WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Coming in December
Oct 25th, 2014
New "Ant-Man" Set Photos are Possible Spoilers
Oct 25th, 2014
Disney's "John Carter" Actually Cost Over $300 Million to Make
Oct 25th, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Searching for Female Director
Oct 24th, 2014
"The Mummy" Reboot to Follow Navy SEAL in Iraq?
Oct 24th, 2014
Noomi Rapace Discusses "Prometheus 2" Storyline
Oct 24th, 2014
Christian Bale Confirmed For Steve Jobs Biopic, To Appear in Every Frame of the Film
Oct 24th, 2014
"Insidious Chapter 3" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"The Hobbit" Trilogy Becomes Most Expensive Production of All Time
Oct 23rd, 2014
Quicksilver to Return For "X-Men: Apocalypse" and Maybe Solo Film
Oct 23rd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For Mark Wahlberg's "The Gambler" Thriller
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Evangeline Lilly as Hope Pym on Marvel's "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 23rd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Johnny Depp as The Wolf in Disney's "Into the Woods"
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Daredevil" Rights Return to Marvel

Posted: October 12th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Daredevil" Rights Return to MarvelSubmit Comment
Back in August, we reported that 20th Century Fox was in danger of losing the rights to "Daredevil" if production on a new movie didn't begin by October 10th. Fox tried to get a remake off the ground by bringing on director David Slade (30 Days of Night). But then Slade dropped out and by the time Joe Carnahan (The Grey) offered his services, Fox felt it was too late.

Marvel was more than happy to give Fox an extension, but only if the studio returns Galactus instead. With Fox planning a "Fantastic Four" reboot, the studio refused. And now, the rights to "Daredevil" have reverted back to Marvel.

So now Marvel can play around with Daredevil, Elektra, Bullseye, Purple Man, and The Hand. No word if the studio is planning anything, but we know that Carnahan would love to direct a reboot. Stay tuned.

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
jikae writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 5:52:40 AM

I'm not quite sure if Daredevil can translate well into film, just like the Ghost Rider franchise, but at least it's away from 20th Century. They've taken every Marvel franchise and made C+ films (and that's putting it nicely).
Avirex writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 6:00:26 AM

^^Ironically both Ghost Rider and Daredevil were directed by sh*tacular director Mark Steven Johnson.
pornfly writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 6:35:03 AM

Marvel can play around with the hand

YOU TELL'EM ALEX
Kurskij writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 6:35:11 AM

Play around with Purple Man and The Hand?..

Goddamn...
pornfly writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 6:36:48 AM

*sigh*

f*ckin Armie Hammer as DD is just around the corner
pornfly writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 6:59:41 AM

I should call my weiner Marvel so theyll wanna make a movie out of it
'No glasses or IMAX necessary' can be used for the tagline
No Stan Lee cameo will be required,but i will take Sofia Loren,Raquel Welch and Shohreh Aghdashloo
Stapes writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 7:00:52 AM

I still have my fingers crossed for a good adaptation of Daredevil one day. His mythos could translate better into film than most comic book characters, for one, he doesn't have a flaming skull for a head. I like what the Affleck adaptation did with his radar vision and the sensory deprivation tank, that's about it though.
boogiel writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 7:44:14 AM

I don't give a rat's ass about who owns what. Just give me a f*cking damn good movie.
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 7:47:35 AM

Kurskij- lol

I won't hold my breath.
nawtnt writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 7:51:45 AM

Great news.

I hope Marvel gets the rights to Fantastic Four back so the team can join The Avengers and Josh Tank can go back to directing Chronicle 2.
Cannon writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 8:03:28 AM


I want a Doctor Strange movie.

Deaft0ne writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 8:48:04 AM

Ving Rhames for Kingpin so they keep continuity.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 9:07:44 AM

Just saw the last Ghost Rider film and was pleasantly surprised. It was nowhere near as bad as the first film. As for Daredevil (and Electra) I could give three sh*ts if Marvel ever does anything new with it. Never like the character.
Kurskij writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 9:19:59 AM

^sac, out of all people you liked it? Hell, I didn't mind Gamer - it had very solid action scenes and scenery chewing Dexter.

But Ghost Rider 2 with Nic Cage channeling a pharaoh with king cobra up his ass? That was horrible, IMHO.

Also you don't get Christophe Lambert in your movie and waste him like that.
Kurskij writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 9:23:21 AM

@bad

Yeah, coming from a country of bearsvodkabalalaika where first huge local superhero movie was about a motherf*cking flying Volga

www.youtube.com/watch?v=V9kYdfSroTs

... I still find mr. Purple man and his buddy The Hand kinda strange.
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 9:43:00 AM

^ Yea so true lol
Cinemaisdead writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 11:51:46 AM

HOLLYWOOD. WHAT ARE YOU DOING. HOLLYWOOD. STAHP!

Enough with the super hero filsm already, Daredevil wears tight red leather and swings around New York. YAWN. I don't think Marvel will be stupid enough to waste time and money on this reboot when there's so many other characters that could be used.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 12:24:57 PM

Carnahan was on the right track with his gritty video pitch - it showed solid promise. Miller's Daredevil is all about great court room dramas, mob bosses, contract hits, back alley prostitution rings, psychotic assassins, an underdog streetfighter hero, honing boxing skills etc. Another side of DD to develop is the Ninja, Hand, Stick, Elektra tale (it will be interesting to see how well the next Wolverine movie delivers which features similar ninja themes). Where Matt fails to see justice served in the corrupt courts he takes it to the streets and exercises his own version of blind justice. Glad DD has returned to Marvel's more competant hands and they can take the time to develop the character properly.
hellsingfan writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 12:26:28 PM

phase 3 maybe
minkowski writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 1:55:39 PM

Meh. My hand plays with the purple man any time I get bored.
Stapes writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 3:51:55 PM

Holy sh*t, Chris Lambert was in Ghost Rider 2: Ride Ghostier? I'm going to have to see it now.
pornfly writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 4:14:28 PM

GR2 ended cool but thats it
The style is more Crank-like
I think they had same director

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved