WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Idris Elba Responds to James Bond Rumors
Dec 28th, 2014
Trailer For "Dragon Blade," with Jackie Chan, John Cusack and Adrien Brody
Dec 27th, 2014
"The Interview" Illegally Downloaded 1 Million Times in 24 Hours
Dec 26th, 2014
George Clooney Lied About Sending "The Interview" Petition to Film Studios?
Dec 26th, 2014
Chris Pine Says "Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit" is One of His Deep Regrets
Dec 25th, 2014
First Look at JJ Abrams' HBO Sci-Fi TV Series "Westworld"
Dec 25th, 2014
Trailer for Kat Dennings' "To Write Love On Her Arms"
Dec 25th, 2014
Adam Sandler is Hollywood's Most Overpaid Actor, Again
Dec 24th, 2014
Tim Burton Was Replaced on "Batman Forever" Because of McDonalds
Dec 24th, 2014
First Look at Jake Gyllenhaal in "Everest" Thriller
Dec 24th, 2014
Sony to Release "The Interview" on Christmas, See List of Theaters
Dec 24th, 2014
Trailer for "Entourage" Movie is Here!
Dec 24th, 2014
Trailer for Disney's "McFarland, USA" Sports Drama, with Kevin Costner
Dec 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Woman in Gold," with Helen Mirren and Ryan Reynolds
Dec 23rd, 2014
"Star Trek 3" Hires "Fast Five" Director Justin Lin
Dec 23rd, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Dec 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "The Longest Ride," Based on Nicholas Sparks Novel
Dec 23rd, 2014
New Trailer for Will Smith's "Focus" Heist Comedy
Dec 23rd, 2014
Sony Wanted Tom Hardy as Sandman and Sean Penn as Doctor Octopus in "Sinister Six"
Dec 22nd, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Director Says There's No Script, Release Date or Green Light
Dec 22nd, 2014
"The Hobbit 3" Dominates Box Office Weekend, "Night at the Museum 3" and "Annie" Bomb
Dec 22nd, 2014
Two Posters for Will Smith's "Focus" Heist Comedy
Dec 22nd, 2014
Photos: Better Look at Iron Man's Hulkbuster Suit From "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Dec 21st, 2014
First Look at "Sisters" Comedy, Re-Teaming Tina Fey and Amy Poehler
Dec 21st, 2014
Trailer: Sex Has Terrible Consequences in "It Follow" Horror Film
Dec 21st, 2014
New Photo From Joseph Gordon-Levitt's "The Walk," Directed by Robert Zemeckis
Dec 21st, 2014
Trailer for Sarah Michelle Gellar's "Veronika Decides to Die" Thriller
Dec 21st, 2014
Sony Considering Idris Elba as Next James Bond
Dec 20th, 2014
Peter Jackson Will Never Direct a Marvel Film
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film
Dec 20th, 2014
Two New Photos From Marvel's "Daredevil" TV Series
Dec 20th, 2014
Trailer for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Ted" Sequel
Dec 20th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Star Wars: Episode 7" Writer Confirmed, Steven Spielberg Won't Direct

Posted: November 9th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Star Wars: Episode 7" Writer Confirmed, Steven Spielberg WonSubmit Comment
It was just reported that Michael Arndt (Toy Story 3, Little Miss Sunshine) was the one who wrote the treatment for "Star Wars: Episode 7." Lucasfilm has now confirmed the news, adding that Arndt will also provide the screenplay.

Regarding directors, the plan has been to send the treatment to some of Hollywood's top directors, a list that includes Steven Spielberg, Brad Bird and JJ Abrams. Now comes word that Spielberg has taken himself out of the running, stating: "No. No. It's not my genre. It's my best friend George's genre."

Spielberg is now part of a group of directors who are not interested in being approached. The list also includes Quentin Tarantino and Zack Snyder (Man of Steel). "Star Wars: Episode 7" is set to hit theaters during the summer of 2015.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
OneTime writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 11:24:28 PM

ill direct it. end of line.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 11:59:04 PM

A blind hobo could direct it better than Lucas...
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 12:25:43 AM

Brad Bird then.
Avirex writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 12:26:53 AM

If Disney buys me me too I might consider directing it.
Arti writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 12:34:06 AM

Brad Bird, JJ Abrams or my dog, it won't be nearly as important as the script they come up with and the direction they take with this. Jesus, we're going to live the next 3 years with rumors every 2 days on who's been cast or what storyline is in the script.
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 12:38:52 AM

"No. No. It's not my genre. It's my best friend George's genre."

Yeah, right. I read different with the fact that Lucas is a real d!ck with his so-called friend in 2002...

http://www.joblo.com/movie-news/steven-spielberg-wont-direct-star-wars-episode-vii-because-its-his-best-friends-genre
Daigoro writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 12:53:26 AM

Tarantino directing Star Wars? Bahhhhhhhh hahahahaha
Frank_Castle writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 1:06:28 AM

Hey this just came to mind. Whats going to become of the TV Show set between III and IV?
Frank_Castle writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 1:07:43 AM

Also what about Joe Johnson for director? He was heavily involved with Return of the Jedi
Ranger writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 2:59:11 AM




Let Mickey Mouse direct it.




pornfly writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 3:45:29 AM

Let Tom Six direct
trailertrash writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 3:48:23 AM

I will direct something into the new Princess Leia
pornfly writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 4:00:39 AM

Lay that Leia like a playa
trailertrash writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 4:17:52 AM

lol

I'd Jabba That Butt
MANGOMANIAC writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 4:21:38 AM

Quiten Tarantino is a simply putting it "a c*nt"
R3tr0burn3r writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 5:16:55 AM

@ Pornfly no, no, please not Tom Six.
I can see it already...,Jabba's son seeks revenge for the death of his father. He captures our intrepid heroes and creates a 4 person, 1 wookie and 2 droid space centipede.
pornfly writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 5:29:20 AM

^sounds like a plan
Make it so

Wait, thats Star Trek NG

Who cares
Nut to butt them all up
boogiel writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 7:27:38 AM

well, this guy has so much pressure on him now. He better deliver.
TonyWalnuts writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 8:33:43 AM

Lets give it to @onetime. I think he might be able to bring some credibility back to the franchise.
Brody writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 8:36:43 AM

This will be directed by commitee, a studio (Disney) directed film. Officially the director will be the one on the set with a direct line to the boardroom regarding every bit of this film that can potentially be a ride at DisneyWorld and every new character that they can market as a toy.

You don't spend $4 billion without thinking about how to maximize return.

Creativity by numbers.

Original cut, extended cut, DVD, bluray, special edition bluray, 4 month anniversary bluray, then 3D re-release, and on and on and on...

George you just pimped out what you created.

PS - I'll direct it!
Brody writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 8:39:35 AM

I'll play Hand Solo
KindredMac writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 8:39:58 AM

Peter Jackson.
DeVries writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 8:45:27 AM

I want Ranger to direct it. f*ck that would be awesome.
Electro Rock writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 8:56:16 AM

I can't even think about it. Everytime I think of a director that sounds good, I retract it almost immediately.

I'm also worried about design. Don't want everything looking new and clean. And I pray they don't use the word Sith.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 8:59:10 AM

When asked to comment on this story, Uwe Boll stated:

- "This is right up my alley. I expect a call soon."
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 11:11:28 AM

i say we let JB Direct it, HES THE HERO WE NEED RIGHT NOW PEOPLE!, I'm kidding. obviously.

But awh, go Spielberg! if not him then give it to JJ Abrams.
buttabean writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 2:11:07 PM

I think they'll pick a no name for it. It'll create a career for them like district 9 did for Mr. Bloomkamp. Lucas seems like he's gunning for a young no name to take over
Johnnie writes:
on November 10th, 2012 at 10:06:11 PM

Hopefully Lucas actually has input on this. Yea he isnt the best director, not even close, but it is his story and if it wasnt for him we wouldnt even be discussing this.
Shogo1307 writes:
on November 11th, 2012 at 9:35:51 AM

i think Jon favreau would be a good pick, i mean hes a comic geek look what he did with Iron Man and such, plus i think someone who knows the mythos and is at home in this kind of stuff would be better for the project anyway.
minkowski writes:
on November 11th, 2012 at 5:20:49 PM

Disney will choose someone internally, someone with whom they have a previous relationship. Someone like Brad Bird, yes, or Stanton.

And yes, John Carter was actually a pretty good movie. Much better than you retarded knuckleheads have claimed, anyway.
Stapes writes:
on November 12th, 2012 at 12:17:43 PM

Not to seem obsequious but i agree mink. Sorry to see spielbergs balls still belong to lucas.

Shia LaBeouf Says He Was Raped During His #IAmSorry Stunt

TIME Magazine's Top 10 Best and Worst Films of 2014

Chris Pine Says "Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit" is One of His Deep Regrets

Christian Bale Says He'll Never Work With "Terminator Salvation" Director Again

It's Official: Jared Leto is The Joker and Will Smith is Deadshot in "Suicide Squad"

Marvel Would Have Recast Spider-Man in "Captain America: Civil War"

"Demolition Man" Writer Explains How He Came Up with The Three Seashells

"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Still Rules Box Office, "The Pyramid" Bombed

Sony Considering Idris Elba as Next James Bond

Josh Brolin Says Thanos Will Fight Everyone in "Avengers: Infinity War"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved