WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Sony Wanted Tom Hardy as Sandman and Sean Penn as Doctor Octopus in "Sinister Six"
Dec 22nd, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Director Says There's No Script, Release Date or Green Light
Dec 22nd, 2014
"The Hobbit 3" Dominates Box Office Weekend, "Night at the Museum 3" and "Annie" Bomb
Dec 22nd, 2014
Two Posters for Will Smith's "Focus" Heist Comedy
Dec 22nd, 2014
Photos: Better Look at Iron Man's Hulkbuster Suit From "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Dec 21st, 2014
First Look at "Sisters" Comedy, Re-Teaming Tina Fey and Amy Poehler
Dec 21st, 2014
Trailer: Sex Has Terrible Consequences in "It Follow" Horror Film
Dec 21st, 2014
New Photo From Joseph Gordon-Levitt's "The Walk," Directed by Robert Zemeckis
Dec 21st, 2014
Trailer for Sarah Michelle Gellar's "Veronika Decides to Die" Thriller
Dec 21st, 2014
Sony Considering Idris Elba as Next James Bond
Dec 20th, 2014
Peter Jackson Will Never Direct a Marvel Film
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film
Dec 20th, 2014
Two New Photos From Marvel's "Daredevil" TV Series
Dec 20th, 2014
Trailer for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Ted" Sequel
Dec 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg Will Return for "Transformers 5"
Dec 19th, 2014
"Team America: World Police" Screenings Also Cancelled Due to Terrorist Threats
Dec 19th, 2014
20th Century Fox Cancels It's Own North Korea-Based Film
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look: Tom Hanks in Steven Spielberg's Cold War Thriller
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look at Viggo Mortensen's "Captain Fantastic"
Dec 19th, 2014
Trailer for "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "American Sniper," with Bradley Cooper
Dec 18th, 2014
"Fifty Shades of Grey" and "Star Wars" are Top Trailers of 2014
Dec 18th, 2014
Hugh Jackman in Talks for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "The Wolverine 2"
Dec 18th, 2014
Peter Jackson Wants to Make More Tolkien Movies
Dec 18th, 2014
Theaters Refusing to Show "The Interview," Sony Cancels Premiere, Press and Release
Dec 17th, 2014
Chris Pratt and a Dinosaur in New "Jurassic World" Photo
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Doesn't Like Marvel Films, Says Superheroes Should Be Happier
Dec 17th, 2014
Orlando Bloom Says "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" is a Reboot
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Will Direct "Beetlejuice 2," Confirms Winona Ryder Will Return
Dec 17th, 2014
Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy Unveils Pac-Man and Donkey Kong Posters
Dec 17th, 2014
New Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Dec 17th, 2014
First Look at "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Daredevil" Rights Return to Marvel

Posted: October 12th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Daredevil" Rights Return to MarvelSubmit Comment
Back in August, we reported that 20th Century Fox was in danger of losing the rights to "Daredevil" if production on a new movie didn't begin by October 10th. Fox tried to get a remake off the ground by bringing on director David Slade (30 Days of Night). But then Slade dropped out and by the time Joe Carnahan (The Grey) offered his services, Fox felt it was too late.

Marvel was more than happy to give Fox an extension, but only if the studio returns Galactus instead. With Fox planning a "Fantastic Four" reboot, the studio refused. And now, the rights to "Daredevil" have reverted back to Marvel.

So now Marvel can play around with Daredevil, Elektra, Bullseye, Purple Man, and The Hand. No word if the studio is planning anything, but we know that Carnahan would love to direct a reboot. Stay tuned.

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
jikae writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 5:52:40 AM

I'm not quite sure if Daredevil can translate well into film, just like the Ghost Rider franchise, but at least it's away from 20th Century. They've taken every Marvel franchise and made C+ films (and that's putting it nicely).
Avirex writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 6:00:26 AM

^^Ironically both Ghost Rider and Daredevil were directed by sh*tacular director Mark Steven Johnson.
pornfly writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 6:35:03 AM

Marvel can play around with the hand

YOU TELL'EM ALEX
Kurskij writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 6:35:11 AM

Play around with Purple Man and The Hand?..

Goddamn...
pornfly writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 6:36:48 AM

*sigh*

f*ckin Armie Hammer as DD is just around the corner
pornfly writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 6:59:41 AM

I should call my weiner Marvel so theyll wanna make a movie out of it
'No glasses or IMAX necessary' can be used for the tagline
No Stan Lee cameo will be required,but i will take Sofia Loren,Raquel Welch and Shohreh Aghdashloo
Stapes writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 7:00:52 AM

I still have my fingers crossed for a good adaptation of Daredevil one day. His mythos could translate better into film than most comic book characters, for one, he doesn't have a flaming skull for a head. I like what the Affleck adaptation did with his radar vision and the sensory deprivation tank, that's about it though.
boogiel writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 7:44:14 AM

I don't give a rat's ass about who owns what. Just give me a f*cking damn good movie.
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 7:47:35 AM

Kurskij- lol

I won't hold my breath.
nawtnt writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 7:51:45 AM

Great news.

I hope Marvel gets the rights to Fantastic Four back so the team can join The Avengers and Josh Tank can go back to directing Chronicle 2.
Cannon writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 8:03:28 AM


I want a Doctor Strange movie.

Deaft0ne writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 8:48:04 AM

Ving Rhames for Kingpin so they keep continuity.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 9:07:44 AM

Just saw the last Ghost Rider film and was pleasantly surprised. It was nowhere near as bad as the first film. As for Daredevil (and Electra) I could give three sh*ts if Marvel ever does anything new with it. Never like the character.
Kurskij writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 9:19:59 AM

^sac, out of all people you liked it? Hell, I didn't mind Gamer - it had very solid action scenes and scenery chewing Dexter.

But Ghost Rider 2 with Nic Cage channeling a pharaoh with king cobra up his ass? That was horrible, IMHO.

Also you don't get Christophe Lambert in your movie and waste him like that.
Kurskij writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 9:23:21 AM

@bad

Yeah, coming from a country of bearsvodkabalalaika where first huge local superhero movie was about a motherf*cking flying Volga

www.youtube.com/watch?v=V9kYdfSroTs

... I still find mr. Purple man and his buddy The Hand kinda strange.
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 9:43:00 AM

^ Yea so true lol
Cinemaisdead writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 11:51:46 AM

HOLLYWOOD. WHAT ARE YOU DOING. HOLLYWOOD. STAHP!

Enough with the super hero filsm already, Daredevil wears tight red leather and swings around New York. YAWN. I don't think Marvel will be stupid enough to waste time and money on this reboot when there's so many other characters that could be used.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 12:24:57 PM

Carnahan was on the right track with his gritty video pitch - it showed solid promise. Miller's Daredevil is all about great court room dramas, mob bosses, contract hits, back alley prostitution rings, psychotic assassins, an underdog streetfighter hero, honing boxing skills etc. Another side of DD to develop is the Ninja, Hand, Stick, Elektra tale (it will be interesting to see how well the next Wolverine movie delivers which features similar ninja themes). Where Matt fails to see justice served in the corrupt courts he takes it to the streets and exercises his own version of blind justice. Glad DD has returned to Marvel's more competant hands and they can take the time to develop the character properly.
hellsingfan writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 12:26:28 PM

phase 3 maybe
minkowski writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 1:55:39 PM

Meh. My hand plays with the purple man any time I get bored.
Stapes writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 3:51:55 PM

Holy sh*t, Chris Lambert was in Ghost Rider 2: Ride Ghostier? I'm going to have to see it now.
pornfly writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 4:14:28 PM

GR2 ended cool but thats it
The style is more Crank-like
I think they had same director

Shia LaBeouf Says He Was Raped During His #IAmSorry Stunt

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TIME Magazine's Top 10 Best and Worst Films of 2014

It's Official: Jared Leto is The Joker and Will Smith is Deadshot in "Suicide Squad"

Christian Bale Says He'll Never Work With "Terminator Salvation" Director Again

Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"

Marvel Would Have Recast Spider-Man in "Captain America: Civil War"

"Demolition Man" Writer Explains How He Came Up with The Three Seashells

"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Still Rules Box Office, "The Pyramid" Bombed

Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved