WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You
Sep 19th, 2014
Trailer For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Sep 19th, 2014
Matthew McConaughey NOT Returning For "Magic Mike" Sequel
Sep 19th, 2014
Restricted Trailer For "V/H/S: Viral" Horror Film Arrives Online
Sep 19th, 2014
"Insidious: Chapter 3" Unveils First Poster
Sep 19th, 2014
"X-Men" Spin-Off "Deadpool" is Finally Happening, Release Date Announced
Sep 18th, 2014
Trailer For "A Most Violent Year," From "Margin Call" Director
Sep 18th, 2014
Sony Unveils Animation Test For "Popeye" Movie
Sep 18th, 2014
See Batmobile in Action on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set
Sep 18th, 2014
"Jason Borne" Producer Says Both Matt Damon's and Jeremy Renner's Films are in the Works
Sep 18th, 2014
"Paranormal Activity 5" Gets New Title and Release Date
Sep 18th, 2014
New Posters For Matthew McConaughey's "Interstellar" and Brad Pitt's "Fury"
Sep 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Robert Downey Jr's "The Judge"
Sep 18th, 2014
David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull
Sep 17th, 2014
Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience
Sep 17th, 2014
Jack Huston to Star in "Ben-Hur" Remake
Sep 17th, 2014
Poster for Disney's "Into the Woods," with Meryl Streep and Johnny Depp
Sep 17th, 2014
Tom Hiddleston to Star in "King Kong" Prequel, "Skull Island"
Sep 16th, 2014
Poster for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Arrives Online
Sep 16th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Plot Synopsis Revealed
Sep 16th, 2014
"I Know What You Did Last Summer" is Being Rebooted
Sep 16th, 2014
Leslie Mann in Talks for "Vacation" Sequel as Audrey Griswold
Sep 16th, 2014
"You're Next" Director to Remake "I Saw the Devil" Thriller
Sep 16th, 2014
Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"
Sep 16th, 2014
First Look at "By the Sea," with Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie
Sep 16th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Arrives Online
Sep 16th, 2014
Massive Banner For "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies"
Sep 15th, 2014
First Look: Adam Driver on "Star Wars: Episode VII" Set
Sep 15th, 2014
"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office
Sep 14th, 2014
Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Sep 14th, 2014
Photos: "Gotham" Star Ben McKenzie Injured on Set
Sep 14th, 2014
First Look at "Transporter" Reboot, Plot Synopsis Revealed
Sep 14th, 2014
First Look: Mark Wahlberg on "Ted 2" Set
Sep 14th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ben Affleck Struggling with Stephen King's "The Stand" Adaptation

Posted: November 17th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ben Affleck Struggling with Stephen KingSubmit Comment
Warner Bros has been working on a turning Stephen King's "The Stand" into a movie for years. Back in August, David Yates was in talks, but eventually dropped out. And then, just a month ago, Ben Affleck signed on.

In an interview with GQ magazine, Affleck explained how difficult it is to turn such a massive novel (823 pages) into a movie. "Right now we're having a very hard time," he said. "But I like the idea - it's like 'The Lord of the Rings' in America. And it's about how we would reinvent ourselves as a society. If we started all over again, what would we do?"

"The Stand" is a story of good vs evil after a virus wipes out most of the American population. While it features dozens of characters (such as the Trashcan Man and Mother Abigail) and overlapping story lines running over many years, the struggle boils down to a group of survivors fighting the Antichrist-like Randall Flagg.

King recently said that he would love to see Jake Gyllenhaal play the lead, adding that he believes the book should be a trilogy of films.

Source: GQ


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
KillerCOck writes:
on November 16th, 2012 at 11:05:47 PM

I think it'd definitely work better as trilogy but I actually liked the tv movie more than I should've.
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 16th, 2012 at 11:41:36 PM

Yeah this absolutely has to be a trilogy with each one being at least 2.5 hours long to give the story justice and to let it breathe.

Sean Bean would make a great Randall Flagg in this new version.
pornfly writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 12:38:56 AM

DIFFICULT
Try pushin out three Ben Affleck headed kids
Says his wife

you knew it was a massive story
now make three movies and stop bitchin
Venom1970 writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 3:01:42 AM

The TV movie was very well done, the simple blonde guy was cool :) Year a trilogy and go deeper into the virus.

Agreed DeaftOne Sean Bean gives attitude to anything he does be it good or evil the man has so much movie presence, and gets better with age. I would also bring back Shawnee Smith, she played her part great, with the recent appearances in the Saw Franchise I think she could take that character into a deeper evil place.

Don't personally like Jake Gyllenhaal or his dog ugly sister. As lead I would go more towards someone like Taylor Kitsch who played a very good role imo in Savages.
Venom1970 writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 3:02:09 AM

*Yeah
bandolero999 writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 3:38:14 AM

Jake Gyllenhaal is a sh*te actress
pornfly writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 3:51:06 AM

This movies gonna take 12 years but the Fifty Shades of Gray movies wouldve been on its third spinoff trilogy by then.
McQueen writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 11:43:08 AM

"Jake Gyllenhaal is a sh*te actress"

Not true, he was really good in the End of Watch.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 1:01:48 PM

Agreed^

And he kicked ass in Brothers.

I'd like to see these films, Hurry up Ben!
minkowski writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 1:31:18 PM

Of course you're having a hard time, jackass. You're trying to turn a 1000 page epic book into a single two hour movie.

Either go with a two/three part franchise direction, or distill the book down to its most pertinent and iconic scenes and write a film outline from there.

Shouldn't be THAT difficult, wonder-chin.
Venom1970 writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 4:38:06 PM

I have not seen End of watch yet, might need to give it a go. Must admit I enjoyed Source Code. I guess it's the combo of his sister and Brokeback Mountain that's put me off him.

Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America

Warner Bros Has a "No Jokes" Policy For Its Superhero Films?

What Happens to Jimmy Olsen in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?

Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved