WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses Getting "Terminator" Rights Back in 2019
Oct 17th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Says "Pacific Rim 2" Sets Up "Pacific Rim 3"
Oct 17th, 2014
New Trailer For Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Oct 17th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson Offered $10 Million to Star in "Ghost in the Shell"
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer For Chris Rock's "Top Five" Comedy
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Oct 16th, 2014
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in Ron Howard's "Heart of the Sea" Survival Film
Oct 16th, 2014
James Wan May Direct Another "Saw" Film in 2016
Oct 16th, 2014
Channing Tatum Provides "Gambit" Update
Oct 16th, 2014
Christian Bale in Talks to Star in Steve Jobs Biopic
Oct 16th, 2014
New Teaser For "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 16th, 2014
Warner Bros Announces "The Flash," "Aquaman," "Justice League" and "Green Lantern" Movies
Oct 16th, 2014
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's "Dying of the Light" Thriller
Oct 16th, 2014
Edward Norton Says Today's Movies are Just As Good as Films From 1960s
Oct 15th, 2014
Photos: Michael Douglas is Hank Pym on "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 15th, 2014
Javier Bardem in Talks to Play Main Villain in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Oct 15th, 2014
Trailer: Katie Holmes Kills Lots of People in "Miss Meadows"
Oct 15th, 2014
Ninth Character Poster For "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies," Features Bilbo Baggins Again
Oct 15th, 2014
New "Jurassic World" Poster Arrives Online
Oct 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros Confirms "Mortal Kombat" Reboot, Reveals Budget

Posted: November 5th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner Bros Confirms "Mortal Kombat" Reboot, Reveals BudgetSubmit Comment
Back in June, it was reported that Warner Bros decided to move forward with a new "Mortal Kombat" movie. Kevin Tancharoen who directed a "Mortal Kombat" web series for the studio is returning to helm the film.

Warner Bros executive Lance Sloan has now confirmed the reboot while also revealing the film's proposed budget. "We're preparing right now for the ['Mortal Kombat'] film with Kevin Tancharoen, [who] directed the digital series for us," he said. "He's at the helm of the forty, fifty million dollar film."

The reboot is rumored to follow a lowly unlucky supermarket employee who discovers that he has "out of this world" powers and must decide between good and evil, even though the evil side has helped him discover his true potential and who he really is.

Source: WebSeriesNetwork, CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:12:23 AM

Seriously, a super market employee discovers powers???? (head smack).
Taco writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:14:11 AM

Anyone else think this sounds like the sorcerer's aprintise?
nawtnt writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:15:29 AM

I just hope this Mortal Kombat reboot doesn't have unknown actors and goes straight to dvd.

I really hope this reboot turns out to be true to the video game just like the first MK movie and gives every popular characters lots of screentime.

Plus it's R rated and have Michael Jai White return as Jax, he's a great choice.
boogiel writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:18:57 AM

That plot synopsis sounds like total CRAP!!!
pornfly writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:27:30 AM

I have out of this world powers in my pants
pornfly writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:48:31 AM

P A P E R
O R
P L A A S T I I C! !

DUHDUH!
DUHDUH!
DUHDUH!
DUHDUH-DUHDUHDUH!
minkowski writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:51:12 AM

"The reboot is rumored to follow a lowly unlucky supermarket employee who discovers that he has "out of this world" powers and must decide between good and evil, even though the evil side has helped him discover his true potential and who he really is."



Or in other words, the supermarket employee is Luke Skywalker.

Guess we have the plot for Star Wars 7: Paper or Plastic.
d.nadeau writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 9:08:06 AM

I'm picturing Scorpion doing his spear grab attack to get the hard to reach items on the top shelves.
Avirex writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 9:08:22 AM

Goddamn it Warner Bros you need to hire an actual director not a f*cking dance aficionado (Fame and Glee flicks). Even Marvel doesn't go that f*cking cheap when choosing a director, and believe me they always go cheap.

If you can't make it right just don't f*cking make it. What can you really expect from the studio behind Catwoman and Green Lantern though I guess.
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 9:52:38 AM

"Warner Bros Confirms "Mortal Kombat" Reboot"

F*cking A!!

"The reboot is rumored to follow a lowly unlucky supermarket employee who discovers that he has "out of this world" powers and must decide between good and evil, even though the evil side has helped him discover his true potential and who he really is."

F*cking WHAAT!! Da hell...?!!

BadChadB33 writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 9:52:43 AM

I swear to God if this is the story I'm gonna give the f*cktard's a fatality alright.
DexterMorgan writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 12:16:55 PM

sounds stupid
struck21 writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 12:35:10 PM

I loved the web series, can't wait for season 2, but why changed the general theme and feel of what got the reboot green lighted? Horrid idea for a movie.
matternm58 writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 12:43:14 PM

No body in the Mortal Kombat universe I know worked in a f*cking supermarket.
matternm58 writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 12:46:38 PM

The web series was freaking awesome I thought.
matternm58 writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 12:48:30 PM

I just can't wrap my head around this. I'm a huge Mortal Kombat fan, how could you do this you pack of f*cking inbreeds.
GreenLensman writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 1:19:18 PM

i always thought the original movie (annihilation) was the best, with johnny cages one liners, jax beating heads in like a proper bad ass, and all the sweet ass you could ask for (sandra hess)if mother f*ckers arent ripping spines out of *ssholes, i'll pass thank you
Elbow writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 2:52:14 PM

So it's Luke Skywalker (for the reasons that Minkowski pointed out) crossed with Army of Darkness's Ash ("average guy" supermarket employee becomes a bad-ass anti-hero) crossed with the Mortal Kombat universe, from the director who brought you Glee: The 3D Concert Movie (2011), The p*ssycat Dolls Present: The Search for the Next Doll (2007), Dancelife (2006), and Britney Spears Live from Miami (2004).

Yup.
The Boosh writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 3:36:32 PM

The good thing about rebooting this movie is, even if it's just an hour and a half of a retard trying to fly a yoyo like a kyte, it'll still be better than the original!
minkowski writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 4:39:56 PM

The original was sh*t, and the sequel was sh*t chewed, swallowed, digested and sh*t back out.
GreenLensman writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 4:56:15 PM

the original, was pimp nasty, imagine being 8 years old and watching it (annihilation, the first one i barely remember)
GreenLensman writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 4:59:51 PM

the first one had highlander in it, the second one had dexters dad, that sh*t was tight, stop pretending
minkowski writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:05:13 PM

Both are infantile trash.
cress writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:56:37 PM

Clean up on aisle 3. There's a studio about to make a mess on the floor.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 6th, 2012 at 11:42:56 AM

i might watch lol The Sequel was just terrible lol

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved