WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses Getting "Terminator" Rights Back in 2019
Oct 17th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Says "Pacific Rim 2" Sets Up "Pacific Rim 3"
Oct 17th, 2014
New Trailer For Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Oct 17th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson Offered $10 Million to Star in "Ghost in the Shell"
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer For Chris Rock's "Top Five" Comedy
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Oct 16th, 2014
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in Ron Howard's "Heart of the Sea" Survival Film
Oct 16th, 2014
James Wan May Direct Another "Saw" Film in 2016
Oct 16th, 2014
Channing Tatum Provides "Gambit" Update
Oct 16th, 2014
Christian Bale in Talks to Star in Steve Jobs Biopic
Oct 16th, 2014
New Teaser For "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 16th, 2014
Warner Bros Announces "The Flash," "Aquaman," "Justice League" and "Green Lantern" Movies
Oct 16th, 2014
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's "Dying of the Light" Thriller
Oct 16th, 2014
Edward Norton Says Today's Movies are Just As Good as Films From 1960s
Oct 15th, 2014
Photos: Michael Douglas is Hank Pym on "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 15th, 2014
Javier Bardem in Talks to Play Main Villain in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Oct 15th, 2014
Trailer: Katie Holmes Kills Lots of People in "Miss Meadows"
Oct 15th, 2014
Ninth Character Poster For "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies," Features Bilbo Baggins Again
Oct 15th, 2014
New "Jurassic World" Poster Arrives Online
Oct 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Hulk Hogan Lies About Being Offered Lead in "The Wrestler"

Posted: October 12th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Hulk Hogan Lies About Being Offered Lead in "The Wrestler"Submit Comment
Back when Darren Aronofsky was developing "The Wrestler," the director said many times that the movie would only work if Mickey Rourke would play the lead. Aronofsky got his wish. But when he asked Hulk Hogan to join the cast in a small role, the wrestling legend turned him down.

Hogan has now appeared on "The Howard Stern Show" and spoke about "The Wrestler," stating that Aronofsky actually wanted him to play the lead. When Stern asked him why he turned down the offer, Hogan replied: "The problem is, if I had done it, Hollywood would have looked at it as a joke." He made similar comments earlier this year, explaining that after reading the script, he felt that the film deserved a better actor than him.

The problem is that Aronofsky never wanted Hogan to play the lead. In fact, the director took it to Twitter to let his fans know exactly that. "For the record, the role of the wrestler was always [for] Mickey Rourke. It was never Hulk Hogan's as he claims on 'Howard Stern.'"

Source: /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Gates writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 8:56:33 PM

Who cares?

We need more Amanda Bynes and Lindsay Lohan news.
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 9:07:52 PM

And I give a f*ck why?
SergioFX writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 9:07:54 PM

STOP POSTING NEWS ABOUT MOVIES AND ACTORS!!! SINCE WHEN DID WP BECOME A NEWS SITE ABOUT MOVIES?

JESUS PLEASE GO BACK TO POSTING GOSSIP AND PAPARAZZI NEWS THAT TMZ USES.

f*ck MOVIES! I HATE MOVIES! I HATE HOLLYWOOD! I HATE WWF.
KillerCOck writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 9:08:50 PM

f*ck Hogan!
cress writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 9:17:57 PM

Hogan got the lead role in that recently leaked sex tape, so I'm sure that's some consolation.
TemporalFlux writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 9:30:20 PM

Here's an idea, If you don't care about an article, DON'T f*ckING POST ON IT.

I come here to read about movie news and read views and opinions of those who do the same, not scroll trough the adolescent dribble from a bunch of trolling morons(who are thankfully the minority).

Kurskij writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 9:43:14 PM

He's alive? Good for him, good for him.
Ranger writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 9:51:31 PM

Hulk will do anything (or anyone... including his daughter) to stay relevant. Thing is... it's not working.
TemporalFlux writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 9:55:49 PM

I always remember him popping up in the A-Team, that's where his 'acting' should have stopped.
Argo writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 11:36:17 PM

Ya, like I'll believe the director's version over Hulk's.
pornfly writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 2:07:52 AM

The real news is that a wrestler lied
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 2:45:32 AM

Gates, i completely disagree, we've had more then enough of those two idiots on this site...

and i'm with everyone else, f*ck who cares? lol
Kurskij writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 2:49:50 AM

^

BLASPHEMY!
bane writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 3:38:31 AM

ZERO DARK THIRTY new trailer

http://www.empireonline.com/news/story.asp?NID=35483
Cannon writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 4:15:44 AM


Hulk Hogan body slammed Andre the Giant. That's all that matters.

pornfly writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 4:32:32 AM

ALEX give BANE a job already
McQueen writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 5:19:02 AM

^ ^ LOL!


Tss Tss Hogan, Lying is something very ugly in every country but in the US it has a more sharp meaning, especially when you dare to lie on air. After the sex tape, you seem to loose it man. It's time to pull your sh*t back together.
CelluloidMan writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 8:04:52 AM

No surprise there.

What I also liked was the round table of retired professional wrestlers in the special features talking how good the movie was...I think that really solidified it's realism.

Also, it was also good to see them again, especially the ones you don't see regularly like Rowdy Roddy Piper & "The Hammer" Garvin...
CelluloidMan writes:
on October 14th, 2012 at 8:01:11 PM

^^ Sorry, I meant "The Hammer" Valentine...

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved