WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" - What Did You Think?
Jul 11th, 2014
Sony Unveils Trailer for "Ghostbusters" Re-Release
Jul 11th, 2014
Russell Crowe and Ryan Gosling Join "The Nice Guys," From "Iron Man 3" Director Shane Black
Jul 11th, 2014
Trailer for Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Jul 10th, 2014
New Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "The Captive" Thriller
Jul 10th, 2014
Trailer for Reese Witherspoon's "Wild," From Director of "Dallas Buyers Club"
Jul 10th, 2014
North Korea Files Complaint with UN to Stop Release of Seth Rogen's "The Interview"
Jul 10th, 2014
New Teaser Video For "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Jul 10th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro to Make Small, Black and White Film Before "Pacific Rim 2"
Jul 10th, 2014
First Look: Ian McKellen as Sherlock Holmes in "Mr. Holmes" Film
Jul 9th, 2014
Extended Clip From Scarlett Johansson's "Lucy" Action Thriller
Jul 9th, 2014
Alec Baldwin is Head of CIA in "Mission: Impossible 5"
Jul 9th, 2014
Gus Van Sant Replaces Shane Black as Director of "Death Note"
Jul 9th, 2014
Trailer for Christian Bale's "Exodus: Gods and Kings," Directed by Ridley Scott
Jul 9th, 2014
Disney Hires "Transformers" Writer for Live-Action "Dumbo" Movie
Jul 9th, 2014
Ridley Scott is Developing Another Biblical Film, About King David
Jul 9th, 2014
Extended Trailer for Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Jul 8th, 2014
Mel Gibson Discusses a Return to Directing
Jul 8th, 2014
First Look: Don Cheadle is Miles Davis in "Miles Ahead" Biopic
Jul 8th, 2014
New Trailer for "Sharknado 2: The Second One"
Jul 8th, 2014
Trailer for Ben Affleck's "Gone Girl" Thriller is Here!
Jul 7th, 2014
"Superman Returns" Star Brandon Routh Joins "Arrow" as The Atom
Jul 7th, 2014
Trailer for Sylvester Stallone's "Reach Me" Drama
Jul 7th, 2014
"Transformers: Age of Extinction" Still Dominating at Box Office
Jul 7th, 2014
Guy Pearce Explains Why He Initially Turned Down "Iron Man 3" Role
Jul 7th, 2014
Trailer for "Young Ones" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Nicholas Hoult
Jul 7th, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Adds Two More Actors
Jul 7th, 2014
Four New Posters for Ben Affleck's "Gone Girl" Thriller
Jul 7th, 2014
Kevin Smith Wrote Fake "Batman v Superman" Script and Then Leaked It Online?
Jul 5th, 2014
Stephen Amell Won't Play "Arrow" in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 5th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg to Star in "The Six Million Dollar Man" Sci-Fi Film?
Jul 5th, 2014
Peter Jackson Says "The Hobbit 3" Teaser Trailer is Coming Soon
Jul 4th, 2014
First Photos From "Max Steel" Sci-Fi Film
Jul 4th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Paul Verhoeven Says "Total Recall," "RoboCop" and "Starship Troopers" Sequels Will Fail

Posted: November 14th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Paul Verhoeven Says "Total Recall," "RoboCop" and "Starship Troopers" Sequels Will FailSubmit Comment
Paul Verhoeven's three most popular and successful films, "Total Recall," "RoboCop" and "Starship Troopers," are all being rebooted and are all a complete disaster. "Total Recall" grossed only $59 million domestically on a $125 million budget. "RoboCop" was moved to February, 2014 from its Summer release date. And "Starship Troopers" stalled after its initial announcement.

In a recent interview, Verhoeven provided some advice on how to recapture the success of the original films. "I really thought they made a mistake when they did the ['Total Recall'] remake by making it so serious," he said. "I'm not so sure [that approach] will work for ['Starship Troopers'] either. I think all of these films are accepted because they don't take themselves so seriously. It's the same thing [with 'RoboCop']. It's very difficult to make this story realistically."

Verhoeven added that he was asked to direct sequels to his films, but that's something he's been able to avoid. "I'm not a big fan of sequels. I think you better not do them," he explained. "But sometimes there's so much pressure and so much that they offer you - actors and a much bigger budget - but I've always been able to avoid the temptation."

Source: The Playlist


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
ikleesdekrant writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 6:36:35 AM

As a Dutch citizen I'm proud of what he's achieved, but Paul.. give the "I told you so" speech a break, dude.
pornfly writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 6:37:34 AM

Smart man
Hollywood could learn alot from this guy but they refuse to listen
They wont even listen to the poor box office returns
Taco writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 6:40:43 AM

How could you resist not making a Showgirls sequel?
I wanna see Elizabeth Berkley having a sex siezure in the pool again! Mmmmmm
Rambo writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 6:47:04 AM

yes,she was very toight in that movie...toight like a toiger
pornfly writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 6:50:53 AM

Lol
boogiel writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 7:20:23 AM

Totally agree with Verhoeven. That's his way of saying f*ck you in your face, hollywood.
pornfly writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 7:29:59 AM

Still no news on the 2 Steve Mcqueen bio pics with the Hemsworth brothers and Jeremy Renner??
Kurskij writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 7:34:38 AM

lol, rambo

"I really thought they made a mistake when they did the ['Total Recall'] remake by making it so serious"

My thoughts exactly. The original still holds great because it's mindf*ckingly insane.


bandolero999 writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 7:40:42 AM

How bout you stop talking sh*t you old f*ck and direct new sci-fi movies.with some titties.
pornfly writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 7:44:24 AM

I blame Tim Burtons Batman
Since then Its been mandatory that every remake/reboot/reimagining HAS to be dark and serious or it wont work

Dont you bastards touch Superfuzz!
bandolero999 writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 7:57:31 AM

Pornfly since you say 87 was the best year for movies please recommend some.

Was watching mad dog and glory for the first time with deniro and Bill Murray.
bandolero999 writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 8:01:14 AM

Elizabeth Berkeley still looks good
pornfly writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 8:05:10 AM

BANDO
I wanted to post that again
But wiki movies released in 1987 the list will surprise you
trailertrash writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 8:10:55 AM

porn-

RE: The Steve Mcqueen movies, I thought you were joking about that !!
pornfly writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 8:11:51 AM

There were some famous bombs in 87 though
Leonard Part6
Superman4 anyone?
pornfly writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 8:14:12 AM

TRAILER
come awn buddy!

Renner and the Hemsworth brothers in competing Mcqueen bio pics is about as funny as a pregnancy test
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 8:22:07 AM

No sh*t they'll fail.
trailertrash writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 8:31:04 AM

porn- Damn that sh*t ..

That is as funny as a positive pregnancy test result from one night stand.
trailertrash writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 8:32:25 AM

1987

http://boxofficemojo.com/yearly/chart/?yr=1987&p=.htm


Pretty much anything made in the 80's is fine by me
pornfly writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 8:33:55 AM

Unless the one night stand is Oprah of course
trailertrash writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 8:38:58 AM

... Of course

"Cheeeeeeeeerrrrrrrchiiiiiinnng"
pornfly writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 8:47:42 AM

I even dont practice self massage for a couple weeks and throw my seeds at her Silence of the Lambs style in the hopes of one wigglin its way through all that Oprah
trailertrash writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 9:06:56 AM

Yeah it would take the seed and the man power the size of the cast from Ben-Hur to get that chick up the duff.

She's a 18 pinter for sure, But her bank Balance levels her out at a 5 pinter and JD and Coke though.
pornfly writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 9:15:14 AM

True story
Im in Tiajuana when i see this hefty blonde chic and i look at my beer and say to myself,"three more of these and she'll be sitting on my lap"

3beers later....fatty's on my lappy
Her friend took her away from me but i achieved my short term goal.
That wasnt the first time a chic c*ck blocked me.
If my buddy took me away from a horny chic i would BEAT HIS ASS
Ahdontgetit
trailertrash writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 9:29:59 AM

lol, Nightmare ...

You needed a pal to take the c*ck blocker away for you, I've taken more than one minger away for a mate so he can get his leg over and Vice Versa.

... It's what mates are for !
pornfly writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 9:40:23 AM

Goodpoint sir goodpoint
MANGOMANIAC writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 10:21:47 AM

Steve McQueen is a horrible c*nt!
Shogo1307 writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 11:00:33 AM

I completely agree, but in my opinion him being a movie director he owes his fans and the people who go and see his movies some form of sequels for the big ones, i would honestly love a actual Starship Troopers 2 or a really good reboot because i really liked that movie. Total Recall stands on its own it doesnt need anything else, and robocop is the same way.
Man in Black writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 11:26:41 AM

Proving that rarely lightning strikes twice in Hwood , and pays off with a reboot .
minkowski writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 5:47:10 PM

Total Recall 2012 was actually not too bad, not as good as John Carter though, I thought, but he's right. Lousy movies are always more fun when they're not serious, and Verhoeven has surely made some lousy but fun movies.
sedibus writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 7:37:45 PM

the three movies are really great in their own right! That been said, the 2 pages of the We Can Remember it for you Wholesale are far more moody, entertaining and fantastic than the whole Total Recall movie.

Robocop indeed nothing else to say, although the 2nd has few interesting ideas half-baked, but nothing else.

Starship Troopers, don't know, haven't read the book, I only remember the audio commentary of Verhoeven and heard what he said about the book, it was something like he started reading it and he got depressed and stop reading the book, so there you have it.
Phunky Dubbs writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 7:44:57 PM

Yeah Sedibus I read that too... Verhoeven never finished reading the Starship Troopers book because he didn't like what the book was endorsing, so he changed the film into a satire of militarism and fascism, whereas the book promoted militarism and fascism.
bane writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 7:53:55 PM

i love
i f*ckin love BLACK BOOK

(best movie he ever made)
sedibus writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 8:08:40 PM

Yeah, Dubbs, I think if Hitler had made all his campaing with a more satiristic tone to it, then he would have been a lot more succesful.

And Robert Heinlein should had not wrote that f*cking fascist book and then Verhoeven wouldn't got that check, fella!

Probably he would have made a satire of something else, I seem to remember this director is writing a book about Christ probably that could work as a satire.

If you put people been sliced and diced in a satirist approach then it could work better, why not, sure.

Lindsay Lohan Sues "Grand Theft Auto V" for Using Her Likeness

"Pacific Rim 2" Gets a Release Date, Animated Series in the Works

Mark Ruffalo Says New "Hulk" Film Will NOT Be "Planet Hulk"

Steven Seagal Will Never Join "The Expendables" Franchise, Wonders Why Liam Neeson is in Action Films

Michael Bay Responds to Negative Criticism of "Transformers: Age of Extinction"

Vin Diesel Creating Problems on "Fast and Furious 7" Set

Description of Lex Luthor's Look in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Guy Pearce Comments on "Iron Man 3" Mandarin Twist

Kevin Smith Says Leaked List of Warner Bros' Planned Superhero Films is Correct

Jason Momoa is Aquaman in "Justice League"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved