WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Producers Want Christopher Nolan for Future James Bond Film

Posted: October 26th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Producers Want Christopher Nolan for Future James Bond FilmSubmit Comment
Back in June, "The Dark Knight" director Christopher Nolan revealed that he would love an opportunity to direct an installment in the James Bond franchise, but cautioned that it would have to be "the right situation and the right time."

Now in an interview with DigitalSpy, Gregg Wilson, who is an associate producer on "Skyfall" and the son of long-time James Bond producer Michael G. Wilson, has revealed that there is strong interest in having Nolan direct a future Bond film. "We would be interested to have a discussion with him," said Wilson. "It would be a dream to be with Nolan."

Sam Mendes recently stated that he will likely not return after "Skyfall," but hinted that it won't be impossible to convince him otherwise. In other words, if "Skyfall" is a hit and Mendes is paid enough money, he would return.

Mendes previously said that "Skyfall" is heavily influenced by Nolan's "The Dark Knight."

Source: DigitalSpy


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 6:39:58 AM

Uh oh
Cue the
B U M - B U M M M music
Taco writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 7:06:36 AM

No! Nolan can't direct action!
billofill writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 7:10:27 AM

Because there was no Bond Influence on the Dark Knight Trilogy. WHAT THE f*ck IS GOING ON Bond inspring Batman inspiring Bond?
pornfly writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 7:14:00 AM

Theyre trying to get that sought after MINK demographic

Goodshow
boogiel writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 7:22:41 AM

Let me guess, Bale as 007, Morgan freeman as Q and michael caine as 001.
Rambo writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 7:36:04 AM

I guess I will have to get An academic degree before the next bond movie...
SACdaddy writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 7:36:41 AM

He or Matthew Vaughn would be no brainers for the job. I'd actually give the nod to Vaughn first and reteam him with Craig before they replace him. I'd say bring in Nolan next with Fassbender (who's only 35 but looks 45)or Jude Law (who's 40 but looks 30) as the new Bond. Either one could easily step into the role.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 7:39:36 AM

Wasn't Inception Nolan's audition for a James Bond film? The suits, the chase scenes in the snow etc. He'll do a better job than overrated Mendes that's for sho!
30YoVirgin writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 7:43:13 AM

Great idea.
he is a fan and he is British
TemporalFlux writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 7:43:35 AM

Make him dark and brooding, and cast Idris Elba.

Ooops, wrong thread!
SACdaddy writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 7:44:55 AM

Or finally get around to giving the job to Clive Owen as an older R rated Bond who has to be brought out of retirement to save the world. I've always said he was born to play the part but was just too gritty for the clean cut version of the character we know. He'll make a perfect washed up down and out Bond who has to clean up (just a little) and kick ass a few more times for Queen and country.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 7:46:59 AM

Temporal: if you want dark, brooding, and white Owen's your man.
pornfly writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 7:58:21 AM



Marion Cotillard to play 'Anita Phatkok'

ok
I'm listening

TemporalFlux writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 8:08:01 AM

@SACdaddy I totally agree, owen would be great choice.
McQueen writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 8:23:53 AM

I like Nolan since Memento and having him involved in a Bond film is a major plus to me. Like him or not he's a perfectionist and he's really in what he does and adding Sam Mendes is a perfect combination for the next project.

---

Clive Owen? If he can't be found among the Britsh actors than Michael Fassbender should be good.
minkowski writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 8:31:16 AM

Nolan be a good Bond director, I think, except for two problems.

Bond isn't dreary and depressed, he's dapper and upbeat and incorrigibly pertinacious, so a down in the mouth Bond that goes about moping and sullen over his past losses isn't Bond.

^^^That's what I would have said if I hadn't seen Quantum of Solace.


The other problem is Nolan's insistence on sprawling, rambling incoherent stories, which are incongruent to Bond's rather rather linear, traditional and straight-forward action progression.



Otherwise, Nolan would be a fine choice...
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 8:34:58 AM

^Since when did Clive Owen go missing?!?
trailertrash writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 8:39:10 AM

He was hiding in the bank wall silly
trailertrash writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 8:57:41 AM

I would be happy with Gareth Evans or Pete Travis getting a chance to direct a Bond film, Both guys can handle the action scenes no problem and really thats all that Bond is about.
Fightclub1 writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 9:01:41 AM

I say get him to do it after mendes and craig are finished, cast Tom Hardy or Micheal Fassbender and you got yourself a bond movie
zyban03 writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 9:18:49 AM

I think Nolan would do great provided he didn't write it. But, due to the success of his Batman Trilogy that will never happen. He'll write his own movies from now on and probably turn into M. Night Shamalama
cress writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 9:31:56 AM

Bring back Connery and title it "The Legend of Bond"
bane writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 9:44:46 AM

the first 6 minutes of TDKR are amazing

i swear
if you just replaced bane with 007
it could be the start of a bond movie...
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 9:56:22 AM

i could easily see him directing one of these, seems like his type of movie, other then the fact that none of the characters will wear a cape...
minkowski writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 10:01:15 AM

Yet.
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 11:20:23 AM

It would be a good Bond film, but not one of the best.
Danger-Lips writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 12:02:23 PM

@ BadChad - Nolan may not make the best BOND movie, but I think he can easily make the best Bond MOVIE. If that makes any sense...
minkowski writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 12:12:21 PM

It doesn't, but thanks for playing anyway.
Danger-Lips writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 12:19:17 PM

Tough crowd
minkowski writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 12:21:52 PM

lol
TemporalFlux writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 12:22:02 PM

Just saw Skyfall.

I don't know what high expectations Cinemaisdead had, but they must have been in the stratosphere.

This is by far the best Bond I have seen probably since Connery, and the best movie I have seen in a long while.

What ever you think of American Beauty, or Mendes himself, there is no mistaking that this movie was made by an Oscar winner. Beautifully put together, visually stunning, and actual character development as well as action.

If you are expecting non stop action, don't, that's what The Expendables is for. This is Bond:MI6 Agent, and not Bond :Action Hero. Don't get me wrong I love the Moore and Brosnan films too, but this more back to Connery roots.

In saying that, all the iconic Bond elements are there, in their rightful place, and not thrown in your face every 2 seconds.

Well worth the ticket price (which is rare these days).
Mr. Blonde writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 12:39:38 PM

@Mink - What you term “sprawling, rambling incoherent stories” is Nolan’s trademark abilities to effectively weave the complex narrative especially when the action front moves from past to present or from dream to reality. It isn’t that convoluted and I for one appreciate this approach which is not often delivered well by Directors. Nolan’s displacement “jumps” are what keeps the plot and characters intriguing as their back-stories are revealed while the present narrative structure marches forward. I’m sure that Nolan can modify his approach towards the traditional linear storytelling for Bond. Especially since Bond doesn’t have nearly as many skeletons in his closet as Batman.

@Temporalflux - damn you! Kidding, glad to hear Skyfall is solid. Thanks for the review without any spoilers. There is nothing presently in the cinemas worth watching and greatly looking forward to it - despite the high cost of admission.
minkowski writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 1:41:34 PM

"What you term “sprawling, rambling incoherent stories” is Nolan’s trademark abilities to effectively weave the complex narrative especially when the action front moves from past to present or from dream to reality."

And he does it incoherently because he hasn't mastered, or it's not his "trademark style", the art of fluid-but-jointed storytelling, and it seems as if he's still stuck in Memento-mode, as if that's the only way he knows how to make a movie, and sure, if he were David Cronenberg or David Lynch, jumping around haphazardly without much respect for continuity or linear time would be an artistic advantage, but for those of us like myself that want to see a story rendered non-chaotically, it's disconcerting and irritating.






"It isn’t that convoluted"

No, but the work required to keep abreast of whatever recent plot deviation Nolan has thrown into the mix of whatever film of his you're watching is grossly out of proportion to the benefit it lends the film.






"and I for one appreciate this approach "

Sure, but others don't, and I'm one of them, because I prefer classical literary story-telling methodology translated into visuals, and just because you can f*ck around with visuals in ways you can't with words doesn't mean you should, even if you're expressed purpose is innovation or experimentation.

Batman is NOT art house.





"which is not often delivered well by Directors."

It's not delivered well by directors because they traditionally value rendering films in a sensible straight-forward manner, because they know their foremost job is to deliver a coherent film, a story, not confuse the hell out of people for the sake of some kind of "trademark" artistic value.

Sure, it's novueau, chic, vogue, whatever, but that doesn't mean it's an inherently valuable style, or the proper direction for the progression of the art of film-making.






"Nolan’s displacement “jumps” are what keeps the plot and characters intriguing"the

No, what keeps a film intriguing is strong characterization and a plot development that flows inexorably towards the film's resolution, not crafty and kitschy jumping about; that sh*t is for people invested in the latest, greatest new thing, the latest fad, the latest flavor of the month, and when people have feasted off of Nolan enough, they'll move to the latest thing, just like they do with music and television.

As I once said, Nolan really is akin to the Justin Beiber of film-making, in that they're both very popular within certain hardcore groups of followers, but neither is particularly talented, and whatever talent Nolan has, it's undermined by his staunch inability to tell an ordered story and a total lack of genuine humanity.





"as their back-stories are revealed while the present narrative structure marches forward."

But he doesn't do that, you're just imagining that's what he does. Fact is, he never revealed Bane's or Joker's back-story, nor Selina Kyle's, but he does jump back quite often to the time Wayne fell down a f*cking well, right?

No, what he does is cut from one preposterous situation to another, because Nolan knows if he stops for even a moment, the audience might have enough time to wonder just what the f*ck is going on.





"I’m sure that Nolan can modify his approach towards the traditional linear storytelling for Bond."

Nah. And if he does, he'll hate it. Writing sh*t that doesn't make much sense is his trademark style, as you say, and that's all he knows how to do. It's like asking a plumber to use stainless steel pipes instead of PVC when using plastic is all he's ever used.

It's outside Nolan's experience or comfort zone to ground himself in that old, boring conservative art of making sense, of being coherent, because the masses of hip, ticket-buying moviegoers demand cutting edge nonsense.





"Especially since Bond doesn’t have nearly as many skeletons in his closet as Batman"

I'm sure Nolan can invent an entire graveyard of spooks if need be, just to justify making Bond as confusing as Prometheus.

That's what he does, and that's all he does, it seems.

Mr. Blonde writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 2:59:57 PM

@Mink – thanks for your great insights and as usual I appreciate your perspective. We both certainly have our views about Nolan’s skills and abilities to tell a story. You prefer “classical literary story-telling methodology”, which I agree is the best clear cut way to present a story. But there are many ways to present a story. I think using Memento is a bit extreme as that film’s back-and-forth pacing reaches dizzying heights and requires repeat viewing to fully comprehend. And I can see how that might infuriate. However, Nolan’s TDK trilogy didn’t nearly do as much narrative time jumping as you infer here. Consider Bruce being tossed into the prison pit while Bane stood and gloated about Gotham’s pending destruction. While there we saw a backtale of Ra’s Al Gul’s child who grew up in the same prison and learned to scale and escape its confines. Our assumption, this child was Bane. However final battle between Batman and Bane revealed Talia was that very child and rather Bane was her protector. IMO, that punchline would not have been so impactful had it been told in a linear manner. We needed that back story told when Bruce was dumped in the pit at the hands of Bane. At that moment, Bruce had everything taken away and was at his weakest. We needed to be fooled into thinking that child was Bane. And we needed to have Miranda expose herself as Talia Al Gul at the right moment in the end. Nolan in my view demonstrates himself as a patient storyteller.

Yes Nolan often returns to the moment when Bruce fell down the well and was traumatized by a hoard of attacking Bats. It’s a very powerful scene. And facing and owning up to that terror is what helps drives Bruce forward into doing something purposeful with his life. The recurring theme of falling and rising is one that appears over again to reinforce his sense of purpose. We saw Bruce fall as a child in Begins, fall as Gotham’s hero in TDK and fall into a pit of despair in TDKR. But each time he learned to pick himself up and rise again. Alfred’s words are ever so poignant here.

I don’t think Nolan’s jumps are a “here today gone tomorrow” fad. And I think it’s a bit unfair to cheapen his cinematic contributions to Bieber. There are many ways to skin a cat just as there are many ways to tell a story. We need Directors like Nolan who deliver movies that are against the norm as frankly there is too much of the norm out there. I expect Man of Steel will have his creative style written all over it, and less Snyder. And I hope that movie will have more fluid time jumps seamlessly woven in its narrative. As we know Clark has an incredible back story which I doubt Nolan will chose to present this in a linear manner a la the Donner version.
pussyqueef writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 7:06:05 PM

They should make James Bond a girl so when there's a sex scene it's a lesbian scene and I can rub one out Fred Wiilard style.
Armando Loomis writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 7:34:25 PM

This is going to be amazing. Anything NOLAN does turns to a masterpiece.
minkowski writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 7:41:36 PM

I sure does. It turns to a masterpiece and asks "What the f*ck did I do wrong?".
Man in Black writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 7:44:12 PM

Now are we talking Batman Nolan or Memento Nolan ? Because DKR sucked , it's like he phoned it in cause he knew that fanboys would lap up anything he blew in their faces .
Cinemaisdead writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 7:58:39 PM

TemporalFlux0- Yeah I agree it was beautifully shot and the characters were definitely more human than previous Bonds, it was also the first Bond that i actually saw him as a person with a past not just a mysterious agent. I felt like Mendes was trying to create this believable world (I know he said Dark Knight was a huge influence) but there was so many times where James Bond would be dead, or a rooftop trail would conveniently end in a perfectly placed window for the stunt or some other crazy sh*t that went into fantasy again. It's like he couldn't make his mind up.

Also, it wasn't the lack of action that bored me it was the action itself. Some of the fight choreography seemed like a playground scrap, Casino Royales hand to hand fights were a lot more brutal and made Bond feel like more of a killer. I couldn't take Javier Bardem seriously as the bad guy in it either and I felt his performance was bordering on Heath Ledgers joker.

I think the film has grown on me a bit more in hindsight and maybe I'll give it another go without expecting something else.I just know how I felt at the end of the film and it wasn't excited like I did after Casino Royale. Glad you enjoyed it though mate each to their own and what not.
TemporalFlux writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 10:05:49 PM

@Cinemaisdead, Of couse mate. I wouldn't presume to tell anyone what to think. I suppose it all depends in what kind of Bond you are looking for. It will be interesting to see if it does well commerically. MGM do need a success, otherwise Bond could become stalled again, and no-one wants that.
KillerCOck writes:
on October 27th, 2012 at 2:29:43 AM

Nolan Shouldn't do A Bond film.
CelluloidMan writes:
on October 27th, 2012 at 10:50:09 AM

Nolan for Bond? Sounds solid, but not too thrilled for it per se...

If they want to go in that direction, fine. I would understand why...how many billions did he make with the Batman trilogy? Suits are mafe to set it up to mske mad money...I'm not really a fan of the 3rd, I feel the Bane's demise was particularly anticlimactic & the ending felt like Nolan "took his ball & went home". I'd classify the trilogy of near epic, though.

I say just give Mendes one more try...people have been raving about this Bond. I'd definitely want another one.
bane writes:
on October 27th, 2012 at 7:51:33 PM



i saw SKYFALL yesterday

W A R N I N G

major spoilers ahead

ralph fiennes is the new M

naomi harris is the new Moneypenny

judi dench gets killed (she is shot)

bardem dies (knife in the back)

the movie ends with craig doing his first ever shoot into the 007 scope thing that all the previous bonds did

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved