WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Still Doesn't Have a Script
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Bad Boys 3" Hasn't Happened Due to Bad Timing
Apr 23rd, 2014
First Look: Robert Downey Jr on "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
New Photos From Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2014
Bill Paxton Will Do Anything to Join "Avatar 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Will ONLY Be Based on First Six "Star Wars" Films
Apr 22nd, 2014
Paul WS Anderson Reveals Title for New "Resident Evil" Film
Apr 22nd, 2014
Watch First Five Minutes From "How to Train Your Dragon 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Terminator" Reboot is Officially Filming
Apr 22nd, 2014
Marc Webb Wants J. Jonah Jameson in "The Amazing Spider-Man 3"
Apr 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Grand Seduction," with Taylor Kitsch and Brendan Gleeson
Apr 22nd, 2014
First Look: Paul Walker's Brothers on "Fast and Furious 7" Set
Apr 22nd, 2014
Danny Boyle and Leonardo DiCaprio in Talks for Steve Jobs Biopic
Apr 22nd, 2014
Steven Spielberg Wrote the Story for "The Goonies" Sequel
Apr 22nd, 2014
New Poster for Tom Cruise's "Edge of Tomorrow" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 21st, 2014
Writer Says "Fantastic Four" is a Coming of Age Story
Apr 21st, 2014
"Bioshock" Movie May Still Be Alive
Apr 21st, 2014
Rubin "Hurricane" Carter, the Boxer and Inspiration for Denzel Washington's Movie, Dead at 76
Apr 21st, 2014
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Transcendence" Bombs
Apr 20th, 2014
"X-Men: Apocalypse" to Focus on Younger Cast, Patrick Stewart Says He May Still Return
Apr 20th, 2014
Hayden Panettiere Won't Return for "Heroes: Reborn" TV Series
Apr 20th, 2014
Trailer for Michael C. Hall's "Cold in July" Thriller
Apr 20th, 2014
Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage
Apr 19th, 2014
Is "Batman vs Superman" Changing Its Release Date to Avoid "Captain America 3" Competition?
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look at Ryan Gosling's Directorial Debut "Lost River"
Apr 19th, 2014
Jaden Smith to Play a Slave in "The Good Lord Bird"
Apr 19th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Normal Heart," with Mark Ruffalo and Julia Roberts
Apr 19th, 2014
Producers Say Spider-Man Will Only Join "X-Men" or "The Avengers" When They Run Out of Ideas
Apr 19th, 2014
Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look: Michael Fassbender in William Shakespeare's "Macbeth"
Apr 18th, 2014
New Footage in "Godzilla" TV Spot
Apr 18th, 2014
Marvel Confirms It Has Rights to Kingpin and Elektra for "Daredevil" TV Series
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "Jersey Boys" Musical
Apr 18th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros Confirms "Mortal Kombat" Reboot, Reveals Budget

Posted: November 5th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner Bros Confirms "Mortal Kombat" Reboot, Reveals BudgetSubmit Comment
Back in June, it was reported that Warner Bros decided to move forward with a new "Mortal Kombat" movie. Kevin Tancharoen who directed a "Mortal Kombat" web series for the studio is returning to helm the film.

Warner Bros executive Lance Sloan has now confirmed the reboot while also revealing the film's proposed budget. "We're preparing right now for the ['Mortal Kombat'] film with Kevin Tancharoen, [who] directed the digital series for us," he said. "He's at the helm of the forty, fifty million dollar film."

The reboot is rumored to follow a lowly unlucky supermarket employee who discovers that he has "out of this world" powers and must decide between good and evil, even though the evil side has helped him discover his true potential and who he really is.

Source: WebSeriesNetwork, CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:12:23 AM

Seriously, a super market employee discovers powers???? (head smack).
Taco writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:14:11 AM

Anyone else think this sounds like the sorcerer's aprintise?
nawtnt writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:15:29 AM

I just hope this Mortal Kombat reboot doesn't have unknown actors and goes straight to dvd.

I really hope this reboot turns out to be true to the video game just like the first MK movie and gives every popular characters lots of screentime.

Plus it's R rated and have Michael Jai White return as Jax, he's a great choice.
boogiel writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:18:57 AM

That plot synopsis sounds like total CRAP!!!
pornfly writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:27:30 AM

I have out of this world powers in my pants
pornfly writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:48:31 AM

P A P E R
O R
P L A A S T I I C! !

DUHDUH!
DUHDUH!
DUHDUH!
DUHDUH-DUHDUHDUH!
minkowski writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:51:12 AM

"The reboot is rumored to follow a lowly unlucky supermarket employee who discovers that he has "out of this world" powers and must decide between good and evil, even though the evil side has helped him discover his true potential and who he really is."



Or in other words, the supermarket employee is Luke Skywalker.

Guess we have the plot for Star Wars 7: Paper or Plastic.
d.nadeau writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 9:08:06 AM

I'm picturing Scorpion doing his spear grab attack to get the hard to reach items on the top shelves.
Avirex writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 9:08:22 AM

Goddamn it Warner Bros you need to hire an actual director not a f*cking dance aficionado (Fame and Glee flicks). Even Marvel doesn't go that f*cking cheap when choosing a director, and believe me they always go cheap.

If you can't make it right just don't f*cking make it. What can you really expect from the studio behind Catwoman and Green Lantern though I guess.
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 9:52:38 AM

"Warner Bros Confirms "Mortal Kombat" Reboot"

F*cking A!!

"The reboot is rumored to follow a lowly unlucky supermarket employee who discovers that he has "out of this world" powers and must decide between good and evil, even though the evil side has helped him discover his true potential and who he really is."

F*cking WHAAT!! Da hell...?!!

BadChadB33 writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 9:52:43 AM

I swear to God if this is the story I'm gonna give the f*cktard's a fatality alright.
DexterMorgan writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 12:16:55 PM

sounds stupid
struck21 writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 12:35:10 PM

I loved the web series, can't wait for season 2, but why changed the general theme and feel of what got the reboot green lighted? Horrid idea for a movie.
matternm58 writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 12:43:14 PM

No body in the Mortal Kombat universe I know worked in a f*cking supermarket.
matternm58 writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 12:46:38 PM

The web series was freaking awesome I thought.
matternm58 writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 12:48:30 PM

I just can't wrap my head around this. I'm a huge Mortal Kombat fan, how could you do this you pack of f*cking inbreeds.
GreenLensman writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 1:19:18 PM

i always thought the original movie (annihilation) was the best, with johnny cages one liners, jax beating heads in like a proper bad ass, and all the sweet ass you could ask for (sandra hess)if mother f*ckers arent ripping spines out of *ssholes, i'll pass thank you
Elbow writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 2:52:14 PM

So it's Luke Skywalker (for the reasons that Minkowski pointed out) crossed with Army of Darkness's Ash ("average guy" supermarket employee becomes a bad-ass anti-hero) crossed with the Mortal Kombat universe, from the director who brought you Glee: The 3D Concert Movie (2011), The p*ssycat Dolls Present: The Search for the Next Doll (2007), Dancelife (2006), and Britney Spears Live from Miami (2004).

Yup.
The Boosh writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 3:36:32 PM

The good thing about rebooting this movie is, even if it's just an hour and a half of a retard trying to fly a yoyo like a kyte, it'll still be better than the original!
minkowski writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 4:39:56 PM

The original was sh*t, and the sequel was sh*t chewed, swallowed, digested and sh*t back out.
GreenLensman writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 4:56:15 PM

the original, was pimp nasty, imagine being 8 years old and watching it (annihilation, the first one i barely remember)
GreenLensman writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 4:59:51 PM

the first one had highlander in it, the second one had dexters dad, that sh*t was tight, stop pretending
minkowski writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:05:13 PM

Both are infantile trash.
cress writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:56:37 PM

Clean up on aisle 3. There's a studio about to make a mess on the floor.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 6th, 2012 at 11:42:56 AM

i might watch lol The Sequel was just terrible lol

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel

Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved