WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
More Photos From Matt Damon's "The Martian," Directed by Ridley Scott
May 25th, 2015
"Mission: Impossible 6" and "Now You See Me 3" Already in Development
May 25th, 2015
"Beautiful Mind" Mathematician John Nash Killed in Taxi Crash
May 25th, 2015
First Look at Matt Damon in Ridley Scott's "The Martian"
May 24th, 2015
New "Fantastic Four" Trailer, Director Responds to Rumors of Being Replaced
May 24th, 2015
New Photos From "Deadpool" and "Ant-Man"
May 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass" is Here!
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Jonah Hill and Miles Teller in "Arms and the Dudes"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Meryl Streel and Hugh Grant in "Florence Foster Jenkins"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Cuba Gooding Jr and John Travolta in "America Crime Story: The People V. OJ Simpson"
May 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Knock Knock" Thriller
May 22nd, 2015
Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title
May 22nd, 2015
Reese Witherspoon to Star in Disney's Live-Action Tinker Bell Movie "Tink"
May 22nd, 2015
"Fantastic Four" Promo Video Shows Team's Superpowers
May 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for "The Gallows" Horror Film
May 22nd, 2015
New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr
May 21st, 2015
"Independence Day 2" Takes Place 15 Years Later, Same Aliens Return
May 21st, 2015
"Transformers" Sequels and Spin-Offs Get Impressive Writing Team
May 21st, 2015
Trailer for Elijah Wood's "Cooties" Horror Comedy
May 21st, 2015
"The Divergent Series: Allegiant" is Now Filming
May 21st, 2015
Heath Ledger Was Set to Star in "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
May 20th, 2015
Tom Cruise's "Jack Reacher 2" Hires "The Last Samurai" Director
May 20th, 2015
New Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy
May 20th, 2015
The Joker is Insane in New "Suicide Squad" Set Photos
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Orgrim From "Warcraft" Film
May 19th, 2015
George Miller Unveils Title of "Mad Max: Fury Road" Sequel
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Deepwater Horizon" Oil Disaster Film
May 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
May 19th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson Confirms Return for "Fast and Furious 8" and Spin-Off Talks
May 18th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Steve Jobs" Biopic is Here!
May 18th, 2015
"Pitch Perfect 2" Dominates at Box Office, Easily Beats "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 18th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Daredevil" Rights Return to Marvel

Posted: October 12th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Daredevil" Rights Return to MarvelSubmit Comment
Back in August, we reported that 20th Century Fox was in danger of losing the rights to "Daredevil" if production on a new movie didn't begin by October 10th. Fox tried to get a remake off the ground by bringing on director David Slade (30 Days of Night). But then Slade dropped out and by the time Joe Carnahan (The Grey) offered his services, Fox felt it was too late.

Marvel was more than happy to give Fox an extension, but only if the studio returns Galactus instead. With Fox planning a "Fantastic Four" reboot, the studio refused. And now, the rights to "Daredevil" have reverted back to Marvel.

So now Marvel can play around with Daredevil, Elektra, Bullseye, Purple Man, and The Hand. No word if the studio is planning anything, but we know that Carnahan would love to direct a reboot. Stay tuned.

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
jikae writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 5:52:40 AM

I'm not quite sure if Daredevil can translate well into film, just like the Ghost Rider franchise, but at least it's away from 20th Century. They've taken every Marvel franchise and made C+ films (and that's putting it nicely).
Avirex writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 6:00:26 AM

^^Ironically both Ghost Rider and Daredevil were directed by sh*tacular director Mark Steven Johnson.
pornfly writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 6:35:03 AM

Marvel can play around with the hand

YOU TELL'EM ALEX
Kurskij writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 6:35:11 AM

Play around with Purple Man and The Hand?..

Goddamn...
pornfly writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 6:36:48 AM

*sigh*

f*ckin Armie Hammer as DD is just around the corner
pornfly writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 6:59:41 AM

I should call my weiner Marvel so theyll wanna make a movie out of it
'No glasses or IMAX necessary' can be used for the tagline
No Stan Lee cameo will be required,but i will take Sofia Loren,Raquel Welch and Shohreh Aghdashloo
Stapes writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 7:00:52 AM

I still have my fingers crossed for a good adaptation of Daredevil one day. His mythos could translate better into film than most comic book characters, for one, he doesn't have a flaming skull for a head. I like what the Affleck adaptation did with his radar vision and the sensory deprivation tank, that's about it though.
boogiel writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 7:44:14 AM

I don't give a rat's ass about who owns what. Just give me a f*cking damn good movie.
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 7:47:35 AM

Kurskij- lol

I won't hold my breath.
nawtnt writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 7:51:45 AM

Great news.

I hope Marvel gets the rights to Fantastic Four back so the team can join The Avengers and Josh Tank can go back to directing Chronicle 2.
Cannon writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 8:03:28 AM


I want a Doctor Strange movie.

Deaft0ne writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 8:48:04 AM

Ving Rhames for Kingpin so they keep continuity.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 9:07:44 AM

Just saw the last Ghost Rider film and was pleasantly surprised. It was nowhere near as bad as the first film. As for Daredevil (and Electra) I could give three sh*ts if Marvel ever does anything new with it. Never like the character.
Kurskij writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 9:19:59 AM

^sac, out of all people you liked it? Hell, I didn't mind Gamer - it had very solid action scenes and scenery chewing Dexter.

But Ghost Rider 2 with Nic Cage channeling a pharaoh with king cobra up his ass? That was horrible, IMHO.

Also you don't get Christophe Lambert in your movie and waste him like that.
Kurskij writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 9:23:21 AM

@bad

Yeah, coming from a country of bearsvodkabalalaika where first huge local superhero movie was about a motherf*cking flying Volga

www.youtube.com/watch?v=V9kYdfSroTs

... I still find mr. Purple man and his buddy The Hand kinda strange.
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 9:43:00 AM

^ Yea so true lol
Cinemaisdead writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 11:51:46 AM

HOLLYWOOD. WHAT ARE YOU DOING. HOLLYWOOD. STAHP!

Enough with the super hero filsm already, Daredevil wears tight red leather and swings around New York. YAWN. I don't think Marvel will be stupid enough to waste time and money on this reboot when there's so many other characters that could be used.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 12:24:57 PM

Carnahan was on the right track with his gritty video pitch - it showed solid promise. Miller's Daredevil is all about great court room dramas, mob bosses, contract hits, back alley prostitution rings, psychotic assassins, an underdog streetfighter hero, honing boxing skills etc. Another side of DD to develop is the Ninja, Hand, Stick, Elektra tale (it will be interesting to see how well the next Wolverine movie delivers which features similar ninja themes). Where Matt fails to see justice served in the corrupt courts he takes it to the streets and exercises his own version of blind justice. Glad DD has returned to Marvel's more competant hands and they can take the time to develop the character properly.
hellsingfan writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 12:26:28 PM

phase 3 maybe
minkowski writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 1:55:39 PM

Meh. My hand plays with the purple man any time I get bored.
Stapes writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 3:51:55 PM

Holy sh*t, Chris Lambert was in Ghost Rider 2: Ride Ghostier? I'm going to have to see it now.
pornfly writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 4:14:28 PM

GR2 ended cool but thats it
The style is more Crank-like
I think they had same director

Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot

"Jurassic World" to Ignore Last Two Films, to Bring Back T-Rex

New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr

Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot

Hugh Jackman and Channing Tatum to Appear in "X-Men: Apocalypse"?

"Fantastic Four" Director Fired From "Star Wars" Spin-Off

Why Wasn't Loki in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?

Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title

Hugh Jackman Confirms "Wolverine 3" is His Last Time as Wolverine

"Independence Day 2" Takes Place 15 Years Later, Same Aliens Return
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved