WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Furious 7" Continues to Dominate at Box Office, "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Released Overseas
Apr 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Descendants," About Children of Disney Villains
Apr 27th, 2015
Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Apr 26th, 2015
New Footage in Extended "Terminator Genisys" TV Spot
Apr 26th, 2015
"Green Lantern" Writer Hired for "Wolverine 3"
Apr 26th, 2015
First Look at Jared Leto as The Joker from "Suicide Squad"!
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for M. Night Shyamalan's "The Visit" Thriller
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for "Area 51" Horror Film, From Director of "Paranormal Activity"
Apr 25th, 2015
First Look at Jamie Dornan in "Fifty Shades of Grey" Sequel
Apr 25th, 2015
Creepy Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass"
Apr 25th, 2015
First Look at Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy in "Victor Frankenstein"
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for "Barely Lethal" Action Comedy, with Hailee Steinfeld and Jessica Alba
Apr 25th, 2015
Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot
Apr 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Point Break" Remake
Apr 23rd, 2015
EL James' Husband to Write "Fifty Shades of Grey" Sequel
Apr 23rd, 2015
"21 Jump Street" Directors to Helm Animated "Spider-Man" Movie
Apr 23rd, 2015
Photo: Johnny Depp is Crime Boss Whitey Bulger in "Black Mass"
Apr 23rd, 2015
First Look at Johnny Depp in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Apr 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for George Clooney's "Tomorrowland" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 22nd, 2015
First Poster for M. Night Shyamalan's "The Visit" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2015
Poster for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Southpaw" Boxing Film
Apr 22nd, 2015
New "Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Apr 21st, 2015
First Look at Jared Leto as The Joker From "Suicide Squad"?
Apr 21st, 2015
Photos: Marvel Putting Up Tiny "Ant-Man" Billboards
Apr 21st, 2015
"Transformers 5" Coming in 2017
Apr 21st, 2015
Photo: Full Batman Costume From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed
Apr 21st, 2015
Full "Fantastic Four" Trailer is Here!
Apr 20th, 2015
Teaser for "Star Wars" Spin-Off Film Leaked Online!
Apr 20th, 2015
Two "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Teaser Posters
Apr 20th, 2015
"Furious 7" Crosses $1 Billion at Box Office
Apr 20th, 2015
Trailer for Ridiculous "Mega Shark vs Kolossus"
Apr 20th, 2015
Chris Pratt and His Raptors in New "Jurassic World" Poster
Apr 20th, 2015
George Lucas Says Marvel May Remake "Howard the Duck"
Apr 19th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros Confirms "Mortal Kombat" Reboot, Reveals Budget

Posted: November 5th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner Bros Confirms "Mortal Kombat" Reboot, Reveals BudgetSubmit Comment
Back in June, it was reported that Warner Bros decided to move forward with a new "Mortal Kombat" movie. Kevin Tancharoen who directed a "Mortal Kombat" web series for the studio is returning to helm the film.

Warner Bros executive Lance Sloan has now confirmed the reboot while also revealing the film's proposed budget. "We're preparing right now for the ['Mortal Kombat'] film with Kevin Tancharoen, [who] directed the digital series for us," he said. "He's at the helm of the forty, fifty million dollar film."

The reboot is rumored to follow a lowly unlucky supermarket employee who discovers that he has "out of this world" powers and must decide between good and evil, even though the evil side has helped him discover his true potential and who he really is.

Source: WebSeriesNetwork, CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:12:23 AM

Seriously, a super market employee discovers powers???? (head smack).
Taco writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:14:11 AM

Anyone else think this sounds like the sorcerer's aprintise?
nawtnt writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:15:29 AM

I just hope this Mortal Kombat reboot doesn't have unknown actors and goes straight to dvd.

I really hope this reboot turns out to be true to the video game just like the first MK movie and gives every popular characters lots of screentime.

Plus it's R rated and have Michael Jai White return as Jax, he's a great choice.
boogiel writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:18:57 AM

That plot synopsis sounds like total CRAP!!!
pornfly writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:27:30 AM

I have out of this world powers in my pants
pornfly writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:48:31 AM

P A P E R
O R
P L A A S T I I C! !

DUHDUH!
DUHDUH!
DUHDUH!
DUHDUH-DUHDUHDUH!
minkowski writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:51:12 AM

"The reboot is rumored to follow a lowly unlucky supermarket employee who discovers that he has "out of this world" powers and must decide between good and evil, even though the evil side has helped him discover his true potential and who he really is."



Or in other words, the supermarket employee is Luke Skywalker.

Guess we have the plot for Star Wars 7: Paper or Plastic.
d.nadeau writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 9:08:06 AM

I'm picturing Scorpion doing his spear grab attack to get the hard to reach items on the top shelves.
Avirex writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 9:08:22 AM

Goddamn it Warner Bros you need to hire an actual director not a f*cking dance aficionado (Fame and Glee flicks). Even Marvel doesn't go that f*cking cheap when choosing a director, and believe me they always go cheap.

If you can't make it right just don't f*cking make it. What can you really expect from the studio behind Catwoman and Green Lantern though I guess.
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 9:52:38 AM

"Warner Bros Confirms "Mortal Kombat" Reboot"

F*cking A!!

"The reboot is rumored to follow a lowly unlucky supermarket employee who discovers that he has "out of this world" powers and must decide between good and evil, even though the evil side has helped him discover his true potential and who he really is."

F*cking WHAAT!! Da hell...?!!

BadChadB33 writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 9:52:43 AM

I swear to God if this is the story I'm gonna give the f*cktard's a fatality alright.
DexterMorgan writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 12:16:55 PM

sounds stupid
struck21 writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 12:35:10 PM

I loved the web series, can't wait for season 2, but why changed the general theme and feel of what got the reboot green lighted? Horrid idea for a movie.
matternm58 writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 12:43:14 PM

No body in the Mortal Kombat universe I know worked in a f*cking supermarket.
matternm58 writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 12:46:38 PM

The web series was freaking awesome I thought.
matternm58 writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 12:48:30 PM

I just can't wrap my head around this. I'm a huge Mortal Kombat fan, how could you do this you pack of f*cking inbreeds.
GreenLensman writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 1:19:18 PM

i always thought the original movie (annihilation) was the best, with johnny cages one liners, jax beating heads in like a proper bad ass, and all the sweet ass you could ask for (sandra hess)if mother f*ckers arent ripping spines out of *ssholes, i'll pass thank you
Elbow writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 2:52:14 PM

So it's Luke Skywalker (for the reasons that Minkowski pointed out) crossed with Army of Darkness's Ash ("average guy" supermarket employee becomes a bad-ass anti-hero) crossed with the Mortal Kombat universe, from the director who brought you Glee: The 3D Concert Movie (2011), The p*ssycat Dolls Present: The Search for the Next Doll (2007), Dancelife (2006), and Britney Spears Live from Miami (2004).

Yup.
The Boosh writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 3:36:32 PM

The good thing about rebooting this movie is, even if it's just an hour and a half of a retard trying to fly a yoyo like a kyte, it'll still be better than the original!
minkowski writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 4:39:56 PM

The original was sh*t, and the sequel was sh*t chewed, swallowed, digested and sh*t back out.
GreenLensman writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 4:56:15 PM

the original, was pimp nasty, imagine being 8 years old and watching it (annihilation, the first one i barely remember)
GreenLensman writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 4:59:51 PM

the first one had highlander in it, the second one had dexters dad, that sh*t was tight, stop pretending
minkowski writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:05:13 PM

Both are infantile trash.
cress writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:56:37 PM

Clean up on aisle 3. There's a studio about to make a mess on the floor.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 6th, 2012 at 11:42:56 AM

i might watch lol The Sequel was just terrible lol

New Spider-Man is 15-Year-Old Peter Parker, No Origin Story

Disney Making Live-Action "Winnie the Pooh" Film

Arnold Schwarzenegger Happy He Didn't Star in "Terminator Salvation"

"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon

"Spectre" Opening Sequence is Biggest in History

"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" Title Revealed

"Home" and "Get Hard" Perform Well at Box Office

Jennifer Lawrence Says "X-Men: Apocalypse" is Her Last "X-Men" Film

Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Footage Coming Tomorrow
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved