WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jim Varney's "Ernest" Franchise is Being Rebooted

Posted: October 18th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jim VarneySubmit Comment
RuckusFilm is rebooting the "Ernest" franchise that starred Jim Varney and consists of nine feature films that were made between 1987 and 1998. Varney, who first appeared as the character in commercials in early 1980s, died in 2000.

John Cherry, who created the character and directed most of the films, will return to produce. The reboot, called "Son of Ernest," will center on Ernest P. Worrell's long-lost son. Casting is currently underway. Dan Ewen (Dear Satan) is writing the script.

"Ernest was this plucky little engine that could -- against all odds," said Ewen. "Ernest struck a nerve, one we're going to revisit. We plan to honor the originals and Jim Varney while birthing a new chapter that lies somewhere between not sucking and Earth-shatteringly funny."

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 6:38:45 AM

Theres only one Ernest ya jackasses

Didnt anybody learn their lesson from Son of Pink Panther??

I remember JimVarney doin local car commercials in Orlando then he just exploded on the scene

IF they build buzz with Ernest jr in a similar way,it MIGHT have a chance
But they dont have the common sense
Stapes writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 7:01:48 AM

RIP Jim Varney. Cancer's a bitch.
triggax writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 7:36:10 AM

They already filmed a son of Ernest film. It's called Ace Ventura and it sucked.

This is the stupidest f*cking thing I've heard of in months.
pornfly writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 7:58:44 AM

Ace Ventura sucked??
Im guessing canadian humor is not your cup of tea
minkowski writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 8:51:57 AM

"This is the stupidest f*cking thing I've heard of in months"

Even more stupid than Stapes saying Terminator 3 is better than Terminator 2?


"a new chapter that lies somewhere between not sucking and Earth-shatteringly funny."

Well, at least he's setting expectations and being honest with himself. I still think he's a little too optimistic.



So who's going to be the Ernest? Any suggestions? I can't think of anyone that could take that weird-looking goofball's role, and I'm immediately reminded of both 'Son of Mask' and 'Dumb and Dumberer'.
darthraige writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 9:14:16 AM

Way to stab Jim in the back ya f*cking c*ck knobs! f*cking Hollywood.
brandonegc writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 9:25:58 AM

The Ernest franchise was a major point of my childhood. I don't think I've actually felt an actual emotional response reading news about movie franchises being rebooted. This, however, is almost painful to read.

Have some respect for Jim Varney. Let this franchise stay dormant. If you want a quick cash grab, just release the whole series on blu-ray.
Fightclub1 writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 10:08:20 AM

Hell no. There is only one Ernest you f*ckers
minkowski writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 10:15:19 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C5ED_5eiccE
trailertrash writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 10:26:59 AM

Yeah never seen an Ernest film ....
mcm317 writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 10:29:49 AM

nooooooooooooooooooooooo no matter how dumb the films are it was something i grew up with. my childhood is officially f*cked
matternm58 writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 10:45:42 AM

Oh my God cmon. this is gonna piss me off.
matternm58 writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 10:46:47 AM

Someone said Terminator 3 was better than Terminator 2? Wow that guys has issues.
Future writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 10:56:25 AM

Not interested.
makingcircles writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 11:01:36 AM

As an Ernest fan and Jim Varney fan I would like to say, f*ck YOU HOLLYWOOD!
blumpkin4 writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 11:34:05 AM

Ernest scared stupid is a classic!
minkowski writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 12:27:50 PM

They never finished 'Ernest Gets HIV', did they?

Would have been the funniest of them all, methinks.
McQueen writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 1:53:52 PM

Trailer

...Mine either
d.nadeau writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 2:44:13 PM

Who in god's name could pull off Ernest and would even want to?
codeman_1216 writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 3:10:46 PM

Sorry about my hiatus, fellow WP'ers, I had some BIIIIGG stuff goin' on. Not that anyone cares.

Anyway, this is BS. I grew up with these Ernest movies, and now Hollywood has found yet another way to rape my childhood. It seems originality has truly diminished from the movie industry.
Ranger writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 3:28:15 PM

Is this re-boot week news in Hollywood this week (nay... year... nay decade)!?
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 4:04:59 PM

Gay.

Just like JB
struck21 writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 5:04:36 PM

Biggest issue with rebooting these films, beside no one really cared about them at the time they were made, is that no one is the day and age knows about them. Ask anyone under 25 and you will be hard pressed to 1 in 10 who knows the movies. I loved watching them when I was younger but I can't see a reboot being worth the film.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved