WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for Liam Neeson's "Taken 3" Arrives Online
Oct 1st, 2014
"Tetris" Video Game to Become a Live-Action Sci-Fi Movie
Oct 1st, 2014
Restricted Trailer For "Home Sweet Hell," with Katherine Heigl and Patrick Wilson
Oct 1st, 2014
"Zombieland" Sequel is Moving Forward, Writer and Director Hired
Oct 1st, 2014
New Trailer for "Horrible Bosses 2"
Oct 1st, 2014
Trailer For Russell Crowe's "The Water Diviner," Directed by Crowe
Oct 1st, 2014
Jeremy Renner Says Marvel Wants a Hawkeye/Black Widow Film
Sep 30th, 2014
Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume
Sep 30th, 2014
Kevin Smith Says He Raised Money For "Clerks 3"
Sep 30th, 2014
"Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" Sequel to Premiere on Netflix
Sep 30th, 2014
Trailer for PT Anderson's "Inherent Vice," with Joaquin Phoenix and Josh Brolin
Sep 30th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Loft" Thriller, with Karl Urban and James Marsden
Sep 30th, 2014
"Black Widow" Movie Almost Happened Before "Iron Man"
Sep 29th, 2014
First Look at Kristen Stewart's "Equals" Sci-Fi Film
Sep 29th, 2014
Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Easily Wins at Box Office
Sep 29th, 2014
"Police Academy" Reboot Abandons Judd Apatow's Storyline
Sep 29th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Attached to "Interstellar"?
Sep 28th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" to Begin Filming in December
Sep 28th, 2014
William Shatner Confirms Offer to Appear in "Star Trek 3"
Sep 28th, 2014
First Trailer for Lifetime's "Aaliyah" Biopic
Sep 28th, 2014
Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?
Sep 27th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Comments on Matt Damon Returning to "Jason Bourne" Franchise
Sep 27th, 2014
First Poster for Liam Neeson's "Taken 3," Plus New Title Revealed
Sep 27th, 2014
Posters For Ridiculous "22 Jump Street" Sequels
Sep 27th, 2014
How Much Netflix Do People Watch Per Day?
Sep 27th, 2014
Miles Teller Apologizes For Trashing "Divergent"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Sep 26th, 2014
Deleted Rogue Scenes Will Be Added Back Into "Rogue Cut" of "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Wedding Ringer" Comedy, with Kevin Hart and Josh Gad
Sep 26th, 2014
"Bill and Ted 3" is Still Happening, Details Revealed
Sep 26th, 2014
"Dumb and Dumber To" Unveils First TV Spot
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Michael Mann's "Blackhat" Thriller, with Chris Hemsworth
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Joe Carnahan's "Stretch," with Chris Pine, Patrick Wilson and Jessica Alba
Sep 26th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Star Wars: Episode 7" Hires Writer, List of Potential Directors Revealed

Posted: November 9th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Star Wars: Episode 7" Hires Writer, List of Potential Directors RevealedSubmit Comment
When it was first announced that Disney was acquiring the "Star Wars" franchise, it was revealed that there were treatments for a new trilogy. Now comes word that the treatments came from Michael Arndt, who was nominated for an Oscar for Disney's "Toy Story 3," won an Oscar for "Little Miss Sunshine" and recently wrote the sequel to "The Hunger Games." He is also a massive "Star Wars" fan and will likely end up writing the script for "Star Wars: Episode 7."

The studio is planning to take the treatment for "Episode 7" and pass it around to Hollywood's top directors, including Brad Bird, Steven Spielberg and JJ Abrams. Whether they would be interested is unclear, but Disney wants to make sure it tried the biggest names before moving on to others.

Very little is known about the details of the treatment, except that it brings back the three central characters of the original "Star Wars": a much older Luke Skywalker, Princess Leia, and Han Solo. The goal is to bring back Mark Hamill, while Harrison Ford and Carrie Fisher have both expressed interest in reprising their roles.

Meanwhile, two directors have already rejected the idea of taking on the new movie.

Zack Snyder (Man of Steel, Watchmen) said: "I don't think I'd be interested in [directing it]. I'm a huge 'Star Wars' fanatic. I just think doing [episodes] seven, eight and nine is just a slippery slope. It's a whole other mythological experiment I'm excited to see, but it's a lot of effort."

Quentin Tarantino said: "I couldn't care less. No, sorry. Especially if Disney is going to do it. I'm not interested in the Simon West (The Expendables 2, Con Air) version of 'Star Wars.'"

Source: NY Mag, Deadline, LA Times, EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 7:40:52 AM

I have a bad feeling about this...
Taco writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 7:49:59 AM

f*ck you QT, hack grind house overly pretentious sh*t bag. And when did Brad Bird become a top name after one live action movie?
Rambo writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 7:57:31 AM

JJ Abrams seems the best choice so far.
zyban03 writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 7:59:43 AM

I guess Quentin knows something we don't and how can he criticize anything after Death Proof.
zyban03 writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 8:02:16 AM

@Rambo

I think Abrams would be great... Lightsabers with FLARE!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3AWGea9eeFg
McQueen writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 8:04:17 AM

What Tarantino said. Spot on.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 8:16:00 AM

yea JJ Abrams would do a good job.

and like i said in an earlier post, i wouldn't mind Spielberg taking a crack at it. If he can get his creative genius flowing, He's unstoppable
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 8:22:09 AM

Bringing back the old actors is a lame idea. They are too old and should be recast. Jason Ritter as Luke, Amy Adams as Leia, and Jeffrey Dean Morgan as Han Solo for example.
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 8:30:53 AM

http://www.newyorkgirlstyle.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/Amy-Adams1.jpg
velocityknown writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 8:32:01 AM

Michael Arndt is a great choice to write this. He's done good studio and good indie stuff. Out of those three directors, I think Brad Bird is a) most likely to do it and b) would do a great job.

Also, Tarantino needs to get over himself. I know that's asking a lot. But f*cking seriously, dude. You're not king.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 8:36:16 AM

QT go f*ck yourself with a spiked comb.
cress writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 8:37:52 AM

I'm a Tarantino fan, but he can shut the f*ck up on this. His scripts aren't always good, and Death Proof was an example of when someone should tell him to "Trim that sh*t, Quentin!"
MatimaximumX writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 10:00:57 AM

Brad Bird would be an awesome/best choice

IF he's a true star wars fan.
buttabean writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 10:35:19 AM

It's going to be a generic movie I think. "Classic it won't, 3 years too short"

I don't think Spielberg will ever think of doing Star Wars. He's friends with Lucas and Star Wars is Lucas prize possession. I could only see it if they did what they did with Indiana Jones and made it as a collaboration.

The results would look similar to the 4th Indiana Jones lol. It's essentially the same thing. Luke grown up, father figure. Bickering with his son constantly lol

Not really a lot you could do with the character arcs. Story wise it'll be fun, lots of action. I honestly can't see these being better than even the newest prequels. Definitely going to be weird.

Cannon writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 10:50:25 AM


Keep JJ Abrams the f*ck away from Star Wars!

Cannon writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 11:03:07 AM

Why is Tarantino getting so much sh*t for his comments? I'm hardly the guy's biggest fan (his movies are just...ok) but I mostly agree with his what he's saying here. Say what you will about the past Star Wars movies, but they, even the prequels, were independent enterprises, outside the studio system, from the mind of a single creator.

But now they've truly, literally gone corporate, and I believe that is the point QT is making: that Star Wars will look and feel just like every other generic Hollywood film slapped together with a generic director, from a corporate think-tank.

cress writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 11:18:34 AM

I've never really bought into the 'Studios are evil' bit. Sure, there's countless examples of studios meddling in the creative process, with terrible results in the final cut. But there are also many, many, many great studio films. Kathleen Kennedy is a great producer, who seeks out and works with great talent. I trust she will be a good steward for this series. Disney may be viewed as an evil conglomerate, but they churn out some pretty good movies. And Toy Story 3 was f*cking great.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 12:07:24 PM

Bringing back the old actors is a lame idea. They are too old and should be recast. Jason Ritter as Luke, Amy Adams as Leia, and Jeffrey Dean Morgan as Han Solo for example.

I think recasting these characters would be the worst possible idea. The old actors could come back but not as central characters. It doesn't have to be a direct sequel to Return Of The Jedi because everything was good at the end it makes more sense to start another story, introduce new protagonists that are related to the other characters (Han and Leias son/ daughter/hamster etc) all you need is the rise of the dark side vs the force battle. CLEAR PROTAGONIST!! Give the audience someone to relate to.
j-man writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 12:07:42 PM

Why no uwe boll
Man in Black writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 12:14:21 PM

All right now we care who is going to write this and direct this but that all takes a back seat personally to what direction they are going , in reality all they would have to do is adapt a graphic novel or the Tim Zahn trilogy . The world on a platter .
Man in Black writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 12:22:38 PM

And now Quentin tells Disney " NO " what a set of stones after Miramax ( a Disney company ) released Pulp Fiction for you , you would turn your back on them .... well f*cko don't look for any favors from them . It seems like everyone ( directors ) want to see where the director that gets chosen will take the story and vision for the film . But ... none of them have the testicular fortitude to step the f*ck up and put foot to ass to make a great film , tells me they are afraid of failure and the lynch mob that are Star Wars fan boys . Where is Ivan Kirshner when you need him ?
Fightclub1 writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 12:28:04 PM

I'd love to see brad bird do this. He proved he can tackle big projects with mission impossible 4
OneTime writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 3:47:39 PM

ill direct it.
KillerCOck writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 4:29:59 PM

haha! QT is the truth.
Skywalker121289 writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 4:51:08 PM

Mission Impossible 4 sucked balls. Badly. It was so cheesy and cliche, it had hardly any real character development at all. Bleh.

And for the record, all of these characters are all going to have to lose a LOT of weight.

Especially Fisher. Crap she's fat. But listening to Hamill in interviews and whatnot, he seems like he's still primed for a return to the mythos. He's still got some life in him. Ford and Fisher seem like they're ready to be euthanized- they're all old and cynical. No room for them in the next trilogy.

Champ1432 writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 6:26:09 PM

I don't think I would want Snyder or Tarantino doing it anyway. They're both good in their own right, but I don't think they would be good at Star Wars.

Such a tough choice, hard to say who the best person for the job would be. Of course Spielberg would be high on the list, but he's already said he's not doing it. Bird or Abrams would probably be worthy choices.

As for getting all of the big three back, also a tough situation. All three are so completely identified with those roles, its hard to see someone else playing them. But as others have said, who wants to see old, fat Princess Leia? Probably the best option would be a storyline that allows them to come back, but in limited roles. Focus the story on the next generation of Jedi, Han and Leia's kids. With Luke as their mentor, and the return of the darkside, it should make for an interesting tale.

I'm really, really hoping so anyway.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 6:37:49 PM

Christopher Nolan got the gig that's why he hasn't announced his next movie.
Skywalker121289 writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 6:45:09 PM

Nolan shouldn't touch this project with a 10 foot pole. He's too analytical- wouldn't leave any room at all for the space fantasy to actually come into play.
pornfly writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 7:24:09 PM

^
ChaseEvolution writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 8:14:46 PM

Brad Bird would be the sh*ttiest choice ever. He already f*cked up M:I4 by making it basically a kids movie. So f*ck him.

JJ Abrams all the way. Spielberg already turned it down.
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 9:45:58 PM

"But now they've truly, literally gone corporate, and I believe that is the point QT is making: that Star Wars will look and feel just like every other generic Hollywood film slapped together with a generic director, from a corporate think-tan."

Spot on Cannon. I agree, but I think Disney would really let a potential BILLION dollar movie to the guy that directed CON AIR or EXPENDABLES 2 or someone similar. They want the big talents, no doubt.

As for the writer, solid choice. Writers always make the project better when they're big fans and love the source material.

Bringing back the 3 from the original trilogy could be a double edge sword...see Indiana Jones 4. They 3 need a good plot to make them players and not cameos.

They really have their work cut out for them...
Jabba_RT writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 10:14:27 PM

Carrie Fisher needs to start up her coke habit again. That oughta get her thin fast.
minkowski writes:
on November 11th, 2012 at 5:44:30 PM

"I just think doing [episodes] seven, eight and nine is just a slippery slope. It's a whole other mythological experiment I'm excited to see, but it's a lot of effort."

Translation: I suck at anything that demands mature story, character development and strong dialogue.

"Bringing back the 3 from the original trilogy could be a double edge sword"

Uh, Kershner is dead, dude.

And QT needs to shut the f*ck up. Few of his films are masterpieces and it sounds like he's talking about of hatred for Disney and other big-budget mega-studios, because, you know, his 'independent' films are just so much better than anything a big studio can make.

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You

Colin Farrell and Vince Vaughn Confirmed for Second Season of "True Detective"

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience

Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved