WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First "Terminator Genisys" Photos, Plot Details Revealed
Oct 30th, 2014
Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot
Oct 30th, 2014
Michael Bay to Direct "13 Hours" Benghazi Film
Oct 30th, 2014
Final Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 30th, 2014
First Poster for Alex Garcia's "Ex Machina" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
Keanu Reeves' Next Film is "Replicas" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
"Avengers: Infinity War" Trailer Leaked Online
Oct 29th, 2014
First "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Clip is Here!
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Explains Why "Hulk" and "Black Widow" Films are NOT Happening
Oct 29th, 2014
First Look at "Black Panther" Costume
Oct 29th, 2014
"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Unveils Titles, Logos and Release Dates For All Phase 3 Films
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team
Oct 28th, 2014
David Goyer Writing Superman Prequel TV Series "Krypton"?
Oct 28th, 2014
First Look at Emma Watson in "Colonia" Cult Thriller
Oct 28th, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Trailer Coming This Year?
Oct 28th, 2014
Ewan McGregor Says "Trainspotting" Sequel to Shoot in 2016
Oct 28th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in Marvel's "Doctor Strange"!
Oct 27th, 2014
"Furious 7" Unveils Second Poster
Oct 27th, 2014
Jesse Eisenberg May Return as Lex Luthor in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film
Oct 27th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Unveils Title and Poster, Trailer Coming Soon
Oct 27th, 2014
Photos: "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" to Show Funeral of Bruce Wayne's Parents?
Oct 27th, 2014
"Ouija" Easily Beat Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" at Box Office
Oct 27th, 2014
Russell Brand is Quitting Acting Because He's Scared of Money
Oct 27th, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says He Wanted to Play Wolverine and Batman
Oct 26th, 2014
Christopher Nolan No Longer Involved With Warner Bros' Superhero Films
Oct 26th, 2014
Trailer for Lee Daniels' "Empire" Hip-Hop TV Series, with Terrence Howard
Oct 26th, 2014
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Coming in December
Oct 25th, 2014
New "Ant-Man" Set Photos are Possible Spoilers
Oct 25th, 2014
Disney's "John Carter" Actually Cost Over $300 Million to Make
Oct 25th, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Searching for Female Director
Oct 24th, 2014
"The Mummy" Reboot to Follow Navy SEAL in Iraq?
Oct 24th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ben Affleck Struggling with Stephen King's "The Stand" Adaptation

Posted: November 17th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ben Affleck Struggling with Stephen KingSubmit Comment
Warner Bros has been working on a turning Stephen King's "The Stand" into a movie for years. Back in August, David Yates was in talks, but eventually dropped out. And then, just a month ago, Ben Affleck signed on.

In an interview with GQ magazine, Affleck explained how difficult it is to turn such a massive novel (823 pages) into a movie. "Right now we're having a very hard time," he said. "But I like the idea - it's like 'The Lord of the Rings' in America. And it's about how we would reinvent ourselves as a society. If we started all over again, what would we do?"

"The Stand" is a story of good vs evil after a virus wipes out most of the American population. While it features dozens of characters (such as the Trashcan Man and Mother Abigail) and overlapping story lines running over many years, the struggle boils down to a group of survivors fighting the Antichrist-like Randall Flagg.

King recently said that he would love to see Jake Gyllenhaal play the lead, adding that he believes the book should be a trilogy of films.

Source: GQ


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
KillerCOck writes:
on November 16th, 2012 at 11:05:47 PM

I think it'd definitely work better as trilogy but I actually liked the tv movie more than I should've.
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 16th, 2012 at 11:41:36 PM

Yeah this absolutely has to be a trilogy with each one being at least 2.5 hours long to give the story justice and to let it breathe.

Sean Bean would make a great Randall Flagg in this new version.
pornfly writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 12:38:56 AM

DIFFICULT
Try pushin out three Ben Affleck headed kids
Says his wife

you knew it was a massive story
now make three movies and stop bitchin
Venom1970 writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 3:01:42 AM

The TV movie was very well done, the simple blonde guy was cool :) Year a trilogy and go deeper into the virus.

Agreed DeaftOne Sean Bean gives attitude to anything he does be it good or evil the man has so much movie presence, and gets better with age. I would also bring back Shawnee Smith, she played her part great, with the recent appearances in the Saw Franchise I think she could take that character into a deeper evil place.

Don't personally like Jake Gyllenhaal or his dog ugly sister. As lead I would go more towards someone like Taylor Kitsch who played a very good role imo in Savages.
Venom1970 writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 3:02:09 AM

*Yeah
bandolero999 writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 3:38:14 AM

Jake Gyllenhaal is a sh*te actress
pornfly writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 3:51:06 AM

This movies gonna take 12 years but the Fifty Shades of Gray movies wouldve been on its third spinoff trilogy by then.
McQueen writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 11:43:08 AM

"Jake Gyllenhaal is a sh*te actress"

Not true, he was really good in the End of Watch.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 1:01:48 PM

Agreed^

And he kicked ass in Brothers.

I'd like to see these films, Hurry up Ben!
minkowski writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 1:31:18 PM

Of course you're having a hard time, jackass. You're trying to turn a 1000 page epic book into a single two hour movie.

Either go with a two/three part franchise direction, or distill the book down to its most pertinent and iconic scenes and write a film outline from there.

Shouldn't be THAT difficult, wonder-chin.
Venom1970 writes:
on November 17th, 2012 at 4:38:06 PM

I have not seen End of watch yet, might need to give it a go. Must admit I enjoyed Source Code. I guess it's the combo of his sister and Brokeback Mountain that's put me off him.

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved