WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Kevin Smith Explains Why He's Retiring from Directing

Posted: October 25th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Kevin Smith Explains Why HeSubmit Comment
Kevin Smith previously revealed that he will retire from directing after "Hit Somebody," and will instead focus on distribution. Now, in an interview with Larry King, Smith explained why he's leaving the world of filmmaking.

"You do anything for almost twenty years [and then] it's time to move on to something else," he said. "Not because 'I hate it' or 'I never loved it.' I love it, [but] if I can't bring anything new to the game - and I assure you, I cannot - there's no point in [continuing]. Some other young [filmmaker], who I used to be twenty years ago, has a more interesting story than I do."

Smith went on to say that his career turned out better than he could have ever imagined. "I'm not going away, I just don't want to direct films."

Source: Larry King, JoBlo


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 49 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
ALIsuperstar writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 7:15:02 AM

no need to explain. thank you.
McQueen writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 7:18:40 AM

"..I just don't want to direct films."

Good!

Next.
Taco writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 7:51:59 AM

I guess if I had only made medicore and sub par films for the last 20 yrs I'd retire too . It's nice when we can all agree on something.
trailertrash writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 8:10:16 AM

He's Retiring from Directing to concentrate on eating apparently
trailertrash writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 8:12:52 AM

Also Smith's a big fan or Worstpreviews, Right Alex
minkowski writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 8:24:13 AM

""You do anything for almost twenty years [and then] it's time to move on to something else,"



And yet, I doubt he's giving up bulldozing the buffet table.
cress writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 8:28:07 AM

I liked Smith when he first hit the scene in '94. But his act got old quickly, never maturing as a director or screenwriter beyond the potty-mouth antics of Jay and Silent Bob. The same sh*t for 20 years now.
boogiel writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 8:45:12 AM

@mink

LOL! I think bulldozing the buffet table the reason behind him still being rejected by some airlines.
_JB_ writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 9:06:55 AM

Firstly I do not trust anyone with a beard but some of his movies where great

Secondly Bullit get f*cked and don't criticize anyone when u have NO talent yourself.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 9:10:57 AM

Oh he'll be back in no time. Its just the way of the Hwood world. Just when he thinks he's out, they'll pull him back in.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 9:11:47 AM

Plus that comic book TV show is about as lame as it comes.
DriveMemento writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 9:15:33 AM

Whats with all this Kevin Smith hate.. besides Clerks and Clerks II, his movies have been great, Dogma is one of his classics, and his recent Red State for anyone thats seen the movie, coming from Kevin Smith, typically a comedy director, he did one hell of a jog bringing a different, at the same time good, new, Horror movie to the table. And I'm not even a fan of Horror anymore.
minkowski writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 9:30:36 AM

^^We don't hate Kevin, we just hate he makes African kids starve.
Stapes writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 9:41:15 AM

I'm a fan, but Red State was sh*t.
trailertrash writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 10:11:56 AM

^^We don't hate Kevin, we just hate he makes African kids starve.

LOL !!

All Bob Geldof needed all those years ago (other than a wash) was a 12 gauge and Smith's home address.
_JB_ writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 10:16:16 AM

Trailortroll u seriously are a f*ckstool maaaate
trailertrash writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 10:27:33 AM

If that f*ckstool is Kate Upton's, Then thats fine with me.

Twaaaaaaaaaat !
drewsmit24 writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 10:46:45 AM

chasing amy is classic....snoochie bootchies
_JB_ writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 10:52:56 AM

Trailortroll , Bullit was stating that u have a mushroom c*ck, heads to big for shaft. Can u tell him to keep such facts and figures to himself?
Kurskij writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 10:53:23 AM

I like your work Kevin.

Stop being so fat.
Kurskij writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 10:54:39 AM

"If that f*ckstool is Kate Upton's"

Oh, don't get me started

bandolero999 writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 11:48:52 AM

Those poor kids in Africa,well he's from jersey for f*cks sake what do you expect.
CelluloidMan writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 11:50:30 AM

Same here, I'm a fan. (I even have his short lived ABC's CLERKS animated series) Sh!t, I even remember him being one of the fresh, unique voices along with Tarantino, Rodriguez and Linklater in the 90s.

The thing I'd say is I always liked his early slacker movies. I enjoyed his comic book, TV shows, & movie references. It was like he was making movies for fanboys BY a fanboy but his slacker movies also had a human core I could identify with. In the 90s with CLERKS, I was in a dead end job (haven't we all?), I was in a couple rocky realtionships around the ti uses me CHASING AMY, and with DOGMA, I had been questioning my faith for years until the movie made me face it once & for all...he basically uses an angel plot to cover faith & God using d!ck & fart jokes! Who the f*ck does that!!

I never thought about it until now but in a weird way, I grew up & with Smith's movies...

His comedic "masterpiece" I'd say was JAY & SILENT BOB STRIKE BACK is one of my all time favorite movie. A basic fanboy View Askew's who's who. It brings together all his characters with Jay/ Silent Bob being it's glue & now having their own movie. Smith even uses Affleck & Jason Lee into performing their 2 different roles from 2 past movies. The storytelling flows smoothly with funny cameos. Smith even has a chance to wink or lampoon the upcoming movies at that time like Daredevil/ Scooby Doo. But most importantly, they were funny as sh!t if foul mouth humor was your thing!!

Coming back, although frustrated of p*ssying out & throwing in the towel of Smith, I got to say that I understand he shouldn't be directing if his heart ain't in it...but it looked like he started to. As far as I know, that's why he had the fallout with B. Willis...he was smoking weed on set of COPOUT, not giving a flying f*ck 'bout directing...

I dragged this long enough...although not the end I wanted or expected of Smith, I wanna thank that fat, funny f*ck for all the gut busting laughs!!
CelluloidMan writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 11:53:30 AM

I don't expect much on HIT SOMEBODY BTW...
CelluloidMan writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 11:54:31 AM

I don't expect much on HIT SOMEBODY BTW...
Ranger writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 12:27:02 PM

At least the man is admitting his talent for directing is used up. George Lucas should take a cue from Kevin Smith.

http://tinyurl.com/SmithRetiresFRdirecting
Mr. Blonde writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 12:49:23 PM

@Celluloid - nice post. I'm also a big fan of Smith's earlier work especially Chasing Amy, Dogma, Clerks etc. His character development and dialogue was unsurpassed as he was truly a fanboy's director (not in a gay way). And some of his live performances are hysterically funny especially in the way he takes about 2 hours to answer one question - the man can rant like no other. I recall reading a chapter in one of Kevin's autobiographies (sorry forgot the title) wherein he discusses how much of an *sshole Bruce Willis was on the set of Cop Out. I don't blame Smith for smoking it up for stress reasons (other than f*cking his hot wife) as his role as the Director was completely undermined by Willis who acted like he didn't want to be there in the first place. For Kevin he had such great admiration and ambition to want to work with Willis (since working together in Die Hard 4). Who wouldn't think of it as an opportunity of a lifetime. But it became a painful ordeal trying to direct a prima donna actor who delivers scenes the way he interprets them, deliberately skips lines and scenes and doesn't take Smith's directions at all. Smith tried to get Willis to do retakes and Willis' attitude was like "what the f*ck for, I already nailed it in the first take". Smith tried to appeal to his ego as a Willis fan and wanted to capture Willis-esque badass like his famous horse-eye shooting moves. I think Cop Out probably helped Smith realize that he should retire from Directing. But I have no doubt he will return when he is inspired.
minkowski writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 12:58:27 PM

"Willis...acted like he didn't want to be there in the first place."

And quite possibly Bruce's best performance in years.
minkowski writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 1:01:38 PM

" I recall reading a chapter in one of Kevin's autobiographies"

You sure that wasn't a cookbook?

Anyway, it says much about Kevin Smith that not only does he, who has only been making movies for roughly two decades, an autobiography, he has, like stomachs, more than one.
minkowski writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 1:05:49 PM

"I think Cop Out probably helped Smith realize that he should retire from Directing."

That's nothing. Cop Out helped audiences realize Kevin Smith should be put to death by starvation, but they then realized they'd be dead before him.
minkowski writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 1:06:14 PM

..have..
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 1:11:19 PM

Now, Bay, McG, Ratner, Boll, etc. Please follow!!
Man in Black writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 1:14:34 PM

Asthma and you were at best a 3 trick pony ... at best .
CelluloidMan writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 1:23:16 PM

Ranger:

Preach it Ranger, preach it!!

Mr. Blonde:

Thanks and definitely agree with you. I've yet to see one of his live performance rant DVDs or read his autobiographies though, believe it or not. I've gotta get on that sh!t...Cheers, bud.
Ranger writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 1:29:31 PM

@Cell - u know it Brotha!

http://tinyurl.com/RangerTESTIFIES

Mr. Blonde writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 1:48:34 PM

@Mink –Yeah, he’s a fat as hell f*ck. But he is also a funny as hell talented fat f*ck. I still get a laugh over the whole South-West Airline Controversy and it would be unlike Smith to ever let that incident go. He has described that life story ad nausea in blogs, youtube and in his cookbooks. American obesity can be a shocking sight to see. I would freak if someone as large as him blocked my access to aisle or crowded the armrest. Especially if the plane ever went down – of course if the aircraft’s hull or windows blew out at high altitudes it would be funny as sh*t seeing a balloon man get sucked out the window a la Goldfinger.

@Celluloid – Thanks bud. I recommend Too Fat for 40! Which he rants about more recent events like Zack and Miri, Cop Out, South West etc. Also, An Evening with Kevin Smith 2: Evening Harder: slightly older performance wherein he shot two shows in Toronto and London – Although I think the London show was much better handled. In these standup performances you really get a sense that Smith loves to talk and talk and talk to a live audience. He can expand upon one question and delve into personal lifestories about his filmmaking career, or offer his vision on a Death of Superman movie, or his take on LOTR, or what its like to work with Damon, Afflect and Jason Mewes (who owes the man his entire employment existence).
McQueen writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 2:19:56 PM

"You sure that wasn't a cookbook?"

LOL! Good one!
Raider writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 2:26:48 PM

I'm a fan of Kevin Smith. I think it sucks he's retiring but I'm sure He'll be back to making movies. Red State was amazing.
Frank_Castle writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 2:58:00 PM

Maybe he realized he's lost the mojo at the directing chair and doesnt want to become like George Lucas, Ridley Scott, and James Cameron where their talent isnt like it used to be.

Sucks though. I kinda wanted another CLERKS sequel.
Kurskij writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 3:05:24 PM

@mr. blonde

That's why I love the place. You can ask (or not) for an advice - and you follow it - and you just love the result.

Mink and his articles, bullit and his scotch, tt and his movies, ranger and his... sexual deviations and stuff and whatever...

So, Too Fat for 40 is pretty f*cking funny! Thanks, man.
vincere01 writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 3:09:20 PM

Don't want to.....or not allowed to anymore....hmmmm Kevin?
Džeko writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 4:02:58 PM

ANASFWGTD.
Raider writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 4:43:40 PM

Jason Mewes is awesome though.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 4:47:29 PM

Clerks 1 & 2 are brilliant, but especially Chasing Amy and Jersey Girl are good films 'cause of their honest depiction of emotion.

Though when it comes to Smith's more recent work, it has been quite bad. For example Cop Out and Red State were both awful.
Quidd writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 5:16:32 PM

I thought he retired after Clerks 2, or atleast he should have retired. Anywho, thank you for retiring Silent Bob. Maybe I'll see you at McDonalds sometime.
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 5:48:50 PM

Well at least he's being honest. no need to hate... And i hope he does another Clerks, the 2nd was a f*cking riot :P
bane writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 6:05:33 PM


kevin smith ''explains'' why he's retiring ??

because nobody wants to watch his sh*t

(i love Dogma)
TemporalFlux writes:
on October 25th, 2012 at 9:00:34 PM

Well, looks like I'm gonna get a lot of sh*t for this, but here goes...

I love pretty much all of Kevin Smith's movies, except Cop-Out, but that's only because I hate that prick Tracy Morgan.

I actually think he is well qualified to do some of the mainstream super-hero movies.

Infact, I think he should have taken over the DC job for Warner Bros. He is qualified in much the same way as Joss Whedon, not only being a huge fan of the source material, but also having worked in the field himself.

Ok, there you go, fire away...
pornfly writes:
on October 26th, 2012 at 12:40:49 AM

Explanation:they dont make directors chairs in his size

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved