WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Paul Verhoeven Says "Total Recall," "RoboCop" and "Starship Troopers" Sequels Will Fail

Posted: November 14th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Paul Verhoeven Says "Total Recall," "RoboCop" and "Starship Troopers" Sequels Will FailSubmit Comment
Paul Verhoeven's three most popular and successful films, "Total Recall," "RoboCop" and "Starship Troopers," are all being rebooted and are all a complete disaster. "Total Recall" grossed only $59 million domestically on a $125 million budget. "RoboCop" was moved to February, 2014 from its Summer release date. And "Starship Troopers" stalled after its initial announcement.

In a recent interview, Verhoeven provided some advice on how to recapture the success of the original films. "I really thought they made a mistake when they did the ['Total Recall'] remake by making it so serious," he said. "I'm not so sure [that approach] will work for ['Starship Troopers'] either. I think all of these films are accepted because they don't take themselves so seriously. It's the same thing [with 'RoboCop']. It's very difficult to make this story realistically."

Verhoeven added that he was asked to direct sequels to his films, but that's something he's been able to avoid. "I'm not a big fan of sequels. I think you better not do them," he explained. "But sometimes there's so much pressure and so much that they offer you - actors and a much bigger budget - but I've always been able to avoid the temptation."

Source: The Playlist


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
ikleesdekrant writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 6:36:35 AM

As a Dutch citizen I'm proud of what he's achieved, but Paul.. give the "I told you so" speech a break, dude.
pornfly writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 6:37:34 AM

Smart man
Hollywood could learn alot from this guy but they refuse to listen
They wont even listen to the poor box office returns
Taco writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 6:40:43 AM

How could you resist not making a Showgirls sequel?
I wanna see Elizabeth Berkley having a sex siezure in the pool again! Mmmmmm
Rambo writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 6:47:04 AM

yes,she was very toight in that movie...toight like a toiger
pornfly writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 6:50:53 AM

Lol
boogiel writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 7:20:23 AM

Totally agree with Verhoeven. That's his way of saying f*ck you in your face, hollywood.
pornfly writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 7:29:59 AM

Still no news on the 2 Steve Mcqueen bio pics with the Hemsworth brothers and Jeremy Renner??
Kurskij writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 7:34:38 AM

lol, rambo

"I really thought they made a mistake when they did the ['Total Recall'] remake by making it so serious"

My thoughts exactly. The original still holds great because it's mindf*ckingly insane.


bandolero999 writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 7:40:42 AM

How bout you stop talking sh*t you old f*ck and direct new sci-fi movies.with some titties.
pornfly writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 7:44:24 AM

I blame Tim Burtons Batman
Since then Its been mandatory that every remake/reboot/reimagining HAS to be dark and serious or it wont work

Dont you bastards touch Superfuzz!
bandolero999 writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 7:57:31 AM

Pornfly since you say 87 was the best year for movies please recommend some.

Was watching mad dog and glory for the first time with deniro and Bill Murray.
bandolero999 writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 8:01:14 AM

Elizabeth Berkeley still looks good
pornfly writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 8:05:10 AM

BANDO
I wanted to post that again
But wiki movies released in 1987 the list will surprise you
trailertrash writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 8:10:55 AM

porn-

RE: The Steve Mcqueen movies, I thought you were joking about that !!
pornfly writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 8:11:51 AM

There were some famous bombs in 87 though
Leonard Part6
Superman4 anyone?
pornfly writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 8:14:12 AM

TRAILER
come awn buddy!

Renner and the Hemsworth brothers in competing Mcqueen bio pics is about as funny as a pregnancy test
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 8:22:07 AM

No sh*t they'll fail.
trailertrash writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 8:31:04 AM

porn- Damn that sh*t ..

That is as funny as a positive pregnancy test result from one night stand.
trailertrash writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 8:32:25 AM

1987

http://boxofficemojo.com/yearly/chart/?yr=1987&p=.htm


Pretty much anything made in the 80's is fine by me
pornfly writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 8:33:55 AM

Unless the one night stand is Oprah of course
trailertrash writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 8:38:58 AM

... Of course

"Cheeeeeeeeerrrrrrrchiiiiiinnng"
pornfly writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 8:47:42 AM

I even dont practice self massage for a couple weeks and throw my seeds at her Silence of the Lambs style in the hopes of one wigglin its way through all that Oprah
trailertrash writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 9:06:56 AM

Yeah it would take the seed and the man power the size of the cast from Ben-Hur to get that chick up the duff.

She's a 18 pinter for sure, But her bank Balance levels her out at a 5 pinter and JD and Coke though.
pornfly writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 9:15:14 AM

True story
Im in Tiajuana when i see this hefty blonde chic and i look at my beer and say to myself,"three more of these and she'll be sitting on my lap"

3beers later....fatty's on my lappy
Her friend took her away from me but i achieved my short term goal.
That wasnt the first time a chic c*ck blocked me.
If my buddy took me away from a horny chic i would BEAT HIS ASS
Ahdontgetit
trailertrash writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 9:29:59 AM

lol, Nightmare ...

You needed a pal to take the c*ck blocker away for you, I've taken more than one minger away for a mate so he can get his leg over and Vice Versa.

... It's what mates are for !
pornfly writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 9:40:23 AM

Goodpoint sir goodpoint
MANGOMANIAC writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 10:21:47 AM

Steve McQueen is a horrible c*nt!
Shogo1307 writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 11:00:33 AM

I completely agree, but in my opinion him being a movie director he owes his fans and the people who go and see his movies some form of sequels for the big ones, i would honestly love a actual Starship Troopers 2 or a really good reboot because i really liked that movie. Total Recall stands on its own it doesnt need anything else, and robocop is the same way.
Man in Black writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 11:26:41 AM

Proving that rarely lightning strikes twice in Hwood , and pays off with a reboot .
minkowski writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 5:47:10 PM

Total Recall 2012 was actually not too bad, not as good as John Carter though, I thought, but he's right. Lousy movies are always more fun when they're not serious, and Verhoeven has surely made some lousy but fun movies.
sedibus writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 7:37:45 PM

the three movies are really great in their own right! That been said, the 2 pages of the We Can Remember it for you Wholesale are far more moody, entertaining and fantastic than the whole Total Recall movie.

Robocop indeed nothing else to say, although the 2nd has few interesting ideas half-baked, but nothing else.

Starship Troopers, don't know, haven't read the book, I only remember the audio commentary of Verhoeven and heard what he said about the book, it was something like he started reading it and he got depressed and stop reading the book, so there you have it.
Phunky Dubbs writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 7:44:57 PM

Yeah Sedibus I read that too... Verhoeven never finished reading the Starship Troopers book because he didn't like what the book was endorsing, so he changed the film into a satire of militarism and fascism, whereas the book promoted militarism and fascism.
bane writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 7:53:55 PM

i love
i f*ckin love BLACK BOOK

(best movie he ever made)
sedibus writes:
on November 14th, 2012 at 8:08:40 PM

Yeah, Dubbs, I think if Hitler had made all his campaing with a more satiristic tone to it, then he would have been a lot more succesful.

And Robert Heinlein should had not wrote that f*cking fascist book and then Verhoeven wouldn't got that check, fella!

Probably he would have made a satire of something else, I seem to remember this director is writing a book about Christ probably that could work as a satire.

If you put people been sliced and diced in a satirist approach then it could work better, why not, sure.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved