WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Andy Serkis to Direct George Orwell's "Animal Farm"

Posted: October 20th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Andy Serkis to Direct George OrwellSubmit Comment
Andy Serkis has been the man behind King Kong in Peter Jackson's movie, Captain Haddock in "The Adventures of Tintin," Caesar in "Rise of the Planet of the Apes," and Gollum in "The Lord of the Rings" trilogy.

Serkis has since moved on to directing. He even served as a second-unit director on "The Hobbit," spending over 200 days behind the camera, gaining even more knowledge about performance capture.

Now comes word that Serkis will direct a re-telling of George Orwell's "Animal Farm." He said: "I think we found a rather fresh way of looking at it. It is definitely using performance capture, but we are in an experimental phase. It's [very] exciting."

Serkis went on to say that "Animal Farm" will be a family film and won't focus as much on politics as previous versions have. He's currently considering starring as well.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
TemporalFlux writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 7:54:16 AM

If it doesn't have the political satire, then what's the point? Will have more to do with the dodgy porn film than George Orwell. Beastiality for all the family!
cress writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 9:50:31 AM

With today's technology, they could do some amazing things with the pig sh*t.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 10:21:22 AM

How do you make an Animal Farm movie without the Orwellian socio-political theme? Did Serkis read the book? What's next, Farenheit 451 without the book burning or 1984 without Big Brother? Jesus get this moron on the right side of the camera!
minkowski writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 11:03:26 AM

"Jesus get this moron on the right side of the camera!"

He *IS* on the right side of the camera. The profit side.

You may think that cynical, but the moral of Animal Farm is not only too subtle and sophisticated for the American Twilight Generation, it's also increasingly unpalatable in a global film market trending left, politically.
stout writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 11:18:38 AM

But without the political satire to it, then it is not Animal Farm. The book IS political satire. Why not just remake Babe if you want to do a motion capture movie with pigs?
SACdaddy writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 11:29:27 AM

Lol that's the right side for him not for us. And if this guy ain't making millions for his acting services yet he just needs a better agent not a career change. Real money is in producing anyway, most directors still get paid peanuts compared to many of the lead actors in their films. Eventhough we never see his face this guy is usually the best part of every film he's in. Pay the man!
minkowski writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 12:09:49 PM

Newsflash! Movie Studios Don't Give A sh*t About Customers!




You don't get it. They don't care about you. You don't matter to them. You might think you do because your reflexive reaction is to assume you matter, but you don't. Not to them anyway.

So yes, he's definitely on the right side. The side with power and money. Besides, it is their project, not the people's. You and I aren't entitled to tell them how they should spend their money any more than they are entitled to tell you what groceries to buy.

Your only choice in the matter is to choose to see the film, or not, and I'm betting eventually you will, as will millions of others, because you want to, for whatever reason.




"Real money is in producing anyway, most directors still get paid peanuts compared to many of the lead actors in their films."

You're a strange person, Sac.

On the one hand, you think it's wrong for the studio to sell out the moral of a quasi-political book for the express purpose of better profit, and yet on the other hand you think Serkis should go back to producing because there's more money in it, whereas Serkis apparently would rather direct and thus have more creative control over the project in question.



"But without the political satire to it, then it is not Animal Farm."

That's a straw man statement, because at no point did Serkis say the new film won't have any of the original political satire, he only said that the new film won't have as much as the previous films, which I imagine were pretty heavy-handed.

In other words, he's making a mainstream retelling of the book in film form without the saturated satire of previous adaptations.

Sounds rather judicious to me.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 12:37:03 PM

Lol!!! Dude calm the f*ck down. I was just making a casual statement about what makes the guy famous and good at his craft. Seeing him get "more creative" by dumbing down the intentions of classic American literature for the sake of more money is just not what I personally want from the guy. But that's just my opinion not an attack on you or him.
minkowski writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 12:50:25 PM

I *am* calm.


"Seeing him get "more creative" by dumbing down the intentions of classic American literature for the sake of more money is just not what I personally want from the guy."

I'm not sure at point you decided Serkis was "dumbing down" Orwell's Animal Farm, but if you go back to what Serkis actually said, and not what you think he said, his intent is e quitclear.

He's making his adaptation of the book not quite as politically satirical as previous versions.

That's it.
minkowski writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 12:55:22 PM

In fact, here's what Serkis actually says, at length, which you won't find here, naturally

"We’re keeping it fable-istic and [aimed at] a family audience. We are not going to handle the politics in a heavy-handed fashion. It is going to be emotionally centered in a way that I don’t think has been seen before. The point of view that we take will be slightly different to how it is normally portrayed and the characters, We are examining this in a new light.”




"We are not going to handle the politics in a heavy-handed fashion."

That's what he says, and yet everyone starts running off at the mouth, saying he's dropping the political satire, which obviously he is not.
TonyWalnuts writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 1:19:26 PM

I may have missed something but when did Animal Farm become "classic American literature".
minkowski writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 1:33:33 PM

Probably because in part:

Time magazine chose the book as one of the 100 best English-language novels (1923 to 2005); it also places at number 31 on the Modern Library List of Best 20th-Century Novels. It won a Retrospective Hugo Award in 1996 and is also included in the Great Books of the Western World.
TonyWalnuts writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 1:44:16 PM

Yes I'm aware of that as I have wikipedia too. I want to know where American comes into it.
minkowski writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 1:55:51 PM

Oh. One of those jingoistic obsessions. I see.

Well, I dunno. Maybe ask Sac why he claimed it as American instead of English

Maybe Sac is aware it was published in England first, not America, and maybe, just maybe, he says that because the novel, in his opinion, is more revered and cited by Americans than Brits.

American by adoption, then.

Not like Britain should be remarking on Orwell at all, given how far they've come towards fulfilling his rather prophetic '1984'.
minkowski writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 1:56:13 PM

"I have wikipedia too"

Congratulations, comrade!
TonyWalnuts writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 2:06:21 PM

"Maybe ask Sac why he claimed it as American instead of English"
Maybe I was asking Sac. Maybe you had to jump in and give your two cents as Americans say.

"maybe, just maybe, he says that because the novel, in his opinion, is more revered and cited by Americans than Brits"
Maybe he does however I would not be as bold as to jump to conclusions on others opinions. Another fine American trait.

"Nt like Britain should be remarking on Orwell at all, given how far they've come towards fulfilling his rather prophetic '1984'."

I see,so you think is that they shouldn't remark on orwell at all.
Quite similar to basic plot elements of said prophetic work.
TonyWalnuts writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 2:17:40 PM

"I have wikipedia too"

Congratulations, comrade!

I like how you also edited that to make it look like I was making a stupid comment. When in fact I had pointed out that anyone can make it look like they know alot by copying and pasting from wiki.
One of the advantages of modern technology i suppose is that everyone knows everything. The world is better off with so many pseudo-intellectuals I guess.
minkowski writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 2:33:07 PM

"Maybe I was asking Sac. Maybe you had to jump in and give your two cents as Americans say."

We WP'ers use the convention @ when we want to address someone specifically. Surely you've seen as much, and yet you addressed your comment to everyone.



"Maybe he does however I would not be as bold as to jump to conclusions on others opinions. Another fine American trait."

Which is why I said "maybe".

Perhaps had you specified who said what, and to what you were referring and addressed your comment to that person, I wouldn't have spoken for the dude, who has taken an apparent and much-needed hiatus after his ass-roasting in the Marlon Wayans thread.



"I see,so you think is that they shouldn't remark on orwell at all. Quite similar to basic plot elements of said prophetic work."

Because one dude giving his personal opinion on some website is the equivalent of a monolithic government criminalizing, outlawing opinion-making.



"I like how you also edited that to make it look like I was making a stupid comment."

You told me the obvious. You told me you have Wikipedia.

You obviously have access to the internet, and Wikipedia is free, ergo, your remark was just a childish snark, and thus I replied in kind. What more did you hope to gain, comrade?

The troll is strong with this one.



"When in fact I had pointed out that anyone can make it look like they know alot by copying and pasting from wiki."

Actually you said nothing of the sort. You may have thought it, but your words only say you have access to Wikipedia, and nothing more.

We can't read minds, dude. Make yourself more clear and specific.



"One of the advantages of modern technology i suppose is that everyone knows everything."

And yet few comprehend anything, apparently like clarity in commenting and the specificity of addressing a person directly.




"The world is better off with so many pseudo-intellectuals I guess."

*sigh* I guess. *sigh*





TonyWalnuts writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 2:44:45 PM

Yes you have ass roasted me again by calling me a troll after I just pointed out the obvious that it is not classic American literature.

"Maybe I was asking Sac. Maybe you had to jump in and give your two cents as Americans say."

We WP'ers use the convention @ when we want to address someone specifically. Surely you've seen as much, and yet you addressed your comment to everyone.

Which is why I used "maybe"? As you say.

Anyway its pointless getting into this with you because it will go on all night. I made a comment about the origins of a piece of literature. A mistake I wont make again for fear of "ass roasting".

I wasn't trolling, merely making a comment on a comment thread.
minkowski writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 3:40:33 PM

"Which is why I used "maybe"? As you say."

No maybe about it, you were addressing Sac specifically; you just failed to let everyone else, including Sac, know.

"I just pointed out the obvious that it is not classic American literature."

As you say, Tony, all of us have access to Wikipedia, right?
TonyWalnuts writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 4:19:38 PM

Very good. I like what you did you there.
You're so clever. Goodbye.
minkowski writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 4:37:11 PM

So I guess us being friends is out of the question, then, huh?

Minkowski's Wedding list

Ranger
Pornfly
Bullit
Bando
trailer
p*ssyfart
sacdaddy
TonyWalnuts
Triggax
TonyWalnuts writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 5:00:28 PM

No we just had a disagreement. I don't hold grudges and I'd like to think you don't either.

Maybe someday we will agree something.
TonyWalnuts writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 5:00:55 PM

*on something
minkowski writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 5:09:12 PM

Actual, I agreed with you. Animal Farm isn't an 'American' classic, and Sac is still a dumb ass.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 5:09:14 PM

To answer your question, it was just a mistake. I'm sorry for the confusion.

Hopefully, that denounces the growing stereotype about Americans the we don't apologize under any circ*mstance. sh*t, now I'm gonna be called an apologist by all the American conservatives on the site :(
Fredward Constantino writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 5:35:18 PM

Hello everyone, my name is Fredward Constantino, and I am new to these message boards.

I believe that Paul Giamatti would be a good candidate to play the "pig-man" depicted in the article's picture. He is a fine actor and would require minimal make-up and/or CGI work for the role.

Thank you for your time.
bandolero999 writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 5:37:36 PM

or Phillip seymour hoffman theyre both fat f*cks
minkowski writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 7:44:27 PM

Or Kevin "Fatass" Smith.
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 9:58:11 PM

Don't forget John Goodman.
pussyqueef writes:
on October 20th, 2012 at 10:36:36 PM

Or Gabourey "Precious" Sidibe...that's a girl right?
Stapes writes:
on October 21st, 2012 at 2:33:23 AM

I don't think I've ever seen someone back peddle so hard, you're going to lose all the tread on your tires doing that, little bitch.
TonyWalnuts writes:
on October 21st, 2012 at 10:17:07 AM

Who are you talking to @stapes if I may ask?
swoooop writes:
on October 21st, 2012 at 4:50:07 PM

Ahh, just dropping by to see if Mink still has no life.

(x) - check

Wow, I see you have discovered the copy and paste function Mink.
Impressive!!
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2013 at 4:25:19 PM

Stapes is talking to me, Tony, but he lacks the balls to do it directly, because he's a f*cking coward.

Sorry for the last reply, by the way.
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2013 at 4:56:34 PM

late.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved