WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Sinister" Director to Helm Stephen King's "The Breathing Method"

Posted: October 16th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Sinister" Director to Helm Stephen KingSubmit Comment
Stephen King's 1982 "Different Seasons" book is collection of four stories. Three of them have been turned into successful films, including "The Shawshank Redemption," "Apt Pupil" and "Stand By Me."

Now comes word that producer Jason Blum is re-teaming with "Sinister" director Scott Derickson to bring the fourth story, called "The Breathing Method," to the big screen. Scott Teems is attached to provide the screenplay.

The story takes place in an exclusive gentlemen's club in New York, where no one pays any dues. Membership is based upon a telling of tales, and one nightmarish tale about a disgraced woman determined to give birth - no matter the consequences.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 7:19:31 AM

Has anybody read this?
Is there a reason why this hasnt been made yet?
ab5olut10n writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 8:00:18 AM

Yeah, it's kind of an odd choice. Basically, it's 3 or 4 old men sitting around telling ghost stories and one of them (a doctor) tells the story of a pregnant woman he once assisted. No real tension in the plot at all.
minkowski writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 9:03:32 AM

"Has anybody read this?"

Yes. I've read pretty much everything King's written. Basically, it's King's take on giving birth, and if you know King, there aren't any Kodak or Hallmark moments.

"Is there a reason why this hasnt been made yet?"

Yep. It's the weakest of the four stories, easily.
minkowski writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 9:06:13 AM

One Thursday before Christmas, the elderly physician Dr. Emlyn McCarron tells a story about an episode that took place early in his long and varied career: that of a patient who was determined to give birth to her illegitimate child, no matter what, despite financial problems and social disapproval. McCarron comes to admire her bravery and humor, and the implication is that he has even fallen a bit in love with her.

The patient masters Dr. McCarron's novel (for the 1930s) breathing method intended to help her through childbirth. However, when she goes into labor and is on the way to the hospital on an icy winter night, her taxi crashes and she is decapitated. McCarron arrives at the crash site and realizes that the patient is somehow still alive. Her lungs in her headless body are still pumping air, as her head, some feet away, is working to sustain the breathing method so that the baby can be born. McCarron manages to deliver the infant alive and well.
Mudders writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 10:11:47 AM

yeah what mink said

its the weakest of the four

there are other works of his id like to see first

the long walk
rage
the langoliers
i am the doorway

i know a couple are short stories but would be cool to see something like that...so many to choose from
Future writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 10:27:23 AM

The story seems a little confusing.
minkowski writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 11:22:22 AM

And yet no From a Buick 8. Still. After how many years?
McQueen writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 1:52:16 PM

Thanks Mink, you saved me to read a useless story.

People are so desperate to make movies about so little. Jesus.
minkowski writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 2:09:46 PM

^^YW.


Now here's one that was written for today's audiences. I'm not joshing or being cynical.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Raft_(short_story)

Should be a breeze to adapt this one to film!
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 3:15:02 PM

Mudders, The Langoliers was already made into an abc tv movie years ago and it was actually decent considering the low budget and Mick Garris directing.
pornfly writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 4:17:47 PM

I gave up on his TV adaps ever since It and The Stand
Its as if they tone everything down for a chicken hearted audience

You wanna real clown movie see Klownhouse
pornfly writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 4:21:17 PM

Oyea thx MINK
Pretty much what i figured
Ive only read Pet Cemetary like 3or4 times
Maybe i'll read The Dark Tower when the solar flares hit but i'll most likely be lookin for nudie magazines,member those??

HA! member
pornfly writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 4:42:25 PM

and here i thought The Breathing Method was gonna be a doc*mentary on how HoneyBooBoos mom takes a sh*t on her tiny little toilet
ab5olut10n writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 5:14:26 PM

@MINK

the raft has already been done, in creepshow 2, albeit with an altered ending.
mcm317 writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 6:22:37 PM

god sinister was so dissapointing. i read the good reviews people are giving it on imdb and i slap my head and shed a tear for humanity
minkowski writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 7:54:34 PM

"the raft has already been done, in creepshow 2, albeit with an altered ending."

I know, I read the Wiki page because I couldn't recall the novella's details, but I can see it being made into a full-length feature film, kind of like 1988's The Blob, but even more horrific and with the original ending.

"Maybe i'll read The Dark Tower when the solar flares hit but i'll most likely be lookin for nudie magazines,member those??"

No but I remember that Playboy I found on the side of the road when I was a kid, the one I kept in my closet away from my mother. And I was like maybe ten. Such a perv.

And only read The Dark Tower 1 and 2, please, because the rest...just take my word on it.

And read It if you haven't, but not The Stand.
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 17th, 2012 at 1:09:09 AM

@Mudders

The long walk was a good book lol, but a movie would be so hard to make.. it'd just be them slowly pacing down a highway for 1.5 hours.. and a crap tone of talking.. lol

@Mink

I've always wanted to read some of these stories, i'm a huge fan, but not that big of a reader. is shawshank a good read? Maybe i'll hit that up next..

btw, just for a quick give away, never watch the stand. i wasted a lonely Saturday dedicated to those 6 hours. lol.. pointless :P (i was 13)
Mudders writes:
on October 17th, 2012 at 2:07:07 AM

@deaftone

langliers already been made? ill have to check it out...dont think we got it here in nz...ill have to refresh my memory if it had made its way here

@tanman

yeah the long walk wouold be a hard one to make....but thats what i like about it....if someone decent got a hold of it...it could be worth it
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 3:58:48 PM

True enough man lol

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved