WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals
Jul 25th, 2015
Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
Jul 25th, 2015
New Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
Jul 25th, 2015
"Jurassic World" Sequel Gets Release Date, Chris Pratt to Return
Jul 24th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson's "Baywatch" Movie Hires "Horrible Bosses" Director
Jul 24th, 2015
Russell Crowe in Talks to Join "King Kong" Prequel
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
Jul 24th, 2015
LeBron James Signs Deal with Warner Bros, "Space Jam 2" Happening?
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "Mississippi Grind" Poker Film
Jul 23rd, 2015
Final Restricted Trailer for "Vacation" Sequel
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Patrick Wilson's "Zipper" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2015
Full Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for Pixar's "The Good Dinosaur" Animated Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Kung Fu Panda" Director Making "Emoji" Movie
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Pacific Rim 2" to Begin Filming in November
Jul 22nd, 2015
Backstreet Boys and 'NSync Members Unite for "Dead 7" Low-Budget Horror Film
Jul 21st, 2015
Benicio Del Toro May Play Villain in "Star Wars: Episode VIII"
Jul 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Before We Go," Chris Evans' Directorial Debut
Jul 21st, 2015
"The Godfather" Actor Alex Rocco Dead at 79
Jul 21st, 2015
New Trailer for "American Ultra," with Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart
Jul 21st, 2015
"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening
Jul 20th, 2015
Ava DuVernay Explains Why She Isn't Directing Marvel's "Black Panther"
Jul 20th, 2015
Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?
Jul 19th, 2015
Sam Raimi Comments on Marvel Rebooting "Spider-Man" Franchise
Jul 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Some Kind of Beautiful," with Pierce Brosnan, Jessica Alba and Selma Hayek
Jul 19th, 2015
Trailer for Leonardo DiCaprio's "The Revenant" Thriller is Here!
Jul 18th, 2015
Watch IMAX Trailer for "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 18th, 2015
"X-Men: Apocalypse" Unveils Photos of Apocalypse, Psylocke and Storm
Jul 17th, 2015
"Spider-Man" Reboot Finally Hires Writers
Jul 17th, 2015
Stephen King's "It" Movie Hires a Director
Jul 17th, 2015
Casts of "Batman v Superman" and "Suicide Squad" Unite for Photo Shoot
Jul 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Joy," with Jennifer Lawrence, Bradley Cooper and Robert De Niro
Jul 16th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Hulk Hogan Lies About Being Offered Lead in "The Wrestler"

Posted: October 12th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Hulk Hogan Lies About Being Offered Lead in "The Wrestler"Submit Comment
Back when Darren Aronofsky was developing "The Wrestler," the director said many times that the movie would only work if Mickey Rourke would play the lead. Aronofsky got his wish. But when he asked Hulk Hogan to join the cast in a small role, the wrestling legend turned him down.

Hogan has now appeared on "The Howard Stern Show" and spoke about "The Wrestler," stating that Aronofsky actually wanted him to play the lead. When Stern asked him why he turned down the offer, Hogan replied: "The problem is, if I had done it, Hollywood would have looked at it as a joke." He made similar comments earlier this year, explaining that after reading the script, he felt that the film deserved a better actor than him.

The problem is that Aronofsky never wanted Hogan to play the lead. In fact, the director took it to Twitter to let his fans know exactly that. "For the record, the role of the wrestler was always [for] Mickey Rourke. It was never Hulk Hogan's as he claims on 'Howard Stern.'"

Source: /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Gates writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 8:56:33 PM

Who cares?

We need more Amanda Bynes and Lindsay Lohan news.
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 9:07:52 PM

And I give a f*ck why?
SergioFX writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 9:07:54 PM

STOP POSTING NEWS ABOUT MOVIES AND ACTORS!!! SINCE WHEN DID WP BECOME A NEWS SITE ABOUT MOVIES?

JESUS PLEASE GO BACK TO POSTING GOSSIP AND PAPARAZZI NEWS THAT TMZ USES.

f*ck MOVIES! I HATE MOVIES! I HATE HOLLYWOOD! I HATE WWF.
KillerCOck writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 9:08:50 PM

f*ck Hogan!
cress writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 9:17:57 PM

Hogan got the lead role in that recently leaked sex tape, so I'm sure that's some consolation.
TemporalFlux writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 9:30:20 PM

Here's an idea, If you don't care about an article, DON'T f*ckING POST ON IT.

I come here to read about movie news and read views and opinions of those who do the same, not scroll trough the adolescent dribble from a bunch of trolling morons(who are thankfully the minority).

Kurskij writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 9:43:14 PM

He's alive? Good for him, good for him.
Ranger writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 9:51:31 PM

Hulk will do anything (or anyone... including his daughter) to stay relevant. Thing is... it's not working.
TemporalFlux writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 9:55:49 PM

I always remember him popping up in the A-Team, that's where his 'acting' should have stopped.
Argo writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 11:36:17 PM

Ya, like I'll believe the director's version over Hulk's.
pornfly writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 2:07:52 AM

The real news is that a wrestler lied
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 2:45:32 AM

Gates, i completely disagree, we've had more then enough of those two idiots on this site...

and i'm with everyone else, f*ck who cares? lol
Kurskij writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 2:49:50 AM

^

BLASPHEMY!
bane writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 3:38:31 AM

ZERO DARK THIRTY new trailer

http://www.empireonline.com/news/story.asp?NID=35483
Cannon writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 4:15:44 AM


Hulk Hogan body slammed Andre the Giant. That's all that matters.

pornfly writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 4:32:32 AM

ALEX give BANE a job already
McQueen writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 5:19:02 AM

^ ^ LOL!


Tss Tss Hogan, Lying is something very ugly in every country but in the US it has a more sharp meaning, especially when you dare to lie on air. After the sex tape, you seem to loose it man. It's time to pull your sh*t back together.
CelluloidMan writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 8:04:52 AM

No surprise there.

What I also liked was the round table of retired professional wrestlers in the special features talking how good the movie was...I think that really solidified it's realism.

Also, it was also good to see them again, especially the ones you don't see regularly like Rowdy Roddy Piper & "The Hammer" Garvin...
CelluloidMan writes:
on October 14th, 2012 at 8:01:11 PM

^^ Sorry, I meant "The Hammer" Valentine...

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

Marvel and Sony Can't Agree on Which Actor Should Play Spider-Man

"Jurassic World" is a Massive Hit, Chris Pratt to Return for Sequel

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved