WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Insidious Chapter 3" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"The Hobbit" Trilogy Becomes Most Expensive Production of All Time
Oct 23rd, 2014
Quicksilver to Return For "X-Men: Apocalypse" and Maybe Solo Film
Oct 23rd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For Mark Wahlberg's "The Gambler" Thriller
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Evangeline Lilly as Hope Pym on Marvel's "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 23rd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Johnny Depp as The Wolf in Disney's "Into the Woods"
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ben Affleck Struggling with Stephen King's "The Stand" Adaptation

Posted: November 17th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ben Affleck Struggling with Stephen KingSubmit Comment
Warner Bros has been working on a turning Stephen King's "The Stand" into a movie for years. Back in August, David Yates was in talks, but eventually dropped out. And then, just a month ago, Ben Affleck signed on.

In an interview with GQ magazine, Affleck explained how difficult it is to turn such a massive novel (823 pages) into a movie. "Right now we're having a very hard time," he said. "But I like the idea - it's like 'The Lord of the Rings' in America. And it's about how we would reinvent ourselves as a society. If we started all over again, what would we do?"

"The Stand" is a story of good vs evil after a virus wipes out most of the American population. While it features dozens of characters (such as the Trashcan Man and Mother Abigail) and overlapping story lines running over many years, the struggle boils down to a group of survivors fighting the Antichrist-like Randall Flagg.

King recently said that he would love to see Jake Gyllenhaal play the lead, adding that he believes the book should be a trilogy of films.

Source: GQ


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
KillerCOck writes:
on November 16th, 2012 at 11:05:47 PM

I think it'd definitely work better as trilogy but I actually liked the tv movie more than I should've.
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 16th, 2012 at 11:41:36 PM

Yeah this absolutely has to be a trilogy with each one being at least 2.5 hours long to give the story justice and to let it breathe.

Sean Bean would make a great Randall Flagg in this new version.
pornfly writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 12:38:56 AM

DIFFICULT
Try pushin out three Ben Affleck headed kids
Says his wife

you knew it was a massive story
now make three movies and stop bitchin
Venom1970 writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 3:01:42 AM

The TV movie was very well done, the simple blonde guy was cool :) Year a trilogy and go deeper into the virus.

Agreed DeaftOne Sean Bean gives attitude to anything he does be it good or evil the man has so much movie presence, and gets better with age. I would also bring back Shawnee Smith, she played her part great, with the recent appearances in the Saw Franchise I think she could take that character into a deeper evil place.

Don't personally like Jake Gyllenhaal or his dog ugly sister. As lead I would go more towards someone like Taylor Kitsch who played a very good role imo in Savages.
Venom1970 writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 3:02:09 AM

*Yeah
bandolero999 writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 3:38:14 AM

Jake Gyllenhaal is a sh*te actress
pornfly writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 3:51:06 AM

This movies gonna take 12 years but the Fifty Shades of Gray movies wouldve been on its third spinoff trilogy by then.
McQueen writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 11:43:08 AM

"Jake Gyllenhaal is a sh*te actress"

Not true, he was really good in the End of Watch.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 1:01:48 PM

Agreed^

And he kicked ass in Brothers.

I'd like to see these films, Hurry up Ben!
minkowski writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 1:31:18 PM

Of course you're having a hard time, jackass. You're trying to turn a 1000 page epic book into a single two hour movie.

Either go with a two/three part franchise direction, or distill the book down to its most pertinent and iconic scenes and write a film outline from there.

Shouldn't be THAT difficult, wonder-chin.
Venom1970 writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 4:38:06 PM

I have not seen End of watch yet, might need to give it a go. Must admit I enjoyed Source Code. I guess it's the combo of his sister and Brokeback Mountain that's put me off him.

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved