WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Roger Avary to Direct "Castle Wolfenstein" Video Game Movie

Posted: November 2nd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Roger Avary to Direct "Castle Wolfenstein" Video Game MovieSubmit Comment
Roger Avary, the Oscar-winning writer of "Pulp Fiction," has signed on to write and direct a big screen version of "Castle Wolfenstein," based on the video game franchise. The film is being described as a mix of "Inglourious Basterds" and "Captain America."

The story follows a young US Army Captain and a British Special Agent on a top secret mission to Castle Wolfenstein, where Hitler will be for the unveiling of a new secret weapon. After reaching the Castle, our heroes are confronted with Himmler's SS Paranormal Division and must fight, not only for their survival, but for a mission that could alter the course of the War.

"I've been playing the Wolfenstein games since I was a kid, and feel that their outlandish sensibility has deeply influenced my own writing and directing throughout my career," said Avary. "I have always thought Wolfenstein would be a major cinematic experience."

Source: Panorama Media, Movieweb


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Džeko writes:
on November 2nd, 2012 at 6:12:33 AM

Interesting,Return to Castle Wolfenstein was a great game,never get to play 2009 Wolfenstein but heard it wasn't very good.
Taco writes:
on November 2nd, 2012 at 6:26:49 AM

Film this movie in it's entiret, in the first person point of view. Just because you'll need a hook to get people to watch this.
boogiel writes:
on November 2nd, 2012 at 7:37:51 AM

Wolfenstein is a classic. Sounds promising with avary as a writer but he better not f*ck this up.
Avirex writes:
on November 2nd, 2012 at 8:49:37 AM

If Del Toro wasn't busy directing every film in the world (in his mind) he would be a good fit for this.
minkowski writes:
on November 2nd, 2012 at 8:52:00 AM

Wolfenstein is a classic because it's like the first FPS. Think the f*cker ran on a Mac IIe. And Return was a BITCH to play. You think Call of Duty is hard, try that little bastard where you're just trying to move and some *sshole Nazi snipes you.

As for the news, whatever. This guy claims Wolfenstein influenced his scriptwriting career, well that's just stupid. Neither games have much story, if any, it's just some dude running and shooting. And even if true, kind of stupid for him to say so, when most other writers would cite Joyce or Shakespeare or someone reputable and not a f*cking video game. Maybe his direction, but his writing? Sounds like he's pandering.

And even I have no clue what he means by "outlandish sensibility". Dude needs to get off the pipe.
Dirt writes:
on November 2nd, 2012 at 10:30:11 AM

I remember playing this sh*t on SNES as a kid. Wasn't Hitler the last enemy? He was like in a Mech Warrior suit or some sh*t?
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 2nd, 2012 at 10:36:51 AM

Roget Avery is an interesting choice but might bring some gnarly visuals & action.

KILLING ZOE is still a weird, suspenseful, f*cked up, awesome heist movie....one of my favorites. Great, over-the-top performance by Jean Hugh Anglade. Surprised they rarely use him- very underrated nowadays. So we'll see how this one comes out.

But yeah, Avery sounded like he was sucking up...
Kurskij writes:
on November 2nd, 2012 at 10:37:02 AM

The old one kicked ass.

Blood, gore and nazies... childhood memories.
Elbow writes:
on November 2nd, 2012 at 11:50:28 AM

The next video game movie should be "Custer's Revenge" starring Ranger as Custer.
minkowski writes:
on November 2nd, 2012 at 12:07:15 PM

"Blood, gore and nazies... childhood memories. "

Jesus, who the hell are you? Elie Wiesel?
TheAmazingSausage writes:
on November 2nd, 2012 at 3:49:31 PM

Lost interest when I read the words "captain America"
Dreamcast writes:
on November 2nd, 2012 at 4:07:41 PM

Killing Zoe and Rules of Attraction are great films. How has Roger Avary not directed a movie in ten years? That whole 'vehicular manslaughter work furlough county jail' thing only explains 2008-2010 inactivity.
Kurskij writes:
on November 2nd, 2012 at 6:22:25 PM

"Jesus, who the hell are you? Elie Wiesel?"

Genau, mein freund. "Das Giggity"

mustardayonnaise writes:
on November 2nd, 2012 at 7:41:15 PM

What I found most suprising about this article was that Roger Avary was out of prison. guess those manslaughter charges didn't have as long a sentence as I assumed they would....

I loved the wolfenstein franchise, played it a lot up thru "Return To" with was a fantastic FPS. the story is pretty paper-thin, though; I worry this'll be another braindead flick in the vein of 'Doom' that no one will show up for.

And in other news, 'Flight' opens tonight. go see it, bitches. I cut everything in the airplane- takeoff, crash landing, all that crap. good times
minkowski writes:
on November 2nd, 2012 at 7:52:03 PM

^I'll go see your movie iff you share more of your workday experience with us, because some of us blokes like film more than treating it like Saturday morning cartoons.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on November 2nd, 2012 at 8:34:27 PM

My workaday experience? Pretty great, but also pretty goddamn boring. for Flight, I worked for about 2 months to put together the takeoff and crash scenes in the film. I had about 3 weeks to rough it all out, then bob z. came in and we went through it shot-by-shot for about a month and a half to really put the thing into shape.

he was great in the bay; he's obviously a really great editor himself. very nice. pretty cruel to his own material and not attached to anything, willing to chop sh*t out without too much hangwringing.

what else to you want to know?
minkowski writes:
on November 2nd, 2012 at 8:58:43 PM

*tsk* *tsk* *tsk*

You work in the industry, THE industry, and you use the tools that help shape the films we all call our popular culture, and you won't share the joy, the technical thrills that go into the art and science of what you do.

You're a very selfish man, mustardmayonnaise.

What I want to is, from a guy who actually WORKS with film, what's it like to touch what's been film and edit? What tools do you use? Is it just a job or are you thrilled to be doing what you're doing? Avid? Final Cut? Hardware? How do you edit the film? Chop and prune? Really man, you're like one of the few in the biz, the REAL biz, not making pornos in your basement, and I'd rather here about what you do everyday then who f*cked who.
minkowski writes:
on November 2nd, 2012 at 8:59:34 PM

I wish I could move that 'is', but I can't because there's no edit option...
minkowski writes:
on November 2nd, 2012 at 9:00:15 PM

....filed....edit it....jeez la weez.
minkowski writes:
on November 2nd, 2012 at 9:00:42 PM

FILMED.


Maybe *I* am drunk.
James Blond writes:
on November 2nd, 2012 at 9:05:53 PM

i agree with all PRO gamers

hellboys ss-officer kroenen and grindhouse: Werewolf Women of the SS


HELL YES bring it on
mustardayonnaise writes:
on November 2nd, 2012 at 9:11:33 PM

Alas, I apologize. Perhaps I'm a bit too jaded. Here's the thing: my bread-and-butter work is in reality TV. I've worked on Dancing with the Stars for 4+ years now, before that, Amazing Race, etc... it all kind of blends together, it's mostly decent-paying crap staffed by really nice people all just trying to make a living. I show up and chisel away at my Avid all day, punch my timecard and go home.

When I got the job on Flight, I assumed that everything would be different, that unicorns would fly out of my ass and angels would trumpet my 'arrival' to the big-boy world of features, that I would walk into the office it would be magically DIFFERENT...

...but it's not. It's just another Avid, loaded with admittedly very lovely footage (they shot Red Epic 5k) produced by some of the more capable people in the industry, but it still needs to be stitched together with duct tape, still has issues of coverage and continuity, still had bad sound on some takes or botched slates... it's amazing how incredibly similar much of the experience was, compared to my jobs in TV. Denzel was a bit of a diva, so some takes completely sucked, because he would just give up halfway through. Seriously.

Now, I will admit, Bob is a true talent, and so is Denzel, and the material was obviously scads better than anything I've ever worked on before- but again, the actual nuts-and-bolts process of it all was strikingly mundane.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on November 2nd, 2012 at 9:19:58 PM

As far as the actual process of putting together the crash sequence: as I mentioned before, I had about 3 weeks to put together a rough cut of it. We worked on Avid 5.0, with DNxHD36 compressed material... looked decent but obviously wasn't full rez. All of the crash sequence was shot in Atlanta on a crappy little greenscreen stage. They had 3 pieces of a plane- c*ckpit and 2 cabin segments- attached to some sort of rotating gimbal machine that would flip all of the passengers and crew upside-down. Usually every take was covered with 2 or even 3 cameras. I tried to follow the script as best as I could for the rough assembly, but once Bob came in we definitely moved things around. I was given aerial plates they shot, which I temped with with the Avid motion tracking toolset- not amazing looking but, when paired with a nice amount of added camera shake, good enough for screening to the Paramount brass early on. Atomic Fiction in San Francisco did the final effects, which look quite nice and very natural.
minkowski writes:
on November 2nd, 2012 at 9:46:38 PM

^^Now *this* I can masturbate to! Thank you!
SkullKrusher writes:
on November 3rd, 2012 at 2:16:50 PM

Mink, you are a wasted masturbation that your daddy blew on the sheets tossing over Sarah Jessica Parker in Footloose, and then your mum jumped in bed and your snivelling, aborted fail form of j*zz splatter writhed your way into your mother's manky moot, unbeknownst to her that you'd just ruined her life! Good job, tard!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved