WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Four Directors Considered for "Fast and Furious 8"
Oct 7th, 2015
"The Flash" Movie Hires Director
Oct 7th, 2015
Restricted Trailer for "Triple Nine," with Casey Affleck and Woody Harrelson
Oct 7th, 2015
Nicolas Cage Turned Down Lead Role in "Lord of the Rings"
Oct 5th, 2015
First Look at Matthew McConaughey in "Gold"
Oct 5th, 2015
"Thor 3" Found Its Director
Oct 5th, 2015
"Power Rangers" Reboot is Testing These Eight Actors
Oct 5th, 2015
James McAvoy in Talks for M. Night Shyamalan's New Supernatural Thriller
Oct 5th, 2015
Final Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Oct 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Kurt Russell's "Bone Tomahawk" Western
Oct 3rd, 2015
Reboot of "MacGyver" TV Series in the Works with James Wan
Oct 3rd, 2015
Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Oct 2nd, 2015
Final Poster for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2"
Oct 2nd, 2015
Trailer for "The Forest" Supernatural Thriller
Oct 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for Leonardo DiCaprio's "The Revenant" Thriller
Oct 1st, 2015
First Look: Andrew Garfield in Mel Gibson's "Hacksaw Ridge"
Oct 1st, 2015
Matthew Vaughn to Direct "I Am Pilgrim" Thriller
Oct 1st, 2015
Vin Diesel Says "Furious 8" is Part of Last Trilogy
Sep 29th, 2015
Danny Boyle to Shoot "Trainspotting" Sequel Next Summer
Sep 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Would Play Daredevil if Christopher Nolan Directed
Sep 27th, 2015
Ridley Scott Says "Prometheus 2" Will Have Connections to Ripley
Sep 27th, 2015
Sigourney Weaver Joins "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Sep 27th, 2015
Matt Damon Discusses "Bourne" Plot Details
Sep 27th, 2015
First Look at Woody Harrelson as President Johnson in "LBJ" Biopic
Sep 27th, 2015
Title of "Prometheus" Sequel Revealed
Sep 26th, 2015
New "Men in Black" Film Moving Forward Without Will Smith
Sep 26th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Wants Tom Hardy to Replace Him as Wolverine
Sep 26th, 2015
Trailer for "Truth," with Robert Redford and Cate Blanchett
Sep 26th, 2015
Trailer for "Angry Birds" Movie is Here!
Sep 24th, 2015
Trailer for "The Big Short," with Christian Bale, Brad Pitt, Ryan Gosling and Steve Carell
Sep 24th, 2015
Ridley Scott Planning Three "Prometheus" Sequels
Sep 23rd, 2015
"John Wick 2" to Shoot this Fall, Keanu Reeves Will Return
Sep 23rd, 2015
New Trailer for "The Peanuts Movie"
Sep 23rd, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Star Wars: Episode 7" Writer Confirmed, Steven Spielberg Won't Direct

Posted: November 9th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Star Wars: Episode 7" Writer Confirmed, Steven Spielberg WonSubmit Comment
It was just reported that Michael Arndt (Toy Story 3, Little Miss Sunshine) was the one who wrote the treatment for "Star Wars: Episode 7." Lucasfilm has now confirmed the news, adding that Arndt will also provide the screenplay.

Regarding directors, the plan has been to send the treatment to some of Hollywood's top directors, a list that includes Steven Spielberg, Brad Bird and JJ Abrams. Now comes word that Spielberg has taken himself out of the running, stating: "No. No. It's not my genre. It's my best friend George's genre."

Spielberg is now part of a group of directors who are not interested in being approached. The list also includes Quentin Tarantino and Zack Snyder (Man of Steel). "Star Wars: Episode 7" is set to hit theaters during the summer of 2015.

Source: Variety

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
OneTime writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 11:24:28 PM

ill direct it. end of line.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 11:59:04 PM

A blind hobo could direct it better than Lucas...
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 12:25:43 AM

Brad Bird then.
Avirex writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 12:26:53 AM

If Disney buys me me too I might consider directing it.
Arti writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 12:34:06 AM

Brad Bird, JJ Abrams or my dog, it won't be nearly as important as the script they come up with and the direction they take with this. Jesus, we're going to live the next 3 years with rumors every 2 days on who's been cast or what storyline is in the script.
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 12:38:52 AM

"No. No. It's not my genre. It's my best friend George's genre."

Yeah, right. I read different with the fact that Lucas is a real d!ck with his so-called friend in 2002...

Daigoro writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 12:53:26 AM

Tarantino directing Star Wars? Bahhhhhhhh hahahahaha
Frank_Castle writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 1:06:28 AM

Hey this just came to mind. Whats going to become of the TV Show set between III and IV?
Frank_Castle writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 1:07:43 AM

Also what about Joe Johnson for director? He was heavily involved with Return of the Jedi
Ranger writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 2:59:11 AM

Let Mickey Mouse direct it.

pornfly writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 3:45:29 AM

Let Tom Six direct
trailertrash writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 3:48:23 AM

I will direct something into the new Princess Leia
pornfly writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 4:00:39 AM

Lay that Leia like a playa
trailertrash writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 4:17:52 AM


I'd Jabba That Butt
on November 10th, 2012 at 4:21:38 AM

Quiten Tarantino is a simply putting it "a c*nt"
R3tr0burn3r writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 5:16:55 AM

@ Pornfly no, no, please not Tom Six.
I can see it already...,Jabba's son seeks revenge for the death of his father. He captures our intrepid heroes and creates a 4 person, 1 wookie and 2 droid space centipede.
pornfly writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 5:29:20 AM

^sounds like a plan
Make it so

Wait, thats Star Trek NG

Who cares
Nut to butt them all up
boogiel writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 7:27:38 AM

well, this guy has so much pressure on him now. He better deliver.
TonyWalnuts writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 8:33:43 AM

Lets give it to @onetime. I think he might be able to bring some credibility back to the franchise.
Brody writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 8:36:43 AM

This will be directed by commitee, a studio (Disney) directed film. Officially the director will be the one on the set with a direct line to the boardroom regarding every bit of this film that can potentially be a ride at DisneyWorld and every new character that they can market as a toy.

You don't spend $4 billion without thinking about how to maximize return.

Creativity by numbers.

Original cut, extended cut, DVD, bluray, special edition bluray, 4 month anniversary bluray, then 3D re-release, and on and on and on...

George you just pimped out what you created.

PS - I'll direct it!
Brody writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 8:39:35 AM

I'll play Hand Solo
KindredMac writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 8:39:58 AM

Peter Jackson.
DeVries writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 8:45:27 AM

I want Ranger to direct it. f*ck that would be awesome.
Electro Rock writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 8:56:16 AM

I can't even think about it. Everytime I think of a director that sounds good, I retract it almost immediately.

I'm also worried about design. Don't want everything looking new and clean. And I pray they don't use the word Sith.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 8:59:10 AM

When asked to comment on this story, Uwe Boll stated:

- "This is right up my alley. I expect a call soon."
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 11:11:28 AM

i say we let JB Direct it, HES THE HERO WE NEED RIGHT NOW PEOPLE!, I'm kidding. obviously.

But awh, go Spielberg! if not him then give it to JJ Abrams.
buttabean writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 2:11:07 PM

I think they'll pick a no name for it. It'll create a career for them like district 9 did for Mr. Bloomkamp. Lucas seems like he's gunning for a young no name to take over
Johnnie writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 10:06:11 PM

Hopefully Lucas actually has input on this. Yea he isnt the best director, not even close, but it is his story and if it wasnt for him we wouldnt even be discussing this.
Shogo1307 writes:
on November 11th, 2012 at 9:35:51 AM

i think Jon favreau would be a good pick, i mean hes a comic geek look what he did with Iron Man and such, plus i think someone who knows the mythos and is at home in this kind of stuff would be better for the project anyway.
minkowski writes:
on November 11th, 2012 at 5:20:49 PM

Disney will choose someone internally, someone with whom they have a previous relationship. Someone like Brad Bird, yes, or Stanton.

And yes, John Carter was actually a pretty good movie. Much better than you retarded knuckleheads have claimed, anyway.
Stapes writes:
on November 12th, 2012 at 12:17:43 PM

Not to seem obsequious but i agree mink. Sorry to see spielbergs balls still belong to lucas.

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Universal Pictures Already Broke the Record for Highest-Grossing Year

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved