WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses Getting "Terminator" Rights Back in 2019
Oct 17th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Says "Pacific Rim 2" Sets Up "Pacific Rim 3"
Oct 17th, 2014
New Trailer For Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Oct 17th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson Offered $10 Million to Star in "Ghost in the Shell"
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer For Chris Rock's "Top Five" Comedy
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Oct 16th, 2014
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in Ron Howard's "Heart of the Sea" Survival Film
Oct 16th, 2014
James Wan May Direct Another "Saw" Film in 2016
Oct 16th, 2014
Channing Tatum Provides "Gambit" Update
Oct 16th, 2014
Christian Bale in Talks to Star in Steve Jobs Biopic
Oct 16th, 2014
New Teaser For "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 16th, 2014
Warner Bros Announces "The Flash," "Aquaman," "Justice League" and "Green Lantern" Movies
Oct 16th, 2014
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's "Dying of the Light" Thriller
Oct 16th, 2014
Edward Norton Says Today's Movies are Just As Good as Films From 1960s
Oct 15th, 2014
Photos: Michael Douglas is Hank Pym on "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 15th, 2014
Javier Bardem in Talks to Play Main Villain in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Oct 15th, 2014
Trailer: Katie Holmes Kills Lots of People in "Miss Meadows"
Oct 15th, 2014
Ninth Character Poster For "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies," Features Bilbo Baggins Again
Oct 15th, 2014
New "Jurassic World" Poster Arrives Online
Oct 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Colin Trevorrow Confirms He's in Talks to Direct "Star Wars: Episode 7"

Posted: November 19th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Colin Trevorrow Confirms HeSubmit Comment
Ever since it was announced that Disney is developing a new "Star Wars" trilogy, we've had quotes from some of Hollywood's top directors stating that they are not interested in taking on the franchise.

But one name keeps coming up as someone who is being seriously considered for the job. That name is Colin Trevorrow, who was rumored to have met with George Lucas several months ago about directing "Star Wars: Episode 7." Apparently Lucas loves Trevorrow's "Safety Not Guaranteed," which is his only feature film.

Today, someone found an interview from June in which Trevorrow promotes "Safety Not Guaranteed" and hints at the possibly of directing a "Star Wars" installment. He said: "As far as professional life, I can't speak with any specificity as to what the next thing will be. There are amazing opportunities that have arisen as a result of this. One of them will probably create a great deal of ire against me on the Internet when people find out what it is. So, I just want to say in advance that I promise you, for all of those who love the mythology that I will be tackling, trust that I love it as much as you do. And I will respect it, and hopefully make it not suck."

In a separate interview, he specifically discussed the responsibility of directing a new "Star Wars" film. "I am deeply aware of how incredibly important ['Star Wars'] is for billions of people," he said. "I can not comment on what my involvement would be, but I can definitely say that I would love to direct a 'Star Wars' movie at some point in my life. It would be incredible."

Source: Moviezine, MacGuffin


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 58 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Quidd writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 7:50:57 AM

Who? Notice how all the respected directors that make good films are turning down the offer cause they do not want to taint a series that should be left alone to begin with. What's with studios now a days hiring dramatic/boring filmmakers to direct action flicks(i.e. Marc Foster/Quantum of Solace, Marc Webb/Amazing Spider Man).
Taco writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 8:02:55 AM

^^ maybe it's just directors named Marc?
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 8:20:43 AM

Colin Trevorrow may remind Lucas of him when he was younger and this is why he is recommending him for Ep VII. Lucas only made American Graffiti and THX-1138 before he did Star Wars and maybe he thinks a young director that made an independent film like he did beforehand would be an ideal choice.
cress writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 8:28:43 AM

My theory as to why he may be considered: Episode 7 will have a female protagonist. A New Hope had Luke, Phantom Menace had Anakin, this one will be a girl. Safety Not Guaranteed essentially was Aubrey Plaza's film. Maybe Lucas wants someone who can tell a story with a strong female lead. But he would be my last choice to helm a big-budget scifi film, especially with only one film under his belt.
Rambo writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 8:49:34 AM

'safety not guaranteed' was nice but he's not the man for the job.
Stapes writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 9:38:10 AM

Im on board with this. Loved safety and believe this guy can make star wars not suck.
SergioFX writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 9:41:08 AM

I WILL BITCH AND BITCH ABOUT THIS STUPID MOVIE BEING DONE, BUT OF COURSE WHEN IT WILL BE RELEASED, I WILL BE FIRST IN LINE TO SEE IT!

DAMN DISNEY ALWAYS STEALING MY MONEY!
Avirex writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 9:59:54 AM

Riiiiight.

f*ck this movie.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 10:00:58 AM

I just want story details.
buttabean writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 10:27:49 AM

The studios want a director they can control. A no name is the best way. I guarantee this will be generic poop
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 10:36:54 AM

"hopefully make it not suck."

Well that convinced me...give'im the job (end sarcasm here).

GTFOH!!
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 11:54:41 AM

Joe Carnahan would be a solid choice. NARC, Smokin' Aces, The A-Team, and The Grey are all good movies and 3 of them have ensemble casts.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 1:11:05 PM

SW Episode 7 a.k.a. Will It Suck Not Guaranteed
freepass76 writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 2:36:50 PM

STAR WARS - ESPISODE 7 "QUALITY NOT GUARANTEED"
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 2:53:47 PM

Just going by the retarded time machine in "Safety Not Guaranteed" I'm nervous for Episode 7. The f*cking time machine looked like something from Back to the Future III. It was so lame. I thought the movie was decent. Aubrey Plaza was fun to watch and it was mildly entertaining... until they actually boarded a time machine boat.
velocityknown writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 3:23:06 PM

Saftey Not Guaranteed was great and those of you who are complaining about the time machine in it have to realize that he's not going to direct Star Wars on a $750,000 budget (yes that was the budget for SNG).

velocityknown writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 3:26:03 PM

Also

a) It won't be any worse than any of the prequels

b) Irvin Kershner was not a world-renowned director and he still made the best Star Wars movie in the original trilogy.

Trevorrow would be a good choice. Disney isn't looking to f*ck this up. Look what they did with the Marvel property, they're going to make something that fans can enjoy.
cress writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 3:57:26 PM

@velocity. Safety Not Guaranteed was good, but that doesn't mean he would be a good choice to direct this. Look at Marc Webb for example, indie director who made a splash with a romantic comedy(500 Days of Summer) as well. Sony hands them the keys to Spiderman and he was completely out of his league to direct it. His direction of action scenes had no finesse, no creativity, no competence to them. Very amateurish. I'm afraid that's what Trevorrow would bring to Star Wars.
velocityknown writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 4:13:05 PM

I'll agree with you on Spider-Man as I did hate it quite a bit. However, you can't judge all independent directors based on their one big feature. Sam Mendes' big directorial debut was American Beauty and he just directed the best action film of the year.
struck21 writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 4:16:53 PM

If they aren't going to get someone like Abrahms, who I would love to see direct this, then get the guys from redlettermedia.com. Their review of Episode 1-3 were spot on with what was wrong with movies and would know what to do right. At this point, unless Disney pulls somethung out of left field we don't see, I am expecting a disaster.
minkowski writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 4:17:15 PM

Didn't care for Safety. Not sure why the hell Disney is even looking at this guy. The story was stupid, the acting was lame, and the delivery of the ending was absolutely underwhelming. Dude didn't even try to hire some free CGI talent off CL to finish the film, which would have been vastly better than the lightning-lawnmower we got instead.

Maybe Lucas sees himself in this guy. Hell if I know, but I hope like hell Disney isn't listening to George at this point, because they paid him his blood money, so he needs to f*ck right off. Not like he's done the franchise any good since 1999, or since RoTJ came out.





"Saftey Not Guaranteed was great and those of you who are complaining about the time machine in it have to realize that he's not going to direct Star Wars on a $750,000 budget (yes that was the budget for SNG)"

Please, Velocity. He could have hired some CGI artists for free to do better than what we saw. He could have said, look I can't pay you anything, but your name will be on an actual commercial film. he would have had some good talent lined up out the door, but instead, he budgeted low-ball for "professional" work and got crumbs for it. Stupid.


They need to hire someone who has proven themselves, someone who has shown they're competent and skilled with the prerequisite material.

Someone like Neill Blomkamp.

Durrrrr.
minkowski writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 4:21:49 PM

"Sam Mendes' big directorial debut was American Beauty"

American Beauty is a masterpiece of modern liberal film-making compared to Safety, which was a bland, boring, poorly constructed, silly film in comparison.

They think the guy is a spy, so they just send two spooks to tail every so often? LMAO. Maybe if it was 1948, but now? They'd have dragged his ass in and interrogated him in a heartbeat.

And of course the spooks LOOK like spooks, and of course they drive a generic spookmobile too.

Retarded writing, poor acting, lazy visuals. And just stupid. Like that chick would EVER get down with the nutjob retard with the one ear.


There's fantasy, and then there's pure nonsense, and Safety is just that. Nonsense.

And calling it sci-fi is a total insult to the genre, btw.
cress writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 4:56:04 PM

Yeah mink, SNG was nonsense but it had a certain charm to it for me, a rom-com piece of fluff. Plaza falling for the guy didn't make sense, but it didn't need to because from the outset you could tell the filmmakers weren't going to take their premise too seriously. After it was revealed that he lied about
his ex-girlfriend being dead, it seemed they tried to
wrap it up quickly, with no explanation for his
motivations. And the sub-plot involving her boss
and the ex he banged was left in an unsatisfying
manner. The ending was retarded and unsatisfying, but the film better than expected.
sdpepper writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 5:00:38 PM

As long as they have an awesome story I'm pretty sure Disney is going to get this done and make us Star Wars fans very happy.

With all the rumors out there who really knows who is going to direct it, who will star in it and what the story will be about.

IMO I hope to God that they keep it consistant with the books or my collection of 200+ means nothing.

Han and Leia have twins and two of them are dead. Luke gets married, has a son and then his nephew kills his wife who is later killed by his twin sister.

In the books this is a great story arc but can they weave this story into movies?

Only time will tell.......
velocityknown writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 5:03:52 PM

Agree to disagree on Safety. The whole conversation is pointless now though:

https://twitter.com/colintrevorrow/status/270370868364988418

Let the speculation continue.
velocityknown writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 5:05:06 PM

Also, I wasn't comparing SNG and American Beauty in terms of quality, but in terms of they are not the type of films from which you would expect the director to go on to directing an action-thriller, big budget movie.
velocityknown writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 5:07:09 PM

I think we're going to be hearing Matthew Vaughn's name very soon.
minkowski writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 5:16:01 PM

Uh, correct me if I'm wrong, but didn't we already read that Vaughn said he was not being considered, and more importantly, isn't interested because he's doing another movie altogether?

http://www.aintitcool.com/node/59505
Rambo writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 5:29:12 PM

there are things more important then who's directing it such as script,casting etc. 'empire strikes back' and 'return of the jedi' were directed by 2 directors who haven't become big names in years to come but still both are considered the best(along with new hope)in the franchise.
The best director in Hollywood will not be able to make someone like hayden christiansen a good actor,that was just a mistake from the beginning which ruined(Along with the dumb script)the latest trilogy.
Rambo writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 5:31:45 PM

who can forget this scene?what great acting...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pfevBIsVG1o&feature=related
velocityknown writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 5:56:50 PM

I'll believe that Vaughn is directing Secret Service over Star Wars when I hear it from him. Millar is notoriously loud mouthed when it comes to speculating on his upcoming projects. Most sources are pointing to Vaughn being Disney's top choice and that's just as reliable as Mark Millar so I wouldn't rule Vaughn out just yet.
minkowski writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 6:03:53 PM

"most sources" means loud-mouthed rumor-mongering morons on the internet interjecting their wild ideas and theories into the business of other people.

Not referring to you, Velocity, but if you do a Google search for "Vaughn Star Wars", you get a huge f*cking echo chamber of essentially the same damned rumor, spread across the 'net like a viral disease.


To wit: there is ZERO fact behind speculation Vaughn left X-Men for Star Wars. Zero.



*Believe* what you want.
sedibus writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 6:31:51 PM

Hey, fellas, I'm reading right now the Doc Savage novel The Weird Valley...

xD
velocityknown writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 6:43:30 PM

Mink, I know, my point is that Millar is no more credible than mystery sources and I'm not ready to believe that Vaughn is on board with Secret Service until I hear it from him or his rep. If Vaughn is in fact committed to SS however, this changes things a bit and my guess is we'd be looking at Disney pursuing Favreau or trying to talk Blomkamp away from his personal projects.
minkowski writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 7:00:11 PM

"who can forget this scene?what great acting..."

My impression on that one...not the acting, but the ATROCIOUS dialogue. I think Hayden did pretty well emoting, but the lines, my god, who wrote that trash?
minkowski writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 7:02:10 PM

"*Cuaron. Damn, AICN, give us the ability to EDIT!"

http://www.aintitcool.com/node/59505

HAHAHAHAHAHA! AICN dorks can't edit either!
minkowski writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 7:08:05 PM

"Mink, I know, my point is that Millar is no more credible than mystery sources and I'm not ready to believe that Vaughn is on board with Secret Service until I hear it from him or his rep"

In other words, you refuse to trust the word of world-famous comic book author Mark Millar, who has been involved in numerous films up til now, andf instead you'll happily indulge and believe the word of random, anonymous people over the internet, people who probably can't even locate Japan on a map?

Or in even *other* words, you want this Vaughn-Star Wars rumor to be true so bad, for whatever hard-to-comprehend reason, you'd rather simply believe in a situation that clearly lacks any factual basis, over the alternative, an alternative buttressed by the testimony of one of the world's most acclaimed comic book authors and comic book film sources?




Come on now, don't lie to me, Velocity. You voted for Obama, didn't you?
minkowski writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 7:23:44 PM

RE: North by Northwest

MGM tried to persuade Alfred Hitchc*ck to use their Ultra-Panavision system which utilized a 65mm negative with a slight anamorphic squeeze. When projected, the image would be free of grain and quite wide. Hitchc*ck reportedly balked at using this large format, and instead insisted on going with Vistavision which was the format used in several of his Paramount productions. Going with Ultra-Panavision would have meant Bernard Herrmann's score would have been heard in magnetic stereo. The Vistavision prints utilized optical mono sound. Ironic that the version shown now has an entirely new soundtrack mixed in stereo.


Really stupid, Hitchc*ck.
velocityknown writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 7:23:57 PM

Mink

First of all, yeah, I did. Not that it matters on a movie news website.

Second of all, I don't know why you're trying to pin me as desperate to believe that Vaughn is involved when all I've said is that I'll believe he's not involved when I hear it from him. Just like I did with Brad Bird and Colin Trevorrow. I have no attachment to Vaughn directing it and if you'll read what you posted you'll also see that Millar never said that Vaughn is not directing Star Wars, just that he is directing Secret Service. Secret Service could take a few years to get financing (which would be easier with the director of Star Wars behind it) or it could be a targeted quick turnaround with Vaughn getting it out of the way next year, hopping straight to Star Wars in 2014 to have it ready for a 2015 summer release.

Like I said, I have no attachment to any of this, all I've said is that the rumors that Vaughn is directing aren't any less credible that Millar saying Vaughn is directing Secret Service if for nothing else than there's no official deal on either and Vaughn hasn't commented on either. All I'm doing is NOT ruling Vaughn out because of a film Millar said he was going to direct. Once again, Millar said nothing about Vaughn NOT directing Star Wars.
minkowski writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 7:52:24 PM

*sigh*

Whatever.

It's the thinking.

Why would you think, believe, whatever someone is doing something unless they say otherwise?


That's the question.


It's totally irrational.


It would be like me thinking my neighbor is a Satan worshiper, with absolutely zero evidence, right up until he, this neighbor, says otherwise.

I can't explain it any better than that.

It's just just a bogus thought process, thinking, believing in something, that has no factual basis, until is proven wrong.

Reminds me of people believing in God, or Bigfoot, or alien abductions, except all of those are at least supported by more than baseless internet rumor-mongering.


Alas, this is the internet, the place where rational thought goes to die screaming, motherf*cker.

minkowski writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 7:55:30 PM

"Once again, Millar said nothing about Vaughn NOT directing Star Wars."

And he didn't say he WAS directing it either, but he DID say Vaughn was caught up working on Millar's next project for a while, which, with a 2015 release date, would kind of preclude Vaughn being available for Disney's Star Wars, which I can imagine would be a rather demanding contract...




Again, it all comes down to believing what you want, the known facts be damned.
minkowski writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 7:59:01 PM

"First of all, yeah, I did. Not that it matters on a movie news website."


No, but liberals tend to think emotionally, not rationally, not objectively, whereas more moderate people think more sensibly.

You're young, though. It all work itself out I'm sure.

Just hope there's an America waiting for ya'...
minkowski writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 8:03:24 PM

"just that he is directing Secret Service. Secret Service could take a few years to get financing (which would be easier with the director of Star Wars behind it) or it could be a targeted quick turnaround with Vaughn getting it out of the way next year, hopping straight to Star Wars in 2014 to have it ready for a 2015 summer release."

So you think Secret Service will get made either AFTER 2015, or well BEFORE 2015, so that Vaughn can make Star Wars?

Okay.

Why? And by why, I mean, upon what facts do you base this line of thinking?

I mean, sure he could, I guess, but then again, perhaps Tony Scott could be re-animated by super-secret CIA science, brought back from the dead just to make Star Wars, right?

It could happen. Nothing factual says it couldn't. Hell, it's not even scientifically impossible if they froze his body. Nothing factual says it will happen either, but hell, I'm an imaginative guy. I'm going to entertain and indulge the possibility because it sounds good to me.
minkowski writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 8:15:57 PM

"First of all, yeah, I did. Not that it matters on a movie news website."


It does matter when we're talking about a lack of critical thinking skills, and people your age, judging from what I see, and from the fact you and your ilk, voted for Obama in overwhelming numbers, seem to lack those skills.

Nothing more, my friend.
minkowski writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 9:40:04 PM

*whistling past the graveyard*
velocityknown writes:
on November 19th, 2012 at 10:12:11 PM

Haha Jesus dude, how many times do I have to say that I'm speculating what could happen based on the information we have?

I'm irrational? Okay, let's look back over your posts and witness your random need to make it seem like I'm a Vaughn fanboy who can't stand the thought of him not directing this film. I've never said, "I believe Matthew Vaughn will direct this and you can't tell me otherwise." I've said, I will believe that he is out of the running when I hear him say it. Not for any reason other than going by the process of elimination. I didn't have any attachment to Bird or Trevorrow, but I wasn't going to rule them out until THEY said otherwise.

And I'm comfortable with the state of the country. If someone like you can find a way to keep paying his internet/electricity bills, then I feel like things are going pretty well.
Shogo1307 writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 2:24:40 AM

How can Ep 7 have a female protagonist if its not based off the Zahn books? Mara Jade should be the focus and the relationship between her and luke, but i dont see how that can happen with them being so old. If anything it should be after the twins and all are born Ben Skywalker is born, Jayce goes bad and Ben kills him.
minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 3:11:58 PM

"Haha Jesus dude, how many times do I have to say that I'm speculating what could happen based on the information we have?"

Yes, wunderkind, speculation based on zero actual information, using wishful thinking instead, is irrational. In fact, it's pretty much the definition of the word.

Per Wiki, although I can find plent other sources:

"It is more specifically described as an action or opinion given through inadequate use of reason"

www.wikipedia.com/Irrationality

Inadequate use of reason. Exactly.



As for everything else you said: bah. Vaughn's not directing Star Wars. You're *wrong*. Get over it.

Even worse? I never used the words "fan boy". Yet you claim I did, which goes back to what i said about you being irrational. You can't even argue without making up sh*t.

I'm done, and so are you. You lost. Have a nice week.
velocityknown writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 3:41:10 PM

Hah, sure, dude. Keep telling yourself that. If declaring yourself the winner of an argument that you started on a website comments section makes you feel good, more power to you. I don't need meaningless "victories" or whatever you want to call it. My life isn't that sad.
minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 5:08:02 PM

Your life isn't sad? And yet you sit around hoping some comic-book director you've never met will direct the next installment of the classical film incarnation of a nerd's wettest dream.

Yeah, you'd have to have a life to say it's sad, right?
velocityknown writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 6:00:24 PM

I can't believe how many times I've had to say this:

Don't give a sh*t if Vaughn directs Star Wars. Kind of liked First Class and Kick-Ass, not my favorite films. I even said earlier, Favreau and Blomkamp should be other possibilities for Disney to consider. No attachment to Vaughn.

Here is what I've said about Vaughn:

"I think we're going to be hearing Matthew Vaughn's name very soon."

Not said in regards to naming him the official director, in terms of he's the next name people are going to wonder the most about. Just like it was Bird and then it was Trevorrow.

"sources are pointing to Vaughn being Disney's top choice and that's just as reliable as Mark Millar so I wouldn't rule Vaughn out just yet."

Did not say, "It's Vaughn and you're f*cking wrong if you don't believe it!" Would not rule him out yet. All I said.

"If Vaughn is in fact committed to SS however, this changes things a bit and my guess is we'd be looking at Disney pursuing Favreau or trying to talk Blomkamp away from his personal projects."

Does that statement show any personal attachment to Vaughn? No, it shows that many have said that Vaughn is high on Disney's directing choices list. If Vaughn doesn't want to do it, then that would take their options down even further assuming we started with Bird, Vaughn, Trevorrow, Favreau, Abrams, and Spielberg (the last two are a stretch, but they've at least come out and said they wouldn't do it). I did not say, "I really hope Vaughn does it or else they'll have to go after those other two sh*tty directors. Go Vaughn!"

Please join us in reality and have a reasonable discussion for once in your life.
minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 6:33:03 PM

Let's re-examine the facts, okay?

This is a Star Wars thread. This is a thread about who is directing the next Star Wars. Not about asparagus, not about opium in Afghanistan.

Star. Wars.

And you said:

"I think we're going to be hearing Matthew Vaughn's name very soon."

The only implication, then, is that you think Matthew Vaughn will either be named as the official Star Wars director, or his name will get bandied about as a rumor, or he will be mentioned as a someone Disney is looking at currently.


Now it seems to me you're hiding, desperately, in the generality and ambiguity of your aforementioned comment, as if you weren't suggesting Vaughn would be selected, and I think that's fine, but it sounds like you've been educated by a committee of politicians.

That's the sh*t they do.

Anyway, back to the three possibilities.

I've addressed the first, which I think most of us would agree was you're original inclination, as totally lacking in factual basis, so let's look at the other two.

Well, the second isn't worth mentioning, because rumors are rumors, and not worth discussing imo, because let's face it, on the internet, anyone can make up any old sh*t, throw it up on Facebook, Twitter, Reddit, and it's around the world in a proverbial heartbeat.

The third option...again, Mark Millar has said Vaughn is busy. And Star Wars is set to come out in 2015. That's like 2.5 years from now. I would expect at least 1.8 years for development, especially for a film of such high expectations as Star Wars 7. And Millar has been looking at Secret Service for a while.

So it is reasonable, in lieu of ANY FACTS whatsoever to even suggest the man's name when Millar has already stated Vaughn's busy?

Come on, now, you don't REALLY think there's enough time to do SS between 2013 and 2015 and still direct Star Wars? And you don't REALLY think Vaughn is working right now on SS for, say, a 2017 release date year for SS?

Of course, your fall back position is it's all a lie, a scam. A big conspiracy. Vaughn is really in talks, or is already selected to do Star Wars, and Millar is just lying, because that's what he does, he sits around making up stories for projects to which he has no connection, just so people like yourself can be held in dire suspense.

Who knows? Maybe Vaughn lied to Millar, Maybe Vaughn told him they would make a movie together, but in reality Vaughn has already been hired by Disney, and now Vaughn gets to jump up in Millar's face and scream "fooled ya' sucker!".

Maybe, but probably not.







Again, the facts are, Vaughn, per Millar, is busy, and there's not enough time to do SS and Star wars before 2015, and there's not enough for him to work loosely on SS and then jump to a committed project like Star Wars 7, and there's not a huge likelihood Vaughn is working on SS right now while also looking to do Star Wars 7 while also trying to throw SS out there in half a decade.

None of these possibilities make any sense, given the FACTS, and yet, and yet, you continue to cling to the factually deprived possibility, on what can only be labeled wishfully speculative thinking, and that's what I'm saying.

Try thinking like a scientist some times, okay? I mean, I know they don't teach that skill these days, much, but it's an easy one to master. Just stick to the facts and let your imagination write checks reality can't cash, okay?





"Please join us in reality and have a reasonable discussion for once in your life."

LMAO! Jesus f*cking Christ, is it Orwellian Bizarro Day already? Just look who the f*ck is talking, right? I'm the one telling you you're making up sh*t suggestions with absolutely no factual basis and yet you're the one telling me to "join reality"? LMFAO! Seriously, has pornfly been sharing his sweet stash with you or WHAT?


And the waffling. One minute you ARE suggesting Vaughn will be named, the next you're saying it's only possible, the next you're hiding in the ambiguity of your original statement like a f*cking coward, like a politician, like Mitt Romney. But you voted for Obama....

Man, you're just all colors of the f*cking rainbow confused, huh?
minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 6:35:41 PM

...is it...don't...

An edit button...nah, f*ck it and f*ck you.
minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 6:38:37 PM

And now you'll get all pissy and start throwing out insults about getting laid and having lives and all the other usual kiddy bullsh*t with which I have to contend when a thread doesn't go a poster's way.
minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 6:42:14 PM

"Did not say, "It's Vaughn and you're f*cking wrong if you don't believe it!" Would not rule him out yet. All I said."

*sigh* a total strawman. Because I never said that, just as I NEVER said you were a fan boy, and yet that's how you argue, like a child educated by liberal agitprop.

Put an indefensible position in your opponents mouth and then demand he defend it.



Hey, Velocity, why are you always killing babies? Huh? What's up with that? I heard you kill babies and rape kittens. What kind of sick f*ck are you? huh? What's your defense, baby killer?




God damned publicly educated children.
minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 6:51:13 PM

"Would not rule him out yet. All I said"

No, Velocity, that is NOT what you said.



Here's what you posted:

"I think we're going to be hearing Matthew Vaughn's name very soon."




Now, can ANYONE reading this thread, other than a troll, tell me how the first statement is even remotely equivalent to the second?

Anyone?
mpiper821 writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:26:47 PM

Jesus! Mink, Get a f*cking life! No one really cares.
minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2012 at 8:49:43 PM

I have one, thank you very much, now f*ck off c*cksucker.

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved