WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Ant-Man" Set Photo Hints at Hulk's Appearance
Aug 23rd, 2014
New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Story Details Revealed
Aug 23rd, 2014
"Sin City 2" is a Box Office Disaster
Aug 23rd, 2014
Watch First 5 Minutes From "Saved By the Bell" Movie
Aug 23rd, 2014
First Look at David Oyelowo as Martin Luther King Jr in "Selma"
Aug 23rd, 2014
Full Trailer for "Amityville: The Awakening" Arrives Online
Aug 23rd, 2014
Matthew McConaughey in Talks for Stephen King's "The Stand" Film
Aug 23rd, 2014
Trailer for Viggo Mortensen's "Far From Men"
Aug 22nd, 2014
First Look at Tom Cruise on "Mission: Impossible 5" Set
Aug 22nd, 2014
"Harry Potter" Director David Yates to Return For "Fantastic Beasts" Spin-Off
Aug 22nd, 2014
Trailer For "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Aug 22nd, 2014
Photos: Chris Pratt Dressed as Star-Lord Visits Sick Children at Hospital
Aug 22nd, 2014
First Look at Keanu Reeves in "John Wick" Action Thriller
Aug 22nd, 2014
Steven Spielberg to Turn "Minority Report" Into a TV Series
Aug 22nd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Conjuring" Spin-Off "Annabelle"
Aug 22nd, 2014
New Trailer for "Young Ones" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Nicholas Hoult
Aug 22nd, 2014
New Trailer For Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler" Thriller
Aug 21st, 2014
Trailer for Shailene Woodley's "White Bird in a Blizzard" Thriller
Aug 21st, 2014
Photo: Better Look at Henry Cavill in His Superman Costume on Set of "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 21st, 2014
Teaser Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" Leaked Online
Aug 21st, 2014
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's Insane "Outcast" Film
Aug 21st, 2014
Christian Bale and Cate Blanchett Join "Jungle Book: Origins"
Aug 21st, 2014
Trailer: Katie Holmes is a Vigilante in "Miss Meadows"
Aug 21st, 2014
Pierce Brosnan Was Offered Lead in Tim Burton's "Batman," Thought It Was a Joke
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer for Antonio Banderas' "Automata" Sci-Fi Film
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Men, Women and Children," Directed by Jason Reitman
Aug 20th, 2014
Daughters of Johnny Depp and Kevin Smith to Star in "Yoga Hosers"
Aug 20th, 2014
Photo: Is Scoot McNairy Playing The Flash in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer For "A Good Marriage" Thriller, Based on Stephen King's Short Story
Aug 20th, 2014
New Trailer For "Ouija" Supernatural Thriller, Based on Board Game
Aug 20th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch is Shere Khan in "The Jungle Book" Film
Aug 20th, 2014
First Look at Paul Rudd in Marvel's "Ant-Man"
Aug 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg in Talks for "Deepwater Horizon" BP Oil Disaster Film
Aug 20th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Daredevil" Rights Return to Marvel

Posted: October 12th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Daredevil" Rights Return to MarvelSubmit Comment
Back in August, we reported that 20th Century Fox was in danger of losing the rights to "Daredevil" if production on a new movie didn't begin by October 10th. Fox tried to get a remake off the ground by bringing on director David Slade (30 Days of Night). But then Slade dropped out and by the time Joe Carnahan (The Grey) offered his services, Fox felt it was too late.

Marvel was more than happy to give Fox an extension, but only if the studio returns Galactus instead. With Fox planning a "Fantastic Four" reboot, the studio refused. And now, the rights to "Daredevil" have reverted back to Marvel.

So now Marvel can play around with Daredevil, Elektra, Bullseye, Purple Man, and The Hand. No word if the studio is planning anything, but we know that Carnahan would love to direct a reboot. Stay tuned.

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
jikae writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 5:52:40 AM

I'm not quite sure if Daredevil can translate well into film, just like the Ghost Rider franchise, but at least it's away from 20th Century. They've taken every Marvel franchise and made C+ films (and that's putting it nicely).
Avirex writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 6:00:26 AM

^^Ironically both Ghost Rider and Daredevil were directed by sh*tacular director Mark Steven Johnson.
pornfly writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 6:35:03 AM

Marvel can play around with the hand

YOU TELL'EM ALEX
Kurskij writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 6:35:11 AM

Play around with Purple Man and The Hand?..

Goddamn...
pornfly writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 6:36:48 AM

*sigh*

f*ckin Armie Hammer as DD is just around the corner
pornfly writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 6:59:41 AM

I should call my weiner Marvel so theyll wanna make a movie out of it
'No glasses or IMAX necessary' can be used for the tagline
No Stan Lee cameo will be required,but i will take Sofia Loren,Raquel Welch and Shohreh Aghdashloo
Stapes writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 7:00:52 AM

I still have my fingers crossed for a good adaptation of Daredevil one day. His mythos could translate better into film than most comic book characters, for one, he doesn't have a flaming skull for a head. I like what the Affleck adaptation did with his radar vision and the sensory deprivation tank, that's about it though.
boogiel writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 7:44:14 AM

I don't give a rat's ass about who owns what. Just give me a f*cking damn good movie.
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 7:47:35 AM

Kurskij- lol

I won't hold my breath.
nawtnt writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 7:51:45 AM

Great news.

I hope Marvel gets the rights to Fantastic Four back so the team can join The Avengers and Josh Tank can go back to directing Chronicle 2.
Cannon writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 8:03:28 AM


I want a Doctor Strange movie.

Deaft0ne writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 8:48:04 AM

Ving Rhames for Kingpin so they keep continuity.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 9:07:44 AM

Just saw the last Ghost Rider film and was pleasantly surprised. It was nowhere near as bad as the first film. As for Daredevil (and Electra) I could give three sh*ts if Marvel ever does anything new with it. Never like the character.
Kurskij writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 9:19:59 AM

^sac, out of all people you liked it? Hell, I didn't mind Gamer - it had very solid action scenes and scenery chewing Dexter.

But Ghost Rider 2 with Nic Cage channeling a pharaoh with king cobra up his ass? That was horrible, IMHO.

Also you don't get Christophe Lambert in your movie and waste him like that.
Kurskij writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 9:23:21 AM

@bad

Yeah, coming from a country of bearsvodkabalalaika where first huge local superhero movie was about a motherf*cking flying Volga

www.youtube.com/watch?v=V9kYdfSroTs

... I still find mr. Purple man and his buddy The Hand kinda strange.
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 9:43:00 AM

^ Yea so true lol
Cinemaisdead writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 11:51:46 AM

HOLLYWOOD. WHAT ARE YOU DOING. HOLLYWOOD. STAHP!

Enough with the super hero filsm already, Daredevil wears tight red leather and swings around New York. YAWN. I don't think Marvel will be stupid enough to waste time and money on this reboot when there's so many other characters that could be used.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 12:24:57 PM

Carnahan was on the right track with his gritty video pitch - it showed solid promise. Miller's Daredevil is all about great court room dramas, mob bosses, contract hits, back alley prostitution rings, psychotic assassins, an underdog streetfighter hero, honing boxing skills etc. Another side of DD to develop is the Ninja, Hand, Stick, Elektra tale (it will be interesting to see how well the next Wolverine movie delivers which features similar ninja themes). Where Matt fails to see justice served in the corrupt courts he takes it to the streets and exercises his own version of blind justice. Glad DD has returned to Marvel's more competant hands and they can take the time to develop the character properly.
hellsingfan writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 12:26:28 PM

phase 3 maybe
minkowski writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 1:55:39 PM

Meh. My hand plays with the purple man any time I get bored.
Stapes writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 3:51:55 PM

Holy sh*t, Chris Lambert was in Ghost Rider 2: Ride Ghostier? I'm going to have to see it now.
pornfly writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 4:14:28 PM

GR2 ended cool but thats it
The style is more Crank-like
I think they had same director

"Sharknado 2" Breaks Records with 3.9 Million Viewers

Ronda Rousey Says She Should Have Been Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Bruce Wayne's Age in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed

Robin Williams' Cause of Death Revealed

Anthony Mackie Says He's Ready to Become Captain America

"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top

James Gunn Says "Guardians and the Galaxy" and "Avengers" Superheroes May Soon Meet

"Batman v Superman" Director Zack Snyder Defends Aquaman's Powers

Jackie Chan Discusses "The Expendables 4" and "Rush Hour 4"

Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" Attached to "Sin City: A Dame to Kill For"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved