WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ben Affleck Struggling with Stephen King's "The Stand" Adaptation

Posted: November 17th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ben Affleck Struggling with Stephen KingSubmit Comment
Warner Bros has been working on a turning Stephen King's "The Stand" into a movie for years. Back in August, David Yates was in talks, but eventually dropped out. And then, just a month ago, Ben Affleck signed on.

In an interview with GQ magazine, Affleck explained how difficult it is to turn such a massive novel (823 pages) into a movie. "Right now we're having a very hard time," he said. "But I like the idea - it's like 'The Lord of the Rings' in America. And it's about how we would reinvent ourselves as a society. If we started all over again, what would we do?"

"The Stand" is a story of good vs evil after a virus wipes out most of the American population. While it features dozens of characters (such as the Trashcan Man and Mother Abigail) and overlapping story lines running over many years, the struggle boils down to a group of survivors fighting the Antichrist-like Randall Flagg.

King recently said that he would love to see Jake Gyllenhaal play the lead, adding that he believes the book should be a trilogy of films.

Source: GQ

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
KillerCOck writes:
on November 16th, 2012 at 11:05:47 PM

I think it'd definitely work better as trilogy but I actually liked the tv movie more than I should've.
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 16th, 2012 at 11:41:36 PM

Yeah this absolutely has to be a trilogy with each one being at least 2.5 hours long to give the story justice and to let it breathe.

Sean Bean would make a great Randall Flagg in this new version.
pornfly writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 12:38:56 AM

Try pushin out three Ben Affleck headed kids
Says his wife

you knew it was a massive story
now make three movies and stop bitchin
Venom1970 writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 3:01:42 AM

The TV movie was very well done, the simple blonde guy was cool :) Year a trilogy and go deeper into the virus.

Agreed DeaftOne Sean Bean gives attitude to anything he does be it good or evil the man has so much movie presence, and gets better with age. I would also bring back Shawnee Smith, she played her part great, with the recent appearances in the Saw Franchise I think she could take that character into a deeper evil place.

Don't personally like Jake Gyllenhaal or his dog ugly sister. As lead I would go more towards someone like Taylor Kitsch who played a very good role imo in Savages.
Venom1970 writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 3:02:09 AM

bandolero999 writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 3:38:14 AM

Jake Gyllenhaal is a sh*te actress
pornfly writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 3:51:06 AM

This movies gonna take 12 years but the Fifty Shades of Gray movies wouldve been on its third spinoff trilogy by then.
McQueen writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 11:43:08 AM

"Jake Gyllenhaal is a sh*te actress"

Not true, he was really good in the End of Watch.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 1:01:48 PM


And he kicked ass in Brothers.

I'd like to see these films, Hurry up Ben!
minkowski writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 1:31:18 PM

Of course you're having a hard time, jackass. You're trying to turn a 1000 page epic book into a single two hour movie.

Either go with a two/three part franchise direction, or distill the book down to its most pertinent and iconic scenes and write a film outline from there.

Shouldn't be THAT difficult, wonder-chin.
Venom1970 writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 4:38:06 PM

I have not seen End of watch yet, might need to give it a go. Must admit I enjoyed Source Code. I guess it's the combo of his sister and Brokeback Mountain that's put me off him.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed

"Ant-Man" Gets a Sequel, Marvel's Phase Three Release Dates Announced

Official "X-Men: Apocalypse" Plot Synopsis Revealed

Chris Evans Wants to Play Captain America After His Marvel Contract Expires

"Hardcore" Sells to STX for $10 Million After Week-Long Bidding War
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved