WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sam Raimi to Direct "Poltergeist" Remake

Posted: October 18th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sam Raimi to Direct "Poltergeist" RemakeSubmit Comment
Early this year came a rumor that Sam Raimi (Spider-Man) may direct the upcoming "Poltergeist" remake, which is being written by David Lindsay-Abaire, who also wrote Raimi's "Oz: The Great and Powerful." But then in April, THR confirmed that Raimi will only produce and that a director has yet to sign on.

THR now says that Raimi changed his mind and will direct the film, claiming that the information came direction from Lindsay-Abaire. HitFix reached out to THR columnist Scott Feinberg to confirm that he wasn't just reporting on an old rumor. "Lindsay-Abaire told me that Raimi was directing it," Feinberg replied. "I had never heard of the possibility before that."

The original 1982 film was written by Steven Spielberg and focuses on a family whose house was built on a holy site and whose daughter is taken by ghosts.

Source: HitFix


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
McQueen writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 6:43:00 AM

They're obviously not superstitious. That beautiful little girl died on the set back then.

Bad idea.
trailertrash writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 6:46:43 AM

I think Heather O'Rourke was ill Bullit with some sort of Blood disorder or something, During the making of Part 3.
pornfly writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 6:50:08 AM

Cast The Kardashians,The Lohans,Timberlake and Amanda Bynes

CURSE YOU CURSEY
CURSE YOUR WORST
MOTHERCURSER
pornfly writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 6:51:22 AM

The sister died in part one and there a few others that i'm sure we'll be hipped to shortly
Taco writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 6:52:23 AM

Way to become a hack Sammy!
Stapes writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 7:18:33 AM

^Sammy's been a hack since Spiderman 3, and arguably to varying degrees before that.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 7:58:08 AM

@Pornfly: i think the sister was murdered by a stalker.

They've been showing Poltergeist all week at my gym so I've been seeing a lot of it lately. I'm still blown away by how much better it is than any Paranormal Activity/Insidious found footage crap that's making a sh*tload at the BO now. The special effects are still untouchable, and the acting is second to none. Craig T Nelson and JoBeth Williams are about as believable as it gets when it comes to screaming and getting their asses kicked by demons. Still amazed that a film with that much creepy sh*t (especially the face melting bathroom scene) was rated PG!!! Just more proof that 80s filmmaking was 10x better than anything now.

I guessing Sam Raimi misses the 80s as much as I do. Too bad he seems hellbent on reliving them. Instead of remaking every great film from the 80s why don't directors just learn what made these films classics and use it to make new material (kind of like what Sam did with Drag Me to Hell).
McQueen writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 8:17:28 AM

Trailer

I didn't know that. All I remember is like there was some kind of curse in the making but if you say that it was due to some health problems then it still dosen't take away the bad experience or aura from that film.

Imagine if it happens again for whatever reason on this remake, it will be more than suspicious to me...

cress writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 8:28:17 AM

Am I the only one that thought Drag Me To Hell Sucked donkey balls? I was expecting a kick-ass horror film from the guy who made Evil Dead, and it sucked.
Whatever he does with this remake, I can't see it topping the original. And Spielberg directed that film, not Hooper. You can see Spielberg's fingerprints in almost every shot. Hooper never before or after made a film that was as choreographed and well-shot as Poltergeist. Even Zelda Rubenstein said
before her death that Spielberg called
the shots on set. Hooper made
Poltergeist in '82. Then Invaders From
Mars in '85 and Lifeforce in '86. Neither film looks like it was directed by the same guy who directed Poltergeist. And they both sucked.
trailertrash writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 8:31:49 AM

Bullit

The cast of Poltergeist has sure had it's fair share of bad luck mate thats for sure.

http://www.cracked.com/article_16541_the-insane-true-stories-behind-6-cursed-movies.html
SACdaddy writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 8:34:46 AM

Carol Anne, her sister, the Indian and the evil preacher from part 2 all died soon after the films were made.
trailertrash writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 8:37:13 AM

Cress

Said the samething before about Spielberg and his very strong influence over Poltergeist, Hell (no pun there) Hooper even started to look like Steven so he could get on set.

http://i.chzbgr.com/completestore/2010/3/24/129138952285206529.jpg
trailertrash writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 8:38:37 AM

SAC

And so did Tobe Hooper's career !! Spooky or what !!
minkowski writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 8:44:58 AM

Heather O'Rourke's tomb is an official stop on the Haunted Hollywood tour.

Just saying.
Stapes writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 8:46:04 AM

Invaders from mars wasn't too bad, and Chainsaw is a classic. I don't think Hooper lost his balls so much as popular movie going culture did. The great thing about those 80's horror flicks is that they didn't compromise for ticket sales, they left you with an uneasy feeling in your stomach, especially if you were a kid when you saw them. On some level, early Speilberg, Hooper, Carpenter and flicks horror flicks from others, especially in the early 80's, are responsible for f*cking up a whole generation of people.
minkowski writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 9:03:08 AM

Toby Hooper's a piece of sh*t and every film he has made has been a total piece of sh*t.

One of the worst films I've ever seen was his Mortuary, which starred Denise Crosby from Star Trek, which was even worse than the Edward Furlong sequel to 'Pet Cemetary'.
minkowski writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 9:13:41 AM

"are responsible for f*cking up a whole generation of people."

How so? Please, elaborate.

" I don't think Hooper lost his balls so much as popular movie going culture did."

Right, because films like Wolf Creek, High Tension and Saw haven't pushed the horror envelope people like Hooper helped create to the farthest extremes of human acceptability.
_JB_ writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 9:44:54 AM

I cannot stand Stan raimi, and his brother is a goofy looking f*ck!
SACdaddy writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 9:49:45 AM

Texas Chainsaw, Poltergeist, Salem's Lot, and Lifeforce were all pretty good imo. Then for some reason Hooper went to TV and lost all his mojo.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 9:54:47 AM

"Toby Hooper's a piece of sh*t and every film he has made has been a total piece of sh*t."

Woke up on the wrong side of the bed this morning Minky? Is there a right side of the bed for you?

If you thought Poltergeist was "total sh*t" I'd sure like to hear what you think is good horror. And please don't mention The Mist again, we both already agree on that flick :)
minkowski writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 10:06:13 AM

We also all agree Spielberg deserves far more praise for Poltergeist than Hooper who was said to be totally incompetent on-set, and Lifeforce sucked. Sorry but it did. Just trash imo.

And TCM, of course, is considered a 'classic' of the genre, but I don't care for it.

It's famous only because it's one of the first slasher flicks, and thus it has some sort of film history significance, but it's STILL an ugly, poorly produced and directed film.

"And please don't mention The Mist again, we both already agree on that flick :)"

The Mist? The Frank Darabont film? The Stephen King film? lol. Yeah, worlds better than anything Hooper has ever made, the lackluster initial CGI aside.

"Is there a right side of the bed for you?"

Which ever side your mother is on.
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 10:18:10 AM

It'll be full of cgi sh*t.
Bunny X writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 10:29:25 AM

Honestly, I could go for a remake of this. Especially with Raimi at the helm
matternm58 writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 10:41:27 AM

Okay this is a movie they do not need to remake. WTF people.
Stapes writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 11:59:57 AM

Didn't think about High Tension, Wolf Creek etc., there are a few flicks out there that push the envelope, but those movies are niche and don't make enough in box office to spur on sequels, for the most part. And maybe "f*cked up" is the wrong term. In the 80's, they managed to push the envelope without even realizing they were pushing the envelope, it was just a combination of good uncompromised storytelling, you never really felt the main characters were guaranteed safe passage through to the credits, there was a sense of real peril, whether it be of death or real loss of something (mainly manhood). Sure, some movies have tried to bring that sense of uncertainty back (Sam Jackson in Deep Blue Sea is a memorable instance) the gut punch ending of The Mist is another, but it's rare and the big budget business of pumping out money making monsters has nearly completely taken over any pretense of making "art." The only pure movies you see for the most part now are so f*cking bad and made by people with such a lack of talent that I've realized now that those directors that come along with real talent and a memorable story to tell are few and far between, and even then, they're first works are always their best and they all eventually end up making sh*t.
McQueen writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 1:49:13 PM

Trailer

Thanks mate for the interesting article.
codeman_1216 writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 3:24:02 PM

Don't they realize what they're doing to movies? It's like taking an Xbox 360 and recycling it into water bottles to try and get people to spend money on water. And just like I can drink water out of my sink for free, I can eventually download this movie for free.
Ranger writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 3:27:14 PM

@Bullit - both daughters from the original have dies.

@tt - I seem to remember she had a stomach virus.

The older daughter was murdered by her boyfriend.

As for Jo-Beth Williams. I'd still eat the corn out of her ass!
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 3:57:38 PM

What has this world come to?
struck21 writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 5:06:25 PM

I still to this day can't watch these without having nightmares. I used to watch "Friday the 13th" "Elm Street" movies without issue but that little girl getting sucked into the TV just got to me.

Sam, please just don't do it.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 5:29:41 PM

So Mink still no examples of what you think is good horror other than the Mist. Ok maybe we should just assume that since you apparently like sleeping with dead mothers then maybe you're a Psycho fan. Thx for the info.

Torture porn, gore fests, and found footage ghost stories seem to be the predominant themes of modern horror. We know mink hates all of them, but obviously many others like them. I'll take them all if they have a good story and acting attached.

For example:

Hostel--highlights torture but first half of the film is used setting a new scene around very likable characters.

Sinister and 1508--finally gives the main character reason and motivation to place himself in harms way. Usually everyone's a victim of circ*mstance or just in the wrong place at the wrong time. These main charcters want to be there for their own selfish reasons and truly get what they deserve which is very satisfying in the long run.

The Hills Have Eyes (remake)-- typical Texas Chainsaw formula of extreme violence and insanity (with some mutant rape thrown in) that actually turns into an awesome story courage in the face of ridiculous odds. The main characters transformation from weakling to asskicker feel very authentic due to an outstanding performance from the lead actor.

These are just a few modern horror films that go the extra mile to separate themselves from the typical cookie cutter pack.
minkowski writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 6:01:43 PM

Oh. I didn't take your question with any weight to be honest as you don't usually return to check on replies.

Good horror? Well I didn't think The Mist was great horror because of the limitation of the creatures. Frightening yes but limited.

Let me see. Well I thought The Mothman Prophecies gave me a few chills, Session 9 was tense but ultimately predictable, The Descent was just outright f*cked up and depressing with the *original* ending, Triangle was pretty bad ass even though Melissa George's mouth makes me want have her blow me while I cry about it, The Crazies was, to me, an all new classic, and even When A Stranger Calls I thought was fairly tense. P2 wasn't bad either. Could have done without the gut-buster scene though. Event Horizon, maybe. The Fourth Kind was intriguing and unsettling for sure.

The problem, and we've talked about this before, is that what we call horror is really just torture porn exploitation intended not to scare but to push the boundaries of what will shock and disgust people, until they are so insensate they're moved by nothing, and even laugh at the most graphic, realistic depictions of human torture and destruction, as we've see with the latest generation of moviegoers.

The thing is, to me, there's horror, there's scary movies, and there's torture porn, and it seems less and scary movies are being made, so much that it's far more likely the sub-genre is mocked (Scary Movie, Scream) than taken seriously, which is why M. Night was considered such a godsend. People thought he might actually rejuvenate Hitchockian scary films, giving audiences an alternative to gore/torture porn but the moron proved inept so all we're left is James Wan.

Anyway, increasingly all that's left, movie-wise, is torture porn and repetitive gory depictions of people getting killed, and those films doesn't scare me, and I thus avoid them, so to answer your question definitively, not many movies from the 90's on 'scare' me because they're incapable of doing so, because they're just unintelligent slasher flicks for people who 'appreciate' graphic gory violence, and that's just not me.
minkowski writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 6:03:11 PM

no damned edit option. So annoying.
cress writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 6:59:21 PM

The Mothman Prophecies was very good. And Jacobs Ladder, very good and often forgotten.
html mencken writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 10:47:22 PM

Mink, have you ever seen the Spanish film Timecrimes? You might like it if you enjoyed Triangle...
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 19th, 2012 at 12:17:43 AM

@Minks review on "Mothman prophesies, Session 9,The Descent,The Crazies, A Stranger Calls, P2, The Fourth Kind"

all your reviews are fair other then Session 9, i loved that f*cking movie, maybe it's just me but i feel it nailed the "Psychological" part in Psychological thriller.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 19th, 2012 at 10:24:49 AM

Ok there we go Mink, finally some insight. Once again, I agree with you about not being scared by much these days. But I guess I'm looking to be entertained more than scare now. I want to be pushed by a film to respond (usually with a "OH f*ck!!!), and there are still plenty of horror/thrillers that can get that kind of reaction from me.

Session 9 -- meh. just felt like I had seen it before

The Crazies -- def one of the best remakes out there. Makes me think that maybe 70s films are much better choices for the remake genre.

P2 -- lol only thing I like about it was the gut butter scene :)

Event Horizon -- def f*cked with me when I originally saw it


seveltoto writes:
on November 1st, 2017 at 7:50:47 AM

aleale writes:
on November 13th, 2017 at 10:32:04 PM

sevelace writes:
on November 17th, 2017 at 4:16:58 AM

recreator9 writes:
on November 23rd, 2017 at 11:33:22 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved