WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Trailer is Here!
Nov 28th, 2014
Trailer for "The Bible" TV Series Sequel
Nov 28th, 2014
Marvel Kills "Fantastic Four" Actors in "Punished" Comic Book
Nov 28th, 2014
Restricted Trailer for Vince Vaughn's "Unfinished Business" Comedy
Nov 28th, 2014
"Independence Day 2" Officially Moving Forward, Without Will Smith
Nov 28th, 2014
Ridley Scott Explains Why He Hired White Actors for "Exodus: Gods and Kings"
Nov 28th, 2014
First Look: Mel Brooks is Dracula's Father in "Hotel Transylvania 2"
Nov 28th, 2014
"Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 26th, 2014
Ridley Scott Won't Direct "Blade Runner 2," Reveals Story Details
Nov 26th, 2014
Michael Fassbender to Star in Danny Boyle's "Steve Jobs" Biopic
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Jennifer Aniston's "Cake" Arrives Online
Nov 26th, 2014
Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 25th, 2014
Michelle MacLaren Will Direct "Wonder Woman" Film
Nov 25th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Nov 25th, 2014
New Trailer For "The Interview" Comedy, with James Franco and Seth Rogen
Nov 25th, 2014
First Posters and Photos of Hugh Jackman in "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 25th, 2014
Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Nov 24th, 2014
First Footage From "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Nov 24th, 2014
"Wanted" Producer Says Sequel is Still Happening
Nov 24th, 2014
New Photo of Arnold Schwazenegger as T-800 From "Terminator Genisys"
Nov 24th, 2014
"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Dominates at Box Office, Hits Franchise Low
Nov 23rd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Director Says Shared Cinematic Universes Can Be a Mistake
Nov 23rd, 2014
Town Bans Winnie the Pooh for Being Half-Naked
Nov 23rd, 2014
First Poster for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Nov 22nd, 2014
Angelina Jolie Will Quit Acting to Focus on Directing
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for George Lucas' Animated "Strange Magic" Film
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "Pitch Perfect 2" Arrives Online
Nov 21st, 2014
"Zoolander 2" is Moving Forward, Penelope Cruz Joins Cast
Nov 21st, 2014
Stephen King's "The Stand" to Become Four Movies
Nov 21st, 2014
First Look: Patrick Stewart is a White Supremacist in "Green Room" Thriller
Nov 21st, 2014
Mel Gibson May Direct "Hacksaw Ridge," with Andrew Garfield to Star
Nov 21st, 2014
Ridley Scott Promises "a Fresher Form of Alien" in "Prometheus 2"
Nov 20th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros Confirms "Mortal Kombat" Reboot, Reveals Budget

Posted: November 5th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner Bros Confirms "Mortal Kombat" Reboot, Reveals BudgetSubmit Comment
Back in June, it was reported that Warner Bros decided to move forward with a new "Mortal Kombat" movie. Kevin Tancharoen who directed a "Mortal Kombat" web series for the studio is returning to helm the film.

Warner Bros executive Lance Sloan has now confirmed the reboot while also revealing the film's proposed budget. "We're preparing right now for the ['Mortal Kombat'] film with Kevin Tancharoen, [who] directed the digital series for us," he said. "He's at the helm of the forty, fifty million dollar film."

The reboot is rumored to follow a lowly unlucky supermarket employee who discovers that he has "out of this world" powers and must decide between good and evil, even though the evil side has helped him discover his true potential and who he really is.

Source: WebSeriesNetwork, CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:12:23 AM

Seriously, a super market employee discovers powers???? (head smack).
Taco writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:14:11 AM

Anyone else think this sounds like the sorcerer's aprintise?
nawtnt writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:15:29 AM

I just hope this Mortal Kombat reboot doesn't have unknown actors and goes straight to dvd.

I really hope this reboot turns out to be true to the video game just like the first MK movie and gives every popular characters lots of screentime.

Plus it's R rated and have Michael Jai White return as Jax, he's a great choice.
boogiel writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:18:57 AM

That plot synopsis sounds like total CRAP!!!
pornfly writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:27:30 AM

I have out of this world powers in my pants
pornfly writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:48:31 AM

P A P E R
O R
P L A A S T I I C! !

DUHDUH!
DUHDUH!
DUHDUH!
DUHDUH-DUHDUHDUH!
minkowski writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:51:12 AM

"The reboot is rumored to follow a lowly unlucky supermarket employee who discovers that he has "out of this world" powers and must decide between good and evil, even though the evil side has helped him discover his true potential and who he really is."



Or in other words, the supermarket employee is Luke Skywalker.

Guess we have the plot for Star Wars 7: Paper or Plastic.
d.nadeau writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 9:08:06 AM

I'm picturing Scorpion doing his spear grab attack to get the hard to reach items on the top shelves.
Avirex writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 9:08:22 AM

Goddamn it Warner Bros you need to hire an actual director not a f*cking dance aficionado (Fame and Glee flicks). Even Marvel doesn't go that f*cking cheap when choosing a director, and believe me they always go cheap.

If you can't make it right just don't f*cking make it. What can you really expect from the studio behind Catwoman and Green Lantern though I guess.
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 9:52:38 AM

"Warner Bros Confirms "Mortal Kombat" Reboot"

F*cking A!!

"The reboot is rumored to follow a lowly unlucky supermarket employee who discovers that he has "out of this world" powers and must decide between good and evil, even though the evil side has helped him discover his true potential and who he really is."

F*cking WHAAT!! Da hell...?!!

BadChadB33 writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 9:52:43 AM

I swear to God if this is the story I'm gonna give the f*cktard's a fatality alright.
DexterMorgan writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 12:16:55 PM

sounds stupid
struck21 writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 12:35:10 PM

I loved the web series, can't wait for season 2, but why changed the general theme and feel of what got the reboot green lighted? Horrid idea for a movie.
matternm58 writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 12:43:14 PM

No body in the Mortal Kombat universe I know worked in a f*cking supermarket.
matternm58 writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 12:46:38 PM

The web series was freaking awesome I thought.
matternm58 writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 12:48:30 PM

I just can't wrap my head around this. I'm a huge Mortal Kombat fan, how could you do this you pack of f*cking inbreeds.
GreenLensman writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 1:19:18 PM

i always thought the original movie (annihilation) was the best, with johnny cages one liners, jax beating heads in like a proper bad ass, and all the sweet ass you could ask for (sandra hess)if mother f*ckers arent ripping spines out of *ssholes, i'll pass thank you
Elbow writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 2:52:14 PM

So it's Luke Skywalker (for the reasons that Minkowski pointed out) crossed with Army of Darkness's Ash ("average guy" supermarket employee becomes a bad-ass anti-hero) crossed with the Mortal Kombat universe, from the director who brought you Glee: The 3D Concert Movie (2011), The p*ssycat Dolls Present: The Search for the Next Doll (2007), Dancelife (2006), and Britney Spears Live from Miami (2004).

Yup.
The Boosh writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 3:36:32 PM

The good thing about rebooting this movie is, even if it's just an hour and a half of a retard trying to fly a yoyo like a kyte, it'll still be better than the original!
minkowski writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 4:39:56 PM

The original was sh*t, and the sequel was sh*t chewed, swallowed, digested and sh*t back out.
GreenLensman writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 4:56:15 PM

the original, was pimp nasty, imagine being 8 years old and watching it (annihilation, the first one i barely remember)
GreenLensman writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 4:59:51 PM

the first one had highlander in it, the second one had dexters dad, that sh*t was tight, stop pretending
minkowski writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:05:13 PM

Both are infantile trash.
cress writes:
on November 5th, 2012 at 7:56:37 PM

Clean up on aisle 3. There's a studio about to make a mess on the floor.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 6th, 2012 at 11:42:56 AM

i might watch lol The Sequel was just terrible lol

It's Official! Channing Tatum to Star in "Gambit" Spin-Off

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot

Christopher Nolan Hates Post-Credits Scenes, Here's Why

Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"

Margot Robbie is Harley Quinn in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy

Jared Leto May Play The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

Robert Downey Jr Comments on His Marvel Contract

Doctor Doom is an Anti-Social Programmer in "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved