WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Spectre" James Bond Film Unveils Trailer
Mar 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Spin-Off TV Series Unveils Title
Mar 28th, 2015
"Transformers" Getting Lots More Sequels and Spin-Offs
Mar 28th, 2015
Antonio Banderas Says Shrek May Appear in "Puss in Boots 2"
Mar 28th, 2015
First Look at Ryan Reynolds in "Deadpool"
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Southpaw" Boxing Film
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for JK Rowling's "The Casual Vacancy"
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Absolution" Thriller, with Steven Seagal and Vinnie Jones
Mar 27th, 2015
Julia Louis-Dreyfus in Talks for American Remake of "Force Majeure"
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for Kit Harington's "Spooks: The Greater Good"
Mar 27th, 2015
First Look at Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Mar 26th, 2015
Trailer for Arnold Schwarzenegger's "Maggie" Zombie Film
Mar 26th, 2015
First Clear Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Mar 26th, 2015
Idris Elba May Play Villain in "Star Trek 3"
Mar 26th, 2015
New Photos of Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson From "Zoolander 2"
Mar 26th, 2015
New Trailer for "Entourage" Movie
Mar 25th, 2015
Vin Diesel Predicts "Furious 7" Will Win Best Picture Oscar
Mar 25th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Slow West" Western Thriller
Mar 25th, 2015
Poster for "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Mar 25th, 2015
Trailer for Dustin Hoffman's "Boychoir" Film
Mar 25th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence Says "X-Men: Apocalypse" is Her Last "X-Men" Film
Mar 24th, 2015
"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon
Mar 24th, 2015
Vivica A. Fox Returns for "Independence Day 2"
Mar 24th, 2015
Poster for "Entourage" Movie
Mar 24th, 2015
Tom Cruise's "Mission: Impossible 5" Trailer is Here!
Mar 23rd, 2015
Neill Blomkamp Says "Alien 5" Won't Interfere With "Prometheus" Franchise
Mar 23rd, 2015
"Insurgent" Takes First Place at Box Office, Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Flops
Mar 23rd, 2015
"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" to Begin Filming Next Month
Mar 23rd, 2015
Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman
Mar 22nd, 2015
"Terminator Genisys" Unveils New Photos and Magazine Cover
Mar 22nd, 2015
Bobby Cannavale Discusses Confusing "Ant-Man" Shoot
Mar 22nd, 2015
Jason Statham vs Dwayne Johnson in "Furious 7" Clip
Mar 22nd, 2015
Sony to Remake "Romeo and Juliet" Using "300" Style
Mar 21st, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Daredevil" Rights Return to Marvel

Posted: October 12th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Daredevil" Rights Return to MarvelSubmit Comment
Back in August, we reported that 20th Century Fox was in danger of losing the rights to "Daredevil" if production on a new movie didn't begin by October 10th. Fox tried to get a remake off the ground by bringing on director David Slade (30 Days of Night). But then Slade dropped out and by the time Joe Carnahan (The Grey) offered his services, Fox felt it was too late.

Marvel was more than happy to give Fox an extension, but only if the studio returns Galactus instead. With Fox planning a "Fantastic Four" reboot, the studio refused. And now, the rights to "Daredevil" have reverted back to Marvel.

So now Marvel can play around with Daredevil, Elektra, Bullseye, Purple Man, and The Hand. No word if the studio is planning anything, but we know that Carnahan would love to direct a reboot. Stay tuned.

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
jikae writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 5:52:40 AM

I'm not quite sure if Daredevil can translate well into film, just like the Ghost Rider franchise, but at least it's away from 20th Century. They've taken every Marvel franchise and made C+ films (and that's putting it nicely).
Avirex writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 6:00:26 AM

^^Ironically both Ghost Rider and Daredevil were directed by sh*tacular director Mark Steven Johnson.
pornfly writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 6:35:03 AM

Marvel can play around with the hand

YOU TELL'EM ALEX
Kurskij writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 6:35:11 AM

Play around with Purple Man and The Hand?..

Goddamn...
pornfly writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 6:36:48 AM

*sigh*

f*ckin Armie Hammer as DD is just around the corner
pornfly writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 6:59:41 AM

I should call my weiner Marvel so theyll wanna make a movie out of it
'No glasses or IMAX necessary' can be used for the tagline
No Stan Lee cameo will be required,but i will take Sofia Loren,Raquel Welch and Shohreh Aghdashloo
Stapes writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 7:00:52 AM

I still have my fingers crossed for a good adaptation of Daredevil one day. His mythos could translate better into film than most comic book characters, for one, he doesn't have a flaming skull for a head. I like what the Affleck adaptation did with his radar vision and the sensory deprivation tank, that's about it though.
boogiel writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 7:44:14 AM

I don't give a rat's ass about who owns what. Just give me a f*cking damn good movie.
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 7:47:35 AM

Kurskij- lol

I won't hold my breath.
nawtnt writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 7:51:45 AM

Great news.

I hope Marvel gets the rights to Fantastic Four back so the team can join The Avengers and Josh Tank can go back to directing Chronicle 2.
Cannon writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 8:03:28 AM


I want a Doctor Strange movie.

Deaft0ne writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 8:48:04 AM

Ving Rhames for Kingpin so they keep continuity.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 9:07:44 AM

Just saw the last Ghost Rider film and was pleasantly surprised. It was nowhere near as bad as the first film. As for Daredevil (and Electra) I could give three sh*ts if Marvel ever does anything new with it. Never like the character.
Kurskij writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 9:19:59 AM

^sac, out of all people you liked it? Hell, I didn't mind Gamer - it had very solid action scenes and scenery chewing Dexter.

But Ghost Rider 2 with Nic Cage channeling a pharaoh with king cobra up his ass? That was horrible, IMHO.

Also you don't get Christophe Lambert in your movie and waste him like that.
Kurskij writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 9:23:21 AM

@bad

Yeah, coming from a country of bearsvodkabalalaika where first huge local superhero movie was about a motherf*cking flying Volga

www.youtube.com/watch?v=V9kYdfSroTs

... I still find mr. Purple man and his buddy The Hand kinda strange.
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 9:43:00 AM

^ Yea so true lol
Cinemaisdead writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 11:51:46 AM

HOLLYWOOD. WHAT ARE YOU DOING. HOLLYWOOD. STAHP!

Enough with the super hero filsm already, Daredevil wears tight red leather and swings around New York. YAWN. I don't think Marvel will be stupid enough to waste time and money on this reboot when there's so many other characters that could be used.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 12:24:57 PM

Carnahan was on the right track with his gritty video pitch - it showed solid promise. Miller's Daredevil is all about great court room dramas, mob bosses, contract hits, back alley prostitution rings, psychotic assassins, an underdog streetfighter hero, honing boxing skills etc. Another side of DD to develop is the Ninja, Hand, Stick, Elektra tale (it will be interesting to see how well the next Wolverine movie delivers which features similar ninja themes). Where Matt fails to see justice served in the corrupt courts he takes it to the streets and exercises his own version of blind justice. Glad DD has returned to Marvel's more competant hands and they can take the time to develop the character properly.
hellsingfan writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 12:26:28 PM

phase 3 maybe
minkowski writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 1:55:39 PM

Meh. My hand plays with the purple man any time I get bored.
Stapes writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 3:51:55 PM

Holy sh*t, Chris Lambert was in Ghost Rider 2: Ride Ghostier? I'm going to have to see it now.
pornfly writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 4:14:28 PM

GR2 ended cool but thats it
The style is more Crank-like
I think they had same director

Mexico Pays "Spectre" $20 Million to Rewrite Script

Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman

Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment

Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?

Disney's "Cinderella" Dominates at Box Office

Hugh Jackman Knows Who Would Win in a Fight, Batman or Wolverine

"The Dark Knight" Voted the Greatest Superhero Film of All Time

Stephen King Comments on Early Screening of Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film

Jared Leto Talks Playing The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved