WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ridley Scott Hints at Direction of "Prometheus" and "Blade Runner" Sequels

Posted: October 12th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ridley Scott Hints at Direction of "Prometheus" and "Blade Runner" SequelsSubmit Comment
Now that "Prometheus" has hit stores on DVD and Blu-ray, director Ridley Scott has been out promoting the film and answering questions about "Prometheus 2" and the sequel to "Blade Runner," which he will also direct.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

Prometheus 2: "Prometheus" evolved into a whole other universe. You've got [Elizabeth Shaw] with [David's] head in a bag that functions and has an IQ of 350. It can explain to her how to put the head back on the body and she's gonna think about that long and hard because, once the head is back on his body, he's dangerous. They're going off to paradise but it could be the most savage, horrible place. Who are the Engineers?

Blade Runner 2: [The sequel] is happening. With Harrison Ford? I don't know yet. Is he too old? Well, he was a Nexus-6 so we don't know how long he can live.

Source: Metro


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 49 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 9:02:53 PM

I've got a bad feeling about both of those.
Trivia Newton John writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 9:05:02 PM

"With Harrison Ford? I don't know yet. Is he too old?"

Yes he is and so are you. Too senile to realise nobody wants his sh*tty sequel. Especially when one of the main characters is a head in a bag. f*ck you Ridley, I hope psuedo-cancer runs in your family.

cress writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 9:13:44 PM

I hated Prometheus. But if they're going to do a follow-up, ditch Shaw's character and keep David. He'd be the only returning cast member. Have it set several years after the god-awful end of the first film. It would keep it in line with the history of the previous Alien films, as Aliens took place 60 years after Alien. I have ideas. As much as I hated what Prometheus was, I've thought a lot about sequel possibilities. Maybe since Tom Rothman left Fox, the new studio head will be more picky about the final script before greenlighting another polarizing tentpole film. Or maybe it will be years before it's greenlit, and Ridley will be dead. Which is probably what Prometheus 2 needs.
KillerCOck writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 9:17:23 PM

I liked Prometheus, not crazy about it but I liked it and I hated Blade Runner.
TemporalFlux writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 9:33:30 PM

I liked Prometheus too, solid scifi movie in it's own right. I didn't rate the original Alien Movie, or Blade Runner for that matter, but I'm up for a sequel.
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 10:01:28 PM

Anyone that hates Blade Runner is kind of a c*nt.
TemporalFlux writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 10:08:41 PM

Didn't hate it, just didn't get all the fuss.
boogiel writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 10:41:15 PM

Well, I guess this really confirms it. Ridley scott is the next george lucas.
Janus writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 11:42:00 PM

Didn't a Nexus-6 have a lifespan of just 4 years?
rockkillers writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 12:07:19 AM

Promtheus was good for a watch but it was a HUUUUUUUGE letdown for me that it wasn't scary or wasn't meant to be scary. I feel like the story would have been a hell of a lot better if they had gone with the story posted about the script was supposed to be used before the LOST guy got involved. Seemed way more brutul. Can't go back now.
Stapes writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 1:27:32 AM

Yes, Janus, they did indeed. But what does continuity matter to someone as senile as Scott.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 2:05:48 AM

Did that nigga just admit to Ford's character being a replicant?

Ridley's going into old age. Guys I'm scared.
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 2:43:59 AM

"IQ of 350"

wow, that's almost as much as mine! :P

jokes, I've never got one, always wanted to.. And tbh I'll watch a sequel of Prometheus.. but not Bladerunner
bane writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 3:35:34 AM

ZERO DARK THIRTY new trailer

http://www.empireonline.com/news/story.asp?NID=35483
TonyO8134 writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 3:45:09 AM

Minkowski has an iq of 350! He did teach Einstein and helped him with coming up with general relativity. Sorry my slow mind just realized Hermann Minkowski
Cannon writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 4:04:06 AM

There was a time when Scott left it for the audience to decide whether or not Deckard was in fact a Replicant or if he was still a human whose dreams had been tapped by some other means, or any number of other possible scenarios.

Letting the film rest with a certain level of ambiguously is in part what makes it such a classic. It seems heís ditched that idea now and simply expects audiences to accept one version only. Thatís really kind of a bummer.

Prometheus was a technical marvel that suffered from a murky storyline, a haphazard narrative and generic monster movie tropes. Before seeing it I was a bit more open-minded to the possibility of a Blade Runner sequel.

Now, Iíd just assume he leave well enough alone. If he has a genuine idea for a continuing story coupled with a real vision to follow through, and if he can find writer who is actually worth a damn, perhaps all is not lost. But Scott at this point (for years now) seems almost addicted to underwhelming.

Cannon writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 4:08:10 AM

...scripts. Addicted to underwhelming scripts. And "ambiguously" is supposed to be "ambiguity".

Jesus, WP, is an edit option really too much to ask? f*ck.
Cannon writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 4:08:10 AM

...scripts. Addicted to underwhelming scripts. And "ambiguously" is supposed to be "ambiguity".

Jesus, WP, is an edit option really too much to ask? f*ck.
Cannon writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 4:09:33 AM


Christ. It won't even let me delet an accidental double tap. What is this, the Dark Ages?!

pornfly writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 4:45:41 AM

CANNON wins the thread
and yes im trippin off you not at you
Ranger writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 4:52:14 AM

Maybe he's going for a Tony Award?
pornfly writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 5:01:00 AM

I have a few of those^
they really are heavy
Rambo writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 5:02:02 AM

you no come here - illegal!
KillerCOck writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 5:13:11 AM

deaftOne:

How so? what was sooooo great about Blade Runner other than how it looked and its soundtrack?

If anybody is a c*nt, Its Harrison Ford. Just saying.
pornfly writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 5:20:54 AM

Unless its pole
I'll have what Ridleys smokin
Dan1382 writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 6:06:35 AM

So Deckard is a replicant? Has that been confirmed now? Didnt anyone call spoiler alert?!
nawtnt writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 7:27:05 AM

I liked Prometheus and how the film made a whole other universe.

The film answered lots of questions left from the first Alien movie.

I was kind of pissed that the Space Jockey aka. The Enigeer turn out to be human instead of being a unknown specie with a elephant face.

I mean Prometheus takes out of scareiess about the Space Jockey from the first Alien movie.

The Space Jockey could envoled into being the next scary moster and have more creepy around the ship just like the Alien creature.

Still I hope Prometheus 2 has answers lots of questions and acutally turns out to be scary if it's ever made.
Stapes writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 8:13:13 AM

nawtnt, did you even watch Prometheus... aren't you like 11 or something? Stop posting just for postings sake please.
nawtnt writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 8:29:01 AM

Stapes, WTF do you mean?

Didn't you think like Prometheus, yes or no?

I just giving my opnion if you don't like people giving their opnions then f*ck off.

Also how old are you, may I ask?
SACdaddy writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 9:30:50 AM

Really is there anything more to say about how bad Ridley is f*cking up. I wonder if anyone is confronting him at these promos and asking him why he feel s the need to continue down this dark path of reboot madness. I'm starting to think he's become a little obsessed with this need to complete stories that have already met there worthwhile ends. Next thing you know he'll be bringing Maximus back from the dead or making a prequel to Gladiator.
rocketman writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 10:09:41 AM

I liked Pro,needs a directors cut though,bring on the sequel.
Bladerunner 2,not so sure about that one bu I'll keep an open mind.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 12:56:27 PM

Prometheus's great disappointment comes with the fact that Ridley Scott had directed seminal sci-fi as Alien and Blade Runner. And knowing that Prometheus precedes the timeline of Alien, audience expectations were very high for this prequel to succeed. Ridley has made some great movies since like Gladiator, Black Hawk Down etc. And everyone was waiting with for Ridley to return to his sci-fi roots and hoping Prometheus delivered the same impact that Alien had in 1979. Prometheus suffered from deliberately not wanting to become another Alien movie and stand on its own two feet as its own unique sci-fi story. That is about humanity's search for the truth about its own creation but rather being shocked at finding humanity was conceived as an engineering experiment from an advanced alien race. And that same race is ready to pull the plug. I can see reasons why Lindelof was brought in to rewrite and steer Prometheus away from alien vibe with the traditional use of facehuggers, chest busters etc. (as intriguing as Spaihts concepts are). For what its worth Prometheus had noble intentions but failed with poor execution eg. the two *sshole scientists Millburn and Fifield childish behavior just begging for death, fake plastic look to the Engineers (wanting too much to emulate Michelangelo's David - my take was WTF - the space jockey was one of the most mysterious sci-fi creatures ever conceived and it was such a huge disappointment to see a humanoid inside and the head was rather just a helmet - agree with @nawtnt here), bad dialogue, poor character development etc. Prometheus almost had the same feel at times as AvP which is not a good thing. Overall I wished I liked Prometheus more but like other who have expressed their sentiments was really hoping for a masterpiece. Perhaps Prometheus 2 can do an Alien 3 and kill Shaw's character before the opening credits finish - then it will just be about David trying to reattach his head on his way to Paradise. Rather I expect they will keep Shaw around and try to milk her as the next Ripley-like character.

@Cannon - Not a great sign that Ridley is out promoting Prometheus DVD and already screwed the pooch telling everyone that Deckard is a Nexus 6. How many years have we lived and accepted the ambiguity of Blade Runner's questions. Ridley is getting senile. As for the next Blade Runner, I would like to see a prequel on the rise of the Nexus 6 models from being invented, manufactured at Tyrell industries, being used in off-world colonies (for menial hazardous labor and even as sex pleasure model slaves), perhaps a battle at Tanhauser Gate, watching attack ships on fire off the Shoulder of Orion, developing awareness and wanting to viciously rebel against their makers. These romantic visions that Roy Batty left us with have floated around in our heads since the conclusion of Blade Runner and worth exploring.
nawtnt writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 1:33:42 PM

Mr.Blonde, I agree too about the space jockney.

The writers could have do more with the character by making it mysertious and scarier instead of making it human and having it's head turn out to be helmet.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 2:07:34 PM

One thing that bothered me was the following plot hole between Alien and Prometheus. In the beginning of Alien, the Space Jockey's body was discovered by Dallas, Kane and Lambert landing party while investigating the derelict spacecraft. The navigation room was found and the body had decayed into the chair canon machine (IMO - one of sci-fi's greatest mysterious images ever). The body also had visible signs of a chest buster that had broken it's rib cage and likely cause of death. In Prometheus the Engineer battled the massive squid face hugger and was impregnated with an alien who chest busted out. This action and the Engineer's death occured in the Prometheus' escape pod vessel. So how the f*ck did the Engineer's dead body get back to the navigation chair to pick up where Alien starts? Why would anyone drag the body back several hundreds of yards and prop it in the seat and place the helmet back on? Am I the only one who thought this didn't make sense?
minkowski writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 2:22:09 PM

Not really sure any of those are actual spoilers, especially the Prometheus sh*t, as we all knew frot he ending she was setting off with David to find the Engineers home world.

Damn. Just wish Prometheus had been a hell of a lot better so I could feel some sort of excitement for the sequel.

And change the title. 'Prometheus Bound' or something.
nawtnt writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 2:25:27 PM

Mr. Blonde, I think another Enigeer arrives at the planet and finds the Alien creature and is impreganted before the Enigeer kills the Alien creature where the Enigeer tries to start the crashed spacecraft but it's chest bursts and dies in the chair cannon machine.

That's my idea how Dallas, Kane and Lambert found the space jockney.
minkowski writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 2:26:01 PM

"Am I the only one who thought this didn't make sense?"

Ridley explained this, saying that the end of Prometheus is not the same scene/location in Alien.

"and likely cause of death"

I always thought the engineer died from an infection related to said chest-bursting, and not the actual enormous, gaping hole in his chest cavity, but that's just me, I guess.
minkowski writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 2:33:25 PM

LV 223 != LV 426

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1446714/faq#.2.1.29
Mr. Blonde writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 2:36:43 PM

@nawtnt - IMO there are few great memorable alien designs in the history of sci-fi. And Alien or rather H.R. Giger created two scary creatures with the Xenomorph and the Space Jockey. It was a shame that Prometheus chose to demystified the Space Jockey with a poorly designed Engineer which looked like a pissed off Greco-Roman plaster statue come to life.

@Mink - I think the sequel will likely be called Paradise. And the irony will be the Engineer's homeworld will be savage realm of chaos, blood and death (cue Event Horizon scenes).
Mr. Blonde writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 2:45:45 PM

@Mink - thanks for the IMDB link. My bad. Didn't pick up on that detail about separate sites LV-223 and LV-426 and the timelines involved.
Stapes writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 3:50:25 PM

@Mr. Blonde, I removed a picture of Giger's alien design from my office on my own initiative because I was shocked at the number of people who had no idea what it was, and it really did look like a black c*ck and balls. Love Giger though, I'm just sayin'
Frank_Castle writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 4:31:07 PM

Never seen ALIEN and From what I saw in BLADE RUNNER (which wasnt much) looked pretty boring so I kept flipping those channels. I should give it a chance one day.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 5:07:36 PM

@Stapes - yeah probably a good thing to remove any Giger biomechanical images of aliens having sex with machinery from the office place. Most of Gigerís artwork is very bizarre rife with sadomasochistic themes as the dude definitely had a fetish for surrealism nightmarish sex. Itís rare to find a coworker who actually knows this original source material reference. Even rarer to find a female coworker who knows it Ė she would probably be a wild one that f*cks like a machine. Just saying.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 5:19:41 PM

@Frank_Castle - Alien and Blade Runner are perhaps the greatest sci-fi films ever made. You owe it to yourself to sit through them and then contemplate their brilliance long afterwards. The amazing thing is these films were made in 1979 and 1982 respectively and in many ways far superior than films coming out these days. Their themes are often copied but never surpassed. For Alien it was truly the first great gothic horror in space tale where claustrophobia, great character development, suspense, original settings and amazing creature designs all came into play. For Blade Runner it was a bleak vision of the near future where replicants turn on their makers in a desperate attempt to prolong their short programmed lifespans. And in their actions they demonstrate very human traits of strong passion and survival instincts. The music, scenery, character development are simply breathtaking. The fact that both were directed by Ridley is what makes this guy such a living legend amongst fans.
Damon242 writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 6:59:38 PM

Why is everything so much more advanced in Prometheus than in Alien, despite Alien taking place well after the events of Prometheus?

Ridiculous.
Breezy writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 10:31:46 PM

I quite literally just finished watching Prometheus several minutes ago for the first time and can say that the reviews on here are the views of very tasteless. It was far more interesting then any prequel then George Lucas has ever made.
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 10:35:07 PM

Explaining why Blade Runner is a great and landmark and influential film to a doucheholster with the username KILLERc*ck would be the epitome of futility.
minkowski writes:
on October 13th, 2012 at 2:17:39 PM

"I think the sequel will likely be called Paradise."

lol, that's the stupid title that guy from ScreenRant gave the sequel, along with Perdition for the third film, even though both titles not only sound like a hundred other films, they suck. Paradise? Not going to happen. Sounds like something Dean Koontz would use.
KillerCOck writes:
on October 13th, 2012 at 4:52:09 PM

hahaha! And the reason why it is, is because of how it looks, Not how good it is. Thats why it became a cult classic and not just a classic.

I don't think you know where the name comes from.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved