WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Fright Night 2" is Moving Forward on DVD

Posted: October 30th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Fright Night 2" is Moving Forward on DVDSubmit Comment
When "Fright Night" hit theaters back in 1985, Columbia Pictures thought it performed well-enough to warrant a sequel. Three years later, "Fright Night Part II" was released, reuniting the main cast members.

Last year, DreamWorks remade the original film with Colin Farrell and Anton Yelchin in the lead. Unfortunately, it grossed only $18 million domestically on a $30 million budget. But the studio is still interested in continuing the franchise.

STYD has learned that the studio is moving forward with a direct-to-DVD follow-up, that's planned as a stand-alone story. The goal is to begin shooting in Romania soon. Eduardo Rodriguez (Curandero, "Fear Itself," Stash House) is in talks to direct. None of the original cast members are expected to return.

Source: STYD


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on October 30th, 2012 at 6:37:17 PM

Enjoyed the first, but the sequel should get better treatment than Direct to DVD.

"None of the original cast members are expected to return."

"it grossed only $18 million domestically on a $30 million budget"

...never mind.

f*ck off then.
minkowski writes:
on October 30th, 2012 at 6:37:40 PM

I f*cked that one. Yee-haw!
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 30th, 2012 at 6:42:27 PM

Im a big Collin Ferrell fan, so when I heard he was in the remake I watched the original, then the remake in theaters a couple weeks later lol..

Good film, I'll prolly watch this eventually
pornfly writes:
on October 30th, 2012 at 7:06:29 PM

FrightNight Too
markoz writes:
on October 30th, 2012 at 7:28:21 PM

I watched the first only for David Tennant, who is the best Doctor IMO. And I ended up enjoying every segment of the movie.
pornfly writes:
on October 30th, 2012 at 7:44:55 PM

If i didnt take your guys' word and see this movie (which i liked by the way,thanks folks)
This news would convince me that the first was gahbage
minkowski writes:
on October 30th, 2012 at 8:09:10 PM

Neither of them were garbage, pornfly. They were both good, I thought. The original had more thought put into it, but the remake was pretty enjoyable, if a little forgettable.
BoobsMcGee writes:
on October 30th, 2012 at 8:23:41 PM

Fright Night- original, was an amazingly scary and funny movie. Fright Night 2- it was a good sequel (bug guy freaked me out).

The remake was subpar. Colin Farrell has even said he saw the first and would never buy his remake.

I miss great horror films...
bane writes:
on October 30th, 2012 at 8:29:16 PM

3 amazing actors
colin farrell Tigerland
imogen poots Solitary Man
anton yelchin Charlie Bartlett
a great director
craig gillespi Lars And The Real Girl

sad to see a sequel we don't need :(
pornfly writes:
on October 30th, 2012 at 8:53:45 PM

I meant the remake MINK
I was totally prepared to ignore its existance

And i watched 976-EVIL
minkowski writes:
on October 30th, 2012 at 9:04:56 PM

Well, I liked the remake, and Farrell should shut up, because he went on to make an even worse film, Total Recall.
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 30th, 2012 at 9:10:28 PM

The 1st was definitely one of the better remakes.
bandolero999 writes:
on October 30th, 2012 at 9:17:17 PM

Tanman you are a fan of Colin failure?

Can't take you seriously no more
Attos writes:
on October 30th, 2012 at 10:10:18 PM

I actually liked the remake. Admittedly, my fanboy love for Doctor Who/David Tennant was what inspired me to watch it, but I enjoyed the movie as a whole far more than I expected to. I'm also a gigantic nerd that plays role playing games like World of Darkness/Vampire The Requiem and was happy to see Farrell portray a vampire that fit quite well into my own personal "what-a-vampire-should-be" description. I agree with mink that the sequel deserves better treatment than direct-to-DVD, but I wasn't aware that the film made so little of its money back. It's a shame, because I would have enjoyed seeing some of the first film's cast make a return.

I personally wish that if the choices for a sequel were to either make a direct-to-dvd or no sequel at all, that they would choose to simply not make a sequel. These types of follow up films somewhat degrade the value of the previous installments. Sometimes it's better to let a single movie stand for itself- especially if a cheap sequel is the only other option.
pornfly writes:
on October 30th, 2012 at 10:20:30 PM


The Dr.Who guy as Peter Vincent was a good call
If he returned with Sofia Vergaras adopted sister and discovered a clan of vampires while on holiday,it could work
The Boosh writes:
on October 30th, 2012 at 10:36:31 PM

Give this movie a break. Colin Farrell but a lot into his first attempt at gay porn! He just needs a few pointers from those 'True Blood' guys and He'll dominate Fright Night 2.
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 31st, 2012 at 4:09:57 AM

Bando you took me seriously to begin with?

I'm honored.
Venom1970 writes:
on October 31st, 2012 at 4:22:55 AM

Liked the original, liked the sequel and liked remake, the only thing that bothered me was the lead girl Imogen Poots, personally feel she is very plain and from memory the girl from original was stunning.
minkowski writes:
on October 31st, 2012 at 8:55:34 AM

You thought Amanda Bearse was stunning? Really? The same chick who played Marcy on Married with Children? I mean she's cute, but stunning?
sherv writes:
on October 31st, 2012 at 9:19:23 AM

Marcy Darcy was never stunning LOL. Huge Fright Night fan. Also was shocked that I loved the remake, ok Colin Farrel wasn't a patch on the original Jerry Dandrige but was still a good remake (which is rare).

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved