WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
First Look at Dolph Lundgren in "Kindergarten Cop" Sequel
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" is Here!
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Life," with Dane DeHaan as James Dean
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Trumbo," with Bryan Cranston and Helen Mirren
Aug 13th, 2015
Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?
Aug 9th, 2015
James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot
Aug 9th, 2015
Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews
Aug 8th, 2015
Three Actresses in Talks for "Gambit" Female Lead
Aug 8th, 2015
Trailer for "By The Sea," with Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie
Aug 8th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Sinister" Director to Helm Stephen King's "The Breathing Method"

Posted: October 16th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Sinister" Director to Helm Stephen KingSubmit Comment
Stephen King's 1982 "Different Seasons" book is collection of four stories. Three of them have been turned into successful films, including "The Shawshank Redemption," "Apt Pupil" and "Stand By Me."

Now comes word that producer Jason Blum is re-teaming with "Sinister" director Scott Derickson to bring the fourth story, called "The Breathing Method," to the big screen. Scott Teems is attached to provide the screenplay.

The story takes place in an exclusive gentlemen's club in New York, where no one pays any dues. Membership is based upon a telling of tales, and one nightmarish tale about a disgraced woman determined to give birth - no matter the consequences.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 7:19:31 AM

Has anybody read this?
Is there a reason why this hasnt been made yet?
ab5olut10n writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 8:00:18 AM

Yeah, it's kind of an odd choice. Basically, it's 3 or 4 old men sitting around telling ghost stories and one of them (a doctor) tells the story of a pregnant woman he once assisted. No real tension in the plot at all.
minkowski writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 9:03:32 AM

"Has anybody read this?"

Yes. I've read pretty much everything King's written. Basically, it's King's take on giving birth, and if you know King, there aren't any Kodak or Hallmark moments.

"Is there a reason why this hasnt been made yet?"

Yep. It's the weakest of the four stories, easily.
minkowski writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 9:06:13 AM

One Thursday before Christmas, the elderly physician Dr. Emlyn McCarron tells a story about an episode that took place early in his long and varied career: that of a patient who was determined to give birth to her illegitimate child, no matter what, despite financial problems and social disapproval. McCarron comes to admire her bravery and humor, and the implication is that he has even fallen a bit in love with her.

The patient masters Dr. McCarron's novel (for the 1930s) breathing method intended to help her through childbirth. However, when she goes into labor and is on the way to the hospital on an icy winter night, her taxi crashes and she is decapitated. McCarron arrives at the crash site and realizes that the patient is somehow still alive. Her lungs in her headless body are still pumping air, as her head, some feet away, is working to sustain the breathing method so that the baby can be born. McCarron manages to deliver the infant alive and well.
Mudders writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 10:11:47 AM

yeah what mink said

its the weakest of the four

there are other works of his id like to see first

the long walk
rage
the langoliers
i am the doorway

i know a couple are short stories but would be cool to see something like that...so many to choose from
Future writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 10:27:23 AM

The story seems a little confusing.
minkowski writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 11:22:22 AM

And yet no From a Buick 8. Still. After how many years?
McQueen writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 1:52:16 PM

Thanks Mink, you saved me to read a useless story.

People are so desperate to make movies about so little. Jesus.
minkowski writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 2:09:46 PM

^^YW.


Now here's one that was written for today's audiences. I'm not joshing or being cynical.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Raft_(short_story)

Should be a breeze to adapt this one to film!
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 3:15:02 PM

Mudders, The Langoliers was already made into an abc tv movie years ago and it was actually decent considering the low budget and Mick Garris directing.
pornfly writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 4:17:47 PM

I gave up on his TV adaps ever since It and The Stand
Its as if they tone everything down for a chicken hearted audience

You wanna real clown movie see Klownhouse
pornfly writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 4:21:17 PM

Oyea thx MINK
Pretty much what i figured
Ive only read Pet Cemetary like 3or4 times
Maybe i'll read The Dark Tower when the solar flares hit but i'll most likely be lookin for nudie magazines,member those??

HA! member
pornfly writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 4:42:25 PM

and here i thought The Breathing Method was gonna be a doc*mentary on how HoneyBooBoos mom takes a sh*t on her tiny little toilet
ab5olut10n writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 5:14:26 PM

@MINK

the raft has already been done, in creepshow 2, albeit with an altered ending.
mcm317 writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 6:22:37 PM

god sinister was so dissapointing. i read the good reviews people are giving it on imdb and i slap my head and shed a tear for humanity
minkowski writes:
on October 16th, 2012 at 7:54:34 PM

"the raft has already been done, in creepshow 2, albeit with an altered ending."

I know, I read the Wiki page because I couldn't recall the novella's details, but I can see it being made into a full-length feature film, kind of like 1988's The Blob, but even more horrific and with the original ending.

"Maybe i'll read The Dark Tower when the solar flares hit but i'll most likely be lookin for nudie magazines,member those??"

No but I remember that Playboy I found on the side of the road when I was a kid, the one I kept in my closet away from my mother. And I was like maybe ten. Such a perv.

And only read The Dark Tower 1 and 2, please, because the rest...just take my word on it.

And read It if you haven't, but not The Stand.
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 17th, 2012 at 1:09:09 AM

@Mudders

The long walk was a good book lol, but a movie would be so hard to make.. it'd just be them slowly pacing down a highway for 1.5 hours.. and a crap tone of talking.. lol

@Mink

I've always wanted to read some of these stories, i'm a huge fan, but not that big of a reader. is shawshank a good read? Maybe i'll hit that up next..

btw, just for a quick give away, never watch the stand. i wasted a lonely Saturday dedicated to those 6 hours. lol.. pointless :P (i was 13)
Mudders writes:
on October 17th, 2012 at 2:07:07 AM

@deaftone

langliers already been made? ill have to check it out...dont think we got it here in nz...ill have to refresh my memory if it had made its way here

@tanman

yeah the long walk wouold be a hard one to make....but thats what i like about it....if someone decent got a hold of it...it could be worth it
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 18th, 2012 at 3:58:48 PM

True enough man lol

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved