WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy
Apr 17th, 2014
Robin Williams to Return for "Mrs. Doubtfire" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2014
Jerry Bruckheimer on "Pirates of the Caribbean 5," "Top Gun 2" and "Beverly Hills Cop 4"
Apr 17th, 2014
James Franco Didn't Know He Has a Cameo in "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes"
Apr 17th, 2014
Poster for Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 17th, 2014
"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Contains a Surprising Post-Credits Scene
Apr 17th, 2014
Trailer for Eli Roth's "The Green Inferno" Cannibal Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2014
Antonio Banderas Says "Puss in Boots 2" is Already Being Made
Apr 16th, 2014
"Friday the 13th" Reboot in Talks with "V/H/S" Director
Apr 16th, 2014
Sneak Peek at Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Apr 16th, 2014
Final Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Sinister Six" Spin-Off May NOT Feature Classic Spider-Man Villains
Apr 16th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "The Revenant" Revenge Thriller
Apr 16th, 2014
Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly and Adam McKay Re-Team for "Border Guards" Comedy
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for Chrloe Moretz's "If I Stay"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Hires Paul Walker's Brothers to Help Finish the Film
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for "Third Person," with Liam Neeson and James Franco
Apr 16th, 2014
Andrew Garfield Says Spider-Man is Jewish
Apr 15th, 2014
Channing Tatum Confirms Talks to Play Gambit in "X-Men" Film
Apr 15th, 2014
David Fincher to be Replaced on Steve Jobs Biopic Due to Unreasonable Requests
Apr 15th, 2014
Harrison Ford Excited to Return for "Blade Runner" Sequel
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for David Cronenberg's "Maps to the Stars," with John Cusack and Julianne Moore
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Philip Seymour Hoffman's "God's Pocket" Thriller
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Zoe Saldana's "Rosemary's Baby" TV Series
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Tommy Lee Jones' "The Homesman"
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Jay-Z's "Annie" Remake, With Jamie Foxx and Cameron Diaz
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Ben Affleck's "Gone Girl" Thriller, Directed by David Fincher
Apr 14th, 2014
Pierce Brosnan Says He Was NOT Good Enough as James Bond
Apr 14th, 2014
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ
Apr 14th, 2014
Watch Opening Battle Sequence From "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 14th, 2014
Spider-Man Battles Electro in New "The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Clip
Apr 14th, 2014
First "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" TV Spot Shows Splinter
Apr 14th, 2014
"Transformers: Age of Extinction" TV Spot From MTV Movie Awards
Apr 14th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Star Wars: Episode 7" Hires Writer, List of Potential Directors Revealed

Posted: November 9th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Star Wars: Episode 7" Hires Writer, List of Potential Directors RevealedSubmit Comment
When it was first announced that Disney was acquiring the "Star Wars" franchise, it was revealed that there were treatments for a new trilogy. Now comes word that the treatments came from Michael Arndt, who was nominated for an Oscar for Disney's "Toy Story 3," won an Oscar for "Little Miss Sunshine" and recently wrote the sequel to "The Hunger Games." He is also a massive "Star Wars" fan and will likely end up writing the script for "Star Wars: Episode 7."

The studio is planning to take the treatment for "Episode 7" and pass it around to Hollywood's top directors, including Brad Bird, Steven Spielberg and JJ Abrams. Whether they would be interested is unclear, but Disney wants to make sure it tried the biggest names before moving on to others.

Very little is known about the details of the treatment, except that it brings back the three central characters of the original "Star Wars": a much older Luke Skywalker, Princess Leia, and Han Solo. The goal is to bring back Mark Hamill, while Harrison Ford and Carrie Fisher have both expressed interest in reprising their roles.

Meanwhile, two directors have already rejected the idea of taking on the new movie.

Zack Snyder (Man of Steel, Watchmen) said: "I don't think I'd be interested in [directing it]. I'm a huge 'Star Wars' fanatic. I just think doing [episodes] seven, eight and nine is just a slippery slope. It's a whole other mythological experiment I'm excited to see, but it's a lot of effort."

Quentin Tarantino said: "I couldn't care less. No, sorry. Especially if Disney is going to do it. I'm not interested in the Simon West (The Expendables 2, Con Air) version of 'Star Wars.'"

Source: NY Mag, Deadline, LA Times, EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 7:40:52 AM

I have a bad feeling about this...
Taco writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 7:49:59 AM

f*ck you QT, hack grind house overly pretentious sh*t bag. And when did Brad Bird become a top name after one live action movie?
Rambo writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 7:57:31 AM

JJ Abrams seems the best choice so far.
zyban03 writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 7:59:43 AM

I guess Quentin knows something we don't and how can he criticize anything after Death Proof.
zyban03 writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 8:02:16 AM

@Rambo

I think Abrams would be great... Lightsabers with FLARE!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3AWGea9eeFg
McQueen writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 8:04:17 AM

What Tarantino said. Spot on.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 8:16:00 AM

yea JJ Abrams would do a good job.

and like i said in an earlier post, i wouldn't mind Spielberg taking a crack at it. If he can get his creative genius flowing, He's unstoppable
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 8:22:09 AM

Bringing back the old actors is a lame idea. They are too old and should be recast. Jason Ritter as Luke, Amy Adams as Leia, and Jeffrey Dean Morgan as Han Solo for example.
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 8:30:53 AM

http://www.newyorkgirlstyle.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/Amy-Adams1.jpg
velocityknown writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 8:32:01 AM

Michael Arndt is a great choice to write this. He's done good studio and good indie stuff. Out of those three directors, I think Brad Bird is a) most likely to do it and b) would do a great job.

Also, Tarantino needs to get over himself. I know that's asking a lot. But f*cking seriously, dude. You're not king.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 8:36:16 AM

QT go f*ck yourself with a spiked comb.
cress writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 8:37:52 AM

I'm a Tarantino fan, but he can shut the f*ck up on this. His scripts aren't always good, and Death Proof was an example of when someone should tell him to "Trim that sh*t, Quentin!"
MatimaximumX writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 10:00:57 AM

Brad Bird would be an awesome/best choice

IF he's a true star wars fan.
buttabean writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 10:35:19 AM

It's going to be a generic movie I think. "Classic it won't, 3 years too short"

I don't think Spielberg will ever think of doing Star Wars. He's friends with Lucas and Star Wars is Lucas prize possession. I could only see it if they did what they did with Indiana Jones and made it as a collaboration.

The results would look similar to the 4th Indiana Jones lol. It's essentially the same thing. Luke grown up, father figure. Bickering with his son constantly lol

Not really a lot you could do with the character arcs. Story wise it'll be fun, lots of action. I honestly can't see these being better than even the newest prequels. Definitely going to be weird.

Cannon writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 10:50:25 AM


Keep JJ Abrams the f*ck away from Star Wars!

Cannon writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 11:03:07 AM

Why is Tarantino getting so much sh*t for his comments? I'm hardly the guy's biggest fan (his movies are just...ok) but I mostly agree with his what he's saying here. Say what you will about the past Star Wars movies, but they, even the prequels, were independent enterprises, outside the studio system, from the mind of a single creator.

But now they've truly, literally gone corporate, and I believe that is the point QT is making: that Star Wars will look and feel just like every other generic Hollywood film slapped together with a generic director, from a corporate think-tank.

cress writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 11:18:34 AM

I've never really bought into the 'Studios are evil' bit. Sure, there's countless examples of studios meddling in the creative process, with terrible results in the final cut. But there are also many, many, many great studio films. Kathleen Kennedy is a great producer, who seeks out and works with great talent. I trust she will be a good steward for this series. Disney may be viewed as an evil conglomerate, but they churn out some pretty good movies. And Toy Story 3 was f*cking great.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 12:07:24 PM

Bringing back the old actors is a lame idea. They are too old and should be recast. Jason Ritter as Luke, Amy Adams as Leia, and Jeffrey Dean Morgan as Han Solo for example.

I think recasting these characters would be the worst possible idea. The old actors could come back but not as central characters. It doesn't have to be a direct sequel to Return Of The Jedi because everything was good at the end it makes more sense to start another story, introduce new protagonists that are related to the other characters (Han and Leias son/ daughter/hamster etc) all you need is the rise of the dark side vs the force battle. CLEAR PROTAGONIST!! Give the audience someone to relate to.
j-man writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 12:07:42 PM

Why no uwe boll
Man in Black writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 12:14:21 PM

All right now we care who is going to write this and direct this but that all takes a back seat personally to what direction they are going , in reality all they would have to do is adapt a graphic novel or the Tim Zahn trilogy . The world on a platter .
Man in Black writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 12:22:38 PM

And now Quentin tells Disney " NO " what a set of stones after Miramax ( a Disney company ) released Pulp Fiction for you , you would turn your back on them .... well f*cko don't look for any favors from them . It seems like everyone ( directors ) want to see where the director that gets chosen will take the story and vision for the film . But ... none of them have the testicular fortitude to step the f*ck up and put foot to ass to make a great film , tells me they are afraid of failure and the lynch mob that are Star Wars fan boys . Where is Ivan Kirshner when you need him ?
Fightclub1 writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 12:28:04 PM

I'd love to see brad bird do this. He proved he can tackle big projects with mission impossible 4
OneTime writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 3:47:39 PM

ill direct it.
KillerCOck writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 4:29:59 PM

haha! QT is the truth.
Skywalker121289 writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 4:51:08 PM

Mission Impossible 4 sucked balls. Badly. It was so cheesy and cliche, it had hardly any real character development at all. Bleh.

And for the record, all of these characters are all going to have to lose a LOT of weight.

Especially Fisher. Crap she's fat. But listening to Hamill in interviews and whatnot, he seems like he's still primed for a return to the mythos. He's still got some life in him. Ford and Fisher seem like they're ready to be euthanized- they're all old and cynical. No room for them in the next trilogy.

Champ1432 writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 6:26:09 PM

I don't think I would want Snyder or Tarantino doing it anyway. They're both good in their own right, but I don't think they would be good at Star Wars.

Such a tough choice, hard to say who the best person for the job would be. Of course Spielberg would be high on the list, but he's already said he's not doing it. Bird or Abrams would probably be worthy choices.

As for getting all of the big three back, also a tough situation. All three are so completely identified with those roles, its hard to see someone else playing them. But as others have said, who wants to see old, fat Princess Leia? Probably the best option would be a storyline that allows them to come back, but in limited roles. Focus the story on the next generation of Jedi, Han and Leia's kids. With Luke as their mentor, and the return of the darkside, it should make for an interesting tale.

I'm really, really hoping so anyway.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 6:37:49 PM

Christopher Nolan got the gig that's why he hasn't announced his next movie.
Skywalker121289 writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 6:45:09 PM

Nolan shouldn't touch this project with a 10 foot pole. He's too analytical- wouldn't leave any room at all for the space fantasy to actually come into play.
pornfly writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 7:24:09 PM

^
ChaseEvolution writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 8:14:46 PM

Brad Bird would be the sh*ttiest choice ever. He already f*cked up M:I4 by making it basically a kids movie. So f*ck him.

JJ Abrams all the way. Spielberg already turned it down.
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 9:45:58 PM

"But now they've truly, literally gone corporate, and I believe that is the point QT is making: that Star Wars will look and feel just like every other generic Hollywood film slapped together with a generic director, from a corporate think-tan."

Spot on Cannon. I agree, but I think Disney would really let a potential BILLION dollar movie to the guy that directed CON AIR or EXPENDABLES 2 or someone similar. They want the big talents, no doubt.

As for the writer, solid choice. Writers always make the project better when they're big fans and love the source material.

Bringing back the 3 from the original trilogy could be a double edge sword...see Indiana Jones 4. They 3 need a good plot to make them players and not cameos.

They really have their work cut out for them...
Jabba_RT writes:
on November 9th, 2012 at 10:14:27 PM

Carrie Fisher needs to start up her coke habit again. That oughta get her thin fast.
minkowski writes:
on November 11th, 2012 at 5:44:30 PM

"I just think doing [episodes] seven, eight and nine is just a slippery slope. It's a whole other mythological experiment I'm excited to see, but it's a lot of effort."

Translation: I suck at anything that demands mature story, character development and strong dialogue.

"Bringing back the 3 from the original trilogy could be a double edge sword"

Uh, Kershner is dead, dude.

And QT needs to shut the f*ck up. Few of his films are masterpieces and it sounds like he's talking about of hatred for Disney and other big-budget mega-studios, because, you know, his 'independent' films are just so much better than anything a big studio can make.

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

Lindsay Lohan Says She Was Almost in "The Avengers," But as Which Character?

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works

"Captain America 3" Directors Hint at Plot Details
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved