WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull
Sep 17th, 2014
Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience
Sep 17th, 2014
Jack Huston to Star in "Ben-Hur" Remake
Sep 17th, 2014
Poster for Disney's "Into the Woods," with Meryl Streep and Johnny Depp
Sep 17th, 2014
Tom Hiddleston to Star in "King Kong" Prequel, "Skull Island"
Sep 16th, 2014
Poster for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Arrives Online
Sep 16th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Plot Synopsis Revealed
Sep 16th, 2014
"I Know What You Did Last Summer" is Being Rebooted
Sep 16th, 2014
Leslie Mann in Talks for "Vacation" Sequel as Audrey Griswold
Sep 16th, 2014
"You're Next" Director to Remake "I Saw the Devil" Thriller
Sep 16th, 2014
Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"
Sep 16th, 2014
First Look at "By the Sea," with Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie
Sep 16th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Arrives Online
Sep 16th, 2014
Massive Banner For "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies"
Sep 15th, 2014
First Look: Adam Driver on "Star Wars: Episode VII" Set
Sep 15th, 2014
"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office
Sep 14th, 2014
Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Sep 14th, 2014
Photos: "Gotham" Star Ben McKenzie Injured on Set
Sep 14th, 2014
First Look at "Transporter" Reboot, Plot Synopsis Revealed
Sep 14th, 2014
First Look: Mark Wahlberg on "Ted 2" Set
Sep 14th, 2014
Batmobile Stolen From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set, Zack Snyder Knows Who Did It
Sep 13th, 2014
First Look at Matthew McConaughey in "The Sea of Trees"
Sep 13th, 2014
First Look at Seth Rogen's "BOO: Bureau of Otherworldly Operations" Animated Film
Sep 13th, 2014
Morgan Freeman Joins "Ben-Hur" Remake
Sep 13th, 2014
Trailer For Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Action Thriller
Sep 13th, 2014
Trailer for "Serena," with Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence
Sep 13th, 2014
Trailer For "Playing It Cool," Re-Teaming Chris Evans and Anthony Mackie
Sep 13th, 2014
James McAvoy Will Finally Be Bald in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Sep 12th, 2014
Theo James to Star in "Underworld 5," Kate Beckinsale NOT Returning
Sep 12th, 2014
Mark Ruffalo Begged "Star Wars: Episode VIII" Director For a Role
Sep 12th, 2014
Photo: Tom Cruise, Simon Pegg, Jeremy Renner and Ving Rhames on "Mission: Impossible 5" Set
Sep 12th, 2014
New Trailer for Robert Downey Jr's "The Judge"
Sep 12th, 2014
"Married With Children" Spin-Off in the Works
Sep 12th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros Confirms "Mortal Kombat" Reboot, Reveals Budget

Posted: November 5th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner Bros Confirms "Mortal Kombat" Reboot, Reveals BudgetSubmit Comment
Back in June, it was reported that Warner Bros decided to move forward with a new "Mortal Kombat" movie. Kevin Tancharoen who directed a "Mortal Kombat" web series for the studio is returning to helm the film.

Warner Bros executive Lance Sloan has now confirmed the reboot while also revealing the film's proposed budget. "We're preparing right now for the ['Mortal Kombat'] film with Kevin Tancharoen, [who] directed the digital series for us," he said. "He's at the helm of the forty, fifty million dollar film."

The reboot is rumored to follow a lowly unlucky supermarket employee who discovers that he has "out of this world" powers and must decide between good and evil, even though the evil side has helped him discover his true potential and who he really is.

Source: WebSeriesNetwork, CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:12:23 AM

Seriously, a super market employee discovers powers???? (head smack).
Taco writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:14:11 AM

Anyone else think this sounds like the sorcerer's aprintise?
nawtnt writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:15:29 AM

I just hope this Mortal Kombat reboot doesn't have unknown actors and goes straight to dvd.

I really hope this reboot turns out to be true to the video game just like the first MK movie and gives every popular characters lots of screentime.

Plus it's R rated and have Michael Jai White return as Jax, he's a great choice.
boogiel writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:18:57 AM

That plot synopsis sounds like total CRAP!!!
pornfly writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:27:30 AM

I have out of this world powers in my pants
pornfly writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:48:31 AM

P A P E R
O R
P L A A S T I I C! !

DUHDUH!
DUHDUH!
DUHDUH!
DUHDUH-DUHDUHDUH!
minkowski writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:51:12 AM

"The reboot is rumored to follow a lowly unlucky supermarket employee who discovers that he has "out of this world" powers and must decide between good and evil, even though the evil side has helped him discover his true potential and who he really is."



Or in other words, the supermarket employee is Luke Skywalker.

Guess we have the plot for Star Wars 7: Paper or Plastic.
d.nadeau writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 9:08:06 AM

I'm picturing Scorpion doing his spear grab attack to get the hard to reach items on the top shelves.
Avirex writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 9:08:22 AM

Goddamn it Warner Bros you need to hire an actual director not a f*cking dance aficionado (Fame and Glee flicks). Even Marvel doesn't go that f*cking cheap when choosing a director, and believe me they always go cheap.

If you can't make it right just don't f*cking make it. What can you really expect from the studio behind Catwoman and Green Lantern though I guess.
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 9:52:38 AM

"Warner Bros Confirms "Mortal Kombat" Reboot"

F*cking A!!

"The reboot is rumored to follow a lowly unlucky supermarket employee who discovers that he has "out of this world" powers and must decide between good and evil, even though the evil side has helped him discover his true potential and who he really is."

F*cking WHAAT!! Da hell...?!!

BadChadB33 writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 9:52:43 AM

I swear to God if this is the story I'm gonna give the f*cktard's a fatality alright.
DexterMorgan writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 12:16:55 PM

sounds stupid
struck21 writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 12:35:10 PM

I loved the web series, can't wait for season 2, but why changed the general theme and feel of what got the reboot green lighted? Horrid idea for a movie.
matternm58 writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 12:43:14 PM

No body in the Mortal Kombat universe I know worked in a f*cking supermarket.
matternm58 writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 12:46:38 PM

The web series was freaking awesome I thought.
matternm58 writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 12:48:30 PM

I just can't wrap my head around this. I'm a huge Mortal Kombat fan, how could you do this you pack of f*cking inbreeds.
GreenLensman writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 1:19:18 PM

i always thought the original movie (annihilation) was the best, with johnny cages one liners, jax beating heads in like a proper bad ass, and all the sweet ass you could ask for (sandra hess)if mother f*ckers arent ripping spines out of *ssholes, i'll pass thank you
Elbow writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 2:52:14 PM

So it's Luke Skywalker (for the reasons that Minkowski pointed out) crossed with Army of Darkness's Ash ("average guy" supermarket employee becomes a bad-ass anti-hero) crossed with the Mortal Kombat universe, from the director who brought you Glee: The 3D Concert Movie (2011), The p*ssycat Dolls Present: The Search for the Next Doll (2007), Dancelife (2006), and Britney Spears Live from Miami (2004).

Yup.
The Boosh writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 3:36:32 PM

The good thing about rebooting this movie is, even if it's just an hour and a half of a retard trying to fly a yoyo like a kyte, it'll still be better than the original!
minkowski writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 4:39:56 PM

The original was sh*t, and the sequel was sh*t chewed, swallowed, digested and sh*t back out.
GreenLensman writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 4:56:15 PM

the original, was pimp nasty, imagine being 8 years old and watching it (annihilation, the first one i barely remember)
GreenLensman writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 4:59:51 PM

the first one had highlander in it, the second one had dexters dad, that sh*t was tight, stop pretending
minkowski writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:05:13 PM

Both are infantile trash.
cress writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:56:37 PM

Clean up on aisle 3. There's a studio about to make a mess on the floor.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 6th, 2012 at 11:42:56 AM

i might watch lol The Sequel was just terrible lol

Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014

"Sin City 2" Bombs at Box Office, "Guardians of the Galaxy" Smashing Records

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Story Details Revealed

"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America

Bruce Wayne Enjoys MMA Fights in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Warner Bros Has a "No Jokes" Policy For Its Superhero Films?
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved