WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Unveils 5 Minute Clip
Jul 22nd, 2014
Marvel Will Release One Sequel and One New Franchise Each Year
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Imitation Game," with Benedict Cumberbatch and Keira Knightley
Jul 22nd, 2014
Poster for "Toy Story" Special "Toy Story That Time Forgot"
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Rooney Mara's "Trash" Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Hints He's Set to Play Shazam Superhero
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Comic-Con Poster for "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Jul 21st, 2014
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Remains on Top at Box Office, "Sex Tape" Bombs
Jul 21st, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Says Hercules Would Beat Superman in a Fight
Jul 21st, 2014
First Teaser Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler"
Jul 21st, 2014
"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21
Jul 21st, 2014
Legendary Actor James Garner Dead at 86
Jul 20th, 2014
First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive
Jul 20th, 2014
Kevin Sorbo is Angry He Didn't Get a Cameo in "Hercules" Film
Jul 20th, 2014
Batman and Superman Will Not Appear in "The Flash" or "Arrow" TV Series
Jul 20th, 2014
"Watchmen" Creator Alan Moore Asks Fans to Boycott "Hercules" Film
Jul 20th, 2014
James Gunn Says He'll Direct "Guardians of the Galaxy 2," If The Sequel Happens
Jul 20th, 2014
Teaser Trailer for "Fifty Shades of Grey," Full Trailer Coming on Thursday
Jul 20th, 2014
Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films
Jul 19th, 2014
Hiding Scarlett Johansson's Pregnancy in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Took a Lot of Stunt Doubles
Jul 19th, 2014
Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie to Re-Team for "By the Sea"
Jul 19th, 2014
Lots of Action in New Clip From "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Reboot
Jul 19th, 2014
First Look at Judd Apatow's "Trainwreck" Comedy
Jul 19th, 2014
Mark Romanek to Direct "The Shining" Prequel, Called "Overlook Hotel"
Jul 18th, 2014
First Look at Adam Sandler and Peter Dinklage in "Pixels" Action Comedy
Jul 18th, 2014
"The Ring 3" is Finally Happening, Director Announced
Jul 18th, 2014
Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?
Jul 18th, 2014
"Fantastic Four" Reboot Isn't Based on Any Comic Book Storylines
Jul 18th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Wants to Direct New "Frankenstein" Film
Jul 18th, 2014
"Uncharted" Movie to Begin Shooting Early Next Year
Jul 18th, 2014
Trailer for "The One I Love" Hints at a Big Twist
Jul 18th, 2014
Disney Announces Lead Actor for Jon Favreau's "Jungle Book"
Jul 18th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Sinister" Director to Helm Stephen King's "The Breathing Method"

Posted: October 16th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Sinister" Director to Helm Stephen KingSubmit Comment
Stephen King's 1982 "Different Seasons" book is collection of four stories. Three of them have been turned into successful films, including "The Shawshank Redemption," "Apt Pupil" and "Stand By Me."

Now comes word that producer Jason Blum is re-teaming with "Sinister" director Scott Derickson to bring the fourth story, called "The Breathing Method," to the big screen. Scott Teems is attached to provide the screenplay.

The story takes place in an exclusive gentlemen's club in New York, where no one pays any dues. Membership is based upon a telling of tales, and one nightmarish tale about a disgraced woman determined to give birth - no matter the consequences.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 7:19:31 AM

Has anybody read this?
Is there a reason why this hasnt been made yet?
ab5olut10n writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 8:00:18 AM

Yeah, it's kind of an odd choice. Basically, it's 3 or 4 old men sitting around telling ghost stories and one of them (a doctor) tells the story of a pregnant woman he once assisted. No real tension in the plot at all.
minkowski writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 9:03:32 AM

"Has anybody read this?"

Yes. I've read pretty much everything King's written. Basically, it's King's take on giving birth, and if you know King, there aren't any Kodak or Hallmark moments.

"Is there a reason why this hasnt been made yet?"

Yep. It's the weakest of the four stories, easily.
minkowski writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 9:06:13 AM

One Thursday before Christmas, the elderly physician Dr. Emlyn McCarron tells a story about an episode that took place early in his long and varied career: that of a patient who was determined to give birth to her illegitimate child, no matter what, despite financial problems and social disapproval. McCarron comes to admire her bravery and humor, and the implication is that he has even fallen a bit in love with her.

The patient masters Dr. McCarron's novel (for the 1930s) breathing method intended to help her through childbirth. However, when she goes into labor and is on the way to the hospital on an icy winter night, her taxi crashes and she is decapitated. McCarron arrives at the crash site and realizes that the patient is somehow still alive. Her lungs in her headless body are still pumping air, as her head, some feet away, is working to sustain the breathing method so that the baby can be born. McCarron manages to deliver the infant alive and well.
Mudders writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 10:11:47 AM

yeah what mink said

its the weakest of the four

there are other works of his id like to see first

the long walk
rage
the langoliers
i am the doorway

i know a couple are short stories but would be cool to see something like that...so many to choose from
Future writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 10:27:23 AM

The story seems a little confusing.
minkowski writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 11:22:22 AM

And yet no From a Buick 8. Still. After how many years?
McQueen writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 1:52:16 PM

Thanks Mink, you saved me to read a useless story.

People are so desperate to make movies about so little. Jesus.
minkowski writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 2:09:46 PM

^^YW.


Now here's one that was written for today's audiences. I'm not joshing or being cynical.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Raft_(short_story)

Should be a breeze to adapt this one to film!
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 3:15:02 PM

Mudders, The Langoliers was already made into an abc tv movie years ago and it was actually decent considering the low budget and Mick Garris directing.
pornfly writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 4:17:47 PM

I gave up on his TV adaps ever since It and The Stand
Its as if they tone everything down for a chicken hearted audience

You wanna real clown movie see Klownhouse
pornfly writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 4:21:17 PM

Oyea thx MINK
Pretty much what i figured
Ive only read Pet Cemetary like 3or4 times
Maybe i'll read The Dark Tower when the solar flares hit but i'll most likely be lookin for nudie magazines,member those??

HA! member
pornfly writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 4:42:25 PM

and here i thought The Breathing Method was gonna be a doc*mentary on how HoneyBooBoos mom takes a sh*t on her tiny little toilet
ab5olut10n writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 5:14:26 PM

@MINK

the raft has already been done, in creepshow 2, albeit with an altered ending.
mcm317 writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 6:22:37 PM

god sinister was so dissapointing. i read the good reviews people are giving it on imdb and i slap my head and shed a tear for humanity
minkowski writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 7:54:34 PM

"the raft has already been done, in creepshow 2, albeit with an altered ending."

I know, I read the Wiki page because I couldn't recall the novella's details, but I can see it being made into a full-length feature film, kind of like 1988's The Blob, but even more horrific and with the original ending.

"Maybe i'll read The Dark Tower when the solar flares hit but i'll most likely be lookin for nudie magazines,member those??"

No but I remember that Playboy I found on the side of the road when I was a kid, the one I kept in my closet away from my mother. And I was like maybe ten. Such a perv.

And only read The Dark Tower 1 and 2, please, because the rest...just take my word on it.

And read It if you haven't, but not The Stand.
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 17th, 2012 at 1:09:09 AM

@Mudders

The long walk was a good book lol, but a movie would be so hard to make.. it'd just be them slowly pacing down a highway for 1.5 hours.. and a crap tone of talking.. lol

@Mink

I've always wanted to read some of these stories, i'm a huge fan, but not that big of a reader. is shawshank a good read? Maybe i'll hit that up next..

btw, just for a quick give away, never watch the stand. i wasted a lonely Saturday dedicated to those 6 hours. lol.. pointless :P (i was 13)
Mudders writes:
on October 17th, 2012 at 2:07:07 AM

@deaftone

langliers already been made? ill have to check it out...dont think we got it here in nz...ill have to refresh my memory if it had made its way here

@tanman

yeah the long walk wouold be a hard one to make....but thats what i like about it....if someone decent got a hold of it...it could be worth it
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 3:58:48 PM

True enough man lol

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Lindsay Lohan Sues "Grand Theft Auto V" for Using Her Likeness

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

"Pacific Rim 2" Gets a Release Date, Animated Series in the Works

Mark Ruffalo Says New "Hulk" Film Will NOT Be "Planet Hulk"

Michael Bay Responds to Negative Criticism of "Transformers: Age of Extinction"

Gary Oldman Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved