers" Franchise
Nov 17th, 2014
Oscar-Winning "The Hurt Locker" Writer Hired for "Uncharted" Video Game Film
Nov 17th, 2014
"Dumb and Dumber To" Takes First Place at Box Office with $38 Million
Nov 16th, 2014
"Battlestar Galactice" and "Knight Rider" Creator Glen A. Larson Dead at 77
Nov 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ang Lee Says He Should Have Made "Hulk" More Fun

Posted: November 20th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ang Lee Says He Should Have Made "Hulk" More FunSubmit Comment
During an interview with NY Mag, director Ang Lee spoke about CG and how working on "Hulk" gave him enough experience and confidence to take on "Life of Pi." He went on to mention some things he wishes he did differently on "Hulk."

"I learned quite a bit about CG from 'Hulk,' and I wouldn't have been able to do 'Life of Pi' without that," he said. "But it's easier to create an animal, because there exists a good reference - so a tiger or a hyena is easier than a 2,000-pound rage monster. My problem is that I took the whole thing too seriously. I should have had more fun with it, instead of all the psychodrama."

"Hulk" went on to gross $245 million globally on a $137 million budget. It also has an unimpressive 62% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes. But Edward Norton's "The Incredible Hulk" didn't perform much better. It grossed $263 million on a $150 million budget, and has a 67% fresh rating.

Source: NY Mag


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 7:12:02 AM

What a character! It took him a little long to figure that out.

HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 7:29:56 AM

I thought Norton's version of the Hulk was much more fun and would have loved to see a sequel.

Instead I get Battleship, the movie.
Kurskij writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:01:09 AM

I liked the original more. Third act dragged, but it was a good movie.

Aside from the cast, "Incredible Hulk" was a f*cking nonsense.
sherv writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:02:02 AM

Total loved nortons hulk but I'm a massive hulk fan so I'm pretty biased.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:02:28 AM

Don't make the Hulk sad. You won't like him when he's sad.

trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:14:20 AM

Just be glad he didn't have the Hulk making out with another dude
beepboop writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:20:02 AM

the psychodrama was the thing that made the movie better than all those awful spiderman, electra and whatshisface comicbook movies of that time.

even now we only have iron man1, the avengers and the nolan batmans that aren't trash. the rest remains bad.
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:20:19 AM

Nick Nolte looked like his mugshot in that movie.
Rambo writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:41:10 AM

@Kurskij

I agree.Ang Lee's version was superior...the remake was just a messy action flick without any point.
pornfly writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:42:40 AM

Welcome back HORRORJUNKIE
same here
pornfly writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:46:46 AM

Ultimate Destruction was a cool game
Fightclub1 writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 10:05:07 AM

The remake was far more better than that piece of garbage hulk was. That movie was god awful
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 10:55:24 AM

And BadChad could care less.
KillerCOck writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 11:18:51 AM

His movie was great. All he had 2 do was make a bad ass action scene in stead of the one we got with the dogs and a better climax battle with his dad.

Hulk could've been a Masterpiece.
jdl107 writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 11:25:51 AM

The CONCEPT was superior, but the execution and flat-out irritating boring nature of "Hulk" made it almost virtually unwatchable. Yeah we're all happy you went mature with it, but that's also what f*cking killed it.
bandolero999 writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 11:52:42 AM

this guy is in shape:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=endscreen&v=7PGaYrwAV50&NR=1

I like the first Hulk,thought Bana did a great job.but only seen it once.
Stapes writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 12:42:38 PM

Right, what really happened he watched the avengers and said "oh, thats how you do that."
Džeko writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 12:59:58 PM

Well duh.
bane writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 1:05:48 PM

well he tried to give HULK some drama
and the marvel boys
can't jerk off to serious drama
we all know that
speaking of little boys...
did the Elmo puppeteer get jail yet :)
FBO writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 1:28:16 PM

Norton's Hulk was better hands down. Mainly because the acting. I think Norton and Tyler did much better than Bana and Connelly in their respective roles. And believe you me I am not a huge Liv Tyler fan and even though I like Norton's movies, I hear he's a huge jackass to work with.

The Hulk, by the way, almost seems like a prequel to Brokeback Mountain, doesn't it?
FBO writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 1:29:35 PM

@ Stapes - Right?! Lol
minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 1:48:17 PM

Who the hell is he kidding? A tiger is easier to do in CGI than a tiger? Are you f*cking KIDDING ME? All these years and he still doesn't f*cking get it.

What's The Hulk? A really large naked man. That's it. All you have to do is get his skin and anatomy right.

A tiger, much harder. f*cking hair is a drag on the system, even with modern rendering configs.

And then you have to animate the entire setup, which means all those strands have to respond to dynamic changes in animation.

And that's after you've modeled the damn thing's anatomy.

Dude's totally clueless. Just stick to making bullsh*t no one wants to watch, like your Hulk, which is one of the worst comic book movies ever made. Probably the only movie that has ever given me a headache at the same time it put me to sleep.
minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 1:48:46 PM

...than a man...
Attos writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 2:01:34 PM

He should had fired his casting director instead. Both of the recent Hulk movies were pretty lacking in all areas. It wasn't until The Avengers that I was finally happy with the Hulk in a film. (Especially since Norton wasn't around forcing his dumbass opinions on everyone or rewriting half of the lines.) Mark Ruffalo did a pretty damn good job in my opinion, and I'm glad they based Hulk's looks on Ruffalo (better than any attempts to do the same in the last two) and let him do all of the motion capture.

I'd really like to see him headlining his own Hulk movie. I do wish they would give up letting Lou Ferrigno do the voice for Hulk though. I get it, he was "the" Hulk, and even letting him reprise the voice once was a nice gesture, but give it up already.
hoohoo3000 writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 2:45:47 PM

Ang Lee says he should have made the Hulk movie more fun. The world responds "no sh*t."
minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 3:13:10 PM

@Velocity: I've left you an update in the thread with that guy who made that boring movie, the one who may or may not direct Star Wars, the one who most assuredly isn't named Matthew Vaughn.


Good luck, kid.
bane writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 3:40:44 PM



is this fake ? ?

http://www.findadeath.com/Deceased/t/Elizabeth_Taylor/liz_taylor_nude.jpg
minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 4:04:24 PM

^^No, knucklehead.
pornfly writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 4:16:25 PM

XD
Rambo writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 5:10:05 PM

@bane

very good post.that's more like it.more random nude pictures and less pointless bad quality cam links.
minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 5:15:46 PM

And no more blatant spoilers, chowderhead.
Rambo writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 5:41:22 PM

so anyone seen a good movie lately?nothing attractive on the cinema right now,twatlight is everywhere.
MANGOMANIAC writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 6:02:30 PM

Your loss then ang

Who the f*ck is avimarga on wp fb page !?? Listen f*cker don't ever associate Bullit and me again GRR!!!!!
Stapes writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 6:27:23 PM

Wreck it ralph was entertaining, rambo.
Stapes writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 6:28:45 PM

Can anyone tell me if cloud atlas was as bad as it looks.
MANGOMANIAC writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 6:37:04 PM

Nobody likes u cos u are a c*nt
Rambo writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 6:45:56 PM

@stapes

thanks...regarding cloud atlas,haven't seen it yet but from all the reviews i read it's a love or hate film..very mixed opinions..
Attos writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 6:57:36 PM

"Nobody likes u cos u are a c*nt"

I feel like I'm missing half of a conversation here...
And Mango appears to be missing half of the letters on his keyboard. Just like every teenage girl with a phone.

Thank you, public education. You've given us so much.
minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 7:04:35 PM

"Who the f*ck is avimarga on wp fb page !??"

You, obviously, you ugly stupid simple-minded f*cked c*nt.
minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 7:13:22 PM

The worstpreviews site needs some moderation. It is obvious users like Minkowski, Ranger, TrailorTrash, BadChad, McQueen and JB all need to go, It makes it Unreadable.
vincere01 writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 7:16:36 PM

Lawrence kasdan, writer of The Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi, reportedly offered the job of writing Star Wars Episode Vii and IX. And everyone said they were gonna suck.....lol
vincere01 writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 7:18:25 PM

On topic though, this
vincere01 writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 7:19:48 PM

Now on topic. This was the only movie to make me literally get up and walk out of. After the 2hrs mark I could take no more.
MANGOMANIAC writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 7:40:05 PM

I do have a Facebook account mink but I assure u that's not me! Also I have never hassled u not feel u or any of the others need to go, just Bullit
Elbow writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:00:11 PM

"well he tried to give HULK some drama
and the marvel boys
can't jerk off to serious drama
we all know that
speaking of little boys...
did the Elmo puppeteer get jail yet :)"


bane, why do your posts so
often grammatically and
structurally resemble an
e.e. c*mmings poem?


minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:17:30 PM

^^Is that a compliment, or an insult?




Buffalo Bill's

defunct

who used to

ride a watersmooth-silver

stallion

and break onetwothreefourfive pigeonsjustlikethat

Jesus



he was a handsome man

and what i want to know is

how do you like your blueeyed boy

Mister Death
minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:45:23 PM

"Don't make me Ang Lee. You wouldn't like me when I'm Ang Lee."


Prefect critical synopsis to the film in question.
Mudders writes:
on November 22nd, 2012 at 7:11:44 PM

"Ang Lee Says He Should Have Made "Hulk" More Fun"

Mudders Says He Should Have Never Made "Hulk" At All

It's Official! Channing Tatum to Star in "Gambit" Spin-Off

Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team

Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot

Christopher Nolan Hates Post-Credits Scenes, Here's Why

"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed

Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"

Margot Robbie is Harley Quinn in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film

Jared Leto May Play The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy

"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved