WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Sony Wanted Tom Hardy as Sandman and Sean Penn as Doctor Octopus in "Sinister Six"
Dec 22nd, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Director Says There's No Script, Release Date or Green Light
Dec 22nd, 2014
"The Hobbit 3" Dominates Box Office Weekend, "Night at the Museum 3" and "Annie" Bomb
Dec 22nd, 2014
Two Posters for Will Smith's "Focus" Heist Comedy
Dec 22nd, 2014
Photos: Better Look at Iron Man's Hulkbuster Suit From "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Dec 21st, 2014
First Look at "Sisters" Comedy, Re-Teaming Tina Fey and Amy Poehler
Dec 21st, 2014
Trailer: Sex Has Terrible Consequences in "It Follow" Horror Film
Dec 21st, 2014
New Photo From Joseph Gordon-Levitt's "The Walk," Directed by Robert Zemeckis
Dec 21st, 2014
Trailer for Sarah Michelle Gellar's "Veronika Decides to Die" Thriller
Dec 21st, 2014
Sony Considering Idris Elba as Next James Bond
Dec 20th, 2014
Peter Jackson Will Never Direct a Marvel Film
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film
Dec 20th, 2014
Two New Photos From Marvel's "Daredevil" TV Series
Dec 20th, 2014
Trailer for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Ted" Sequel
Dec 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg Will Return for "Transformers 5"
Dec 19th, 2014
"Team America: World Police" Screenings Also Cancelled Due to Terrorist Threats
Dec 19th, 2014
20th Century Fox Cancels It's Own North Korea-Based Film
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look: Tom Hanks in Steven Spielberg's Cold War Thriller
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look at Viggo Mortensen's "Captain Fantastic"
Dec 19th, 2014
Trailer for "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "American Sniper," with Bradley Cooper
Dec 18th, 2014
"Fifty Shades of Grey" and "Star Wars" are Top Trailers of 2014
Dec 18th, 2014
Hugh Jackman in Talks for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "The Wolverine 2"
Dec 18th, 2014
Peter Jackson Wants to Make More Tolkien Movies
Dec 18th, 2014
Theaters Refusing to Show "The Interview," Sony Cancels Premiere, Press and Release
Dec 17th, 2014
Chris Pratt and a Dinosaur in New "Jurassic World" Photo
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Doesn't Like Marvel Films, Says Superheroes Should Be Happier
Dec 17th, 2014
Orlando Bloom Says "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" is a Reboot
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Will Direct "Beetlejuice 2," Confirms Winona Ryder Will Return
Dec 17th, 2014
Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy Unveils Pac-Man and Donkey Kong Posters
Dec 17th, 2014
New Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Dec 17th, 2014
First Look at "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Sinister" Director to Helm Stephen King's "The Breathing Method"

Posted: October 16th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Sinister" Director to Helm Stephen KingSubmit Comment
Stephen King's 1982 "Different Seasons" book is collection of four stories. Three of them have been turned into successful films, including "The Shawshank Redemption," "Apt Pupil" and "Stand By Me."

Now comes word that producer Jason Blum is re-teaming with "Sinister" director Scott Derickson to bring the fourth story, called "The Breathing Method," to the big screen. Scott Teems is attached to provide the screenplay.

The story takes place in an exclusive gentlemen's club in New York, where no one pays any dues. Membership is based upon a telling of tales, and one nightmarish tale about a disgraced woman determined to give birth - no matter the consequences.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 7:19:31 AM

Has anybody read this?
Is there a reason why this hasnt been made yet?
ab5olut10n writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 8:00:18 AM

Yeah, it's kind of an odd choice. Basically, it's 3 or 4 old men sitting around telling ghost stories and one of them (a doctor) tells the story of a pregnant woman he once assisted. No real tension in the plot at all.
minkowski writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 9:03:32 AM

"Has anybody read this?"

Yes. I've read pretty much everything King's written. Basically, it's King's take on giving birth, and if you know King, there aren't any Kodak or Hallmark moments.

"Is there a reason why this hasnt been made yet?"

Yep. It's the weakest of the four stories, easily.
minkowski writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 9:06:13 AM

One Thursday before Christmas, the elderly physician Dr. Emlyn McCarron tells a story about an episode that took place early in his long and varied career: that of a patient who was determined to give birth to her illegitimate child, no matter what, despite financial problems and social disapproval. McCarron comes to admire her bravery and humor, and the implication is that he has even fallen a bit in love with her.

The patient masters Dr. McCarron's novel (for the 1930s) breathing method intended to help her through childbirth. However, when she goes into labor and is on the way to the hospital on an icy winter night, her taxi crashes and she is decapitated. McCarron arrives at the crash site and realizes that the patient is somehow still alive. Her lungs in her headless body are still pumping air, as her head, some feet away, is working to sustain the breathing method so that the baby can be born. McCarron manages to deliver the infant alive and well.
Mudders writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 10:11:47 AM

yeah what mink said

its the weakest of the four

there are other works of his id like to see first

the long walk
rage
the langoliers
i am the doorway

i know a couple are short stories but would be cool to see something like that...so many to choose from
Future writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 10:27:23 AM

The story seems a little confusing.
minkowski writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 11:22:22 AM

And yet no From a Buick 8. Still. After how many years?
McQueen writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 1:52:16 PM

Thanks Mink, you saved me to read a useless story.

People are so desperate to make movies about so little. Jesus.
minkowski writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 2:09:46 PM

^^YW.


Now here's one that was written for today's audiences. I'm not joshing or being cynical.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Raft_(short_story)

Should be a breeze to adapt this one to film!
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 3:15:02 PM

Mudders, The Langoliers was already made into an abc tv movie years ago and it was actually decent considering the low budget and Mick Garris directing.
pornfly writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 4:17:47 PM

I gave up on his TV adaps ever since It and The Stand
Its as if they tone everything down for a chicken hearted audience

You wanna real clown movie see Klownhouse
pornfly writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 4:21:17 PM

Oyea thx MINK
Pretty much what i figured
Ive only read Pet Cemetary like 3or4 times
Maybe i'll read The Dark Tower when the solar flares hit but i'll most likely be lookin for nudie magazines,member those??

HA! member
pornfly writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 4:42:25 PM

and here i thought The Breathing Method was gonna be a doc*mentary on how HoneyBooBoos mom takes a sh*t on her tiny little toilet
ab5olut10n writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 5:14:26 PM

@MINK

the raft has already been done, in creepshow 2, albeit with an altered ending.
mcm317 writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 6:22:37 PM

god sinister was so dissapointing. i read the good reviews people are giving it on imdb and i slap my head and shed a tear for humanity
minkowski writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 7:54:34 PM

"the raft has already been done, in creepshow 2, albeit with an altered ending."

I know, I read the Wiki page because I couldn't recall the novella's details, but I can see it being made into a full-length feature film, kind of like 1988's The Blob, but even more horrific and with the original ending.

"Maybe i'll read The Dark Tower when the solar flares hit but i'll most likely be lookin for nudie magazines,member those??"

No but I remember that Playboy I found on the side of the road when I was a kid, the one I kept in my closet away from my mother. And I was like maybe ten. Such a perv.

And only read The Dark Tower 1 and 2, please, because the rest...just take my word on it.

And read It if you haven't, but not The Stand.
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 17th, 2012 at 1:09:09 AM

@Mudders

The long walk was a good book lol, but a movie would be so hard to make.. it'd just be them slowly pacing down a highway for 1.5 hours.. and a crap tone of talking.. lol

@Mink

I've always wanted to read some of these stories, i'm a huge fan, but not that big of a reader. is shawshank a good read? Maybe i'll hit that up next..

btw, just for a quick give away, never watch the stand. i wasted a lonely Saturday dedicated to those 6 hours. lol.. pointless :P (i was 13)
Mudders writes:
on October 17th, 2012 at 2:07:07 AM

@deaftone

langliers already been made? ill have to check it out...dont think we got it here in nz...ill have to refresh my memory if it had made its way here

@tanman

yeah the long walk wouold be a hard one to make....but thats what i like about it....if someone decent got a hold of it...it could be worth it
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 3:58:48 PM

True enough man lol

Shia LaBeouf Says He Was Raped During His #IAmSorry Stunt

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TIME Magazine's Top 10 Best and Worst Films of 2014

It's Official: Jared Leto is The Joker and Will Smith is Deadshot in "Suicide Squad"

Christian Bale Says He'll Never Work With "Terminator Salvation" Director Again

Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"

Marvel Would Have Recast Spider-Man in "Captain America: Civil War"

"Demolition Man" Writer Explains How He Came Up with The Three Seashells

"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Still Rules Box Office, "The Pyramid" Bombed

Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved