WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Star Wars: Episode 7" Writer Confirmed, Steven Spielberg Won't Direct

Posted: November 9th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Star Wars: Episode 7" Writer Confirmed, Steven Spielberg WonSubmit Comment
It was just reported that Michael Arndt (Toy Story 3, Little Miss Sunshine) was the one who wrote the treatment for "Star Wars: Episode 7." Lucasfilm has now confirmed the news, adding that Arndt will also provide the screenplay.

Regarding directors, the plan has been to send the treatment to some of Hollywood's top directors, a list that includes Steven Spielberg, Brad Bird and JJ Abrams. Now comes word that Spielberg has taken himself out of the running, stating: "No. No. It's not my genre. It's my best friend George's genre."

Spielberg is now part of a group of directors who are not interested in being approached. The list also includes Quentin Tarantino and Zack Snyder (Man of Steel). "Star Wars: Episode 7" is set to hit theaters during the summer of 2015.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
OneTime writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 11:24:28 PM

ill direct it. end of line.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 11:59:04 PM

A blind hobo could direct it better than Lucas...
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 12:25:43 AM

Brad Bird then.
Avirex writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 12:26:53 AM

If Disney buys me me too I might consider directing it.
Arti writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 12:34:06 AM

Brad Bird, JJ Abrams or my dog, it won't be nearly as important as the script they come up with and the direction they take with this. Jesus, we're going to live the next 3 years with rumors every 2 days on who's been cast or what storyline is in the script.
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 12:38:52 AM

"No. No. It's not my genre. It's my best friend George's genre."

Yeah, right. I read different with the fact that Lucas is a real d!ck with his so-called friend in 2002...

http://www.joblo.com/movie-news/steven-spielberg-wont-direct-star-wars-episode-vii-because-its-his-best-friends-genre
Daigoro writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 12:53:26 AM

Tarantino directing Star Wars? Bahhhhhhhh hahahahaha
Frank_Castle writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 1:06:28 AM

Hey this just came to mind. Whats going to become of the TV Show set between III and IV?
Frank_Castle writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 1:07:43 AM

Also what about Joe Johnson for director? He was heavily involved with Return of the Jedi
Ranger writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 2:59:11 AM




Let Mickey Mouse direct it.




pornfly writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 3:45:29 AM

Let Tom Six direct
trailertrash writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 3:48:23 AM

I will direct something into the new Princess Leia
pornfly writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 4:00:39 AM

Lay that Leia like a playa
trailertrash writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 4:17:52 AM

lol

I'd Jabba That Butt
MANGOMANIAC writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 4:21:38 AM

Quiten Tarantino is a simply putting it "a c*nt"
R3tr0burn3r writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 5:16:55 AM

@ Pornfly no, no, please not Tom Six.
I can see it already...,Jabba's son seeks revenge for the death of his father. He captures our intrepid heroes and creates a 4 person, 1 wookie and 2 droid space centipede.
pornfly writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 5:29:20 AM

^sounds like a plan
Make it so

Wait, thats Star Trek NG

Who cares
Nut to butt them all up
boogiel writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 7:27:38 AM

well, this guy has so much pressure on him now. He better deliver.
TonyWalnuts writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 8:33:43 AM

Lets give it to @onetime. I think he might be able to bring some credibility back to the franchise.
Brody writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 8:36:43 AM

This will be directed by commitee, a studio (Disney) directed film. Officially the director will be the one on the set with a direct line to the boardroom regarding every bit of this film that can potentially be a ride at DisneyWorld and every new character that they can market as a toy.

You don't spend $4 billion without thinking about how to maximize return.

Creativity by numbers.

Original cut, extended cut, DVD, bluray, special edition bluray, 4 month anniversary bluray, then 3D re-release, and on and on and on...

George you just pimped out what you created.

PS - I'll direct it!
Brody writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 8:39:35 AM

I'll play Hand Solo
KindredMac writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 8:39:58 AM

Peter Jackson.
DeVries writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 8:45:27 AM

I want Ranger to direct it. f*ck that would be awesome.
Electro Rock writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 8:56:16 AM

I can't even think about it. Everytime I think of a director that sounds good, I retract it almost immediately.

I'm also worried about design. Don't want everything looking new and clean. And I pray they don't use the word Sith.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 8:59:10 AM

When asked to comment on this story, Uwe Boll stated:

- "This is right up my alley. I expect a call soon."
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 11:11:28 AM

i say we let JB Direct it, HES THE HERO WE NEED RIGHT NOW PEOPLE!, I'm kidding. obviously.

But awh, go Spielberg! if not him then give it to JJ Abrams.
buttabean writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 2:11:07 PM

I think they'll pick a no name for it. It'll create a career for them like district 9 did for Mr. Bloomkamp. Lucas seems like he's gunning for a young no name to take over
Johnnie writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 10:06:11 PM

Hopefully Lucas actually has input on this. Yea he isnt the best director, not even close, but it is his story and if it wasnt for him we wouldnt even be discussing this.
Shogo1307 writes:
on November 11th, 2012 at 9:35:51 AM

i think Jon favreau would be a good pick, i mean hes a comic geek look what he did with Iron Man and such, plus i think someone who knows the mythos and is at home in this kind of stuff would be better for the project anyway.
minkowski writes:
on November 11th, 2012 at 5:20:49 PM

Disney will choose someone internally, someone with whom they have a previous relationship. Someone like Brad Bird, yes, or Stanton.

And yes, John Carter was actually a pretty good movie. Much better than you retarded knuckleheads have claimed, anyway.
Stapes writes:
on November 12th, 2012 at 12:17:43 PM

Not to seem obsequious but i agree mink. Sorry to see spielbergs balls still belong to lucas.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved