WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for Will Smith's "Concussion" Football Drama
Sep 3rd, 2015
Trailer: Eddie Redmayne is First Transgender Person in "The Danish Girl"
Sep 3rd, 2015
Vincent Cassel is Main Villain in New "Jason Bourne" Film
Sep 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Chloe Moretz's "The 5th Wave" Sci-Fi Thriller
Sep 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's "Pay the Ghost" Thriller
Sep 3rd, 2015
"Captain America: Civil War" Concept Art Shows Two Avengers Teams
Aug 30th, 2015
First Look at Michael Fassbender in "Assassin's Creed" Video Game Movie
Aug 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Reveals "Bourne" Sequel Plot Details
Aug 29th, 2015
New Trailer for Jack Black's "Goosebumps"
Aug 29th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Hulk Hogan Lies About Being Offered Lead in "The Wrestler"

Posted: October 12th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Hulk Hogan Lies About Being Offered Lead in "The Wrestler"Submit Comment
Back when Darren Aronofsky was developing "The Wrestler," the director said many times that the movie would only work if Mickey Rourke would play the lead. Aronofsky got his wish. But when he asked Hulk Hogan to join the cast in a small role, the wrestling legend turned him down.

Hogan has now appeared on "The Howard Stern Show" and spoke about "The Wrestler," stating that Aronofsky actually wanted him to play the lead. When Stern asked him why he turned down the offer, Hogan replied: "The problem is, if I had done it, Hollywood would have looked at it as a joke." He made similar comments earlier this year, explaining that after reading the script, he felt that the film deserved a better actor than him.

The problem is that Aronofsky never wanted Hogan to play the lead. In fact, the director took it to Twitter to let his fans know exactly that. "For the record, the role of the wrestler was always [for] Mickey Rourke. It was never Hulk Hogan's as he claims on 'Howard Stern.'"

Source: /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Gates writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 8:56:33 PM

Who cares?

We need more Amanda Bynes and Lindsay Lohan news.
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 9:07:52 PM

And I give a f*ck why?
SergioFX writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 9:07:54 PM

STOP POSTING NEWS ABOUT MOVIES AND ACTORS!!! SINCE WHEN DID WP BECOME A NEWS SITE ABOUT MOVIES?

JESUS PLEASE GO BACK TO POSTING GOSSIP AND PAPARAZZI NEWS THAT TMZ USES.

f*ck MOVIES! I HATE MOVIES! I HATE HOLLYWOOD! I HATE WWF.
KillerCOck writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 9:08:50 PM

f*ck Hogan!
cress writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 9:17:57 PM

Hogan got the lead role in that recently leaked sex tape, so I'm sure that's some consolation.
TemporalFlux writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 9:30:20 PM

Here's an idea, If you don't care about an article, DON'T f*ckING POST ON IT.

I come here to read about movie news and read views and opinions of those who do the same, not scroll trough the adolescent dribble from a bunch of trolling morons(who are thankfully the minority).

Kurskij writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 9:43:14 PM

He's alive? Good for him, good for him.
Ranger writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 9:51:31 PM

Hulk will do anything (or anyone... including his daughter) to stay relevant. Thing is... it's not working.
TemporalFlux writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 9:55:49 PM

I always remember him popping up in the A-Team, that's where his 'acting' should have stopped.
Argo writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 11:36:17 PM

Ya, like I'll believe the director's version over Hulk's.
pornfly writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 2:07:52 AM

The real news is that a wrestler lied
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 2:45:32 AM

Gates, i completely disagree, we've had more then enough of those two idiots on this site...

and i'm with everyone else, f*ck who cares? lol
Kurskij writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 2:49:50 AM

^

BLASPHEMY!
bane writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 3:38:31 AM

ZERO DARK THIRTY new trailer

http://www.empireonline.com/news/story.asp?NID=35483
Cannon writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 4:15:44 AM


Hulk Hogan body slammed Andre the Giant. That's all that matters.

pornfly writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 4:32:32 AM

ALEX give BANE a job already
McQueen writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 5:19:02 AM

^ ^ LOL!


Tss Tss Hogan, Lying is something very ugly in every country but in the US it has a more sharp meaning, especially when you dare to lie on air. After the sex tape, you seem to loose it man. It's time to pull your sh*t back together.
CelluloidMan writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 8:04:52 AM

No surprise there.

What I also liked was the round table of retired professional wrestlers in the special features talking how good the movie was...I think that really solidified it's realism.

Also, it was also good to see them again, especially the ones you don't see regularly like Rowdy Roddy Piper & "The Hammer" Garvin...
CelluloidMan writes:
on October 14th, 2012 at 8:01:11 PM

^^ Sorry, I meant "The Hammer" Valentine...

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved