WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
North Korea Files Complaint with UN to Stop Release of Seth Rogen's "The Interview"
Jul 10th, 2014
New Teaser Video For "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Jul 10th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro to Make Small, Black and White Film Before "Pacific Rim 2"
Jul 10th, 2014
First Look: Ian McKellen as Sherlock Holmes in "Mr. Holmes" Film
Jul 9th, 2014
Extended Clip From Scarlett Johansson's "Lucy" Action Thriller
Jul 9th, 2014
Alec Baldwin is Head of CIA in "Mission: Impossible 5"
Jul 9th, 2014
Gus Van Sant Replaces Shane Black as Director of "Death Note"
Jul 9th, 2014
Trailer for Christian Bale's "Exodus: Gods and Kings," Directed by Ridley Scott
Jul 9th, 2014
Disney Hires "Transformers" Writer for Live-Action "Dumbo" Movie
Jul 9th, 2014
Ridley Scott is Developing Another Biblical Film, About King David
Jul 9th, 2014
Extended Trailer for Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Jul 8th, 2014
Mel Gibson Discusses a Return to Directing
Jul 8th, 2014
First Look: Don Cheadle is Miles Davis in "Miles Ahead" Biopic
Jul 8th, 2014
New Trailer for "Sharknado 2: The Second One"
Jul 8th, 2014
Trailer for Ben Affleck's "Gone Girl" Thriller is Here!
Jul 7th, 2014
"Superman Returns" Star Brandon Routh Joins "Arrow" as The Atom
Jul 7th, 2014
Trailer for Sylvester Stallone's "Reach Me" Drama
Jul 7th, 2014
"Transformers: Age of Extinction" Still Dominating at Box Office
Jul 7th, 2014
Guy Pearce Explains Why He Initially Turned Down "Iron Man 3" Role
Jul 7th, 2014
Trailer for "Young Ones" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Nicholas Hoult
Jul 7th, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Adds Two More Actors
Jul 7th, 2014
Four New Posters for Ben Affleck's "Gone Girl" Thriller
Jul 7th, 2014
Kevin Smith Wrote Fake "Batman v Superman" Script and Then Leaked It Online?
Jul 5th, 2014
Stephen Amell Won't Play "Arrow" in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 5th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg to Star in "The Six Million Dollar Man" Sci-Fi Film?
Jul 5th, 2014
Peter Jackson Says "The Hobbit 3" Teaser Trailer is Coming Soon
Jul 4th, 2014
First Photos From "Max Steel" Sci-Fi Film
Jul 4th, 2014
Trailer for Jimi Hendrix Biopic "Jimi: All is By My Side," with Andre Benjamin
Jul 4th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Discusses "Pacific Rim" Sequel
Jul 4th, 2014
Trailer for Selena Gomez's "Behaving Badly" Comedy
Jul 4th, 2014
First Look at Superman From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"!
Jul 4th, 2014
First Look at Sacha Baron Cohen From "Grimsby" Comedy
Jul 3rd, 2014
Photos From Kristen Stewart's "Camp X-Ray" Guantanamo Bay Drama
Jul 3rd, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ang Lee Says He Should Have Made "Hulk" More Fun

Posted: November 20th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ang Lee Says He Should Have Made "Hulk" More FunSubmit Comment
During an interview with NY Mag, director Ang Lee spoke about CG and how working on "Hulk" gave him enough experience and confidence to take on "Life of Pi." He went on to mention some things he wishes he did differently on "Hulk."

"I learned quite a bit about CG from 'Hulk,' and I wouldn't have been able to do 'Life of Pi' without that," he said. "But it's easier to create an animal, because there exists a good reference - so a tiger or a hyena is easier than a 2,000-pound rage monster. My problem is that I took the whole thing too seriously. I should have had more fun with it, instead of all the psychodrama."

"Hulk" went on to gross $245 million globally on a $137 million budget. It also has an unimpressive 62% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes. But Edward Norton's "The Incredible Hulk" didn't perform much better. It grossed $263 million on a $150 million budget, and has a 67% fresh rating.

Source: NY Mag


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 7:12:02 AM

What a character! It took him a little long to figure that out.

HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 7:29:56 AM

I thought Norton's version of the Hulk was much more fun and would have loved to see a sequel.

Instead I get Battleship, the movie.
Kurskij writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:01:09 AM

I liked the original more. Third act dragged, but it was a good movie.

Aside from the cast, "Incredible Hulk" was a f*cking nonsense.
sherv writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:02:02 AM

Total loved nortons hulk but I'm a massive hulk fan so I'm pretty biased.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:02:28 AM

Don't make the Hulk sad. You won't like him when he's sad.

trailertrash writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:14:20 AM

Just be glad he didn't have the Hulk making out with another dude
beepboop writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:20:02 AM

the psychodrama was the thing that made the movie better than all those awful spiderman, electra and whatshisface comicbook movies of that time.

even now we only have iron man1, the avengers and the nolan batmans that aren't trash. the rest remains bad.
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:20:19 AM

Nick Nolte looked like his mugshot in that movie.
Rambo writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:41:10 AM

@Kurskij

I agree.Ang Lee's version was superior...the remake was just a messy action flick without any point.
pornfly writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:42:40 AM

Welcome back HORRORJUNKIE
same here
pornfly writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:46:46 AM

Ultimate Destruction was a cool game
Fightclub1 writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 10:05:07 AM

The remake was far more better than that piece of garbage hulk was. That movie was god awful
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 10:55:24 AM

And BadChad could care less.
KillerCOck writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 11:18:51 AM

His movie was great. All he had 2 do was make a bad ass action scene in stead of the one we got with the dogs and a better climax battle with his dad.

Hulk could've been a Masterpiece.
jdl107 writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 11:25:51 AM

The CONCEPT was superior, but the execution and flat-out irritating boring nature of "Hulk" made it almost virtually unwatchable. Yeah we're all happy you went mature with it, but that's also what f*cking killed it.
bandolero999 writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 11:52:42 AM

this guy is in shape:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=endscreen&v=7PGaYrwAV50&NR=1

I like the first Hulk,thought Bana did a great job.but only seen it once.
Stapes writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 12:42:38 PM

Right, what really happened he watched the avengers and said "oh, thats how you do that."
Džeko writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 12:59:58 PM

Well duh.
bane writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 1:05:48 PM

well he tried to give HULK some drama
and the marvel boys
can't jerk off to serious drama
we all know that
speaking of little boys...
did the Elmo puppeteer get jail yet :)
FBO writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 1:28:16 PM

Norton's Hulk was better hands down. Mainly because the acting. I think Norton and Tyler did much better than Bana and Connelly in their respective roles. And believe you me I am not a huge Liv Tyler fan and even though I like Norton's movies, I hear he's a huge jackass to work with.

The Hulk, by the way, almost seems like a prequel to Brokeback Mountain, doesn't it?
FBO writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 1:29:35 PM

@ Stapes - Right?! Lol
minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 1:48:17 PM

Who the hell is he kidding? A tiger is easier to do in CGI than a tiger? Are you f*cking KIDDING ME? All these years and he still doesn't f*cking get it.

What's The Hulk? A really large naked man. That's it. All you have to do is get his skin and anatomy right.

A tiger, much harder. f*cking hair is a drag on the system, even with modern rendering configs.

And then you have to animate the entire setup, which means all those strands have to respond to dynamic changes in animation.

And that's after you've modeled the damn thing's anatomy.

Dude's totally clueless. Just stick to making bullsh*t no one wants to watch, like your Hulk, which is one of the worst comic book movies ever made. Probably the only movie that has ever given me a headache at the same time it put me to sleep.
minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 1:48:46 PM

...than a man...
Attos writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 2:01:34 PM

He should had fired his casting director instead. Both of the recent Hulk movies were pretty lacking in all areas. It wasn't until The Avengers that I was finally happy with the Hulk in a film. (Especially since Norton wasn't around forcing his dumbass opinions on everyone or rewriting half of the lines.) Mark Ruffalo did a pretty damn good job in my opinion, and I'm glad they based Hulk's looks on Ruffalo (better than any attempts to do the same in the last two) and let him do all of the motion capture.

I'd really like to see him headlining his own Hulk movie. I do wish they would give up letting Lou Ferrigno do the voice for Hulk though. I get it, he was "the" Hulk, and even letting him reprise the voice once was a nice gesture, but give it up already.
hoohoo3000 writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 2:45:47 PM

Ang Lee says he should have made the Hulk movie more fun. The world responds "no sh*t."
minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 3:13:10 PM

@Velocity: I've left you an update in the thread with that guy who made that boring movie, the one who may or may not direct Star Wars, the one who most assuredly isn't named Matthew Vaughn.


Good luck, kid.
bane writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 3:40:44 PM



is this fake ? ?

http://www.findadeath.com/Deceased/t/Elizabeth_Taylor/liz_taylor_nude.jpg
minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 4:04:24 PM

^^No, knucklehead.
pornfly writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 4:16:25 PM

XD
Rambo writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 5:10:05 PM

@bane

very good post.that's more like it.more random nude pictures and less pointless bad quality cam links.
minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 5:15:46 PM

And no more blatant spoilers, chowderhead.
Rambo writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 5:41:22 PM

so anyone seen a good movie lately?nothing attractive on the cinema right now,twatlight is everywhere.
MANGOMANIAC writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 6:02:30 PM

Your loss then ang

Who the f*ck is avimarga on wp fb page !?? Listen f*cker don't ever associate Bullit and me again GRR!!!!!
Stapes writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 6:27:23 PM

Wreck it ralph was entertaining, rambo.
Stapes writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 6:28:45 PM

Can anyone tell me if cloud atlas was as bad as it looks.
MANGOMANIAC writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 6:37:04 PM

Nobody likes u cos u are a c*nt
Rambo writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 6:45:56 PM

@stapes

thanks...regarding cloud atlas,haven't seen it yet but from all the reviews i read it's a love or hate film..very mixed opinions..
Attos writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 6:57:36 PM

"Nobody likes u cos u are a c*nt"

I feel like I'm missing half of a conversation here...
And Mango appears to be missing half of the letters on his keyboard. Just like every teenage girl with a phone.

Thank you, public education. You've given us so much.
minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 7:04:35 PM

"Who the f*ck is avimarga on wp fb page !??"

You, obviously, you ugly stupid simple-minded f*cked c*nt.
minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 7:13:22 PM

The worstpreviews site needs some moderation. It is obvious users like Minkowski, Ranger, TrailorTrash, BadChad, McQueen and JB all need to go, It makes it Unreadable.
vincere01 writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 7:16:36 PM

Lawrence kasdan, writer of The Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi, reportedly offered the job of writing Star Wars Episode Vii and IX. And everyone said they were gonna suck.....lol
vincere01 writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 7:18:25 PM

On topic though, this
vincere01 writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 7:19:48 PM

Now on topic. This was the only movie to make me literally get up and walk out of. After the 2hrs mark I could take no more.
MANGOMANIAC writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 7:40:05 PM

I do have a Facebook account mink but I assure u that's not me! Also I have never hassled u not feel u or any of the others need to go, just Bullit
Elbow writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:00:11 PM

"well he tried to give HULK some drama
and the marvel boys
can't jerk off to serious drama
we all know that
speaking of little boys...
did the Elmo puppeteer get jail yet :)"


bane, why do your posts so
often grammatically and
structurally resemble an
e.e. c*mmings poem?


minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:17:30 PM

^^Is that a compliment, or an insult?




Buffalo Bill's

defunct

who used to

ride a watersmooth-silver

stallion

and break onetwothreefourfive pigeonsjustlikethat

Jesus



he was a handsome man

and what i want to know is

how do you like your blueeyed boy

Mister Death
minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:45:23 PM

"Don't make me Ang Lee. You wouldn't like me when I'm Ang Lee."


Prefect critical synopsis to the film in question.
Mudders writes:
on November 22nd, 2012 at 7:11:44 PM

"Ang Lee Says He Should Have Made "Hulk" More Fun"

Mudders Says He Should Have Never Made "Hulk" At All

Lindsay Lohan Sues "Grand Theft Auto V" for Using Her Likeness

Warner Bros' Full DC Superhero Plan Revealed?

"Pacific Rim 2" Gets a Release Date, Animated Series in the Works

Mark Ruffalo Says New "Hulk" Film Will NOT Be "Planet Hulk"

Steven Seagal Will Never Join "The Expendables" Franchise, Wonders Why Liam Neeson is in Action Films

Michael Bay Responds to Negative Criticism of "Transformers: Age of Extinction"

Vin Diesel Creating Problems on "Fast and Furious 7" Set

Description of Lex Luthor's Look in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Guy Pearce Comments on "Iron Man 3" Mandarin Twist

Kevin Smith Says Leaked List of Warner Bros' Planned Superhero Films is Correct
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved